DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-2, 5, 7-8, 11-12, 15, 19, 23, 29, 32, 34-35 and 39-40 have been amended.
Claims 1-40 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the pending claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
II. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
III. CLAIMS 1-23, 28-30, 33-34 and 37-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PENILLA et al (US 2020/0249822) in view of MITTAL et al (USPN 11,159,931).
Per claim 1, PENILLA et al teach a method comprising:
determining, by a processor, that a user interface selected to be used at a computing system includes a user-selectable control corresponding to a certified user function, wherein the computing system includes program instructions executable to perform the certified user function on a vehicle (paras 0009, 0011—GUI of on-board computer includes user input option that enable control for features of the systems of the vehicle);
determining, by the processor, whether a user identifier, received at the computing system, corresponds to a certification credential for the certified user function (paras 0008-9, 0012-14, 0016—determining settings from user account with user credentials and profiles/preferences for GUI access control; para 0044—credential verification and access code); and
configuring the user-selectable control based on whether the user identifier corresponds to the certification credential for the certified user function (paras 0009, 0013-15—configuring user-selectable input controls based on user credentials and custom settings corresponding to the driver/passenger/user), wherein:
configuring the user-selectable control includes enabling the user-selectable control if the user identifier corresponds to the certification credential, or deprecating the user-selectable control if the user identifier does not correspond to the certification credential (paras 0010, 0015, 0018-20—configuring the user-selectable control for enabling setting inputs into the GUI based on user access credentials, obtained the settings package for that vehicle, settings provided for custom setting can be configured as if the passenger were already in the vehicle; paras 0048—disabling functions for safety purposes),
enabling the user-selectable control configures the user-selectable control to be usable to trigger execution of the program instructions to perform the certified user function (paras 0011, 0014-15, 0020—enabling user-selectable setting inputs into the GUI to instruct the vehicle computer to make changes to the one or more of the vehicle systems), and
deprecating the user-selectable control configures the user-selectable control to be unusable to trigger execution of the program instructions to perform the certified user function (paras 0009, 0096—vehicles systems that are not for the environment zone are not provided as input options via the GUI, GUI provides preferences associated with a user account when the portable device transfers credentials to the vehicle when making the wireless connection with the vehicle; para 0040, 0044, 0048—disabling functions and control settings of the GUI based on location proximity).
PENILLA et al fail to explicitly teach the method “that a user interface selected to be used at a vehicle service system includes a user-selectable control corresponding to a certified user function, wherein the vehicle service system includes program instructions executable to perform the certified user function on a vehicle…wherein the certification credential comprises a technical certification provided by a regulatory entity”.
However, MITTAL et al teach providing a user interface for selectable service adjustment user input elements including vehicle operation credentials (col.3 lines 18-20, col.37 line 59-col.38 line 10), the user interface indicating the service status of the vehicle for providing the vehicle service by the service entity and/or a vehicle provider associated with the service entity and government functions such as regulatory bodies (col.8 lines 39-60, col.11 lines 12-67, col.21 lines 1-25, col.21 line 46-col.22 line 58). MITTAL et al further teach backend services including tasks for vehicle service assignments for providing vehicle services such as maintenance tasks for instructing travel to a service depot for maintenance (col.28 line 15-col.29 line 11). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed the invention was made to combine the teachings of PENILLA et al with MITTAL et al for the purpose of provisioning a user interface of selectable input controls with user functions for use by a vehicle service system; which is well-known for provisioning instructions as services in compliance with regulations.
Claims 39 and 40 contain limitations that are substantially equivalent to the claim limitations of claim 1, and are therefore rejected under the same basis.
Per claim 2, PENILLA et al with MITTAL et al teach the method of claim 1, MITTAL et al further teach wherein the user interface includes a graphical user interface selected to be output on a display of the vehicle service system, and the method further comprises outputting, on the display, the graphical user interface with the configured user-selectable control (col.8 lines 39-60, col.35 line 47-col.36 line 13, col.39 line 38-col.40 line 8—user interface for display of vehicle computing system with user interface elements; PENILLA et al: paras 0009-11, 0028-29—GUI display configured with the user-selectable input controls and settings).
