DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 06-29-2023, 04-24-2024, and 12-01-2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2017/0331090 hereinafter Li.
Regarding Claims 1 and 17-20, Li teaches a secondary battery, a method, and system for forming the secondary battery for a power consuming device (see figures 1-4), the battery comprising: an electrode assembly (bare cell) [30]; a battery housing [10, 40, and 50] that encloses the electrode assembly [30], wherein the battery housing comprises a first side plate (cell pallet) [50] on a side in a first direction; a pressure relief mechanism [52] arranged on the first side plate; and a cap assembly (top cover) [20] assembled to a top portion of the battery housing (paragraphs 39-57, see annotated figure 2 below).
Li further teaches that the inner surface of the first side plate (cell pallet) [50] of the battery housing is configured to have grooves (first passageway) [56] extending along the inner surface, and the grooves are used to direct a gas in the accommodating space to the pressure relief mechanism [14 and 52], such that the pressure relief mechanism is actuated and relieves a pressure when the pressure reaches a threshold (paragraphs 44-45, see annotated figure 5 below).
Regarding Claims 2-6, Li teaches that the first side plate (cell pallet) [50] is provided with a plurality of first grooves, through-holes, and notches on an inner surface thereof and configured to communicate with the pressure relief mechanism. Li further teaches that the grooves are provided in varying directions (i.e., first, second, and third directions) along the inner surface of the battery housing (paragraphs 44-45)
Regarding Claims 7-8, Li teaches that the battery housing comprises a pair of side plates arranged opposite one another in a second direction and gaps are provided between the varying grooves (paragraphs 44-45).
Regarding Claim 9, Li teaches that the grooves are formed as arcs or broken lines which protrude away from the pressure relief mechanism (paragraphs 44-45).
Regarding Claim 10, Li teaches that the battery comprises an insulating layer provided on a top surface of each of the grooves (paragraph 43).
Regarding Claims 11-15, Li teaches that battery housing comprises side plates opposite one another in a second direction and gaps are provided between the varying grooves (paragraphs 44-45). Li further teaches a supporting member (i.e., multi-layered cell pallet) arranged between the side plate and the electrode assembly to support the electrode assembly, wherein the supporting member is provided with passageways that communicate with the accommodating space (see figures 5-16).
Regarding Claim 16, Li teaches that the battery housing further comprises an insulating film [40] configured to enclose the electrode assembly and the insulating film is provided with through holes that do not overlap with passageways of the support member (see figure 2 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2007/0184337 hereinafter Nagayama in view of CN 109686874 A hereinafter Lu.
Regarding Claims 1 and 17-20, Nagayama teaches a lithium-ion battery [2], the battery comprising: an electrode assembly; a battery case [3] that encloses the electrode assembly; a pressure relief mechanism (gas vent) [7] formed at a lower wall [3b] of the battery case; and a cap assembly that covers a top portion of the battery case (paragraphs 26-31, see figures 1A-1B).
Nagayama does not specifically disclose that the battery case comprises a first passageway extending along an inner surface of the battery case to direct gas to the pressure relief mechanism.
However, Lu teaches a battery that comprises a battery casing that encloses the electrode assembly, and the battery casing is provided with venting groove such that the gas inside the casing to flow out of the power battery quickly through the pressure relief valve (paragraph 21) Lu further teaches that the venting groove can be provided in the inner surface of the battery casing and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include such venting groove in the battery of the Nagayama before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because such configuration can prevent the battery from exploding due to excessive pressure at the bottom of the casing, thereby improving the safety of the battery (paragraph 21).
The combination teaches a battery, a method, and system for forming the power battery for a power consuming device (see the combination of Nagayama and Lu).
The use of a known technique (i.e., the battery casing provided with venting groove on an inner surface to direct the gas) to improve similar products (methods) in the same way is likely to be obvious. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S._,_, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 - 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, C.).
Conclusion
/OSEI K AMPONSAH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752