DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This is the response to the RCE filed on 05/21/2026.
Claims 1-15, 19-20 and 28-29 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Criswell et al. (US 5,019,768) in view of Hyland et al. (US 2017/0214247).
Addressing claim 1, Criswell discloses a system (figs. 1A-1E) comprising:
an artificial light source (lunar power stations 16 and 18) configured to be disposed at a distance from earth 14 or other celestial body, wherein the artificial light source is configured to project one or more beams of light (short wave visible, ultraviolet or infrared optical beams generated by coherent laser sources (col. 6 ln 36-39) onto the earth or another celestial body (figs. 1A-1E); and
a photovoltaic array (photovoltaic arrays coupled to terrestrial rectenna elements, col. 23 ln 66-68) disposed in an area on the earth or other celestial body (col. 23 ln 66-68) is configured to receive the projected one or more beams of light (figs. 1A-1E), and is configured to convert the received one or more beams of light into electricity (inherent function of the photovoltaic array).
Criswell further discloses the minimum central spot size of the light beam at Earth is approximately 400 m (col. 47-50).
Criswell is silent regarding the photovoltaic array has a dimension from 200 m to 20 km.
Hyland discloses in paragraph [0005] terrestrial receiver of an SSP system for receiving energy beams, similarly to that of Criswell; wherein, the rectenna of the receiver is 1km in diameter and the photovoltaic array includes two 18,300 square meter solar arrays that result in a photovoltaic array having a dimension that falls within the claimed range.
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, one with ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the photovoltaic array of Criswell to have the known dimension disclosed by Hyland in order to obtain the predictable result of receiving energy beam from a light source to convert the energy beam into electrical power (Rationale B, KSR decision, MPEP 2143). Additionally, one with ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the photovoltaic array of Criswell to have the dimension disclosed by Hyland in order to effectively cover the spot size of the energy beam projected onto Earth (Hyland, [0089]).
Addressing claim 2, Criswell discloses laser light with visible or infrared wavelength (col. 6 ln 36-39) that includes peak wavelength in the claimed range.
Addressing claim 3, the limitation is met because the laser light disclosed by Criswell has wavelength that is absorbed by the photovoltaic array which is the equivalence of a peak wavelength range of the one or more beams of the artificial light source is selected based on an efficiency range of the photovoltaic array.
Addressing claims 5-6, Criswell discloses in fig. 3A that a plurality of solar collecting areas as the claimed plurality of sources to form the one or more projected beams of light as claimed.
Addressing claim 7, Criswell discloses laser sources (col. 6 ln 36-39 and col. 23 ln 57-68).
Addressing claim 29, the system of Criswell includes structures that operate in outer space environment and terrestrial environment, that includes temperatures that fall within the claimed range of 210K to 315K; for example, the terrestrial photovoltaic receiver of Criswell is situated on Earth, which has a surface temperature that falls within the claimed range.
Claim(s) 4 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Criswell et al. (US 5,019,768) in view of Hyland et al. (US 2017/0214247) as applied to claims 1-3, 5-7 and 29 above, and further in view of Tillotson (US 2023/0035481 or ‘481).
Addressing claims 4 and 20, Criswell is silent regarding the claimed materials.
Tillotson ‘481 discloses photovoltaic array for receiving and converting laser beam, such as visible, ultraviolet and infrared light, from satellite to electrical power similarly to that of Criswell; wherein, the photovoltaic array is formed of the claimed materials [0026].
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, one with ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the system of Criswell in view of Hyland with the known photovoltaic materials disclosed by Tillotson ‘481 in order to obtain the predictable result of receiving and converting laser beam from satellite to electrical power (Rationale B, KSR decision, MPEP 2143). Regarding claim 20, figs. 2 and 4-5 of Tillotson ‘481 disclose the claimed limitation.
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Criswell et al. (US 5,019,768) in view of Hyland et al. (US 2017/0214247) as applied to claims 1-3, 5-7 and 29 above, and further in view of Virdee (US 2004/0067366).
Addressing claim 8, Criswell and Hyland are silent regarding the limitation of current claim.
Virdee discloses artificial light source comprises laser diodes coupled to delivery fiber [0069-0070] for sending laser to photovoltaic array for converting laser beam to electrical energy (fig. 1).
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, one with ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the system of Criswell with the known laser diodes coupled to delivery fibers as disclosed by Virdee in order to obtain the predictable result of delivering laser team to the target photovoltaic array for energy conversion (Rationale B, KSR decision, MPEP 2143) with improved beam quality (Virdee, [0070].
Addressing claim 9, fig. 1 of Virdee shows the deliver fibers are combined to send one or more beams of light from the system towards the intended photovoltaic arrays that meet the claimed limitation.