Per claim 3, PENILLA et al with MITTAL et al teach the method of claim 2, PENILLA et al further teach wherein the graphical user interface includes a first graphical user interface, wherein the method further comprises: determining a vehicle identifier of a vehicle-under-service; outputting, on the display, a second graphical user interface for selecting a vehicle system or component of the vehicle-under-service; and determining a selection of the vehicle system or component occurs while the second graphical user interface is output on the display, wherein the first graphical user interface is displayed after the selection of the vehicle system or component occurs, and wherein a performance of the certified user function on the vehicle-under-service occurs by and/or to the vehicle system or component (paras 0028-32, 0099, 0105-106—applications of the vehicle are rendered on vehicle computer and content of the applications is displayed on the mobile device or on the mobile device and one or more displays of the vehicle, enable setting inputs to applications of the vehicle that are shared to the mobile device, display of content for the applications being rendered on the mobile device; display screens where maps may be generated on the passenger's device may be synchronized to one or more of the vehicle displays; MITTAL et al: col.28 line 27-col.29 line 31, col.39 line 38-col.40 line 8, col.41 lines 25-54—user interface for display of vehicle computing system, vehicle service functioning to provide task for maintenance from a service deport and vehicle assistance, facilitator of vehicle service based on vehicle identification data).
Per claim 4, PENILLA et al with MITTAL et al teach the method of claim 3, PENILLA et al further teach wherein: the user-selectable control includes a first user-selectable control, the method further comprises outputting, on the display, a third graphical user interface in response to the selection of the vehicle system or component of the vehicle-under-service and prior to outputting the first graphical user interface, and the third graphical user interface includes a field for entering or a second user-selectable control to request data that the processor uses to determine the certification credential for the certified user function (paras 0105-107, 0110-111, 0128, 0131-133—additional vehicle displays, third-party applications can be pre-identified by the site and displayed to the user if they are compatible with the particular vehicle selected, user interfaces associated with applications loaded on the user's portal device can also synchronize to the display screens of the vehicle; paras 0134-136—settings and accounts for vehicles from any internet connected device or be able to login to their vehicle physically in or near the vehicle by the use of a fob, thumb print, eye scan and or manual login using an input device that interacts with the vehicle's login system; MITTAL et al: col.8 lines 39-60, col.10 line 55-col.11 line 6, col.21 line 46-col.22 line 27, col.28 lines 20-49—facilitating selection of user interface elements on a display of the user device, the vehicle computing system of an autonomous vehicle, and may be communicatively coupled to a display device on the exterior of the vehicle, service status request may request the status of a transportation service that is currently being provided by the vehicle).
Per claim 5, PENILLA et al with MITTAL et al teach the method of claim 2, PENILLA et al further teach wherein determining that the user interface selected to be used at the vehicle service system includes the user-selectable control corresponding to the certified user function: determining a list of functions corresponding to the graphical user interface, and determining the list of functions includes an identifier of the certified user function and a first tag that indicates the certification credential for the certified user function (PENILLA et al: paras 0128, 0130-131—additional vehicle displays, third-party applications can be pre-identified by the site and displayed to the user if they are compatible with the particular vehicle selected, user interfaces associated with applications loaded on the user's portal device can also synchronize to the display screens of the vehicle, providing access to the control interfaces via the APIs of the systems; paras 0044, 0188-192—access code enables a recipient of the access code to connect to the vehicle, providing users with access to the vehicle, the user/driver's settings can be synced to the vehicle, user’s universal login/access code associated with user’s credentials used to access user’s preferences for configuration settings; MITTAL et al: col.8 lines 39-60, 11 lines 18-67, col.31 lines 26-49—user interface elements provided by vehicles service).
Per claim 6, PENILLA et al with MITTAL et al teach the method of claim 5, PENILLA et al further teach wherein determining the list of functions includes determining each function in the list of functions corresponds to a particular vehicle identifier and to a second tag indicative of a particular system or component on a vehicle associated with the particular vehicle identifier (paras 0015, 0045, 0131, 0154-155, 0169-171—the profile is associated with a plurality of vehicle types, vehicle IDs for each vehicle assigned to a shared vehicle network, a list of available vehicles proximate to the user or for the users identified area in operation; paras 0020-21—identifying a seat in the vehicle that is associated with the passenger and providing a user interface to the mobile device and user account identification; MITTAL et al: col.11 lines 29-41—user interface elements to adjust one or more parameters of the seating configuration of the vehicle).
Per claim 7, PENILLA et al with MITTAL et al teach the method of claim 5, PENILLA et al further teach the method further comprising: determining, by the processor based on data contained in a vehicle data message received from a vehicle operatively connected to the vehicle service system, an identifier of a component on the vehicle, wherein determining the list of functions includes determining the list of functions corresponds to the identifier of the component on the vehicle (paras 0153-155, 0195, 0203-208—vehicle global settings event data, vehicle sensors and recognition for associating user event with vehicle activity, login contains a set of settings that may or may not be configurable by User 2 since User 2 is not an administrator, only a subset of settings are open to him or her to alter, the APP will then use functions available from the vehicle's API to manipulate the data on the vehicle's storage system; MITTAL et al: col.11 lines 29-41, col.17 lines 34-67, col.35 line 47-col.36 line 13—user interface elements to adjust one or more parameters of the seating configuration of the vehicle, performing various functions for autonomously operating the vehicle).
