DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-13, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the dental appliance body is further provided with at least one eruption portion and a respective eruption portion of the at least one eruption portion is configured to accommodate a respective tooth of the at least one tooth”. It is unclear what the difference is between the at least one eruption portion and a respective eruption portion, such that it is unclear what each one is structurally referring to. For examining purposes, it was understood that the eruption portion is a cavity corresponding to an unerupted tooth and “a respective eruption portion” is referring one of the at least one eruption portion that corresponds to a respective tooth of each dental appliance body of the plurality of shell-like dental appliances.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “all eruption portions on the plurality of shell-like dental appliances for accommodating the respective tooth have a constant column structure to be consistent with each other in shape, size, position, and orientation”. It is unclear whether all eruption portions of all of the appliances are the same size or whether an eruption portion corresponding to a respective unerupted tooth has the same size in all of the plurality of dental appliances. It was understood that the same respective eruption portion has a constant shape, size position and orientation across the series of the plurality of dental appliances.
Claims 3-13, 15 are rejected under 35 USC 112(b) by virtue of dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-13, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (US2016/0135924 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Choi teaches an orthodontic system comprising a plurality of shell-like dental appliances configured to gradually adjust teeth other than at least one tooth not grown to preset eruption parameters from an initial position to a target orthodontic position according to an orthodontic plan while allowing natural growth of the at least one tooth not grown to the preset eruption parameters ([0004], [0022-0024]);
wherein each of the plurality of shell-like dental appliances comprises a dental appliance body comprising a geometric structure for accommodating a plurality of maxillary teeth or a plurality of mandibular teeth, the dental appliance body is further provided with at least one eruption portion, and a respective eruption portion of the at least one eruption portion is configured to accommodate a respective tooth of the at least one tooth not grown to the preset eruption parameters (see at least [0006], [0020], [0057-0058], [0070], [0092]);
the respective eruption portion is configured to form a gap between an inner surface of respective eruption portion and an outer surface of the respective tooth when the respective tooth is accommodated the respective eruption portion (see Figure 1 and [0092], [0095]; such that an eruption pocket is slowly filled by the tooth as it erupts and a gap remains between the tooth and the pocket when it’s partially erupted. Additionally, the pocket can be sized such that the unerupted tooth will not contact the pocket as it erupts);
wherein the preset eruption parameters comprise a size, a position, a shape and an orientation of a tooth or teeth formed after full eruption of the at least one tooth not grown to the preset eruption parameters ([0052], [0092], [0095]; an estimation of a scaling factor of the non-erupted/partially erupted tooth when in a fully erupted state is used to determine the projected dimension of the cavity/space corresponding to the non-erupted tooth as it erupts).
eruption portions on plurality of shell-like dental appliances for accommodating the respective tooth have a constant column structure to be consistent with each other in shape, size, position, and orientation (see at least [0020], [0038-0040] and see Figure 1; the eruption pocket 101 is formed as a columnar bubble and may be designed according to a patient’s predicted geometry, see fig. 2), and
Choi teaches the eruption portion has a column structure for accommodating the respective tooth (see at least [0020], [0038-0040] and see Figure 1; the eruption pocket 101 is formed as a columnar bubble and may be designed according to a patient’s predicted geometry, see fig. 2). Choi teaches that the size, location, shape and orientation of the eruption cavity can be determined and/or adjusted based on prediction factors including estimation, same tooth type information and/or adjacent teeth ([0026]). Choi also discloses that a second appliance having an eruption cavity can be adjusted ([0024], [0050]). Choi further discloses that the geometry is customized to match the projected tooth dimensions to create and scale said eruption cavity ([0052]) and that a customized tooth size can minimize potential mismatch with the real tooth during/after eruption ([0058]). Additionally, Choi describes that the eruption cavity represents the maximum dimensions and is intended to never be in contact with the erupting tooth ([0038]). Overall, Choi teaches the eruption cavity is designed based on a predicted size, dimensions and position of the tooth and may be determined and scaled based on a calculation of available space in a corresponding dimension around the unerupted or erupting tooth and sized such that the tooth will not contact a surface of said cavity during a period of treatment and that the treatment period may be sequential periods and not a single treatment (see at least [0090-0095]). Therefore, although Choi does not explicitly teach an eruption cavity corresponding to a respective erupting or unerupted tooth of all appliances of a treatment being sized and oriented the same for all stages of the treatment, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to keep the size and orientation of said cavity constant between stages, because it may be determined that there is no need to adjust those parameters between stages. Especially in light of Choi’s disclosure that the cavity is initially designed based on factors including surrounding teeth, maximum dimensions and/or available space, and that the cavity can be adjusted, it appears that adjustment step is an additional possibility after the determination step (e.g., progress check) and may never be necessary if the tooth is erupting as predicted.
