1. Claims 1 - 20 are pending. Claims 1, 9, 14 are independent. File date on 6-29-2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1, 2, 8, 14, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burns et al. (US Patent No. 6,449,291) in view of Zinner et al. (US PGPUB No. 20170026144).
Regarding Claims 1, 14, Burns discloses a non-transitory machine readable storage medium comprising instructions to cause programmable circuitry and an apparatus to at least:
a) generate a correction factor based on a first timestamp and a second timestamp, the first timestamp associated with a first data packet being obtained by an ethernet physical coding sublayer (PCS) by a physical ethernet port coupled to the ethernet PCS; (Burns col 4: receiving a first timestamp with the transceiver, wherein the first timestamp comprises a signal generated by the control unit in response to the value of the master clock at the time the first timestamp signal is generated.; receiving a second timestamp with the transceiver, wherein the second timestamp comprises a signal generated by the control unit in response to the value of the master clock at the time the second timestamp signal is generated and generating a second transceiver time reference with the transceiver device in response to the receipt of the second timestamp. A control unit difference time is then generated comprising the difference of the first and second timestamps.; col 9: The custom ASIC Interface integrated circuit 550 is coupled to the downstream demodulator 530, the upstream modulator 570, and the Ethernet network interface controller 535 such that data can be passed to and from these components.) and
b) generate a third timestamp for a second data packet based on the correction factor and a fourth timestamp, the fourth timestamp generated by network interface circuitry for the second data packet. (Burns col 4: receiving a first timestamp with the transceiver, wherein the first timestamp comprises a signal generated by the control unit in response to the value of the master clock at the time the first timestamp signal is generated.; receiving a second timestamp with the transceiver, wherein the second timestamp comprises a signal generated by the control unit in response to the value of the master clock at the time the second timestamp signal is generated and generating a second transceiver time reference with the transceiver device in response to the receipt of the second timestamp. A control unit difference time is then generated comprising the difference of the first and second timestamps.; col 9: The custom ASIC Interface integrated circuit 550 is coupled to the downstream demodulator 530, the upstream modulator 570, and the Ethernet network interface controller 535 such that data can be passed to and from these components.)
Burns does not explicitly disclose second timestamp generated before first data packet is obtained.
However, Zinner discloses wherein the second timestamp generated before the first data packet is obtained. (Zinner ¶ 081: for a first protocol type, a synchronization is provided by the transmission of timestamp before and after the first data packet. For example, for a second protocol type, a synchronization is only provided by the transmission of a timestamp before the transmission of the first data packet.; ¶ 065: It is particularly advantageous to transmit a first data packet including first useful data of an application, a second data packet including an identification of the first data packet and a first timestamp, which characterizes a first transmission point in time of the first data packet, and to generate an interrupt for the transmission of the first data packet in the application. This means that the first timestamp characterizes a point in time immediately before the first transmission point in time of the first data packet.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Burns for second timestamp generated before first data packet is obtained as taught by Zinner. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Zinner for the benefits achieved from the flexibility of a system the enables the processing of timestamp information before the transmission of a designated data packet. (Zinner paragraph [0081]; ¶ 065)
Furthermore, for Claim 14, Burns discloses wherein memory; computer readable instructions; and programmable circuitry to instantiate operations. (Burns col 9: downstream input data from the downstream demodulator 530 may be sent to the computer 580 via the custom ASIC Interface integrated circuit 550 and the ethernet network interface controller 535. This demodulated downstream input data may then be stored and/or utilized by the computer 580 to perform a number of computing operations in accordance with software programs being run on the computer 580.)
Regarding Claims 2, 15, Burns-Zinner discloses the non-transitory machine readable storage medium of claim 1 and the apparatus of claim 14, wherein the instructions cause the programmable circuitry to generate the correction factor based on a difference between the second timestamp and the first timestamp. (Burns col 4: receiving a second timestamp with the transceiver, wherein the second timestamp comprises a signal generated by the control unit in response to the value of the master clock at the time the second timestamp signal is generated and generating a second transceiver time reference with the transceiver device in response to the receipt of the second timestamp. A control unit difference time is then generated comprising the difference of the first and second timestamps.)
Regarding Claim 8, Burns-Zinner discloses the non-transitory machine readable storage medium of claim 1.
Burns does not explicitly disclose first timestamp is generated before first data packet is obtained.
