Response to Arguments filed 10/15/2025
Applicant's arguments filed 10/15/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant’s arguments are directed towards limitations that were in the alternative, see MPEP 2173.05(h)) but now are not expressed in the alternative, thus changing the scope of the claim. As the applicant arguments are directed towards limitations that are addressed by a different reference, they are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 25 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 25 recites, “The electronic device defined in claim 1, wherein the portal is presented as world-locked content.” Which is considered to be indefinite. The limitation recites world-locked content in a way that leaves doubt as to what is trying to be claimed. Said another way, what the portal is and how world-locked content relates to the portal. As is, it is not clear if the world-locked content is the environment that you access once you enter the portal. Is the world-locked content presented by the portal itself? As in, does this portal unambiguously present world-locked content will be for the user that enters the portal before they even enter the portal or does the portal present the world-locked content after?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2,4-10, 12-18, 20- 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Long et al. (US Patent No. 9,573,062 Bl) in view of Song (US 20240082718 A1) in further view of Singh et al. (US 20190005717 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Long teaches an electronic device comprising:
[…]
one or more displays (Fig. 1, multiple displays);
one or more processors (See col. 25 lines 1 – 8, “one or more processors”); and
memory storing instructions configured to be executed by the one or more processors
, the instructions for (See col. 25 lines 1 – 8, “The computer programs typically comprise one or more instructions set at various times in various memory and storage devices in a computing device or computer, and that, when read and executed by one or more processors in the computer, cause the computer to perform operations necessary to
execute elements involving the various aspects of the invention.”):
obtaining content comprising a representation of a three-dimensional environment (See col. 12 lines 41 – col. 13 lines 8: different 3d environments such as various video games. Col. 13 line 29 -55: describes 3d-360 viewing mode);
presenting, using at least the one or more displays, the content in an extended reality environment in a first viewing mode, wherein in the first viewing mode the content is presented based on a viewpoint positioned within the representation of the three-dimensional environment (See col. 13 line 29-55: the view mode is the 3d-360 mode);
obtaining, [...], user input (col. 3 lines 1-35: user input); and
in response to the user input, presenting, using at least the one or more displays, the content in the extended reality environment in a second viewing mode, wherein in the second viewing mode the content is presented based on a viewpoint that is external to the representation of the three-dimensional environment (col. 21 line 29-col. 22 line 39: describes a minimap. A minimap is considered to be a second viewing mode. The mini-map adjusts based upon input of the user. See Fig. 8, Fig. 14 and 15, shows a second viewing mode, that are external to the first viewing mode.) but doesn’t explicitly disclose:
one or more sensors; obtaining, via the one or more sensors, user input; and wherein the second viewing mode comprises a portal viewing mode in which the content is presented as a portal into the three-dimensional environment.
Fig. 8: shows a minimap, which can be a second view.
Fig. 14: shows a minimap, which can be a second view.
Fig. 15: shows a second view mode, that is in 2d and external to the representation of the three-dimensional environment.
Song teaches one or more sensors; obtaining, via the one or more sensors, user input (¶676, “The gyroscope sensor 5512 may detect a body direction and a rotation angle of the terminal 5500. The gyroscope sensor 5512 may cooperate with the acceleration sensor 5511 to acquire a 3D action by the user on the terminal 5500. The processor 5501 may implement the following functions according to data acquired by the gyroscope sensor 5512: motion sensing (for example, the UI is changed according to a tilt operation of a user), image stabilization during shooting, game control, and inertial navigation.”)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Long in view of Song as doing so would be applying known techniques of Song, that is sensors and inputs (Song ¶676), to a known device of Long ready for improvement to yield predicable results.
Both Long in view of Song doesn’t explicitly disclose and wherein the second viewing mode comprises a portal viewing mode in which the content is presented as a portal into the three-dimensional environment.
Singh teaches wherein the second viewing mode comprises a portal viewing mode in which the content is presented as a portal into the three-dimensional environment (See Fig. 6 with annotation below. See ¶27, ¶48, ¶49, ¶53, ¶55).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Long in view of Song in further view of Singh as doing so would be applying the known techniques of Singh, that is the second viewing mode comprises a portal viewing mode in which the content is presented as a portal into the three-dimensional environment (See Fig. 6 with annotation below. See ¶27, ¶48, ¶49, ¶53, ¶55), to a known device of Long in view of Song ready for improvement to yield predicable results.
Fig. 6: With additional annotations pointing out 3D environment from the environment before the portal and a 3D environment in the environment the portal provides access to.
