DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 43 – defined as an airway. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the features of claim 20 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species-(c) (Figure 6) – indicating that the elected species encompasses claims 1-20 – is acknowledged. Upon review of the restriction requirement mailed 1-14-26, the instant specification and claims, and the state of the prior art: the application is not considered to include patentably distinct species among Figures 4, 5, 6, 7, and 8. The restriction requirement is withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claims 6 and 9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
●claim 6, “the” should be inserted after “in” (Ln1)
●claim 9, “the” should be inserted after “in” (Ln3).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
the claim limitation uses the term “means” or “step” or a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function;
the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (e.g., “means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or “so that”; and
the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
●heating body claims 1, 19, 20
●electrical component claim 20
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention.
Claims 3-7, 9, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 is considered to be indefinite in that it is unclear what is intended by the phrase “actually vaporized” (Ln2). Specifically, does this refer to the amount of liquid vaporized or some other amount? The instant specification does not elaborate upon the phrase such that one cannot determine the scope of the claim.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the vaporization liquid" (Lns1-2). There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the vaporization liquid" (Lns3-4). There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 20 recites the limitation “electrical component” which invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The written description does not define what is encompassed under “electrical component. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a
limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites
what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the
structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly
recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which
are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Also for claim 20, the claim and the instant specification do not clearly define what constitutes an electrical component and does not clearly set for the relationship between the electrical component and the heating body so as to be able to supply power to the heating body.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jeong (US 2022/0132925 A1).
Claims 1 and 10-18: Jeong teaches a vaporization core for an e-cigarette which vaporizes a stored aerosol-generating material (¶2 ¶53 Abstract), the vaporization core comprising
●liquid porous guide body 15 having a rectangular parallelepiped shape (¶60; ¶103
Lns13-15; see portion of Figure 1 annotated below) comprising
►a first side surface (top surface of liquid guide body 15 facing liquid storage
tank 13) (¶60)
●at least a part of the first side surface forming a liquid absorbingregion (¶63 ¶64)
►a second side surface (bottom surface of liquid guide body 15 facing lower
case 17) (¶60)
●arranged opposite to the first side surface (Fig1)
●at least a part of the second side surface forming a vaporization
region (comprising at least heating body 16 and open space thereabout) (¶63 ¶64 ¶73)
►a liquid guide portion which stores liquid in use (liquid storage portion; of same
material: ceramic ¶88 (i.e. beads); of equal area) (see portion of Figure 1
annotated below)
●being a part of the liquid guide body 15 between the first side
surface and a position obtained by translating the first side surface to the second side surface
●heating body 16 (¶63 ¶64 ¶73)
●arranged at the vaporization region of the second side surface
(¶63 ¶64 ¶73)
●is a heating circuit pattern 161 (¶74) (claim 15: “printed” refers to
how the heating body is formed and is not considered to be a structural limitation to the claimed structure (i.e. vaporization core)).
With respect to the claimed distance between the first side surface and the second side surface (i.e. height of the liquid guide portion being 1mm to 4mm), Jeong teaches the liquid guide portion has a rectangular parallelepiped shape with a height of 2mm (¶103 Lns13-15: “and the porous wick has a rectangular parallelepiped shape having a height of 2.0 mm, a width of 2.0 mm, and a length of 11 mm”) where 2mm is entirely encompassed by the claimed range of 1mm to 4mm. Also for claim 16: an orthographic projection area of the liquid guide portion would be equal to an orthographic projection area of the liquid storage portion within a plane perpendicular to a direction from the first side surface to the second side surface (see discussion of claim 1: a liquid guide portion which stores liquid in use (liquid storage portion)) – and such have a cuboid shape (Fig2 Fig6 Fig7). Also for claim 18: the vaporization core comprises vaporization core seal member (comprising at least wick housing 14), the vaporization core seal member being sleeved on the liquid guide body. The vaporization core seal member having a liquid flowing openings and the at least part of the first side surface is exposed from the liquid flowing openings to form the liquid absorbing region (¶s64-69 Fig1 Fig2). Other locations within reference may be included in the above recited locations (paragraphs, drawing, abstract, claims) to demonstrate further the features in the reference as claimed in the instant claims.
