Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 a1 as being anticipated by Westenberger ( 20050224514 ) . Regarding claim 1, Westenberger , Fig. 2, discloses a liquid hydrogen storage system comprising: a hydrogen tank 1 that stores liquid hydrogen in a vehicle (Para 2) ; a first channel 7-56 that communicates between the hydrogen tank and the outside of the vehicle; a reaction section 54 that causes hydrogen gas flowing through the first channel to react with oxygen for conversion into water (Para 47) and then discharges water to the outside of the vehicle through the first channel; and a first safety valve 5 that is provided between the hydrogen tank and the reaction section, and is opened at the time when an internal tank pressure as an internal pressure of the hydrogen tank exceeds a first open reference value (p2, Para 43) , so as to discharge the hydrogen gas in the hydrogen tank to the reaction section . Claim(s) 1, 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 a1 as being anticipated by Hermann et al ( DE 10297661 T5 ) . Regarding claim 1, Hermann , Fig. 3 discloses a liquid hydrogen (translation page 3 Para 3, page 1 para 3) storage system comprising: a hydrogen tank 2 that stores liquid hydrogen in a vehicle; a first channel 12 that communicates between the hydrogen tank and the outside of the vehicle; a reaction section 10 that causes hydrogen gas flowing through the first channel to react with oxygen for conversion into water and then discharges water (at 46,48) to the outside of the vehicle through the first channel; and a first safety valve 8 that is provided between the hydrogen tank and the reaction section, and is opened at the time when an internal tank pressure as an internal pressure of the hydrogen tank exceeds a first open reference value (translation page 3 para 7) , so as to discharge the hydrogen gas in the hydrogen tank to the reaction section . As to claim 2, the valve 8 is spring biased ((translation page 3 para 7) and as such will close when pressure is below opening pressure. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. Claim (s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Westenberger ( 20050224514 ) in view of Kami ( 20020092562 ) . As to claim 3, Westenberger shows a second channel 7-53 that communicates between the hydrogen tank and the outside of the vehicle; and a second safety valve 4 that is provided in an intermediate portion of the second channel, and is opened at the time when the internal tank pressure exceeds a second open reference value P2 , so as to discharge the hydrogen gas in the hydrogen tank to the outside of the vehicle via the second channel, wherein the second channel directs the hydrogen gas via a route (relief passages on top of tank) that avoids a high-temperature area (engine 78) in the vehicle , and discharges the hydrogen gas in a gaseous state as is to the outside of the vehicle, and the second open reference value p3 is higher than the first open reference value p2 (Para 43) . Westenberger fails to disclose exhaust channels 7-53 directing exhaust to upper or rear portion of vehicle. Kami teaches storage tank 30 having exhaust channels 50,59 directing exhaust to rear portion of vehicle. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the system disclosed by Westenberger with exhaust channels directing exhaust to rear portion of vehicle as taught by Kami in order to dispose of unwanted exhaust away from the vehicle . Claim (s) 4 , 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Westenberger ( 20050224514 ) in view of Kami ( 20020092562 ), further in view of Hermann et al ( DE 10297661 T5 ) . As to claim 4, Westenberger discloses fails to disclose the second valve 4 as a self-closing valve closing upon pressure below opening pressure. Hermann, Fig. 3 discloses a liquid hydrogen (translation page 3 Para 3, page 1 para 3) storage system comprising: a hydrogen tank 2 that stores liquid hydrogen in a vehicle; a first channel 12 that communicates between the hydrogen tank and the outside of the vehicle; a reaction section 10 that causes hydrogen gas flowing through the first channel to react with oxygen for conversion into water and then discharges water (at 46,48) to the outside of the vehicle through the first channel; and a first safety valve 8 that is provided between the hydrogen tank and the reaction section, and is opened at the time when an internal tank pressure as an internal pressure of the hydrogen tank exceeds a first open reference value (translation page 3 para 7) , so as to discharge the hydrogen gas in the hydrogen tank to the reaction section . The valve 8 is spring biased ((translation page 3 para 7) and as such will close when pressure is below opening pressure It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the system disclosed by Westenberger with second valve as a self-closing valve closing upon pressure below opening pressure as taught by Hermann in order to close relief passage upon normal pressure . As to claim 5, Westenberger discloses fails to disclose the alarm at opening of second relief valve. However, Official Notice is taken that providing an alarm, for the purpose of alerting the user upon relief valve opening are widely known and notoriously old in the art. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to employ an alarm at opening of relief valves in the device of Westenberger for the purpose of alerting the user upon relief valve opening as is widely known and notoriously old in the art. Claim (s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Westenberger ( 20050224514 ) in view of Kami ( 20020092562 ), further in view of Westenberger et al ( 20100170907 , hereinafter W0907 ) . As to claim 6 , Westenberger shows third channel 8-55 that communicates between the hydrogen tank and the outside of the vehicle; and a valve closure member 6 that is provided in an intermediate portion of the third channel to prohibit the hydrogen gas from flowing therethrough, the closure member being opened at the time when the internal pressure of the hydrogen tank exceeds a third reference value p4 that is higher than the second open reference value (Para 43) , so as to allow the hydrogen gas to flow therethrough, wherein the third channel directs the hydrogen gas via the route that avoids the high-temperature area in the vehicle (engine 78) , and discharges the hydrogen gas in the gaseous state as is to the outside of the vehicle . Westenberger fails to disclose the valve member 6 as a burst disc closure. W0907 teaches a similar device with relief valve 6 formed as a burst disc closure (Para 50). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the system disclosed by Westenberger with burst disc closure relief valve as taught by W0907 as an art- recognized functionally equivalent substitute relief valve mechanism yielding predictable results of opening upon specific abnormal conditions . As to claim 7, Westenberger shows that the first channel, the second channel, and the third channel (at 7 and 8) extends toward the outside of the vehicle from vicinity of an upper end of the hydrogen tank 1 in a direction of gravity . Claim (s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Westenberger ( 20050224514 ) in view of Seba et al ( 20210372350 ) . Westenberger fails to disclose a pump for conveying liquid hydrogen outside of tank. Seba disclose a pump 7 for conveying liquid hydrogen outside of tank (Para 42). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the system disclosed by Westenberger with pump for conveying liquid hydrogen outside of tank as taught by Seba in order to provide fluid to consumer . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Atif Chaudry at phone number 571-270-3768. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday (9:30AM-6:00PM EST). If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisors can be reached by phone. Kenneth Rinehart can be reached at 571-272- 4881, or Craig Schneider can be reached at 571-272-3607 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ATIF H CHAUDRY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753