DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo (KR 20210086033) hereinafter “Yoo” in view of Do (US 2024/0021769) hereinafter “Do” and in further view of Bibl et al. (US 2014/0367633) hereinafter “Bibl”.
Regarding claim 1, Fig. 17 of Yoo teaches a display device comprising: a substrate (Item 110); and a first pixel and a second pixel (See Picture 1 below), which are disposed adjacent to each other in a first direction parallel to a top surface of the substrate and are alternately and repeatedly arranged, wherein the first pixel comprises a first sub-pixel (Item R in 1st pixel), a second sub-pixel (Item G in 2nd pixel), and two third sub-pixels (Items B in 1st subpixel), which are arranged in a 2x2 matrix form, the second pixel comprises a fourth sub-pixel (Item R in 2nd subpixel), a fifth sub-pixel (Item G in 2nd subpixel), and two sixth sub-pixels (Items B in 2nd subpixel), which are arranged in a 2x2 matrix form, the first to third sub-pixels comprise sub-pixels having colors different from each other (Where the colors are R, G and B, respectively), the fourth to sixth sub-pixels comprise sub-pixels having colors different from each other (Where the colors are R, G and B, respectively), the first sub-pixel and the fourth sub-pixel comprise sub-pixels having the same color, the second sub-pixel and the fifth sub-pixel comprise sub-pixels having the same color, the third sub-pixels and the sixth sub-pixels comprise sub-pixels having the same color, and the first pixel and the second pixel have a line symmetry relationship based on a virtual line between the first pixel and the second pixel (See Picture 1 below).
Yoo does not teach where each of the first pixel and the second pixel includes a blue emission pattern, and at least one of the first to sixth sub-pixels includes a conversion pattern provided on a thin-film encapsulation layer above a respective portion of the blue emission pattern, the conversion pattern corresponding to said at least one sub-pixel.
Fig. 2 of Do teaches where each pixel includes a blue emission pattern (Paragraph 0136), and at least one of the first to sixth sub-pixels includes a conversion pattern (Either of Items 712 and 713) provided on a thin-film encapsulation layer (Item 600) above a respective portion of the blue emission pattern, the conversion pattern (Either of Items 712 and 713) corresponding to said at least one sub-pixel.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have each of the first pixel and the second pixel include a blue emission pattern, and at least one of the first to sixth sub-pixels includes a conversion pattern provided on a thin-film encapsulation layer above a respective portion of the blue emission pattern, the conversion pattern corresponding to said at least one sub-pixel because the conversion patterns convert blue light to red or green for the red and green subpixels (Do Paragraph 0136).
Yoo does not teach each conversion pattern has a width about twice a pixel pitch in the first direction and a planar area about four times that of the subpixel to which the conversion pattern corresponds.
Fig. 17 of Yoo further teaches where like subpixel colors are grouped in groups of four subpixels.
Bibl teaches where multiple LEDs emitting a single color are under a single conversion layer (Paragraph 0111).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have each conversion patter have a width of about twice a pixel pitch in the first direction and a planar area above four times that of the subpixel to which the conversion pattern corresponds because this allows for a single conversion layer to address more than one subpixel, specifically in the group of four subpixels as taught by Yoo (Bibl Paragraph 0108).
Picture 1 (Labeled version of Yoo Fig. 17)
Regarding claim 2, Fig. 17 of Yoo further teaches where the third sub-pixels (Items B in 1st pixel) are disposed in different rows and different columns, and the sixth sub-pixels (Items B in 2nd pixel) are disposed in different rows and different columns (See Picture 1 above).
Regarding claim 3, Fig. 17 of Yoo further teaches where the first sub-pixel (Item R in 1st pixel) and the second sub-pixels (Item G in 1st pixel) are disposed in different rows and different columns, and the fourth sub-pixel (Item R in 2nd pixel) and the fifth sub-pixels (Item G in 2nd pixel) are disposed in different rows and different columns (See Picture 1 above).
Regarding claim 4, Fig. 17 of Yoo further teaches where one of the third sub-pixels is disposed adjacent to one of the sixth sub-pixels in the first direction (See Picture 1 above), and the other of the third sub-pixels and the other of the sixth sub-pixels are disposed to be spaced apart from each other in the first direction with the second sub-pixel and the fifth sub-pixel therebetween (See Picture 1 above).
Regarding claim 5, Fig. 17 of Yoo further teaches where the second sub-pixel (Item G in the 1st pixel) and the fifth sub-pixel (Item G in the 2nd pixel) are disposed adjacent to each other in the first direction.
