DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on 08/06/2026 comply with all application rules and regulations. Therefore, the information referred to therein have been considered.
Response to Remarks
This Office action is considered fully responsive to the amendments filed 04/22/2026 and 08/06/2026. Claims 1-2, 4-20 are pending in the application. Claims 1-2, 4-20 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 04/22/2026 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Zhang et al. (US-20230337075-A1).
Regarding the independent claims, see the U.S.C. 103 rejection below.
Regarding all dependent claims, see the U.S.C. 103 rejection below.
The Claim Rejections section below details the rejections of the instant claims.
Claim Objections
Claims 5 and 7 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 5 and 7 , line 4: included typo “rating mating information” should be “rating matching information ”, and there is no definition/description provided for that in the claims or specification section.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 8-9, 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JI et al. (US-20220123891-A1) in view of Zhang et al. (US-20230337075-A1).
Regarding claim 1 (Currently Amended), JI teaches a wireless communication method (Abstract , lines 10-12, [0002] method and apparatus for a high-speed mobile user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system are provided) comprising: receiving, by a wireless communication device from a wireless communication node a first downlink signaling ([0056], lines 8-10 states “and downlink refers to a radio link through which a base station transmits data or control signals to the terminal.” and [0073], lines 1-5 describes the UE/terminal can first obtain downlink time and frequency domain synchronization from a synchronization signal through cell search and obtain a cell ID, and [0074], lines 10-17 states “The terminal obtains scheduling information on the physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) including the system information block (SIB) through the downlink control information transmitted in the control area #0, that is, the physical downlink control channel (PDCCH). The terminal may obtain configuration information related to a random access channel (RACH) required for initial access from the system information block” which confirm that the UE (wireless communication device) receives the first downlink signaling/control signal from the Base station BS (wireless communication node), [0176]-[0178] and [0179], lines 2-6, illustrate the downlink control information (DCI) transmitted by the BS includes a Cyclic Redundancy Check (CRC) that is scrambled with a RNIT),
JI fails to teach wherein the first downlink signaling comprises a plurality of information elements, each information element of the plurality of information elements (i) corresponding to an element of a predefined number of elements and (ii) comprises at least both (a) a respective type of a Radio Network Temporary Identifier (RNTI) and (b) a respective physical cell index (PCI) associated with the corresponding element in one frequency unit, the type of RNTI comprising a Cell-RNTI (C-RNTI), and wherein the predefined number of elements is larger than 1; and performing, by the wireless communication device, transmission or reception of at least one channel or at least one signal, respectively, by jointly applying the C-RNTI and the PCI included in an information element corresponding to a corresponding element of the predefined number of elements as parameters for transmission or reception of the at least one channel or the at least one signal.
However, Zhang teaches wherein the first downlink signaling comprises a plurality of information elements, each information element of the plurality of information elements (i) corresponding to an element of a predefined number of elements ([0031] states that the “information element” refers to a structural element containing one or more fields. The term “field” refers to individual contents of an information element, or a data element that contains content. An information element may include one or more additional information elements. Fig. 3, [0045]-[0047], [0059], [0061]-[0062] and [0132] provide that the downlink signaling includes both MAC CE and DCI to indicate the information elements, such as C-RNTI and PCI. [0045], [0104], [0168], [0203], [0212], claim 11 show several examples where the signaling messages may include a set of information elements, each corresponding to a specific entity from the predefined set, such as list of PCI and set of BWP), and (ii) comprises at least both (a) a respective type of a Radio Network Temporary Identifier (RNTI) and (b) a respective physical cell index (PCI) associated with the corresponding element in one frequency unit, the type of RNTI comprising a Cell-RNTI (C-RNTI), (Fig. 2, [0174] explicitly states “Example 6 includes the method of example 1 or some other example herein, wherein the configuration information associates the C-RNTI with a physical cell identity (PCI) or one or more transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states and is received by radio resource