DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 12-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 4/23/2026.
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 1-11, 21-22 in the reply filed on 4/23/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the groups are not patentably distinct from each other. This is not found persuasive because the search and/or examination burden is not limited exclusively to a prior art search but also includes that effort required to apply the art by making and discussing all appropriate grounds of rejection. Multiple inventions, such as those in the present application, normally require additional reference material and further discussion for each additional invention examined. Concurrent examination of multiple inventions would thus typically involve a significant burden even if all searches were coextensive. However, in the present application, the prior art search would not be coextensive.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 21 recites the limitation "said top plate, said bottom plate". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) as a whole, considering all claim elements both individually and in combination, do not amount to significantly more than
an abstract idea. A streamlined analysis of claim 2 follows.
Regarding claim 2, the claim recites a system for evaluating mechanical properties of bone tissue. Thus, the claim is directed to a machine/apparatus, which is one of the statutory
categories of invention. The claim is then analyzed to determine whether it is directed to any judicial exception. The following limitations set forth a judicial exception:
"analyze said data to provide output corresponding to bone transverse bending stiffness."
These limitations describe a mathematical calculation. Furthermore, the limitations also describe a mental process as the skilled artisan is capable of performing the recited limitations and making a mental assessment thereafter. Examiner also notes that nothing from the claims suggest that the limitations cannot be practically performed by a human, or using simple pen/paper.
Next, the claim as a whole is analyzed to determine whether any element, or combination of elements, integrates the identified judicial exception into a practical application. For this part of the 101 analysis, the following additional limitations are considered:
"A system further comprising a processor, configured to receive vibration response data from said limb…".
These additional limitations do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical
application. Rather, the additional limitations are each recited at a high level of generality such that it amounts to insignificant extra-solution activity, e.g., mere data gathering steps necessary to perform the identified judicial exception do not integrate the claims into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
The additional limitations also do not add significantly more to the identified judicial exception because they are recited at a high level of generality. Moreover, Examiner takes official notice that "a processor configured to receive…" is widely- understood, routine, and conventional.
Therefore, claims 2 is not patent eligible under 35 USC 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a(1)) as being anticipated by Bowman (US 20200245924)
Regarding Claim 1, Bowman discloses A system for evaluating mechanical properties of bone tissue, the system (abstract) comprising: a limb support (160) comprising a first, adjustable constraint for constraining a first location on said limb (paragraph 0104-0108) , and a second, adjustable constraint (140) for constraining a second location on said limb of a test subject (paragraph 0102-0104); a probe (54), configured to apply static and oscillatory forces over a range of frequencies to said limb (paragraph 0096-0097); an electromechanical actuator (52), positioned in an isolation subsystem (40) (paragraph 0096); wherein said probe (54) is in mechanical communication with said electromechanical actuator (52) (paragraph 0096-0097); and wherein said isolation subsystem (40) is configured to dampen transmission of vibrations from said electromechanical actuator (52) (paragraph 0081-0082).
Regarding Claim 2, Bowman discloses The system of claim 1 further comprising: a processor (30), configured to receive vibration response data from said limb and analyze said data to provide an output corresponding to bone transverse bending stiffness (paragraph 0090-0093).
Regarding Claim 3, Bowman discloses The system of claim 1 wherein: the second constraint (140) comprises a pair of padded bars (142) configured to secure an elbow therebetween (paragraph 0111).
Regarding Claim 7, Bowman discloses The system of claim 1 wherein: the electromechanical actuator and isolation subsystem are connected to a positioning apparatus capable of moving the electromechanical actuator and isolation subsystem throughout 3 dimensions (paragraph 0103).
Regarding Claim 10, Bowman discloses The system of claim 1 wherein: the probe is capable of applying static and oscillatory forces over a range of frequencies to the test subject at a number of different locations proximate to an ulna (paragraph 0093-0094).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bowman (US 20200245924).
Regarding Claim 4, Bowman discloses all of the claimed limitations except the first constraint comprises first and second clamps, the first clamp configured to be positioned proximate to the second clamp to secure a wrist of the test subject therebetween. Bowman fails to disclose or suggest that first constraint has clasps. However, Bowman teaches the use of the cradle mechanism to control the position of the wrist (paragraph 0059). To provide the device of Bowman with a clasp for the wrist would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in view of teachings of Bowman, since all the claimed elements are known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functioning and the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Regarding Claim 8, Bowman discloses all of the claimed limitations except The system of claim 4 further comprising: a threaded leadscrew, positioned below said first and second clamps, and configured to permit a distance between said first and second clamps to be varied. Bowman teaches using one or more screws to adjust the proximity of the “jaws” which retain the forearm position (paragraph 0111). To provide the device of Bowman using a threaded leadscrew to adjust the clasp distance for the wrist would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in view of teachings of Bowman, since all the claimed elements are known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functioning and the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Conclusion
/YASMEEN S WARSI/Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/MAY A ABOUELELA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791