Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6-29-2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because FIGS. 2, 4, and 6 contain text that is too small. Numbers, letters, and reference characters must measure at least .32 cm. (1/8 inch) in height [see 37 CFR 1.84(p)(3)]. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
Regarding Claims 1-8:
Claims 1-8 recite “[a] computer program product…comprising a computer readable storage medium...” and is not construed as signals per se in view of the instant specification at para. [0039], “[a] computer readable storage medium, as that term is used in the present disclosure, is not to be construed as storage in the form of transitory signals per se…”.
Claim Objections
Claims 10-15 and 17-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claims 10-15, "the method further comprising" does not have sufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in these claims. Applicant is advised to amend to recite "the computer-implemented method further comprising" or "further comprising".
Claim 11 is objected to for inheriting the deficiencies of claim 10.
Claim 14 is objected to for inheriting the deficiencies of claim 13.
In claims 17-20, "a method" should read "the method" because claim 16 already recites "a method".
Claims 18-19 are objected to for inheriting the deficiencies of claim 17.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: Claims 1-8 are directed to a computer program product [machine]. Claims 9-15 are directed to a method [process]. Claims 16-20 are directed to a computer system [machine].
Regarding Claim 1:
Step 2A, Prong 1: The following limitations are directed to the abstract idea of a mental process [see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) III. C.]. In particular, the claim recites mental processes that are concepts performed in the human mind or with pen and paper (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion).
segment data obtained from the multivariate process into a plurality of zone intervals of a time series
compute a contrastive metric from the segmented data for each variable during each zone interval
compare the computed contrastive metrics of each zone interval for each variable to each other to define representationally relevant zone intervals for each variable
…derive zone-based feature vectors for each variable during corresponding zone intervals of the representationally relevant zone intervals
concatenate the zone-based feature vectors into a representation vector that represents the multivariate process during the time series
As drafted, under their broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), in view of the specification, the above limitations cover concepts performed in the human mind (observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion). Given a sufficiently small set of data, nothing in the claim prohibits this process from being performed mentally or with pen and paper.
Step 2A, Prong 2: There are no additional elements in this claim that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
The following additional elements are adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea [see MPEP 2106.05(f)] and therefore fails to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
A computer program product for monitoring a multivariate process, the computer program product comprising a computer readable storage medium having program instructions embodied therewith, the program instructions executable by a processor to cause a computing device to:
apply representation learning to…
Step 2B: There are no additional elements in this claim that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
The following additional elements are adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea [see MPEP 2106.05(f)] and therefore fails to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
A computer program product for monitoring a multivariate process, the computer program product comprising a computer readable storage medium having program instructions embodied therewith, the program instructions executable by a processor to cause a computing device to:
apply representation learning to…
Regarding Claim 2:
Step 2A, Prong 1: The claim recites the same abstract ideas as in claim 1.
Step 2A, Prong 2: There are no additional elements in this claim that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
The following additional element is adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea [see MPEP 2106.05(f)] and therefore fails to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
model the multivariate process by the representation vector based on machine learning
Step 2B: There are no additional elements in this claim that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
The following additional element is adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea [see MPEP 2106.05(f)] and therefore fails to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
model the multivariate process by the representation vector based on machine learning
Regarding Claim 3:
Step 2A, Prong 1: The claim recites the same abstract ideas as in claim 2.
The following limitations are directed to the abstract idea of a mental process [see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) III. C.]. In particular, the claim recites mental processes that are concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion).
removing a first zone-based feature vector from the zone-based feature vectors, the first zone-based feature vector being least relevant of the representationally relevant zone intervals based on the comparison of the computed contrastive metrics
concatenating the remaining zone-based feature vectors into a modified representation vector
Step 2A, Prong 2: There are no additional elements in this claim that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
The following additional element is adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea [see MPEP 2106.05(f)] and therefore fails to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
adjust the model via:…
training the model on the modified representation vector
Step 2B: There are no additional elements in this claim that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
The following additional element is adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea [see MPEP 2106.05(f)] and therefore fails to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
adjust the model via:…
training the model on the modified representation vector
Regarding Claim 4:
Step 2A, Prong 1: The claim recites the same abstract ideas as in claim 1.
The following limitation is directed to the abstract idea of a mental process [see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) III. C.]. In particular, the claim recites mental processes that are concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion).
rank order the computed contrastive metrics for each variable during each zone interval
Step 2A, Prong 2: There are no additional elements in this claim that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B: There are no additional elements in this claim that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Regarding Claim 5:
Step 2A, Prong 1: The claim recites the same abstract ideas as in claim 1.
The following limitation is directed to the abstract idea of a mental process [see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) III. C.]. In particular, the claim recites mental processes that are concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion).
compute the contrastive metrics by computing a variance of each variable at a predetermined time across the time series
Step 2A, Prong 2: There are no additional elements in this claim that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B: There are no additional elements in this claim that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Regarding Claim 6:
Step 2A, Prong 1: The claim recites the same abstract ideas as in claim 5.
The following limitation is directed to the abstract idea of a mental process [see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) III. C.]. In particular, the claim recites mental processes that are concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion).
aggregate the computed variances and apply a probabilistic function to select variables during each zone interval
Step 2A, Prong 2: There are no additional elements in this claim that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B: There are no additional elements in this claim that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Regarding Claim 7:
Step 2A, Prong 1: The claim recites the same abstract ideas as in claim 5.