Per claim 8, PENILLA et al with MITTAL et al teach the method of claim 2, PENILLA et al further teach wherein determining that the user interface selected to be used at the vehicle services system includes the user-selectable control corresponding to the certified user function comprises: receiving a mark-up language file that defines the graphical user interface and that includes a definition of the user-selectable control, and determining the definition of the user-selectable control includes a tag that indicates the certification credential for the certified user function (paras 0208-210—functions available from the vehicle's API to manipulate the data on the vehicle's storage system; MITTAL et al: col.3 lines 18-20, col.20 lines 32-56, col.21 line 46-col.22 line 3—selectable service adjustment user input elements, vehicle user devices configured to obtain user input for utilization by the vehicle computing system for requesting a vehicle service).
Per claim 9, PENILLA et al with MITTAL et al teach the method of claim 2, PENILLA et al further teach wherein: the graphical user interface includes a first graphical user interface, the method further comprises: outputting a second graphical user interface on the display, the second graphical user interface being configured for inputting the certification credential into the processor, and writing, by the processor into a memory, data that indicates the certification credential corresponds to the user identifier (paras 0009, 0011, 0044, 0194-196, 0205-0211—input and information to the APP, GUI includes input options that enable control for feature of the vehicle system, enabling successful verification of credentials, user’s universal login/access code associated with user’s credentials used to access user’s preferences for configuration settings; paras 0133-134—user interfaces associated with applications loaded on the user's portal device can also synchronize to the display screens of the vehicle, user credentials input for vehicle system configuration; paras 0031, 0162-164—user interfaces, configuration interfaces, user interface include a plurality of screens with instructions, check information, cost information, billing information, etc.; MITTAL et al: col.7 lines 18-36, col.23 lines 18-44—vehicle provider identification data may be or otherwise include valid vehicle operation credentials, operational certificate that includes device identification data).
Per claim 10, PENILLA et al with MITTAL et al teach the method of claim 9, PENILLA et al further teach the method further comprising: accessing, via use of the second graphical user interface, an application programming interface at a remote computing device to obtain the certification credential, wherein the certification credential is input into the processor in response to receiving the certification credential from the remote computing device (paras 0208-210, 0217—functions available from the vehicle's API to receive input to manipulate the data on the vehicle's storage system to make decisions and take actions; paras 0134-136—settings and accounts for vehicles from any internet connected device or be able to login to their vehicle physically in or near the vehicle by the use of a fob, thumb print, eye scan and or manual login using an input device that interacts with the vehicle's login system; MITTAL et al: col.7 lines 18-36, col.8 lines 21-38, col.8 line 61-col.9 line 35, col.23 lines 18-44, col.23 line 56-col.24 line 24—vehicle provider identification data may be or otherwise include valid vehicle operation credentials, operational certificate that includes device identification data, first and second application programming interface).
Per claim 11, PENILLA et al with MITTAL et al teach the method of claim 9, PENILLA et al further teach wherein determining that the user interface selected to be used at the vehicle services system includes the user-selectable control corresponding to the certified user function is based on a particular instance of selecting the graphical user interface, and wherein the second graphical user interface is displayed before the particular instance of selecting the graphical user interface (paras 0009, 0011, 0044, 0194-196, 0205-0211—input and information to the APP, GUI includes input options that enable control for feature of the vehicle system, enabling successful verification of credentials, user’s universal login/access code associated with user’s credentials used to access user’s preferences for configuration settings; paras 0031, 0162-164—user interfaces, configuration interfaces, user interface include a plurality of screens with instructions, check information, cost information, billing information, etc.; MITTAL et al: col.28 line 27-col.29 line 31, col.39 line 38-col.40 line 8, col.41 lines 25-54—user interface for display of vehicle computing system, vehicle service functioning to provide task for maintenance from a service deport and vehicle assistance, facilitator of vehicle service based on vehicle identification data).
Per claim 12, PENILLA et al with MITTAL et al teach the method of claim 2, PENILLA et al further teach wherein: the user identifier corresponds to the certification credential, outputting the graphical user interface with the configured user-selectable control occurs during a first use of the vehicle service system, and the method further comprises: receiving a request to output the graphical user interface on the display during a second use of the vehicle service system, the second use of the vehicle service system is by an uncertified user; deprecating the user-selectable control based on the request; and outputting, on the display during the second use of the vehicle service system, the graphical user interface with the deprecated user-selectable control (paras 0009—vehicles systems that are not for the environment zone are not provided as input options via the GUI, GUI provides preferences associated with a user account when the portable device transfers credentials to the vehicle when making the wireless connection with the vehicle; paras 0040, 0044, 0048—disabling functions and control settings of the GUI based on location proximity; paras 0020, 0045, 0143, 0305-306—receiving a request to access a vehicle computer of a vehicle using a mobile device of a passenger of the vehicle, access to the data can also be encrypted to prevent unauthorized access to the data or violation detection; MITTAL et al: col.10 lines 32-54, col.13 line 57-col.14 line 14, col.29 lines 1-11—disabling operating modes, blocking unauthorized access and deactivating task).
