DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 10-12, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng (US 20150127866 A1) in view of Allen (US 9507621 B1).
Regarding Claim 1, Zeng teaches a computing system, comprising: a processor (
Zeng discloses, “The various aspects described above may also be implemented within a variety of mobile devices, such as a laptop computer 800 illustrated in FIG. 8… A laptop computer 800 will typically include a processor 811 coupled to volatile memory 812 and a large capacity nonvolatile memory, such as a disk drive 813 of Flash memory,” ¶ 0067.);
and a computer-readable storage medium having stored thereon computer-executable instructions representing a hypervisor, the hypervisor having a first processing path representing a first set of processing operations and a second processing path representing a second set of processing operations, the second set of processing operations being smaller than the first set of processing operations (
Zeng discloses, “To manage interrupts in such implementations, conventional systems may use a virtual machine monitor or hypervisor software to route secure interrupts to the appropriate virtual machine or processor,” ¶ 0024, “In an aspect, a fast virtual interrupt may have priority over a normal virtual interrupt. When a fast virtual interrupt is identified, it may be assigned to a list register 308 designated for fast virtual interrupts. Alternatively, interrupts already listed in the list register 308 may be shifted to allow for the fast virtual interrupt to be within the structure of the list register 308, for example a linked list, such that the fast virtual interrupt may be processed sooner than the normal virtual interrupts in the list register 308,” ¶ 0051, and “The operations of a method or algorithm disclosed herein may be embodied in a processor-executable software module that may reside on a non-transitory computer-readable or processor-readable storage medium. Non-transitory computer-readable or processor-readable storage media may be any storage media that may be accessed by a computer or a processor,” ¶ 0073.
The claimed “first processing path representing a first set of processing operations” is mapped to the path of interrupts before the first normal interrupt, e.g., interrupts in the linked list before the first normal interrupt.
The claimed “second processing path representing a second set of processing operations” is mapped to the path of interrupts before the first fast interrupt, e.g., interrupts in the linked list before the first fast interrupt. The reason why this is smaller is because fast interrupts are placed ahead of normal interrupts in the linked list, so it will take less operations for the fast interrupts to be routed compared to the normal interrupts.),
the computer-executable instructions being executable by the processor to cause the hypervisor to at least:
receive and process an interrupt from a hardware device prior to the interrupt reaching an operating system (
Zeng discloses, “In an aspect a virtual interrupt direct assignment method and apparatus can alleviate slowdowns in secure interrupt response time caused by an overhead associated with virtual machine monitor (VMM) or hypervisor software routing of secure interrupts to an appropriate virtual machine/processor,” ¶ 0025, and “The interrupt controller 104 may include an interrupt distributor 200, which may be configured to determine the type of interrupt received from an interrupt source 202, such as hardware or software of the mobile device,” ¶ 0033.), processing the interrupt including:
at an interrupt management processing system of the hypervisor, identifying state information corresponding to the interrupt (
Zeng discloses, “Continuing with the example illustrated in FIG. 2, the interrupt distributor 200 may retrieve the interrupt direct assignment identifier 206 and use the value to determine the type of interrupt. For example, an interrupt direct assignment identifier value of ‘00’ may indicate that the received interrupt is a regular virtual interrupt. As another example, an interrupt direct assignment identifier value of ‘01’ may indicate that the received interrupt is a fast virtual interrupt. As another example, an interrupt direct assignment identifier value of ‘10’ may indicate that the received interrupt is a physical interrupt. As another example, an interrupt direct assignment identifier value of ‘11’ may indicate that the received interrupt is an unrecognized signal,” ¶ 0038, and “The direct assignment control register 300 may also store an interrupt controller hypervisor direct assignment disable status value (ICH_AssignDisableSatuts), which may indicate whether there is an available hardware register to accept an interrupt via the virtual interrupt direct assignment. The direct assignment control register 300 may be part of the interrupt controller 104, part of the interrupt distributor 200,” ¶ 0045, and “The interrupt controller 104 may also include interrupt lists in the form of the list registers 308 which, when they have an open spot, accept the virtual normal and fast interrupts assigned to the HLOS Guest by the interrupt distributor 200 and routed by the from the interrupt distributor interface 310. The list registers 308 may store the interrupt numbers in interrupt controller hypervisor list register structures (ICH_LRn),” ¶ 0048.
The claimed “state information” is mapped to state of whether the interrupt is a virtual interrupt or not. This is further illustrated in the above FIG. 2.
