Detailed Office Action
The communication dated 10/3/2025 has been entered and fully considered. Claims 17-20 are withdrawn from examination. Claims 1-20 remain pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I (claims 1-16) in the reply filed on 10/3/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 17-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 10-11, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by JIA (CN-109608220-A and its English translation), hereinafter JIA. Note that the italicized text below are the instant claims.
Regarding claims 1 and 10 (note differing claim 10 limitations are in parenthesis), JIA discloses A method of (forming a fibrous preform for) fabricating a composite component {[0002] note plate is the preform, [0011] note presence of carbon fiber cloth, thus a fibrous preform, [0009]/[0010] note presence of other fiber or wire and powder, thus a composite}, comprising:
forming a fibrous preform (locating a first fiber layer in a mold) {[0017] note laying a layer of carbon fiber cloth in the mold} by:
forming a first (layer of) graphite powder and phenolic resin compound mixture layer over a first textile (fiber) layer, the first (layer of) graphite powder and phenolic resin compound mixture layer having a first group of graphite particles {[0009] note graphite powder, [0012] note phenolic resin, [0017] note placing the slurry (graphite powder + phenolic resin) on the carbon fiber cloth or first textile layer or first fiber layer};
disposing a second textile layer (locating a second fiber layer in the mold and) over the first (layer of) graphite powder and phenolic resin compound mixture layer; forming a second (layer of) graphite powder and phenolic resin compound mixture layer over the second textile (fiber) layer, the second graphite powder and phenolic resin compound mixture layer having a second group of graphite particles {[0017] note repeat of the process that reads on this limitation};
and disposing (locating) a third textile (fiber) layer over the second (layer of) graphite powder and phenolic resin compound mixture layer {[0017] note that a layer of carbon layer is mentioned last and before the repeating process, thus it ends with the third textile or fiber layer};
and densifying the fibrous preform (the layers) {[0019] note hot pressing is the densifying process}.
Regarding claims 2 and 11 (note differing claim 11 limitations are in parenthesis), JIA discloses wherein the phenolic resin in the first (layer of) graphite powder and phenolic resin compound mixture layer and the second (layer of) graphite powder and phenolic resin compound mixture layer is carbonized during the densification {[0021] note the high temperature of 1000-1400 °C that carbonizes phenolic resin}.
Regarding claims 4 and 13 (note differing claim 13 limitations are in parenthesis), JIA discloses further comprising: disposing (locating) a first web material fabric between the second textile (fiber) layer and the first (layer of) graphite powder and phenolic resin compound mixture layer; and disposing (locating) a second web material fabric between the third textile (fiber) layer and the second (layer of) graphite powder and phenolic resin compound mixture layer {[0010] note copper mesh that is made of wire or fiber and can be considered the web material fabric, [0017] note placing copper mesh or web material fabric on the slurry or mixture of graphite powder and phenolic resin and note the repeating process}.
Regarding claims 5 and 14 (note differing claim 14 limitations are in parenthesis), JIA discloses further comprising: prior to densifying the fibrous preform: forming a third (layer of) graphite powder and phenolic resin compound mixture layer over the third textile (fiber) layer, the third (layer of) graphite powder and phenolic resin compound mixture layer having a third group of graphite particles; disposing (locating) a third web material fabric over the third (layer of) graphite powder and phenolic resin compound mixture layer; and disposing (locating ) a fourth textile layer over the third web material fabric {[0017] and see claims 1, 4, 10, and 13 for the repeating and web material fabric}.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 6, 12, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JIA.
Regarding claims 3, 6, 12, and 15 JIA discloses wherein the first group of graphite particles has a first average particle size, and the second group of graphite particles has a second average particle size, and wherein the first average particle size and the second average particle size are between 25 mesh and 400 mesh (claim 3), wherein the third group of graphite particles has a third average particle size, and wherein the third average particle size is between 25 mesh and 400 mesh (claim 6), wherein the first group of graphite particles has a first average particle size, and the second group of graphite particles has a second average particle size, and wherein the first average particle size and the second average particle size are between 25 mesh and 400 mesh (claim 12), wherein the third group of graphite particles has a third average particle size, and wherein the third average particle size is between 25 mesh and 400 mesh (claim 15) {[0009]}.
