DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having application No 18/344,533 filed on 04/27/2026 is presented for examination by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1, 5-6, 15, and 19-20 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Li et al. (U.S 20210337538, Oct.28, 2021) in view of CHOI et al. (US 20210092762, Mar. 25, 2021).
Regarding Claim 1, Li discloses an uplink control information (UCI) multiplexing method, performed by a terminal, the method comprising: multiplexing(page 11, par (0130), line 1-10, multiplexing uplink control information for transmission performed by a base station and UE (performed by terminal)), in a case that a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) and a first physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) at least partially overlap in time domain(page 4, par (0054), line 1-10, Uplink control information (UCI) carried on a PUCCH includes HARQ-ACK information, channel state information (CSI), and a scheduling request (SR). After a PUCCH #1 and a PUCCH #2 overlap in time domain, UCI1 carried on the PUCCH #1 and UCI 2 carried on the PUCCH #2 need to be multiplexed, and are sent on a resource corresponding to the PUCCH #1 or the PUCCH #2, when the PUCCH #1 and a PUSCH overlap in time domain, also see par (0053), When time domain symbols corresponding to two time-frequency
resources are partially the same, it is considered that the two time-frequency resources partially overlap in time domain), first UCI carried by the first PUCCH on the first PUSCH for transmission(page 4, par (0054), line 1-10, UCI1 carried on the PUCCH #1 and UCI 2 carried on the PUCCH #2 need to be multiplexed, and are sent on a resource corresponding to the PUCCH #1 or the PUCCH #2, When the PUCCH #1 and a PUSCH); and determining, according to a quantity of at least some slots of the first PUSCH, a quantity of symbols occupied by the first UCI in the first PUSCH(page 5, par (0057), line 1-10, The UCI carried on PUCCH format O is implicitly indicated by using a selected cyclic shift (CS). If the time domain length of PUCCH format 0 is two symbols, information on the first symbol may be repeatedly sent on the second symbol, and a frequency domain resource on the second symbol may be different from that on the first symbol).
Li discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except the first PUSCH is a PUSCH occupying a plurality of time units, each time unit comprising a slot; wherein the quantity of at least some slots of the first PUSCH is further determined according to the following a quantity of symbols of the first PUSCH; a quantity of resources other than a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) on the first PUSCH; and a quantity of resources configured by a network.
CHOI is the same field of invention teaches the first PUSCH is a PUSCH occupying a plurality of time units, each time unit comprising a slot(page 15, par (0146), line 1-10, the UE multiplex HARQ-ACK with PUSCH transmission in all of a plurality of slots in which PUSCH transmission is performed); wherein the quantity of at least some slots of the first PUSCH is further determined according to the following a quantity of symbols of the first PUSCH (CHOI, page 2, par (0021), line 1-10, determine the position of the earlier symbol of a start symbol of a PUCCH including the HARQ-ACK information and a start symbol of PUSCH transmission over the plurality of slots (quantity of symbols of the PUSCH over some slots));
a quantity of resources other than a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) on the first PUSCH (CHOI, page 9, par (0096), line 1-10, the UE spreads the even-numbered OFDM symbols to which PUSCH format 1 is allocated through the time axis orthogonal cover code (OCC) to transmit the obtained signal. PUSCH format 1 determines the maximum number of different UEs multiplexed in the one RB according to the length of the OCC to be used. A demodulation reference signal (DMRS) may be spread with OCC and mapped to the odd-numbered OFDM symbols of PUCCH format 1(wherein quantity of resources other than DMRS on the PUSCH because DMRS mapped to the odd number which is different resources allocated even number));
and a quantity of resources configured by a network (CHOI, page 10, par (0105), line 1-10, UE uses a plurality of frequency blocks or cells configured with UL resources and DL resources as one large logical frequency band in order for a wireless communication system (configured by network) to use a wider frequency band).
Li and CHOI l analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify first PUSCH is a PUSCH occupying a plurality of time units, the time unit comprises a slot the teaching of Li to include the UE multiplex HARQ-ACK with PUSCH transmission in all of a plurality of slots in which PUSCH transmission is performed the teaching of CHOI because it is providing efficiently multiplexing uplink control information in a wireless communication system and an apparatus using the same.