As seen in the disclosures for paragraphs 45 and 48, the interrupt distributor that identifies state information is associated with the hypervisor.),
generating a fast path eligibility indicator corresponding to the interrupt based on the state information (
Zeng discloses, “the interrupt distributor 200 may retrieve the interrupt direct assignment identifier 206 and use the value to determine the type of interrupt. For example, an interrupt direct assignment identifier value of ‘00’ may indicate that the received interrupt is a regular virtual interrupt. As another example, an interrupt direct assignment identifier value of ‘01’ may indicate that the received interrupt is a fast virtual interrupt,” ¶ 0038.
The claimed “fast path eligibility indicator” is mapped to the second digit of the disclosed “interrupt direct assignment identifier value”, which determines whether the virtual interrupt is a fast interrupt, or a normal (slow) interrupt. This is further illustrated in the above FIG. 2.),
and storing the state information and the fast path eligibility indicator in a data structure corresponding to the interrupt (
Zeng discloses, “the interrupt distributor 200 may retrieve the interrupt direct assignment identifier 206 and use the value to determine the type of interrupt. For example, an interrupt direct assignment identifier value of ‘00’ may indicate that the received interrupt is a regular virtual interrupt. As another example, an interrupt direct assignment identifier value of ‘01’ may indicate that the received interrupt is a fast virtual interrupt,” ¶ 0038, and “In an aspect, a fast virtual interrupt may have priority over a normal virtual interrupt. When a fast virtual interrupt is identified, it may be assigned to a list register 308 designated for fast virtual interrupts,” ¶ 0051.
The claimed “data structure” is mapped to the disclosed two-bit data structure that determines whether the interrupts are virtual interrupts or physical interrupts (first digit), and fast virtual interrupts or normal (slow) interrupts (second digit).);
and (
Zeng discloses, “In an aspect the apparatus may implement a virtual interrupt direct assignment upon receiving an interrupt by the interrupt distributor 200. The interrupt distributor 220 may check whether the HLOS Guest's interrupt controller hypervisor hardware running on a processor 102 (having a P_INDEX value) has any available associated list registers 308,” ¶ 0050.),
accessing the fast path eligibility indicator from the data structure corresponding to the interrupt (
Zeng discloses, “The VMM software may repeatedly poll the ICH_AssignDisableSatuts of the direct assignment control register 300 for the processor 102 until its value changes to signify availability in the list register 308, such as by having a value of ‘1.’,” ¶ 0052. This is further illustrated in the above FIG. 5.),
and routing the interrupt through the first processing path or the second processing path based on the fast path eligibility indicator corresponding to the interrupt (
Zeng discloses, “An aspect method in which the priority of the interrupt comprises a fast interrupt and a normal interrupt, and in which routing the interrupt to the high level operating system guest virtual machine further includes routing the interrupt to a first interrupt interface dedicated for fast virtual interrupts when the interrupt is the fast interrupt, and routing the interrupt to a second interrupt interface dedicated for normal virtual interrupts when the interrupt is the normal interrupt,” ¶ 0005.).
Zeng does not teach receiving the interrupt from the hardware device at an assembly code processing system of the hypervisor.
However, Allen teaches receiving the interrupt from the hardware device at an assembly code processing system of the hypervisor (
Allen discloses, “The hypervisor modifies 504 the one or more instructions to cause data structure access to be performed by the hypervisor or associated entity. Accordingly, the one or more instructions may not access the data structure directly or modify the data structure without the access or modification being tracked or facilitated by the hypervisor. Access or modification of the data structure is instead performed by the hypervisor or associated entity. The one or more instructions may be configured or ‘patched’ with a hypercall or an indirect jump to the hypervisor. Further, an assembly language-based execution trap, exception, fault, abort or interrupt may be used to modify the one or more instructions and cause access to the data structure to be performed by the hypervisor upon calling the one or more instructions,” Col 10, Lines 1-14.
It can be seen that Allen’s hypervisor, that receives an assembly language-based interrupt, contains an assembly code processing system.).
Zeng and Allen are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of computer processors. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zeng to incorporate the teachings of Allen provide receiving the interrupt from the hardware device at an assembly code processing system of the hypervisor. Doing so would help provide increased performance from using assembly language, which would take less time than using a high-level language to perform the same task, and/or potentially have access to features unavailable for high-level languages.
