DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Japan on 07/27/2022. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the JP2022-119623 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDSs) submitted on 06/30/2023 and 08/27/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings received on 06/30/2023 were reviewed and are acceptable.
Specification
The specification filed on 06/30/2023 was reviewed and is acceptable.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 7, 8, 9 and 10 are provisionally rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 5, 6 and 7 of copending Application No. 18/343,878 to Hashimoto et al. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because: application claim 1 is anticipated by patent claim 1 of Hashimoto et al.
Application claim 1 is anticipated by copending claim 1 of Hashimoto et al. Patent claim 1 of Hashimoto recites an electrode comprising: an active material layer, wherein the active material layer includes a composite particle and an imidazoline-based compound, the composite particle includes a core particle and a covering layer, the covering layer covers at least part of a surface of the core particle, the core particle includes an active material, the covering layer includes a first layer and a second layer, at least part of the first layer is interposed between the core particle and the second layer, the first layer includes a first solid electrolyte, the second layer includes a second solid electrolyte, the first solid electrolyte is a fluoride, and the second solid electrolyte is a sulfide.
Application claim 7 is anticipated by copending claim 4 of Hashimoto et al. Patent claim 4 of Hashimoto recites the electrode according to claim 1, wherein the first solid electrolyte is represented by a formula (2): Li6-nxMxF6 ... (2) where x satisfies 0<x<2, M is at least one selected from the group consisting of semimetal atoms and metal atoms except Li, and, n represents an oxidation number of M.
Application claim 8 is anticipated by copending claim 5 of Hashimoto et al. Patent claim 5 of Hashimoto recites the electrode according to claim 4, wherein M in the formula (1) includes an atom whose oxidation number is +4.
Application claim 9 is anticipated by copending claim 6 of Hashimoto et al. Patent claim 6 of Hashimoto recites the electrode according to claim 4, wherein M in the formula (1) includes an atom whose oxidation number is +3.
Application claim 10 is anticipated by copending claim 7 of Hashimoto et al. Patent claim 7 of Hashimoto recites the electrode according to claim 4, wherein M in the formula (1) includes at least one selected from the group consisting of Ca, Mg, Al, Y, Ti, and Zr.
Therefore, application claims 1, 4, 5, 6 and 7 of Hashimoto are in essence a “species” of the generic invention of copending application claims 1, 7, 8, 9 and 10 respectively. It has been held that a generic invention is “anticipated” by a “species” within the scope of the generic invention.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 5, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwasaki et al. (WO 2014/122520 A1), in view of Nakama et al. (US 2022/0416296 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Iwasaki et al. discloses an electrode material (a composite active material, Par. 0007, line 1) comprising: a composite particle (composite particles, Par. 0007, line 2), wherein the composite particle includes a core particle (active material particles, Par. 0007, line 3) and a covering layer, the covering layer covers at least part of a surface of the core particle (the oxide-based solid electrolyte coats all or part of a surface of each of the active material particles, Par. 0007, lines 6-7), the core particle includes an active material (active material particles, Par. 0007, lines 7), the covering layer includes a first layer and a second layer, at least part of the first layer is interposed between the core particle and the second layer, the first layer includes a first solid electrolyte, the second layer includes a second solid electrolyte, the first solid electrolyte is a fluoride, and the second solid electrolyte is a sulfide (the sulfide-based solid electrolyte further coating 76.0% or more of a surface of each of the composite particles, Par. 0007, lines 7-8).
Iwasaki et al. fails to mention the first layer containing a solid electrolyte that is a fluoride.
However, Nakama et al. discloses a solid electrolyte in the first layer of the positive electrode material containing fluorine (Par 0018, lines 3-7).
Iwasaki et al. and Nakama et al. are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely lithium battery electrodes.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Iwasaki to incorporate the teachings of Nakama to provide an electrode material comprising a composite particle, that includes a core particle where the first covering layer is a fluoride solid electrolyte and the second covering layer is a sulfide solid electrolyte. Doing so would suppress reaction degradation due to contact between active material particle and the sulfide based solid electrolyte, as recognized by Iwasaki.
Regarding claim 4, Iwasaki et al. in view of Nakama et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Iwasaki et al. fails to mention the electrode material according to claim 1, wherein the second layer further includes the first solid electrolyte and the active material in addition to the second solid electrolyte, and in the second layer, a volume fraction of the second solid electrolyte is more than a total volume fraction of the first solid electrolyte and the active material.
However, Nakama et al. mentions, directed to a positive electrode, it may include a second electrolyte material that is a material different from the first solid electrolyte Par. 0141, lines 2-4).
Nakama et al. further mentions, directed to a positive electrode, in the volume ratio “v1:100−v1” of the positive electrode material to the second electrolyte material included in the positive electrode, 30≤v1≤98 may be satisfied. Here, v1 represents, when the total volume of the positive electrode material and the second electrolyte material included in the positive electrode is defined as 100, the volume ratio of the positive electrode material (Par. 0247, lines 1-7).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Iwasaki to incorporate the teachings of Nakama to include the first solid electrolyte, the second solid electrolyte and the active material in a layer, where a volume fraction of the second solid electrolyte is more than that of the active material. Doing so would suppress an increase in internal resistance of the battery (Par. 0239, lines 1-3), as recognized by Nakama.