Per claim 13, PENILLA et al with MITTAL et al teach the method of claim 2, PENILLA et al further teach wherein: the graphical user interface includes an additional user-selectable control, the additional user-selectable control corresponds to a non-certified user function, and performance of the non-certified user function via use of the additional user-selectable control is not conditioned on an existence of any certification credential (paras 0044-45, 0053, 0136, 0143, 0305-306—access to the data can also be encrypted to prevent unauthorized access to the data or violation detection, valid access code enables successful verification of credentials, determining the validity of the login; MITTAL et al: col.10 lines 32-54, col.13 line 57-col.14 line 14, col.29 lines 1-11—disabling operating modes, blocking unauthorized access and deactivating task).
Per claim 14, PENILLA et al with MITTAL et al teach the method of claim 2, PENILLA et al further teach wherein the graphical user interface includes a web-based graphical user interface (paras 0024, 0098, 0138, 0270, 0276-277—GUI provided by web server; MITTAL et al: col.5 lines 8-12—a website and/or other interfaces that allow a user to request a vehicle service).
Per claim 15, PENILLA et al with MITTAL et al teach the method of claim 2, PENILLA et al further teach the method further comprising: determining, by the processor, a vehicle selection, and determining, by the processor, a system or component selection corresponding to the vehicle selection; wherein determining that the user interface selected to be used at the vehicle service system includes the user-selectable control corresponding to the certified user function comprises determining, by the processor executing a state machine within a state based on the vehicle selection and the system or component selection, the state includes a conditional node corresponding to the user-selectable control and/or the certified user function (paras 0015, 0045, 0128, 0131, 0154-155, 0169-171—vehicle selection with compatible applications, the profile is associated with a plurality of vehicle types, vehicle IDs for each vehicle assigned to a shared vehicle network, a list of available vehicles proximate to the user or for the users identified area in operation; paras 0020-21—identifying a seat in the vehicle that is associated with the passenger and providing a user interface to the mobile device and user account identification; MITTAL et al: col.7 lines 18-36, col.8 lines 21-38, col.8 line 61-col.9 line 35, col.23 lines 18-44, col.23 line 56-col.24 line 24—vehicle provider identification data may be or otherwise include valid vehicle operation credentials, operational certificate that includes device identification data, first and second application programming interface).
Per claim 16, PENILLA et al with MITTAL et al teach the method of claim 2, PENILLA et al further teach the method further comprising: determining, by the processor, a vehicle selection; determining, by the processor, a system or component selection corresponding to the vehicle selection; determining, by the processor, the graphical user interface corresponds to the vehicle selection and the system or component selection; and determining, by the processor, the graphical user interface or a database includes metadata indicating the certified user function corresponds to the certification credential (paras 0071, 0101, 0119-120, 0128—accessing the vehicle and selections to access the vehicle are provided, vehicle selection with compatible applications, the system can select the system components for the vehicle, a user has made selections for particular settings, those settings can be saved to the user's account on cloud services, on the device, locally on the vehicle, at all locations depending on the desired configuration, user database; MITTAL et al: col.7 lines 18-36, col.8 lines 21-38, col.8 line 61-col.9 line 35, col.23 lines 18-44, col.23 line 56-col.24 line 24, col.42 line 50-col.43 line 8—vehicle provider identification data may be or otherwise include valid vehicle operation credentials, operational certificate that includes device identification data, first and second application programming interface, database entry for vehicle identification data).
Per claim 17, PENILLA et al with MITTAL et al teach the method of claim 1, PENILLA et al further teach wherein deprecating the user-selectable control includes configuring a state machine executed by the processor to be a state machine in which the processor ignores or disables an input corresponding to selection of the user-selectable control (paras 0009—vehicles systems that are not for the environment zone are not provided as input options via the GUI, GUI provides preferences associated with a user account when the portable device transfers credentials to the vehicle when making the wireless connection with the vehicle; paras 0040, 0044, 0048—disabling functions and control settings of the GUI based on location proximity; paras 0020, 0045, 0143, 0305-306—receiving a request to access a vehicle computer of a vehicle using a mobile device of a passenger of the vehicle, access to the data can also be encrypted to prevent unauthorized access to the data or violation detection; MITTAL et al: col.10 lines 32-54, col.13 line 57-col.14 line 14, col.29 lines 1-11—disabling operating modes, blocking unauthorized access and deactivating task).
