DETAILED ACTION
Claims Status
2. The response filed on November 08, 2025 has been entered and made of record.
3. Claims 1-4, 13-16 and 20 have been amended.
4. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
5. The applicant's arguments filed on November 08, 2025 regarding claims 1, 5-13 and 17-20 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The rejection has been revised and set forth below according to the amended claims. A response is considered necessary for applicant’s arguments/remarks since the cited references, Xin in view of Puente Pestana will continue to be used to meet the amended limitations.
Regarding claims 1, 13 and 20, the applicant argued that cited portions of the reference do not appear to fairly describe at least the claimed features emphasized the amended features of independent claims (Applicant, page 11-14, Remarks Made in an Amendment dated November 8, 2025 ).
In response to applicant’s argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the above argument.
As a support of evidence, Xin discloses:
“Step 101. A data analytics network element obtains data of a terminal on a first network element. The data of the terminal on the first network element includes a first identifier, and the first network element is an access network element. The first identifier includes any one or more of the following information an identifier assigned by the first network element to the terminal and/or an identifier assigned by a second network element to the terminal” (paragraph [0236]).
“Step 102. The data analytics network element obtains data on the second network element. The data on the second network element includes data of the terminal on the second network element, and the data of the terminal on the second network element includes the first identifier” (paragraph [0239]).
“Table 2 shows data association identifiers” (paragraph [0388]).
“For example, if the second network element is the AMF network element, in this embodiment of this application, the identifier assigned by the first network element to the terminal is an identifier assigned by the access network element to the terminal on a first interface, where the first interface is an interface between the access network element and the AMF network element, and the identifier assigned by the second network element to the terminal is an identifier assigned by the AMF network element to the terminal on the first interface. For example, the first interface may be an N2 interface. In other words, the access network element and the AMF network element each assign a unique identifier to the terminal on the N2 interface. For example, the identifier assigned by the access network element to the terminal on the N2 interface is a RAN UE next generation application protocol identifier (RAN UE NGAP ID), and the identifier assigned by the AMF network element to the terminal on the N2 interface is an AMF UE next generation application protocol identifier (AMF UE NGAP ID). The identifier assigned by the access network element to the terminal on the N2 interface is used to uniquely identify a RAN tunnel identifier of the terminal, and the identifier assigned by the AMF network element to the terminal on the N2 interface is used to uniquely identify an AMF tunnel identifier of the terminal.” (paragraph [00245]).
“Step 103. The data analytics network element associates the data of the terminal on the first network element with the data of the terminal on the second network element based on the first identifier” (Fig.8, paragraph [00250]).
“the data of the terminal on the access network element may be associated with the data on the second network element based on an identifier assigned by the access network element to the terminal on the interface and/or an identifier assigned by the second network element to the terminal on the interface” (Fig.8, paragraph [00252]).
During examination proceedings, claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification. Examiner acknowledges that the interpretation must be reasonable in view of applicant’s disclosure, which does not mean a range of imagined possibilities. In the context of the claims, the amended limitation (“second dataset comprises multiple pieces of data which belong to a subset of the plurality of pieces of data in the first dataset, and also belong to a subset of the plurality of pieces of data in the third dataset”) can be reasonably interpreted as: “intersection between first data set i.e. first data on the second element and third data set i.e. data of the terminal on the first network”.
Accordingly, it is clear that Xin in combination with Puente Pestana teach the claim features.
Regarding Claims 5-12 an 17-19, the features that Applicant’s arguing are disclosed by Xin in combination with Puente Pestana as responded above for a similar rationale as that discussed. The dependent claims 5-12 an 17-19 are not patentable according to the solid prior art teachings.
Therefore, in view of above, while Applicant’s remarks and arguments have been considered, they are not persuasive. Clarifying fundamental difference between claims functionality and the cited reference’s by incorporating the allowable subject matter indicated in this office action could overcome the current outstanding rejection (The examiner believes a more favorable outcome may occur if the applicant amends each independent claims by incorporating the features of objected claims 2-4 and 14-16).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1, 5-13 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xin et al. (WO 2020/200037 A1, PCT/CN2020/081411, publication dated October 08, 2020; US 2021/0092588 A1; Note: US 2021/0092588 A1 is cited as an English translation purpose in this office action), hereinafter “Xin” in view of Puente Pestana et al. (US 2023/0153685 A1), hereinafter “Puente Pestana”.
