DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 04/03/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-9, 11, 13-14and 17-18 have been amended. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osborn et al. (US 20230379785 A1) in view of Lee (US 20190230556 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Osborn teaches one or more network device (AMF of Figs. 2 and 9) and comprising: a processor (CPU 914) configured to:
receive a connection request for a User Equipment (UE) device, the connection request including requested Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (NSSAI) for a mobile network (a registration request is sent from the UE 202 to the AMF 206 for the expandable network slice identified by S-NSSAI 2, [0033]);
retrieve subscribed NSSAI, wherein the subscribed NSSAI includes NSSAI of slices from a subscription associated with the UE device (The AMF 206 sends a subscription information query to the UDM 210. In response to the subscription information query, the UDM 210 sends information to the AMF 206 indicating the network slice instance as expandable using the S-NSSAI 2, [0033]).
However, Osborn does not teach determine, in response to receiving the connection request with the requested NSSAI, expanded allowed NSSAI based on the subscribed NSSAI and the NSSAI supported by the mobile network; and send, to the UE device and in response to the connection request, the expanded allowed NSSAI that is different than the requested NSSAI.
In an analogous art, Lee teaches determining, in response to receiving the connection request with the requested NSSAI (A network slice instance per requested UE service may be selected based on “network slice selection assistance information” (NSSAI). Various network function instances may be provided for capability, duplication, expandability, and the like, within the network slice instance, [0434), expanded allowed NSSAI based on the subscribed NSSAI (NSSF may select an appropriate network slice instance based on the NSSAI. In detail, the NSSF may determine a target network slice instance classified into a service type requested from the UE and may select a network slice instance based on a variety of UE and network-provided NSSAI. For example, the NSSAI may include UE subscription data, [0435]) and the NSSAI supported by the mobile network (The NRF 1110 may select an appropriate network function instance based on resource operational policies of the network operator, for example, load balancing, resource optimization, [0436]); and
send, to the UE device and in response to the connection request, the expanded allowed NSSAI that is different than the requested NSSAI (AMF may send a registration accept message to the UE with the accepted NSSAI, [0401] and a plurality of instances for a network function may be provided within the network slice instance for redundancy, expandability, [0432]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the expanded slice of Osborn with network slice expandability of Lee to provide a methods and a system wherein various network function instances may be provided for capability, duplication, expandability, and the like, within the network slice instance as suggested, Lee [0434].
Regarding claim 2, Osborn as modified by Lee teaches the network device of claim 1, wherein the expanded allowed NSSAI is determined without taking into consideration the Requested NSSAI (UDM 210 sends information to the AMF 206 indicating the network slice instance as expandable using the S-NSSAI 2. The 5GS notifies network functions of the 5G NR cellular network of possible network slice activation, including location information of the UE 202, based on the network slice is not being activated yet, Osborn [0033]).
Regarding claim 3, Osborn as modified by Lee teaches the network device of claim 1, wherein the expanded allowed NSSAI includes single NSSAI (S-NSSAI) of a network slice that was subscribed to after a most-recent power cycle or mobility registration by the UE device (FIG. 3 is a sequence diagram 300 showing interaction between the UE 202 and different components of the 5G NR cellular network to use the expandable network slice instance after detecting mobility of the UE 202 that requires handover from first gNB1, Osborn [0034]).
Regarding claim 4, Osborn as modified by Lee teaches the network device of claim 1, wherein when retrieving the subscribed NSSAI, the processor is further configured to: retrieve the subscribed NSSAI from a subscription profile, which is associated with the UE device, via a Unified Data Management (UDM) component (FIG. 3 is a sequence diagram 300 showing interaction between the UE 202 and different components of the 5G NR cellular network to use the expandable network slice instance after detecting mobility of the UE 202 that requires handover from first gNB1, Osborn [0033]).
Regarding claim 5, Osborn as modified by Lee teaches the network device of claim 1, wherein the NSSAI supported by the mobile network includes NSSAI supported by both an access network and a core network of the mobile network (those expandable network slices that are full PLMN available network slices or those expandable network slices for a pre-defined area may be associated with or restricted to some frequency band (e.g., FR1, FR2. N71 . . . ). In particular, the Network Slice may be available for a certain frequency (e.g., FR1, FR2). However, in an example embodiment, the network slice is not restricted to RAN, core network (CN) capability, or the whole PLMN area available capability, Osborn [0032]).
Regarding claim 6, Osborn as modified by Lee teaches the network device of claim 1, wherein the network device includes an access and mobility management function (AMF)( a registration request is sent from the UE 202 to the AMF, Osborn [0033]).
Regarding claim 7, Osborn as modified by Lee teaches the network device of claim 1. Lee further teaches wherein when, determining the expanded allowed NSSAI, the processor is configured to: obtain the expanded allowed NSSAI from a network slice selection function (NSSF) (NSSF may determine a target network slice instance classified into a service type requested from the UE and may select a network slice instance based on a variety of UE and network-provided NSSAI, Lee [0435]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the expanded slice of Osborn with network slice expandability of Lee to provide a methods and a system wherein various network function instances may be provided for capability, duplication, expandability, and the like, within the network slice instance as suggested, Lee [0434].
