DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pgs. 9-15, filed 05/22/2026, with respect to claims 1-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 USC 101 rejection of 04/07/2026 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 05/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered. However, Park has been remapped to teach wherein padding is minimized for a plurality of text input lengths other than the given combination of input lengths for which the program binaries are generated, and
wherein padding for the given combination of input lengths is less than for the plurality of text input lengths other than the given combination of input lengths;
Specifically:
(Park, pg. 14, Col. 2, paragraph 1, “Since the column index of w0;0 and the row index of a0;1 also matches, w0;0 _ a0;1 is executed. When there are no more input elements that match the column index of w0;0, the pointer of w fifo points to w2;1.”and pg. 14, Col. 2, paragraph 1, “If there are no more tokens to be computed other than t0, t1, the tokens are directly used as an input of the next computation.” [padding is minimized, Examiner would like to point out that the only tokens being needed are t0 and t1, then the padding is less therefore being minimized.])
The newly added limitation is mapped to Park. Park teaches no more tokens being used which is being interpreted as the padding not being used.
Specifically:
(Park, pg. 14, Col. 2, paragraph 1, “Since the column index of w0;0 and the row index of a0;1 also matches, w0;0 _ a0;1 is executed. When there are no more input elements [wherein there is no padding, Examiner would like to point out that the input element are explained as the input elements in the NPL] that match the column index of w0;0, the pointer of w fifo points to w2;1.” And “This control method minimizes the occurrence of stalls because the larger search window allows the input elements to be prepared even if the address of the requested input elements is irregular due to sparse weight [less than, examiner would like to point out that a sparse weight is interpreted as being less than before due to skipping inputs that are 0].”)
Therefore, the 35 USC 103 is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 7-8, 10-12, 15-17 and 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burr et al (US Published Patent Application No. 20230169305, "Burr"), in view of Park et al (OPTIMUS: OPTIMIZED MATRIX MULTIPLICATION STRUCTURE FOR TRANSFORMER NEURAL NETWORK ACCELERATOR, "Park").
In regard to claim 1, Burr teaches A computer program product for generating program binaries to program a transformer in an array of processing elements in an accelerator, the computer program product comprising a computer readable storage medium having computer readable program code embodied therein that is executable to perform operations, the operations comprising: (Burr, paragraph 0004, “According to another embodiment, a computer program product includes one or more computer readable storage media, and program instructions collectively stored on the one or more computer readable storage media, the program instructions including instructions configured to cause one or more processors to perform a method”)
selecting a sequence concatenation length of a sequence concatenation of concatenated tokens from inputs to process in the accelerator; (Burr, paragraph 0083, “From the perspective of the local compute-units, the workload presents itself as a continuous stream of M=2, with each sequence passing through the accelerator in a weight-stationary manner, overlapping at each compute-unit only with the sequence immediately preceding it and the sequence immediately following it.”)
determining combinations of input lengths, wherein each combination of input lengths sum to the sequence concatenation length; (Burr, paragraph 0058, “The sequence-size indicates the length of a sequence (in units of tokens) that is input into the transformer. In some embodiments, the sequence-size may change during the network, as tokens are potentially "stacked" or combined together, or broken apart and duplicated, which may change the sequence-size as the workload proceeds through a multi-layer network.’)
executing program binaries, for a combination of input lengths, to process a sequence concatenation of received inputs, having input lengths of the combination, to generate outputs for tokens in the processed sequence concatenation. (Burr, paragraph 0075, “Transformers (e.g., BERT, GPT-3, etc.) may include multiple often-identical layers, each comprising blocks of vector-matrix multiply (VMM) (where input excitation vectors are multiplied by trained-weight matrices), interspersed with blocks of attention compute calling for matrix-matrix multiplication between the output excitation vectors from the VMM blocks. The workload may be arranged into sequences of tokens (words or characters) of length S.” and paragraph 0076, “The number of compute operations in the attention compute tends to scale as S2, and this block of the workload may typically be staged-for example, all of the input data needed to initiate the attention-compute block may need to be available before the computation starts (otherwise, the computation will rapidly stall).”)
