DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. Acknowledgment is made of Applicant’s submission of information disclosure statement (IDS), dated on September 29, 2023 and May 15, 2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Examiner's Notes
3. Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
Application Status
4. Acknowledgment is made of Applicant’s submission of the instant application, dated June 29, 2023. Claims 1-20 are pending. This communication is considered fully responsive and sets forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 1, 8, 12, 16-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (US 11,006,480).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang et al. teach the apparatus comprising logic and circuitry configured to cause a wireless communication Station (STA) to (column [4] lines 41-61; Examiner’s Notes: transmitting device 14 depicted in FIG. 1 of the prior art teaches the limitation of “a wireless communication Station (STA)” in the instant application):
generate a preamble of a Physical Layer (PHY) Protocol Data Unit (PPDU) according to a PPDU frame format (columns [3] lines 11-13 & [6] lines 24-33; Examiner’s Notes: the protocol data unit, e.g., a PHY data unit, in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a Physical Layer (PHY) Protocol Data Unit (PPDU);”
in fact, generating a preamble of the protocol data unit, e.g., a PHY data unit, according to the format in the prior art teaches the limitation of “generate a preamble of a Physical Layer (PHY) Protocol Data Unit (PPDU) according to a PPDU frame format” in the instant application);
generate a data payload of the PPDU according to the PPDU frame format (columns [3] lines 11-13 & [6] lines 24-33; Examiner’s Notes: generating a data payload of the protocol data unit, e.g., a PHY data unit, according to the format in the prior art teaches the limitation of “generate a data payload of the PPDU according to the PPDU frame format” in the instant application),
the data payload comprising a plurality of data payload portions (column [6] lines 24-33; Examiner’s Notes: the first portion and the second portion of the data payload in the prior art teaches the limitation of “the data payload comprising a plurality of data payload portions” in the instant application),
wherein the PPDU comprises a predefined Training Field (TF) between a first data payload portion and a second data payload portion of the plurality of data payload portions (column [6] lines 24-33; Examiner’s Notes: the training field in the midamble transmitted between a first portion and the second portion of the data payload in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the PPDU comprises a predefined Training Field (TF) between a first data payload portion and a second data payload portion of the plurality of data payload portions” in the instant application); and
transmit the PPDU (column [4] lines 41-61; Examiner’s Notes: transmitting the PHY protocol data unit, such as to client 25-1, as illustrated in FIG. 1 of the prior art teaches the limitation of “transmit the PPDU” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 8, Zhang et al. further teach the apparatus, wherein the PPDU comprises a fragmented PPDU according to a fragmented PPDU frame format (columns [3] lines 11-13 & [6] lines 24-33; Examiner’s Notes: the data payload of the protocol data unit, e.g., a PHY data unit, regards to the format in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the PPDU comprises a fragmented PPDU according to a fragmented PPDU frame format” in the instant application),
wherein the plurality of data payload portions comprises a plurality of PPDU fragments (column [6] lines 24-33; Examiner’s Notes: the first portion and the second portion of the data payload in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the plurality of data payload portions comprises a plurality of PPDU fragments” in the instant application),
wherein the predefined TF is between a first PPDU fragment and a second PPDU fragment (column [6] lines 24-33; Examiner’s Notes: the training field in the midamble transmitted between a first portion and the second portion of the data payload in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the predefined TF is between a first PPDU fragment and a second PPDU fragment” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 12, Zhang et al. further teach the apparatus, wherein the preamble comprises a non High Throughput (HT) Short Training Field (L-STF) (column [7] lines 27-42; Examiner’s Notes: the legacy short training field (L-STF) in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the preamble comprises a non High Throughput (HT) Short Training Field (L-STF)” in the instant application),
wherein the predefined TF is different from the L-STF (column [7] lines 27-42; Examiner’s Notes: the training field, e.g., the legacy long training field (L-LTF) 81, different from L-STF 80, as illustrated in FIG. 2B in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the predefined TF is different from the L-STF” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 16, Zhang et al. further teach the apparatus comprising a radio to transmit the PPDU (column [4] lines 41-61; Examiner’s Notes: transmitting radio signal, including the protocol data unit, e.g., a PHY data unit, via antenna 24-1 as illustrated in FIG. 1 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a radio to transmit the PPDU” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 17, Zhang et al. further teach the apparatus comprising one or more antennas connected to the radio (column [4] lines 41-61; Examiner’s Notes: antenna 24-1 depicted in FIG. 1 of the prior art teaches the limitation of “one or more antennas connected to the radio” in the instant application), and