Claim(s) 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Criswell et al. (US 5,019,768) in view of Hyland et al. (US 2017/0214247) and Virdee (US 2004/0067366) as applied to claims 8-9 above, and further in view of Atwater et al. (US 2016/0056321).
Addressing claims 10-11, Criswell, Hyland and Virdee are silent regarding the limitations of current claims.
Atwater discloses each module, which comprises the photovoltaic array and the associated structure for sending laser beam, includes radiative heat sink to control the operating temperature within a range from 150 to 300 K [0084] that overlaps with the claimed temperature range.
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the plurality of modules of Criswell modified system with the radiative heat sink disclosed by Atwater in order to manage the temperature of the modules in their optimum operating condition. With regard to the limitation of claim 11, both Criswell and Atwater disclose the claimed satellite on which the photovoltaic array, the laser modules and the associated heat sink are positioned; therefore, the limitation of claim 11 would have been obvious based on the teaching of Criswell in view of Atwater and Virdee as discussed above.
Addressing claim 12, Atwater discloses the need for lightweight satellite by reducing the dimension of the satellite prior to deployment; therefore, absent evidence of unexpected results, one with ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at the claimed size of the satellite when perform routine experimentation with the length, height and/or width of the satellite (Atwater, [0067]) to optimize the weight of the satellite for deployment.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Criswell et al. (US 5,019,768) in view of Hyland et al. (US 2017/0214247) as applied to claims 1-3, 5-7 and 29 above, and further in view of Niedrig (EP2056144 with provided machine English translation).
Addressing claim 13, Criswell and Hyland are silent regarding the claimed minimum beam parameter product range.
Niedrig discloses laser used for optoelectronic transmitter (paragraph [0005] of the translation document); wherein, the BPP of the laser source is between 0.3 to about 20 mm-mrad [0023].
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, one with ordinary skill in the would have arrived at the claimed BPP of the artificial light source in the range greater than 10 mm-mrad when perform routine experimentation with the BPP of the laser source of Criswell in the range disclosed by Niedrig in order to optimize the quality of the laser beam.
Claim(s) 14-15, 19 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Criswell et al. (US 5,019,768) in view of Hyland et al. (US 2017/0214247) as applied to claims 1-3, 5-7 and 29 above, and further in view of Atwater et al. (US 2016/0056321).
Addressing claim 14 and 28, Criswell discloses the system comprises: a satellite (the moon is earth’s satellite) comprising the artificial light source (microwave transmission system described in col. 3 ln 10-25); a photovoltaic array 50 electrically coupled to the artificial light source (col. 3 ln 10-25).
Criswell and Hyland are silent regarding at least one radiator panel, wherein the at least one radiator panel is configured to dissipate hate by the artificial light source into space.
Atwater discloses in fig. 4a that the photovoltaic array 113 and the power transmitter 114 (for transmitting laser light [0066 and 0072]) are provided on the same space vehicle. Atwater further discloses heat sink associated with the photovoltaic array to improve the efficiency of the photovoltaic cell [0084]. The heat sink, as the structural equivalence to the claimed radiator panel, is configured to dissipate heat generated by the artificial light source into space because it is provided in the same structure as the artificial light source.
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, one with ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the space apparatus of Criswell with the heat sink disclosed by Atwater in order to cool and improve the efficiency of the photovoltaic array (Atwater, [0084]). In the modified space apparatus of Criswell in view of Atwater, the heat sink, as the structural equivalence to the claimed radiator panel, is configured to dissipate heat generated by the artificial light source into space because the heat sink is provided in the same structure as the photovoltaic array and the artificial light source.
Addressing claim 15, the heat sink disclosed by Atwater is configured to increase the efficiency of the artificial light source indirectly because it increases the efficiency of the photovoltaic array which provides more power to the artificial light source. The heat sink also increases the output power of the artificial light source by increasing the efficiency of the photovoltaic array, which provides more power to the artificial light source.
Addressing claim 19, the limitation of current claim is drawn to the selection of a size and mass of the radiator panel without reciting any numerical values associated with the size and mass of the radiator panel to structurally differentiate the claimed radiator panel from that of the prior art. Atwater discloses each module, which comprises the photovoltaic array and the associated structure for sending laser beam, includes radiative heat sink to control the operating temperature within a range from 150 to 300 K [0084] that overlaps with the claimed temperature range of 210K – 315K.
Claim(s) 1-7, 20 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tillotson (US 2023/0035481 or ‘481) in view of Rubenchik et al. (US 2010/0276547).