Alternately, Regarding claim 1, Fig. 4 of Yoo teaches a display device comprising: a substrate (Item 110); and a first pixel and a second pixel (See Picture 2 below), which are disposed adjacent to each other in a first direction parallel to a top surface of the substrate and are alternately and repeatedly arranged, wherein the first pixel comprises a first sub-pixel (Item R in 1st pixel), a second sub-pixel (Item G in 2nd pixel), and two third sub-pixels (Items B in 1st subpixel), which are arranged in a 2x2 matrix form, the second pixel comprises a fourth sub-pixel (Item R in 2nd subpixel), a fifth sub-pixel (Item G in 2nd subpixel), and two sixth sub-pixels (Items B in 2nd subpixel), which are arranged in a 2x2 matrix form, the first to third sub-pixels comprise sub-pixels having colors different from each other (Where the colors are R, G and B, respectively), the fourth to sixth sub-pixels comprise sub-pixels having colors different from each other (Where the colors are R, G and B, respectively), the first sub-pixel and the fourth sub-pixel comprise sub-pixels having the same color, the second sub-pixel and the fifth sub-pixel comprise sub-pixels having the same color, the third sub-pixels and the sixth sub-pixels comprise sub-pixels having the same color, and the first pixel and the second pixel have a line symmetry relationship based on a virtual line between the first pixel and the second pixel (See Picture 2 below).
Yoo does not teach where each of the first pixel and the second pixel includes a blue emission pattern, and at least one of the first to sixth sub-pixels includes a conversion pattern provided on a thin-film encapsulation layer above a respective portion of the blue emission pattern, the conversion pattern corresponding to said at least one sub-pixel.
Fig. 2 of Do teaches where each pixel includes a blue emission pattern (Paragraph 0136), and at least one of the first to sixth sub-pixels includes a conversion pattern (Either of Items 712 and 713) provided on a thin-film encapsulation layer (Item 600) above a respective portion of the blue emission pattern, the conversion pattern (Either of Items 712 and 713) corresponding to said at least one sub-pixel.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have each of the first pixel and the second pixel include a blue emission pattern, and at least one of the first to sixth sub-pixels includes a conversion pattern provided on a thin-film encapsulation layer above a respective portion of the blue emission pattern, the conversion pattern corresponding to said at least one sub-pixel because the conversion patterns convert blue light to red or green for the red and green subpixels (Do Paragraph 0136).
Yoo does not teach each conversion pattern has a width about twice a pixel pitch in the first direction and a planar area about four times that of the subpixel to which the conversion pattern corresponds.
Fig. 17 of Yoo further teaches where like subpixel colors are grouped in groups of four subpixels.
Bibl teaches where multiple LEDs emitting a single color are under a single conversion layer (Paragraph 0111).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have each conversion patter have a width of about twice a pixel pitch in the first direction and a planar area above four times that of the subpixel to which the conversion pattern corresponds because this allows for a single conversion layer to address more than one subpixel, specifically in the group of four subpixels as taught by Yoo (Bibl Paragraph 0108).
Picture 2 (Labeled version of Fig. 4 of Yoo)
Under the alternative rejection of claim 1, Regarding claim 6, Fig. 4 of Yoo further teaches where the third sub-pixels (Items B in the 1st pixel) are disposed in different rows and the same column, the sixth sub-pixels (Items B in the 2nd pixel) are disposed in different rows and the same column, and the third sub-pixels and the sixth sub-pixels are disposed adjacent to each other (See Picture 2 above).
Under the alternative rejection of claim 1, Regarding claim 7, Fig. 4 of Yoo further teaches where the first sub-pixel (Item R in the 1st pixel) and the second sub-pixel (Item G in the 1st pixel) are disposed in different rows and the same column, and the fourth sub-pixel (Item R in the 2nd pixel) and the fifth sub-pixel (Item G in the 2nd pixel) are disposed in different rows and the same column.
Regarding claim 8, Fig. 17 of Yoo teaches a display device comprising: a substrate (Item 110); a pair of first pixel lines (See Picture 3 below) disposed adjacent to each other in a first direction (Up and down across the page) parallel to a top surface of the substrate; and a pair of second pixel lines (See Picture 3 below) disposed adjacent to each other in the first direction (Up and down across the page), wherein one of the first pixel lines is disposed adjacent to one of the first pixel lines in the first direction, and the first pixel lines and the second pixel lines are alternately and repeatedly arranged in the first direction, each of the first pixel lines comprises two red sub-pixels and two first blue sub-pixels, which are alternately and repeatedly arranged in a second direction that is parallel to the top surface of the substrate and crosses the first direction, and each of the second pixel lines comprises two second blue sub-pixels and two green sub-pixels, which are alternately and repeatedly arranged in the second direction (See Picture 3 below).