Per claim 18, PENILLA et al with MITTAL et al teach the method of claim 1, PENILLA et al further teach wherein the processor outputs service information corresponding to the certified user function while the user-selectable control is enabled, and wherein the processor is restricted from outputting the service information corresponding to the certified user function while the user-selectable control is deprecated (paras 0009-11—enabling control via input into the GUI; paras 0040, 0044, 0048—disabling functions and control settings of the GUI based on location proximity; para 0143-144, 0151—alerts or notifications can be automatically triggered if violations in the restrictions are detected and imposing restriction on certain vehicle operations; MITTAL et al: col.7 lines 18-36, col.10 lines 32-54, col.13 line 57-col.14 line 14, col.29 lines 1-11—disabling operating modes, blocking unauthorized access and deactivating task, vehicle operation credentials).
Per claim 19, PENILLA et al with MITTAL et al teach the method of claim 1, PENILLA et al further teach wherein: the user identifier corresponds to the certification credential, and the method further comprises: determining an electronic signal received at the processor, while the user-selectable control is enabled, indicates a selection of the user-selectable control occurred; and transmitting, by the processor to a vehicle-under-service operatively connected to the vehicle service system, a vehicle data message for requesting the vehicle-under-service to perform or initiate performing the certified user function (paras 0009-11, 0044—enabling control via input into the GUI; paras 0020, 0045, 0143, 0305-306— receiving a request to access a vehicle computer of a vehicle using a mobile device of a passenger of the vehicle, access to the data can also be encrypted to prevent unauthorized access to the data or violation detection; MITTAL et al: col.8 lines 39-60, col.10 line 55-col.11 line 6, col.21 line 46-col.22 line 27, col.28 lines 20-49, col.34 line 59-col.35 line 60—facilitating selection of user interface elements on a display of the user device, the vehicle computing system of an autonomous vehicle, and may be communicatively coupled to a display device on the exterior of the vehicle, service status request may request the status of a transportation service that is currently being provided by the vehicle, user interface).
Per claim 20, PENILLA et al with MITTAL et al teach the method of claim 1, PENILLA et al further teach wherein the certified user function includes a function to: perform a test of a high voltage system or component in a vehicle-under-service, perform a test of an advance driver assistance system or component in the vehicle-under-service, program an electronic control unit in the vehicle-under-service, calibrate an electronic control unit in the vehicle-under-service, program a key or key fob for locking and unlocking a lock in the vehicle-under-service or for starting the vehicle-under-service, or perform a subscription-based user function (paras 0109, 0134, 0170, 0302—vehicle key fobs programmed for physical input/output controls of the vehicle, unlocking vehicles; MITTAL et al: col.13 line 57-col.14 line 14, col.28 line 50-col.29 line 11, col.29 line 60-col.30 line 51—vehicle operating assistance technology, power assist steering and vehicle assistance task and vehicle pairing code with cryptographic hash functions and tokens).
Per claim 21, PENILLA et al with MITTAL et al teach the method of claim 1, PENILLA et al further teach wherein the certified user function includes a function to perform a functional or component test of a component in a vehicle under service, and wherein the component is configured to control connecting an electrical circuit to a high voltage component, disconnecting an electrical circuit from the high voltage component, sending an electrical signal to the high voltage component, or receiving an electrical signal from the high voltage component (paras 0009, 0196—electrical signals, toggle vehicle settings invoking changes in the vehicle's physical, mechanical and electrical systems, an on-board computer in the vehicle and communications circuitry of the vehicle usable by the on-board computer; paras 0198, 0201—utilize the vehicle's electrical and mechanical systems in prescribed or customizable fashions; MITTAL et al: col.48 lines 26-51— communication interface on-board of an autonomous vehicle).
Per claim 22, PENILLA et al with MITTAL et al teach the method of claim 1, PENILLA et al further teach wherein the certified user function includes function to perform a functional or component test of one or more of the following: a battery pack and battery management system, an electric motor, a motor control unit, a power distribution unit, an electrical power converter, an on-board charger, an electric air conditioning compressor, a high voltage heater, or a high voltage cable (paras 0009, 0098, 0118, 0189, 0199—an on-board computer in the vehicle and communications circuitry of the vehicle usable by the on-board computer, a charge unit for electric power, processing circuitry of vehicle electronics has a power source, power source can include battery power that powers vehicle electronics; MITTAL et al: col.17 lines 8-33, col.48 lines 26-51—communication interface and circuitry on-board of an autonomous vehicle).