control (RRC) signaling, media access control (MAC) control element (CE), or downlink control information (DCI),” See also [0051]-[0058] . That confirms C-RNTI and PCI are paired and included in the signaling (RRC, MAC CE or DCI), as also described in [0056] “ the C-RNTI configuration 208 may provide the C-RNTI-to-PCI association by associating a C-RNTI with a TCI state configured for the relevant PCI. For example, the C-RNTI configuration 208 associates: C-RNTI 1 with TCI state 1 (and PCI 1): C-RNTI 2 with TCI state 2 (and PCI 2); and C-RNTI n with TCI state n (and PCI n).” Where the frequency unit can be serving cell group , serving cell, or BWP, see [0107], [0111], [0206]), and wherein the predefined number of elements is larger than 1 ([0089] states “the UE 104 may apply the C-RNTI for a newly identified beam to PDCCH/PUCCH. The number (N) may be 28; however, this is not restrictive. A base station may indicate a C-RNTI for a newly identified beam by RRC signaling.” That means the wherein the predefined number of elements is larger than 1, see also [0068], [0104] and [0110] describe the list/set, which means more than 1 predefined element); and performing, by the wireless communication device transmission or reception of at least one channel or at least one signal, respectively, by jointly applying the C-RNTI and the PCI included in an information element corresponding to a corresponding element of the predefined number of elements as parameters for transmission or reception of the at least one channel or the at least one signal ([0051] describes the C-RNTI configuration 204 associates: C-RNTI 1 with PCI 1 (which may correspond to serving cell provided by base station 108); C-RNTI 2 with PCI 2 (which may correspond to the neighbor cell provided by base station 112); and C-RNTI n with PCI n [0075] states “For uplink/downlink signals with a TCI indication, the UE 104 can select the C-RNTI corresponding to the indicated TCI or PCI associated with the indicated TCI.” That confirms the joint use of the C-RNTI and PCI as a parameters, [0058], claim 6. Fig. 14 and [0140]-[0144] describe the operation flow where the UE receive the configuration information and then process UL/DL signals in the neighboring cell based on the C-RNTI, see also [0131], [0134], claim 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified JI to incorporate the teachings of Zhang (in analogous art) by specify that each of the predefined number of elements associated with a respective RNTI and respective PCI. This may increase flexibility of using multiple-input, multiple-output and beamforming enhancements for communicating with the UE and facilitate BWP-based handovers from a serving cell to a neighbor cell. (Zhang, [0034], [0103], [0105]).
Regarding claim 2 (Currently Amended), JI and Zhang teach the wireless communication method of claim 1.
JI further teaches wherein the first downlink signaling comprises one of ([0079], states “Information on whether the configured bandwidth part is activated may be semi-statically transmitted from the base station to the terminal through RRC signaling, or may be dynamically transmitted through medium access control (MAC), control element (CE), or DCI.” See also [0177]-[01778], [0220], [0281]and [0378] which confirm the downlink signaling comprises MAC-CE, or DCI).
Regarding claim 8 (Currently Amended), JI and Zhang teach the wireless communication method of claim 1.
JI further teaches further comprising at least one of: determining, by the wireless communication device, the at least one signal for a control resource set (CORESET) associated with the at least one element ( Fig. 5, [0080], lines 5-11, [0102], lines 5-10, “Configurating the control resource set to the terminal refers to providing information such as a control resource set identity, a frequency position of the control resource set, and a symbol length of the control resource set. For example, information provided to configure the control resource set is as follows.” Table 6 describes how the UE determines the CORESET associated with element using the ControlResourceSet parameter, which identifies the CORESET. [0081], lines 8-10 and [0076] states “In the NR system, the base station may configure the initial BWP, which is the bandwidth of the control area #0, that is, the control resource set (CORESET) #0, or common search space (CSS), to the terminal through a master information block (MIB).” And [0104] lines 7-11, these parts describe that the UE can determine the signal for the control CORESET associated with the serving cell based on the configuration);
receiving, by the wireless communication device, the at least one channel associated with at least one element of the predefined number of elements according to the type of RNTI;
transmitting, by the wireless communication device, the at least one channel associated with the at least one element according to the type of the RNTI.
receiving, by the wireless communication device, to the type of signal associated with the at least one element according to the type of RNTI; or
transmitting, by the wireless communication device, the at least one signal associated with the at least one the element according to the type of RNTI.