The following limitation is directed to the abstract idea of a mental process [see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) III. C.]. In particular, the claim recites mental processes that are concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion).
apply a zone density clustering function to select variables during each zone interval
Step 2A, Prong 2: There are no additional elements in this claim that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B: There are no additional elements in this claim that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Regarding Claim 8:
Step 2A, Prong 1: The claim recites the same abstract ideas as in claim 1.
The following limitation is directed to the abstract idea of a mental process [see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) III. C.]. In particular, the claim recites mental processes that are concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion).
compute the contrastive metrics by a first derivative of a variance of each variable at a predetermined time across the time series
Step 2A, Prong 2: There are no additional elements in this claim that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B: There are no additional elements in this claim that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Regarding Claims 9-15:
Claims 9-15 correspond to claims 1-6 and 8. In particular, 9:1, 10:2, 11:3, 12:4, 13:5, 14:6, 15:8.
Step 2A, Prong 1: The claim recites the same abstract ideas as in claims 1-6 and 8.
Step 2A, Prong 2: There are no additional elements in this claim that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The analysis of claims 9-15 at this step mirror that of claims 1-6 and 8.
Step 2B: There are no additional elements in this claim that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The analysis of claims 9-15 at this step mirror that of claims 1-6 and 8.
Regarding Claim 16:
Step 2A, Prong 1: The following limitations are directed to the abstract idea of a mental process [see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) III. C.]. In particular, the claim recites mental processes that are concepts performed in the human mind or with pen and paper (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion).
segmenting data obtained from the multivariate process into a time series of snapshot intervals, each snapshot interval further segmented into a predetermined plurality of zone intervals
computing a contrastive metric from the segmented data for each variable during each zone interval
comparing the computed contrastive metrics to one or more predetermined threshold values to define representationally relevant zone intervals for each variable
…derive zone-based feature vectors for each variable during corresponding relevant zone intervals
concatenating the zone-based feature vectors into a representation vector for the multivariate process during the time series of snapshots
As drafted, under their broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), in view of the specification, the above limitations cover concepts performed in the human mind (observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion). Given a sufficiently small set of data, nothing in the claim prohibits this process from being performed mentally or with pen and paper.
Step 2A, Prong 2: There are no additional elements in this claim that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
The following additional elements are adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea [see MPEP 2106.05(f)] and therefore fails to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
A computer system for monitoring a multivariate process, the computer system comprising:
one or more processors, one or more computer-readable memories, one or more computer-readable tangible storage devices, and program instructions stored on at least one of the one or more storage devices for execution by at least one or more of the processors via at least one of the one or more memories, wherein the computer system is capable of performing a method comprising:
apply representation learning to…
Step 2B: There are no additional elements in this claim that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
The following additional elements are adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea [see MPEP 2106.05(f)] and therefore fails to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
A computer system for monitoring a multivariate process, the computer system comprising:
one or more processors, one or more computer-readable memories, one or more computer-readable tangible storage devices, and program instructions stored on at least one of the one or more storage devices for execution by at least one or more of the processors via at least one of the one or more memories, wherein the computer system is capable of performing a method comprising:
apply representation learning to…
Regarding Claim 17:
Step 2A, Prong 1: The claim recites the same abstract ideas as in claim 16.
The following limitation is directed to the abstract idea of a mental process [see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) III. C.]. In particular, the claim recites mental processes that are concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion).
computing the contrastive metrics by computing a variance of each variable at a predetermined time across all snapshot intervals
Step 2A, Prong 2: There are no additional elements in this claim that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B: There are no additional elements in this claim that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Regarding Claim 18:
Step 2A, Prong 1: The claim recites the same abstract ideas as in claim 17.
The following limitation is directed to the abstract idea of a mental process [see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) III. C.]. In particular, the claim recites mental processes that are concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion).
aggregating the computed variances and applying a probabilistic function to select variables during each zone interval
Step 2A, Prong 2: There are no additional elements in this claim that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B: There are no additional elements in this claim that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Regarding Claim 19:
Step 2A, Prong 1: The claim recites the same abstract ideas as in claim 17.
The following limitation is directed to the abstract idea of a mental process [see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) III. C.]. In particular, the claim recites mental processes that are concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion).
applying a probabilistic zone density clustering function to select variables during each zone interval
Step 2A, Prong 2: There are no additional elements in this claim that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B: There are no additional elements in this claim that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Regarding Claim 20:
Step 2A, Prong 1: The claim recites the same abstract ideas as in claim 16.
The following limitation is directed to the abstract idea of a mental process [see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) III. C.]. In particular, the claim recites mental processes that are concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion).
computing the contrastive metrics by a first derivative of a variance of each variable at a predetermined time across all snapshot intervals
Step 2A, Prong 2: There are no additional elements in this claim that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B: There are no additional elements in this claim that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 9-10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al. (US 20190034497), hereinafter Song, in view of Natsumeda et al. (US 11675641), hereinafter Natsumeda.
Regarding Claim 1:
Song discloses:
A computer program product for monitoring a multivariate process, the computer program product comprising a computer readable storage medium having program instructions embodied therewith, the program instructions executable by a processor to cause a computing device to:
Song, [0096], “aspects of the present invention may take the form of a computer program product embodied in one or more computer readable medium(s) having computer readable program code embodied thereon.”