Regarding Claim 5, Li discloses determining, depending on whether the first PUCCH is a repetition transmission, a quantity of times of the repetition transmission of the first UCI on the first PUSCH (page 4, par (0054), line 1-10, UCI1 carried on the PUCCH #1 and UCI 2 carried on the PUCCH #2 need to be multiplexed, and are sent on a resource corresponding to the PUCCH #1 or the PUCCH #2, When the PUCCH #1 and a PUSCH).
Regarding Claim 6, Li discloses the quantity of at least some slots of the first PUSCH is further determined according to one or more of the following; a quantity of symbols occupied by UCI that has been multiplexed and transmitted on the first PUSCH; or a type of the first UCI (page 7, par (0084), line 1-10, UCI corresponding to a same service type is multiplexed for transmission, to separately meet different transmission latency and transmission reliability requirements of the system on the UCL, a service type corresponding to the first HARQACK information is URLLC, and a service type corresponding to the second HARQ-ACK information is eMBB).
Regarding Claim 15, Li discloses a terminal, comprising: a processor, a memory, and a program stored on the memory and runnable on the processor, wherein the program, when being executed by the processor, implements multiplexing (page 11, par (0130), line 1-10, multiplexing uplink control information for transmission performed by a base station and UE (performed by terminal)), in a case that a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) and a first physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) at least partially overlap in time domain(page 4, par (0054), line 1-10, Uplink control information (UCI) carried on a PUCCH includes HARQ-ACK information, channel state information (CSI), and a scheduling request (SR). After a PUCCH #1 and a PUCCH #2 overlap in time domain, UCI1 carried on the PUCCH #1 and UCI 2 carried on the PUCCH #2 need to be multiplexed, and are sent on a resource corresponding to the PUCCH #1 or the PUCCH #2, when the PUCCH #1 and a PUSCH overlap in time domain, also see par (0053), When time domain symbols corresponding to two time-frequency
resources are partially the same, it is considered that the two time-frequency resources partially overlap in time domain), first UCI carried by the first PUCCH on the first PUSCH for transmission(page 4, par (0054), line 1-10, UCI1 carried on the PUCCH #1 and UCI 2 carried on the PUCCH #2 need to be multiplexed, and are sent on a resource corresponding to the PUCCH #1 or the PUCCH #2, When the PUCCH #1 and a PUSCH); and determining, according to a quantity of at least some slots of the first PUSCH, a quantity of symbols occupied by the first UCI in the first PUSCH(page 5, par (0057), line 1-10, The UCI carried on PUCCH format O is implicitly indicated by using a selected cyclic shift (CS). If the time domain length of PUCCH format 0 is two symbols, information on the first symbol may be repeatedly sent on the second symbol, and a frequency domain resource on the second symbol may be different from that on the first symbol).
Li discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except the first PUSCH is a PUSCH occupying a plurality of time units, each time unit comprising a slot; wherein the quantity of at least some slots of the first PUSCH is further determined according to the following a quantity of symbols of the first PUSCH; a quantity of resources other than a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) on the first PUSCH; and a quantity of resources configured by a network.
CHOI is the same field of invention teaches the first PUSCH is a PUSCH occupying a plurality of time units, each time unit comprising a slot(page 15, par (0146), line 1-10, the UE multiplex HARQ-ACK with PUSCH transmission in all of a plurality of slots in which PUSCH transmission is performed); wherein the quantity of at least some slots of the first PUSCH is further determined according to the following a quantity of symbols of the first PUSCH (CHOI, page 2, par (0021), line 1-10, determine the position of the earlier symbol of a start symbol of a PUCCH including the HARQ-ACK information and a start symbol of PUSCH transmission over the plurality of slots (quantity of symbols of the PUSCH over some slots));
a quantity of resources other than a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) on the first PUSCH (CHOI, page 9, par (0096), line 1-10, the UE spreads the even-numbered OFDM symbols to which PUSCH format 1 is allocated through the time axis orthogonal cover code (OCC) to transmit the obtained signal. PUSCH format 1 determines the maximum number of different UEs multiplexed in the one RB according to the length of the OCC to be used. A demodulation reference signal (DMRS) may be spread with OCC and mapped to the odd-numbered OFDM symbols of PUCCH format 1(wherein quantity of resources other than DMRS on the PUSCH because DMRS mapped to the odd number which is different resources allocated even number));
and a quantity of resources configured by a network (CHOI, page 10, par (0105), line 1-10, UE uses a plurality of frequency blocks or cells configured with UL resources and DL resources as one large logical frequency band in order for a wireless communication system (configured by network) to use a wider frequency band).
