DETAILED ACTION
This is the First Action for the Request for Continued Examination based on the 18/345,360 application filed on 06/30/2023 and which claims as amended on 03/02/2026 have been considered in the ensuing action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rahmani et al (US 2023/0263989) in view of Kezirian et al (US 10,335,635).
Regarding claim 1:
Rahmani teaches positioning an open portion (see annotated Fig. below) of a member (the member is the entire device shown in Fig. 3), of the first breathing apparatus (the device is designed such that the user breathes through the device, and therefore has been considered a breathing apparatus; either the right or the left side of the device has been considered the first breathing apparatus and the other has been considered the second breathing apparatus, as disclosed by applicant the different apparatuses can share a common housing), to a nose without covering an open a mouth of a user (see Fig. 1, the open portions are placed within the nose without covering any other portion of the face of the user) such that nasal breathing by the user through the open portion results in anterior movement of a soft palate of the user to open space in an area of a throat of the user behind the soft palate to create a continuous air pathway from the nose to lungs of the user (The device is configured to have the user breathe in and out through the nose of the user, which would result in anterior movement of the soft palate to open space in an area of the throat behind the soft palate to create continuous air pathway from the nose to the lungs); and performing by the user the nasal breathing exercise via the continuous air pathway, with the breathing apparatus, in which the user generates, a pressure within the open portion that exceeds a threshold pressure of a valve mechanism (Rahmani appears to show valve mechanisms that are biased closed, see Fig. 2A-2B, such that one is biased to open with positive pressure in the open portion and the other is biased to open with negative pressure in the open portion “on inhale, outside air 204 passes through vents 208 in device housing 212. The force of outside air 204 forces check valve 216 to open, while check valve 220 remains shut. This allows air 224 to selectively pass through device housing 212 into one nostril and not the other.” And “on exhale, air 254 passes from a user's nostril (not shown). The force of air causes check valve 258 to open, while check valve 262 remains closed, resulting in air 254 selectively passing through one nostril and not the other.” See paragraphs [0015-0016]), of the breathing apparatus, biased towards a closed position to cause the valve mechanism to open such that the open portion of the breathing apparatus is fluidly connected to a distal portion of the breathing apparatus and the lungs to train muscles of the user (breathing through the device will train the muscles of the user) ; an open portion (see annotated Fig. below) of a member (the member is the entire device shown in Fig. 3), of the second breathing apparatus (the device is designed such that the user breathes through the device, and therefore has been considered a breathing apparatus; see explanation above regarding the first and second breathing apparatuses), to a nose without covering an open a mouth of a user (see Fig. 1, the open portions are placed within the nose without covering any other portion of the face of the user) such that nasal breathing by the user through the open portion results in anterior movement of a soft palate of the user to open space in an area of a throat of the user behind the soft palate to create a continuous air pathway from the nose to lungs of the user (The device is configured to have the user breathe in and out through the nose of the user, which would result in anterior movement of the soft palate to open space in an area of the throat behind the soft palate to create continuous air pathway from the nose to the lungs); and performing by the user the nasal breathing exercise via the continuous air pathway, with the breathing apparatus, in which the user generates, a pressure within the open portion that exceeds a threshold pressure of a valve mechanism (see explanation above) of the breathing apparatus, biased towards an closed position to cause the valve mechanism to open such that the open portion of the breathing apparatus is fluidly connected to the lungs but separated from a distal portion of the breathing apparatus to train muscles of the user (breathing through the device will train the muscles of the user).
[AltContent: textbox (Open portion)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Rahmani et al discusses performing the breathing exercises to reduce blood pressure, but fails to distinctly disclose that performing by the user the nasal breathing exercise via the continuous air pathway, with the breathing apparatus, in which the user generates, for a predetermined number of repetitions or duration of time.
Kezirian et al teaches various breathing exercisers with open proximal portions, valve mechanism and distal ends and a method of use that includes “and generating, by the user, with the head and neck exercise apparatus, for a predetermined number of repetitions or duration of time, the absolute pressure within the open proximal portion such that there is a response in the feedback mechanism to train muscles associated with creating the absolute pressure.” See claim 1.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the method of use disclosed by Rahmani et al with the method of use disclosed by Kezirian et al as both methods are directed to breathing exercises performed with a device having open proximal portions through which a user breathes, a valve mechanism and distal ends. Further, breathing (exercising) for a certain amount of time or repetitions is well known in the art.
