DETAILED ACTION
Examiner Remarks
The execution of the quantum subcircuits that resulted from the cutting of the quantum circuit (as indicated in claim 9) appears to help provide an indication of use of what could be an improvement, but the improvement is not apparent from the current claims. The claims do not give an indication on how the probability for determining cutting works. As a result, the claims do not give any indication of an improvement that could be created from cutting the quantum circuit, as there is no indication the cutting is being performed in any particular way. Meaning, under BRI, the claimed system/method appears to just cut a quantum circuit with no particular rhyme or reason. If the probability recited in claim 1 was a measure of something instead of any probability, then claim 1 might indicate the cuts related to the probability cause something, such as the improvements mentioned in the specification. Without an indication on what the probability measures, the cuts caused by the probability have no indication to cause a form of improvement, such as the probability could be a measure of the worst place to cut or the probability could be the measure that the cut creates a particular graph shape. Claim 6 may note a maximum probability, but without an indication of what the probability is the BRI of claim 6 does not appear to give any indication as to how the cutting works. Adding elements to the claim to help indicate how the cutting works could help provide the required details in the claims to indicate the improvements noted in the specification. Claim 2 may indicate that data from previous cut graphs is used, but claim 2 also does not indicate as how the cuts were performed or how the training data shaped the probability generated, thus any probability is still available under BRI.
An indication of how the probability is determined or what the probability is (such as the description from paragraph 6 of the specification) could help show the cutting is meaningful and showing the execution (such as elements of claim 9) of the cut elements could help show that what is created is not just merely a cut up circuit but elements executable. With those indications the claims would likely make the improvements from the specification apparent within the claims.
As noted in the Response to Remarks regarding 103, the reason why the current amendments were not seen as overcoming the currently recited art is that the BRI of vectorial representation does not require the vectorial representation being an encoding or embedding. The response to the remark gives some examples of the disclosure believed relevant to supporting the interpretation of encoding or embedding.
Response to Remarks
Remarks page 7, Applicant contends:
The IDS is compliant and thus no IDS issue is present.
Response:
The two IDS’s filed on August 11 from 2023 do not contain the alleged “Unsupervised Learning for Real-Time Detection of Events of Far Edge Mobile Device Trajectories”. Both IDS’s, which appear to be duplicates of each other, only contain a listing for “graph2vec: Learning Distributed Representations of Graphs”. The applicant’s argument is not convincing, thus the IDS is still considered failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(1).
Remarks page 8-11, Applicant contends:
The claims as a whole are directed to a specific technological process for partitioning quantum circuits using a structured machine learning pipeline, thus satisfy the requirements under 101.
Response:
Claims centered around computers can still claim abstract ideas. Claim 1 recites “wherein each of the vector layers having a probability higher than a threshold probability is identified as a cutting point” which is noted to be an abstract idea in the 101 rejection for claim 1. The use of the abstract idea in a computer systems is described in (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(3): “An example of a case identifying a mental process performed in a computer environment as an abstract idea is Symantec Corp., 838 F.3d at 1316-18, 120 USPQ2d at 1360. In this case, the Federal Circuit relied upon the specification when explaining that the claimed electronic post office, which recited limitations describing how the system would receive, screen and distribute email on a computer network, was analogous to how a person decides whether to read or dispose of a particular piece of mail and that ‘with the exception of generic computer-implemented steps, there is nothing in the claims themselves that foreclose them from being performed by a human, mentally or with pen and paper’.”).
The applicant argues the supposed abstract ideas are integrated into a practical application by addressing “difficulty of efficiently partitioning large quantum circuits for execution on limited hardware” (page 9 of remarks). While the specification appears to note aspects that could be seen as an improvement addressing the supposed problem, the improvement does not seem apparent from the claims. As noted previously in the examiner remarks, without an indication on what the probability used for cutting is, there is no indication that the cutting within the claims helps with “efficiently partitioning large quantum circuits for the execution on limited hardware”. Since there is no indication on what the probability is measuring, removing cuts based on the probability does not appear to eliminate bad cuts, as no indication the probability is measuring something that would result in removing bad cuts by following the claim limitations. The current Examiner Remarks provides details regarding the probability in the claims and ideas for addressing 101. A possibly useful reference in the current application could be paragraph 6 of the specification which notes “Figure 5B discloses aspects of inputting vector layers into the recurrent model to generate a probability that represents whether the corresponding layer is a good candidate for cutting the quantum circuit,” which can be indicating a description that could be used to indicate the probability is calculated specifically for cutting.
The argument elements are not well understood routine or conventional as a result of multiple references being used in the 103 rejections is not seen as convincing, as the rejections for 101 and 103 are not based on the same guidelines (MPEP 2106.05(1): "Although the courts often evaluate considerations such as the conventionality of an additional element in the eligibility analysis, the search for an inventive concept should not be confused with a novelty or non-obviousness determination. See Mayo, 566 U.S. at 91, 101 USPQ2d at 1973 (rejecting "the Government’s invitation to substitute §§ 102, 103, and 112 inquiries for the better established inquiry under § 101 "). As made clear by the courts, the "‘novelty’ of any element or steps in a process, or even of the process itself, is of no relevance in determining whether the subject matter of a claim falls within the § 101 categories of possibly patentable subject matter." Intellectual Ventures I v. Symantec Corp., 838 F.3d 1307, 1315, 120 USPQ2d 1353, 1358 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (quoting Diamond v. Diehr, 450 U.S. at 188–89, 209 USPQ at 9)...").