Addressing claim 1, Tillotson ‘481 discloses a system comprising:
an artificial light source (space apparatus 110 with light emitting devices, [0020]) configured to be disposed at a distance from earth or other celestial body [0020], wherein the artificial light source is configured to project one or more beams of light onto the earth or another celestial body (paragraph [0028] discloses space apparatus 110 includes a first photovoltaic cell 112 and light emission system 120 that implies the space apparatus is configured to project one or more beams of light via the light emission system 120 to a second photovoltaic cell 112 located on earth);
a photovoltaic receiver disposed in an area on the earth or other celestial body (second photovoltaic cell located on earth [0028]) is configured to receive the projected one or more beams of light, and is configured to convert the received one or more beams of light into electricity [0028].
Tillotson ‘481 is silent regarding the photovoltaic array is 200 m – 2 km in any one dimension.
Rubenchik discloses ground photovoltaic receiver for receiving laser beam projected from space and convert the absorbed laser beam into electrical power [0044]. Fig. 8 shows multiple power receiving stations on Earth [0053], which constitutes the claimed photovoltaic array, in order to increase the total area to which the collected solar energy can be supplied. Rubenchik further discloses a receiver with a diameter of 5 meters is used to cover the energy beam projected from space [0042]. Rubenchik discloses as an example 10 stations positioned on earth to receive laser beam [0053], which results in a photovoltaic array of 50 m in one dimension when the photovoltaic receiver are positioned side by side adjacent to each other Rubenchik discloses in fig. 8 that the photovoltaic array having photovoltaic ground receivers being spaced apart which results in a photovoltaic array of greater than 50 m in one dimension, which encompasses the claimed range.
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, one with ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the photovoltaic receiver of Tillotson ‘481 with multiple photovoltaic receiving stations having the dimension disclosed by Rubenchik, that constitute the photovoltaic array, in order to maintain quasi-continuous reception of laser beam being projected from space for power generation (Rubenchik, [0053]). Additionally, one with ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at the claimed photovoltaic array that is 200 m – 20 km in any one dimension when perform routine experimentation with the number of photovoltaic ground receivers and the separation between the photovoltaic ground receivers in order to optimize the total area to which the collected solar energy can be supplied as well as the amount of power generated from the collected solar energy. For example, forty photovoltaic ground receiving stations having the dimension disclosed by Rubenchik would result in a photovoltaic array of at least 200 m in one dimension. Alternatively, twenty two photovoltaic ground receiving stations having the dimension disclosed by Rubenchik positioned at 5 meters apart would result in a photovoltaic array of 200 m in one dimension.
Addressing claim 2, Tillotson ‘481 discloses in paragraph [0045] the light emitting devices with one or more beams of light having peak wavelengths that fall within the claimed range.
Addressing claim 3, the limitation of current claim is drawn to the process of selecting the peak wavelength of the one or more beams of artificial light source corresponding to the efficiency range of the terrestrial photovoltaic array without reciting any numerical values associated with the claimed peak wavelength and efficiency range of the terrestrial photovoltaic array to structurally differentiate the claimed system from that of the prior art. Furthermore, fig. 2 of Tillotson ‘481 shows the selection of the peak wavelength of the light emitting devices that correspond to the absorption characteristics of the semiconductor material of the terrestrial photovoltaic array that satisfies the claimed limitation.
Addressing claim 4, paragraph [0026] of Tillotson ‘481 discloses the claimed materials.
Addressing claims 5-6, fig. 1 of Tillotson ‘481 discloses the space apparatus or the claimed artificial light source combines light from a plurality of sources to form the one or more projected beams of light. The different light sources correspond to the claimed incoherently combined.
Addressing claim 7, Tillotson ‘481 discloses the light emission system comprises a plurality of lasers emitting different wavelengths and/or photon energies (Abstract).
Addressing claim 20, see figs. 2 and 4-5 of Tillotson ‘481.
Addressing claim 29, the system of Tillotson ‘481 includes structures that operate in outer space environment and terrestrial environment, that includes temperatures that fall within the claimed range of 210K to 315K; for example, the terrestrial photovoltaic receiver of Tillotson ‘481 is situated on Earth, which has a surface temperature that falls within the claimed range.
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tillotson (US 2023/0035481 or ‘481) in view of Rubenchik et al. (US 2010/0276547) as applied to claims 1-7, 20 and 29 above, and further in view of Virdee (US 2024/0067366).
Addressing claim 8, Tillotson ‘481 and Rubenchik are silent regarding the limitation of current claim.
Virdee discloses artificial light source comprises laser diodes coupled to delivery fiber [0069-0070] for sending laser to photovoltaic array for converting laser beam to electrical energy (fig. 1).
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, one with ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the system of Tillotson ‘481 with the known laser diodes coupled to delivery fibers as disclosed by Virdee in order to obtain the predictable result of delivering laser team to the target photovoltaic array for energy conversion (Rationale B, KSR decision, MPEP 2143) with improved beam quality (Virdee, [0070].
