DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is responsive to the application filed on 06/29/2023.
2. Claims 1-20 are pending.
3. Claims 1-20 are rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/29/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Keith Nolan et al (US 20210126826 A1), hereinafter “Nolan”.
Regarding Claim 1, Fulanito discloses a first compute device (Nolan, Paragraph 0084, IoT device) comprising:
interface circuitry to connect to a network (Nolan, Paragraph 0084, IoT devices in communication with a mesh network);
instructions (Nolan, Paragraph 0464, instructions);
programmable circuitry to:
interpret a policy based on a first attribute and a second attribute to identify an action associated with the first compute device, the first attribute to describe the first compute device, the second attribute obtained via the interface circuitry from a second compute device to describe the second compute device (Nolan, Paragraph 0085, fog device leverage the combined processing and network resources that the collective IoT devices provide, wherein the fog device can be used for financial modeling, weather forecasting, traffic analyses, etc. Paragraph 0091, IoT device within the fog device are able to discover and control a resource if another IoT device fails. For example, a traffic light controlling the lights for other traffic lights based on the discovery. Paragraphs 0093-0094, determining that another IoT device has entered or left the vicinity of the fog device);
and provide the identification to an application on the first compute device to cause the application to perform the action based on the policy (Nolan, Paragraph 0091, IoT device controls the lights of other traffic lights. Paragraph 0092, IoT devices reconfigure their operations and communications, such as to determine needed resources in response to conditions, queries, and device failures. Paragraph 0093, reconfiguring IoT devices in order to perform different functions based on determining that another IoT device has entered the vicinity of the fog device (i.e., location based)).
Regarding Claim 2, Nolan discloses the first compute device of claim 1 above, wherein:
the action is a first action (Nolan, Paragraph 0091, IoT device controlling the lights of other traffic lights);
and the programmable circuitry is to transmit the first attribute to the second compute device, the transmission to cause the second compute device to interpret the policy based on the first and second attributes to identify a second action associated with the second compute device (Nolan, Paragraph 0093, forming a temporary group of vehicles and pedestrian to control the traffic lights (i.e., first action) by instructing the vehicles to slow down prior to the traffic lights (i.e., second action)).
Regarding Claim 3, Nolan discloses the first compute device of claim 2 above, wherein the first action and the second action collectively execute a workload in accordance with the policy (Nolan, Paragraphs 0092-0093, IoT devices conducting actions in order for a pedestrian to make it through an intersection).
Regarding Claim 4, Nolan discloses the first compute device of claim 2 above, wherein the programmable circuitry performs the first action independently of the second action (Nolan, Paragraphs 0091-0093, controlling traffic lights (i.e., first action of first device)).
Regarding Claim 5, Nolan discloses the first compute device of claim 1 above, wherein:
the first compute device and a second compute device collectively form a cluster (Nolan, Figs 3, 4, Paragraphs 0083-0084, clusters of IoT devices that are grouped to perform a specific function);
and the programmable circuitry is to:
access, via the interface circuitry, a request from a third compute device to join the cluster (Nolan, Paragraph 0092, transient IoT devices join the fog device based on a response to a query);
cause the interface circuitry to share the first attribute and the second attribute with the third compute device (Nolan, Paragraph 0093, IoT devices reconfigure themselves in order to make sure that the transient device makes their journey);
and verify an identity of the third compute device (Nolan, Paragraph 0092, transient IoT device performs query and then joins the fog device. Paragraph 0096, emergency vehicle joins the fog device in order to perform an action (e.g., passing through the traffic lights)).