Remarks page 11-13, Applicant contends:
The amended claims recite specific and materially distinct technical architecture for determining cutting location in a quantum circuit not recited by the currently recited art.
Response:
The amended elements in claim 1 are seen as taught by Tang as described by teaching of generating a vector layer in previous claim 1 rejection and the rejections from previous claim 4 and 5. The applicant argues the elements provide context-aware embeddings which encode information spanning adjacent layers, but claim 1 does not indicate any form of encoding or embedding is occurring. As the new claim 5 recites, the vector layer can be interpreted under BRI as being able to be a vector representation of a layer or a vector representation of parts of a graph. Aspects of the current disclosure can provide elements that could narrow the BRI to be that of encoding information spanning multiple layers for the vector layer, such as Figure 4 of the current invention notes a graph embedding engine creating a vector representation using consecutive layers. Paragraph 36 of the specification notes a vector layer is the embedded layer generated from a subgraph of the DAG. Incorporating elements indicating the vector layer is an encoding or embedding could prevent the BRI of utilizing any vectorial representation and thus require further search and consideration.
MPEP for BRI can be found in MPEP 2111: "Because applicant has the opportunity to amend the claims during prosecution, giving a claim its broadest reasonable interpretation will reduce the possibility that the claim, once issued, will be interpreted more broadly than is justified. In re Yamamoto, 740 F.2d 1569, 1571 (Fed. Cir. 1984); In re Zletz, 893 F.2d 319, 321, 13 USPQ2d 1320, 1322 (Fed. Cir. 1989) ('During patent examination the pending claims must be interpreted as broadly as their terms reasonably allow.')"
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 08/11/2023 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(1), which requires the following: (1) a list of all patents, publications, applications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office; (2) U.S. patents and U.S. patent application publications listed in a section separately from citations of other documents; (3) the application number of the application in which the information disclosure statement is being submitted on each page of the list; (4) a column that provides a blank space next to each document to be considered, for the examiner’s initials; and (5) a heading that clearly indicates that the list is an information disclosure statement. The information disclosure statement has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
The reason for the failure to comply is reasoning “(1) a list of all patents, publications, applications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office”, as an NPL submitted on 08/11/2023 titled “Unsupervised Learning for Real-Time Detection of Events of Far Edge Mobile Device Trajectories” is not listed in an IDS. The IDS itself is considered, but the information referred to therein by the unlisted NPL has not been considered. If the NPL is an existing patent application or publication, then the NPL can instead listed as such on the IDS.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed towards an abstract idea without significantly more.
In regards to Claim 1:
Step 1: Is the claim directed towards a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter?
Yes, the claim is directed towards a method, so a process.
Step 2A Prong 1: Does the claim recite a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea?
Yes, the claim does recite a(n) abstract idea.
Claim 1 recites the following abstract ideas:
wherein each of the vector layers having a probability higher than a threshold probability is identified as a cutting point
This limitation is directed towards the abstract idea of a mental process, or a concept performed in the human mind, including observation, evaluation, judgement or opinion (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) subsection 3). Here the limitation is seen as judgement.
Step 2A Prong 2: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception?
No, the application does not recite any additional elements that would integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Claim 1 recites the following additional elements:
receiving a quantum circuit at an orchestration engine
This limitation is directed towards the insignificant extra solution activity of mere data gathering (see MPEP § 2106.05(g)).
wherein the orchestration is configured to orchestrate execution of the quantum circuit
At a high level of generality, this is an activity of using an orchestration engine as an “apply it” use (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
generating a graph that corresponds to the quantum circuit, wherein the graph includes graph layers
At a high level of generality, this is an activity of using quantum circuit as an “apply it” use (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
generating a vector layer for each of the graph layers
At a high level of generality, this is an activity of using graph layers as an “apply it” use (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
and providing the vector layers as input to a recurrent model, wherein the recurrent model is configured to generate a probability for each of the vector layers
This limitation is directed towards the insignificant extra solution activity of mere data gathering (see MPEP § 2106.05(g)).
and performing a cutting operation to cut the quantum circuit at one or more of the cutting points identified by the recurrent model, wherein each of the cutting points corresponds to a graph layer of the graph
At a high level of generality, this is an activity of using a recurrent model as an “apply it” use (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Wherein each of the vector layers is generated using a subgraph of the graph, wherein the subgraph includes k consecutive layers of the graph
At a high level of generality, this is a continuation of an activity of using generating vector layers as an “apply it” use (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Including at least one layer before and at least one layer after a corresponding graph layer
At a high level of generality, this is a continuation of an activity of using generating vector layers as an “apply it” use (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
No, the claim as a whole does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. All elements of the claim, viewed individually or wholistically, do not provide an inventive concept or otherwise significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Claim 1 recites the following additional elements:
receiving a quantum circuit at an orchestration engine
This limitation is directed towards the insignificant extra solution activity of mere data gathering (see MPEP § 2106.05(g)). This is a well understood, routine, conventional activity of transmitting data (see MPEP 2106.05(d) example i in computer functions).
wherein the orchestration is configured to orchestrate execution of the quantum circuit
At a high level of generality, this is an activity of using an orchestration engine as an “apply it” use (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). At said high level of generality, an orchestration engine appears to be an implementation of the abstract idea on a computer, so merely using a computer as a tool to perform the abstract idea.