However, Burr does not explicitly teach processing a representation of a transformer to generate program binaries for each combination of input lengths of the combinations, wherein the program binaries, for a given combination of input lengths of the combinations, program the accelerator to decompose tokens of inputs in the sequence concatenation according to the input lengths in the given combination and compute attention scores between tokens within each input of the inputs in the sequence concatenation,
wherein padding is minimized for a plurality of text input lengths other than the given combination of input lengths for which the program binaries are generated, and wherein padding for the given combination of input lengths is less than for the plurality of text input lengths other than the given combination of input lengths; and
Park teaches processing a representation of a transformer to generate program binaries for each combination of input lengths of the combinations, wherein the program binaries, for a given combination of input lengths of the combinations, program the accelerator to decompose tokens of inputs in the sequence concatenation according to the input lengths in the given combination and compute attention scores between tokens within each input of the inputs in the sequence concatenation, (Park, pg. 8, Col. 2, paragraph 3, “Note that the computation and the data load cycles can be estimated given a word-length; i.e., the computation cycle for COM1 = [d2 model _ t] / [# MAC_ Effective PE Util], whereas the data transfer cycle forWo = [d2model_Sparsity (dense=1.0)] [generate program binaries for each combination of input lengths of the combinations] / Bandwidth.” and pg. 12, Col. 2, paragraph 2, “The second computation (COM2) is to compute the score. A score is computed as the inner product of K and V , which represents how words relate to each other. COM2 is always multiplication of two dense matrices (dM_dM) because any pruned weight [decompose tokens of inputs in the sequence concatenation] is not used in COM2.”)
wherein padding is minimized for a plurality of text input lengths other than the given combination of input lengths for which the program binaries are generated, and wherein padding for the given combination of input lengths is less than for the plurality of text input lengths other than the given combination of input lengths; and (Park, pg. 14, Col. 2, paragraph 1, “Since the column index of w0;0 and the row index of a0;1 also matches, w0;0 _ a0;1 is executed. When there are no more input elements that match the column index of w0;0, the pointer of w fifo points to w2;1.”and pg. 14, Col. 2, paragraph 1, “If there are no more tokens to be computed other than t0, t1, the tokens are directly used as an input of the next computation.” [padding is minimized Examiner would like to point out that the only tokens being needed are t0 and t1, then the padding is less therefore being minimized.] And “This control method minimizes the occurrence of stalls because the larger search window allows the input elements to be prepared even if the address of the requested input elements is irregular due to sparse weight [less than, examiner would like to point out that a sparse weight is interpreted as being less than before due to skipping inputs that are 0].”)
Burr and Park are related to the same field of endeavor (i.e. transformer computation). In view of the teachings of Park, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art to apply the teachings of Park to Burr before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in order to improve the accuracy of the attention mechanism. (Park, pg. 1, Col. 1, paragraph 1, “The attention mechanism improves the accuracy by allowing the decoding process to focus on the input part which is the most relevant to the current decoding step.”)
In regard to claim 11, the claim recites similar limitations as corresponding claim 1, and is rejected for similar reasons as claim 1 using similar teachings and rationale.
Burr further teaches an accelerator; (Burr, paragraph 0081, “This invention describes a way to organize a batch of size M of sequences for submission to an AI hardware accelerator performing transformer operations in such a way that the attention compute is continuously busy and the VMM compute can be efficiently power-gated.”)
a processor; and (Burr, paragraph 0088, “The computer program product may include a computer readable storage medium ( or media) having computer readable program instructions thereon for causing a processor to carry out embodiments of the present invention.”)
a computer readable storage medium having computer readable program code embodied therein that is when executed by the processor performs operations the operations comprising: (Burr, paragraph 0088, “The computer program product may include a computer readable storage medium ( or media) having computer readable program instructions thereon for causing a processor to carry out embodiments of the present invention.”)