Regarding Claim 2, Zeng in view of Allen teaches the computing system of claim 1, wherein the assembly code processing system performs the second set of processing operations in the second processing path and to inject the interrupt into the operating system, bypassing the first processing path, based on the fast path eligibility indicator corresponding to the interrupt (
Zeng discloses, “An aspect method in which the priority of the interrupt comprises a fast interrupt and a normal interrupt, and in which routing the interrupt to the high level operating system guest virtual machine further includes routing the interrupt to a first interrupt interface dedicated for fast virtual interrupts when the interrupt is the fast interrupt, and routing the interrupt to a second interrupt interface dedicated for normal virtual interrupts when the interrupt is the normal interrupt,” ¶ 0005, and “In an aspect, a fast virtual interrupt may have priority over a normal virtual interrupt. When a fast virtual interrupt is identified, … interrupts already listed in the list register 308 may be shifted to allow for the fast virtual interrupt to be within the structure of the list register 308, for example a linked list, such that the fast virtual interrupt may be processed sooner than the normal virtual interrupts in the list register 308,” ¶ 0051.
This is “bypassing the first processing path” because fast interrupts are moved to the top/prioritized position ahead of normal interrupts, belonging to the first processing path, in a linked list.).
Regarding Claim 10, Zeng teaches a computer-implemented method, comprising: identifying state information corresponding to an interrupt (
Zeng discloses, “Continuing with the example illustrated in FIG. 2, the interrupt distributor 200 may retrieve the interrupt direct assignment identifier 206 and use the value to determine the type of interrupt. For example, an interrupt direct assignment identifier value of ‘00’ may indicate that the received interrupt is a regular virtual interrupt. As another example, an interrupt direct assignment identifier value of ‘01’ may indicate that the received interrupt is a fast virtual interrupt. As another example, an interrupt direct assignment identifier value of ‘10’ may indicate that the received interrupt is a physical interrupt. As another example, an interrupt direct assignment identifier value of ‘11’ may indicate that the received interrupt is an unrecognized signal,” ¶ 0038, and “The direct assignment control register 300 may also store an interrupt controller hypervisor direct assignment disable status value (ICH_AssignDisableSatuts), which may indicate whether there is an available hardware register to accept an interrupt via the virtual interrupt direct assignment. The direct assignment control register 300 may be part of the interrupt controller 104, part of the interrupt distributor 200,” ¶ 0045, and “The interrupt controller 104 may also include interrupt lists in the form of the list registers 308 which, when they have an open spot, accept the virtual normal and fast interrupts assigned to the HLOS Guest by the interrupt distributor 200 and routed by the from the interrupt distributor interface 310. The list registers 308 may store the interrupt numbers in interrupt controller hypervisor list register structures (ICH_LRn),” ¶ 0048.
The claimed “state information” is mapped to state of whether the interrupt is a virtual interrupt or not. This is further illustrated in the above FIG. 2.
As seen in the disclosures for paragraphs 45 and 48, the interrupt distributor that identifies state information is associated with the hypervisor.);
generating a fast path eligibility indicator corresponding to the interrupt based on the state information (
Zeng discloses, “the interrupt distributor 200 may retrieve the interrupt direct assignment identifier 206 and use the value to determine the type of interrupt. For example, an interrupt direct assignment identifier value of ‘00’ may indicate that the received interrupt is a regular virtual interrupt. As another example, an interrupt direct assignment identifier value of ‘01’ may indicate that the received interrupt is a fast virtual interrupt,” ¶ 0038.
The claimed “fast path eligibility indicator” is mapped to the second digit of the disclosed “interrupt direct assignment identifier value”, which determines whether the virtual interrupt is a fast interrupt, or a normal (slow) interrupt. This is further illustrated in the above FIG. 2.);
storing the state information and the fast path eligibility indicator in a data structure corresponding to the interrupt (
Zeng discloses, “In an aspect, a fast virtual interrupt may have priority over a normal virtual interrupt. When a fast virtual interrupt is identified, it may be assigned to a list register 308 designated for fast virtual interrupts,” ¶ 0051.
The claimed “data structure” is mapped to the disclosed two-bit data structure that determines whether the interrupts are virtual interrupts or physical interrupts (first digit), and fast virtual interrupts or normal (slow) interrupts (second digit).);
receiving the interrupt, from a hardware device, (
Zeng discloses, “In an aspect the apparatus may implement a virtual interrupt direct assignment upon receiving an interrupt by the interrupt distributor 200. The interrupt distributor 220 may check whether the HLOS Guest's interrupt controller hypervisor hardware running on a processor 102 (having a P_INDEX value) has any available associated list registers 308,” ¶ 0050, and “To manage interrupts in such implementations, conventional systems may use a virtual machine monitor or hypervisor software to route secure interrupts to the appropriate virtual machine or processor,” ¶ 0024, “In an aspect, a fast virtual interrupt may have priority over a normal virtual interrupt. When a fast virtual interrupt is identified, it may be assigned to a list register 308 designated for fast virtual interrupts. Alternatively, interrupts already listed in the list register 308 may be shifted to allow for the fast virtual interrupt to be within the structure of the list register 308, for example a linked list, such that the fast virtual interrupt may be processed sooner than the normal virtual interrupts in the list register 308,” ¶ 0051, and “The operations of a method or algorithm disclosed herein may be embodied in a processor-executable software module that may reside on a non-transitory computer-readable or processor-readable storage medium. Non-transitory computer-readable or processor-readable storage media may be any storage media that may be accessed by a computer or a processor,” ¶ 0073.
