DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendment filed 02/02/2026 is accepted and entered.
Applicant's arguments filed 02/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant alleges that Edgar does not teach or suggest a visualization that comprises a time-lapse animation of a 3D model of the skin with skin condition features mapped onto the 3D model to visualize changes in skin condition over time. However, ¶ [0135-0139] of Edgar indicates that a global map of the skin is assembled, and that “the computer map tracks the skeletal structure of a human body, bone by bone and joint by joint, from images captured by the wide-angle cameras 70” with small surface skin features “referenced by their position relative to underlying bone structure, in whatever way that bone structure moves, so that a frexel, or area of skin, keeps a constant position relative to this complex system even during active motion of the body” (¶ [0139]). The computer map, showing a stable frexel while the rest of the body moves, can be considered a time-lapse animation of a 3D model of the skin. Additionally, the frexel itself can be considered a 3D spatial coordinate, with the skeletal system being the 3D coordinate space that the coordinate is located relative to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-8, 10-15, 17-19, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Edgar et al (US 2008/0219528).
Regarding Claim 1, Edgar discloses a personal care system (¶ [0055-0058]) comprising:
an applicator (2, Fig. 1) including a body (4a/4b, Fig. 1) and an applicator surface (inkjet printer head 8, Fig. 1) coupled to the body (4a/4b, Fig. 1), wherein the applicator surface (8, Fig. 1) is configured to apply a formula to the skin (¶ [0154]);
a position sensor module (combination of wide-angle cameras 70 and accelerometers 72, Fig. 2);
a skin condition sensor module (high-res camera 16, Fig. 1);
a processor (¶ [0042-0043]; computers inherently have a processor); and
memory having stored therein computer-executable instructions configured to cause the personal care system to perform steps comprising (¶ [0042-0043]; software on the computer stores the information for running the program):
obtaining, via the position sensor module (combination of wide-angle cameras 70 and accelerometers 72, Fig. 2), position sensor data (¶ [0109-0137, 0150-0154]; images and acceleration data are obtained);
calculating, based on the position sensor data, a position of the applicator on the skin (¶ [0109-0137, 0150-0154]);
applying a treatment to the skin at the calculated position (¶ [0154-0155]);
determining treatment characteristics of the treatment applied to the skin at the calculated position (¶ [0142-0148]; the treatment characteristics are determined by the software based on the user’s input or automatically);
obtaining, via the skin condition sensor module (16, Fig. 1), skin condition sensor data (¶ [0121]);
determining, based on the skin condition sensor data, skin condition information at the calculated position (¶ [0121]; textural variations/skinmarks are obtained from the images);
storing the calculated position, the treatment characteristics, and the skin condition information (¶ [0043, 0136-0137, 0190, 0196-0203]; treatment characteristics and skin condition information will be stored at least temporarily during use of the system to ensure that the correct enhancements are applied to the user’s face in the correct locations); and
generating a visualization of changes in skin condition over time based at least in part on the stored calculated position, the stored treatment characteristics, and the stored skin condition information (¶ [0135-0139]), wherein the visualization comprises a time-lapse animation of a 3D model of the skin with skin condition features mapped onto the 3D model to visualize changes in skin condition over time (¶ [0135-0139]; the computer map tracks the skeletal structure of the body, and skin features are referenced based on underlying bone structure, so that a frexel keeps a constant position over time in the computer map; this computer map can be interpreted as a time-lapse animation).
Regarding Claim 10, Edgar discloses a method performed by a computer system comprising one or more processors and memory, the method comprising, by the one or more processors (¶ [0042-0043]):
obtaining position sensor data (¶ [0109-0137, 0150-0154]; images and acceleration data are obtained);
calculating, based on the position sensor data, a position of an applicator on the skin (¶ [0109-0137, 0150-0154]);
determining treatment characteristics of a treatment applied to the skin at the calculated position (¶ [0142-0148]; the treatment characteristics are determined by the software based on the user’s input or automatically);
obtaining skin condition sensor data (¶ [0121]);
determining, based on the skin condition sensor data, skin condition information of the skin at the calculated position (¶ [0121]; textural variations/skinmarks are obtained from the images);
storing the calculated position, the treatment characteristics, and the skin condition information (¶ [0043, 0136-0137, 0190, 0196-0203]; treatment characteristics and skin condition information will be stored at least temporarily during use of the system to ensure that the correct enhancements are applied to the user’s face in the correct locations); and
generating a visualization of changes in skin condition over time based at least in part on the stored calculated position, the stored treatment characteristics, and the stored skin condition information (¶ [0135-0139]), wherein the visualization comprises a time-lapse animation of a 3D model of the skin with skin condition features mapped onto the 3D model to visualize changes in skin condition over time (¶ [0135-0139]; the computer map tracks the skeletal structure of the body, and skin features are referenced based on underlying bone structure, so that a frexel keeps a constant position over time in the computer map; this computer map can be interpreted as a time-lapse animation).