Regarding claim 5, Iwasaki et al. in view of Nakama et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Iwasaki et al. fails to mention that in the second layer, the first solid electrolyte is adhered to the active material.
However, Nakama et al. mentions, directed to a second layer, the first solid electrolyte (first electrolyte, Par. 0073, line 3) is adhered to the active material (may be provided between the positive electrode active material and the second electrolyte material, Par. 0073, lines 3-5).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Iwasaki to incorporate the teachings of Nakama to adhere the first solid electrolyte to the active material layer. Doing so would suppress oxidative decomposition of the second electrolyte material and the active material (Par. 0199, lines 3-6), as recognized by Nakama.
Regarding claim 7, Iwasaki et al. in view of Nakama et al., discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Iwasaki et al. fails to mention the electrode material according to claim 1, wherein the first solid electrolyte is represented by a formula (1): Li6-nxMxF6 ... (1) where x satisfies 0<x<2, M is at least one selected from the group consisting of semimetal atoms and metal atoms except Li, and, n represents an oxidation number of M.
However, Nakama et al. mentions the first solid electrolyte is represented by a formula (1):
Li6-nxMxF6 ... (1) (Li6-(4-2x1)b1(Ti1-x1 M1x1)F6 (Par. 0029)) where x satisfies 0<x<2 (where 0 <x1<1 (Par. 0030)), M is at least one selected from the group consisting of semimetal atoms metal atoms except Li (M1 is at least one element selected from the group consisting of Ca, Mg, Al, Y and Zr (Par. 0025)) and, n represents an oxidation number of M (and 0<b1<3 are satisfied (Par. 0030)).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Iwasaki to incorporate the teachings of Nakama to represent the first solid electrolyte by formula 1. Doing so would result in the first solid electrolyte exhibiting higher ion conductivity (Par. 0031, lines 2-3), as recognized by Nakama.
Regarding claim 8, Iwasaki et al. in view of Nakama et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Iwasaki et al. fails to mention the electrode material according to claim 7, wherein M in the formula (1) includes an atom whose oxidation number is +4.
However, Nakama et al. mentions the first solid electrolyte material includes Li, Ti, M1, and F, and the M1 is at least one element selected from the group consisting of Ca, Mg, Al, Y, and Zr. (Par. 0025). It is an inherent quality of Zirconium (Zr) to have an oxidation number of +4.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Iwasaki to incorporate the teachings of Nakama to include Zirconium as M in formula 1. Doing so would result in the first solid electrolyte exhibiting higher ion conductivity (Par. 0031, lines 2-3), as recognized by Nakama.
Regarding claim 9, Iwasaki et al. in view of Nakama et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Iwasaki et al. fails to mention the electrode material according to claim 7, wherein M in the formula (1) includes an atom whose oxidation number is +3.
However, Nakama et al. mentions the first solid electrolyte material includes Li, Ti, M1, and F, and the M1 is at least one element selected from the group consisting of Ca, Mg, Al, Y, and Zr. (Par. 0025). It is an inherent quality of Aluminum (Al), Zirconium (Zr) and Yttrium (Y) to have an oxidation number of +3.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Iwasaki to incorporate the teachings of Nakama to include Aluminum, Zirconium and Yttrium as M in formula 1. Doing so would result in the first solid electrolyte exhibiting higher ion conductivity (Par. 0031, lines 2-3), as recognized by Nakama.
Regarding claim 10, Iwasaki et al. in view of Nakama et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Iwasaki et al. fails to mention the electrode material according to claim 7, wherein M in the formula (1) includes at least one selected from the group consisting of Ca, Mg, Al, Y, Ti, and Zr.
However, Nakama et al. mentions the first solid electrolyte material includes Li, Ti, M1, and F, and the M1 is at least one element selected from the group consisting of Ca, Mg, Al, Y, and Zr. (Par. 0025).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Iwasaki to incorporate the teachings of Nakama to include the aforementioned elements as M in formula 1. Doing so would result in the first solid electrolyte exhibiting higher ion conductivity (Par. 0031, lines 2-3), as recognized by Nakama.
Regarding claim 11, Iwasaki et al. in view of Nakama et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Iwasaki et al. fails to mention an electrode comprising the electrode material according to claim 1.
However, Nakama et al. mentions a positive electrode material comprising a positive electrode material (Par. 0005).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Iwasaki to incorporate the teachings of Nakama to include the aforementioned electrode material in an electrode. Doing so would result in suppressing the increase in internal resistance of a battery during charge (Par. 0010), as recognized by Nakama.
Regarding claim 12, Iwasaki et al. in view of Nakama et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Iwasaki et al. fails to mention an all-solid-state battery comprising the electrode according to claim 11.