Li and CHOI l analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify first PUSCH is a PUSCH occupying a plurality of time units, the time unit comprises a slot the teaching of Li to include the UE multiplex HARQ-ACK with PUSCH transmission in all of a plurality of slots in which PUSCH transmission is performed the teaching of CHOI because it is providing efficiently multiplexing uplink control information in a wireless communication system and an apparatus using the same.
Regarding Claim 19, Li discloses the program, when being executed by the processor, further implements determining, depending on whether the first PUCCH is a repetition transmission, a quantity of times of the repetition transmission of the first UCI on the first PUSCH(page 4, par (0054), line 1-10, UCI1 carried on the PUCCH #1 and UCI 2 carried on the PUCCH #2 need to be multiplexed, and are sent on a resource corresponding to the PUCCH #1 or the PUCCH #2, When the PUCCH #1 and a PUSCH).
Regarding Claim 20, Li discloses a non-transitory readable storage medium, storing a program or instructions, wherein the program or the instructions, when being executed by a processor, implements multiplexing(page 11, par (0130), line 1-10, multiplexing uplink control information for transmission performed by a base station and UE (performed by terminal)), in a case that a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) and a first physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) at least partially overlap in time domain(page 4, par (0054), line 1-10, Uplink control information (UCI) carried on a PUCCH includes HARQ-ACK information, channel state information (CSI), and a scheduling request (SR). After a PUCCH #1 and a PUCCH #2 overlap in time domain, UCI1 carried on the PUCCH #1 and UCI 2 carried on the PUCCH #2 need to be multiplexed, and are sent on a resource corresponding to the PUCCH #1 or the PUCCH #2, when the PUCCH #1 and a PUSCH overlap in time domain, also see par (0053), When time domain symbols corresponding to two time-frequency resources are partially the same, it is considered that the two time-frequency resources partially overlap in time domain),
first UCI carried by the first PUCCH on the first PUSCH for transmission (page 4, par (0054), line 1-10, UCI1 carried on the PUCCH #1 and UCI 2 carried on the PUCCH #2 need to be multiplexed, and are sent on a resource corresponding to the PUCCH #1 or the PUCCH #2, When the PUCCH #1 and a PUSCH),
and determining, according to a quantity of slots of the first PUSCH, a quantity of symbols occupied by the first UCI in the first PUSCH (page 5, par (0057), line 1-10, The UCI carried on PUCCH format O is implicitly indicated by using a selected cyclic shift (CS). If the time domain length of PUCCH format 0 is two symbols, information on the first symbol may be repeatedly sent on the second symbol, and a frequency domain resource on the second symbol may be different from that on the first symbol).
Li discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except the first PUSCH is a PUSCH occupying a plurality of time units, each time unit comprises a slot.
CHOI is the same field of invention teaches the first PUSCH is a PUSCH occupying a plurality of time units, each time unit comprising a slot (page 15, par (0146), line 1-10, the UE multiplex HARQ-ACK with PUSCH transmission in all of a plurality of slots in which PUSCH transmission is performed).
Li and CHOI l analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify first PUSCH is a PUSCH occupying a plurality of time units, the time unit comprises a slot the teaching of Li to include the UE multiplex HARQ-ACK with PUSCH transmission in all of a plurality of slots in which PUSCH transmission is performed the teaching of CHOI because it is providing efficiently multiplexing uplink control information in a wireless communication system and an apparatus using the same.
Response to Argument
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 16-31 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. However, the new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of over Li et al. (U.S 20210337538, Oct.28, 2021) and CHOI et al. (US 20210092762, Mar. 25, 2021).
Examiner Notice
Claim 1 would be allowable if (i) claims 3 or 4 or 7 or 8 are incorporated into the independent claim 1.
Claim 15 would be allowable if (i) claims 17 or 18 are incorporated into the independent claim 15.
Claim 20 would be allowable if (i) claims 3 or 4 or 7 or 8 or 17 or 18 are incorporated into the independent claim 20.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure are:
ZHANG et al. (US 20220116962, Apr. 14, 2022) teaches Terminal, Base station and method performed by the same in wireless communication system.
/IQBAL ZAIDI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464