Regarding claim 2:
Rahmani teaches positioning an open portion (see annotated Fig. below) of a member (the member is the entire device shown in Fig. 3), of the first breathing apparatus (the device is designed such that the user breathes through the device, and therefore has been considered a breathing apparatus; either the right or the left side of the device has been considered the first breathing apparatus and the other has been considered the second breathing apparatus, as disclosed by applicant the different apparatuses can share a common housing), to a nose without covering an open a mouth of a user (see Fig. 1, the open portions are placed within the nose without covering any other portion of the face of the user) such that nasal breathing by the user through the open portion results in anterior movement of a soft palate of the user to open space in an area of a throat of the user behind the soft palate to create a continuous air pathway from the nose to lungs of the user (The device is configured to have the user breathe in and out through the nose of the user, which would result in anterior movement of the soft palate to open space in an area of the throat behind the soft palate to create continuous air pathway from the nose to the lungs); and performing by the user the nasal breathing exercise via the continuous air pathway, with the breathing apparatus, in which the user generates, a pressure within the open portion that exceeds a threshold pressure of a valve mechanism (Rahmani appears to show valve mechanisms that are biased closed, see Fig. 2A-2B, such that one is biased to open with positive pressure in the open portion and the other is biased to open with negative pressure in the open portion “on inhale, outside air 204 passes through vents 208 in device housing 212. The force of outside air 204 forces check valve 216 to open, while check valve 220 remains shut. This allows air 224 to selectively pass through device housing 212 into one nostril and not the other.” And “on exhale, air 254 passes from a user's nostril (not shown). The force of air causes check valve 258 to open, while check valve 262 remains closed, resulting in air 254 selectively passing through one nostril and not the other.” See paragraphs [0015-0016]), of the breathing apparatus, biased towards a closed position to cause the valve mechanism to open such that the open portion of the breathing apparatus is fluidly connected to a distal portion of the breathing apparatus and the lungs to train muscles of the user (breathing through the device will train the muscles of the user) ; an open portion (see annotated Fig. below) of a member (the member is the entire device shown in Fig. 3), of the second breathing apparatus (the device is designed such that the user breathes through the device, and therefore has been considered a breathing apparatus; see explanation above regarding the first and second breathing apparatuses), to a nose without covering an open a mouth of a user (see Fig. 1, the open portions are placed within the nose without covering any other portion of the face of the user) such that nasal breathing by the user through the open portion results in anterior movement of a soft palate of the user to open space in an area of a throat of the user behind the soft palate to create a continuous air pathway from the nose to lungs of the user (The device is configured to have the user breathe in and out through the nose of the user, which would result in anterior movement of the soft palate to open space in an area of the throat behind the soft palate to create continuous air pathway from the nose to the lungs); and performing by the user the nasal breathing exercise via the continuous air pathway, with the breathing apparatus, in which the user generates, a pressure within the open portion that exceeds a threshold pressure of a valve mechanism (see explanation above) of the breathing apparatus, biased towards an closed position to cause the valve mechanism to open such that the open portion of the breathing apparatus is fluidly connected to the lungs but separated from a distal portion of the breathing apparatus to train muscles of the user (breathing through the device will train the muscles of the user).
[AltContent: textbox (Open portion)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Rahmani et al discusses performing the breathing exercises to reduce blood pressure, but fails to distinctly disclose that performing by the user the nasal breathing exercise via the continuous air pathway, with the breathing apparatus, in which the user generates, for a predetermined number of repetitions or duration of time. Rahmani et al fails to further disclose that one check valve is biased open while the other is biased closed.