a processor to execute instructions of an operating system of the STA (column [4] lines 41-61; Examiner’s Notes: host processor 15 depicted in FIG. 1 of the prior art teaches the limitation of “a processor to execute instructions of an operating system of the STA” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 18, Zhang et al. teach the product comprising one or more tangible computer-readable non-transitory storage media (column [38] lines 39-48; Examiner’s Notes: the tangible computer readable storage medium in the prior art teaches the limitation of “one or more tangible computer-readable non-transitory storage media” in the instant application) comprising instructions operable to, when executed by at least one processor (column [4] lines 41-61; Examiner’s Notes: transmitting device 14 depicted in FIG. 1 of the prior art teaches the limitation of “a wireless communication Station (STA)” in the instant application), enable the at least one processor to cause a wireless communication Station (STA) to (column [4] lines 41-61; Examiner’s Notes: transmitting device 14 depicted in FIG. 1 of the prior art teaches the limitation of “a wireless communication Station (STA)” in the instant application):
generate a preamble of a Physical Layer (PHY) Protocol Data Unit (PPDU) according to a PPDU frame format (columns [3] lines 11-13 & [6] lines 24-33; Examiner’s Notes: the protocol data unit, e.g., a PHY data unit, in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a Physical Layer (PHY) Protocol Data Unit (PPDU);”
in fact, generating a preamble of the protocol data unit, e.g., a PHY data unit, according to the format in the prior art teaches the limitation of “generate a preamble of a Physical Layer (PHY) Protocol Data Unit (PPDU) according to a PPDU frame format” in the instant application);
generate a data payload of the PPDU according to the PPDU frame format (columns [3] lines 11-13 & [6] lines 24-33; Examiner’s Notes: generating a data payload of the protocol data unit, e.g., a PHY data unit, according to the format in the prior art teaches the limitation of “generate a data payload of the PPDU according to the PPDU frame format” in the instant application),
the data payload comprising a plurality of data payload portions (column [6] lines 24-33; Examiner’s Notes: the first portion and the second portion of the data payload in the prior art teaches the limitation of “the data payload comprising a plurality of data payload portions” in the instant application),
wherein the PPDU comprises a predefined Training Field (TF) between a first data payload portion and a second data payload portion of the plurality of data payload portions (column [6] lines 24-33; Examiner’s Notes: the training field in the midamble transmitted between a first portion and the second portion of the data payload in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the PPDU comprises a predefined Training Field (TF) between a first data payload portion and a second data payload portion of the plurality of data payload portions” in the instant application); and
transmit the PPDU (column [4] lines 41-61; Examiner’s Notes: transmitting the PHY protocol data unit, such as to client 25-1, as illustrated in FIG. 1 of the prior art teaches the limitation of “transmit the PPDU” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 20, Zhang et al. further teach the product, wherein the PPDU comprises a fragmented PPDU according to a fragmented PPDU frame format (columns [3] lines 11-13 & [6] lines 24-33; Examiner’s Notes: the data payload of the protocol data unit, e.g., a PHY data unit, regards to the format in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the PPDU comprises a fragmented PPDU according to a fragmented PPDU frame format” in the instant application),
wherein the plurality of data payload portions comprises a plurality of PPDU fragments (column [6] lines 24-33; Examiner’s Notes: the first portion and the second portion of the data payload in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the plurality of data payload portions comprises a plurality of PPDU fragments” in the instant application),
wherein the predefined TF is between a first PPDU fragment and a second PPDU fragment (column [6] lines 24-33; Examiner’s Notes: the training field in the midamble transmitted between a first portion and the second portion of the data payload in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the predefined TF is between a first PPDU fragment and a second PPDU fragment” in the instant application).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 2, 10, 11, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 11,006,480) in view of Patil et al. (US 2021/0014911).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang et al. teach the apparatus without explicitly teaching implementing an Aggregate PHY Service Data Unit (PSDU) (A-PSDU) according to an A-PSDU frame format.
Patil et al. from the same or similar field of endeavor teach implementing fairness of the method, wherein the PPDU comprises an Aggregate PHY Service Data Unit (PSDU) (A-PSDU) according to an A-PSDU frame format (paragraph [0093] lines 1-19; Examiner’s Notes: PPDU 400 including aggregate PSDU 404 according to the format as illustrated in FIG. 4 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the PPDU comprises an Aggregate PHY Service Data Unit (PSDU) (A-PSDU) according to an A-PSDU frame format” in the instant application),
wherein the plurality of data payload portions comprises a plurality of PSDUs (paragraph [0093] lines 1-19; Examiner’s Notes: the data portions/payloads including multiple PSDUs in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the plurality of data payload portions comprises a plurality of PSDUs” in the instant application), and
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in art to implement the method of Patil et al. in the system of Zhang et al.