Regarding Claim 6, Nolan discloses the first compute device of claim 1 above, wherein:
the policy is a first policy (Nolan, Paragraph 0091, controlling a resource or traffic light);
and the programmable circuitry is to:
access, from a third compute device, an advertisement of a second policy (Nolan, Paragraph 0092, transient IoT devices join the fog device. Paragraph 0093, pedestrian needs to move through an intersection so a group of IoT devices is formed to control traffic lights);
verify that the third compute device is authorized to initiate a policy change (Nolan, Paragraphs 0092-0093, newly joined transient IoT device forms a temporary group with other IoT devices);
share the second policy with the second compute device (Nolan, Paragraph 0093, instructions are sent to traffic lights in order for the transient IoT device to cross through the intersection or instructions are sent to the autonomous vehicles to slow down);
and replace the first policy with the second policy (Nolan, Paragraph 0093, temporary group of IoT devices and transient IoT device control the traffic lights or slow down autonomous vehicles).
Regarding Claim 7, Nolan discloses the first compute device of claim 1 above, wherein the programmable circuitry includes one or more of:
at least one of a central processor unit, a graphics processor unit, or a digital signal processor, the at least one of the central processor unit, the graphics processor unit, or the digital signal processor having control circuitry to control data movement within the programmable circuitry, arithmetic and logic circuitry to perform one or more first operations corresponding to machine-readable data, and one or more registers to store a result of the one or more first operations, the machine-readable data in the first compute device; a Field Programmable Gate Array (FPGA), the FPGA including logic gate circuitry, a plurality of configurable interconnections, and storage circuitry, the logic gate circuitry and the plurality of the configurable interconnections to perform one or more second operations, the storage circuitry to store a result of the one or more second operations; or Application Specific Integrated Circuits (ASIC) including logic gate circuitry to perform one or more third operations (Nolan, Paragraphs 0119-0120, IoT device includes a processor , which may be a microprocessor, a multi-core processor, a multithreaded processor, an ultra-low voltage processor, an embedded processor, or other known processing element, which are used to perform the actions).
Claim 8 carries similar limitations as discussed with regards to Claim 1 above and therefore is rejected for the same reason.
Regarding Claim 9, this claimed limitation is the same as the limitation addressed to Claim 2 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 10, this claimed limitation is the same as the limitation addressed to Claim 3 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 11, this claimed limitation is the same as the limitation addressed to Claim 4 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 12, this claimed limitation is the same as the limitation addressed to Claim 5 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 13, this claimed limitation is the same as the limitation addressed to Claim 6 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 14, Nolan discloses the non-transitory machine readable storage medium of claim 8 above, wherein the instructions cause the programmable circuitry to:
access, from the second compute device, an advertisement of a new key (Nolan, Paragraph 0191, node is synchronized with the rest of the network and advertises its services. Paragraph 0197, storage includes a service advertiser to advertise a service. Paragraph 0260, IoT device includes a trusted platform module, which includes a cryptographic processor, which provides an encryption-decryption engine);
verify that the second compute device is authorized to initiate a new key (Nolan, Paragraph 0196, second node represents privileges indicating authority of the second node to copy data);
and encrypt communications to the second compute device using the new key (Nolan, Paragraph 0184, encrypting communications. Paragraph 0260, IoT device includes a trusted platform module, which includes a cryptographic processor, which provides an encryption-decryption engine).
Claim 15 carries similar limitations as discussed with regards to Claim 1 and Claim 8 above and therefore is rejected for the same reason.
Regarding Claim 16, this claimed limitation is the same as the limitation addressed to Claim 2 and Claim 9 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 17, this claimed limitation is the same as the limitation addressed to Claim 3 and Claim 10 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 18, Nolan discloses the system of claim 16 above, wherein the first compute device performs the first action and the second compute device performs the second action independently of one another (Nolan, Paragraphs 0091-0093, controlling traffic lights (i.e., first action of first device) and autonomous vehicles slow down (i.e., second action)).
Regarding Claim 19, this claimed limitation is the same as the limitation addressed to Claim 5 and Claim 12 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 20, this claimed limitation is the same as the limitation addressed to Claim 6 and Claim 13 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. All the references listed on 892 are related to the subject matter of executing workloads between edge devices.
Some of the prior art include:
US 20210027415 A1, US 20170149838 A1, and US 20220021585 A1.
/JAVIER O GUZMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2446