In regard to claim 16, the claim recites similar limitations as corresponding claim 1, and is rejected for similar reasons as claim 1 using similar teachings and rationale.
In regard to claim 2, Burr and Park teach the product of claim 1.
Burr further teaches determining an optimal sequence concatenation length that when input to the transformer maximizes throughput within a latency constraint, wherein the selected sequence concatenation length comprises the optimal sequence concatenation length. (Burr, paragraph 0081, “This invention describes a way to organize a batch of size M of sequences for submission to an AI hardware accelerator performing transformer operations in such a way that the attention compute is continuously busy and the VMM compute can be efficiently power-gated. The advantage of this approach is that internal compute units are kept occupied for a larger fraction of the time, with fewer pipeline stalls, and lower total latency.” and paragraph 0082, “In one embodiment, the batch of size M that is ready for submission is organized in sequence order in terms of minimum distance between the sequence-size of each batch member, S, and the sequence-size, Sb, for which the compute time for the sequence to pass through each VMM block is identical to the time for the sequence to pass through each attention-compute block.”)
In regard to claim 4 and analogous claims 12 and 17, Burr and Park teach the product of claim 1.
Burr further teaches forming the sequence concatenation from a plurality of tokens from the received inputs, for processing by the transformer, having input lengths summing to the sequence concatenation length. (Burr, paragraph 0058, “Further still, in one embodiment, the transformer may be implemented utilizing one or more hardware computing components. In another embodiment, a sequence may include a series of tokens (e.g., words, characters, phonemes, images, regions-of-interest from within an image, etc.). In yet another embodiment, the sequence may include a sentence, paragraph, or other text sample for which NLP is to be performed. The sequence-size indicates the length of a sequence (in units of tokens) that is input into the transformer.” and paragraph 0060, “In a similar manner, the sequence-size of the input sequence determines a second compute time for the sequence by each of one or more attention-compute blocks of the transformer, representing the taken by the one or more attention-compute blocks to compute the input sequence.” And paragraph 0061, “For example, a threshold sequence-size may be determined for the transformer where the first compute time has a known relationship with second compute time ( e.g., when the first compute time equals the second compute time, when the first compute time is longer or shorter than the second compute time by a predetermined length, when the first compute time is longer or shorter than the second compute time by a predetermined factor, etc.). This threshold sequence-size will depend on the entire equation for the first and second compute times, including the scaling with sequence-size, any pre-factors affecting these scaling factors, and any constant pre-factors within these compute times that are independent of sequence-size. For example, when the first compute time scales as A*S*S+B*S+C and the second compute time scales as D*S*S+E*S*S+F, [having input lengths summing to the sequence concatenation length. ] where S represents sequence-size, then the threshold sequence-size is affected by the size of A, B, C, D, E and F.)
In regard to claim 7, Burr and Park teach the product of claim 1.
Park further teaches programming the transformer to perform sequence-parallel matrix multiplications on the sequence concatenation as part of encoding and decoding of the sequence concatenation. (Park, pg. 3, Col. 2, paragraph 4, “In the Transformer, the computation pattern in the encoding stage is vastly different from the decoding stage. In the encoding stage, all the words in an input can be processed in parallel thanks to the attention-based layer structure” and pg. 4, Col. 1, paragraph 1, “Therefore, one can exploit parallelism in the time-step dimension to accelerate the processing speed. For example, one can stack word vectors into an input matrix and employ matrix-matrix multiplication to reuse weight matrix and perform computation in parallel across the timestep.”)
Burr and Park are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
In regard to claim 8 and analogous claims 15 and 20, Burr and Park teach the product of claim 1.