Per claim 23, PENILLA et al with MITTAL et al teach the method of claim 1, PENILLA et al further teach the method further comprising one or more of the following: determining a password received at the processor corresponds to the user identifier, determining a profile access code received at the processor corresponds to the user identifier, determining a two-factor authentication was performed via a companion device corresponding to the user identifier, or determining a first biometric input received at the processor matches a second biometric input corresponding to the user identifier (paras 0013-14, 0021, 0083, 0090, 0108, 0119, 0123-124, 0136, 0150, 0172—user identifier login and password, users profile is transferred to the vehicle, biometric input and detection, access code/pin, login authentication; MITTAL et al: col.7 lines 37-58, col.30 lines 20-60—biometric authorization data).
Per claim 28, PENILLA et a with MITTAL et al teach the method of claim 1, PENILLA et al further teach wherein: the user identifier corresponds to the certification credential, and the method further comprises: receiving a selection of the user-selectable control, and transmitting, by the processor to a vehicle in response to the selection of the user-selectable control, a vehicle data message requesting initiation or performance of the certified user function (paras 0009-11, 0044—enabling control via input into the GUI; paras 0020, 0045, 0143, 0305-306—receiving a request to access a vehicle computer of a vehicle using a mobile device of a passenger of the vehicle, access to the data can also be encrypted to prevent unauthorized access to the data or violation detection; MITTAL et al: col.7 lines 1-36, col.8 lines 21-38—user device ID, credentials based on user/driver identifier, provider identification data can include operation credentials).
Per claim 29, PENILLA et al with MITTAL et al teach the method of claim 1, PENILLA et al further teach wherein: the vehicle service system includes a test device including a meter or an oscilloscope, the certified user function includes performing a guided component test using the test device, and the user interface includes a graphical user interface configured to display guidance for performing the guided component test (paras 0172, 0275, 0279-280—meter settings and vehicle statistics for determining vehicle health displayed on home screen for view MITTAL et al: col.28 line 50-col.29 line 11, col.30 lines 7-13, col.34 line 59-col.35 line 60—testing task for testing and validating autonomy software, simulation/testing service and user interface display).
Per claim 30, PENILLA et al with MITTAL et al teach the method of claim 29, PENILLA et al further teach wherein: the user-selectable control includes a first user-selectable control, and determining that the user interface includes the user-selectable control corresponding to the certified user function includes determining the first user-selectable control or a second user-selectable control is used to select a parameter setting above a threshold parameter setting (paras 0137, 0145—override settings ability for the administrator role; MITTAL et al: col.3 lines 18-20, col.20 lines 32-56, col.21 line 46-col.22 line 3, col.28 lines 44-49—selectable service adjustment user input elements, vehicle user devices configured to obtain user input for utilization by the vehicle computing system for requesting a vehicle service, service parameter setting associated with a vehicle service).
Per claim 33, PENILLA et al with MITTAL et al teach the method of claim 1, PENILLA et al further teach the method further comprising: determining, by the processor, a selection of the user-selectable control has occurred, wherein configuring the user-selectable control occurs after determining the selection of the user-selectable control has occurred (paras 0010, 0014-15, 0018-20—configuring the user-selectable control for enabling setting inputs into the GUI based on user access credentials, obtained the settings package for that vehicle, settings provided for custom setting can be configured as if the passenger were already in the vehicle).
Per claim 34, PENILLA et al with MITTAL et al teach the method of claim 1, PENILLA et al further teach wherein configuring the user-selectable control occurs after determining that the user interface is selected to be used at the vehicle service system, but before a selection of the user-selectable control occurs after determining that the user interface is selected to be used at the vehicle service system (paras 0010, 0014-15, 0018-20—configuring the user-selectable control for enabling setting inputs into the GUI based on user access credentials, obtained the settings package for that vehicle, settings provided for custom setting can be configured as if the passenger were already in the vehicle; paras 0071, 0101, 0119-120, 0128—accessing the vehicle and selections to access the vehicle are provided, vehicle selection with compatible applications, the system can select the system components for the vehicle, a user has made selections for particular settings, those settings can be saved to the user's account; MITTAL et al: col.14 lines 37-51, col.48 lines 1-13—data associated with user interfaces).