The claimed “first processing path representing a first set of processing operations” is mapped to the path of interrupts before the first normal interrupt, e.g., interrupts in the linked list before the first normal interrupt.
The claimed “second processing path representing a second set of processing operations” is mapped to the path of interrupts before the first fast interrupt, e.g., interrupts in the linked list before the first fast interrupt. The reason why this is smaller is because fast interrupts are placed ahead of normal interrupts in the linked list, so it will take less operations for the fast interrupts to be routed compared to the normal interrupts.);
accessing, (
Zeng discloses, “The VMM software may repeatedly poll the ICH_AssignDisableSatuts of the direct assignment control register 300 for the processor 102 until its value changes to signify availability in the list register 308, such as by having a value of ‘1.’,” ¶ 0052. This is further illustrated in the above FIG. 5.);
routing the interrupt, with the assembly code processing system, through the first processing path or the second processing path based on the fast path eligibility indicator corresponding to the interrupt (
Zeng discloses, “An aspect method in which the priority of the interrupt comprises a fast interrupt and a normal interrupt, and in which routing the interrupt to the high level operating system guest virtual machine further includes routing the interrupt to a first interrupt interface dedicated for fast virtual interrupts when the interrupt is the fast interrupt, and routing the interrupt to a second interrupt interface dedicated for normal virtual interrupts when the interrupt is the normal interrupt,” ¶ 0005.);
and injecting the interrupt into an operating system (
Zeng discloses, “The interrupt controller 104 may also include interrupt lists in the form of the list registers 308 which, when they have an open spot, accept the virtual normal and fast interrupts assigned to the HLOS Guest by the interrupt distributor 200 and routed by the from the interrupt distributor interface 310. The list registers 308 may store the interrupt numbers in interrupt controller hypervisor list register structures (ICH_LRn),” ¶ 0048.).
Zeng does not teach using an assembly code processing system of the hypervisor to receive the interrupt or access the fast path eligibility indicator from the data structure corresponding to the interrupt.
However, Allen teaches using an assembly code processing system of the hypervisor to receive the interrupt or access the fast path eligibility indicator from the data structure corresponding to the interrupt (
Allen discloses, “The hypervisor modifies 504 the one or more instructions to cause data structure access to be performed by the hypervisor or associated entity. Accordingly, the one or more instructions may not access the data structure directly or modify the data structure without the access or modification being tracked or facilitated by the hypervisor. Access or modification of the data structure is instead performed by the hypervisor or associated entity. The one or more instructions may be configured or ‘patched’ with a hypercall or an indirect jump to the hypervisor. Further, an assembly language-based execution trap, exception, fault, abort or interrupt may be used to modify the one or more instructions and cause access to the data structure to be performed by the hypervisor upon calling the one or more instructions,” Col 10, Lines 1-14.
It can be seen that Allen’s hypervisor, that receives an assembly language-based interrupt, contains an assembly code processing system. After the combination of Zeng with Allen, the operations to receive the interrupt or access the fast path eligibility indicator from the data structure corresponding to the interrupt are done using the assembly code processing system from Allen.).
Zeng and Allen are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of computer processors. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zeng to incorporate the teachings of Allen and using an assembly code processing system of the hypervisor to receive the interrupt or access the fast path eligibility indicator from the data structure corresponding to the interrupt. Doing so would help provide increased performance from using assembly language to process the interrupt, which would take less time than using a high-level language to perform the same task.