[0101], “Aspects of the present invention are described below with reference to flowchart illustrations and/or block diagrams of methods, apparatus (systems) and computer program products according to embodiments of the present invention…These computer program instructions may be provided to a processor…such that the instructions, which execute via the processor…”
[0018], “methods and devices are presented for representing multivariate time series data and retrieving time series segments in historical data. The exemplary embodiments of the present invention employ two deep learning approaches…”
In para. 96, Song discloses a computer program product embodied in a computer readable medium having computer readable program code, and para. 101 specifies the computer program code is to be executed by a processor. Lastly, para. 18 states Song is directed to using deep learning for time series representation and retrieval [monitoring a multivariate process]
segment data obtained from the multivariate process into a plurality of zone intervals of a time series
Song, [0032], “At block 124, a multivariate time series segment is generated by a sliding window (e.g., window size can be 90, 180, 360, etc.) over a raw time series.”
Song discloses generating multivariate time series segments [segment data obtained from the multivariate process] by using a sliding window over a raw time series [into a plurality of zone intervals of a time series].
compute a contrastive metric from the segmented data for each variable during each zone interval
Song, [0034] “At block 128, hash codes are obtained by utilizing tanh( ) and sign( )function.”
[0068], “In a first step, input attention based LSTM/GRU is employed to extract a best representation for multivariate time series segments. In a second step, pairwise loss is used as the objective function to ensure that similar pair should produce similar hash codes and dissimilar pair should produce dissimilar hash codes.”
[0077], “At block 405, an input attention based recurrent neural network is applied to extract real value features and corresponding hash codes.”
In para. 34, Song discloses obtaining hash codes using tanh and sign [compute a contrastive metric]. Para. 68 and 77 further specify that the hash codes correspond to the features of the multivariate time series segments [from the segmented data for each variable during each zone interval].
compare the computed contrastive metrics of each zone interval for each variable to each other to define representationally relevant zone intervals for each variable
Song, [0035], “At block 130, similarity measurements of a query index (hash codes) are determined.”
[0068], “pairwise loss is used as the objective function to ensure that similar pair should produce similar hash codes and dissimilar pair should produce dissimilar hash codes.”
In para. 35, Song discloses using similarity measurements on the hash codes [compare the computer contrastive metrics of each zone interval for each variable], and para. 68 states the comparison is performed using pairwise loss [to each other].
[0036], “At block 132, indexes are stored in a database (e.g., an index database).”
[0020], “The method can provide effective and compact (higher quality) representations of multivariate time series segments, can generate discriminative binary codes (more effective) for indexing multivariate time series segments, and, given a query time series segment, can obtain the relevant time series segments with higher accuracy and efficiency.”
After the similarity measurements are determined, in view of para. 36, the indexes are stored. Para. 20 further states that indexing the multivariate time series segments allows the method/system to obtain relevant time series segments based on queries [to define representationally relevant zone intervals for each variable].
Song does not explicitly disclose:
apply representation learning to derive zone-based feature vectors for each variable during corresponding zone intervals of the representationally relevant zone intervals
concatenate the zone-based feature vectors into a representation vector that represents the multivariate process during the time series
However, in the same field, analogous art Natsumeda teaches:
apply representation learning to derive zone-based feature vectors for each variable during corresponding zone intervals…
Natsumeda, [24], “The feature extractor 511 includes subsequence generators 511A and Long Short-Term Memory (LSTM) models 511B. The feature extractor 511 generates subsequences of given multi-variate time series with sliding window and then convert each of the subsequences into a feature vector. The feature extractor 511 can include LSTM models to convert a subsequence of multi-variate time series into a feature vector.”
[49], “At block 915A, extract, by a feature extractor, feature values from individual attributes of the multi-variate time series and concatenating the feature values into the feature vectors.”
In paras. 24 and 49, Natsumeda teaches using a feature extractor – an LSTM model – to extract features from subsequences of multi-variate time series data and create feature vectors [apply representation learning to derive zone-based feature vectors for each variable during corresponding zone intervals…]
concatenate the zone-based feature vectors into a representation vector that represents the multivariate process during the time series
Natsumeda, [51], “At block 915C, convert, by a feature converter, multiple ones of the feature vectors into a new feature vector.”
Natsumeda discloses converting multiple ones of the feature vectors [concatenate the zone-based feature vectors] into a new feature vector [into a representation vector that represents the multivariate process during the time series]. The new feature vector is a representation of the multivariate process during the time series because it is all the feature vectors that were made by extracting features from the multi-variate time series segments.
Song, Natsumeda, and the instant application are analogous art because they are all directed to processing multi-variate time-series data.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Song with Natsumeda in order to increase interpretability of the time-series data. “As a further advantage, the present invention gives high interpretability of the results since it provides the importance of subsequences and also the importance of the attributes” (Natsumeda, [58]). Natsumeda discloses that subsequence importance and importance of the features/attributes allows for high interpretability because the expert user will be able to quickly discern importance.
Regarding Claim 2:
As discussed above, Song in view of Natsumeda teaches [the] computer program product of claim 1, and Natsumeda further teaches:
wherein the program instructions further cause the computing device to model the multivariate process by the representation vector based on machine learning
Natsumeda, [47], “At block 915, generate, by a model-based signature generator, feature vectors from input multi-variate time series data from which a failure prediction is to be made.”