The interpretation of the orchestration engine being a computer, such as a classical processor, is supported by [0017]: “The orchestration of the quantum job 108 may be performed by an orchestration engine 110 that includes or has access to execution resources 140, which includes classical computing resources 120 and quantum computing resources 134. The classical computing resources 120 (e.g., servers, nodes, containers, clusters, virtual machines) may include include processors, memory, and the like. As previously stated, some aspects of the quantum job 108 may be executed in classical computing systems 120 and other aspects may be executed in quantum computing resources 134 (simulated or real)”.
generating a graph that corresponds to the quantum circuit, wherein the graph includes graph layers
At a high level of generality, this is an activity of using quantum circuit as an “apply it” use (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). At said high level of generality, a generic recitation of “generating a graph” using a quantum circuit does not incorporate the abstract idea into a practical invention and is seen as a variation of the phrase “apply it”.
generating a vector layer for each of the graph layers
At a high level of generality, this is an activity of using graph layers as an “apply it” use (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). At said high level of generality, a generic recitation of “generating a vector layer” using graph layers does not incorporate the abstract idea into a practical invention and is seen as a variation of the phrase “apply it”.
and providing the vector layers as input to a recurrent model, wherein the recurrent model is configured to generate a probability for each of the vector layers
This limitation is directed towards the insignificant extra solution activity of mere data gathering (see MPEP § 2106.05(g)). This is a well understood, routine, conventional activity of transmitting data (see MPEP 2106.05(d) example i in computer functions).
and performing a cutting operation to cut the quantum circuit at one or more of the cutting points identified by the recurrent model, wherein each of the cutting points corresponds to a graph layer of the graph
At a high level of generality, this is an activity of using a recurrent model as an “apply it” use (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). At said high level of generality, a generic recitation of “performing a cutting operation” using a recurrent model does not incorporate the abstract idea into a practical invention and is seen as a variation of the phrase “apply it”.
Wherein each of the vector layers is generated using a subgraph of the graph, wherein the subgraph includes k consecutive layers of the graph
At a high level of generality, this is a continuation of an activity of using generating vector layers as an “apply it” use (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). At said high level of generality, a generic recitation of “generating each of the vector layers” where there are k consecutive layers does not incorporate the abstract idea into a practical invention and is seen as a variation of the phrase “apply it”.
Including at least one layer before and at least one layer after a corresponding graph layer
At a high level of generality, this is a continuation of an activity of using generating vector layers as an “apply it” use (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). At said high level of generality, a description of k consecutive layers from claim 4 does not incorporate the abstract idea into a practical invention and is seen as a variation of the phrase “apply it”.
In regards to Claim 2:
Step 2A Prong 2: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception?
No, the application does not recite any additional elements that would integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Claim 2 recites the following additional elements:
training the model using a dataset that includes a plurality of graphs corresponding to previously cut quantum circuits and successful cutting locations of those graphs
At a high level of generality, this is an activity of using a dataset as an “apply it” use (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Step 2B: Does the claim as a whole amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No, the claim as a whole does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. All elements of the claim, viewed individually or wholistically, do not provide an inventive concept or otherwise significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Claim 2 recites the following additional elements:
training the model using a dataset that includes a plurality of graphs corresponding to previously cut quantum circuits and successful cutting locations of those graphs
At a high level of generality, this is an activity of using a dataset as an “apply it” use (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). At said high level of generality, a generic recitation of “training the model” using a dataset does not incorporate the abstract idea into a practical invention and is seen as a variation of the phrase “apply it”.
In regards to Claim 3:
Step 2A Prong 2: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception?
No, the application does not recite any additional elements that would integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Claim 3 recites the following additional elements:
wherein the graph comprises a directed acyclic graph
At a high level of generality, this is a continuation of an activity of generating a graph as an “apply it” use (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Step 2B: Does the claim as a whole amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No, the claim as a whole does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. All elements of the claim, viewed individually or wholistically, do not provide an inventive concept or otherwise significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Claim 3 recites the following additional elements:
wherein the graph comprises a directed acyclic graph
At a high level of generality, this is a continuation of an activity of generating a graph as an “apply it” use (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). At said high level of generality, a graph being a directed acyclic graph does not incorporate the abstract idea into a practical invention and is seen as a variation of the phrase “apply it”.
In regards to Claim 4:
Step 2A Prong 2: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception?
No, the application does not recite any additional elements that would integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Claim 4 recites the following additional elements:
Generating the vector layers sequentially on a rolling basis such that each vector layer is generated and provided to the recurrent model prior to generating a subsequent vector layer
At a high level of generality, this is an activity of using graph layers as an “apply it” use (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Step 2B: Does the claim as a whole amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No, the claim as a whole does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. All elements of the claim, viewed individually or wholistically, do not provide an inventive concept or otherwise significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Claim 4 recites the following additional elements:
Generating the vector layers sequentially on a rolling basis such that each vector layer is generated and provided to the recurrent model prior to generating a subsequent vector layer
At a high level of generality, this is an activity of using graph layers as an “apply it” use (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). At said high level of generality, a generic recitation of “generating a vector layer” using graph layers on a rolling basis does not incorporate the abstract idea into a practical invention and is seen as a variation of the phrase “apply it” and a continuation of the generating the vector layers limitation from claim 1.