Regarding claim 1, Xin discloses a method (Figs. 3A-3B, Table 1-2, data processing method and apparatus, and a system) comprising:
obtaining, by a data analysis network element (Figs. 3A-3B, data analysis network element), first association information (Figs. 3A-3B, Table 1-2, paragraphs [0239], [0240], first identifier) corresponding to a first dataset (paragraphs [0239], [0240], data on the second network element), wherein the first dataset comprises a plurality of pieces of data of a service on a core network element (Figs. 3A-3B, Table 1-2, paragraphs [0239], [0240], AMF/SMF/UPF network elements);
obtaining, by the data analysis network element (Figs. 3A-3B, Table 1-2, paragraphs [0245], [0250]-[0253], [0388], data analytics network element), a second dataset based on the first association information (Figs. 3A-3B, Table 1-2, paragraphs [0245], [0250]-[0253], [0388], data of the terminal on the first network element with the data of the terminal on the second network element based on the first identifier),
wherein the second dataset corresponds to second association information (Figs. 3A-3B, Table 1-2, paragraphs [0245], [0250]-[0253], [0388], the data of the terminal on the access network element may be associated with the data on the second network element based on an identifier assigned by the access network element to the terminal on the interface and/or an identifier assigned by the second network element to the terminal on the interface),
the second association information is an intersection of the first association information and third association information (Figs. 3A-3B, Table2, paragraphs [0245], [0388], intersection between UE/RAN and AMF network element),
the third association information (Figs. 3A-3B, paragraphs [0236], [0255], first identifier/global node identifier) corresponds to a third dataset (Figs. 3A-3B, paragraphs [0236], [0255], data on the first network element),
the third dataset comprises a plurality of pieces of data of the service on a first device (Figs. 3A-3B, paragraphs [0236], [0255], first network element/RAN), and
the second dataset comprises multiple pieces of data which belong to a subset of the plurality of pieces of data in the first dataset, and also belong to a subset of the plurality of pieces of data in the third dataset (Figs. 3A-3B, Table2, [0245], [0250]-[0253], [0388], intersection between UE/RAN and AMF network element).
While Xin implicitly refers to “determining, by the data analysis network element, a fourth dataset based on first information and the second dataset, wherein the fourth dataset is a subset or all of the second dataset, and the first information comprises at least one of capability information of the first device or capability information of the data analysis network element; and determining, by the data analysis network element, a service experience model of the service based on the fourth dataset”, (Fig. 3A-3B, paragraphs [0289], [0360], an example in which the second network element is the AMF network element to describe, using step 101 to step 109, a process in which the data analytics network element sequentially associates every two of the data of the terminal on the access network element, the data of the terminal on the AMF network element, the data of the terminal on the SMF network element, the data of the terminal on the UPF network element, and the data of the terminal on the AF network element, to finally obtain complete service MOS model training data), Puente Pestana from the same or similar field of endeavor explicitly discloses determining, by the data analysis network element (Figs. 1-2, 3-4, paragraphs [0009], [0044], [0049]-[0051], [0072], type of analytics that NWDAF can generate), a fourth dataset based on first information and the second dataset (Figs. 1-2, 3-4, paragraphs [0009], [0044], [0049]-[0051], [0072], data set available to data analytics entity), wherein
the fourth dataset is a subset or all of the second dataset (Figs. 1-2, 3-4, paragraphs [0009], [0044], [0049]-[0051], [0072], data analytics entity applies the model to its own dataset (e.g., either the whole dataset or a subset thereof)) , and
the first information comprises at least one of capability information of the first device or capability information of the data analysis network element (paragraphs [0057]-[0060], one or more criteria applied to data analytics entity); and
determining, by the data analysis network element (Figs. 1-2, 3-4, paragraphs [0010], [0017], [0039], [0052]-[0053], an indication of the accuracy of the model when applied to the dataset of the first data analytics entity), a service experience model of the service based on the fourth dataset (Figs. 1-2, 3-4, paragraphs [0010], [0017], [0039], [0052]-[0053], an indication of the accuracy of the model when applied to the dataset of the first data analytics entity).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “determining, by the data analysis network element, a fourth dataset based on first information and the second dataset, wherein the fourth dataset is a subset or all of the second dataset, and the first information comprises at least one of capability information of the first device or capability information of the data analysis network element; and determining, by the data analysis network element, a service experience model of the service based on the fourth dataset” as taught by Puente Pestana, in the system of Xin, so that it would provide certain characteristics or metadata, such as model accuracy, error statistics, ratio of false positives, training time, characteristics of the data set used for training (Puente Pestana, paragraph [0011]).
Regarding claim 5, Xin discloses sending, by the data analysis network element, a first request to a second device to request the first dataset, wherein the first request carries identification information of the first device, and receiving, by the data analysis network element, the first dataset from the second device in response to the first request (Figs. 3A-3B, paragraphs [0239], [0253]-[0255], [0347]-[0349], data of the terminal on the second network element based on data request).
Regarding claim 6, Xin discloses the obtaining, by the data analysis network element, the second dataset based on the first association information comprises:
sending, by the data analysis network element, the first association information to the first device (Figs. 3A-3B, 4A-4B, Table 2, paragraphs [0306], [0311], step 110, step 111);
receiving, by the data analysis network element, the second association information from the first device in response to the first association information; and obtaining, by the data analysis network element, the second dataset based on the second association information and the first dataset (Figs. 3A-3B, 4A-4B, Table 2-data association identifiers, paragraphs[0245], [0250]-[0253], [0388], step 103, data analytics network element associates the data of the terminal on the first network element with the data of the terminal on the second network element based on the first identifier).