However, Zinner discloses wherein the first timestamp is generated before the first data packet is obtained by the ethernet PCS. (Zinner ¶ 081: for a first protocol type, a synchronization is provided by the transmission of timestamp before and after the first data packet. For example, for a second protocol type, a synchronization is only provided by the transmission of a timestamp before the transmission of the first data packet.; ¶ 065: It is particularly advantageous to transmit a first data packet including first useful data of an application, a second data packet including an identification of the first data packet and a first timestamp, which characterizes a first transmission point in time of the first data packet, and to generate an interrupt for the transmission of the first data packet in the application. This means that the first timestamp characterizes a point in time immediately before the first transmission point in time of the first data packet.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Burns for first timestamp is generated before first data packet is obtained as taught by Zinner. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Zinner for the benefits achieved from the flexibility of a system the enables the processing of timestamp information before the transmission of a designated data packet. (Zinner paragraph [0081]; ¶ 065)
4. Claims 3, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burns in view of Zinner and further in view of Antonshenkov et al. (US Patent No. 5,875,445)
Regarding Claims 3, 16, Burns-Zinner discloses the non-transitory machine readable storage medium of claim 1 and the apparatus of claim 14, wherein the correction factor based on (a) a first correction factor corresponding to the first timestamp and the second timestamp and (b) a second correction factor corresponding to a fifth timestamp of a third data packet and a sixth timestamp of the third data packet. (Burns col 4: receiving a first timestamp with the transceiver, wherein the first timestamp comprises a signal generated by the control unit in response to the value of the master clock at the time the first timestamp signal is generated.; receiving a second timestamp with the transceiver, wherein the second timestamp comprises a signal generated by the control unit in response to the value of the master clock at the time the second timestamp signal is generated and generating a second transceiver time reference with the transceiver device in response to the receipt of the second timestamp. A control unit difference time is then generated comprising the difference of the first and second timestamps.; col 9: The custom ASIC Interface integrated circuit 550 is coupled to the downstream demodulator 530, the upstream modulator 570, and the Ethernet network interface controller 535 such that data can be passed to and from these components.)
Burns does not explicitly disclose generate correction factor based on an average correction factor.
However, Antonshenkov discloses wherein the instructions cause the programmable circuitry to generate the correction factor based on an average correction factor. (Antonshenkov col 11: each sample operation retrieves weights that are used to determine a correction factor. At step 614, a correction factor is generated based on the samples taken. If multiple samples are taken, the correction factor for the interval may be generated by determining the average of the correction factors of each of the samples.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Burns for generate correction factor based on an average correction factor as taught by Antonshenkov. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Antonshenkov for the benefits achieved from the flexibility of a system that enables the utilization of multiple parameters such as an average correction factor in the processing of time synchronization information. (Antonshenkov col 11)
5. Claims 4,17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burns in view of Zinner and further in view of Savoor et al. (US PGPUB No. 20100318647)
Regarding Claims 4, 17, Burns-Zinner discloses the non-transitory machine readable storage medium of claim 1 and the apparatus of claim 14.
Burns does not explicitly disclose store correction factor based on a characteristic of first data packet.
However, Savoor discloses wherein the instructions cause the programmable circuitry to store the correction factors based on a characteristic of the first data packet. (Savoor ¶ 031: Statistical data for network usage based on the location and the network usage by session, by authenticated user of the session, by application types of each session, or combinations thereof may be collected and used to update the correction factors so that the correction factors are based on usage of the system 100 (characteristics of network data packets). The correlator 156 may store values for correction factors for the network devices (e.g., for the DSLAM 106 and the RT 132) and statistical data used to update correction factors. The statistical data for a particular device may include an uploaded correction factor and a downloaded correction factor calculated for a particular time period. For the time period, reliable values for the uploaded bytes and the downloaded bytes are determined based on usage obtained from another network device (e.g., the usage obtained from the Radius servers 118, 120 or the usage obtained from DPI module 122) for the same time period. The uploaded correction factor for the particular time period may be calculated as uploaded bytes obtained from the other network device divided by the total uploaded bytes calculated from usage data obtained for the particular device for the same time period. The downloaded correction factor for the particular time period may be calculated as downloaded bytes obtained from the other network device divided by the total downloaded bytes calculated from usage data obtained for the particular device for the same time period.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Burns for store correction factor based on a characteristic of first data packet as taught by Savoor. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Savoor for the benefits achieved from the flexibility of a system that enables secure storage of correction factor information in the processing of time synchronization information. (Savoor ¶ 031)
6. Claims 5, 7, 18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burns in view of Zinner and further in view of Redulescu et al. (US PGPUB No. 20170330278)
Regarding Claims 5, 18, Burns-Zinner discloses the non-transitory machine readable storage medium of claim 1 and the apparatus of claim 14.