Regarding claim 3, Choi teaches the orthodontic system according to claim 1 (see rejection above), wherein the constant column structure is configured to be arranged based on the size, the position, the shape and the orientation of the tooth or teeth formed after full eruption of the at least one tooth not grown to the preset eruption parameters ([0092]; the cavity is sized based on the predicted parameters of the tooth to erupt).
Regarding claim 4, Choi teaches the orthodontic system according to claim 3 (see rejection above). Choi is silent to explicitly wherein the column structure is configured to have a size 1.02 to 1.05 times of a size of the tooth or teeth formed after the full eruption of the at least one tooth not grown to the preset eruption parameters; the column structure is configured to be oriented at an angle of 0 to 5 degrees to a long axis of the tooth or teeth formed after the full eruption of the at least one tooth not grown to the preset eruption parameters; the column structure is configured to be positioned at an offset of 0 to 1 mm from a coordinate value in a spatial three-dimensional coordinate system of each of vertices that constitute a position of the tooth or teeth formed after the full eruption of the at least one tooth not grown to the preset eruption parameters; the column structure is configured to be shaped at an offset of 0 to 1 mm from a coordinate value in the spatial three-dimensional coordinate system of each of vertices that constitute a shape of the tooth or teeth formed after the full eruption of the at least one tooth not grown to the preset eruption parameters.
Choi teaches that the cavity is scaled to not contact the erupting tooth by predicting the gerometry of the tooth and based upon other prediction factors. Choi also teaches that each dimension could be scaled differently such that the X dimension could be scaled up by 5%, the Y dimension by 3% and the Z dimension by 7%. Therefore, indicating that the cavity may be sized 1.03, 10.5, and 1.07 times in the respective x,y,z, dimensions (see Fig. 1 and [0038], [0052-0053], [0092], [0095]).
Therefore, although Choi does not explicitly teach the overall cavity having a size 1.02 to 1.05 times the size of the overall area of the tooth, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention that at least in the x and y directions, the cavity of Choi would fall within the claimed dimension range. It would have been obvious to scale up the cavity to be close to the recited size in all directions, since requirements may vary depending on many factors including tooth type and the anatomy of the patient. it should also be noted that there is only so much available space within the mouth for scaling up such cavity and therefore such dimensions may be considered routine optimization within a finite number of possibilities for use with a dental appliance.
Regarding claim 5, Choi teaches the orthodontic system according to claim 3 (see rejection above), wherein the constant column structure is further configured to be arranged based on a size, a position, a shape and an orientation of a tooth or teeth on an opposite jaw corresponding to the at least one tooth not grown to the preset eruption parameters, so that the constant column structure does not interfere with a maxillomandibular occlusal relationship ([0020], [0059]).
Regarding claim 6, Choi teaches the orthodontic system according to claim 1 (see rejection above), wherein the column structure is configured to have a maximum height, a maximum buccolingual dimension and a maximum mesial-distal dimension determined based on both first preset parameters of a mesial adjacent tooth and second preset parameters of a distal adjacent tooth of the respective tooth ([0026], [0069]; adjacent teeth are considered when creating the cavity).
Regarding claim 7, Choi teaches the orthodontic system according to claim 6 (see rejection above), wherein the first preset parameters comprise following parameters of the mesial adjacent tooth: a maximum buccolingual dimension, a maximum mesial- distal dimension, and a maximum height of the mesial adjacent tooth; wherein the second preset parameters comprise the following parameters of the distal adjacent tooth: a maximum buccolingual dimension, a maximum mesial-distal dimension, and a maximum height of the distal adjacent tooth ([0026], [0029] and see Figures; the designing involves consideration of the adjacent teeth and each adjacent cavity within the appliance comprises a maximum height, occlusal length/diameter, and mesial-distal dimensions).
Regarding claim 8, Choi teaches the orthodontic system according to claim 7 (see rejection above), wherein the column structure comprises a labial/buccal surface, a lingual surface and an occlusal surface, wherein the labial/buccal surface is a flat surface or a curved surface configured to have a smooth transition to a labial/buccal surface of the mesial adjacent tooth and the distal adjacent tooth, the lingual surface is a flat surface or a curved surface configured to have a smooth transition to a lingual surface of the mesial adjacent tooth and the distal adjacent tooth, and the occlusal surface is a flat surface or a curved surface configured to have a smooth transition to an occlusal surface of the mesial adjacent tooth and the distal adjacent tooth (see Figures, specifically fig. 2; the cavity is within the aligner shell and has surfaces that match and conform the tooth surfaces).
Regarding claim 9, Choi teaches the orthodontic system according to claim 6 (see rejection above), wherein the column structure is further configured to be arranged based on a size, a position, a shape, and an orientation of teeth on an opposite jaw corresponding to the at least one tooth not grown to the preset eruption parameters, so that the constant column structure does not interfere with a maxillomandibular occlusal relationship ([0020], [0059]).