Regarding claim 2, Long in view of Song in further view of Singh teaches the electronic device defined in claim 1, wherein the first viewing mode comprises a virtual reality viewing mode in which the viewpoint is repositioned responsive to rotational movements detected by the one or more sensors (See Song ¶91, three-dimensional mode, ¶676: rotation inputs).
Regarding claim 4, Long in view of Song in further view of Singh teaches the electronic device defined in claim 1, wherein the portal is presented on a subset of a full screen of the one or more displays (See Fig. 6 with annotation below. See ¶27, ¶48, ¶49, ¶53, ¶55 a portal is a subset of the full screen. See MPEP 2173.05(h))
Regarding claim 5, Long in view of Song in further view of Singh teaches the electronic device defined in claim 1, wherein presenting the content in the extended reality environment in the second viewing mode further comprises presenting a view of a physical environment in which the electronic device is located from the viewpoint that is external to the representation of the three-dimensional environment (See Long Fig. 14 and 15).
Regarding claim 6, Long in view of Song in further view of Singh teaches the electronic device defined in claim 1, wherein the content is a live multiuser communication session (See Long col. 13 line 56 – col. 14 line 21 Livestreaming Live-broadcast) or a replay of a multiuser communication session (See col. 14-lines 22 – col. 15 line 15: multiple replay examples).
Regarding claim 7, Long in view of Song in further view of Singh teaches the electronic device defined in claim 1, wherein the content is a hierarchical multiuser communication session (See Long col. 6 lines 24 – 32: presenter/broadcaster or spectator).
Regarding claim 8 Long in view of Song in further view of Singh teaches the electronic device defined in claim 1, wherein the user input comprises a touch input (See Song Fig. 9, showing touch input), or a button input (See Fig. 9, button input, see MPEP 2173.05(h)).
Claims 9, 10, 12-18, 20-24 recite similar limitations to that of claims 1, 2, 4-8 and thus are rejected under similar rationale as detailed above.
Claims 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Long et al. (US Patent No. 9,573,062 Bl) in view of Song (US 20240082718 A1) in view of Singh et al. (US 20190005717 A1) in further view of King (US 20170169610 A1)
Regarding claim 25, Long in view of Song in further view of Singh teaches the electronic device defined in claim 1, but doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the portal is presented as world-locked content.
King teaches wherein the portal is presented as world-locked content (See King, ¶46 “With reference now to FIG. 3, in one example Robin's holographic portal may comprise a holographic window 330 displayed to user Adam 320 via his HMD device 100. In some examples, the HMD device 100 may display the holographic window 330 at a world-locked location in Adam's living room 300, such as above the couch 334. In other examples the holographic portal may take the form of a virtual display such as a virtual television, a virtual miniaturized billboard, a floating blimp, etc. In other examples and as described in more detail below with respect to FIG. 6, a holographic portal may comprise displaying the visual representation of activity in the third party real world three dimensional environment as a holographic representation of at least a portion of such environment that appears outside of the user's real world three dimensional environment, such as beyond a wall that appears to have been partially removed.” The portal is presented as world-locked content as the portal is world-locked. That is, the portal presentation is world-locked content).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Long in view of Song in view of Singh in further view King as presenting a portal with its content world-locked at a position provides a consistent location to from which a user can view or enter another environment, thus providing a cohesive and memorable environment by having a consistent location to view or join another environment.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wang et al. (US8595299B1), see abstract, “A computer-implemented method enables participation by a plurality of clients in a first multi-dimensional virtual environment and a second multi-dimensional virtual environment. A first client sets an object in the multi-dimensional virtual environment system to function as a portal to a second multi-dimensional virtual environment. The portal can be used by the first client and/or the second client to enter the second multi-dimensional virtual environment. A server system receives from the first client data indicating that a first object in the first multi-dimensional virtual environment has been set to function as a portal to the second multi-dimensional virtual environment, and receives from a second client participating in the first multi-dimensional virtual environment data indicating that the second client has invoked the first object. The server system transmits to the second client data representing objects in the second multi-dimensional virtual environment.” Fig 10 shows “Once participating in a first multi-dimensional virtual environment, a client 106 may want to enter into a second multi-dimensional virtual environment. FIG. 10 illustrates a process 1000 of a client having a 3D client application 110, using a portal from a first virtual environment to a second virtual environment according to some embodiments of the invention.” As per col. 15 lines 17 – 23. Meaning a portal from a first 3d environment is presenting a second 3d environment.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT J CRADDOCK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2618