However, Nakama et al. mentions a battery (Par. 0075) that includes: a positive electrode including the positive electrode material according to any one of the first to twenty-second aspects (Par. 0076).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Iwasaki to incorporate the teachings of Nakama to include the aforementioned electrode in an all-solid-state battery. Doing so would result in suppressing an increase in internal resistance of the battery (Col. 6, lines 63-65), as recognized by Nakama.
.
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwasaki et al. (WO 2014/122520 A1) and Nakama et al. (US 2022/0416296 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Du et al. (US 2023/0074353 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Iwasaki et al. in view of Nakama et al., discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Iwasaki et al. fails to mention the electrode material according to claim 1, wherein the second layer further includes the first solid electrolyte in addition to the second solid electrolyte, and in the second layer, a volume fraction of the second solid electrolyte is more than a volume fraction of the first solid electrolyte.
However, Nakama et al. mentions, directed to a positive electrode, it may further include a second electrolyte material different from the first solid electrolyte material (Par. 0052, lines 2-5). Furthermore, he mentions that the second electrolyte material may include a sulfide solid (Par 0063, lines 3-4) electrolyte.
Nakama et al. fails to mention a volume fraction of the second solid electrolyte is more than a volume fraction of the first solid electrolyte.
However, Du et al. mentions a second catholyte gradient layer may be formed onto a first catholyte gradient layer using a second composite cathode powder formulation, wherein the second catholyte gradient layer has a higher catholyte content than the first catholyte gradient layer (Paragraph 0175, lines 1-5).
Iwasaki et al., Nakama et al. and Du et al. are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely lithium battery electrodes.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Iwasaki to incorporate the teachings of Nakama and Du et al. to include the first solid electrolyte in the second layer wherein a volume fraction of the second solid electrolyte is more than a volume fraction of the first solid electrolyte. Doing so would maximize power and energy density in the gradient multilayer structure of a battery (Par. 0039, lines 5-6), as recognized by Du et al.
Regarding claim 3, Iwasaki et al. in view of Nakama et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Iwasaki et al. further mentions the electrode material according to claim 1, wherein the second layer further includes the active material in addition to the second solid electrolyte (the electrode active material layer of at least one of the above-described positive electrode and the above-described negative electrode may be configured to contain at least an electrode active material and an electrode electrolyte (Par 0065, Lines 1-3)).
Iwasaki et al. fails to mention that in the second layer, a volume fraction of the second solid electrolyte is more than a volume fraction of the active material.
However, Du et al. mentions the amount of catholyte may be increased in each subsequent catholyte gradient layer to control the gradient structure. In addition, active cathode and catholyte particle sizes may be tuned to further control the morphology of the catholyte gradient composite cathode structure, wherein the active cathode particle size range is narrowed, and the catholyte particle size range is increased in each subsequent catholyte gradient layer (Par. 0179).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Iwasaki to incorporate the teachings of Nakama et al. and Du et al. to include the active material in addition to the second electrolyte in the second layer wherein a volume fraction of the second solid electrolyte is more than a volume fraction of the active material. Doing so would maximize power and energy density in the gradient multilayer structure of a battery (Par. 0039, lines 5-6), as recognized by Du et al.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwasaki et al. (WO 2014/122520 A1) and Nakama et al. (US 2022/0416296) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kwon et al. (US 11,984,583 B2). .
Regarding claim 6, Iwasaki et al. in view of Nakama et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Iwasaki et al. fails to mention the electrode material according to claim 1, wherein relative to 100 parts by mass of the active material, the first solid electrolyte is from 1 to 10 parts by mass, and the second solid electrolyte is from 0.1 to 20 parts by mass.
However, Kwon et al. mentions, directed to a positive electrode (Col. 3, line 13), an amount of the lithium ion conductor is in a range of about 0.1 parts to about 10 parts by weight based on 100 parts by weight of the total weight of the positive active material (Col. 3, lines 22-24), wherein the lithium ion conductor is selected from a lanthanum oxide and a lithium lanthanum oxide (Col. 3, lines 20-21).
Furthermore, Kwon et al. mentions an amount of the solid electrolyte may be in a range of about 5 parts to about 15 parts by weight (Col. 4, lines 62-64). Kwon et al. further mentions that the amount of positive active material may be in a range of about 80 parts to about 93 parts by weight (Col. 4, lines 64-66) based on 100 parts by weight of the total weight of the positive electrode (Col. 5, lines 2-3).
Iwasaki et al., Nakama et al. and Kwon et al. are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely lithium battery electrodes.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Iwasaki et al. in view of Nakama et al. to incorporate the teachings of Kwon et al. including the concentrations of the first and second electrolytes relative to the active material in the electrode material according to claim 1. Doing so would suppress or reduce diffusion between electrode and electrolyte (Col. 3, lines 56-58), as recognized by Kwon.
Conclusion
/J.N.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/NICOLE M. BUIE-HATCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725