DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to the claim’s amendment dated 6/17/2025.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “130” (figures 1A and 1B) has been used to designate two different parts. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 6/17/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made (see below new ground of rejection).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8-11, 13-15 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buchmann et al. U.S. Patent 5,287,001 (hereinafter D1) in view of Wanner et al. U.S. Patent 9,877,380 (hereinafter D2) and in further view of Lee et al. U.S. Patent 10,736,246 (hereinafter D3).
Regarding claim 1, D1 teaches an electronic device (see figure 3) comprising:
a shielding structure including walls for (sidewall portions of 13; figure 3) at least partially, laterally surrounding an electrical component (37; figure 3) on a circuit board (31; figure 3),
a lid (top portion of 13; figure 3) covering the electrical component,
a spring (26 + 32; figure 3) directly or indirectly applying a load force to the electrical component (37),
a cooling structure (30; figure 3), wherein the cooling structure is arranged between the lid and the circuit board, and
However, D1 does not specifically teach the lid is affixed to a top of the shielding structure.
D2, teaches an electronic shielding structure (10; figure 3C), comprising a lid (32; figure 3C) affixed the a top (16; figure 3C) of sidewalls (22; figure 3C) of the shielding structure.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further modify the device of D1, such that the lid would be affixed to a stop of the shielding structure, as suggested by D2, for the ease of inside parts replacing purpose.
However, D1/D2 does not specifically teach a fastener arranged between the walls of the shielding structure and affixing the lid and the spring to the circuit board.
D3 teaches an electronic device (200; figure 2), which comprises a fastener (230; figure 2) arranged between the walls (220; figure 2) of a shielding structure (200; figure 2) and for affixing a lid (225; figure 2) to a circuit board (205; figure 2).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further modify and equip the electronic device of D1/D2 with a fastener arranged between the walls of the shielding structure, as suggested by D3, to more firmly affix the lid and the spring to the circuit board.
Regarding claim 2, D1/D2/D3 teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the load force drives the cooling structure towards a top (see figure 3 of D1) of the electrical component (37).
Regarding claim 3, D1/D2/D3 teaches the electronic device of claim 2, wherein the cooling structure extends from the top of the electrical component through an opening (opening inside 13 of D1) in the shielding structure or between the shielding structure and the lid.
Regarding claim 5, D1/D2/D3 teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the cooling structure (30 of D1) is a thermal interface material (implicitly taught).
Regarding claim 6, D1/D2/D3 teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the spring (26 + 32; figure 3 of D1) applies the load force to the lid and drives the cooling structure towards the top of the electrical component through the lid.
Regarding claim 8, the modification of D1/D2/D3 would result in the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the spring is arranged between (see figure 3 of D1) the lid and the circuit board (31 of D1).
Regarding claim 9, as mentioned above, D1/D2/D3 teaches the electronic device of claim 1.
However, D1 does not specifically teach the lid comprises an aperture, wherein the fastener extends through the aperture.
D3, suggests the lid having an aperture (see figure 2 of D3; the opening of 225 where fastener 230 extends through) for a fastener (230) to extend through for fastening said lid with the circuit board.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further equip the lid of D1/D2/D3 with an aperture for a fastener to extend through, as suggested by D3, for fastening said lid to said circuit board.
Regarding claim 10, the modification of D1/D2/D3 would result in the electronic device of claim 9, wherein the aperture is arranged in a recess (see figure 2 of D3; the space in the lid where the head of the faster is located) of the lid.
Regarding claim 11, as mentioned above, D1/D2/D3 teaches the electronic device of claim 10.
Even though, D1/D2/D3 does not specifically teach that the recess of the lid has a depth equal to or greater than the height of a head of the fastener, however, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to change the depth of the lid so that such depth would be equal or greater than the height of the head of the fastener, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art, to enhance the overall structural integrity of said electronic device.
Regarding claim 13, the modification of D1/D2/D3 would result in the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the fastener is a screw (see figure 2 of D2; screw 230).
Regarding claim 14, D1/D2/D3 teaches The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the spring (26 + 32; figure 1 of D1) is a leaf spring (see figure 3 of D1).
Regarding claim 15, the modification of D1/D2/D3 would result in the electronic device of claim 14, wherein a second fastener (right or left screw 230; figure 2 of D3) affixes the leaf spring to the circuit board.
Regarding claim 18, as mentioned above, D1/D2/D3 teaches the electronic device of claim 1.
D3 further discloses a lid (225; figure 2), wherein the lid is an electromagnetic interference lid (column 3, lines 13-27).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further provide the electronic device of D1/D2/D3 with an electromagnetic interference lid, as suggested by D3, in order to prevent or reduce electromagnetic interference/emission leaking from the interior of said electronic device.
Regarding claim 19, as mentioned above, D1/D2/D3 teaches the electronic device of claim 1.
D3 further discloses the shielding structure is an electromagnetic interference fence (column 4, lines 37-42).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further provide the electronic device of D1/D2/D3 with an electromagnetic interference fence, as suggested by D3, in order to prevent or reduce electromagnetic interference/emission leaking from the interior of said electronic device.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by D1/D2/D3 and in further view of Suck et al. U.S. Patent 11,778,785 (hereinafter D6).
Regarding claim 4, as mentioned above, D1/D2/D3 teaches the electronic device of claim 3.
However, D1/D2/D3 does not teach wherein the cooling structure extends to a fan.
