It and DETAILED ACTION
The office action is in response to the amendment filled on 04/05/2026.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Allowable Subject Matter
The indicated allowability of claims 7, 8, 16, & 17 are withdrawn. Rejections based on the reference(s) follow.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9, 10 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (11711017) in view of Duab et al. (9660522).
Regarding claim 1. Zhou et al. disclose a power supply circuit (figure 9), comprising: a power input terminal (IN) configured to provide first power (power from IN); at least two power output terminals (out1, out2) each configured to provide second power to an external load (power from output1 and out2 to load, which the load(s) is/are not shown); at least two flyback conversion circuits (131, 132) each coupled to the power input terminal (coupled to IN) and a respective one of the at least two power output terminals to convert the first power to the second power (through the converters 131 and 132); and a flyback control circuit (141,142,171, & 172) coupled to each of the at least two flyback conversion circuits (131, 132), the flyback control circuit being configured to control the at least two flyback conversion circuits to be connected in parallel (131 and 132 are connected parallel) when one of the at least two power output terminals (out1, out2) outputs the second power (power from the output1 and out2 to load); wherein each of the flyback conversion circuits further comprises a sampling circuit (where current I01 from 131 to first control unit; Col. 8 lines 3-14, “The second control unit 172 receives the second load signal Signal 2 and detects output voltage Vo 2 and output current Io 2 of the second flyback converter 132 . Furthermore, the second control unit 172 controls the second flyback converter 132 and the first switch 142“) coupled to a respective one of the power output terminals (out1 or out 2) to generate a sampled current (I01) in response to the respective one of the power output terminals being connected to the external load (load coupled to out1); and a second controller unit (172) configured to communicate with each of the flyback conversion circuits to receive a communication signal transmitted by the flyback conversion circuit upon detecting the sampled current (Col. 8 lines 3-14, “The second control unit 172 receives the second load signal Signal 2 and detects output voltage Vo 2 and output current Io 2 of the second flyback converter 132 . Furthermore, the second control unit 172 controls the second flyback converter 132 and the first switch 142 . The first control unit 171 and the second control unit 172 communicate with each other and exchange operating information of their corresponding flyback converters, so that both of the first control unit 171 and the second control unit 172 know each other's output voltage, output power and other operating status information, etc”).
Zhou et al. fails to disclose a switch circuit coupled between two of the flyback conversion circuits to control connection or disconnection of the two of the flyback conversion circuits and a second controller unit coupled to the switch circuit and control the switch circuit to be turned on or off based on the communication signal.
Duab et al. teaches a switch circuit (Figure 1) coupled between two of the flyback conversion circuits to control connection or disconnection of the two of the flyback conversion circuits and a second controller unit coupled to the switch circuit (Circuit of SW11 and SWn1 with controller S) and control the switch circuit to be turned on or off based on the communication signal (S controls SW11 & SWn1).
It would be obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Zhou et al. to further include a switch circuit coupled between two of the flyback conversion circuits and a second controller unit coupled to the switch circuit and control the switch circuit to be turned on or off based on the communication signal as taught by Duab et al. to improve the conversion efficiency of the converter.
Regarding claim 9. Zhou et al. disclose wherein at least two output switch units (141, 142) each coupled between a flyback conversion circuit (131, 132) of the flyback conversion circuits and a power output terminal (out1 or out2) of the power output terminals (out1 and out2) corresponding to the flyback conversion circuit to control connection or disconnection of the flyback conversion circuit with the power output terminal (as shown on figure 9).
Regarding claim 10. Zhou et al. disclose An electronic device comprising a power supply circuit (Figure 9), wherein the power supply circuit comprises: a power input terminal (input terminal of IN) configured to provide first power(power from input IN); at least two power output terminals (out1 and out2) each configured to provide second power to an external load (power from output1 and out2 to load, which the load(s) is/are not shown); at least two flyback conversion circuits (131, 132) each coupled to the power input terminal (coupled to IN) and a respective one of the at least two power output terminals to convert the first power to the second power (through the flyback converters 131 and 132); and a flyback control circuit (141,142,171, & 172) coupled to each of the at least two flyback conversion circuits (131, 132), the flyback control circuit being configured to control the at least two flyback conversion circuits to be connected in parallel (131 and 132 are connected parallel) when one of the at least two power output terminals (out1, out2) outputs the second power (power from the output1 and out2 to load); wherein each of the flyback conversion circuits further comprises a sampling circuit (where current I01 from 131 to first control unit; Col. 8 lines 3-14, “The second control unit 172 receives the second load signal Signal 2 and detects output voltage Vo 2 and output current Io 2 of the second flyback converter 132 . Furthermore, the second control unit 172 controls the second flyback converter 132 and the first switch 142“) coupled to a respective one of the power output terminals (out1 or out 2) to generate a sampled current (I01) in response to the respective one of the power output terminals being connected to the external load (load coupled to out1); and a second controller unit (172) configured to communicate with each of the flyback conversion circuits to receive a communication signal transmitted by the flyback conversion circuit upon detecting the sampled current (Col. 8 lines 3-14, “The second control unit 172 receives the second load signal Signal 2 and detects output voltage Vo 2 and output current Io 2 of the second flyback converter 132 . Furthermore, the second control unit 172 controls the second flyback converter 132 and the first switch 142 . The first control unit 171 and the second control unit 172 communicate with each other and exchange operating information of their corresponding flyback converters, so that both of the first control unit 171 and the second control unit 172 know each other's output voltage, output power and other operating status information, etc”).