The motivation for implementing an Aggregate PHY Service Data Unit (PSDU) (A-PSDU) according to an A-PSDU frame format, is to further enhance the mechanism for associating a wireless communication device such as a wireless station (STA) of a STA multi-link device (MLD) with an access point (AP) MLD that includes a first AP associated with a first communication link of the AP MLD and includes secondary APs associated with respective secondary communication links of the first AP MLD, wherein the first AP includes virtual APs, and the first AP and the virtual APs of the first AP belong to a first multiple basic service set identifier (BSSID) set associated with the first communication link, the AP MLD transmits a frame including a first element carrying discovery information for the first AP and the virtual APs belonging to the first multiple BSSID set, and including a second element carrying discovery information for the secondary APs of the first AP MLD associated with the respective secondary communication links of the first AP MLD.
Regarding claim 10, Zhang et al. teach the apparatus without explicitly teaching implementing the predefined TF preceding each non-first-in-order data payload portion of the plurality of data payload portions.
Patil et al. from the same or similar field of endeavor teach implementing fairness of the method, wherein the PPDU comprises the predefined TF preceding each non-first-in-order data payload portion of the plurality of data payload portions (paragraphs [0089] lines 1-6 & [0093] lines 1-19; Examiner’s Notes: the data portion in 406, e.g., of subframe 2 depicted in FIG. 4 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “non-first-in-order data payload portion of the plurality of data payload portions;”
in fact, the PPDU including the TF, e.g., L-STF 308 illustrated in FIG. 3A, preceding the data portion as shown in 406 of subframe 2 depicted in FIG. 4 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the PPDU comprises the predefined TF preceding each non-first-in-order data payload portion of the plurality of data payload portions” in the instant application), and
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in art to implement the method of Patil et al. in the system of Zhang et al.
The motivation for implementing the predefined TF preceding each non-first-in-order data payload portion of the plurality of data payload portions, is to further enhance the mechanism for associating a wireless communication device such as a wireless station (STA) of a STA multi-link device (MLD) with an access point (AP) MLD that includes a first AP associated with a first communication link of the AP MLD and includes secondary APs associated with respective secondary communication links of the first AP MLD, wherein the first AP includes virtual APs, and the first AP and the virtual APs of the first AP belong to a first multiple basic service set identifier (BSSID) set associated with the first communication link, the AP MLD transmits a frame including a first element carrying discovery information for the first AP and the virtual APs belonging to the first multiple BSSID set, and including a second element carrying discovery information for the secondary APs of the first AP MLD associated with the respective secondary communication links of the first AP MLD.
Regarding claim 11, Zhang et al. teach the apparatus without explicitly teaching implementing a first-in-order data payload portion followed by one or more non-first-in-order data payload portions.
Patil et al. from the same or similar field of endeavor teach implementing fairness of the method, wherein the PPDU comprises a first-in-order data payload portion followed by one or more non-first-in-order data payload portions (paragraph [0093] lines 1-19; Examiner’s Notes: the data portion in 406, e.g., of subframe 1 followed by subframe 2 depicted in FIG. 4 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the PPDU comprises a first-in-order data payload portion followed by one or more non-first-in-order data payload portions” in the instant application),
wherein the PPDU comprises one or more predefined TFs preceding the one or more non-first-in-order data payload portions, respectively (paragraphs [0089] lines 1-6 & [0093] lines 1-19; Examiner’s Notes: the data portion in 406, e.g., of subframe 2 depicted in FIG. 4 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “non-first-in-order data payload portion of the plurality of data payload portions;”
in fact, the PPDU including the TF, e.g., L-STF 308 illustrated in FIG. 3A, preceding the data portion as shown in 406 of subframe 2 depicted in FIG. 4 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the PPDU comprises one or more predefined TFs preceding the one or more non-first-in-order data payload portions, respectively” in the instant application), and
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in art to implement the method of Patil et al. in the system of Zhang et al.
