DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is with regard to the most recent papers filed 12/8/2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/8/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 1-5, Applicant argues that Woolf does not disclose the newly amended claim language. Specifically, Applicant argues that Woolf fails to disclose distinct applications and cross-application authentication.
First, with regard to the distinct applications, Wolf provides a first learning application and a second learning application, with the first being used by the child and the second being used by the parent. The parent uses the second learning application to access information provided by the first learning application (Woolf: Paragraph [0085]). The labels of “connection application” and “web-based application” fail to provide any substantial detail of the structure and complete functionality of such applications, where the only requirements from the labels would be that the connection application provides some connection functionality (such as connecting the parent to the child account) and web-based application is somehow based on the web, such as being hosted and accessible via the web (Woolf: Paragraph [0036]).
Second, with regard to the argued “Cross-Application Authentication,” Applicant argues many details that are not claimed. For instance, an “identity provider” does not provide that such is third party or any specific details of the connection, where the instant claims only have the “identity provider associated with the web-based application,” which fails to provide any details of what constitutes “associated with,” or whether the identity provider is or is not associated with the connection application or how the identity provider would be associated with each of these. Any time there is an authentication function that is performed, there is some identity provider, which would be any entity that performs the authentication function, as it provides such identity services, even if it is not a third party provider.
Third, Applicant argues that Woolf’s disclosure is confined to a single-system education portal. However, the instant claim fails to provide for any specific structure that would distinguish from this arrangement. Applicant refers to “separate and distinct” from the application, as appearing in the instant specification. However, the claim uses slightly different terminology than the specification. Even so, lacking detail of how the applications would be separate and distinct from each other, such as positively reciting details of the structure of such applications, including details of the separate hosting of the applications, simply having two applications accessed by different entities would provide such distinct (and separate) details.
Applicant provides a table on page 4, providing features of the “Claimed Invention” versus Woolf. Applicant refers to and “external identity provider” as a claimed feature, where “external” does not appear in the instant claims. For trust model, Applicant refers to “cross-domain authentication bridging” the clouds. The word domain does not appear in the instant claims, nor does the term “bridging.” For conditional access, Applicant claims that the instant claims require both link verification and external identity authentication, where “verification” and “external” do not appear in the instant claims. Further, the term “verification,” in itself, if in the claims, would not provide for what is required of such verification. It appears that Applicant regards the claims as having many more requirements than they actually do, where each and every feature argued as being required by the instant claims involves limiting terms that are not actually present in the instant claims.
Accordingly, as Applicant’s arguments do not appear to specifically address the instant claims, but instead appear to glean many details from the instant specification, such arguments cannot be deemed persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 8, 10-11, 13-14, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by US 2008/0254429 (Woolf).
With regard to claim 1, Woolf discloses an apparatus comprising:
a processor; and a memory on which is stored machine-readable instructions that when executed by the processor, cause the processor to:
cause a connection application to be provided through which information pertaining to a first user is to be displayed, wherein the connection application supports authenticating a second user to access the information pertaining to the first user that is stored in association with a web-based application (Woolf: Figures 10-13 and Paragraphs [0036] and [0064]. Woolf provides an application that may be provided using the web, where different profiles are provided. A first user (student) has a profile that may be linked to other users (parents and teachers, for example), where each user has to be authenticated to use the system.), wherein the web-based application is distinct from the connection application (Woolf: Paragraph [0085] and [0036]. The applications may both be web-based. The child uses a first learning application (web-based application), where information is stored on the use of the child application. The parent uses a distinct second learning application (connection application) that allows the parent to access information concerning the first learning application program based on successfully logging into the second learning application program and the parent being linked to the child’s account.);
receive authentication information of the second user, wherein the authentication information includes an identifier of the second user and information that the second user uses for authentication to access the web-based application (Woolf: Figures 10-13 and Paragraphs [0036] and [0064]);
determine whether the identifier of the second user is linked to an identifier of the first user (Woolf: Figures 10-13 and Paragraphs [0036] and [0064]);
determine whether the authentication information authenticates the second user to access the web-based application via an identity provider associated with the web-based application (Woolf: Figures 10-13 and Paragraphs [0036] and [0064]. Authentication is used to authorize a user to access the system, where the entity providing the authentication would be some form of identity provider. Lacking details of the identity provider, whether the identity provider is separate from or a part of the web-based application, it would still be associated with the web-based application.); and
based on both a determination that the identifier of the second user is linked to the identifier of the first user and the authentication information authenticates the second user to access the web-based application, permit the second user to access the information pertaining to the first user through the connection application (Woolf: Figures 10-13 and Paragraphs [0036] and [0064]. Users that are authenticated to use the system and are linked to a student account may access information pertaining to the student.).