Yoo does not teach where each of the first pixel and the second pixel includes a blue emission pattern, and at least one of the red sub-pixels and the green sub-pixels includes a conversion pattern provided on a thin-film encapsulation layer above a respective portion of the blue emission pattern, the conversion pattern corresponding to said red sub-pixel or green sub-pixel.
Fig. 2 of Do teaches where each pixel includes a blue emission pattern (Paragraph 0136), and at least one of a red or green sub-pixel includes a conversion pattern (Either of Items 712 and 713) provided on a thin-film encapsulation layer (Item 600) above a respective portion of the blue emission pattern, the conversion pattern (Either of Items 712 and 713) corresponding to said at least one sub-pixel.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have each of the first pixel and the second pixel includes a blue emission pattern, and at least one of the red sub-pixels and the green sub-pixels includes a conversion pattern provided on a thin-film encapsulation layer above a respective portion of the blue emission pattern, the conversion pattern corresponding to said red sub-pixel or green sub-pixel because the conversion patterns convert blue light to red or green for the red and green subpixels (Do Paragraph 0136).
Yoo does not teach each conversion pattern has a width about twice a pixel pitch in the first direction and a planar area about four times that of the subpixel to which the conversion pattern corresponds.
Fig. 17 of Yoo further teaches where like subpixel colors are grouped in groups of four subpixels.
Bibl teaches where multiple LEDs emitting a single color are under a single conversion layer (Paragraph 0111).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have each conversion patter have a width of about twice a pixel pitch in the first direction and a planar area above four times that of the subpixel to which the conversion pattern corresponds because this allows for a single conversion layer to address more than one subpixel, specifically in the group of four subpixels as taught by Yoo (Bibl Paragraph 0108).
Picture 3 (Labeled version of Fig. 17 of Yoo)
Regarding claim 9, Fig. 17 of Yoo further teaches where the red sub-pixels of the pair of first pixel lines are disposed adjacent to each other in a 2x2 matrix form, the blue sub-pixels of the pair of first pixel lines are disposed adjacent to each other in a 2x2 matrix form, the green sub-pixels of the pair of second pixel lines are disposed adjacent to each other in a 2x2 matrix form, and the blue sub-pixels of the pair of second pixel lines are disposed adjacent to each other in a 2x2 matrix form (See Picture 3 above).
Regarding claim 10, Fig. 17 of Yoo further teaches where one blue sub-pixel of the first pixel lines is adjacent to one blue sub-pixel of the second pixel lines in a diagonal direction (See Picture 3 above).
Aternately, Regarding claim 8, Fig. 4 of Yoo teaches a display device comprising: a substrate (Item 110); a pair of first pixel lines (See Picture 4 below) disposed adjacent to each other in a first direction (Up and down across the page) parallel to a top surface of the substrate; and a pair of second pixel lines (See Picture 4 below) disposed adjacent to each other in the first direction (Up and down across the page), wherein one of the first pixel lines is disposed adjacent to one of the first pixel lines in the first direction, and the first pixel lines and the second pixel lines are alternately and repeatedly arranged in the first direction, each of the first pixel lines comprises two red sub-pixels and two first blue sub-pixels, which are alternately and repeatedly arranged in a second direction that is parallel to the top surface of the substrate and crosses the first direction, and each of the second pixel lines comprises two second blue sub-pixels and two green sub-pixels, which are alternately and repeatedly arranged in the second direction (See Picture 4 below).
Yoo does not teach where each of the first pixel and the second pixel includes a blue emission pattern, and at least one of the red sub-pixels and the green sub-pixels includes a conversion pattern provided on a thin-film encapsulation layer above a respective portion of the blue emission pattern, the conversion pattern corresponding to said red sub-pixel or green sub-pixel.
Fig. 2 of Do teaches where each pixel includes a blue emission pattern (Paragraph 0136), and at least one of a red or green sub-pixel includes a conversion pattern (Either of Items 712 and 713) provided on a thin-film encapsulation layer (Item 600) above a respective portion of the blue emission pattern, the conversion pattern (Either of Items 712 and 713) corresponding to said at least one sub-pixel.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have each of the first pixel and the second pixel includes a blue emission pattern, and at least one of the red sub-pixels and the green sub-pixels includes a conversion pattern provided on a thin-film encapsulation layer above a respective portion of the blue emission pattern, the conversion pattern corresponding to said red sub-pixel or green sub-pixel because the conversion patterns convert blue light to red or green for the red and green subpixels (Do Paragraph 0136).
