DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1--20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s argument regarding the 101 rejections are not persuasive. Example 48 is not analogous to claims 1-20. Example 48 relates to speech analysis, not image analysis. Example 48 is significantly more complex than the instant claims. See analysis (2024 Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance 48-Speech Separation (BitLaw)) https://www.bitlaw.com/source/pto/examples/48.html.
Claim 1: generat[ing] a binary image ... based on a comparison of individual pixels of a heatmap ... to a threshold" is nothing more than a repeated numerical comparison operation(a mathematical calculation) (MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(I)). Detect … a text contour corresponding to boundaries .. that includes text. Is directed to a mental process.
Example 47 is similarly not analogous. Example 47 relates to improved network security
Claim 18 : detecting a text contour …; performing character recognition …; classifying the text contour ..; and determining the blockage exists.. are all directed to a mental process; The sending a control signal …; is directed to post-solution activity.
Claim 19: detect a text contour …; and generate a representation are directed to a mental process; apply a mask … is directed to well-understood, routine and conventional step recited at a high level of generality.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 18 recites “determining that a blockage exists at an interconnect of the interconnections; and sending a control signal to one or more other devices to re-route traffic through the interconnections based on the blockage.”, which is somewhat supported by paragraph 55
Whlie there is disclosure of something/someone analyzing in real-time output data by detecting blockages in interconnections and rerouting traffic from one node to another. There is no disclosure that it is the device recited in claim 18. Additionally, there is no disclosure of any control signal to one or more other devices. Furthermore the specification recites reroute traffic from one node to another, while the claim says reroute traffic though the interconnections based on the blockage. See Fig. 6-8
Claim 18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 18 recites “an interconnect”. It is unclear if this is shorthand for “interconnection” or if this is a part/component of the interconnection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1- 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an without significantly more. The limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover mental process (concept performed in a human mind, including as observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion). The claims recite a method of processing an image to detect nodes and interconnections thereof. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the steps do not add meaningful limitations to be considered specifically applied to a particular technological problem to be solved. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the steps of the claimed invention can be done mentally and no additional features in the claims would preclude them from being performed as such.
According to the USPTO guidelines, a claim is directed to non-statutory subject matter if:
STEP 1: the claim does not fall within one of the four statutory categories of invention (process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter), or
STEP 2: the claim recites a judicial exception, e.g., an abstract idea, without reciting additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, as determined using the following analysis:
STEP 2A (PRONG 1): Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
STEP 2A (PRONG 2): Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
STEP 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
Using the two-step inquiry, it is clear that claims directed to an abstract idea as shown below:
STEP 1: Do the claims fall within one of the statutory categories?
YES. Claim 1 is directed to an apparatus, i.e., a machine, claim 18 is directed to a method, i.e., process, and claim 19 is directed to a CRM, i.e., manufacture.
STEP 2A (PRONG 1): Is the claim directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon or an abstract idea?
YES, the claims are directed toward a mental process (i.e., abstract idea).
With regard to STEP 2A (PRONG 1), the guidelines provide three groupings of subject matter that are considered abstract ideas:
Mathematical concepts – mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations;
Certain methods of organizing human activity – fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk); commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations); managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions); and
Mental processes – concepts that are practicably performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion).
The method in claim 18 comprise a mental process that can be practicably performed in the human mind therefore, an abstract idea.
Claim 18 recites:
accessing, at a device, an image representing geospatial data of a geographical region (adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, e.g., mere data gathering in conjunction with a law of nature or abstract idea);
processingmental process as an abstract idea);
processingusing a pen and graph paper, (e.g., add, delete, scale, rotate, change, update, etc.)) as a mental process as an abstract idea); and
generating, based on the polygons and the lines, output data indicating the plurality of nodes and interconnections between at least some of the plurality of nodes (adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, e.g., mere data gathering in conjunction with a law of nature or abstract idea).