Per claim 37, PENILLA et al with MITTAL et al teach the method of claim 1, PENILLA et al further teach wherein determining whether the user identifier corresponds to the certification credential for the certified user function includes: transmitting, by the processor to a server, a request to check the certification credential for the certified user function, wherein the request includes the user identifier; and receiving, by the processor from the server, a response to the request, wherein the response includes data indicating whether the user identifier corresponds to the certification credential for the certified user function (paras 0009-11, 0044—enabling control via input into the GUI; paras 0020, 0045, 0143, 0305-306—receiving a request to access a vehicle computer of a vehicle using a mobile device of a passenger of the vehicle, access to the data can also be encrypted to prevent unauthorized access to the data or violation detection; paras 0013-14, 0021, 0083, 0090, 0108, 0119, 0123-124, 0136, 0150, 0172—user identifier login and password, users profile is transferred to the vehicle, biometric input and detection, access code/pin, login authentication; MITTAL et al: col.8 lines 39-60, col.10 line 55-col.11 line 6, col.21 line 46-col.22 line 27, col.24 lines 10-24, col.28 lines 20-49, col.34 line 59-col.35 line 60, col.36 lines 14-54—facilitating selection of user interface elements on a display of the user device, the vehicle computing system of an autonomous vehicle, and may be communicatively coupled to a display device on the exterior of the vehicle, service status request may request the status of a transportation service that is currently being provided by the vehicle, API helps return an associated response).
Per claim 38, PENILLA et al with MITTAL et al teach the method of claim 1, PENILLA et al further teach wherein determining whether the user identifier corresponds to the certification credential for the certified user function includes the processor checking a database contained in a memory operatively connected to the processor for data that indicates whether the user identifier corresponds to the certification credential for the certified user function (paras 0013-14, 0021, 0083, 0090, 0108, 0119, 0123-124, 0136, 0150, 0172—user identifier login and password, user’s profile is transferred to the vehicle, biometric input and detection, access code/pin, login authentication; paras 0107, 0119, 0123, 0132—user’s profile is stored in a database of a specific vehicle manufacturer that offers the customization option, modifications are saved to a user database; MITTAL et al: col.14 lines 15-26, col.43 lines 1-8—database/data structure for storing operating parameters and identification).
IV. CLAIMS 24-27 and 35-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PENILLA et al (US 2020/0249822) in view of MITTAL et al (USPN 11,159,931) and JOHNSON et al (US 2019/0158353).
a. Per claim 24, PENILLA et al with MITTAL et al teach the method of claim 1, as applied above with MITTAL et al teaching the operational certificate configured to expire (col.9 lines 24-35); yet fail to explicitly teach the method further comprising: comparing, by the processor, a first temporal indicator to a second temporal indicator to determine whether the certification credential for the certified user function has expired. However, JOHNSON et al teach determining that tokens and transaction codes are valid and not expired (paras 0836, 0848). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed the invention was made to combine the teachings of PENILLA et al with MITTAL et al and JOHNSON et al for the purpose of credentials/tokens that are time dependent and active for specific time periods. Use of timed credentials that expire are well-known in the networking art.
Per claim 25, PENILLA et al with MITTAL et al and JOHNSON et al teach the method of claim 24, JOHNSON et al further teach the method further comprising: outputting, by the processor, on a display a notification indicating the certification credential for the certified user function has expired if the processor determines the certification credential for the certified user function has expired, or outputting, by the processor on the display, a notification indicating the certification credential for the certified user function is set to expire within a threshold amount of time if the processor determines the certification credential for the certified user function is not expired and a current time is within the threshold amount of time (paras 0119, 0329, 0478, 0710, 0714, 0738-740, 0798, 0822, 0848, 0923, page 85 Table 66—notification notices and alerts displayed based on expired and timeout threshold, token may expire based on service usage and security settings).
Per claim 26, PENILLA et al with MITTAL et al teach the method of claim 1, as applied above, including vehicles systems that are not for the environment zone are not provided as input options via the GUI, GUI provides preferences associated with a user account when the portable device transfers credentials to the vehicle when making the wireless connection with the vehicle (paras 0009, 0096); enabling control via input into the GUI (paras 0009-11, 0044); disabling functions and control settings of the GUI based on location proximity (paras 0040, 0044, 0048) and access code for different user roles to access the vehicle (paras 0044, 0135, 0153-155). However, PENILLA et al fail to explicitly teach the method “wherein: the user-selectable control includes a first user-selectable control, the certified user function includes a first certified user function, the certification credential includes a first level certification credential, the user interface includes a second user-selectable control that corresponds to a second certified user function, the second certified user function corresponds to a second level certification credential, the first level certification credential covers certified user functions corresponding to the second level certification credential, and the method further comprises: determining whether the user identifier corresponds to the first level certification credential or the second level certification credential, and configuring the second user-selectable control based on whether the user identifier corresponds to the first level certification credential or the second level certification credential, wherein configuring the second user-selectable control includes enabling the second user-selectable control if the user identifier corresponds to the first level certification credential or the second level certification credential, or deprecating the second user-selectable control if the user identifier does not correspond to the first level certification credential or the second level certification credential”.