With regard to claim 2, Woolf discloses wherein the instructions cause the processor to access registration data that indicates which identifiers of first users are linked to which identifiers of second users; and determine whether the identifier of the second user is linked to the identifier of the first user from the accessed registration data (Woolf: Figures 10-13 and Paragraphs [0036] and [0064]. The links are all maintained by the system, with the system determining if specific users are linked.).
With regard to claim 5, Woolf discloses wherein the instructions cause the processor to: deny the second user access to the information pertaining to the first user based on a determination that the identifier of the second user is not linked to the identifier of the first user; or deny the second user access to the information pertaining to the first user based on a determination that the authentication information fails to authenticate the second user (Woolf: Figures 10-13 and Paragraphs [0036] and [0064]. When providing authentication, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that any failure to authenticate would cause the system to not provide access. Further, users can only access accounts that they are linked to.).
With regard to claim 8, Woolf discloses that the instructions cause the processor to: determine whether the identifier of the second user was previously registered to be linked to the identifier of the first user to determine whether the identifier of the second user is linked to the identifier of the first user; and determine that the identifier of the second user is linked to the identifier of the first user based on a determination that the identifier of the second user was previously registered to be linked to the identifier of the first user (Woolf: Figures 10-13 and Paragraphs [0036] and [0064]. If the accounts are linked, access is provided, meaning that it is determined if the user accounts (including identifiers) were previously linked.).
With regard to claim 10, Woolf discloses wherein the first user is a student of an educational institution and the second user is a guardian of the first user (Woolf: Figures 10-13 and Paragraphs [0036] and [0064]).
With regard to claim 11, Woolf discloses wherein the information pertaining to the first user comprises at least one of a calendar, assignments, grades, attendance records, statuses of assignments, and courses (Woolf: Figure 11. The user activity summary panel and vocabulary status panel provide assignments that were performed. Due to the language “at least one of,” only one item from the listing needs to be disclosed to disclose the invention in as much detail as required by the instant claim.).
With regard to claim 13, Woolf discloses wherein the instructions cause the processor to: register the second user (Woolf: Paragraph [0050]).
With regard to claims 14 and 18, the instant claims are similar to claim 1, and are rejected for similar reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4, 6-7, 9, 15-17, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woolf.
With regard to claim 3, Woolf fails to disclose, but knowledge possessed by one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing teaches wherein the processor controls a resource gateway that authorizes a trust relationship between a consumer cloud and a school cloud for access to information associated with the school cloud (More specifically, Official Notice is taken that the use of clouds were well-known in the art, and that the providing of a trust relationship between a consumer cloud and other systems were known in the art (e.g. using credentials from a user account with one cloud (e.g. Google, Facebook, Microsoft, etc.) to access other systems, such as the system of Woolf implemented as a cloud.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to implement the system as a cloud to leverage the benefits of cloud computing, including scalability, data security, high availability, etc. Further, the use of credentials from a consumer cloud system to access other cloud systems (e.g. using Google credentials to log into other services) provides a more user friendly experience, as the user would not need to create and remember accounts for as many various services, but instead would be able to link plural services to an existing service that the user has an account with.
With regard to claim 4, Woolf fails to disclose, but knowledge possessed by one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing teaches wherein the processor controls a resource gateway that supports authenticating the second user with an identity associated with a consumer cloud to access information of the first user with an identity associated with a school cloud (More specifically, Official Notice is taken that the use of clouds were well-known in the art, and that the providing of a trust relationship between a consumer cloud and other systems were known in the art (e.g. using credentials from a user account with one cloud (e.g. Google, Facebook, Microsoft, etc.) to access other systems, such as the system of Woolf implemented as a cloud. When combined with the system of Woolf, the entry point of the resources, such as the online server system would function as a resource gateway to provide access to the datastore (Woolf: Figure 1).).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to implement the system as a cloud to leverage the benefits of cloud computing, including scalability, data security, high availability, etc. Further, the use of credentials from a consumer cloud system to access other cloud systems (e.g. using Google credentials to log into other services) provides a more user friendly experience, as the user would not need to create and remember accounts for as many various services, but instead would be able to link plural services to an existing service that the user has an account with.