Claim 1, with respect to the claim limitation of “a liquid storage amount Q2 of the liquid guide portion being equal to 2.5 mt to 75 mg”, this limitation refers to an amount of aerosol-generating liquid. However, the claim does not recite that the vaporization core includes a liquid such that the limitation is not considered to be a structural limitation of the claimed structure (i.e. vaporization core). Also, the limitation refers to a feature that is present when the vaporization core is being used (intended use limitation) and not to a structural limitation of the claimed structure.
Claim 1, with respect to claimed heating body, because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. The instant specification teaches a structure for the heating body to perform the claimed function. Jeong teaches a structure for the heating body to perform the same claimed function. Jeong is thus considered to meet this limitation of the claim.
Claims 2-9: with respect to the claimed limitations, these limitations refer to an amount of aerosol-generating liquid and/or an amount of vaporized liquid and/or an inhalation time. However, the claims do not recite that the vaporization core includes a liquid such that the limitations are not considered to be structural limitations of the claimed structure (i.e. vaporization core). Also, the limitations refer to features present when the vaporization core is being used (intended use limitation) – not to structural limitations of the claimed structure.
Claim 19: Jeong teaches a cartridge, for an e-cigarette, comprising:
●the vaporization core for the e-cigarette according to claim 1 (see entire discussion of
claim 1 above)
►the liquid absorbing region of the first side surface being in communication with
liquid storage cavity 13
►the vaporization region of the second side surface being in communication with
vaporization cavity 13 by way of the vaporization core
●housing (comprising at least the walls of liquid storage cavity 13, u-shaped piece on
top in Figure 2, lower case 17) comprising
►liquid storage cavity 13
►airway 12
►having the vaporizing core inside
►a vaporization cavity (at least a part of the second side surface forming a
vaporization region – the vaporization region comprising at least heating body 16 and open space thereabout with the open space forming a vaporization cavity)
●being in communication with airway 12 by way of the vaporization core
●an air inlet in communication with the vaporization cavity (Fig1: where
bottom most arrow is located)
●an air outlet in communication with airway 12 (Fig1: second arrow from
bottom)
Other locations within reference may be included in the above recited locations (paragraphs, drawing, abstract, claims) to demonstrate further the features in the reference as claimed in the instant claims.
Claim 19, with respect to claimed heating body, because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. The instant specification teaches a structure for the heating body to perform the claimed function. Jeong teaches a structure for the heating body to perform the same claimed function. Jeong is thus considered to meet this limitation of the claim.
Claim 20: Jeong teaches an e-cigarette, comprising:
●the cartridge according to claim 19 (see entire discussion of claim 19 above) and
●a cigarette rod (¶56).
As discussed above under 35 U.S.C. 112(b): claim 20 and the instant specification do not clearly define what constitutes an electrical component and does not clearly set for the relationship between the electrical component and the heating body so as to be able to supply power to the heating body. Thus, as best understood – claim 20 requires an electrical component, as part of the e-cigarette, connected to the heating body and configured to supply power to the heating body. Jeong teaches one or more terminal electrically connected to a battery to power heating body 16 (¶35 ¶s74-75). Other locations within reference may be included in the above recited locations (paragraphs, drawing, abstract, claims) to demonstrate further the features in the reference as claimed in the instant claims.
Claim 20, with respect to claimed heating body, because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. The instant specification teaches a structure for the heating body to perform the claimed function. Jeong teaches a structure for the heating body to perform the same claimed function. Jeong is thus considered to meet this limitation of the claim.
Claim 20, with respect to claimed electrical component, because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Jeong teaches a structure for the electrical component to perform the claimed function. Jeong is thus considered to meet this limitation of the claim.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/344,884 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations of instant claims 1-20 are within the claims and/or claim combinations of the reference application. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/344,885 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations of instant claims 1-20 are within the claims and/or claim combinations of the reference application. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/820,314 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations of instant claims 1-20 are within the claims and/or claim combinations of the reference application. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/820,306 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations of instant claims 1-20 are within the claims and/or claim combinations of the reference application. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Prior Art of Record
The following prior art is made of record. Guo teaches an atomizing core having uniform porosity. Song teaches an atomizing core of porous ceramic.
Conclusion
/LINDA L GRAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745