Regarding Claim 18, Edgar discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon computer-executable instructions configured to cause one or more processors of a computer system to perform steps comprising (¶ [0042-0043]):
obtaining position sensor data (¶ [0109-0137, 0150-0154]; images and acceleration data are obtained);
calculating, based on the position sensor data, a position of an applicator relative to skin of a user (¶ [0109-0137, 0150-0154]);
determining treatment characteristics of a treatment applied to the skin at the calculated position (¶ [0142-0148]; the treatment characteristics are determined by the software based on the user’s input or automatically);
obtaining skin condition sensor data (¶ [0121]);
determining, based on the skin condition sensor data, skin condition information of the skin at the calculated position (¶ [0121]; textural variations/skinmarks are obtained from the images);
storing the calculated position, the treatment characteristics, and the skin condition information (¶ [0043, 0136-0137, 0190, 0196-0203]; treatment characteristics and skin condition information will be stored at least temporarily during use of the system to ensure that the correct enhancements are applied to the user’s face in the correct locations); and
generating a visualization of changes in skin condition over time based at least in part on the stored calculated position, the stored treatment characteristics, and the stored skin condition information (¶ [0135-0139]), wherein the visualization comprises a time-lapse animation of a 3D model of the skin with skin condition features mapped onto the 3D model to visualize changes in skin condition over time (¶ [0135-0139]; the computer map tracks the skeletal structure of the body, and skin features are referenced based on underlying bone structure, so that a frexel keeps a constant position over time in the computer map; this computer map can be interpreted as a time-lapse animation).
Regarding Claim 3, Edgar discloses the position sensor module includes a camera and an accelerometer (wide-angle cameras 70 and accelerometers 72, Fig. 2; ¶ [0088-0097]).
Regarding Claims 4 and 12, Edgar discloses the treatment characteristics include a timestamp (¶ [0137]; in order to properly track the skin over time, some sort of timestamp would be needed to properly sort the images and properly track the progression of the skin).
Regarding Claims 5 and 13, Edgar discloses the treatment characteristics further include an identifier of a dispensed formula, a quantity of the dispensed formula, or a combination thereof (¶ [0042-0043, 0144]; the type and amount of RMA formula dispensed is based on the user’s desired enhancements; for example, if the skin is severely blemished different colors or amounts of RMA may be required to camouflage the blemishes than the colors/amounts of RMA needed in non-blemished areas).
Regarding Claims 6 and 14, Edgar discloses the treatment characteristics further include an intensity of treatment, a wavelength of treatment, a duration of treatment, or a combination thereof (¶ [0042-0043, 0144]; the type and amount of RMA formula dispensed is based on the user’s desired enhancements; for example, if the skin is severely blemished different colors or amounts of RMA may be required to camouflage the blemishes than the colors/amounts of RMA needed in non-blemished areas; the amount of treatment can also be interpreted as an intensity of treatment).
Regarding Claims 7 and 11, Edgar discloses the skin condition information comprises an image of the skin at the calculated location (¶ [0121]).
Regarding Claims 8 and 15, Edgar discloses the computer-executable instructions are further configured to cause the personal care system to compare the determined skin condition information with a baseline condition and adjust one or more treatments based on the comparison (¶ [0042-0043, 0144]; camouflaging blemishes requires detection of blemishes which requires comparison to a baseline scan to detect features that were not previously there, and treatment is adjusted based on the severity/color/etc. of the blemish).
Regarding Claim 17, Edgar discloses further comprising obtaining a recommendation from a recommendation engine or adjusting one or more treatments based on an analysis of the stored information (¶ [0142-0148]).
Regarding Claim 19, Edgar discloses the stored skin condition information comprises an image of the skin at the calculated location (¶ [0121]), and wherein the stored treatment characteristics include a timestamp (¶ [0137]; in order to properly track the skin over time, some sort of timestamp would be needed to properly sort the images and properly track the progression of the skin) and one or more of an identifier of a dispensed formula, a quantity of the dispensed formula, an intensity of treatment, a wavelength of treatment, or a duration of treatment (¶ [0042-0043, 0144]; the type and amount of RMA formula dispensed is based on the user’s desired enhancements; for example, if the skin is severely blemished different colors or amounts of RMA may be required to camouflage the blemishes than the colors/amounts of RMA needed in non-blemished areas; the amount of treatment can also be interpreted as an intensity of treatment).
Regarding Claim 21, Edgar discloses the calculated position comprises 3D spatial coordinates in a 3D coordinate space (¶ [0135-0139]; the frexel can be considered the 3D spatial coordinates with the skeletal system the 3D coordinate space).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edgar et al (US 2008/0219528) in view of Amir et al (US 2018/0014777).
Regarding Claim 2, Edgar is silent whether the skin condition sensor module includes a skin hydration sensor, a skin elasticity sensor, or a combination thereof.
Amir teaches a skin treatment device, thus being in the same field of endeavor, with various sensors that can include a skin hydration sensor and a skin elasticity sensor (¶ [0059]). These sensors allow for a more customized treatment to be applied to the user’s face (¶ [0041, 0059]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the skin condition sensor module of Edgar to include a skin hydration sensor, a skin elasticity sensor, or a combination thereof, as taught by Amir, to allow for a more customized treatment to be applied to the user’s face that takes into account actual hydration and elasticity values of the user’s skin (as motivated by Amir ¶ [0041, 0059]).
Regarding Claim 9, Edgar is silent regarding one or more light sources, and wherein treatment comprises a light treatment or phototherapy treatment.
Amir teaches a light source and wherein treatment comprises a light treatment or phototherapy treatment (¶ [0015, 0027, 0044, 0063, 0146]). Skin treatment using light treatment or phototherapy is known in the art as a potential treatment for various skin issues (¶ [0044]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the device of Edgar to include one or more light sources, and wherein treatment comprises a light treatment or phototherapy treatment, as taught by Amir. Amir indicates that light or phototherapy treatments are known in the art to be used to treat skin conditions, and suggests utilizing light or laser treatment as a treatment modality (¶ [0015, 0027, 0044, 0063, 0146]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JESSICA ARBLE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781