Zhou et al. fails to disclose a switch circuit coupled between two of the flyback conversion circuits to control connection or disconnection of the two of the flyback conversion circuits and a second controller unit coupled to the switch circuit and control the switch circuit to be turned on or off based on the communication signal.
Duab et al. teaches a switch circuit (Figure 1) coupled between two of the flyback conversion circuits to control connection or disconnection of the two of the flyback conversion circuits and a second controller unit coupled to the switch circuit (Circuit of SW11 and SWn1 with controller S) and control the switch circuit to be turned on or off based on the communication signal (S controls SW11 & SWn1).
It would be obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Zhou et al. to further include a switch circuit coupled between two of the flyback conversion circuits and a second controller unit coupled to the switch circuit and control the switch circuit to be turned on or off based on the communication signal as taught by Duab et al. to improve the conversion efficiency of the converter.
Regarding claim 18. Zhou et al. disclose wherein the power supply circuit (figure 9) further comprises at least two output switch units (141, 142) each coupled between a flyback conversion circuit (131, 132) of the flyback conversion circuits and a power output terminal (out1 or out2) of the power output terminals (out1 and out2) corresponding to the flyback conversion circuit to control connection or disconnection (turning on/off of the switch(s)) of the flyback conversion circuit with the power output terminal (out1 or out2; as shown on figure 9).
Claims 2-7 and 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Zhou et al. (11711017) in view of Duab et al. (9660522) and Kyono (20100109434).
Regarding claim 2. Zhou et al. and Duab et al. disclose the power supply circuit of claim 1.
However, Zhou et al. and Duab et al. fail to explicitly disclose wherein each of the flyback conversion circuits comprises: a transformer unit coupled between the power input terminal and a respective one of the power output terminals to perform voltage conversion on the first power.
Kyono disclose (figure 2) wherein each of the flyback conversion circuits (first, second and third converters) comprises: a transformer unit (T1, T2 and T3) coupled between the power input terminal (Vin) and a respective one of the power output terminals (Vo1, Vo2 and Vo3) to perform voltage conversion on the first power (converting Vin through the transformer(s)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhou to further include wherein each of the flyback conversion circuits comprises: a transformer unit coupled between the power input terminal and a respective one of the power output terminals to perform voltage conversion on the first power as taught by Kyono to provide electrical isolation between outputs.
Regarding claim 3. Zhou et al. and Duab et al. disclose the power supply circuit of claim 2.
However, Zhou et al. and Duab et al. fail to explicitly disclose wherein each of the flyback conversion circuits further comprises: a synchronous rectification and filtering circuit coupled between the transformer unit and a respective one of the power output terminals to rectify and filter the first power after the voltage conversion.
Kyono disclose (figure 2) wherein each of the flyback conversion circuits (first, second and third converters) further comprises: a synchronous rectification (D1) and filtering circuit (C1, C2 and C3) coupled between the transformer unit (T1, T2 and T3) and a respective one of the power output terminals (Vo1, Vo2 and Vo3) to rectify and filter the first power (voltage from Vin) after the voltage conversion (converting Vin through the transformer (s)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhou to further include wherein each of the flyback conversion circuits further comprises: a synchronous rectification and filtering circuit coupled between the transformer unit and a respective one of the power output terminals to rectify and filter the first power after the voltage conversion as taught by Kyono to provide electrical isolation between outputs.
Regarding claim 4. Zhou et al. and Duab et al. disclose the power supply circuit of claim 3.
However, Zhou et al. and Duab et al. fail to explicitly disclose wherein each of the flyback conversion circuits further comprises: a first controller unit coupled to the transformer unit and the synchronous rectification and filtering circuit to control an operation state of each of the transformer unit and the synchronous rectification and filtering circuit.