Kezirian et al teaches various breathing exercisers with open proximal portions, valve mechanism and distal ends and a method of use that includes “and generating, by the user, with the head and neck exercise apparatus, for a predetermined number of repetitions or duration of time, the absolute pressure within the open proximal portion such that there is a response in the feedback mechanism to train muscles associated with creating the absolute pressure.” See claim 1. Kezirian et al further discloses using any number of valve mechanisms, including check valves, that can be biased opened or closed (“The valve mechanism 118 is presented as of the deflection valve type, but other valve mechanism types such as reed valve, leaf valve, duckbill valve, ball valve, check valve, gate valve, plug valve, and diaphragm valve, are possible. ” and “In other embodiments, the valve mechanism 118 may be biased towards the open position unless it is closed when the positive pressure in the proximal portion 122 is greater than a threshold pressure, with all other potential configurations described elsewhere in this application. In other embodiments, the valve mechanism 118 may be biased towards the closed position and open only if negative pressure in the proximal portion 122 has an absolute pressure greater than a threshold negative pressure (i.e., is less than a threshold negative pressure).” See column 3 lines 25-44)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the method of use disclosed by Rahmani et al with the method of use disclosed by Kezirian et al as both methods are directed to breathing exercises performed with a device having open proximal portions through which a user breathes, a valve mechanism and distal ends. Further, breathing (exercising) for a certain amount of time or repetitions is well known in the art.
It would have been further obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the check valves of Rahmani et al to either be biased closed or biased open, as taught by Kezirian et al as the function of the exerciser would not change as the check valves remain unidirectional. The Examiner further notes that having one valve biased open to positive pressure and on valve biased closed to positive pressure, would also result in unidirectional breathing through each nostril, as intended by Rahmani et al.
Regarding claim 3:
Rahmani teaches positioning an open portion (see annotated Fig. below) of a member (the member is the entire device shown in Fig. 3), of the first breathing apparatus (the device is designed such that the user breathes through the device, and therefore has been considered a breathing apparatus; either the right or the left side of the device has been considered the first breathing apparatus and the other has been considered the second breathing apparatus, as disclosed by applicant the different apparatuses can share a common housing), to a nose without covering an open a mouth of a user (see Fig. 1, the open portions are placed within the nose without covering any other portion of the face of the user) such that nasal breathing by the user through the open portion results in anterior movement of a soft palate of the user to open space in an area of a throat of the user behind the soft palate to create a continuous air pathway from the nose to lungs of the user (The device is configured to have the user breathe in and out through the nose of the user, which would result in anterior movement of the soft palate to open space in an area of the throat behind the soft palate to create continuous air pathway from the nose to the lungs); and performing by the user the nasal breathing exercise via the continuous air pathway, with the breathing apparatus, in which the user generates, a pressure within the open portion that exceeds a threshold pressure of a valve mechanism (Rahmani appears to show valve mechanisms that are biased closed, see Fig. 2A-2B, such that one is biased to open with positive pressure in the open portion and the other is biased to open with negative pressure in the open portion “on inhale, outside air 204 passes through vents 208 in device housing 212. The force of outside air 204 forces check valve 216 to open, while check valve 220 remains shut. This allows air 224 to selectively pass through device housing 212 into one nostril and not the other.” And “on exhale, air 254 passes from a user's nostril (not shown). The force of air causes check valve 258 to open, while check valve 262 remains closed, resulting in air 254 selectively passing through one nostril and not the other.” See paragraphs [0015-0016]), of the breathing apparatus, biased towards a closed position to cause the valve mechanism to open such that the open portion of the breathing apparatus is fluidly connected to a distal portion of the breathing apparatus and the lungs to train muscles of the user (breathing through the device will train the muscles of the user) ; an open portion (see annotated Fig. below) of a member (the member is the entire device shown in Fig. 3), of the second breathing apparatus (the device is designed such that the user breathes through the device, and therefore has been considered a breathing apparatus; see explanation above regarding the first and second breathing apparatuses), to a nose without covering an open a mouth of a user (see Fig. 1, the open portions are placed within the nose without covering any other portion of the face of the user) such that nasal breathing by the user through the open portion results in anterior movement of a soft palate of the user to open space in an area of a throat of the user behind the soft palate to create a continuous air pathway from the nose to lungs of the user (The device is configured to have the user breathe in and out through the nose of the user, which would result in anterior movement of the soft palate to open space in an area of the throat behind the soft palate to create continuous air pathway from the nose to the lungs); and performing by the user the nasal breathing exercise via the continuous air pathway, with the breathing apparatus, in which the user generates, a pressure within the open portion that exceeds a threshold pressure of a valve mechanism (see explanation above) of the breathing apparatus, biased towards an closed position to cause the valve mechanism to open such that the open portion of the breathing apparatus is fluidly connected to the lungs but separated from a distal portion of the breathing apparatus to train muscles of the user (breathing through the device will train the muscles of the user).