Burns does not explicitly disclose third timestamp is more accurate than fourth timestamp.
However, Redulescu discloses wherein the third timestamp is more accurate than the fourth timestamp. (Redulescu ¶ 057: To verify, the synchronization algorithm should produce a neutral correction factor from the synchronized timestamps. A more accurate CF (correction factor) would be obtained if we remove the PDV generated by resident time at the intermediate nodes from arrival timestamps.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Burns for third timestamp is more accurate than fourth timestamp as taught by Redulescu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Redulescu for the benefits achieved from the flexibility of a system that enables the generation of a more accurate correction factor in the processing of time synchronization information. (Redulescu ¶ 057)
Regarding Claims 7, 20, Burns-Zinner discloses the non-transitory machine readable storage medium of claim 1 and the apparatus of claim 14. (Burns col 9: downstream input data from the downstream demodulator 530 may be sent to the computer 580 via the custom ASIC Interface integrated circuit 550 and the ethernet network interface controller 535. This demodulated downstream input data may then be stored and/or utilized by the computer 580 to perform a number of computing operations in accordance with software programs being run on the computer 580.)
Burns does not explicitly disclose wherein the instructions cause the programmable circuitry to perform operations for a) determine second data packet corresponds to a same identifier as first data packet, and for b) select correction factor for generating the third timestamp based on second data packet corresponding to same identifier as first data packet.
However, Radulescu discloses:
a) determine that the second data packet corresponds to a same identifier as the first data packet; and b) select the correction factor for generating the third timestamp based on the second data packet corresponding to the same identifier as the first data packet. (Radulescu ¶ 054: receiving from node 1310 metadata packets from 1310, 1316, 1332 (logic paths 1291, 1296, 1292), pairing timestamps from different nodes that have the same packet identification and determining CF and ACF to synchronize 1316, 1332 to 1310. The system can compute ACF (0,2) synchronizing 1332 directly to 1310, or can compute ACF(6,2) relatively synchronizing 1332 to 1316.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Burns for a) determine second data packet corresponds to a same identifier as first data packet, and for b) select correction factor for generating the third timestamp based on second data packet corresponding to same identifier as first data packet. as taught by Redulescu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Redulescu for the benefits achieved from the flexibility of a system that enables the generation of a more accurate correction factor in the processing of time synchronization information. (Redulescu ¶ 057)
7. Claim 6, 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burns in view of Zinner and further in view of Caulfield et al. (US PGPUB No. 20150288736)
Regarding Claims 6, 19, Burns-Zinner discloses the non-transitory machine readable storage medium of claim 1 and the apparatus of claim 14.
Burns does not explicitly disclose programmable circuitry to add correction factor to fourth timestamp to generate third timestamp.
However, Caulfield discloses wherein the instructions cause the programmable circuitry to add the correction factor to the fourth timestamp to generate the third timestamp for the second data packet. (Caulfield ¶ 012: determining a correction factor by dividing the playlist drift by the number of segments in the playlist, and for each segment in the playlist, calculating a new timestamp by adding the correction factor to the timestamp of the segment.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Burns for programmable circuitry to add correction factor to fourth timestamp to generate third timestamp as taught by Caulfield. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Caulfield for the benefits achieved from the flexibility of a system utilizing multiple techniques such as adding the correction factor to a timestamp to generate a timestamp in the processing of time synchronization information. (Caulfield ¶ 012)
8. Claims 9 - 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burns et al. (US Patent No. 6,449,291) in view of Wang et al. (US Patent No. 9,356,838) and further in view of Striffler et al. (Patent No. EP 4160947 A1).
Regarding Claim 9, Burns discloses a non-transitory machine readable storage medium comprising instructions to cause programmable circuitry to at least:
a) access a correction factor corresponding to a data packet. (Burns col 4: receiving a first timestamp with the transceiver, wherein the first timestamp comprises a signal generated by the control unit in response to the value of the master clock at the time the first timestamp signal is generated.; receiving a second timestamp with the transceiver, wherein the second timestamp comprises a signal generated by the control unit in response to the value of the master clock at the time the second timestamp signal is generated and generating a second transceiver time reference with the transceiver device in response to the receipt of the second timestamp. A control unit difference time is then generated comprising the difference of the first and second timestamps.; col 9: The custom ASIC Interface integrated circuit 550 is coupled to the downstream demodulator 530, the upstream modulator 570, and the Ethernet network interface controller 535 such that data can be passed to and from these components.)