Regarding claim 8, Osborn as modified by Lee teaches the network device of claim 1, wherein the expanded allowed NSSAI includes NSSAI for multiple network slices (S-NSSAI 2 indicates that the network slice instance is expandable to cover a full area of the public land mobile network (PLMN) of the mobile network operator (MNO) operating the 5G NR cellular network. S-NSSAI 3 indicates that the network slice instance is expandable to cover a specific geographic area (group of tracking areas) within the full area of the PLMN of the MNO operating the 5G NR cellular network. There may also be, for example, S-NSSAI 4, Osborn [0031]).
Regarding claim 9, Osborn teaches a method (method of Fig. 2) comprising:
receiving, by a network function for a mobile network, a connection request for a User Equipment (UE) device, the connection request including requested Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (NSSAI) for the mobile network (a registration request is sent from the UE 202 to the AMF 206 for the expandable network slice identified by S-NSSAI 2, [0033]);
retrieving, by the network function, subscribed NSSAI, wherein the subscribed NSSAI includes NSSAI of slices from a subscription associated with the UE device (The AMF 206 sends a subscription information query to the UDM 210. In response to the subscription information query, the UDM 210 sends information to the AMF 206 indicating the network slice instance as expandable using the S-NSSAI 2, [0033]).
However, Osborn does not teach determining, by the one or more network functions and in response to receiving the connection request with the requested NSSAI, expanded allowed NSSAI based on the subscribed NSSAI and the NSSAI supported by the mobile network; and sending, by the one or more network functions and to the UE device in response to the connection request, the expanded allowed NSSAI that is different than the requested NSSAI.
In an analogous art, Lee teaches determining, by the one or more network functions and in response to receiving the connection request with the requested NSSAI (A network slice instance per requested UE service may be selected based on “network slice selection assistance information” (NSSAI). Various network function instances may be provided for capability, duplication, expandability, and the like, within the network slice instance, [0434), expanded allowed NSSAI based on the subscribed NSSAI (NSSF may select an appropriate network slice instance based on the NSSAI. In detail, the NSSF may determine a target network slice instance classified into a service type requested from the UE and may select a network slice instance based on a variety of UE and network-provided NSSAI. For example, the NSSAI may include UE subscription data, [0435]) and the NSSAI supported by the mobile network (The NRF 1110 may select an appropriate network function instance based on resource operational policies of the network operator, for example, load balancing, resource optimization, [0436]); and
send, to the UE device and in response to the connection request, the expanded allowed NSSAI that is different than the requested NSSAI (AMF may send a registration accept message to the UE with the accepted NSSAI, [0401] and a plurality of instances for a network function may be provided within the network slice instance for redundancy, expandability, [0432]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the expanded slice of Osborn with network slice expandability of Lee to provide a methods and a system wherein various network function instances may be provided for capability, duplication, expandability, and the like, within the network slice instance as suggested, Lee [0434].
Regarding claim 10, Osborn as modified by Lee teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the NSSAI supported by the mobile network includes NSSAI supported by both an access network and a core network of the mobile network (those expandable network slices that are full PLMN available network slices or those expandable network slices for a pre-defined area may be associated with or restricted to some frequency band (e.g., FR1, FR2. N71 . . . ). In particular, the Network Slice may be available for a certain frequency (e.g., FR1, FR2). However, in an example embodiment, the network slice is not restricted to RAN, core network (CN) capability, or the whole PLMN area available capability, Osborn [0032]).
Regarding claim 11, Osborn as modified by Lee teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the expanded allowed NSSAI includes S-NSSAI of a network slice that was subscribed to after a most-recent power cycle or mobility registration by the UE device (FIG. 3 is a sequence diagram 300 showing interaction between the UE 202 and different components of the 5G NR cellular network to use the expandable network slice instance after detecting mobility of the UE 202 that requires handover from first gNB1, Osborn [0034]).
Regarding claim 12, Osborn as modified by Lee teaches the method of claim 9, wherein retrieving the subscribed NSSAI further comprises: retrieving the subscribed NSSAI from a subscription profile, which is associated with the UE device, via a Unified Data Management (UDM) component (The AMF 206 sends a subscription information query to the UDM, Osborn [0033]).
Regarding claim 13, Osborn as modified by Lee teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the expanded allowed NSSAI is determined without taking into consideration the Requested NSSAI (UDM 210 sends information to the AMF 206 indicating the network slice instance as expandable using the S-NSSAI 2. The 5GS notifies network functions of the 5G NR cellular network of possible network slice activation, including location information of the UE 202, based on the network slice is not being activated yet, Osborn [0033]).
Regarding claim 14, Osborn as modified by Lee teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the network function includes an access and mobility management function (AMF) (a registration request is sent from the UE 202 to the AMF, Osborn [0033]).