Regarding Claim 11, Zeng in view of Allen teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 10, wherein routing the interrupt comprises: identifying the second processing path based on the fast path eligibility indicator corresponding to the interrupt (
Zeng discloses, “the interrupt distributor 200 may retrieve the interrupt direct assignment identifier 206 and use the value to determine the type of interrupt. For example, an interrupt direct assignment identifier value of ‘00’ may indicate that the received interrupt is a regular virtual interrupt. As another example, an interrupt direct assignment identifier value of ‘01’ may indicate that the received interrupt is a fast virtual interrupt,” ¶ 0038.);
and performing the second set of processing operations in the second processing path with the assembly code processing system, bypassing the first processing paths and wherein injecting the interrupt comprises injecting the interrupt into the operating system with the assembly code processing system (
Zeng discloses, “And, because the interrupt direct assignment identifier has the value of ‘00’ or ‘01’ the interrupt controller 104 knows that the interrupt is owned by the HLOS Guest 110 by virtue of being a virtual interrupt. Therefore, the interrupt controller 104 may bypass sending the interrupt to the VMM 114 to determine the owner of and route the interrupt,” ¶ 0039, and “In an aspect, a fast virtual interrupt may have priority over a normal virtual interrupt. When a fast virtual interrupt is identified, it may be assigned to a list register 308 designated for fast virtual interrupts. Alternatively, interrupts already listed in the list register 308 may be shifted to allow for the fast virtual interrupt to be within the structure of the list register 308, for example a linked list, such that the fast virtual interrupt may be processed sooner than the normal virtual interrupts in the list register 308,” ¶ 0051. Either the list register 308 can be designated for fast interrupts, or the fast interrupts can be moved to the head of the linked list, bypassing the normal (slow) interrupts that are part of the first processing path.
Allen teaches the interrupt could be injected by the assembly code processing system, as Allen states, “The hypervisor modifies 504 the one or more instructions to cause data structure access to be performed by the hypervisor or associated entity. … an assembly language-based execution trap, exception, fault, abort or interrupt may be used to modify the one or more instructions and cause access to the data structure to be performed by the hypervisor upon calling the one or more instructions,” Col 10, Lines 1-14.
After the combination of Zeng with Allen, the assembly code processing system from Allen is used to write the interrupt information into the linked list-based register from Zeng.).
Zeng and Allen are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of computer processors. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zeng to incorporate the teachings of Allen and provide wherein routing the interrupt comprises: identifying the second processing path based on the fast path eligibility indicator corresponding to the interrupt; and performing the second set of processing operations in the second processing path with the assembly code processing system, bypassing the first processing paths and wherein injecting the interrupt comprises injecting the interrupt into the operating system with the assembly code processing system. Doing so would help provide increased performance from using assembly language to process the interrupt, which would take less time than using a high-level language to perform the same task).
Regarding Claim 12, Zeng in view of Allen teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 10, wherein routing the interrupt comprises: identifying the first processing path based on the fast path eligibility indicator corresponding to the interrupt (
Zeng discloses, “the interrupt distributor 200 may retrieve the interrupt direct assignment identifier 206 and use the value to determine the type of interrupt. For example, an interrupt direct assignment identifier value of ‘00’ may indicate that the received interrupt is a regular virtual interrupt. As another example, an interrupt direct assignment identifier value of ‘01’ may indicate that the received interrupt is a fast virtual interrupt,” ¶ 0038.);
and performing the first set of processing operations in the first processing path with the hypervisor system and wherein injecting the interrupt comprises injecting the interrupt into the operating system with the assembly code processing system (
Zeng discloses, “The interrupt controller 104 may also include interrupt lists in the form of the list registers 308 which, when they have an open spot, accept the virtual normal and fast interrupts assigned to the HLOS Guest by the interrupt distributor 200 and routed by the from the interrupt distributor interface 310. The list registers 308 may store the interrupt numbers in interrupt controller hypervisor list register structures (ICH_LRn),” ¶ 0048.
Allen teaches the interrupt could be injected by the assembly code processing system, as Allen states, “The hypervisor modifies 504 the one or more instructions to cause data structure access to be performed by the hypervisor or associated entity. … an assembly language-based execution trap, exception, fault, abort or interrupt may be used to modify the one or more instructions and cause access to the data structure to be performed by the hypervisor upon calling the one or more instructions,” Col 10, Lines 1-14.
After the combination of Zeng with Allen, the assembly code processing system from Allen is used to write the interrupt information into the register from Zeng).
Zeng and Allen are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of computer processors. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zeng to incorporate the teachings of Allen and provide injecting the interrupt into the operating system with the assembly code processing system. Doing so would help provide increased performance from using assembly language to process the interrupt, which would take less time than using a high-level language to perform the same task.