In regards to Claim 5:
Step 2A Prong 2: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception?
No, the application does not recite any additional elements that would integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Claim 5 recites the following additional elements:
wherein each vector layer is a vectorial representation of the subgraph corresponding to a respective graph layer of the graph
At a high level of generality, this is a continuation of an activity of using graph layers as an “apply it” use (see MPEP 2106.05(f)) as this limitation is a continuation of the generating of a vector layer in claim 1.
Step 2B: Does the claim as a whole amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No, the claim as a whole does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. All elements of the claim, viewed individually or wholistically, do not provide an inventive concept or otherwise significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Claim 5 recites the following additional elements:
wherein each vector layer is a vectorial representation of the subgraph corresponding to a respective graph layer of the graph
At a high level of generality, this is a continuation of an activity of using graph layers as an “apply it” use (see MPEP 2106.05(f)) as this limitation is a continuation of the generating of a vector layer in claim 1. At said high level of generality, a generic recitation of “generating a vector layer” using graph layers having the vector layer be a vectorial representation does not incorporate the abstract idea into a practical invention and is seen as a variation of the phrase “apply it”.
In regards to Claim 6:
Step 2A Prong 2: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception?
No, the application does not recite any additional elements that would integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Claim 6 recites the following additional elements:
performing the cutting operation based on specific probabilities, wherein the specific probabilities include probabilities that are close to maximums and minimums, wherein the cutting points correspond to the layers associated with probabilities that are close to maximums
At a high level of generality, this is an activity of using probabilities as an “apply it” use (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Step 2B: Does the claim as a whole amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No, the claim as a whole does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. All elements of the claim, viewed individually or wholistically, do not provide an inventive concept or otherwise significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Claim 6 recites the following additional elements:
performing the cutting operation based on specific probabilities, wherein the specific probabilities include probabilities that are close to maximums and minimums, wherein the cutting points correspond to the layers associated with probabilities that are close to maximums
At a high level of generality, this is an activity of using probabilities as an “apply it” use (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). At said high level of generality, a generic recitation of “cutting” using probabilities does not incorporate the abstract idea into a practical invention and is seen as a variation of the phrase “apply it”.
In regards to Claim 7:
Step 2A Prong 1: Does the claim recite a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea?
Yes, the claim does recite a(n) abstract idea.
Claim 7 recites the following abstract ideas:
determining how many subcircuits to generate based on the cutting points
This limitation is directed towards the abstract idea of a mental process, or a concept performed in the human mind, including observation, evaluation, judgement or opinion (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) subsection 3). Here the limitation is seen as evaluation.
In regards to Claim 8:
Step 1: Is the claim directed towards a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter?
Yes, the claim is directed towards a method, so a process.
Step 2A Prong 8: Does the claim recite a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea?
Yes, the claim does recite a(n) abstract idea.
Claim 8 recites the following abstract ideas:
the probability suggests a cutting point when the probability for the corresponding vector layer is above the threshold probability
This limitation is directed towards the continuation of the abstract ideas of a mental process, or a concept performed in the human mind, including observation, evaluation, judgement or opinion (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) subsection 3) from claim 1.
In regards to Claim 9:
Step 2A Prong 2: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception?
No, the application does not recite any additional elements that would integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Claim 9 recites the following additional elements:
executing quantum subcircuits resulting from cutting the quantum circuit
At a high level of generality, this is an activity of using quantum subcircuits as an “apply it” use (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Step 2B: Does the claim as a whole amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No, the claim as a whole does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. All elements of the claim, viewed individually or wholistically, do not provide an inventive concept or otherwise significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Claim 9 recites the following additional elements:
executing quantum subcircuits resulting from cutting the quantum circuit
At a high level of generality, this is an activity of using quantum subcircuits as an “apply it” use (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). At said high level of generality, a generic recitation of “executing quantum subcircuits” does not incorporate the abstract idea into a practical invention and is seen as a variation of the phrase “apply it”.
In regards to Claim 10:
Step 2A Prong 1: Does the claim recite a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea?
Yes, the claim does recite a(n) abstract idea.
Claim 10 recites the following abstract ideas:
determining whether the quantum circuit can be cut based on the probabilities prior to performing the cutting operation
This limitation is directed towards the abstract idea of a mental process, or a concept performed in the human mind, including observation, evaluation, judgement or opinion (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) subsection 3). Here the limitation is seen as evaluation and judgement.
In regards to Claim 11:
Claim 11 is analogous to claim 1 in regards to 101.
In regards to Claim 12:
Claim 12 is analogous to claim 2 in regards to 101.
In regards to Claim 13:
Claim 13 is analogous to claim 3 in regards to 101.
In regards to Claim 14:
Claim 14 is analogous to claim 4 in regards to 101.
In regards to Claim 15:
Claim 15 is analogous to claim 5 in regards to 101.
In regards to Claim 16:
Claim 16 is analogous to claim 6 in regards to 101.
In regards to Claim 17:
Claim 17 is analogous to claim 7 in regards to 101.