These limitations, as drafted, is a simple process that, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations in the mind or by a human. The Examiner notes that under MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III), the courts consider a mental process (thinking) that “can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper" to be an abstract idea. CyberSource Corp. v. Retail Decisions, Inc., 654 F.3d 1366, 1372, 99 USPQ2d 1690, 1695 (Fed. Cir. 2011). As the Federal Circuit explained, "methods which can be performed mentally, or which are the equivalent of human mental work, are unpatentable abstract ideas the ‘basic tools of scientific and technological work’ that are open to all.’" 654 F.3d at 1371, 99 USPQ2d at 1694 (citing Gottschalk v. Benson, 409 U.S. 63, 175 USPQ 673 (1972)). See also Mayo Collaborative Servs. v. Prometheus Labs. Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 71, 101 USPQ2d 1961, 1965 ("‘[M]ental processes[] and abstract intellectual concepts are not patentable, as they are the basic tools of scientific and technological work’" (quoting Benson, 409 U.S. at 67, 175 USPQ at 675)); Parker v. Flook, 437 U.S. 584, 589, 198 USPQ 193, 197 (1978) (same).
The courts do not distinguish between mental processes that are performed entirely in the human mind and mental processes that require a human to use a physical aid (e.g., pen and paper or a slide rule) to perform the claim limitation. See, e.g., Benson, 409 U.S. at 67, 65, 175 USPQ at 674-75, 674 (noting that the claimed "conversion of [binary-coded decimal] numerals to pure binary numerals can be done mentally," i.e., "as a person would do it by head and hand."); Synopsys, Inc. v. Mentor Graphics Corp., 839 F.3d 1138, 1139, 120 USPQ2d 1473, 1474 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (holding that claims to a mental process of "translating a functional description of a logic circuit into a hardware component description of the logic circuit" are directed to an abstract idea, because the claims "read on an individual performing the claimed steps mentally or with pencil and paper").
Nor do the courts distinguish between claims that recite mental processes performed by humans and claims that recite mental processes performed on a computer. As the Federal Circuit has explained, "[c]ourts have examined claims that required the use of a computer and still found that the underlying, patent-ineligible invention could be performed via pen and paper or in a person’s mind." Versata Dev. Group v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1335, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1702 (Fed. Cir. 2015). See also Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Symantec Corp., 838 F.3d 1307, 1318, 120 USPQ2d 1353, 1360 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (‘‘[W]ith the exception of generic computer-implemented steps, there is nothing in the claims themselves that foreclose them from being performed by a human, mentally or with pen and paper.’’); Mortgage Grader, Inc. v. First Choice Loan Servs. Inc., 811 F.3d 1314, 1324, 117 USPQ2d 1693, 1699 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (holding that computer-implemented method for "anonymous loan shopping" was an abstract idea because it could be "performed by humans without a computer").
Because both product and process claims may recite a "mental process", the phrase "mental processes" should be understood as referring to the type of abstract idea, and not to the statutory category of the claim. The courts have identified numerous product claims as reciting mental process-type abstract ideas, for instance the product claims to computer systems and computer-readable media in Versata Dev. Group. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 115 USPQ2d 1681 (Fed. Cir. 2015).
As such, a person can process and analyze an image to detect nodes and interconnections thereof, either mentally or using a pen and paper. The mere nominal recitation that the various steps are being executed at a device/in a device (e.g. processing unit) does not take the limitations out of the mental process grouping. Thus, the claims recite a mental process.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of a mental step which could be performed with a simple tool such as a pen and paper, then it falls within the “mental steps” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
STEP 2A (PRONG 2): Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
NO, the claims do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
With regard to STEP 2A (prong 2), whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, the guidelines provide the following exemplary considerations that are indicative that an additional element (or combination of elements) may have integrated the judicial exception into a practical application:
an additional element reflects an improvement in the functioning of a computer, or an improvement to other technology or technical field;
an additional element that applies or uses a judicial exception to affect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition;
an additional element implements a judicial exception with, or uses a judicial exception in conjunction with, a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim;
an additional element effects a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing; and
an additional element applies or uses the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
While the guidelines further state that the exemplary considerations are not an exhaustive list and that there may be other examples of integrating the exception into a practical application, the guidelines also list examples in which a judicial exception has not been integrated into a practical application:
an additional element merely recites the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely includes instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea;
an additional element adds insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception; and
an additional element does no more than generally link the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use.
Claims 1- 20 do not recite any of the exemplary considerations that are indicative of an abstract idea having been integrated into a practical application.