[AltContent: textbox (Open portion)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Rahmani et al discusses performing the breathing exercises to reduce blood pressure, but fails to distinctly disclose that performing by the user the nasal breathing exercise via the continuous air pathway, with the breathing apparatus, in which the user generates, for a predetermined number of repetitions or duration of time. Rahmani et al fails to further disclose that both check valve are biased open.
Kezirian et al teaches various breathing exercisers with open proximal portions, valve mechanism and distal ends and a method of use that includes “and generating, by the user, with the head and neck exercise apparatus, for a predetermined number of repetitions or duration of time, the absolute pressure within the open proximal portion such that there is a response in the feedback mechanism to train muscles associated with creating the absolute pressure.” See claim 1. Kezirian et al further discloses using any number of valve mechanisms, including check valves, that can be biased opened or closed (“The valve mechanism 118 is presented as of the deflection valve type, but other valve mechanism types such as reed valve, leaf valve, duckbill valve, ball valve, check valve, gate valve, plug valve, and diaphragm valve, are possible. ” and “In other embodiments, the valve mechanism 118 may be biased towards the open position unless it is closed when the positive pressure in the proximal portion 122 is greater than a threshold pressure, with all other potential configurations described elsewhere in this application. In other embodiments, the valve mechanism 118 may be biased towards the closed position and open only if negative pressure in the proximal portion 122 has an absolute pressure greater than a threshold negative pressure (i.e., is less than a threshold negative pressure).” See column 3 lines 25-44)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the method of use disclosed by Rahmani et al with the method of use disclosed by Kezirian et al as both methods are directed to breathing exercises performed with a device having open proximal portions through which a user breathes, a valve mechanism and distal ends. Further, breathing (exercising) for a certain amount of time or repetitions is well known in the art.
It would have been further obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the check valves of Rahmani et al to either be biased open, as taught by Kezirian et al as the function of the exerciser would not change as the check valves remain unidirectional.
Regarding claim 28:
Rahmani as modified teaches that the first breathing apparatus and the second breathing apparatus define a combined housing (as discussed above, the right and left sides have been considered the first and second breathing apparatuses).
Regarding claim 29:
Rahmani as modified teaches that the first breathing apparatus and the second breathing apparatus define a combined housing (as discussed above, the right and left sides have been considered the first and second breathing apparatuses).
Regarding claim 30:
Rahmani as modified teaches that the first breathing apparatus and the second breathing apparatus define a combined housing (as discussed above, the right and left sides have been considered the first and second breathing apparatuses).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The Examiner notes that it would not be reasonable to modify the method of use of Rahmani et al to include a secondary apparatus with different features (claims 3, 4, 5, 6) or to pick between devices with different features (claims 13, 14) as the device of Rahmani et al is simply used for unidirectional airflow in each nostril and is not designed to have different resistances, or valve mechanisms. The Examiner notes that the claims do not currently require differences between the first and second apparatus (claims 1 and 3) except for the biasing of the valve mechanism (claim 2).
Further, the Examiner notes that while Kezirian et al teaches the method of use of the apparatus in all aspects but that the open proximal portion is placed to a user’s nose without covering an open mouth for nose breathing, it would be unreasonable to modify Kezirian et al to be placed against the user’s nose, as Kezirian et al strictly teaches mouth exercise devices and further no secondary reference that teaches both a device that can be placed against a user’s mouth and separately against a user’s nose without covering a mouth, to perform exercises has been identified.
Conclusion
/Megan Anderson/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3784