In regards to Claim 18:
Claim 18 is analogous to claim 8 in regards to 101.
In regards to Claim 19:
Claim 19 is analogous to claim 9 in regards to 101.
In regards to Claim 20:
Claim 20 is analogous to claim 10 in regards to 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang et al (“CutQC: using small Quantum computers for large Quantum circuit evaluations”), referred to as Tang in this document, and further in combination with Gu et al (“A Deep Learning Algorithm for the Max-Cut Problem Based on Pointer Network Structure with Supervised Learning and Reinforcement Learning Strategies”), referred to as Gu in this document, and further in combinations with Kukar et al (“Reliable Classifications with Machine Learning”), referred to as Kukar in this document.
Regarding Claim 1:
Tang teaches:
A method comprising: receiving a quantum circuit at an orchestration engine, wherein the orchestration is configured to orchestrate execution of the quantum circuit;
[Tang 4 Framework Overview page 5]: “Figure 5 summarizes the key components of CutQC. Our framework is built on top of IBM’s Qiskit [2] package in order to use IBM’s quantum devices, but we note that the hybrid approach works with any gate-based quantum computing platforms [wherein the orchestration is configured to orchestrate execution of the quantum circuit; where this part indicates the quantum components]. Given a quantum circuit specified as an input [A method comprising: receiving a quantum circuit at an orchestration engine,], the first step is to decide where to make cuts.”
Further support for computer hardware in [Tang Abstract page 1]: “This paper introduces CutQC, a scalable hybrid computing approach that combines classical computers [where the teaching of classical computers is seen as teaching elements such as a processor, memory, and computer readable medium] and quantum computers to enable evaluation of quantum circuits that cannot be run on classical or quantum computers alone.”
generating a graph that corresponds to the quantum circuit, wherein the graph includes graph layers;
[Tang 4.1 MIP Cut Searcher page 6]: “A quantum circuit can be modeled as a directed acyclic graph [generating a graph that corresponds to the quantum circuit, wherein the graph includes graph layers;] G.”
generating a vector layer for each of the graph layers
[Tang 2 Background page 3]: “State vector [generating a vector layer for each of the graph layers where Tang is noting that aspects of a quantum circuit can be represented as vectors and earlier taught that a quantum circuit could be represented as an acyclic graph] simulation (Figure 2a) is typically an idealized noise less simulation of a quantum circuit. All quantum operations are represented as unitary matrices.”
Support for vector layer indicating that the graph can be represented as vectors is from [Current Application 0033]: “To generate the vector representation of a layer (represented as vector representations or vector layers) 412 and 414, a graph embedding engine 410 is configured to transform a subgraph of DAG layers into a numerical vectorial representation or into a vector layer.”
wherein each of the vector layers is generated using a subgraph of the graph, wherein the subgraph includes k consecutive layers of the graph
[Tang 3 Circuit Cutting page 4]: “Figure 4 offers an illustrative example, where one cut separates a 5-qubit quantum circuit into 2 subcircuits of 3 qubits each [Wherein each of the vector layers is generated using a subgraph of the graph, wherein the subgraph includes k consecutive layers of the graph where the subgraph contains k consecutive layers as the elements are noted to be in a DAG in [Tang 4.1 MIP Cut Searcher page 6], thus the elements can be considered consecutive as the elements are connected]. Time goes from left to right in quantum circuit diagrams, and each row represents a qubit wire. CutQC performs vertical cuts on qubit wires, in other words, timewise cuts.”
including at least one layer before and at least one layer after a corresponding graph layer
[Tang 3 Circuit Cutting page 4]: “Figure 4 offers an illustrative example, where one cut separates a 5-qubit quantum circuit into 2 subcircuits of 3 qubits each including at least one layer before and at least one layer after a corresponding graph layer where the layer before and after can be indicated by the circuits containing connected qubits where 3 connected qubits allows for the qubit in the middle to have one in front and another qubit after, thus having layers with a layer before and after]. Time goes from left to right in quantum circuit diagrams, and each row represents a qubit wire. CutQC performs vertical cuts on qubit wires, in other words, timewise cuts.”
and performing a cutting operation to cut the quantum circuit at one or more of the cutting points identified by the recurrent model, wherein each of the cutting points corresponds to a graph layer of the graph
[Tang 3.3 Circuit Cutting: Challenges page 5]: “The first challenge is to find cut locations. While quantum circuits can always be split into smaller ones, finding optimal cut locations is crucial in order to minimize the classical postprocessing overhead. In general, large quantum circuits may require more than one cut [and performing a cutting operation to cut the quantum circuit at one or more of the cutting points identified, wherein each of the cutting points corresponds to a graph layer of the graph where the parts of the graph being cut are elements of a graph and thus considered akin to a graph layer] in order to be separated into subcircuits.”