Addressing claim 9, fig. 1 of Virdee shows the deliver fibers are combined to send one or more beams of light from the system towards the intended photovoltaic arrays that meet the claimed limitation.
Claim(s) 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tillotson (US 2023/0035481 or ‘481) in view of Rubenchik et al. (US 2010/0276547) and Virdee as applied to claims 8-9 above, and further in view of Atwater et al. (US 2016/0056321).
Addressing claims 10-11, Tillotson ‘481, Rubenchik and Virdee are silent regarding the limitations of current claims.
Atwater discloses each module, which comprises the photovoltaic array and the associated structure for sending laser beam, includes radiative heat sink to control the operating temperature within a range from 150 to 300 K [0084] that overlaps with the claimed temperature range.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the plurality of modules of Tillotson ‘481 modified system with the radiative heat sink disclosed by Atwater in order to manage the temperature of the modules in their optimum operating condition. With regard to the limitation of claim 11, both Tillotson ‘481 and Atwater disclose the claimed satellite on which the photovoltaic array, the laser modules and the associated heat sink are positioned; therefore, the limitation of claim 11 would have been obvious based on the teaching of Tillotson ‘481 in view of Atwater and Virdee as discussed above.
Addressing claim 12, Atwater discloses the need for lightweight satellite by reducing the dimension of the satellite prior to deployment; therefore, absent evidence of unexpected results, one with ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at the claimed size of the satellite when perform routine experimentation with the length, height and/or width of the satellite (Atwater, [0067]) to optimize the weight of the satellite for deployment.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tillotson (US 2023/0035481 or ‘481) in view of Rubenchik et al. (US 2010/0276547) as applied to claims 1-7, 20 and 29 above, and further in view of Niedrig (EP2056144 with provided machine English translation).
Addressing claim 13, Tillotson ‘481 and Rubenchik are silent regarding the claimed minimum beam parameter product range.
Niedrig discloses laser used for optoelectronic transmitter (paragraph [0005] of the translation document); wherein, the BPP of the laser source is between 0.3 to about 20 mm-mrad [0023].
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, one with ordinary skill in the would have arrived at the claimed BPP of the artificial light source in the range greater than 10 mm-mrad when perform routine experimentation with the BPP of the laser source of Tillotson ‘481 in the range disclosed by Niedrig in order to optimize the quality of the laser beam.
Claim(s) 14-15, 19 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tillotson (US 2023/0035481 or ‘481) in view of Rubenchik et al. (US 2010/0276547) as applied to claims 1-7, 20 and 29 above, and further in view of Atwater et al. (US 2016/0056321).
Addressing claims 14 and 28, Tillotson discloses the system comprises a satellite (the space apparatus 110) comprising the artificial light source (light emitting devices) and a photovoltaic array (first photovoltaic cell [0028]) electrically coupled to the artificial light source and configured to power the artificial light source [0028].
Tillotson is silent regarding at least one radiator panel configured to dissipate heat generated by the artificial light source into space.
Atwater discloses in fig. 4a that the photovoltaic array 113 and the power transmitter 114 (for transmitting laser light [0066 and 0072]) are provided on the same space vehicle. Atwater further discloses heat sink associated with the photovoltaic array to improve the efficiency of the photovoltaic cell [0084]. The heat sink, as the structural equivalence to the claimed radiator panel, is configured to dissipate heat generated by the artificial light source into space because it is provided in the same structure as the artificial light source.
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, one with ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the space apparatus of Tillotson with the heat sink disclosed by Atwater in order to cool and improve the efficiency of the photovoltaic array (Atwater, [0084]). In the modified space apparatus of Tillotson in view of Atwater, the heat sink, as the structural equivalence to the claimed radiator panel, is configured to dissipate heat generated by the artificial light source into space because the heat sink is provided in the same vehicle as the photovoltaic array and the artificial light source.
Addressing claim 15, the heat sink disclosed by Atwater is configured to increase the efficiency of the artificial light source indirectly because it increases the efficiency of the photovoltaic array which provides more power to the artificial light source. The heat sink also increases the output power of the artificial light source by increasing the efficiency of the photovoltaic array, which provides more power to the artificial light source.
Addressing claim 19, the limitation of current claim is drawn to the selection of a size and mass of the radiator panel without reciting any numerical values associated with the size and mass of the radiator panel to structurally differentiate the claimed radiator panel from that of the prior art. Atwater discloses each module, which comprises the photovoltaic array and the associated structure for sending laser beam, includes radiative heat sink to control the operating temperature within a range from 150 to 300 K [0084] that overlaps with the claimed temperature range of 210K – 315K.
Response to Arguments
The Applicants’ affidavit is appreciated. However, Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-15, 19-20 and 28-29 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/BACH T DINH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726 08/21/2026