Claim 18 recites the further limitations of:
computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to (instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea).
claims 1, 18 and 19 recite:
accessinginsignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, e.g., mere data gathering in conjunction with a law of nature or abstract idea);
generating, based on the polygons and the lines, output data indicating the plurality of nodes and interconnections between at least some of the plurality of nodes (adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, e.g., mere data gathering in conjunction with a law of nature or abstract idea).
claim 18 recites:
a device.
The “device” is disclosed in paragraph [0042] of the specification as “FIG. 1 illustrates an example of a system 100 that is configured to perform geospatial image data processing to detect nodes and interconnections. The system 100 can be implemented as or incorporated into one or more of various other devices, such as a personal computer (PC), a tablet PC, a server computer, a cloud-based computing system, a control system, an internet of things device, a personal digital assistant (PDA), a laptop computer, a desktop computer, a communications device, a wireless telephone, or any other machine capable of executing a set of instructions (sequential or otherwise) that specify actions to be taken by that machine. Further, while a single system 100 is illustrated, the term “system” includes any collection of systems or sub-systems that individually or jointly execute a set, or multiple sets, of instructions to perform one or more computer functions”.
MPEP 2106.05(a)(1) states:
It is important to note that in order for a method claim to improve computer functionality, the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim must be limited to computer implementation. That is, a claim whose entire scope can be performed mentally, cannot be said to improve computer technology. Synopsys, Inc. v. Mentor Graphics Corp., 839 F.3d 1138, 120 USPQ2d 1473 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (a method of translating a logic circuit into a hardware component description of a logic circuit was found to be ineligible because the method did not employ a computer and a skilled artisan could perform all the steps mentally). Similarly, a claimed process covering embodiments that can be performed on a computer, as well as embodiments that can be practiced verbally or with a telephone, cannot improve computer technology. See RecogniCorp, LLC v. Nintendo Co., 855 F.3d 1322, 1328, 122 USPQ2d 1377, 1381 (Fed. Cir. 2017) (process for encoding/decoding facial data using image codes assigned to particular facial features held ineligible because the process did not require a computer).
Accordingly, the “device” is merely is a generic computer to implement an otherwise mental process as an abstract idea.
These limitations are recited at a high level of generality (i.e. as a general action or change being taken based on the results of the acquiring step) and amounts to mere post solution actions, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. Further, the claims are claimed generically and are operating in their ordinary capacity such that they do not use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
STEP 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
With regard to STEP 2B, whether the claims recite additional elements that provide significantly more than the recited judicial exception, the guidelines specify that the pre-guideline procedure is still in effect. Specifically, that examiners should continue to consider whether an additional element or combination of elements:
adds a specific limitation or combination of limitations that are not well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field, which is indicative that an inventive concept may be present; or
simply appends well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception, which is indicative that an inventive concept may not be present.
With regard to (2b) the Guidance provided the following examples of limitations that may be enough to qualify as “significantly more" when recited in a claim with a judicial exception:
Improvement to another technology or technical field
Improvement to functioning of computer itself and/or applying the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine
Effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing.
Adding a specific limitation other that what is well understood, routine and conventional in the field, or adding unconventional steps that confine the claim to a particular useful application
Meaningful limitation beyond generally linking the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment.
The Guidance further set forth limitations that were found not to be enough to qualify as “significantly more” when recited in a claim with a judicial exception include:
Adding words to “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception or mere instructions to implement abstract ideas on a computer
Simply appending well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known to the industry specified at a high level of generality to the judicial exception, e.g. a claim to an abstract idea requiring no more than a generic
Computer to perform generic computer functions that are well -understood, routine and conventional activities previously known to the industry.
Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, e.g. mere data gathering in conjunction with a law of nature or abstract idea
Generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use.
Claims 1- 20 do not recite any additional elements that are not well-understood, routine or conventional.
claims 1, 18 and 19 recite:
accessinginsignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, e.g., mere data gathering in conjunction with a law of nature or abstract idea);
generating, based on the polygons and the lines, output data indicating the plurality of nodes and interconnections between at least some of the plurality of nodes (adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, e.g., mere data gathering in conjunction with a law of nature or abstract idea).
claim 18 recites:
a device.