Yoo does not teach each conversion pattern has a width about twice a pixel pitch in the first direction and a planar area about four times that of the subpixel to which the conversion pattern corresponds.
Fig. 17 of Yoo further teaches where like subpixel colors are grouped in groups of four subpixels.
Bibl teaches where multiple LEDs emitting a single color are under a single conversion layer (Paragraph 0111).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have each conversion patter have a width of about twice a pixel pitch in the first direction and a planar area above four times that of the subpixel to which the conversion pattern corresponds because this allows for a single conversion layer to address more than one subpixel, specifically in the group of four subpixels as taught by Yoo (Bibl Paragraph 0108).
Picture 4 (Labeled version of Fig. 4 of Yoo)
Under the alternate rejection of claim 8, Regarding claim 11, Fig. 17 of Yoo further teaches where one blue sub-pixel of the first pixel lines is adjacent to one blue sub-pixel of the second pixel lines in the first direction (See Picture 4 above).
Under the alternate rejection of claim 8, Regarding claim 12, Fig. 17 of Yoo further teaches where one red sub-pixel of the first pixel lines is adjacent to one green sub-pixel of the second pixel lines in the first direction (See Picture 4 above).
Claims 13 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo (KR 20210086033) hereinafter “Yoo” in view of Yamazaki et al. (US 2022/0069025) hereinafter “Yamazaki”.
Regarding claim 13, Figs. 6 and 7 of Yoo teaches a display device comprising: a substrate (Item 110); a plurality of first electrodes (Item 170) arranged in a matrix form on the substrate; a red emission pattern (Item R; Item 1810), a green emission pattern (Item G; Item 1810), and a blue emission pattern (Item B; Item 1810), which are disposed on the first electrodes (Item 170); and a second electrode (Item 190) disposed on the red, green, and blue emission patterns, wherein the red emission pattern (Item R; Item 1810) vertically overlaps four first electrodes (Fig. 6; Item 170 in OP1), which are disposed adjacent to each other in a first direction parallel to a top surface of the substrate, a second direction parallel to the top surface of the substrate and crossing the first direction, and a third direction between the first direction and the second direction, the green emission pattern (Item G; Item 1810) vertically overlaps four first electrodes (Fig. 6; Item 170 in OP1), which are disposed adjacent to each other in the first direction, the second direction, and the third direction, and the blue emission pattern (Item B; Item 1810) vertically overlaps four first electrodes (Fig. 6; Item 170 in OP1), which are disposed adjacent to each other in the first direction, the second direction, and the third direction.
Yoo teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above except a common layer between the plurality of first electrodes and the red, green, and blue emission patterns; a first resonance control pattern and a second resonance control pattern between the plurality of first electrodes and the common layer; and a first reflection control pattern and a second reflection control pattern on the second electrode, wherein the first resonance control pattern and the first reflection control pattern are provided on the four first electrodes that vertically overlap the red emission pattern, and the second resonance control pattern and the second reflection control pattern are provided on the four first electrodes that vertically overlap the green emission pattern, each of the first resonance control pattern and the second resonance control pattern has a refractive index of about 1.6 to about 1.9.
Yamazaki teaches a display having first electrodes (Items 191), a second electrode (Item 115) and red (Item 193R), green (Item 193G) and blue (Item 193B) emission patterns, where a common layer (Item 112) is between the plurality of first electrodes (Item 191) and the red, green, and blue emission patterns; a first resonance control pattern (Item 199G) and a second resonance control pattern (Item 199R) between the plurality of first electrodes (Item 191) and the common layer (Item 112); and a first reflection control pattern (Portion of Item 116 over Item 199G) and a second reflection control pattern (Portion of Item 116 over Item 199R) on the second electrode (Item 115), where the resonance control patterns (Items 199G and 199R) are made of a material having a refractive index of about 1.6 to about 1.9 (Paragraph 0158 where the material is any number of materials including ITSO or ITO; where ITSO inherently has a refractive index of about 1.9, where ITO inherently has a refractive index of about 1.9).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a common layer between the plurality of first electrodes and the red, green, and blue emission patterns; a first resonance control pattern and a second resonance control pattern between the plurality of first electrodes and the common layer; and a first reflection control pattern and a second reflection control pattern on the second electrode, where each of the first resonance control pattern and the second resonance control pattern has a refractive index of about 1.6 to about 1.9 because the common layer may include one or both of a hole injection layer and a hole transport layer which would be appropriate for all of the subpixels (Yamazaki Paragraph 0130), the first and second resonance control patterns adjust the optical path such that a desired light intensifies (Yamazaki Paragraphs 0115-0116), and the first and second reflection control patterns inhibits light absorption while increasing the light extraction efficiency of the light-emitting device (Yamazaki Paragraph 0167).