Natsumeda discloses that block 915, as discussed above in claim 1 [to model the multivariate process by the representation vector], uses a machine learning model [based on machine learning].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Song with Natsumeda to use machine learning in order to increase the robustness of the system. “A description will now be given regarding various advantages of the present invention, in accordance with one or more embodiments of the present invention. As a first advantage, the present invention is based on machine learning. This is more general and easier to apply than rule-based methods” (Natsumeda, [53]-[54]).
Regarding Claim 4:
As discussed above, Song in view of Natsumeda teaches [the] computer program product of claim 1, and Song further teaches:
wherein the program instructions further cause the computing device to rank order the computed contrastive metrics for each variable during each zone interval
Song, [0034]-[0037] “At block 128, hash codes are obtained by utilizing tanh( ) and sign( ) function. At block 130, similarity measurements of a query index (hash codes) are determined. At block 132, indexes are stored in a database (e.g., an index database). At block 134, an output can be top ranked time series segments retrieved from the historical data (e.g., history database).”
Song discloses obtaining the hash codes [the computed contrastive metrics for each variable during each zone interval] which are indexed into a database and can be retrieved and outputted in top ranking [rank order].
Regarding Claim 9:
Claim 9 is a computer-implemented method claim corresponding to computer program product claim 1 and is rejected for at least the same reasons as given in the rejection of claim 1, with the exception of the following limitations.
Song discloses:
A computer-implemented method comprising:
Song, [0101], “Aspects of the present invention are described below with reference to flowchart illustrations and/or block diagrams of methods, apparatus (systems) and computer program products according to embodiments of the present invention…These computer program instructions may be provided to a processor…such that the instructions, which execute via the processor…”
Regarding Claim 10:
Claim 10 is a computer-implemented method claim corresponding to computer program product claim 2 and is rejected for at least the same reasons as given in the rejection of claim 2.
Regarding Claim 12:
Claim 12 is a computer-implemented method claim corresponding to computer program product claim 4 and is rejected for at least the same reasons as given in the rejection of claim 4.
Claims 3 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song in view of Natsumeda, and further in view of Hamilton et al. (US 20230046601), hereinafter Hamilton.
Regarding Claim 3:
As discussed above, Song in view of Natsumeda teach [the] computer program product of claim 2, but do not explicitly disclose:
wherein the program instructions further cause the computing device to adjust the model via:
removing a first zone-based feature vector from the zone-based feature vectors, the first zone-based feature vector being least relevant of the representationally relevant zone intervals based on the comparison of the computed contrastive metrics;
concatenating the remaining zone-based feature vectors into a modified representation vector; and
training the model on the modified representation vector
However, in the same field, analogous art Hamilton teaches:
wherein the program instructions further cause the computing device to adjust the model via:
Hamilton, [0025], “In the refining stage of the training, the risk prediction model is updated to remove filters from the feature learning model. To do so, influencing scores are calculated for the filters of the feature learning model. In some examples, the filters of the feature learning model can include filters with different window sizes and can be organized as blocks of filters with each block containing filters of the same window size…The block of filters having an influencing score or a metric calculated based on the influencing score lower than a threshold can be removed from the feature learning model…The risk prediction model with the updated feature learning model may be retrained again using the training data to obtain the trained risk prediction model.”
Hamilton teaches retraining and updating their risk prediction model and feature learning model [adjust the model].
removing a first zone-based feature vector from the zone-based feature vectors, the first zone-based feature vector being least relevant of the representationally relevant zone intervals based on the comparison of the computed contrastive metrics
Hamilton, [0077], “In some examples, L-1 norms can be introduced in the loss function to drive weights corresponding to less or unimportant features to zero and then remove the irrelevant features in the feature vector 802 as described above.”
As cited above in para. 25, Hamilton teaches assigning generated influencing scores to filter blocks [zone-based feature vectors], the filter blocks with scores below a threshold are removed [removing a first zone-based feature vector]. Further in view of para. 77, Hamilton teaches that the removed features are those that are unimportant/irrelevant [the first zone-based feature vector being least relevant of the representationally relevant zone intervals]. Furthermore, the removed filter blocks are decided by comparing their influential scores to a threshold [based on the comparison of the computed contrastive metrics].
concatenating the remaining zone-based feature vectors into a modified representation vector
Hamilton, [0076], “The feature vector 802 can be determined by the feature learning model 128, and the feature vector 802 may be a concatenation or other suitable combination of output vectors from different filters included in an original set of filters of the risk prediction model 120.”
In para. 76, Hamilton teaches concatenating suitable filters that were determined by the feature learning model. In view of para. 25, cited above, and para. 75, Hamilton’s disclosure of removing unimportant filter blocks from the feature learning model and the feature learning concatenating suitable filters corresponds to concatenating the remaining zone-based feature vectors into a modified representation vector.
training the model on the modified representation vector
As cited above in para. 25, Hamilton teaches retraining the risk prediction model with the updated feature learning model, which has the filters with the removed irrelevant filters.
Song, Natsumeda, Hamilton, and the instant application are analogous art because they are all directed to time series data feature learning.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Song and Natsumeda with Hamilton in order to decrease computational resource cost. “[R]emoving less influencing filters from the feature learning model based on the model parameters learned from the data itself allows the dimensionality of the features to be reduced without sacrificing the predictiveness of the model. As a result, the risk prediction model can provide a more accurate prediction while using less computational resources, such as CPU time and memory usage” (Hamilton, [0027]).