Kyono disclose (figure 2) wherein each of the flyback conversion circuits (first, second and third converters) further comprises: a first controller unit (11-1) coupled to the transformer unit (T01) and the synchronous rectification (D1) and filtering circuit (C1) to control an operation state of each of the transformer unit (T01) and the synchronous rectification and filtering circuit (as shown on figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhou to further include wherein each of the flyback conversion circuits further comprises: a first controller unit coupled to the transformer unit and the synchronous rectification and filtering circuit to control an operation state of each of the transformer unit and the synchronous rectification and filtering circuit as taught by Kyono to provide electrical isolation between outputs.
Regarding claim 5. Zhou et al. and Duab et al. disclose the power supply circuit of claim 4.
However, Zhou et al. and Duab et al. fail to explicitly disclose wherein each of the flyback conversion circuits further comprises: a power conversion circuit coupled between the transformer unit and the first controller unit to convert the first power after the voltage conversion into third power for supply to the first controller unit.
Kyono disclose (figure 2) wherein each of the flyback conversion circuits (first, second and third converters) further comprises: a power conversion circuit (Q1,D4) coupled between the transformer unit (T1) and the first controller unit (11-1) to convert the first power after the voltage conversion into third power (third power at the MOSFET Q1) for supply to the first controller unit (as shown on figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhou to further include wherein each of the flyback conversion circuits further comprises: a power conversion circuit coupled between the transformer unit and the first controller unit to convert the first power after the voltage conversion into third power for supply to the first controller unit as taught by Kyono to provide electrical isolation between outputs.
Regarding claim 6. The combination of Zhou et al., Duab et al., and Kyono disclose the power supply circuit (figure 9) wherein the sampling circuit (where current I01 from 131 to first control unit; Col. 8 lines 3-14, “The second control unit 172 receives the second load signal Signal 2 and detects output voltage Vo 2 and output current Io 2 of the second flyback converter 132 . Furthermore, the second control unit 172 controls the second flyback converter 132 and the first switch 142“) coupled to the first controller unit (151, Zhou).
Regarding claim 7. The combination of Zhou et al., Duab, and Kyono disclose the power supply circuit of claim 6 (figure 9, Zhou), wherein the second controller unit (172, Zhou) is configured to communicate with the first controller unit (171, Zhou) to receive a communication signal transmitted by the first controller unit upon detecting the sampled current (Col. 8 lines 3-14, “The second control unit 172 receives the second load signal Signal 2 and detects output voltage Vo 2 and output current Io 2 of the second flyback converter 132 . Furthermore, the second control unit 172 controls the second flyback converter 132 and the first switch 142. The first control unit 171 and the second control unit 172 communicate with each other and exchange operating information of their corresponding flyback converters, so that both of the first control unit 171 and the second control unit 172 know each other's output voltage, output power and other operating status information, etc”, Zhou) and control the switch circuit to be turned on or off based on the communication signal (S controls SW11 & SWn1, Duab).
Regarding claim 11. Zhou et al. and Duab et al. disclose the power supply circuit of claim 10. However, Zhou et al. and Duab et al. fail to explicitly disclose wherein each of the flyback conversion circuits comprises: a transformer unit coupled between the power input terminal and a respective one of the power output terminals to perform voltage conversion on the first power.
Kyono disclose (figure 2) wherein each of the flyback conversion circuits (first, second and third converters) comprises: a transformer unit (T1, T2 and T3) coupled between the power input terminal (Vin) and a respective one of the power output terminals (Vo1, Vo2 and Vo3) to perform voltage conversion on the first power (converting Vin through the transformer(s)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhou to further include wherein each of the flyback conversion circuits comprises: a transformer unit coupled between the power input terminal and a respective one of the power output terminals to perform voltage conversion on the first power as taught by Kyono to provide electrical isolation between outputs.
Regarding claim 12. Zhou et al. and Duab et al. disclose the power supply circuit of claim 11. However, Zhou et al. and Duab et al. fail to explicitly disclose wherein each of the flyback conversion circuits further comprises: a synchronous rectification and filtering circuit coupled between the transformer unit and a respective one of the power output terminals to rectify and filter the first power after the voltage conversion.
Kyono discloses (figure 2) wherein each of the flyback conversion circuits (first, second and third converters) further comprises: a synchronous rectification (D1) and filtering circuit (C1, C2 and C3) coupled between the transformer unit (T1, T2 and T3) and a respective one of the power output terminals (Vo1, Vo2 and Vo3) to rectify and filter the first power (voltage from Vin) after the voltage conversion (converting Vin through the transformer(s)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhou to further include wherein each of the flyback conversion circuits further comprises: a synchronous rectification and filtering circuit coupled between the transformer unit and a respective one of the power output terminals to rectify and filter the first power after the voltage conversion as taught by Kyono to provide electrical isolation between outputs.