When the common layer, resonance control patterns and reflection control patterns taught by Yamazaki are included in the structure of Yoo, the first resonance control pattern and the first reflection control pattern will be provided on the four first electrodes that vertically overlap the red emission pattern, and the second resonance control pattern and the second reflection control pattern will be provided on the four first electrodes that vertically overlap the green emission pattern.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Yoo and Yamazaki teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above.
Yoo does not teach where a thickness of the first resonance control pattern and a thickness of the second resonance control pattern are different from each other.
Fig. 2A of Yamazaki teaches where a thickness of the first resonance control pattern (Item 199G) and a thickness of the second resonance control pattern (Item 199R) are different from each other (Paragraphs 0126 and 0127).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a thickness of the first resonance control pattern and a thickness of the second resonance control pattern are different from each other because this intensifies whatever wavelength of light is desired for a specific subpixel (Yamazaki Paragraphs 0126 and 0127).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Yoo and Yamazaki teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above.
Yoo does not teach where a third resonance control pattern disposed between the plurality of first electrodes and the common layer; and a third reflection control pattern provided on the second electrode, wherein the third resonance control pattern and the third reflection control pattern are provided on the four first electrodes that vertically overlap the blue emission pattern.
Yamazaki teaches a display having first electrodes (Items 191), a second electrode (Item 115) and red (Item 193R), green (Item 193G) and blue (Item 193B) emission patterns, where a common layer (Item 112) is between the plurality of first electrodes (Item 191) and the red, green, and blue emission patterns; a third resonance control pattern (Item 199B) disposed between the plurality of first electrodes (Item 191) and the common layer (Item 112); and a third reflection control pattern (Portion of Item 116 over Item 199B) provided on the second electrode (Item 115).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a third resonance control pattern disposed between the plurality of first electrodes and the common layer; and a third reflection control pattern provided on the second electrode because the third resonance control pattern adjusts the optical path such that a desired blue light intensifies (Yamazaki Paragraphs 0115-0116), and the third reflection control pattern inhibits light absorption while increasing the light extraction efficiency of the light-emitting device (Yamazaki Paragraph 0167).
When the common layer, resonance control patterns and reflection control patterns taught by Yamazaki are included in the structure of Yoo, the third resonance control pattern and the third reflection control pattern will be provided on the four first electrodes that vertically overlap the blue emission pattern.
Regarding claim 17, Fig. 17 of Yoo further teaches a first pixel, a second pixel, a third pixel, and a fourth pixel, which are arranged in a clockwise direction in a 2x2 matrix form on the top surface of the substrate, wherein each of the first to fourth pixels comprises one first red sub-pixel, one green sub-pixel, and two blue sub-pixels, which are arranged in a 2x2 matrix form, and the sub-pixels having the same color of each of the first to fourth pixels are disposed adjacent to each other based on a central point at which the first pixel, the second pixel, the third pixel, and the fourth pixel are gathered (See Picture 5 below).
Picture 5 (Labeled version of Fig. 17 of Yoo)
Regarding claim 18, Fig. 17 of Yoo further teaches where the first pixel and the second pixel have a line symmetry relationship based on a virtual line between the first pixel and the second pixel, the first pixel and the third pixel have a point symmetry relationship based on a virtual point between the first pixel and the third pixel, and the first pixel and the fourth pixel have a line symmetry relationship based on a virtual line between the first pixel and the fourth pixel (See Picture 5 above).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant’s REMARKS, filed 11/26/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 8 under 35 USC 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Do and Bibl.
Applicant's arguments filed 11/26/2025, with regard to claim 13, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
While the Examiner agrees that Yoo does not teach the refractive index of the resonance control pattern required by the claim the Examiner disagrees that Yamazaki does not teach this refractive index. While Yamazaki does not state specific refractive indexes for the materials of the resonance control patterns, Paragraph 0158 of Yamazaki teaches materials such as ITSO and ITO both of which have refractive index of about 1.9 which falls within the claimed range. Therefore, the Examiner maintains the reliance on the combination of Yoo and Yamazaki to teach and render obvious the limitations in amended claim 13.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC K ASHBAHIAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891