DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-14 and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Durazzo et al. (US PG Pub No. 2021/0406151 A1) in view of Dhand et al. (US PG Pub No. 2022/0391571 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Durazzo teaches a method comprising:
obtaining telemetry data from resources available for executing a quantum job ([0010]; Fig 308, “Check Resource Availability”; [0047]);
performing a runtime prediction for each of the quantum
generating an execution plan by optimizing use of the resources based on the telemetry data and the runtime characteristics (Fig 2, 306, “Generate Recommendation”; [0046]); and
executing each of the quantum
Durazzo does not teach performing a cutting operation to cut a quantum circuit included in the quantum job into quantum subcircuits; and performing a runtime prediction and executing each of the quantum subcircuits.
Dhand teaches dividing or slicing quantum circuits into subcircuits for execution ([0034]; [0090]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to perform a cutting operation to cut a quantum circuit into quantum subcircuits; and performing a runtime prediction and executing each of the quantum subcircuits. One would be motivated by the desire to allow for parallel computation of the quantum circuit as taught by Dhand ([0035]).
Regarding claim 2, Durazzo teaches further comprising determining whether to proceed with cutting the quantum subcircuits based on criteria associated with executing the quantum circuit and performing the runtime prediction on the quantum circuit to generate corresponding runtime characteristics for the quantum circuit ([0046]).
Regarding claim 3, Durazzo teaches wherein the criteria include determining whether sufficient resources to execute the quantum circuit within boundaries of associated service level objectives are available and whether performing the cutting operation improves an overall performance of orchestrating execution of the quantum circuit ([0041]).
Regarding claim 4, Durazzo teaches wherein the runtime prediction is configured to predict an amount of resources and an execution time for executing each of the quantum subcircuits ([0010]; Fig 2, 304, “Estimate Runtime Statistics”; [0034]).
Regarding claim 6, Dhand further comprising deploying the quantum subcircuits to a quantum system for sequential execution of the quantum subcircuits or to multiple quantum systems for at least partially parallel execution of the quantum subcircuits ([0057]).
Regarding claim 7, Durazzo teaches further comprising accounting for service level objectives associated with the quantum job ([0027]).
Regarding claim 8, Durazzo teaches wherein the service level objectives include time, budget, and/or accuracy ([0027]).
Regarding claim 9, Durazzo teaches wherein the resources include classical computing resources, simulated quantum computing resources, and/or quantum computing resources ([0047]; [0027]).
Regarding claim 10, Durazzo teaches further comprising: generating the execution plan based on current telemetry data, the runtime characteristics, and service level objectives associated with the quantum circuit (Fig 2, 306, “Generate Recommendation”; [0046]; [0027]); knitting outputs generated by executing the quantum subcircuits; and providing an output of the quantum circuit to a hybrid application ([0031]).
Regarding claims 11-14 and 16-20, they are the medium claims of claims 1-4 and 6-10 above. Therefore, they are rejected for the same reasons as claims 1-4 and 6-10 above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Eric C Wai/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2195