Regarding claim 13. Zhou et al. and Duab et al. disclose the power supply circuit of claim 12. However, Zhou et al. and Duab et al. fail to explicitly disclose wherein each of the flyback conversion circuits further comprises: a first controller unit coupled to the transformer unit and the synchronous rectification and filtering circuit to control an operation state of each of the transformer unit and the synchronous rectification and filtering circuit.
Kyono disclose (figure 2) wherein each of the flyback conversion circuits (first, second and third converters) further comprises: a first controller unit (11-1) coupled to the transformer unit (T01) and the synchronous rectification (D1) and filtering circuit (C1) to control an operation state of each of the transformer unit (T01) and the synchronous rectification and filtering circuit (as shown on figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhou to further include wherein each of the flyback conversion circuits further comprises: a first controller unit coupled to the transformer unit and the synchronous rectification and filtering circuit to control an operation state of each of the transformer unit and the synchronous rectification and filtering circuit as taught by Kyono to provide electrical isolation between outputs.
Regarding claim 14. Zhou et al. and Duab et al. disclose the power supply circuit of claim 13. However, Zhou et al. and Duab et al. fail to explicitly disclose wherein each of the flyback conversion circuits further comprises: a power conversion circuit coupled between the transformer unit and the first controller unit to convert the first power after the voltage conversion into third power for supply to the first controller unit.
Kyono disclose (figure 2) wherein each of the flyback conversion circuits (first, second and third converters) further comprises: a power conversion circuit (Q1,D4) coupled between the transformer unit (T1) and the first controller unit (11-1) to convert the first power after the voltage conversion into third power (third power at the MOSFET Q1) for supply to the first controller unit (as shown on figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhou to further include wherein each of the flyback conversion circuits further comprises: a power conversion circuit coupled between the transformer unit and the first controller unit to convert the first power after the voltage conversion into third power for supply to the first controller unit as taught by Kyono to provide electrical isolation between outputs.
Regarding claim 15. The combination of Zhou et al., Duab et al., and Kyono disclose the power supply circuit (figure 9, Zhou) wherein the sampling circuit (where current I01 from 131 to first control unit; Col. 8 lines 3-14, “The second control unit 172 receives the second load signal Signal 2 and detects output voltage Vo 2 and output current Io 2 of the second flyback converter 132 . Furthermore, the second control unit 172 controls the second flyback converter 132 and the first switch 142“) coupled to the first controller unit (151, Zhou).
Regarding claim 16. The combination of Zhou et al., Duab et al., and Kyono disclose the power supply circuit of claim 15 (figure 9, Zhou), wherein the second controller unit (172, Zhou) is configured to communicate with the first controller unit (171, Zhou) to receive a communication signal transmitted by the first controller unit upon detecting the sampled current (Col. 8 lines 3-14, “The second control unit 172 receives the second load signal Signal 2 and detects output voltage Vo 2 and output current Io 2 of the second flyback converter 132 . Furthermore, the second control unit 172 controls the second flyback converter 132 and the first switch 142. The first control unit 171 and the second control unit 172 communicate with each other and exchange operating information of their corresponding flyback converters, so that both of the first control unit 171 and the second control unit 172 know each other's output voltage, output power and other operating status information, etc”, Zhou) and control the switch circuit to be turned on or off based on the communication signal (S controls SW11 & SWn1, Duab).
Claims 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Zhou et al. (11711017) in view of Duab et al. (9660522), Kyono (20100109434), and Cuk (6462962).
Regarding claim 8, The combination of Zhou et al., Duab et al., and Kyono fail to disclose the electronic device of claim 7, wherein the switch circuit comprises a bidirectional switch comprising two back-to-back switching transistors
Cuk disclose a bidirectional switch comprising two back-to-back switching transistors (Fig. 6C; paragraph 0015, “the Voltage Bidirectional Switch can be replaced with already shown composite switch of two back-to-back MOSFETs in FIG. 6c, which is really a true four-quadrant switch since it is simultaneously a Voltage Bidirectional Switch as well as a Current Bidirectional Switch. The advantage of such implementation is in reduced conduction losses”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhou to further include wherein the switch circuit comprises a bidirectional switch comprising two back-to-back switching transistors as taught by Cuk to reduce conduction losses.
Regarding claim 17, The combination of Zhou et al., Duab et al., and Kyono fail to disclose the electronic device of claim 16, wherein the switch circuit comprises a bidirectional switch comprising two back-to-back switching transistors.
Cuk disclose a bidirectional switch comprising two back-to-back switching transistors (Fig. 6C; Col.17, lines 17-19, “One such practical realization is shown in FIG. 6c, where two N-channel MOSFET devices are put back-to-back”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhou to further include wherein the switch circuit comprises a bidirectional switch comprising two back-to-back switching transistors as taught by Cuk to reduce conduction losses.
Conclusion
/MONICA LEWIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/JARED RAYMOND HAUSMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2838