Regarding Claim 20, Zeng teaches a computer system comprising: a processor (
Zeng discloses, “The various aspects described above may also be implemented within a variety of mobile devices, such as a laptop computer 800 illustrated in FIG. 8… A laptop computer 800 will typically include a processor 811 coupled to volatile memory 812 and a large capacity nonvolatile memory, such as a disk drive 813 of Flash memory,” ¶ 0067.);
and a computer-readable storage medium having stored thereon computer-executable instructions representing a hypervisor that includes an interrupt state processor, a fast path eligibility processor, (
Zeng discloses, “To manage interrupts in such implementations, conventional systems may use a virtual machine monitor or hypervisor software to route secure interrupts to the appropriate virtual machine or processor,” ¶ 0024, and “The operations of a method or algorithm disclosed herein may be embodied in a processor-executable software module that may reside on a non-transitory computer-readable or processor-readable storage medium. Non-transitory computer-readable or processor-readable storage media may be any storage media that may be accessed by a computer or a processor,” ¶ 0073.):
at the hypervisor, receive an interrupt from a hardware device (
Zeng discloses, “In an aspect a virtual interrupt direct assignment method and apparatus can alleviate slowdowns in secure interrupt response time caused by an overhead associated with virtual machine monitor (VMM) or hypervisor software routing of secure interrupts to an appropriate virtual machine/processor,” ¶ 0025, and “The interrupt controller 104 may include an interrupt distributor 200, which may be configured to determine the type of interrupt received from an interrupt source 202, such as hardware or software of the mobile device,” ¶ 0033.);
at the interrupt state processor, identify state information corresponding to the interrupt (
Zeng discloses, “Continuing with the example illustrated in FIG. 2, the interrupt distributor 200 may retrieve the interrupt direct assignment identifier 206 and use the value to determine the type of interrupt. For example, an interrupt direct assignment identifier value of ‘00’ may indicate that the received interrupt is a regular virtual interrupt. As another example, an interrupt direct assignment identifier value of ‘01’ may indicate that the received interrupt is a fast virtual interrupt. As another example, an interrupt direct assignment identifier value of ‘10’ may indicate that the received interrupt is a physical interrupt. As another example, an interrupt direct assignment identifier value of ‘11’ may indicate that the received interrupt is an unrecognized signal,” ¶ 0038, and “The direct assignment control register 300 may also store an interrupt controller hypervisor direct assignment disable status value (ICH_AssignDisableSatuts), which may indicate whether there is an available hardware register to accept an interrupt via the virtual interrupt direct assignment. The direct assignment control register 300 may be part of the interrupt controller 104, part of the interrupt distributor 200,” ¶ 0045, and “The interrupt controller 104 may also include interrupt lists in the form of the list registers 308 which, when they have an open spot, accept the virtual normal and fast interrupts assigned to the HLOS Guest by the interrupt distributor 200 and routed by the from the interrupt distributor interface 310. The list registers 308 may store the interrupt numbers in interrupt controller hypervisor list register structures (ICH_LRn),” ¶ 0048.
The claimed “state information” is mapped to state of whether the interrupt is a virtual interrupt or not. This is further illustrated in the above FIG. 2.
As seen in the disclosures for paragraphs 45 and 48, the interrupt distributor that identifies state information is associated with the hypervisor.);
at the fast path eligibility processor, generate a fast path eligibility indicator corresponding to the interrupt based on the state information (
Zeng discloses, “the interrupt distributor 200 may retrieve the interrupt direct assignment identifier 206 and use the value to determine the type of interrupt. For example, an interrupt direct assignment identifier value of ‘00’ may indicate that the received interrupt is a regular virtual interrupt. As another example, an interrupt direct assignment identifier value of ‘01’ may indicate that the received interrupt is a fast virtual interrupt,” ¶ 0038.
The claimed “fast path eligibility indicator” is mapped to the second digit of the disclosed “interrupt direct assignment identifier value”, which determines whether the virtual interrupt is a fast interrupt, or a normal (slow) interrupt. This is further illustrated in the above FIG. 2.);
store the state information and the fast path eligibility indicator in a data structure corresponding to the interrupt (
Zeng discloses, “the interrupt distributor 200 may retrieve the interrupt direct assignment identifier 206 and use the value to determine the type of interrupt. For example, an interrupt direct assignment identifier value of ‘00’ may indicate that the received interrupt is a regular virtual interrupt. As another example, an interrupt direct assignment identifier value of ‘01’ may indicate that the received interrupt is a fast virtual interrupt,” ¶ 0038, and “In an aspect, a fast virtual interrupt may have priority over a normal virtual interrupt. When a fast virtual interrupt is identified, it may be assigned to a list register 308 designated for fast virtual interrupts,” ¶ 0051.
The claimed “data structure” is mapped to the disclosed two-bit data structure that determines whether the interrupts are virtual interrupts or physical interrupts (first digit), and fast virtual interrupts or normal (slow) interrupts (second digit).);
and (
Zeng discloses, “The VMM software may repeatedly poll the ICH_AssignDisableSatuts of the direct assignment control register 300 for the processor 102 until its value changes to signify availability in the list register 308, such as by having a value of ‘1.’,” ¶ 0052. This is further illustrated in the above FIG. 5.), and either:
route the interrupt to a first set of processing components based on the fast path eligibility indicator, the first set of processing components performing a first set of processing operations on the interrupt prior to the interrupt being injected into an operating system (
Zeng discloses, “In an aspect, a fast virtual interrupt may have priority over a normal virtual interrupt. When a fast virtual interrupt is identified, it may be assigned to a list register 308 designated for fast virtual interrupts. Alternatively, interrupts already listed in the list register 308 may be shifted to allow for the fast virtual interrupt to be within the structure of the list register 308, for example a linked list, such that the fast virtual interrupt may be processed sooner than the normal virtual interrupts in the list register 308,” ¶ 0051.