Tang does not explicitly teach:
and providing the vector layers as input to a recurrent model, wherein the recurrent model is configured to generate a probability for each of the vector layers,
by the recurrent model
Tang does not explicitly note a recurrent model for use on graphs, but the premise of recursive aspects is noted in [Tang 4.3 Dynamic Definition Algorithm 1]
wherein each of the vector layers having a probability higher than a threshold probability is identified as a cutting point;
Tang notes the related information of automatic calculation of optimal cutting points [Tang 4 Framework Overview page 5]: “Figure 5 summarizes the key components of CutQC. Our framework is built on top of IBM’s Qiskit [2] package in order to use IBM’s quantum devices, but we note that the hybrid approach works with any gate-based quantum computing platforms. Given a quantum circuit specified as an input, the first step is to decide where to make cuts. We propose the first automatic scheme that uses mixed integer programming to find optimal cuts for arbitrary quantum circuits. The backend for the MIP cut searcher is implemented in the Gurobi solver [18]. Small quantum devices then evaluate the different combinations of the subcircuits. Eventually, a parallel 𝐶 implementation of the reconstructor postprocesses the subcircuit outputs and reproduces the original full circuit outputs from the Kronecker products.”
Gu teaches:
and providing the vector layers as input to a recurrent model, wherein the recurrent model is configured to generate a probability for each of the vector layers,
by the recurrent model
[Gu 3 Models page 4]: “It is difficult for traditional neural networks to classify subsequent events by using previous event information. However, an RNN [and providing the vector layers as input to a recurrent model, wherein the recurrent model is configured to generate a probability for each of the vector layers,][ by the recurrent model] can continuously operate information in a cyclic manner to ensure that the information persists, thereby effectively processing time-series data of any length.”
Support for the model being able to utilize probability is given in [Gu 4.1.1 page 9]: “In the solution phase, we select the one with the highest probability in the output probability distribution and set it to 1, and the rest of the positions to 0. According to the result of Opredict, the pointer network selects the variables x1 and x3 with a value of 1, and the remaining variables have a value of 0—which is consistent with the result selected by Olabel”
One of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, would have been motivated to combine Tang and Gu. Tang and Gu are in the same field of endeavor of graph partitioning or cutting graphs. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Tang and Gu in order to take advantage of machine learning, such as recurrent models and supervised learning, to help create an answer to a problem where exact solutions at large scale are difficult ([Gu Abstract page 1]: “The Max-cut problem is a well-known combinatorial optimization problem, which has many real-world applications. However, the problem has been proven to be non-deterministic polynomial-hard (NP-hard), which means that exact solution algorithms are not suitable for large-scale situations, as it is too time-consuming to obtain a solution. Therefore, designing heuristic algorithms is a promising but challenging direction to effectively solve large-scale Max-cut problems. For this reason, we propose a unique method which combines a pointer network and two deep learning strategies (supervised learning and reinforcement learning) in this paper, in order to address this challenge.”). Recurrent models are noted to be useful for data of any length ([Gu 3 Models page 4]: “It is difficult for traditional neural networks to classify subsequent events by using previous event information. However, an RNN can continuously operate information in a cyclic manner to ensure that the information persists, thereby effectively processing time-series data of any length.”)
Kukar teaches:
wherein each of the vector layers having a probability higher than a threshold probability is identified as a cutting point;
[Kukar 3.4 Reliable and Unreliable Classifications page 8]: “Since the datasets used for training classifiers vary in their representativeness and noise levels as well as Machine Learning algorithms vary in strength and assumptions of their underlying models, it is hard to obtain absolute thresholds [wherein each of the vector layers having a probability higher than a threshold probability is identified as a cutting point;] for reliable classifications. In our experiments they varied between 0.20 and 0.70 for different domains and Ma chine Learning algorithms.”
The aspects of a cutting point come from primary reference Tang and secondary reference Gu being based on cutting or partitioning graphs. Kukar is being used to teach the aspect of have a probability threshold.
One of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, would have been motivated to combine modified Tang and Kukar. Modified Tang and Kukar are in the same field of endeavor of machine learning (as modified Tang utilizes the teaches of Gu, which teaches machine learning). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motived to combine Modified Tang and Kukar in order to utilize the advantages of probability thresholds for situations like classification. The current problem and limitations mirror aspects of classification, such as labeling something as a cutting point or not (supported by [Current Application 0034]: “The cutting points 554 for the DAGs 552 in the training dataset 550 are labeled with a probability of 1 and the other layers are labelled with a probability of 0.”). Thus the classification with probability can be improved by utilizing the probability or such as a form of measurement of confidence or reliability
([Kukar Introduction page 1]: “There have been numerous attempts to assign probabilities to Machine Learning classifiers’ (decision trees and rules, Bayesian classifiers, neural networks, nearest neighbour classifiers, ...)in order to interpret their decision as a probability distribution over all possible classes. In fact, we can trivially convert every Machine Learning classifier’s output to a probability distribution by assigning the predicted class the probability 1, and 0 to all other possible classes. The posterior probability of the predicted class can be viewed as a classifier’s trust in its prediction (reliability) [3, 19]. However, such estimations may not be good due to the applied algorithm’s language and representational biases.”),
where a threshold of reliability enables more reliable classifications ([Kukar 3.4 Reliable and Unreliable Classifications page 8]: “Since the datasets used for training classifiers vary in their representativeness and noise levels as well as Machine Learning algorithms vary in strength and assumptions of their underlying models, it is hard to obtain absolute thresholds for reliable classifications. In our experiments they varied between 0.20 and 0.70 for different domains and Machine Learning algorithms.”).