The motivation for implementing a first-in-order data payload portion followed by one or more non-first-in-order data payload portions, is to further enhance the mechanism for associating a wireless communication device such as a wireless station (STA) of a STA multi-link device (MLD) with an access point (AP) MLD that includes a first AP associated with a first communication link of the AP MLD and includes secondary APs associated with respective secondary communication links of the first AP MLD, wherein the first AP includes virtual APs, and the first AP and the virtual APs of the first AP belong to a first multiple basic service set identifier (BSSID) set associated with the first communication link, the AP MLD transmits a frame including a first element carrying discovery information for the first AP and the virtual APs belonging to the first multiple BSSID set, and including a second element carrying discovery information for the secondary APs of the first AP MLD associated with the respective secondary communication links of the first AP MLD.
Regarding claim 19, Zhang et al. teach the product without explicitly teaching implementing an Aggregate PHY Service Data Unit (PSDU) (A-PSDU) according to an A-PSDU frame format.
Patil et al. from the same or similar field of endeavor teach implementing fairness of the method, wherein the PPDU comprises an Aggregate PHY Service Data Unit (PSDU) (A-PSDU) according to an A-PSDU frame format (paragraph [0093] lines 1-19; Examiner’s Notes: PPDU 400 including aggregate PSDU 404 according to the format as illustrated in FIG. 4 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the PPDU comprises an Aggregate PHY Service Data Unit (PSDU) (A-PSDU) according to an A-PSDU frame format” in the instant application),
wherein the plurality of data payload portions comprises a plurality of PSDUs (paragraph [0093] lines 1-19; Examiner’s Notes: the data portions/payloads including multiple PSDUs in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the plurality of data payload portions comprises a plurality of PSDUs” in the instant application), and
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in art to implement the method of Patil et al. in the system of Zhang et al.
The motivation for implementing an Aggregate PHY Service Data Unit (PSDU) (A-PSDU) according to an A-PSDU frame format, is to further enhance the mechanism for associating a wireless communication device such as a wireless station (STA) of a STA multi-link device (MLD) with an access point (AP) MLD that includes a first AP associated with a first communication link of the AP MLD and includes secondary APs associated with respective secondary communication links of the first AP MLD, wherein the first AP includes virtual APs, and the first AP and the virtual APs of the first AP belong to a first multiple basic service set identifier (BSSID) set associated with the first communication link, the AP MLD transmits a frame including a first element carrying discovery information for the first AP and the virtual APs belonging to the first multiple BSSID set, and including a second element carrying discovery information for the secondary APs of the first AP MLD associated with the respective secondary communication links of the first AP MLD.
Allowable Subject Matter
10. Claims 3-7, 9, and 13-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim 1, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claim(s).
Regarding claims 3-6, the prior art in single or in combination fails to teach "wherein the A-PSDU comprises a PSDU header between a first PSDU and a second PSDU of the plurality of PSDUs, wherein the PSDU header comprises the predefined TF” in combination with other limitation of the claim(s).
Regarding claim 7, the prior art in single or in combination fails to teach "wherein the A-PSDU comprises one or more first- STA PSDUs for a first STA, and one or more second-STA PSDUs for a second STA after the one or more first-STA PSDUs, wherein the A-PSDU comprises another preamble between the one or more first-STA PSDUs and the one or more second-STA PSDUs” in combination with other limitation of the claim(s).
Regarding claim 9, the prior art in single or in combination fails to teach "wherein the fragmented PPDU frame format comprises a fixed fragmentation duration for a plurality of PPDU portions corresponding to the plurality of PPDU fragments” in combination with other limitation of the claim(s).
Regarding claim 13, the prior art in single or in combination fails to teach "wherein the PPDU comprises one or more first- STA data payload portions for a first STA, and one or more second-STA data payload portions for a second STA after the one or more first-STA data payload portions, wherein the PPDU comprises another preamble between the one or more first-STA data payload portions and the one or more second-STA data payload portions” in combination with other limitation of the claim(s).
Regarding claim 14, the prior art in single or in combination fails to teach "wherein the PPDU frame format comprises a Short-Inter-Frame-Space (SIFS) or a Point Coordination Function (PCF) Inter-Frame- Space (PIFS) between the first data payload portion and the predefined TF prior to the second data payload portion” in combination with other limitation of the claim(s).
Regarding claim 15, the prior art in single or in combination fails to teach "wherein the PPDU comprises an Ultra High Reliability (UHR) PPDU, wherein the preamble of the PPDU comprises a plurality of pre-UHR modulated fields followed by a plurality of UHR modulated fields” in combination with other limitation of the claim(s).
Conclusion
11. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Etemad et al. (US 9,572,063) is cited to show the radio resource control (RRC) signaling for configuring the user equipment to obtain and report channel state information for the downlink channels so that a target user equipment experiences enhanced signal reception and reduced interference.
/WEI ZHAO/ Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2479