The claimed “first set of processing components performing a first set of processing operations on the interrupt” is mapped to the set of components that process and route each of the fast interrupts in the linked list into the operating system, before it is the first normal interrupt’s turn to be processed and routed to the operating system.),
or route the interrupt to a second set of processing components based on the fast path eligibility indicator, the second set of processing components performing a second set of processing operations on the interrupt prior to the interrupt being injected into the operating system, the second set of processing components being a subset of the first set of processing components (
Zeng discloses, “In an aspect, a fast virtual interrupt may have priority over a normal virtual interrupt. When a fast virtual interrupt is identified, it may be assigned to a list register 308 designated for fast virtual interrupts. Alternatively, interrupts already listed in the list register 308 may be shifted to allow for the fast virtual interrupt to be within the structure of the list register 308, for example a linked list, such that the fast virtual interrupt may be processed sooner than the normal virtual interrupts in the list register 308,” ¶ 0051.
The claimed “second set of processing components performing a second set of processing operations on the interrupt” is mapped to the set of components that process and route each of the normal interrupts in the linked list into the operating system, before it is the first fast interrupt’s turn to be processed and routed to the operating system. The reason why this is a subset of the first set of processing components is that fast interrupts are given priority over normal interrupts, and thus will reach the head of the linked list sooner than normal interrupts.).
Zeng does not teach an assembly code processing system, nor does it teach access the fast path eligibility indicator from the data structure corresponding to the interrupt using the assembly code processing system.
However, Allen teaches an assembly code processing system, and accessing the fast path eligibility indicator from the data structure corresponding to the interrupt using the assembly code processing system (
Allen discloses, “The hypervisor modifies 504 the one or more instructions to cause data structure access to be performed by the hypervisor or associated entity. Accordingly, the one or more instructions may not access the data structure directly or modify the data structure without the access or modification being tracked or facilitated by the hypervisor. Access or modification of the data structure is instead performed by the hypervisor or associated entity. The one or more instructions may be configured or ‘patched’ with a hypercall or an indirect jump to the hypervisor. Further, an assembly language-based execution trap, exception, fault, abort or interrupt may be used to modify the one or more instructions and cause access to the data structure to be performed by the hypervisor upon calling the one or more instructions,” Col 10, Lines 1-14.
It can be seen that Allen’s hypervisor, that receives an assembly language-based interrupt, contains an assembly code processing system.).
Zeng and Allen are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of computer processors. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zeng to incorporate the teachings of Allen and provide an assembly code processing system, and accessing the fast path eligibility indicator from the data structure corresponding to the interrupt using the assembly code processing system. Doing so would help provide increased performance from using assembly language, which would take less time than using a high-level language to perform the same task, and/or potentially have access to features unavailable for high-level languages.
Claims 3-7, and 13-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng (US 20150127866 A1) in view of Allen (US 9507621 B1), and Singh (US 20240184556 A1).
Regarding Claim 3, Zeng in view of Allen teaches the computing system of claim 2. Zeng in view of Allen does not teach wherein the first processing path comprises a language translation system that: receives an assembly language representation of the interrupt from the assembly code processing system, and performs one of the first set of processing operations by generating a higher-level language representation of the interrupt in a language that is a higher-level language than assembly language.
However, Singh teaches wherein the first processing path comprises a language translation system that: receives an assembly language representation of the interrupt from the assembly code processing system, and performs one of the first set of processing operations by generating a higher-level language representation of the interrupt in a language that is a higher-level language than assembly language (
Singh discloses, “receiving first source code in assembly language …; for each of the plurality of code blocks: for each of the plurality of lines of assembly code in the code block, processing the line of assembly code using a first machine learning model to generate a natural language description of the line of assembly code; and processing the code block and the natural language descriptions of the plurality of lines of assembly code in the code block using a second machine learning model to generate a natural language description of the code block; and processing the natural language descriptions of the plurality of code blocks using a third machine learning model to generate a natural language description of the first source code,” ¶ 0008, and “the method further includes automatically generating second source code in a high-level programming language based on the natural language descriptions of the plurality of lines of assembly code in each of the plurality of code blocks, the natural language descriptions of the plurality of code blocks, and the natural language description of the first source code,” ¶ 0009.).