Regarding Claim 2:
The method of claim 1 is taught by Tang, Gu, and Kukar
Gu teaches:
further comprising training the model using a dataset that includes a plurality of graphs corresponding to previously cut quantum circuits and successful cutting locations of those graphs
[Gu 4.1 Supervised Learning]: “The goal of supervised learning [further comprising training the model using a dataset that includes a plurality of graphs corresponding to previously cut quantum circuits and successful cutting locations of those graphs as these limitation indicate the use of supervised or labeled data, where Gu et al teaching using supervised learning on graphs. Tang teaches the premise of quantum circuits being able to be graphs and thus teaches the datatype.] is to learn the relationship between the input x and the output y by modeling 𝑦=𝑓(𝑥;𝜃) or 𝑝(𝑦|𝑥;𝜃).”
The motivation to combine with Gu is the same motivation to combine with Gu as used in claim 1.
Regarding Claim 3:
The method of claim 1 is taught by Tang, Gu, and Kukar
Tang teaches:
wherein the graph comprises a directed acyclic graph
[Tang 4.1 MIP Cut Searcher page 6]: “A quantum circuit can be modeled as a directed acyclic graph [wherein the graph comprises a directed acyclic graph] G.”
Regarding Claim 4:
The method of claim 1 is taught by Tang, Gu, and Kukar
Gu teaches:
Generating the vector layers sequentially on a rolling basis such that each vector layer is generated and provided to the recurrent model prior to generating a subsequent vector layer
[Gu 3 Models page 4]: “It is difficult for traditional neural networks to classify subsequent events [Generating the vector layers sequentially on a rolling basis such that each vector layer is generated and provided to the recurrent model prior to generating a subsequent vector layer where this quote is teaching the vector layers can be created on a “rolling basis” by running on the subsequent part as when combining Tang with Gu the use of recurrent networks is obvious and using the subsequent input is how recurrent networks run (as indicated by the current quote) where aspects related to vector layers are taught previous by Tang] by using previous event information. However, an RNN can continuously operate information in a cyclic manner to ensure that the information persists, thereby effectively processing time-series data of any length.”
The motivation to combine with Gu is the same as the motivation to combine with Gu in claim 1.
Regarding Claim 5:
The method of claim 4 is taught by Tang, Gu, and Kukar
Tang teaches:
wherein each vector layer is a vectorial representation of the subgraph corresponding to a respective graph layer of the graph
[Tang 2 Background page 3]: “State vector [wherein each vector layer is a vectorial representation of the subgraph corresponding to a respective graph layer of the graph where Tang is noting that aspects of a quantum circuit can be represented as vectors (thus a subgraph of a layer being represented by vectors would be a vectorial representation of the subgraph where subgraphs are taught earlier in claim 1) and earlier taught that a quantum circuit could be represented as an acyclic graph] simulation (Figure 2a) is typically an idealized noise less simulation of a quantum circuit. All quantum operations are represented as unitary matrices.”
Support for vector layer indicating that the graph can be represented as vectors is from [Current Application 0033]: “To generate the vector representation of a layer (represented as vector representations or vector layers) 412 and 414, a graph embedding engine 410 is configured to transform a subgraph of DAG layers into a numerical vectorial representation or into a vector layer.”
Regarding Claim 6:
The method of claim 1 is taught by Tang, Gu, and Kukar
Tang teaches:
further comprising performing the cutting operation
[Tang 3.3 Circuit Cutting: Challenges page 5]: “The first challenge is to find cut locations. While quantum circuits can always be split into smaller ones, finding optimal cut locations is crucial in order to minimize the classical postprocessing overhead. In general, large quantum circuits may require more than one cut [further comprising performing the cutting operation] in order to be separated into subcircuits.”
Gu teaches:
based on specific probabilities, wherein the specific probabilities include probabilities that are close to maximums and minimums, wherein the cutting points correspond to the layers associated with probabilities that are close to maximums
[Gu 4.1.1 page 9]: “In the solution phase, we select the one with the highest probability [based on specific probabilities, wherein the specific probabilities include probabilities that are close to maximums and minimums, wherein the cutting points correspond to the layers associated with probabilities that are close to maximums where choosing the highest probability is seen as choosing the probability closest to the maximum, thus the teaching of choosing with the close to maximum probabilities using machine learning is taught] in the output probability distribution and set it to 1, and the rest of the positions to 0. According to the result of Opredict, the pointer network selects the variables x1 and x3 with a value of 1, and the remaining variables have a value of 0—which is consistent with the result selected by Olabel”
The motivation to combine with Gu is the same motivation to combine with Gu in claim 1.
Kukar also teaches:
based on specific probabilities, wherein the specific probabilities include probabilities that are close to maximums and minimums, wherein the cutting points correspond to the layers associated with probabilities that are close to maximums
The combination with Kukar also supports the idea of “probabilities that are close to maximums” as the requirement of being above a threshold can indicate choosing probabilities that would be smaller than an amount from the maximum possible probability. ([Kukar 3.4 Reliable and Unreliable Classifications page 8]: “Since the datasets used for training classifiers vary in their representativeness and noise levels as well as Machine Learning algorithms vary in strength and assumptions of their underlying models, it is hard to obtain absolute thresholds [based on specific probabilities, wherein the specific probabilities include probabilities that are close to maximums and minimums, wherein the cutting points correspond to the layers associated with probabilities that are close to maximums] for reliable classifications. In our experiments they varied between 0.20 and 0.70 for different domains and Ma chine Learning algorithms.”)