The “device” is disclosed in paragraph [0042] of the specification as “FIG. 1 illustrates an example of a system 100 that is configured to perform geospatial image data processing to detect nodes and interconnections. The system 100 can be implemented as or incorporated into one or more of various other devices, such as a personal computer (PC), a tablet PC, a server computer, a cloud-based computing system, a control system, an internet of things device, a personal digital assistant (PDA), a laptop computer, a desktop computer, a communications device, a wireless telephone, or any other machine capable of executing a set of instructions (sequential or otherwise) that specify actions to be taken by that machine. Further, while a single system 100 is illustrated, the term “system” includes any collection of systems or sub-systems that individually or jointly execute a set, or multiple sets, of instructions to perform one or more computer functions”.
MPEP 2106.05(a)(1) states:
It is important to note that in order for a method claim to improve computer functionality, the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim must be limited to computer implementation. That is, a claim whose entire scope can be performed mentally, cannot be said to improve computer technology. Synopsys, Inc. v. Mentor Graphics Corp., 839 F.3d 1138, 120 USPQ2d 1473 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (a method of translating a logic circuit into a hardware component description of a logic circuit was found to be ineligible because the method did not employ a computer and a skilled artisan could perform all the steps mentally). Similarly, a claimed process covering embodiments that can be performed on a computer, as well as embodiments that can be practiced verbally or with a telephone, cannot improve computer technology. See RecogniCorp, LLC v. Nintendo Co., 855 F.3d 1322, 1328, 122 USPQ2d 1377, 1381 (Fed. Cir. 2017) (process for encoding/decoding facial data using image codes assigned to particular facial features held ineligible because the process did not require a computer).
Accordingly, the “device” is merely is a generic computer to implement an otherwise mental process as an abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The above identified additional computer components, using instructions to apply the judicial exception, are merely generic computer components that are well-known, routine, and conventional as is evidenced by Bancorp Services v. Sun Life (Fed. Cir. 2012) and Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank (2014).
The processing of geospatial image data to detect nodes and interconnections thereof is further well-known, routine, and conventional as is evidenced as follows:
Paragraph [0140] of 2021/ 0383529 discloses “Operation AI. Create contacts mask (e.g. as shown in FIG. 5a) which, e.g. based on conventional Segmentation algorithm, may detect a bright area in the image and may decide which bright areas are contact areas, and which are lines based on geometry. A suitable segmentation algorithm, which uses image processing techniques to identify steps in a SEM image is described in Ja. Vainberg, “Application of Markov chains to the problem of separation of Hole sections”, Geologiya I Geofizika—Russian Geology and Geophysics, 1980 (2), p. 94”.
Paragraph [0006] of 2017/ 0184396 discloses “There is known another conventional device to detect a curvature of the road on the basis of the front scene image of the road captured by the in-vehicle monocular camera. This conventional device detects a shape of a lane boundary line on the basis of edge points extracted from the captured front scene image, and detect the curvature of the road on the basis of the detected shape of the lane boundary line”.
Paragraph [0071] of 2007/ 0285728 discloses “To obviate the problems given above, in the present embodiment, the defect inspection apparatus is constructed by employing an image detecting unit that detects an image of an oblique area. Herein, "detecting the image of the oblique area" connotes detecting the image by scanning an area including two oblique lines of a trapezoidal shape in a heightwise direction of the trapezoid (in the direction orthogonal to an upper base and a lower base) in place of the inspection area taking the rectangular (striped) shape as in the conventional inspection area”.
Paragraph [0110] of 2007/ 0025723 discloses “Conventional feature-based methods typically begin by establishing correspondences between points, lines or other geometric entities detected in the image. For example, a typical feature-based approach would be to extract Harris corners and use a normalized cross-correlation of the local intensity values to match them.