The Examiner notes that JIA discloses a particle size range of not less than 100 mesh that partially overlaps the claimed range of 25-400 mesh. A prima facie case of obviousness is established when a claimed narrow range is within a broad prior art range or partially overlaps or touches the broad range {see MPEP 2144.05 (I)}.
Claims 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JIA as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, and further in view of KIRKPATRICK (US-2021/0387441), hereinafter KIRKPATRICK.
Regarding claim 7 and 16, JIA discloses all the limitations of claims 1 and 10 as discussed above. JIA further discloses disposing the first textile layer on a first plate; locating a first shim around an outer perimeter of the first textile layer; locating a second shim around an outer perimeter of the second textile layer; disposing a second plate over the third textile layer and applying a compressive load to the third textile layer (claim 7), disposing the first fiber layer on a first plate; locating a first shim around an outer perimeter of the first fiber layer; locating a second shim around an outer perimeter of the second fiber layer; disposing a second plate over the third fiber layer and applying a compressive load to the third fiber layer (claim 16) {[0017] note the mold has walls or shims since it needs to enclose the thickness of all the layers or the first and second textile, fabric, graphite powder and phenolic resin, thus the walls or shims that enclose these layers are the first and second shim, [0019] note hot pressing that requires a punch or a male mold or the second plate in cooperation with the mold with the bottom of the mold considered the first plate, note the second plate or punch applies the compressive load to the top layer}.
JIA, however, is silent on one of the plates including at least one of groove or and orifice.
In the same field of endeavor that is related to forming composites, KIRKPATRICK discloses wherein at least one of the first plate or the second plate includes at least one of a groove or an orifice (rest of claims 7 and 16) {[0041]}.
At the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the teachings of KIRKPATRICK in the method of JIA and have included grooves or orifices in the second plate of the hot press machine of JIA. As disclosed by KIRKPATRICK, the advantage of these grooves or orifices is to facilitate the flow of gas to and infiltration of the fibrous preform during densification {[0041]}.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JIA and KIRKPATRICK as applied to claims 1 and 7 above, and further in view of HAYASHI (JP-2024031791-A and its English translation), hereinafter HAYASHI.
Regarding claim 8, combination of JIA and KIRKPATRICK discloses all the limitations of claims 1 and 7 as discussed above. This combination, however, is silent on the controlling the fiber volume by varying compressive load.
In the same field of endeavor that is related to composite material, HAYASHI discloses wherein a fiber volume of the fibrous preform is controlled by varying the compressive load {[P8, last ¶]} note the highlighted section that teaches that the density (or densification) and accompanying voids vary depending on the molding pressure or compressive load and thus the density or fiber volume can be controlled by varying the compressive load}.
At the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the teachings of HAYASHI in the combination method of JIA and KIRKPATRICK and have varied the compressive load to determine a desired density or strength of the final product. As disclosed by HAYASHI, this can be accomplished by varying the voids that can be obviously decreased by increasing the compressive force and thus obtain a denser final product {[P8, last ¶]}.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JIA as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of O’NEIL (US-2019/0162262), hereinafter O’NEIL.
Regarding claim 9, JIA discloses all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. JIA, however, is silent of the fibrous preform being a disk and machining the disk after the densification.
In the same field of endeavor that is related composite preform for brake assembly, O’NEIL discloses wherein the fibrous preform is a disk and wherein the method further comprises: machining the disk after the densification to a final form {[0048]}.
At the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the teachings of O’NEIL in the method of JIA and have produced the perform in the shape of disk followed by machining it. As disclosed by O’NEIL such machining produces a clean, planarized produce with a desired thickness {[0048]}. The Examiner notes that as disclosed by JIA the product can be a gasket that can be in the form of a disk and requires a predetermined thickness to perform as a good seal {[0005]}.
Conclusion
/S. BEHROOZ GHORISHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748