The motivation to combine with Kukar is the same as the motivation to combine with Kukar in claim 1.
Regarding Claim 7:
The method of claim 1 is taught by Tang, Gu, and Kukar
Tang teaches:
further comprising determining how many subcircuits to generate based on the cutting points
[Tang 4.1 MIP Cut Searcher page 6]: “Choosing which edges to cut in order to split 𝐺 into subcircuits 𝐶 = 𝑐1,.. .,𝑐𝑛𝐶 [further comprising determining how many subcircuits to generate based on the cutting points] can also be thought of as clustering the vertices. The corresponding cuts can then obtained from the vertex clusters.”
Regarding Claim 8:
The method of claim 1 is taught by Tang, Gu, and Kukar
Gu teaches:
wherein the probability suggests a cutting point
[Gu 4.1.1 page 9]: “In the solution phase, we select the one with the highest probability [wherein the probability suggests a cutting point where indication of being related to cuts is given by the problem discussed in Gu being MaxCut and the premise of cutting is taught by the primary reference Tang in claim 1 rejection] in the output probability distribution and set it to 1, and the rest of the positions to 0. According to the result of Opredict, the pointer network selects the variables x1 and x3 with a value of 1, and the remaining variables have a value of 0—which is consistent with the result selected by Olabel”
The labeling of 0 or 1 for a cut is supported by the specification indicating the training data uses a 0 or 1 labeling ([Current Specification 0034]: “The cutting points 554 for the DAGs 552 in the training dataset 550 are labeled with a probability of 1 and the other layers are labelled with a probability of 0.”)
The motivation to combine with Gu is the same motivation to combine with Gu in claim 1, as the probability is seen as an extension of utilizing machine learning.
Kukar teaches
when the probability for the corresponding vector layer is above the threshold probability
[Kukar 3.4 Reliable and Unreliable Classifications page 8]: “Since the datasets used for training classifiers vary in their representativeness and noise levels as well as Machine Learning algorithms vary in strength and assumptions of their underlying models, it is hard to obtain absolute thresholds [when the probability for the corresponding vector layer is above the threshold probability] for reliable classifications. In our experiments they varied between 0.20 and 0.70 for different domains and Ma chine Learning algorithms.”
The motivation to combine with Kukar is the same as the motivation to combine with Kukar in claim 1.
Regarding Claim 9:
The method of claim 1 is taught by Tang, Gu, and Kukar
Tang teaches:
further comprising executing quantum subcircuits resulting from cutting the quantum circuit
[Tang Introduction page 3]: “We develop the first end-to-end hybrid approach that automatically locates efficient cut positions to cut a large quantum circuit into smaller subcircuits that are each independently executed [further comprising executing quantum subcircuits resulting from cutting the quantum circuit] by using quantum devices with fewer qubits.”
Regarding Claim 10:
The method of claim 1 is taught by Tang, Gu, and Kukar
Tang Teaches:
further comprising determining whether the quantum circuit can be cut
[Tang 3.3 Circuit Cutting: Challenges page 5]: “The first challenge is to find cut locations. While quantum circuits can always be split into smaller ones, finding optimal cut locations [further comprising determining whether the quantum circuit can be cut] is crucial in order to minimize the classical postprocessing overhead. In general, large quantum circuits may require more than one cut in order to be separated into subcircuits.”
Gu teaches:
based on the probabilities prior to performing the cutting operation
[Gu 4.1.1 page 9]: “In the solution phase, we select the one with the highest probability [based on the probabilities prior to performing the cutting operation] in the output probability distribution and set it to 1, and the rest of the positions to 0. According to the result of Opredict, the pointer network selects the variables x1 and x3 with a value of 1, and the remaining variables have a value of 0—which is consistent with the result selected by Olabel”
The motivation to combine with Gu is the same motivation to combine with Gu in claim 1.
Regarding Claim 11:
This claim is analogous to claim 1.
Regarding Claim 12:
This claim is analogous to claim 2.
Regarding Claim 13:
This claim is analogous to claim 3.
Regarding Claim 14:
This claim is analogous to claim 4.
Regarding Claim 15:
This claim is analogous to claim 5
Regarding Claim 16:
This claim is analogous to claim 6
Regarding Claim 17:
This claim is analogous to claim 7.
Regarding Claim 18:
This claim is analogous to claim 8.
Regarding Claim 19:
This claim is analogous to claim 9
Regarding Claim 20:
This claim is analogous to claim 10.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nazi et al (“A Deep Learning Framework for Graph Partitioning”) is relevant art that discusses the uses of machine learning for partitioning a graph in order to better optimize a graph for use on multiple devices.
Merida-Casermeiro et al (“Graph Partitioning via Recurrent Multivalued Neural Networks”) is relevant art that notes the utilizing of recurrent models for partitioning graphs in methods such as MaxCut and MinCut. Merida-Casermeiro et al also notes that such problems are related to or useful for circuit layouts ([Merida-Casermeiro et al Introduction page 1]: “For MaxCut: pattern recognition, clustering, statistical physics and the de sign of communication networks, VLSI circuits and circuit layout”).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.D.D./Examiner, Art Unit 2129
/MICHAEL J HUNTLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2129