Regarding Claim 11:
Claim 11 is a computer-implemented method claim corresponding to computer program product claim 3 and is rejected for at least the same reasons as given in the rejection of claim 3.
Claims 5 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song in view of Natsumeda, and further in view of Seow (US 20220121942).
Regarding Claim 5:
As discussed above, Song in view of Natsumeda teach [the] computer program product of claim 1, but do not explicitly disclose:
wherein the program instructions further cause the computing device to compute the contrastive metrics by computing a variance of each variable at a predetermined time across the time series
However, in the same field, analogous art Seow teaches:
wherein the program instructions further cause the computing device to compute the contrastive metrics by computing a variance of each variable at a predetermined time across the time series
Seow, [0064], “assuming that the input data corresponds to video data, features may include location, velocity, acceleration etc. The symbolic analysis component 318 may generate separate sets of probabilistic clusters for each of these features. Feature symbols (e.g., alpha symbols) are generated that correspond to each statistically relevant probabilistic cluster…the symbolic analysis component 318 may determine a statistical distribution (e.g., mean, variance, and standard deviation) of data in each probabilistic cluster…”
[0102], “the metadata can include information such as a number of objects in the video (e.g., for a given time period or for a given frame or series of frames)”
In para. 64, Seow discloses determining statistical significance [computing the contrastive metrics] by calculating statistical distribution, such as the variance, of each cluster of features [computing a variance of each variable], and para. 102 states the data can be for a given time period, a given frame, or a series of frames [at a predetermined time across the time series].
Song, Natsumeda, Seow, and the instant application are analogous art because they are all directed to time series data feature learning.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Song and Natsumeda with Seow to use statistical distributions in order to identify statistical significances. “The symbolic analysis component 318 may further assign a set of alpha symbols to probabilistic clusters having statistical significance. Each probabilistic cluster may be associated with a statistical significance score that increases as more data that maps to the probabilistic cluster is received. The symbolic analysis component 318 may assign alpha symbols to probabilistic clusters whose statistical significance score exceeds a threshold” (Seow, [0064]).
Regarding Claim 13:
Claim 13 is a computer-implemented method claim corresponding to computer program product claim 5 and is rejected for at least the same reasons as given in the rejection of claim 5.
Claims 6-7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song and Natsumeda in view of Seow, and further in view of Jackson (US 20190259041).
Regarding Claim 6:
As discussed above, Song in view of Natsumeda, and further in view of Seow teach [the] computer program product of claim 5, and Seow further teaches:
wherein the program instructions further cause the computing device to aggregate the computed variances and
Seow, [0064], “assuming that the input data corresponds to video data, features may include location, velocity, acceleration etc. The symbolic analysis component 318 may generate separate sets of probabilistic clusters for each of these features. Feature symbols (e.g., alpha symbols) are generated that correspond to each statistically relevant probabilistic cluster…the symbolic analysis component 318 may determine a statistical distribution (e.g., mean, variance, and standard deviation) of data in each probabilistic cluster…”
Seow discloses calculating the variances for the clusters [aggregate the computed variances].
Song in view of Natsumeda, and further in view of Seow do not explicitly disclose:
apply a probabilistic function to select variables during each zone interval
However, in the same field, analogous art Jackson teaches:
apply a probabilistic function to select variables…
Jackson, [0263], “A mixture model assumes that a set of observed objects is a mixture of instances from multiple probabilistic clusters. Conceptually, each observed object is generated independently by first choosing a probabilistic cluster according to the probabilities of the clusters, and then choosing a sample according to the probability density function of the chosen cluster.”
Jackson teaches choosing a sample [select variables…] using a probability density function of a cluster [apply a probabilistic function].
Song, Natsumeda, Seow, Jackson, and the instant application are analogous art because they are all directed to feature selection.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Song, Natsumeda, and Seow with Jackson to cluster data in order to gain insight into the data distribution to be able to select better data. “Cluster analysis can be used as a standalone data mining tool to gain insight into the data distribution, or as a preprocessing step for other data mining algorithms operating on the detected clusters. Clustering is related to unsupervised learning in machine learning. Typical requirements include scalability, the ability to deal with different types of data and attributes, the discovery of clusters in arbitrary shape, minimal requirements for domain knowledge to determine input parameters, the ability to deal with noisy data, incremental clustering, and insensitivity to input order, the capability of clustering high-dimensionality data, constraint-based clustering, as well as interpretability and usability.”
Regarding Claim 7:
As discussed above, Song in view of Natsumeda, and further in view of Seow teach [the] computer program product of claim 5, but do not explicitly disclose:
wherein the program instructions further cause the computing device to apply a zone density clustering function to select variables during each zone interval
However, in the same field, analogous art Jackson teaches:
wherein the program instructions further cause the computing device to apply a…density clustering function to select variables…
Jackson, [0263], “A mixture model assumes that a set of observed objects is a mixture of instances from multiple probabilistic clusters. Conceptually, each observed object is generated independently by first choosing a probabilistic cluster according to the probabilities of the clusters, and then choosing a sample according to the probability density function of the chosen cluster.”