Regarding claim 7, Xin discloses the obtaining, by the data analysis network element, the second dataset based on the first association information comprises:
receiving, by the data analysis network element (Figs. 3A-3B, paragraphs [0236], [0255], step 101, data analysis network element), the third association information from the first device (Figs. 3A-3B, paragraphs [0236], [0255], global RAN node ID);
determining, by the data analysis network element, the second association information based on the third association information and the first association information (Figs. 3A-3B, paragraphs [0236], [0255], step 101-103, Table 2, paragraphs [0245], [0250]-[0253], [0388], intersection between UE/RAN and AMF network element); and
obtaining, by the data analysis network element, the second dataset based on the second association information and the first dataset (Figs. 3A-3B, step 101- 103, paragraphs [0245], [0250]-[0253], [0388], Table 2, global RAN node ID/RAN UE NGAP ID).
Regarding claim 8, Xin discloses the obtaining, by the data analysis network element, the first association information corresponding to the first dataset comprises:
sending, by the data analysis network element (Figs. 3A-3B, paragraphs [0239], [0250]-[0255], [0347]-[0349], [0388], data analysis network element), a second request to a second device to request the first association information corresponding to the first dataset (Figs. 3A-3B, paragraphs [0239], [0250]-[0255], [0347]-[0349], [0388], data request message), wherein the second request carries identification information of the first device (Figs. 3A-3B, paragraphs [0239], [0250]-[0255], [0347]-[0349], [0388], at least one of the following information an identifier of the terminal, an identifier of the first network element, an identifier of the second network element, a session identifier of the terminal, a flow identifier of the terminal, network instance information, and area information of the terminal); and
receiving, by the data analysis network element (Figs. 3A-3B, paragraphs [0239], [0250]-[0255], [0347]-[0349], [0388], data analysis network element), the first association information from the second device in response to the second request (Figs. 3A-3B, paragraphs [0239], [0250]-[0255], [0347]-[0349], [0388], second data request message).
Regarding claim 9, Xin discloses the obtaining, by the data analysis network element, the second dataset based on the first association information comprises:
determining, by the data analysis network element, the second association information based on the first association information;
sending, by the data analysis network element, a third request to the second device to request the second dataset, wherein the third request carries the second association information (Fig. 3A-3B, step 102-103, paragraphs [0239], [0245], [0250]-[0255], [0347]-[0349], [0388], Table 2, intersection between UE/RAN and AMF network element); and
receiving, by the data analysis network element, the second dataset from the second device in response to the third request (Fig. 3A-3B, step 102-103, paragraphs [0239], [0245], [0250]-[0255], [0347]-[0349], [0388], Table 2, data of the terminal on the access network element may be associated with the data on the second network element based on an identifier assigned by the access network element to the terminal on the interface and/or an identifier assigned by the second network element to the terminal on the interface).
Regarding claim 10, Xin discloses the method further comprises:
sending, by the data analysis network element, a fourth request to a network element storage function network element, to request address information of the second device (paragraphs [0249], [0389], the method provided in this embodiment of this application further includes querying, by the data analytics network element, an identifier of the second network element from an NRF network element; for example, the data analytics network element sends a query request to the NRF network element; the query request includes at least one of the following information area information, a data analytic result identifier (Analytic ID), a terminal group identifier, and a terminal type); and
receiving, by the data analysis network element, the address information of the second device from the network element storage function network element in response to the fourth request (paragraphs [0249], [0389], Specifically, the identifier of the second network element may be determined by the data analytics network element from an NRF).
Regarding claim 11, Xin discloses the first association information comprises: identification information of the first device (paragraphs [0253], [0255], first identifier of the application), identification information allocated by the first device to a terminal device (paragraph [0245], identifier assigned by access network element to the terminal), and a timestamp (paragraph [0037], timestamp included in first identifier is a moment, recorded on access network element).
Regarding claim 12, Xin discloses the identification information allocated by the first device to the terminal device is identification information allocated by the first device to the terminal device on a first interface between the first device and the core network element (paragraph [0245], an identifier assigned by the access network element to the terminal on a first interface, where the first interface is an interface between the access network element and the AMF network element).
Regarding claim 13, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 17, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 5.
Regarding claim 18, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 7.
Regarding claim 19, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 8.
Regarding claim 20, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
8. Claims 2-4 and 14-16 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable contingent upon or subject to the following conditions:
(1) that the claims are rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims as presented by applicant and referenced herein, (2) that the subject limitation(s) are not taken alone but in view of the entirety of the claim language including any preceding claim limitation, any proceeding claim limitations, and any intervening claim limitations, (3) that all independent claims were amended with similar features and the amendments were submitted in a formal response.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claims 2-4 and 14-16, contingent upon or subject to the conditions noted herein above, the prior art of record fails to disclose, alone, individually or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claim(s): “the fourth dataset further comprises a verification set, the verification set corresponds to fifth association information, and the determining, by the data analysis network element, the service experience model of the service in the at least one candidate service experience model comprises: obtaining, by the data analysis network element, the verification set based on the fifth association information and the fourth dataset; determining, by the data analysis network element based on the verification set, a verification result corresponding to the at least one candidate service experience model; and determining, by the data analysis network element, the service experience model of the service based on the verification result corresponding to the at least one candidate service experience model”.
Conclusion
9. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SITHU KO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414