D6, in the same field of endeavor, teaches an electronic device comprising a cooling structure (6; figure 6B) extends to a fan (see column 4, lines 26-36) for enhancing heat dissipation.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further modify the electronic device of D1/D2/D3 such that the cooling structure would extends to a fan, as suggested by D6, to enhance heat dissipation.
Claims 7 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buchmann et al. U.S. Patent 5,287,001 (hereinafter D1) in view of Wanner et al. U.S. Patent 9,877,380 (hereinafter D2) and in further view of Lee et al. U.S. Patent 10,736,246 (hereinafter D3) in view of Chen et al. U.S. Pub. 2025/0168967 (hereinafter D8).
Regarding claim 7, as mentioned above, D1/D2/D3 teaches the electronic device of claim 1.
However, D1/D2/D3 does not specifically teach wherein the spring is arranged between the lid and a head of the fastener..
D8 suggests the use of a spring (800; figure 2) arranged between a lower part (100; figure 2) and a head (701; figure 2) of a fastener (700; figure 2), for applying a pressure or load force to the lower part.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further provide a spring arranged between the lid and a head of the fastener of D1/D2/D3, as suggested by D8, to apply a pressure or a load force to the lid to prevent the lid from loosening.
Regarding claim 20, D1 teaches a method for assembling an electronic device, the method comprising:
affixing a shielding structure (formed by sidewall portions 13; figure 3) including walls (sidewall portions of 13; figure 3) to a circuit board (31; figure 3) to at least partially, laterally surround an electrical component (37; figure 3) on the circuit board (31; figure 3),
arranging a cooling structure (30; figure 3) between a lid (top portion of 13; figure 3) and the circuit board (31),
affixing the lid (top portion of 13) and the cooling structure (30; figure 3) to the circuit board, wherein the lid (top portion of 13) and the cooling structure (30; figure 3) are affixed to the circuit board.
However, D1 does not specifically teach affixing the lid (top portion of 13) to the shielding structure (sidewalls of 13).
D2, teaches an electronic shielding structure (10; figure 3C), comprising a lid (32; figure 3C) affixed the a top (16; figure 3C) of sidewalls (22; figure 3C) of the shielding structure.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further modify the device of D1, such that the lid would be affixed to a stop of the shielding structure, as suggested by D2, for the ease of inside parts replacing purpose.
However, D1/D2 does not specifically teach a fastener, wherein the lid and the cooling structure are fixed to the circuit board with the fastener, and wherein the fastener is arranged between the walls of the shielding structure.
D3 teaches an electronic device (200; figure 2), which comprises a fastener (230; figure 2) arranged between the walls (220; figure 2) of a shielding structure (200; figure 2) and for affixing a lid (225; figure 2) to a circuit board (205; figure 2).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further modify and equip the electronic device of D1/D2 with a fastener arranged between the walls of the shielding structure, as suggested by D3, such that the lid and the cooling structure would be fixed to the circuit board with the fastener, to more firmly affix the lid and the cooling structure to the circuit board.
However, D1/D2/D3 does not specifically teach attaching a spring to the fastener.
D8 suggests the use of a spring (800; figure 2) arranged between a lower part (100; figure 2) and a head (701; figure 2) of a fastener (700; figure 2), for applying a pressure or load force to the lower part.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further attach a spring to the fastener of D1/D2/D3, as suggested by D8, to apply a pressure or a load force to the lid to prevent the lid from loosening.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by D1/D2/D3 and in further view of Leizerovich et al. U.S. Patent 11,792,964 (hereinafter D4).
Regarding 12, as mentioned above, D1/D2/D3 teaches the electronic device of claim 1.
However, D1/D2/D3 does not specifically teach wherein the lid is affixed to the shielding structure via a snap connection.
D4, shows snap connections (column 8, lines 25-38) have been commonly known for assembling and disassembling different parts of device’s housing.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further apply snap connection to affix the lid to the shield structure of D1/D2/D3 as suggested by D4, to reduce assembly steps and speed up assembly process.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1/D2/D3 and in further view of Liang et al. U.S. Pub. 2022/0375821 (hereinafter D7).
Regarding claim 16, as mentioned above, D1/D2/D3 teaches the electronic device of claim 1.
However, D1/D2/D3 does not specifically teach wherein the circuit board comprises a stud and wherein the fastener is affixed to the stud of the circuit board.
D7, suggests the common use of stud (121; figure 2) in a circuit board (11; figure 2) for fortifying the connection with fasteners.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further equip the circuit board of the device of D1/D2/D3 with a stud, as suggested by D7, wherein the fastener would be affixed to the stud of the circuit board, for fortifying the connection between the fastener with said circuit board.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1/D2/D3 and in further view of Schmidt et al. U.S. Patent 9,949,404 (hereinafter D5).
Regarding claim 17, as mentioned above, D1/D2/D3 teaches the electronic device of claim 1.
However, D1/D2/D3 does not specifically teach a back plate, wherein the circuit board is arranged between the lid and the back plate, wherein the lid is affixed to the circuit board and the back plate by the fastener.
D5 teaches an electronic device, including a back plate (12; figure 1), wherein the circuit board (5; figure 1) is arranged between the lid (top side shown in figure 1 of D5) and the back plate, wherein the lid is affixed to the the back plate by the fastener (3; figure 1).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further equip the electronic device of D1/D2/D3 with a back plate, wherein the circuit board would be arranged between the lid and the back plate, wherein the lid would be affixed to the circuit board and the back plate by the fastener, as suggested by D5, to enhance the overall structural integrity of said device.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
HUNG Q. DANG
Examiner
Art Unit 2835
/IMANI N HAYMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841