Jackson teaches choosing a sample [select variables…] using a probability density function of a cluster [apply a density clustering function].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Song, Natsumeda, and Seow with Jackson to cluster data in order to gain insight into the data distribution to be able to select better data. “Cluster analysis can be used as a standalone data mining tool to gain insight into the data distribution, or as a preprocessing step for other data mining algorithms operating on the detected clusters. Clustering is related to unsupervised learning in machine learning. Typical requirements include scalability, the ability to deal with different types of data and attributes, the discovery of clusters in arbitrary shape, minimal requirements for domain knowledge to determine input parameters, the ability to deal with noisy data, incremental clustering, and insensitivity to input order, the capability of clustering high-dimensionality data, constraint-based clustering, as well as interpretability and usability.”
Regarding Claim 14:
Claim 14 is a computer-implemented method claim corresponding to computer program product claim 6 and is rejected for at least the same reasons as given in the rejection of claim 6.
Claim 8 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song in view of Natsumeda, and further in view of Nolan et al. (US 20200027008), hereinafter Nolan.
Regarding Claim 8:
As discussed above, Song in view of Natsumeda teach [the] computer program product of claim 1, but do not explicitly disclose:
wherein the program instructions further cause the computing device to compute the contrastive metrics by a first derivative of a variance of each variable at a predetermined time across the time series
However, in the same field, analogous art Nolan teaches:
wherein the program instructions further cause the computing device to compute the contrastive metrics by a first derivative of a variance of each variable…
Nolan, [0067], “At block 706, the example system tuner 120 differentiates the variance data model 426 to determine the variance rate of change model 430, h′(x). For example, the model generator 306 differentiates the variance data model 426 to generate a function that determines the rate of change at each sample within the variance data 416.”
Nolan discloses determining the rate of change [a first derivative] at each sample [of each variable] within the variance data [of a variance].
Song, Natsumeda, Nolan and the instant application are analogous art because they are all directed to input data processing.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Song and Natsumeda with Nolan in order to increase the systems interpretability. “The variance rate of change model 430 is used to acquire insight into the topology of the variance data 416 and/or to help illustrate different degrees of transient behavior(s) associated with an environment or system under test/analysis” (Nolan, [0067]).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song, further in view of Garvey et al. (US 20170249564), hereinafter Garvey, and further in view of Natsumeda.
Regarding Claim 16:
Song discloses:
A computer system for monitoring a multivariate process, the computer system comprising: one or more processors, one or more computer-readable memories, one or more computer-readable tangible storage devices, and program instructions stored on at least one of the one or more storage devices for execution by at least one or more of the processors via at least one of the one or more memories, wherein the computer system is capable of performing a method comprising:
Song, [0101], “Aspects of the present invention are described below with reference to flowchart illustrations and/or block diagrams of methods, apparatus (systems) and computer program products according to embodiments of the present invention…These computer program instructions may be provided to a processor…such that the instructions, which execute via the processor…”
segmenting data obtained from the multivariate process into a time series of snapshot intervals
Song, [0032], “At block 124, a multivariate time series segment is generated by a sliding window (e.g., window size can be 90, 180, 360, etc.) over a raw time series.”
Song discloses generating multivariate time series segments [segmenting data obtained from the multivariate process] by using a sliding window over a raw time series [into a time series of snapshot intervals].
computing a contrastive metric from the segmented data for each variable during each zone interval
Song, [0034] “At block 128, hash codes are obtained by utilizing tanh( ) and sign( )function.”
[0068], “In a first step, input attention based LSTM/GRU is employed to extract a best representation for multivariate time series segments. In a second step, pairwise loss is used as the objective function to ensure that similar pair should produce similar hash codes and dissimilar pair should produce dissimilar hash codes.”
[0077], “At block 405, an input attention based recurrent neural network is applied to extract real value features and corresponding hash codes.”
In para. 34, Song discloses obtaining hash codes using tanh and sign [computing a contrastive metric]. Para. 68 and 77 further specify that the hash codes correspond to the features of the multivariate time series segments [from the segmented data for each variable during each zone interval].
comparing the computed contrastive metrics to one or more predetermined threshold values to define representationally relevant zone intervals for each variable
Song, [0035], “At block 130, similarity measurements of a query index (hash codes) are determined.”
[0068]-[0069], “pairwise loss is used as the objective function to ensure that similar pair should produce similar hash codes and dissimilar pair should produce dissimilar hash codes. Specifically, assuming that the method includes query
i
and sample
j
, if they are a similar pair
S
i
j
=
1
, then
p
S
i
j
|
B
=
σ
Ω
i
j
, where
Ω
i
j
is the inner product of the hash codes of query
i
, e.g.,
b
h
i
and that of sample
j
, i.e.,
b
h
j
.”
In para. 35, Song discloses using similarity measurements on the hash codes [comparing the computer contrastive metrics], and paras. 68-69 state that the comparison is performed using pairwise loss, and similarity is determined if
S
i
j
=
1
[one or more predetermined threshold values].
[0036], “At block 132, indexes are stored in a database (e.g., an index database).”
[0020], “The method can provide effective and compact (higher quality) representations of multivariate time series segments, can generate discriminative binary codes (more effective) for indexing multivariate time series segments, and, given a query time series segment, can obtain the relevant time series segments with higher accuracy and efficiency.”
After the similarity measurements are determined, in view of para. 36, the indexes are stored. Para. 20 further states that indexing the multivariate time series segments allows the method/system to obtain relevant time series segments based on queries [to define representationally relevant zone intervals for each variable].