However, JOHNSON et al teach user interfaces which present a list of actions for login and service access options (paras 0531-533, 0680-687) authenticating user login credentials to requesting new credentials from the user if the authentication/identification fails (paras 0253, 0329, 0583, 0585) and authenticating/verification access credentials (paras 0638, 0834) for registration and establishing connections. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed the invention was made to combine the teachings of PENILLA et al with MITTAL et al and JOHNSON et al for the purpose of providing user interfaces that comprise user-selectable control options for user identification login authentications and access and disabling controls when authentication fails, which is well-known in networking technology.
Per claim 27, PENILLA et al with MITTAL et al teach the method of claim 1, including vehicles systems that are not for the environment zone are not provided as input options via the GUI, GUI provides preferences associated with a user account when the portable device transfers credentials to the vehicle when making the wireless connection with the vehicle (paras 0009, 0096); enabling control via input into the GUI (paras 0009-11, 0044); and disabling functions and control settings of the GUI based on location proximity (paras 0040, 0044, 0048). However, PENILLA et al fail to explicitly teach the method “wherein: the certified user function includes a first user-range and a second user-range, the certification credential corresponds to a first level certification credential or a second level certification credential, the first level certification credential includes the second level certification credential, and configuring the user-selectable control includes one of the following: enabling use of the user-selectable control for both the first user-range and the second user-range if the certification credential corresponds to the first level certification credential, enabling use of the user-selectable control for the first user-range and deprecating use of the user-selectable control for the second user-range if the certification credential corresponds to the second level certification credential, or deprecating the user-selectable control if the user identifier does not correspond to the first level certification credential or the second level certification credential”.
However, JOHNSON et al teach configurations to respond only to requests from specific user IP address range (page 0255), a list of actions for login and service access options (paras 0531-533, 0680-687) authenticating user login credentials to requesting new credentials from the user if the authentication/identification fails (paras 0253, 0329, 0583, 0585) and authenticating/verifying access credentials (paras 0638, 0834) for registration and establishing connections. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed the invention was made to combine the teachings of PENILLA et al with MITTAL et al and JOHNSON et al for the purpose of providing user ranges, roles and user-selectable controls for authenticating/verifying credentials and restricting access when authentication fails, which is a well-known technique used in network communication.
Claim 35 contains limitations that are substantially equivalent to the claim limitations of claims 26 and 27, and are therefore rejected under the same basis.
Per claim 36, PENILLA et al with MITTAL et al and JOHNSON et al teach the method of claim 35, PENILLA et al further teach further comprising: arranging enabled user-selectable controls at a first common portion of the user interface and/or arranging deprecated user-selectable controls at a second common portion of the user interface (paras 0011, 0014-15, 0020—enabling user-selectable setting inputs into the GUI to instruct the vehicle computer to make changes to the one or more of the vehicle systems; paras 0009, 0096—vehicles systems that are not for the environment zone are not provided as input options via the GUI, GUI provides preferences associated with a user account when the portable device transfers credentials to the vehicle when making the wireless connection with the vehicle; para 0040, 0044, 0048—disabling functions and control settings of the GUI based on location proximity).
V. CLAIMS 31 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PENILLA et al (US 2020/0249822) in view of MITTAL et al (USPN 11,159,931) and RICCI et al (US 2014/0310739).
Per claim 31, PENILLA et al with MITTAL et al teach the method of claim 30, yet fail to explicitly teach the method “wherein: the parameter setting includes an electrical parameter setting and the threshold parameter setting includes a threshold electrical parameter setting, the parameter setting includes a temperature parameter setting and the threshold parameter setting includes a threshold temperature parameter setting, or the parameter setting includes a pressure parameter setting and the threshold parameter setting includes a threshold pressure parameter setting”.
However, RICCI et al teach personal settings of the vehicle occupants which include climate control, lighting, HVAC, display, driving mode, instrument configuration, etc. (paras 0123, 0198, 0309-311, 0343-345, 0421, 0423) and threshold value measuring and management (paras 0575, 0622, 0624, 0693, 0699). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed the invention was made to combine the teachings of PENILLA et al with MITTAL et al and RICCI et al for the purpose of provisioning the ability to configure and set parameters and enforcing threshold values, which is are well-known techniques used in the art.
Claim 32 contains limitations that are substantially equivalent to the claim limitations of claims 29 and 31, and are therefore rejected under the same basis.
Conclusion
VI. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: WO 2023/096968; US 2023/0139933; 2023/0155812.
VII. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
VIII. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to KRISTIE D. SHINGLES whose telephone number is (571) 272-3888. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Thursday 10am-7pm.
/KRISTIE D SHINGLES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2453