Regarding claim 10, Choi teaches the orthodontic system according to claim 1 (see rejection above), wherein the column structure is configured to have a maximum height, a maximum buccolingual dimension and a maximum mesial-distal dimension determined based on first preset parameters of a distal adjacent tooth and a mesial adjacent tooth of the respective tooth ([0026], [0069]; adjacent teeth are considered when creating the cavity).
Regarding claim 11, Choi teaches the orthodontic system according to claim 10 (see rejection above), wherein the first preset parameters comprise: a maximum buccolingual dimension and a maximum medial-distal dimension of the distal adjacent tooth, and a maximum height of the mesial adjacent tooth ([0026], [0029] and see Figures; the designing involves consideration of the adjacent teeth and each adjacent cavity within the appliance comprises a maximum height, occlusal length/diameter, and mesial-distal dimensions). .
Regarding claim 12, Choi teaches the orthodontic system according to claim 10 (see rejection above), wherein the constant column structure comprises a labial/buccal surface, a lingual surface and an occlusal surface, wherein the labial/buccal surface is a flat surface or a curved surface configured to have a smooth transition to a labial/buccal surface of the mesial adjacent tooth and the distal adjacent tooth, the lingual surface is a flat surface or a curved surface configured to have a smooth transition to a lingual surface of the mesial adjacent tooth and the distal adjacent tooth, and the occlusal surface is a flat surface or a curved surface configured to have a smooth transition to an occlusal surface of the mesial adjacent tooth and the distal adjacent tooth (see Figures; the cavity is within the aligner shell and has surfaces that match and conform the tooth surfaces).
Regarding claim 13, Choi teaches the orthodontic system according to claim 10 (see rejection above), wherein the constant column structure is further configured to be arranged based on a size, a position, a shape, and an orientation of teeth on an opposite jaw corresponding to the at least one tooth not grown to the preset eruption parameters, so that the constant column structure does not interfere with a maxillomandibular occlusal relationship ([0020], [0059]).
Regarding claim 15, Choi teaches the orthodontic system according to claim 1 (see rejection above), wherein the geometric structure on each of the plurality of shell-like dental appliances other than the eruption portion is configured to gradually adjust the teeth other than the at least one tooth not grown to the preset eruption parameters from the initial position to the target orthodontic position ([0074]).
Response to Arguments
With regards to the 35 USC 112(b) rejections, the arguments with respect to the “column structure” are persuasive. However, the limitations of the eruption portions are still unclear since it could be understood that the respective portion is “respective” to each aligner and therefore it would be the same as the at least one eruption portion. It should be clarified, in the claim, that the respective eruption portion is one of the at least one eruption portions that corresponds to a respective tooth. In that way, it is clear that among the plurality of appliance there is at least one eruption portion and of those eruption portions there is a respective eruption portion corresponding to the same respective tooth in each appliance.
Applicant's arguments with respect to Choi (US 2016/0135924 A1) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Choi’s system involves dynamic adjustment of the cavity between stages and that it does not teach a constant cavity across stages.
Choi teaches that the size, location, shape and orientation of the eruption cavity can be determined and/or adjusted based on prediction factors including estimation, same tooth type information and/or adjacent teeth ([0026]). Choi also discloses that a second appliance having an eruption cavity can be adjusted ([0024], [0050]). Choi further discloses that the geometry is customized to match the projected tooth dimensions to create and scale said eruption cavity ([0052]) and that a customized tooth size can minimize potential mismatch with the real tooth during/after eruption ([0058]). Additionally, Choi describes that the eruption cavity represents the maximum dimensions and is intended to never be in contact with the erupting tooth ([0038]). Overall, Choi teaches the eruption cavity is designed based on a predicted size, dimensions and position of the tooth and may be determined and scaled based on a calculation of available space in a corresponding dimension around the unerupted or erupting tooth and sized such that the tooth will not contact a surface of said cavity during a period of treatment and that the treatment period may be sequential periods and not a single treatment (see at least [0090-0095]).
Therefore, although Choi contemplates in some embodiments, adjustment of the cavity is possible, the cavity is not only fully capable of having the predicted cavity dimensions and position be the same in successive stages, but likely since it also discusses prediction based on maximum available dimension and merely the possibility of adjustment in some embodiments. It may be determined that there is no need to adjust those parameters between stages. Especially in light of Choi’s disclosure that the cavity is initially designed based on factors including surrounding teeth, maximum dimensions and/or available space, and that the cavity can be adjusted, it appears that adjustment step is an additional possibility after the determination step (e.g., progress check) and may never be necessary if the tooth is erupting as predicted.
Additionally, there is only so much available space within the mouth and between adjacent teeth for change to be required or possible, since the cavity must be larger than the erupted tooth. Furthermore, Choi describes that a treatment period may be broken into periods, and so for example, a treatment period may consist of only two appliances and there would be no change in the size of the cavity between all of the appliances within that treatment period (i.e., which typically lasts between 20-30 days of treatment for two appliances.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 attached to this office action.
/LINA FARAJ/ Examiner, Art Unit 3772
/HEIDI M EIDE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3772
10/19/2026