DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jia et al. (CN 208818251, hereafter referred to as Jia).
Jia teaches at least two nested, interlocking segments, comprising: a lower segment 120; an upper segment 110 disposed above, and attached to, the lower segment with an interlocking joint 112; an upper exterior surface disposed on the upper segment, and wherein the upper and lower segments define a gap disposed therebetween (see figure 1, the locking nut 130 is located in the gap); wherein the upper segment 110 comprises a first passageway 115 operable to hold a sensor probe 150; further comprising a sensor probe 150 disposed in the first passageway.
Claim(s) 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hoening et al. (U.S. 2021/0179299, hereafter referred to as Hoening).
Regarding claims 1, Hoening teaches at least two nested, interlocking segments, comprising: a lower segment 102; an upper segment 101 disposed above, and attached to, the lower segment with an interlocking joint (104, 106); an upper exterior surface disposed on the upper segment, and wherein the upper and lower segments define a gap 204 disposed therebetween.
Additionally, the recitation “a thermally-isolated sensor mount” has not been given patentable weight because it has been held that a preamble is denied the effect of a limitation where the claim following the preamble is a self-contained description of the structure not depending for completeness upon the introductory clause. Kropa v. Robie, 88 USPQ 478 (CCPA 1951).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7, 8 and 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jia.
Regarding claim 7, Jia further teaches wherein the lower segment has a cylindrical shape and is threaded 112; wherein the upper segment has a cylindrical shape and is threaded (see figure 1)
However, Jia does not explicitly teach wherein the upper segment is screwed into the lower segment.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the device of Jia since it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device only involves routine skill in the art. In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167.
Regarding claims 8 and 13, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the
art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 10, it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claim 11, a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claims 12 and 14, Jia teaches at least two nested, interlocking segments, comprising: a lower segment 120; an upper segment 110 disposed above, and attached to, the lower segment with an interlocking joint 112; an upper exterior surface disposed on the upper segment, and wherein the upper and lower segments define a gap disposed therebetween (see figure 1, the locking nut 130 is located in the gap); wherein the upper segment 110 comprises a first passageway 115 operable to hold a sensor probe 150; further comprising a sensor probe 150 disposed in the first passageway. Jia further teaches wherein the lower segment has a cylindrical shape and is threaded 112; wherein the upper segment has a cylindrical shape and is threaded (see figure 1)
However, Jia does not explicitly teach wherein the upper segment is screwed into the lower segment.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the device of Jia since it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device only involves routine skill in the art. In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167.
Claim(s) 6, 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoening.
Hoening further teaches a pair of dovetail joints that slidingly join the lower segment to the upper segment (see para. 0026).
However, Hoening does not explicitly teach wherein the lower segment and the upper segment have a prismatic shape.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the device of Hoening since a change in the shape of a prior art device is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 9, it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claim 11, a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 15-20 are allowed.
The closest prior art of record fails to teach the invention as set forth in claims 15-20 and the Examiner can find no teaching of the pressure sensor; nor reasons within the cited prior art or on his own to combine the elements of these references other than the applicant’s own reasoning to fully encompass the current pending claims.
Conclusion
/JAMEL E WILLIAMS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855