(We don't give the above limitations patentable weight due to the use of "or", which means the limitations are written in the alternative.)
Regarding claim 9 (Currently Amended), JI and Zhang teach the wireless communication method of claim 8.
JI further teaches wherein the at least one channel or the at least one signal associated with the at least one element includes at least one of: a channel or a signal which is included in the at least one element ([0068], the channel or a signal be included in the element itself, for example, synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) include signal such as the primary synchronization signal (PSS), secondary synchronization signal (SSS), and physical broadcast channel (PBCH));
a channel or a signal that is scheduled by a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH)
of the at least one element; or
a channel or a signal with a parameter corresponding to the corresponding element.
(We don't give the above limitations patentable weight due to the use of "or", which means the limitations are written in the alternative.)
Regarding claim 11 (Currently Amended), JI and Zhang teach the wireless communication method of claim 1.
JI further teaches further comprising: determining, by the wireless communication device, a resource group for which the parameter is applied according to the corresponding element corresponding to the parameter ([0074], lines 10-14, [0166] and Table 28, the UE determines the resource group, collection of resources that are grouped together for specific purposes in a wireless network according to specific parameters such as frequency or time domine resource allocation); wherein the resource group includes a channel resource group or a reference signal resource group ([0270], lines 6-13, [0234], lines 1-3 and [0244], the resource group can include a channel resource group or a reference signal resource group such as SRS resource group).
or receiving, by the wireless communication device, a third downlink signaling with a parameter. (We don't give the above limitation patentable weight due to the use of "or", which means the limitation is written in the alternative.)
Regarding claim 12 (Currently Amended), JI and Zhang teach the wireless communication method of claim 11.
JI further teaches further comprising: receiving, by the wireless communication device, a fourth downlink signaling carrying a relationship between the resource group and the corresponding element (Fig. 23, Table 32, page 56, lines 1-7 and Page 57, line 4, the table describes direct relationship between resource group and element, a scenario where the UE receives signaling that maps resource groups to specific element: the UE receives signaling that associates a CSI resource group (NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSe) with specific element (CSI-RS resource or SSBs) for channel measurement and reporting, [0193] and [0281], lines 11-14).
Regarding claim 13 (Currently Amended), JI and Zhang teach the wireless communication method of claim 1.
JI teaches further comprising: determining, by the wireless communication device, at least one element of the predefined number of elements of a channel or a signal according to a parameter of the at least one channel or the at least one signal ([0147], Table 32, page 56, second part, lines 22-29, the UE uses parameters like TCI states to identify and configure elements of a channel or signal, such as control resources bandwidth part and serving cells, which are considered as structural elements within the predefined elements).
Regarding claim 14 (Currently Amended), JI and Zhang teach the wireless communication method of claim 9.
JI teaches further comprising: receiving, by the wireless communication device, a fifth downlink signaling indicating a relationship between the information element ([0076], lines 12-17, [0079], lines 9-13, [0380], lines 14-17, the UE receives downlink signaling that maps or associates a parameter to a specific element. For example, mapping parameters to control resources, DCI or RRC signaling can indicate the relationship between a parameter (e.g., TCI state or QCL type) and control resources within a CORESET or mapping parameter to bandwidth parts BWPs, [0211], line 8-12).
Regarding claim 15 (Currently Amended), JI and Zhang teach the wireless communication method of claim 9.