Park further teaches performing attention analysis of the sequence concatenation of tokens to calculate attention scores between pairs of tokens within each of the received inputs, wherein attention scores are not determined between tokens from different received inputs; (Park, pg. 12, Col. 2, paragraph 2, “The second computation (COM2) is to compute the score. A score is computed as the inner product of K and V , which represents how words relate to each other. COM2 is always multiplication of two dense matrices (dM_dM) because any pruned weight is not used in COM2.”)
forming an attention matrix, for the sequence concatenation, having the calculated attention scores for pairs of tokens within the received inputs of the sequence concatenation; and (Park, pg. 12, Col. 2, paragraph 2, “The second computation (COM2) is to compute the score. A score is computed as the inner product of K and V , which represents how words relate to each other. COM2 is always multiplication of two dense matrices (dM_dM) because any pruned weight is not used in COM2.”)
applying the attention matrix in matrix multiplications to produce the outputs for the received inputs. (Park, pg. 12, Col. 2, paragraph 1, “On the other hand, when the COM1 in multihead attention of the decoder is computed, K and V are computed by multiplying the final output of the encoder by WK, WV . Q is computed by multiplying the output of the masked multi-head attention of the decoder byWQ. IfWQ, WK, and WV are pruned, COM1 becomes sparse matrix and dense matrix multiplication (sM_dM).”)
Burr and Park are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
In regard to claim 10, Burr and Park teach the product of claim 8.
Park further teaches generating an attention mask for the attention matrix indicating cells in the attention matrix having the attention scores and cells not having attention scores, wherein the attention mask is used to process only cells having calculated attention scores. (Park, pg. 13, Col. 2, A.5, “Masked multi-head attention is additionally performed only at the decoder. This process is the same as the multi-head attention computation process except the computation of COM2 and COM4 (Fig. A.5). Unlike the correlation among all words in a sentence is computed in the encoder, the correlation between each word and its previous words is only computed in the masked multi-head attention.”)
Burr and Park are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
In regard to claim 21 and analogous claims 22 and 23, Burr and Park teach the product of claim 1.
Park further teaches wherein there is no padding for the given combination of input lengths. (Park, pg. 14, Col. 2, paragraph 1, “Since the column index of w0;0 and the row index of a0;1 also matches, w0;0 _ a0;1 is executed. When there are no more input elements [wherein there is no padding, Examiner would like to point out that the input elemenst are explained as the input elements in the NPL] that match the column index of w0;0, the pointer of w fifo points to w2;1.” and pg. 14, Col. 2, paragraph 1, “If there are no more tokens to be computed other than t0, t1, the tokens are directly used as an input of the next computation.”)
Burr and Park are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Claims 3, 5-6, 9, 13-14 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burr, in view of Park and in further view of Luss et al (US Published Patent Application No. 20190188120, "Luss").
In regard to claim 3, Burr and Park teach the product of claim 1.
However, Burr and Park do not explicitly teach determining a distribution of occurrences of different input lengths of received inputs, wherein the combinations of input lengths in the combinations comprises the input lengths having a greatest number of occurrences in the distribution of occurrences.
Luss teaches determining a distribution of occurrences of different input lengths of received inputs, wherein the combinations of input lengths in the combinations comprises the input lengths having a greatest number of occurrences in the distribution of occurrences. (Luss, paragraph 0038, “Therefore, in steps 101 and 102, for data generation, in general, any set that is described is based on an alphabet ~={xl, ... , xn} comprised ofn tokens xi for i=l, ... , n. [greatest number of occurrences in the distribution of occurrences], paragraph 0044 of applicants specification explains that this is what is commonly submitted and not going above the space to store.” and paragraph 0039, “The first representation is token based and was previously described. In this representation, matrix A has n columns where n is the number of individual tokens. The ith string is represented by Ai·, where A,r 1 if token j appears in the string and Aij=0 if it does not appear. The second representation is pattern-based. It only keeps track of what possible patterns can appear in strings. One represents patterns as tuples of tokens, such as ("a", "b", "c") for a pattern consisting of the three tokens "a", "b", "c".’)