Song does not explicitly disclose:
each snapshot interval further segmented into a predetermined plurality of zone intervals
applying representation learning to derive zone-based feature vectors for each variable during corresponding relevant zone intervals; and
concatenating the zone-based feature vectors into a representation vector for the multivariate process during the time series of snapshots
However, in the same field, Garvey teaches:
each snapshot interval further segmented into a predetermined plurality of zone intervals
Garvey, [0067], “At 430, the process determines whether to stop or continuing segmenting the time-series signal based on the linear approximation that was generated for the selected segment.”
[0068], “At 440, the process divides the selected segment into two or more sub-segments. The break point(s) between the segments may vary depending on the particular implementation. In one or more embodiments, the segment may be broken in half. However, in other embodiments, the break points may be determined based on an analysis of the slopes/trends of the sequence of values that belong to the segments. By analyzing slopes or trends, a more accurate linear approximation may be derived.”
In para. 67, Garvey discloses a process of determining whether to continue segmenting a segment of the time-series data. Para. 68 explains the process of further dividing a segment into two or more segments [each snapshot interval further segmented into a predetermined plurality of zone intervals].
Song, Garvey, and the instant application are analogous art because they are all directed to .
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Song with Garvey in order to obtain more accurate linear approximations of the time-series segments. “In one or more embodiments, the segment may be broken in half. However, in other embodiments, the break points may be determined based on an analysis of the slopes/trends of the sequence of values that belong to the segments. By analyzing slopes or trends, a more accurate linear approximation may be derived. For instance, if breaking a segment in two, a first portion of the segment, which may be more or less than half the segment, may generally trend downward. The second portion of the segment may then slope upward. The break point may be selected in between these two portions of the segment, which allows a better fit to be derived through a linear regression model” (Garvey, [0068]).
Song in view of Garvey do not explicitly disclose:
applying representation learning to derive zone-based feature vectors for each variable during corresponding relevant zone intervals
concatenating the zone-based feature vectors into a representation vector for the multivariate process during the time series of snapshots
However, in the same field, analogous art Natsumeda teaches:
applying representation learning to derive zone-based feature vectors for each variable during corresponding…zone intervals
Natsumeda, [24], “The feature extractor 511 includes subsequence generators 511A and Long Short-Term Memory (LSTM) models 511B. The feature extractor 511 generates subsequences of given multi-variate time series with sliding window and then convert each of the subsequences into a feature vector. The feature extractor 511 can include LSTM models to convert a subsequence of multi-variate time series into a feature vector.”
[49], “At block 915A, extract, by a feature extractor, feature values from individual attributes of the multi-variate time series and concatenating the feature values into the feature vectors.”
In paras. 24 and 49, Natsumeda teaches using a feature extractor – an LSTM model – to extract features from subsequences of multi-variate time series data and create feature vectors [applying representation learning to derive zone-based feature vectors for each variable during corresponding…zone intervals]
concatenating the zone-based feature vectors into a representation vector for the multivariate process during the time series of snapshots
Natsumeda, [51], “At block 915C, convert, by a feature converter, multiple ones of the feature vectors into a new feature vector.”
Natsumeda discloses converting multiple ones of the feature vectors [concatenating the zone-based feature vectors] into a new feature vector [into a representation vector for the multivariate process during the time series of snapshots]. The new feature vector is a representation of the multivariate process during the time series of snapshots because it is all the feature vectors that were made by extracting features from the multi-variate time series segments.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Song with Natsumeda in order to increase interpretability of the time-series data. “As a further advantage, the present invention gives high interpretability of the results since it provides the importance of subsequences and also the importance of the attributes” (Natsumeda, [58]). Natsumeda discloses that subsequence importance and importance of the features/attributes allows for high interpretability because the expert user will be able to quickly discern importance.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song and Garvey in view of Natsumeda, and further in view of Seow.
Regarding Claim 17:
As discussed above, Song in view of Garvey, and further in view of Natsumeda teach [the] computer system of claim 16, but do not explicitly disclose:
further capable of performing a method comprising computing the contrastive metrics by computing a variance of each variable at a predetermined time across all snapshot intervals
However, in the same field, analogous art Seow teaches:
further capable of performing a method comprising computing the contrastive metrics by computing a variance of each variable at a predetermined time across all snapshot intervals
Seow, [0064], “assuming that the input data corresponds to video data, features may include location, velocity, acceleration etc. The symbolic analysis component 318 may generate separate sets of probabilistic clusters for each of these features. Feature symbols (e.g., alpha symbols) are generated that correspond to each statistically relevant probabilistic cluster…the symbolic analysis component 318 may determine a statistical distribution (e.g., mean, variance, and standard deviation) of data in each probabilistic cluster…”
[0102], “the metadata can include information such as a number of objects in the video (e.g., for a given time period or for a given frame or series of frames)”
In para. 64, Seow discloses determining statistical significance [computing the contrastive metrics] by calculating statistical distribution, such as the variance, of each cluster of features [computing a variance of each variable], and para. 102 states the data can be for a given time period, a given frame, or a series of frames [at a predetermined time across all snapshot intervals].