Burns does not explicitly disclose for a) an identifier of a data packet.
However, Wang discloses for a) an identifier of a data packet. (Wang col 1: For a given network packet, the controller may generate an identifier or otherwise classify the network packet based on network attributes of the network packet. The network attributes may include packet header information retrieved from the network packet, information maintained by the controller such as which virtual switch (e.g., a virtual switch formed from a group of end hosts) is associated with the network packet, and/or other network attributes. The controller may use the network packet identifier to determine a network forwarding path for the network packet.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Burns for a) an identifier of a data packet as taught by Wang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Wang for the benefits achieved from the flexibility of a system that enables the utilization of packet identification information to be associated with packet attributes or characteristics. (Wang col 1)
Burns does not explicitly disclose for b) generate an egress timestamp for data packet based on a timestamp captured associated with transmission of the data packet and the correction factor.
However, Striffler discloses:
b) generate an egress timestamp for the data packet based on a timestamp captured associated with transmission of the data packet and the correction factor. (Striffler ¶ 061: Consequently, the residence time may be determined as a difference of the adjusted egress timestamp T egress corrected and the adjusted ingress timestamp T ingress corrected. The calculation may additionally include the temporary correction factor CRR temporary n as mathematically expressed below: T residence=CRR temporary n∗T egress corrected−T ingress corrected; ¶ 064: The difference of the adjusted egress timestamp T egress corrected and the adjusted ingress timestamp T ingress corrected may be weighted by a cumulative rate ratio expressed by the temporary correction factor CRR temporary n, said cumulative rate ratio being cumulatively multiplied by a respective rate ratio determined by at least one interface traversed by the synchronization message. The calculated residence time T.sub.residence may then be stored in the synchronization message. Consequently, the temporary correction factor determined and stored by the preceding node - which may be, as explained above, the first node N1 including the ingress interface IP - may be adjusted again.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Burns for b) generate an egress timestamp for data packet based on a timestamp captured associated with transmission of the data packet and the correction factor as taught by Striffler. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Striffler for the benefits achieved from the flexibility of a system that enables the utilization of multiple parameters such as an egress timestamp in the processing of time synchronization information. (Striffler ¶ 061; ¶ 064)
Regarding Claim 10, Burns-Wang-Striffler discloses the non-transitory machine readable storage medium of claim 9.
Burns does not explicitly disclose determine the identifier of the data packet, the identifier corresponding to a characteristic of the data packet.
However, Wang discloses wherein the instructions cause the programmable circuitry to determine the identifier of the data packet, the identifier corresponding to a characteristic of the data packet. (Wang col 1: For a given network packet, the controller may generate an identifier or otherwise classify the network packet based on network attributes of the network packet. The network attributes may include packet header information retrieved from the network packet, information maintained by the controller such as which virtual switch (e.g., a virtual switch formed from a group of end hosts) is associated with the network packet, and/or other network attributes. The controller may use the network packet identifier to determine a network forwarding path for the network packet.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Burns for determine the identifier of the data packet, the identifier corresponding to a characteristic of the data packet.as taught by Wang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Wang for the benefits achieved from the flexibility of a system that enables the utilization of packet identification information to be associated with packet attributes or characteristics. (Wang col 1)
Regarding Claim 11, Burns-Wang-Striffler discloses the non-transitory machine readable storage medium of claim 9, wherein the instructions cause the programmable circuitry to cause transmission of the timestamp to a host application for at least one of time synchronization or a quality of service measurement. (Burns col 4: provides a method and apparatus for synchronizing the local clock of a transceiver in a communications system with the master clock of its corresponding communications system control unit)
Burns does not explicitly disclose an egress timestamp.