With regard to claim 6, Woolf fails to disclose, but knowledge possessed by one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing teaches wherein the instructions cause the processor to: cause display of a request as to whether the second user has previously set up the authentication information; based on a determination that the second user has not previously set up the authentication information, cause display of instructions for the second user to set up the authentication information; and receive input from the second user to the set up the authentication information (More specifically, Official Notice is taken that it was well-known to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to prompt a user that has not yet created an account (e.g. entered a login name that is not in the system, failed to authenticate, etc.) to create an account.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to display a request as to whether the second user has previously set up the authentication information; based on a determination that the second user has not previously set up the authentication information, cause the portal to display instructions for the second user to set up the authentication information; and receive input from the second user to the set up the authentication information, in accordance with standard practice for web-based accounts, to provide a better use experience, specifically for new users, to guide the users to creating accounts for the system.
With regard to claim 7, Woolf fails to disclose, but knowledge possessed by one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing teaches wherein the identifier of the second user is associated with an identity provider of a consumer cloud, and the identifier of the first user is associated with an identity provider of a school cloud (More specifically, Official Notice is taken that the use of clouds were well-known in the art, and that the providing of a trust relationship between a consumer cloud and other systems were known in the art (e.g. using credentials from a user account with one cloud (e.g. Google, Facebook, Microsoft, etc.) to access other systems, such as the system of Woolf implemented as a cloud.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to implement the system as a cloud to leverage the benefits of cloud computing, including scalability, data security, high availability, etc. Further, the use of credentials from a consumer cloud system to access other cloud systems (e.g. using Google credentials to log into other services) provides a more user friendly experience, as the user would not need to create and remember accounts for as many various services, but instead would be able to link plural services to an existing service that the user has an account with.
With regard to claim 9, Woolf discloses wherein the instructions cause the processor to: identify an ID registered with the first user; determine whether the identified ID matches an ID of the second user; and determine that the identifier of the second user is linked to the identifier of the first user based on the identified ID matching the email address of the second user (Woolf: Paragraph [0049]. User IDs are linked to each other. As a note, the ID registered with the first user does not need to be an ID of the first user, but may be an ID that is registered, such as one of a listing of IDs that are registered with the first user as being linked to the first user.).
Woolf fails to disclose, but knowledge possessed by one of ordinary skill in the art teaches that the IDs are e-mail addresses (more specifically, Official Notice is taken that the use of an e-mail address as a user ID was well-known to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have ID being an e-mail address to conform to a typical practice which removes the need to have the user register a specific user ID and remember such a user ID with the system.
With regard to claims 15-17 and 19-20, the instant claims are similar to claims 3-4 and 7, above, and are rejected for similar reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woolf in view of Blackboard, as shown in “Academic Technology Launchpad: Tools in Blackboard,” posted at <https://libguides.madisoncollege.edu/technology/blackboard-tools> on July 24, 2021 (Blackboard) as evidenced by “What is Blackboard Collaborate? How to use Blackboard's video-conferencing rooms,” posted on December 11, 2020 at < https://www.businessinsider.com/guides/tech/what-is-blackboard-collaborate> (Collaborate).
With regard to claim 12, Woolf fails to disclose, but Blackboard teaches wherein the instructions cause the processor to: provide a link for a video conferencing application in the portal (Blackboard: Page 2. Blackboard allows tools to be added, one of which is Collaborate, which, as shown in Collaborate, is a video conference platform.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide a link for video conferencing application in the portal to simplify the establishment of such video conferencing sessions, which would allow the parents and teachers to efficiently collaborate about the students, such as parent/teacher conferences.
Conclusion
SCOTT B. CHRISTENSEN
Examiner
Art Unit 2444
/SCOTT B CHRISTENSEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2444