DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species-(a) (Figure 4) – indicating that the elected species encompasses claims 1-12 and 14-20 – is acknowledged. Upon review of the restriction requirement mailed 1-14-26, the instant specification and claims, and the state of the prior art: the application is not considered to include patentably distinct species among Figures 4, 5, 6, 7, and 8. The restriction requirement is withdrawn.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the features of claim 20 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
the claim limitation uses the term “means” or “step” or a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function;
the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (e.g., “means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or “so that”; and
the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
●heating body in claims 1, 15, 19, 20
●liquid absorbing member in claim 19
●electrical component in claim 20
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 recites the limitation “electrical component” which invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The written description does not define what is encompassed under “electrical component. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a
limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites
what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the
structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly
recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which
are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Also for claim 20, the claim and the instant specification do not clearly define what constitutes an electrical component and does not clearly set for the relationship between the electrical component and the heating body so as to be able to supply power to the heating body.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong (US 2022/0132925 A1).
Claims 1-17: Jeong teaches a cartridge, having a housing and airway 12 and an air inlet in communication with a vaporization cavity (vaporization region – discussed further below) (Fig1: where bottom most arrow is located), comprising a vaporization core (inside the housing) for an e-cigarette which vaporizes a stored aerosol-generating material (¶2 ¶53 ¶60 Abstract Fig2), the vaporization core comprising
●liquid porous guide body 15 having a rectangular parallelepiped shape (¶60; ¶103
Lns13-15; see portion of Figure 1 annotated below) comprising
►a first side surface (top surface of liquid guide body 15 facing (and in
communication with) liquid storage tank 13 and arranged along the length direction [width and height directions also) (¶60)
●at least a part of the first side surface forming a liquid absorbingregion (¶63 ¶64)
►a second side surface (bottom surface of liquid guide body 15 facing lower
case 17 and arranged along the length direction) (¶60)
●arranged opposite to the first side surface (Fig1)
●at least a part of the second side surface forming a vaporization
region (comprising at least heating body 16 and open space thereabout; the vaporization region in communication with airway 12 by way of the vaporization core and in communication with the second side surface) (¶63 ¶64 ¶73)
►a liquid guide portion which stores liquid in use (liquid storage portion; of same
material: ceramic ¶88 (i.e. beads); of equal area) (see portion of Figure 1
annotated below)
●being a part of the liquid guide body 15 between the first side
surface and a position obtained by translating the first side surface to the second side surface
●heating body 16 (¶63 ¶64 ¶73)
●arranged at the vaporization region of the second side surface
(¶63 ¶64 ¶73)
●is a heating circuit pattern 161 (¶74) (claim 12: “printed” refers to
how the heating body is formed and is not considered to be a structural limitation to the claimed structure (i.e. vaporization core)).
Also for claims 1, 5-6, 8, and 10-11, and 13: with respect to the claimed distance between the first side surface and the second side surface (i.e. height of the liquid guide portion being 0.5mm to 1.5mm), Jeong does not teach 0.5mm to 1.5mm. Jeong teaches the liquid guide portion has a rectangular parallelepiped shape with a height of 2mm (¶103 Lns13-15: “and the porous wick has a rectangular parallelepiped shape having a height of 2.0 mm, a width of 2.0 mm, and a length of 11 mm”). However, it has been held that values which are so close (i.e. 1.5mm claimed and 2mm in prior art Jeong), there is a prima facie case of obviousness in that one skilled in the art can expect them to have the same properties (MPEP 2144.05(I). Also, the height of the liquid guide portion, to which one skilled in the art would consider providing, is a function of, among other variables, the desired operating temperature vaporization core, the particular material of the vaporization core, pressure inside the device which uses the vaporization core, and size of the first and second faces. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have optimized the height of the liquid guide portion, to which one skilled in the art would consider providing, based on known variables – such as those listed for example; and thus the claimed height of the liquid guide portion cannot be considered critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum and workable ranges by routine experimentation,” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 195). “It is a well settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same this as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results that prior inventions.” In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929). See MPEP 2144.05 II.A.
Claim 1: with respect to the claim limitation of “a liquid storage amount …. 3T1” (Lns7-9) this limitation refers to an amount of aerosol-generating liquid. However, the claim does not recite that the vaporization core includes a liquid such that the limitation is not considered to be a structural limitation of the claimed structure (i.e. vaporization core). Also, the limitation refers to a feature that is present when the vaporization core is being used (intended use limitation) and not to a structural limitation of the claimed structure.
Claim 1: with respect to the claimed heating body, because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. The instant specification teaches a structure for the heating body to perform the claimed function. Jeong teaches a structure for the heating body to perform the same claimed function. Jeong is thus considered to meet this limitation of the claim.
Claims 2-9: with respect to the claimed limitations, these limitations refer to an amount of an inhalation amount and the amount of aerosol-generating liquid. However, the claims do not recite that the vaporization core includes a liquid such that the limitations are not considered to be structural limitations of the claimed structure (i.e. vaporization core). Also, the limitations refer to features present when the vaporization core is being used (intended use limitation) – not to structural limitations of the claimed structure. The same applies to the limitations in claim 5 at lines 4-9 beginning with “a liquid storage amount Q2”. The same applies to the limitations in claim 6, last line. The same applies to claim 8, lines 5-6.
Also for claim 13: an orthographic projection area of the liquid guide portion would be equal to an orthographic projection area of the liquid storage portion within a plane perpendicular to a direction from the first side surface to the second side surface (see discussion of claim 1: a liquid guide portion which stores liquid in use (liquid storage portion)) – and such have a cuboid shape (Fig2 Fig6 Fig7).