Burr, Park and Luss are related to the same field of endeavor (i.e. transformer computation). In view of the teachings of Luss, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art to apply the teachings of Luss to Burr and Park before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in order to efficiently reduce the number of tests done. (Luss, paragraph 0001, “The present invention relates generally to a software optimization method, and more particularly, but not by way of limitation, to a system, method, and recording medium for recovering a small distinguished subset of tokens from a large population while efficiently reducing the total number of tests.”)
In regard to claim 5 and analogous claims 13 and 18, Burr and Park teach the product of claim 1.
Burr further teaches in response to the input lengths of the received inputs not comprising input lengths in one of the combinations of input lengths, performing: determining a combination of input lengths closest to the input lengths of the received inputs; (Burr, paragraph 0058, “Further still, in one embodiment, the transformer may be implemented utilizing one or more hardware computing components. In another embodiment, a sequence may include a series of tokens (e.g., words, characters, phonemes, images, regions-of-interest from within an image, etc.). In yet another embodiment, the sequence may include a sentence, paragraph, or other text sample for which NLP is to be performed. The sequence-size indicates the length of a sequence (in units of tokens) that is input into the transformer. In some embodiments, the sequence-size may change during the network, as tokens are potentially "stacked" or combined together, or broken apart and duplicated, which may change the sequence-size as the workload proceeds through a multi-layer network.”)
However, Burr and Park do not explicitly teach padding the received inputs to have the input lengths of the determined combination; and
forming the sequence concatenation from the padded received inputs, having input lengths summing to the sequence concatenation length.
Luss teaches padding the received inputs to have the input lengths of the determined combination; and (Luss, paragraph 0041, “A substring based on the pattern is genernted by padding before, in between. Jnd after the two tokens in the pattern with random characters from I a-z, \-Z0-<J I.”)
forming the sequence concatenation from the padded received inputs, having input lengths summing to the sequence concatenation length. (Luss, paragraph 0058, “Create M random strings. For each string: sample which patterns will appear in the string using a binomial distribution with probability p and create a substring for each pattern (with padding be-fore, in between, and after each token of the pattern), and append the substrings to form the sample string. Note that each padding is a random number of characters (up to 10) from the set [a-zA-Z0-9].”)
Burr, Park and Luss are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 3.
In regard to claim 6 and analogous claims 14 and 19, Burr and Park teach the product of claim 1.
Burr further teaches determining a combination having input lengths corresponding to input lengths of tokens in the received inputs to include in the sequence concatenation; (Burr, paragraph 0075, “The workload may be arranged into sequences of tokens (words or characters) of length S.”)
executing the determined program binaries to control the transformer to transform the tokens in the received inputs in the sequence concatenation to generate the outputs for the received inputs in the sequence concatenation. (Burr, paragraph 0066, “In one embodiment, the batch of sequences may be input into the transformer in the alternating order determined utilizing the threshold sequence-size. In another embodiment, the transformer may perform one or more actions (e.g., NLP, etc.) on each of the input sequences. In yet another embodiment, the transformer may provide output ( e.g., a translation, text prediction, a summarization, an analysis, a suggested response, etc.) for each of the input sequences.”)
However, Burr and Park do not explicitly teach determining program binaries of the program binaries generated for the determined combination; and
Luss teaches determining program binaries of the program binaries generated for the determined combination; and (Luss, paragraph 0023, “To set up the notation and define the vocabulary, it is assumed that y, A and x are all binary { 0, 1}. The Boolean vector x E{0, 1} N has K<<N non-zero (faulty) entries. Tokens j with x1=0 are called 'normal'”)
Burr, Park and Luss are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 3.
In regard to claim 9, Burr and Park teach the product of claim 8.
However, Burr and Park do not explicitly teach wherein the attention matrix comprises a sparse matrix.
Luss teaches wherein the attention matrix comprises a sparse matrix. (Luss, paragraph 0020, “Now, given y and knowing the measurement matrix A, if A was chosen properly, and if x is sparse enough, then the unknown sparse vector x can be recovered.”)
Burr, Park and Luss are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 3.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.K.V./Examiner, Art Unit 2146 /USMAAN SAEED/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2146