Song, Garvey, Natsumeda, Seow, and the instant application are analogous art because they are all directed to time series data feature learning.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Song, Garvey, and Natsumeda with Seow to use statistical distributions in order to identify statistical significances. “The symbolic analysis component 318 may further assign a set of alpha symbols to probabilistic clusters having statistical significance. Each probabilistic cluster may be associated with a statistical significance score that increases as more data that maps to the probabilistic cluster is received. The symbolic analysis component 318 may assign alpha symbols to probabilistic clusters whose statistical significance score exceeds a threshold” (Seow, [0064]).
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song, Garvey, and Natsumeda, in view of Seow, and further in view of Jackson.
Regarding Claim 18:
As discussed above, Song, Garvey, and Natsumeda in view of Seow teach [the] computer system of claim 17, and Seow further teaches:
further capable of performing a method comprising aggregating the computed variances and
Seow, [0064], “assuming that the input data corresponds to video data, features may include location, velocity, acceleration etc. The symbolic analysis component 318 may generate separate sets of probabilistic clusters for each of these features. Feature symbols (e.g., alpha symbols) are generated that correspond to each statistically relevant probabilistic cluster…the symbolic analysis component 318 may determine a statistical distribution (e.g., mean, variance, and standard deviation) of data in each probabilistic cluster…”
Seow discloses calculating the variances for the clusters [aggregating the computed variances].
Song, Garvey, and Natsumeda in view of Seow do not explicitly disclose:
applying a probabilistic function to select variables during each zone interval
However, in the same field, analogous art Jackson teaches:
applying a probabilistic function to select variables…
Jackson, [0263], “A mixture model assumes that a set of observed objects is a mixture of instances from multiple probabilistic clusters. Conceptually, each observed object is generated independently by first choosing a probabilistic cluster according to the probabilities of the clusters, and then choosing a sample according to the probability density function of the chosen cluster.”
Jackson teaches choosing a sample [select variables…] using a probability density function of a cluster [applying a probabilistic function].
Song, Garvey, Natsumeda, Seow, Jackson, and the instant application are analogous art because they are all directed to feature selection.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Song, Garvey, Natsumeda, and Seow with Jackson to cluster data in order to gain insight into the data distribution to be able to select better data. “Cluster analysis can be used as a standalone data mining tool to gain insight into the data distribution, or as a preprocessing step for other data mining algorithms operating on the detected clusters. Clustering is related to unsupervised learning in machine learning. Typical requirements include scalability, the ability to deal with different types of data and attributes, the discovery of clusters in arbitrary shape, minimal requirements for domain knowledge to determine input parameters, the ability to deal with noisy data, incremental clustering, and insensitivity to input order, the capability of clustering high-dimensionality data, constraint-based clustering, as well as interpretability and usability.”
Regarding Claim 7:
As discussed above, Song, Garvey, and Natsumeda in view of Seow teach [the] computer system of claim 17, but do not explicitly disclose:
further capable of performing a method comprising applying a probabilistic zone density clustering function to select variables during each zone interval
However, in the same field, analogous art Jackson teaches:
further capable of performing a method comprising applying a probabilistic…density clustering function to select variables…
Jackson, [0263], “A mixture model assumes that a set of observed objects is a mixture of instances from multiple probabilistic clusters. Conceptually, each observed object is generated independently by first choosing a probabilistic cluster according to the probabilities of the clusters, and then choosing a sample according to the probability density function of the chosen cluster.”
Jackson teaches choosing a sample [select variables…] using a probability density function of a cluster [apply a probabilistic…density clustering function].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Song, Garvey, Natsumeda, and Seow with Jackson to cluster data in order to gain insight into the data distribution to be able to select better data. “Cluster analysis can be used as a standalone data mining tool to gain insight into the data distribution, or as a preprocessing step for other data mining algorithms operating on the detected clusters. Clustering is related to unsupervised learning in machine learning. Typical requirements include scalability, the ability to deal with different types of data and attributes, the discovery of clusters in arbitrary shape, minimal requirements for domain knowledge to determine input parameters, the ability to deal with noisy data, incremental clustering, and insensitivity to input order, the capability of clustering high-dimensionality data, constraint-based clustering, as well as interpretability and usability.”
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song and Garvey in view of Natsumeda, and further in view of Nolan.
Regarding Claim 8:
As discussed above, Song in view of Garvey, and further in view of Natsumeda teach [the] computer system of claim 16, but do not explicitly disclose:
further capable of performing a method comprising computing the contrastive metrics by a first derivative of a variance of each variable at a predetermined time across all snapshot intervals
However, in the same field, analogous art Nolan teaches:
further capable of performing a method comprising computing the contrastive metrics by a first derivative of a variance of each variable…
Nolan, [0067], “At block 706, the example system tuner 120 differentiates the variance data model 426 to determine the variance rate of change model 430, h′(x). For example, the model generator 306 differentiates the variance data model 426 to generate a function that determines the rate of change at each sample within the variance data 416.”
Nolan discloses determining the rate of change [a first derivative] at each sample [of each variable] within the variance data [of a variance].
Song, Garvey, Natsumeda, Nolan and the instant application are analogous art because they are all directed to input data processing.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Song, Garvey, and Natsumeda with Nolan in order to increase the systems interpretability. “The variance rate of change model 430 is used to acquire insight into the topology of the variance data 416 and/or to help illustrate different degrees of transient behavior(s) associated with an environment or system under test/analysis” (Nolan, [0067]).
Conclusion
/STEVEN PHUNG/Examiner, Art Unit 2125
/KAMRAN AFSHAR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2125