Regarding claim 15, Osborn as modified by Lee teaches the method of claim 9, wherein determining the expanded allowed NSSAI includes: obtaining the expanded allowed NSSAI from a network slice selection function (NSSF) (NSSF may determine a target network slice instance classified into a service type requested from the UE and may select a network slice instance based on a variety of UE and network-provided NSSAI, Lee [0435]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the expanded slice of Osborn with network slice expandability of Lee to provide a methods and a system wherein various network function instances may be provided for capability, duplication, expandability, and the like, within the network slice instance as suggested, Lee [0434].
Regarding claim 16, Osborn as modified by Lee teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the expanded allowed NSSAI includes the requested NSSAI and NSSAI for at least one additional network slice (S-NSSAI 2 indicates that the network slice instance is expandable to cover a full area of the public land mobile network (PLMN) of the mobile network operator (MNO) operating the 5G NR cellular network. S-NSSAI 3 indicates that the network slice instance is expandable to cover a specific geographic area (group of tracking areas) within the full area of the PLMN of the MNO operating the 5G NR cellular network. There may also be, for example, S-NSSAI 4, Osborn [0031]).
Regarding claim 17, Osborn teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium (device 900 executing method of Fig. 2) containing instructions (control module 904) executable by at least one processor (CPU 914), the non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising one or more instructions for:
receiving, by a network function for a mobile network, a connection request for a User Equipment (UE) device, the connection request including requested Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (NSSAI) for the mobile network (a registration request is sent from the UE 202 to the AMF 206 for the expandable network slice identified by S-NSSAI 2, [0033]);
retrieving, by the network function, subscribed NSSAI, wherein the subscribed NSSAI includes NSSAI of slices from a subscription associated with the UE device (The AMF 206 sends a subscription information query to the UDM 210. In response to the subscription information query, the UDM 210 sends information to the AMF 206 indicating the network slice instance as expandable using the S-NSSAI 2, [0033]).
However, Osborn does not teach determining, by the one or more network functions and in response to receiving the connection request with the requested NSSAI, expanded allowed NSSAI based on the subscribed NSSAI and the NSSAI supported by the mobile network; and sending, by the one or more network functions and to the UE device in response to the connection request, the expanded allowed NSSAI that is different than the requested NSSAI.
In an analogous art, Lee teaches determining, by the one or more network functions and in response to receiving the connection request with the requested NSSAI (A network slice instance per requested UE service may be selected based on “network slice selection assistance information” (NSSAI). Various network function instances may be provided for capability, duplication, expandability, and the like, within the network slice instance, [0434), expanded allowed NSSAI based on the subscribed NSSAI (NSSF may select an appropriate network slice instance based on the NSSAI. In detail, the NSSF may determine a target network slice instance classified into a service type requested from the UE and may select a network slice instance based on a variety of UE and network-provided NSSAI. For example, the NSSAI may include UE subscription data, [0435]) and the NSSAI supported by the mobile network (The NRF 1110 may select an appropriate network function instance based on resource operational policies of the network operator, for example, load balancing, resource optimization, [0436]); and
send, to the UE device and in response to the connection request, the expanded allowed NSSAI that is different than the requested NSSAI (AMF may send a registration accept message to the UE with the accepted NSSAI, [0401] and a plurality of instances for a network function may be provided within the network slice instance for redundancy, expandability, [0432]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the expanded slice of Osborn with network slice expandability of Lee to provide a methods and a system wherein various network function instances may be provided for capability, duplication, expandability, and the like, within the network slice instance as suggested, Lee [0434].
Regarding claim 18, Osborn as modified by Lee teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 17. Lee further teaches wherein the network function includes a combined an access and mobility management function (AMF) and network slice selection function (NSSF) (see AMF and NSSF of Lee Fig. 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the expanded slice of Osborn with network slice expandability of Lee to provide a methods and a system wherein various network function instances may be provided for capability, duplication, expandability, and the like, within the network slice instance as suggested, Lee [0434].
Regarding claim 19, Osborn as modified by Lee teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 17, wherein the expanded allowed NSSAI includes NSSAI of a network slice that was added to the subscription after a most-recent power cycle or mobility registration by the UE device (FIG. 3 is a sequence diagram 300 showing interaction between the UE 202 and different components of the 5G NR cellular network to use the expandable network slice instance after detecting mobility of the UE 202 that requires handover from first gNB1, Osborn [0034]).
Regarding claim 20, Osborn as modified by Lee teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 17, wherein the expanded allowed NSSAI includes S-NSSAI of a network slice that was configured on the access network or the network function after a most-recent power cycle or mobility registration by the UE device (FIG. 3 is a sequence diagram 300 showing interaction between the UE 202 and different components of the 5G NR cellular network to use the expandable network slice instance after detecting mobility of the UE 202 that requires handover from first gNB1, Osborn [0034]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Dowlatkhah et al. (US 10070344 B1): Aspects of the subject disclosure may include, for example, determining a first group of virtual network functions instantiated within a software defined network and adapted to perform a first activity that facilitates delivery of a dedicated service to wireless equipment of a first user. An occurrence of a condition is determined whereby delivery of the dedicated service to the wireless equipment requires a second activity, wherein the first group of virtual network functions is not designated to perform the second activity.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICOLE M LOUIS-FILS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2641
/CHARLES N APPIAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2641