However, Striffler discloses wherein the egress timestamp. (Striffler ¶ 061: Consequently, the residence time may be determined as a difference of the adjusted egress timestamp T egress corrected and the adjusted ingress timestamp T ingress corrected. The calculation may additionally include the temporary correction factor CRR temporary n as mathematically expressed below: T residence=CRR temporary n∗T egress corrected−T ingress corrected; ¶ 064: The difference of the adjusted egress timestamp T egress corrected and the adjusted ingress timestamp T ingress corrected may be weighted by a cumulative rate ratio expressed by the temporary correction factor CRR temporary n, said cumulative rate ratio being cumulatively multiplied by a respective rate ratio determined by at least one interface traversed by the synchronization message. The calculated residence time T.sub.residence may then be stored in the synchronization message. Consequently, the temporary correction factor determined and stored by the preceding node - which may be, as explained above, the first node N1 including the ingress interface IP - may be adjusted again.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Burns for an egress timestamp as taught by Striffler. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Striffler for the benefits achieved from the flexibility of a system that enables the utilization of multiple parameters such as an egress timestamp in the processing of time synchronization information. (Striffler ¶ 061; ¶ 064)
9. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burns in view of Wang and further in view of Striffler and Hoffleit et al. (Patent No. EP 3863199 A1).
Regarding Claim 12, Burns-Wang-Striffler discloses the non-transitory machine readable storage medium of claim 9.
Burns does not explicitly disclose correction factor is based on historical timestamp information.
However, Hoffleit discloses wherein the correction factor is based on historical timestamp information. (Hoffleit ¶ 082: During each dialog, the downstream port populates a PTM ResponseD message based on timestamps stored during previous PTM dialogs. Once each component has historical timestamps from the preceding dialog, the component associated with the upstream port can combine its timestamps with those passed in the PTM ResponseD message to calculate the PTM Master Time)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Burns for correction factor is based on historical timestamp information as taught by Hoffleit. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Hoffleit for the benefits achieved from the flexibility of a system that enables the utilization of multiple parameters such as historical timestamps in the processing of time synchronization information. (Hoffleit ¶ 082)
10. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burns in view of Wang and further in view of Striffler and Dural et al. (US PGPUB No. 20240098666).
Regarding Claim 13, Burns-Wang-Striffler discloses the non-transitory machine readable storage medium of claim 9.
Burns does not explicitly disclose determine whether to apply the correction factor to generate a timestamp.
However, Dural discloses wherein the instructions cause the programmable circuitry to determine whether to apply the correction factor to generate the timestamp. (Dural ¶ 024: To address these issues, an operator of a radio access network may implement a distributed unit that performs timing synchronization and manages its workload as described herein. As discussed in more detail below, the distributed unit described herein may synchronize its clock with the radio unit by obtaining timing information from the radio unit, may determine whether and to what degree its clock is drifting relative to the radio unit, and may apply a correction factor to keep its clock synchronized. The correction factor may be adjusted dynamically as the amount of clock drift varies (e.g., due to changes in the workload of the distribution unit, changes in the temperature of the distribution unit, etc.), and the distribution unit can determine how often to synchronize its clock with the radio unit based on factors such as radio unit workload, variability of the clock drift, and other criteria.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Burns for determine whether to apply the correction factor to generate a timestamp as taught by Dural. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Dural for the benefits achieved from the flexibility of a system that enables a determination to be made to apply a correction factor to time synchronization. (Dural ¶ 024)
Burns does not explicitly disclose to generate an egress timestamp.
However, Striffler discloses wherein to generate the egress timestamp. (Striffler ¶ 061: Consequently, the residence time may be determined as a difference of the adjusted egress timestamp T egress corrected and the adjusted ingress timestamp T ingress corrected. The calculation may additionally include the temporary correction factor CRR temporary n as mathematically expressed below: T residence=CRR temporary n∗T egress corrected−T ingress corrected; ¶ 064: The difference of the adjusted egress timestamp T egress corrected and the adjusted ingress timestamp T ingress corrected may be weighted by a cumulative rate ratio expressed by the temporary correction factor CRR temporary n, said cumulative rate ratio being cumulatively multiplied by a respective rate ratio determined by at least one interface traversed by the synchronization message. The calculated residence time T.sub.residence may then be stored in the synchronization message. Consequently, the temporary correction factor determined and stored by the preceding node - which may be, as explained above, the first node N1 including the ingress interface IP - may be adjusted again.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Burns for to generate an egress timestamp as taught by Striffler. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Striffler for the benefits achieved from the flexibility of a system that enables the utilization of multiple parameters such as an egress timestamp in the processing of time synchronization information. (Striffler ¶ 061; ¶ 064)
Conclusion
/KYUNG H SHIN/ 8-3-2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2447