Thus, since Claims 1, and 18- 19 are: (a) directed toward an abstract idea, (b) do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, and (c) do not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, claims 1 and 18- 19 are not eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C 101. Similar analysis is made for the dependent claims 2- 17 and 20 and the dependent claims are similarly identified as: being directed towards an abstract idea, not reciting additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, and not reciting additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 16-17, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable byi Mays (US PAP 2010/ 0299065) in view of Myers (7031553)
As per claims 1, Mays teaches a CRM with instructions see for example [129];
accessing, at a device, an image representing geospatial data of a geographical region (i.e., images of the layouts may include images of a real-world building floor plan, a parking lot, a park, an indoor or outdoor recreation area, and/or other interior and exterior area plans) see for example [0028] and fig. 1;
processing, at the device, the image to detect polygons, each polygon of the polygons representing a respective node of a plurality of nodes of the geographical region (i.e., plurality of reference image objects are identified or determined in the image, such as the image 201, which may be a raster image or a vector graphics image) see for example [0068] and fig. 2;
processing, at the device, the image to detect lines, a particular line of the lines representing a particular interconnection between a particular node of the plurality of nodes and one or more other nodes of the plurality of nodes (i.e., connection point 405 represents or acts as a link to another map, such an open area map that is routable, for routing and navigation purposes. For example, the connection point 405 may correspond to one or more elevators, a stairwell, an escalator, a ladder, or other feature for moving a person to another floor or area. A plurality of connection points 405 may correspond to respective individual elevators or features. In one embodiment, the connection point 405 is used to route between an area or point from the image 201 to another point or area on another map or floor plan, such as another map or floor plan representing another floor of the building (e.g., a second floor, a third floor, or Nth floor). Alternatively, the connection point 405 may represent a connection for moving or transferring a person from one point to another point on the same floor or ground area. For example, the connection point 405 may correspond to a moving walkway or other transportation device. Also, the connection point 405 may represent a connection to another routable open area map associated with the same level or area. For example, in one open area map, a route may be generated to an area that is represented by a blank, unspecific, or general polygon or shape that represents a reference area, such as a food court. A connection point can be placed at, by, or on the general polygon that represents the reference area in which the connection point corresponds to or directs one to another routable open area map that has detailed features and/or reference regions within the original reference area (e.g., the food court)) see for example [0050]; and
generating, based on the polygons and the lines, output data indicating the plurality of nodes and interconnections between at least some of the plurality of nodes (i.e., connection points and displays thereof) see for example [0050]. [0057] discloses “a path 605 (FIG. 6) is generated based on the calculation. The path 605 is displayed for the user to view and follow. The path 605 shows a path that starts from the origin point 609 in the office, passes the conference room, and uses the elevators via a connection point 613, such as the connection 405. Then the open area map 700 shows a path 704 (FIG. 7) that starts from elevators at a connection point 708 and leads to the gym at the destination point 712”; see Figures 6 and 7 (reproduced below).
Mays discloses (paragraph 55) extracting names or descriptions (text) but doesn’t expressly disclose how to accomplish this, in particular does not expressly disclose “generate a binary image associated with a portion of the image based on a comparison of individual pixels of a heatmap associated with the portion of the image to a threshold; and detect, based on the binary image, a text contour corresponding to boundaries of an area of the image that includes text.”
Myers discloses “generate a binary image associated with a portion of the image based on a comparison of individual pixels of a heatmap associated with the portion of the image to a threshold; and detect, based on the binary image, a text contour corresponding to boundaries of an area of the image that includes text.” (Myers, Step 220, Fig. 2; col. 4 lines 1-29 “(22) In step 220, method 200 detects, locates, and tracks text regions within the captured imagery. More specifically, method 200 approaches text detection and location with the assumption that the text is roughly horizontal, and that the characters have a minimum contrast level compared with the image background. The text may be of either polarity (light text on a dark background, or dark text on a light background). The method first detects vertically oriented edge transitions in the gray-scale image, using a local neighborhood edge operator. The output of the operator is thresholded to form two binary images, one for dark-to-light transitions (B1), and the other for light-to-dark transitions (B2). A connected components algorithm is applied on each binary image. The connected components that have been determined (by examining their height and area) not due to text are eliminated. The remaining connected components are linked to form lines of text by searching the areas to the left and right of each connected component for additional connected components that are compatible in size and relative position. Finally, a rectangle is fitted to each line of detected text or a group of lines of text using the moments of all connected components used to locate the text. Tracking text over multiple consecutive video frames is achieved by computing the frame-to-frame displacement of the pixels in a set of local neighborhoods, or finding and following distinctive shape features, such as the ends of character strokes, and then computing a geometric transformation that characterizes the frame-to-frame displacement of corresponding text regions”; where B1 & B2 are generated by thresholding a vertically oriented edge transitions(heatmap); based on the binary images a text contour is generated using connected components)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention of the instant application to modify Mays by determining the boundaries of text regions in a map.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been Mays discloses that the text regions must be extracted but fails to disclose how to extract them. Myers shows an algorithm on how to extract them.
Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Mays with Myers to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
As per claim 16, Mays in view of Myers teaches determine geographical coordinates of the particular node based on pixel coordinates of a corresponding polygon of the polygons and geographical coordinate data of the image (i.e., path segment, node, POI, and/or other records may be associated with attributes, such as geographic coordinates (such as latitude, longitude, and/or altitude or other coordinates), other positioning information (such as local or indoor positioning data), street or path names or location or structure names, address ranges, speed limits, other speed or time information (such as average traverse time), turn restrictions (such as at intersections), other restrictions, and other navigation related attributes) see for example [109].
As per claim 17, Mays in view of Myers teaches determine geographical coordinates of the particular interconnection based on pixel coordinates of the particular line and geographical coordinate data of the image (i.e., path segment, node, POI, and/or other records may be associated with attributes, such as geographic coordinates (such as latitude, longitude, and/or altitude or other coordinates), other positioning information (such as local or indoor positioning data), street or path names or location or structure names, address ranges, speed limits, other speed or time information (such as average traverse time), turn restrictions (such as at intersections), other restrictions, and other navigation related attributes) see for example [109].
As per claims 19, Mays teaches a CRM with instructions see for example [129];
accessing, at a device, an image representing geospatial data of a geographical region (i.e., images of the layouts may include images of a real-world building floor plan, a parking lot, a park, an indoor or outdoor recreation area, and/or other interior and exterior area plans) see for example [0028] and fig. 1;
processing, at the device, the image to detect polygons, each polygon of the polygons representing a respective node of a plurality of nodes of the geographical region (i.e., plurality of reference image objects are identified or determined in the image, such as the image 201, which may be a raster image or a vector graphics image) see for example [0068] and fig. 2;
processing, at the device, the image to detect lines, a particular line of the lines representing a particular interconnection between a particular node of the plurality of nodes and one or more other nodes of the plurality of nodes (i.e., connection point 405 represents or acts as a link to another map, such an open area map that is routable, for routing and navigation purposes. For example, the connection point 405 may correspond to one or more elevators, a stairwell, an escalator, a ladder, or other feature for moving a person to another floor or area. A plurality of connection points 405 may correspond to respective individual elevators or features. In one embodiment, the connection point 405 is used to route between an area or point from the image 201 to another point or area on another map or floor plan, such as another map or floor plan representing another floor of the building (e.g., a second floor, a third floor, or Nth floor). Alternatively, the connection point 405 may represent a connection for moving or transferring a person from one point to another point on the same floor or ground area. For example, the connection point 405 may correspond to a moving walkway or other transportation device. Also, the connection point 405 may represent a connection to another routable open area map associated with the same level or area. For example, in one open area map, a route may be generated to an area that is represented by a blank, unspecific, or general polygon or shape that represents a reference area, such as a food court. A connection point can be placed at, by, or on the general polygon that represents the reference area in which the connection point corresponds to or directs one to another routable open area map that has detailed features and/or reference regions within the original reference area (e.g., the food court)) see for example [0050]; and
generating, based on the polygons and the lines, output data indicating the plurality of nodes and interconnections between at least some of the plurality of nodes (i.e., connection points and displays thereof) see for example [0050]. [0057] discloses “a path 605 (FIG. 6) is generated based on the calculation. The path 605 is displayed for the user to view and follow. The path 605 shows a path that starts from the origin point 609 in the office, passes the conference room, and uses the elevators via a connection point 613, such as the connection 405. Then the open area map 700 shows a path 704 (FIG. 7) that starts from elevators at a connection point 708 and leads to the gym at the destination point 712”; see Figures 6 and 7 (reproduced below).
Mays discloses (paragraph 55) extracting names or descriptions (text) but doesn’t expressly disclose how to accomplish this, in particular does not expressly disclose “ detect a text contour corresponding to boundaries of an area of the image that includes text; apply a mask to the image to extract pixels corresponding to the text, the mask based on the text contour; and generate a representation of the pixels based on the extracted pixels..”