Other locations within reference may be included in the above recited locations (paragraphs, drawing, abstract, claims) to demonstrate further the features in the reference as claimed in the instant claims.
Also for claim 13: with respect to the relative maximum dimensions the length, width, and height of the housing, these relationships, to which one skilled in the art would consider providing, is a function of, among other variables, the size of the vaporization core, the materials making up each of the housing, internal temperature, and internal pressure. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have optimized these relationships, to which one skilled in the art would consider providing, based on known variables – such as those listed for example; and thus the claimed relationships cannot be considered critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum and workable ranges by routine experimentation,” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 195). “It is a well settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same this as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results that prior inventions.” In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929).
Also for claim 16: the cartridge for the e-cigarette further comprises vaporization core fixing member 17 arranged inside the housing, the vaporization core fixing member separating the liquid storage cavity and the vaporization cavity, vaporization core fixing member 17 having a mounting groove (the inside portion forming the groove on both the left and right sides), the vaporization core being arranged in the mounting grooves, vaporization core fixing member 17 having a communication channel (Fig1 – see channel at bottom), and the mounting groove and the communication channel being arranged along the width direction of the housing as well as the length and height direction; and a top end of the communication channel is connected with the airway through the vaporization core, and a bottom end of the communication channel is in communication with the vaporization cavity (¶s80-84; Fig1 Fig2).
Also for claim 17: the air inlet comprises an outer air inlet section (the bottom facing the outside) and an inner air inlet section (that closest to the vaporization core), both the outer air inlet section and the inner air inlet section extend along the length direction of the housing (and the width and height directions also), the inner air inlet section is in communication with the vaporization cavity, and the outer air inlet section is in communication with the outside; and the inner air inlet section is offset by a predetermined distance in a direction away from a lower portion of the communication channel relative to the outer air inlet section along the width direction of the housing (and lengths and height directions also) --- illustrated in Figure 1.
Claim 20: Jeong teaches an e-cigarette, comprising:
●the cartridge according to claim 14 (see entire discussion of claim 15 above) and
●a cigarette rod (¶56).
As discussed above under 35 U.S.C. 112(b): claim 20 and the instant specification do not clearly define what constitutes an electrical component and does not clearly set for the relationship between the electrical component and the heating body so as to be able to supply power to the heating body. Thus, as best understood – claim 20 requires an electrical component, as part of the e-cigarette, connected to the heating body and configured to supply power to the heating body. Jeong teaches one or more terminal electrically connected to a battery to power heating body 16 (¶35 ¶s74-75). Other locations within reference may be included in the above recited locations (paragraphs, drawing, abstract, claims) to demonstrate further the features in the reference as claimed in the instant claims.
Claim 20, with respect to claimed heating body, because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. The instant specification teaches a structure for the heating body to perform the claimed function. Jeong teaches a structure for the heating body to perform the same claimed function. Jeong is thus considered to meet this limitation of the claim.
Claim 20, with respect to claimed electrical component, because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Jeong teaches a structure for the electrical component to perform the claimed function. Jeong is thus considered to meet this limitation of the claim.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: claim 18, the closest prior art of record to Jeong, alone or in combination with the other prior art of record, does not teach or fairly suggest the cartridge further comprising an upper seal member, the upper seal member having an encapsulation portion and a plug portion, wherein an end portion of the communication channel has an opening along the width direction and/or the thickness direction of the housing, the encapsulation portion is sleeved on the vaporization core fixing member, and the encapsulation portion forming a press-fit relationship with the vaporization core fixing member and an inner wall of the housing, and the plug portion blocking the opening, and the plug portion forming a press-fit relationship with the opening and the inner wall of the housing, wherein: a vent channel is formed between the upper seal member and the vaporization core fixing member, and the vent channel is configured to communicate the vaporization cavity and the liquid storage cavity; and the vaporization core fixing member has a vent sinking groove spaced apart from the mounting groove, a through hole is formed on a side wall of the vent sinking groove, and the through hole is in communication with the vaporization cavity; and a communication groove is formed on an outer circumferential surface of the vaporization core fixing member, an end of the communication groove is in communication with the through hole, and another end of the communication groove is in communication with the liquid storage cavity; and the upper seal member covers the through hole and the communication groove, the upper seal member, the through hole, and the communication groove forms a vent channel, and when a pressure of the vaporization cavity is greater than a pressure of the liquid storage cavity, the upper seal member is deformed with a pressure difference to open the vent channel.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: claim 19, the closest prior art of record to Jeong, alone or in combination with the other prior art of record, does not teach or fairly suggest the cartridge further comprising the housing comprises a main housing and a lower cover, the air outlet is formed at an end of the main housing, another end of the main housing is open and covered by the lower cover, and the air inlet is formed on the lower cover, wherein: the lower cover comprises a bottom plate and a side plate extending from the bottom plate toward the vaporization cavity, a liquid absorbing member covers on an inner surface of the bottom plate, and the liquid absorbing member is arranged around the air inlet, or the liquid absorbing member is supported on the side plate; and a conductive pin extends through the lower cover, an end of the conductive pin abuts against the heating body, and another end of the conductive pin protrudes from an outer surface of the lower cover.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/344,881 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations of instant claims 1-14 are within the claims and/or claim combinations of the reference application. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/344,885 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations of instant claims 1-14 are within the claims and/or claim combinations of the reference application. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/820,314 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations of instant claims 1-14 are within the claims and/or claim combinations of the reference application. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/820,306 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations of instant claims 1-14 are within the claims and/or claim combinations of the reference application. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Prior Art of Record
The following prior art is made of record. Guo teaches an atomizing core having uniform porosity. Song teaches an atomizing core of porous ceramic.
Conclusion
/LINDA L GRAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745