DETAILED ACTION
The Applicant amended independent claim 1; and canceled claims 3, 6-8, 10. The pending claims are claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 9, 11.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 9, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hinoki et al., US 2010/0248026, in view of Kawakami, US 5582931, in further view of Lee et al., US 2017/0309915.
Regarding claim 1, Hinoki et al., teaches an electrode for a rechargeable lithium battery (abstract), comprising:
a current collector (abstract), and an active material layer on the current collector (abstract), a coating layer (0097; 0144; 0147-0150), and the polyethylene particles are included in at least one selected from the active material layer (0079; 0083; 0087) and are included in the coating layer (0031; 0034; 0104); coating layer further comprises inorganic particles (0011; 0016; 0020) and a binder (0077; 0084; 0086); and the polyethylene particles have a ratio of a major axis length to a minor axis length of 2.00 (0223); and polyethylene particles have a thickness of 0.1μm to 4 μm (0032; 0074;).
Hinoki et al., does not teach flake-shaped polyethylene particles.
Kawakami teaches a battery electrode comprising polyethylene particles in the shape of flakes (col. 10, lines 35-47).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to insert the teachings of Kawakami into the teachings of Hinoki et al., because although Hinoki et al., does not teach the shape of the polyethylene particles, Kawakami teaches the various shapes of particles, including flake-shaped (col. 10, lines 35-47), which would provide more variety in the shape of the particles.
Hinoki and Kawakami do not teach the inorganic particles comprise CeO2, CaO, GaO, Y2O3, SrTiO3, BaTiO3, Mg(OH)2, or a combination.
Lee et al., teaches inorganic particles comprising CeO2 (0016), CaO2 (0016), Y2O3 (0016), BaTiO3 (0016).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to insert the teachings of Lee into the teachings of Hinoki modified by Kawakami because “an electrode that is surface-coated with inorganic particles…shut down does not take place at high temperature, leading to thermal runaway (0008).
Regarding claim 2, Hinoki et al., modified by Kawakami and Lee, teaches the flake-shaped polyethylene particles have an average particle size (D50) of 0.5 μm to 4 μm (abstract; 0019-0020).
Regarding claim 4, Hinoki et al., teaches the active material layer comprises an active material (0079; 0083; 0087) and further comprises at least one selected from a conductive material (0076; 0081; 0199) and a binder (0077; 0079-0081).
Regarding claim 5, Hinoki et al., teaches the polyethylene particles are included in an amount of less than 8% by mass (0115) based on a total weight of the active material layer (0115).
Regarding claim 9, Hinoki et al., teaches a weight ratio of the sum of the polyethylene particles and the inorganic particles to the binder is 80:20 to 99:1 (0029; 0074; 0111).
Regarding claim 11, Hinoki et al., teaches a rechargeable lithium battery comprising the electrode for a rechargeable lithium battery of claim 1 (abstract).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/10/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argues that:
“In the interest of advancing prosecution of the present application, and without acquiescing to the rejections, claim 1 is amended herein to delete "boehmite," and to recite, in part, "wherein the flake-shaped polyethylene particles have a thickness of 0.2 µm to 4 µm, and wherein a weight ratio of the flake-shaped polyethylene particles to the inorganic particles is 95:5 to 10:90." Applicant submits that the cited references do not disclose, teach, or suggest the remaining features of claim 1.”
However, a new reference, Lee et al., US 2017/0309915, teaches inorganic particles comprising CeO2 (0016), CaO2 (0016), Y2O3 (0016), BaTiO3 (0016).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to insert the teachings of Lee into the teachings of Hinoki modified by Kawakami because “an electrode that is surface-coated with inorganic particles…shut down does not take place at high temperature, leading to thermal runaway (0008).
Hinoki et al., teaches an electrode for a rechargeable lithium battery (abstract), comprising:
the polyethylene particles are included in at least one selected from the active material layer (0079; 0083; 0087) and the polyethylene particles have a ratio of a major axis length to a minor axis length of 2.00 (0223); and polyethylene particles have a thickness of 0.3 μm to 4 μm (0032; 0074; 0104).
Hinoki et al., does not teach flake-shaped polyethylene particles.
Kawakami teaches a battery electrode comprising polyethylene particles in the shape of flakes (col. 10, lines 35-47).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to insert the teachings of Kawakami into the teachings of Hinoki et al., because although Hinoki et al., does not teach the shape of the polyethylene particles, Kawakami teaches the various shapes of particles, including flake-shaped (col. 10, lines 35-47), which would provide more variety in the shape of the particles.
Conclusion
ANGELA J. MARTIN
Examiner
Art Unit 1727
/ANGELA J MARTIN/Examiner, Art Unit 1727
/BARBARA L GILLIAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1727