Myers discloses “ detect a text contour corresponding to boundaries of an area of the image that includes text; apply a mask to the image to extract pixels corresponding to the text, the mask based on the text contour; and generate a representation of the pixels based on the extracted pixels.” (Myers, Step 220, Fig. 2; col. 4 lines 1-29 “(22) In step 220, method 200 detects, locates, and tracks text regions within the captured imagery. More specifically, method 200 approaches text detection and location with the assumption that the text is roughly horizontal, and that the characters have a minimum contrast level compared with the image background. The text may be of either polarity (light text on a dark background, or dark text on a light background). The method first detects vertically oriented edge transitions in the gray-scale image, using a local neighborhood edge operator. The output of the operator is thresholded to form two binary images, one for dark-to-light transitions (B1), and the other for light-to-dark transitions (B2). A connected components algorithm is applied on each binary image. The connected components that have been determined (by examining their height and area) not due to text are eliminated. The remaining connected components are linked to form lines of text by searching the areas to the left and right of each connected component for additional connected components that are compatible in size and relative position. Finally, a rectangle is fitted to each line of detected text or a group of lines of text using the moments of all connected components used to locate the text. Tracking text over multiple consecutive video frames is achieved by computing the frame-to-frame displacement of the pixels in a set of local neighborhoods, or finding and following distinctive shape features, such as the ends of character strokes, and then computing a geometric transformation that characterizes the frame-to-frame displacement of corresponding text regions”; a text contour is generated using connected componentse; Fig. 2 Step 240; col. 4 lines 42-48 “In step 240, method 200 binarizes the detected text regions. Binarization is performed on each text line independently. It is assumed that the text pixels are relatively homogeneous, and that the intensity of the background pixels may be highly variable. For each text line, the polarity of text is first determined, and then binarization of the text line is performed.”; where a binary mask is applied; Fig. 2 Step 250; where the binarized text is input into an OCR algorithm which generates a text output (representation))
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention of the instant application to modify Mays by determining the boundaries of text regions in a map.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been Mays discloses that the text regions must be extracted but fails to disclose how to extract them. Myers shows an algorithm on how to extract them.
Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Mays with Myers to obtain the invention as specified in claim 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2- 3 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mays in view of Myers in view of Kann et al (US PAP 2022/ 0195707), “Kann”.
As per claims 2 and 20, Mays in view of Myers teaches “layouts may represent an unorganized or unconstrained geographic area. For example, the layout is an area in which a pedestrian is not limited to travel only on a set road or path network. Rather, the pedestrian may walk through public plazas, parks, buildings, corridors, lobbies, or hallways having no associated road or path network or pattern” see for example [0027]. Mays does not explicitly teach the plurality of nodes represent buildings, and the interconnections represent utility lines.
However, Kann teaches the plurality of nodes represent buildings, and the interconnections represent utility lines (i.e., abnormality is reported from two or more such node devices (e.g., node devices associated with homes H8 and H9, and/or building 920 (B1) and/or other water quality measurements sensors that may be implemented along the associated water supply line) with a known or determined relationship (e.g., within a predetermined proximity of each other and/or along the same service line, etc.)) see for example [0049] and fig. 9 (reproduced below).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Kann into Mays such that an abnormality reported from such a sensor from any single node may indicate a water or gas leak at the associated device (in this case, a single gas or water meter) or along the supply line leading to the device. However, if this type of abnormality is reported from two or more such devices (e.g., from devices associated with H1, H2, H3, H5, H6, H10, H11, and/or F1) with a known or determined relationship (e.g., within a predetermined proximity of each other and/or along the same service line, etc.) and/or within a predetermined small timeframe (e.g., within minutes, seconds, or simultaneously), the aggregation of this data as analyzed could instead indicate damage to a main supply line leading to those nodes, or may indicate a more catastrophic event such as an earthquake or explosion that caused damage to water or gas pipelines or the meters themselves and therefore take appropriate actions, such as, if the nodes are utility nodes, sending signals to turn off affected nodes (to protect the node devices) and/or to shut off gas/water/electricity supplied to the sites (e.g., affected homes or businesses), or along their service lines (e.g., at valves, transformers, etc.), if leaving them on would be dangerous or a matter of public safety, thus preventing major loss of service and/ or catastrophic failures as an state of the art technology see for example [002, 28 and 30].
As per claim 3, Kann teaches the plurality of nodes represent buildings, and the interconnections represent roads (i.e., water supply line near junctions 1 and 2 along road 3 and the contamination levels in the water may be detected at or near home 938 (H4) (e.g., where a node (e.g., a water meter) associated with home H4) see for example [0049].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4- 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 USC 112 1st paragraph.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GANDHI THIRUGNANAM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2672