Zeng in view of Allen, and Singh are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of computer processors/assembly code. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zeng in view of Allen to incorporate the teachings of Singh and provide wherein the first processing path comprises a language translation system that: receives an assembly language representation of the interrupt from the assembly code processing system, and performs one of the first set of processing operations by generating a higher-level language representation of the interrupt in a language that is a higher-level language than assembly language. Doing so would help eliminate the need to manually translate the assembly code into a higher-level language (Singh discloses, “Accordingly, some or all source code of an application that is written in a lower-level programming language (e.g., assembly) can be translated from the lower-level programming language to a higher-level programming language, without requiring any human intervention,” ¶ 0005.). Doing so would also allow for better interfacing between the assembly code and high-level language code.
Regarding Claim 4, Zeng in view of Allen and Singh teaches the computing system of claim 3, wherein the first processing path comprises a management processing system that performs one of the first set of processing operations by performing a virtual processor management operation based on receiving the interrupt (
Zeng discloses, “In an aspect the apparatus may implement a virtual interrupt direct assignment upon receiving an interrupt by the interrupt distributor 200. The interrupt distributor 220 may check whether the HLOS Guest's interrupt controller hypervisor hardware running on a processor 102 (having a P_INDEX value) has any available associated list registers 308. When there is availability in the list register 308 associated with the processor 102 and the HLOS Guest, the interrupt distributor 200 may check the direct assignment identifier register 302 for the ICD_ASSIGNn value associated with the received interrupt. When the ICD_ASSIGNn value indicates that the interrupt is owned by the HLOS Guest, the interrupt distributor 200 may set the VirtualID value identifying the virtual interrupt to the ICH_LRn at the available spot in the list register 308. When the ICD_ASSIGNn value signifies a normal virtual interrupt, the Grp value ‘1’ may be set to the ICH_LRn to signify the normal virtual interrupt,” ¶ 0050.
The claimed “virtual processor management operation” is mapped to the disclosed direct assignment of a virtual interrupt to a list register.).
Regarding Claim 5, Zeng in view of Allen and Singh teaches the computing system of claim 4, further comprising a plurality of injection registers (
Zeng discloses, “Further, the interrupt controller 104 may include one or more direct assignment control registers 300, direct assignment identifier registers 302, control interfaces 304, processor interfaces 306, and list registers 308,” ¶ 0044.
The claimed “injection registers” is mapped to the disclosed “list registers 308” where the interrupts are assigned.),
wherein the assembly code processing system injects the interrupt into the operating system by writing interrupt information indicative of the interrupt into an allocated injection register that is allocated to the interrupt (
Zeng discloses, “The interrupt controller 104 may also include interrupt lists in the form of the list registers 308 which, when they have an open spot, accept the virtual normal and fast interrupts assigned to the HLOS Guest by the interrupt distributor 200 and routed by the from the interrupt distributor interface 310. The list registers 308 may store the interrupt numbers in interrupt controller hypervisor list register structures (ICH_LRn),” ¶ 0048.
Allen teaches the interrupt could be injected by the assembly code processing system, as Allen states, “The hypervisor modifies 504 the one or more instructions to cause data structure access to be performed by the hypervisor or associated entity. … an assembly language-based execution trap, exception, fault, abort or interrupt may be used to modify the one or more instructions and cause access to the data structure to be performed by the hypervisor upon calling the one or more instructions,” Col 10, Lines 1-14.
After the combination of Zeng with Allen, the assembly code processing system from Allen is used to write the interrupt information into the register from Zeng.).
Zeng and Allen are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of computer processors. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zeng to incorporate the teachings of Allen provide using the assembly code processing system to inject the interrupt into the operating system. Doing so would help provide increased performance from using assembly language to process the interrupt, which would take less time than using a high-level language to perform the same task, and/or potentially have access to features unavailable for high-level languages.
Regarding Claim 6, Zeng in view of Allen and Singh teaches the computing system of claim 5, wherein the first processing path comprises the interrupt management processing system that performs one of the first set of processing operations by allocating the interrupt to one of the plurality of injection registers (
Zeng discloses, “In an aspect the apparatus may implement a virtual interrupt direct assignment upon receiving an interrupt by the interrupt distributor 200. The interrupt distributor 220 may check whether the HLOS Guest's interrupt controller hypervisor hardware running on a processor 102 (having a P_INDEX value) has any available associated list registers 308. When there is availability in the list register 308 associated with the processor 102 and the HLOS Guest, the interrupt distributor 200 may check the direct assignment identifier register 302 for the ICD_ASSIGNn value associated with the received interrupt. W