JI teaches wherein the parameter includes one of: a Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state, a spatial relation indicator, a TCI state pool, or a spatial relation indicator pool ([0147], [0149], lines 12-20, [0156], the parameter can include one of the following : Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state, Table 12A explains how TCI states are configured and used).
Regarding claim 16 (Currently Amended), JI and Zhang teach the wireless communication method of claim 1.
JI teaches wherein the type of RNTI further comprises at least one of: a Modulation and Coding Scheme-C-RNTI (MCS-C-RNTI) (Table 9, [0181]-[0182] illustrate including of MCS-C-RNTI as a type of RNTI) , a Configured Scheduling (CS)-RNTI (CS-RNTI) (Table 9, [0112],[0118] illustrate including of CS-RNTI as a type of RNTI), a Semi-Persistent (SP)-Channel State Information (CSI)-RNTI (SP-CSIRNTI), or a RNTI used to identify the wireless communication device.
Regarding claim 17 (Currently Amended), JI teaches a wireless communication method (Abstract, lines 10-12, [0002] method and apparatus for a high-speed mobile user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system are provided), comprising: transmitting, by a wireless communication node to a wireless communication device, a first downlink signaling ([0008]-[0009], [0073], lines 1-5 and [0074], lines 1-5, the UE (wireless communication device) receives the first downlink signaling from the Base station BS (wireless communication node), [0056], lines 8-10 states “and downlink refers to a radio link through which a base station transmits data or control signals to the terminal.” and [0073], lines 1-5 describes the UE/terminal can first obtain downlink time and frequency domain synchronization from a synchronization signal through cell search and obtain a cell ID, and [0074], lines 10-17 states “The terminal obtains scheduling information on the physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) including the system information block (SIB) through the downlink control information transmitted in the control area #0, that is, the physical downlink control channel (PDCCH). The terminal may obtain configuration information related to a random access channel (RACH) required for initial access from the system information block” which confirm that the UE (wireless communication device) receives the first downlink signaling/control signal from the Base station BS (wireless communication node), [0178], lines 3-7, [0179], lines 2-6, the downlink control information (DCI) transmitted by the BS includes a Cyclic Redundancy Check (CRC) that is scrambled with a RNIT, [0074], lines 14-17, [0178], lines 3-7, [0179], lines 2-6, the downlink control information (DCI) transmitted by the BS includes a Cyclic Redundancy Check (CRC) that is scrambled with a RNIT),
JI fails to teach wherein the first downlink signaling comprises a plurality of information elements, each information element of the plurality of information elements (i) corresponding to an element of a predefined number of elements and (ii) comprises at least both (a) a respective type of a Radio Network Temporary Identifier (RNTI) and (b) a respective physical cell index (PCI) associated with the corresponding element in one frequency unit, the type of RNTI comprising a Cell-RNTI (C-RNTI), wherein the predefined number of elements is larger than 1; and transmission or reception of at least one channel or at least one signal, respectively, is performed by jointly applying the C-RNTI and the PCI included in an information element corresponding to a corresponding element of the predefined number of elements as parameters for transmission or reception of the at least one channel or the at least one signal.
However, Zhang teaches wherein the first downlink signaling comprises a plurality of information elements, each information element of the plurality of information elements (i) corresponding to an element of a predefined number of elements ([0031] states that the “information element” refers to a structural element containing one or more fields. The term “field” refers to individual contents of an information element, or a data element that contains content. An information element may include one or more additional information elements. Fig. 3, [0045]-[0047], [0059], [0061]-[0062] and [0132] provide that the downlink signaling includes both MAC CE and DCI to indicate the information elements, such as C-RNTI and PCI. [0045], [0104], [0168], [0203], [0212], claim 11 show several examples where the signaling messages may include a set of information elements, each corresponding to a specific entity from the predefined set, such as list of PCI and set of BWP), and (ii) comprises at least both (a) a respective type of a Radio Network Temporary Identifier (RNTI) and (b) a respective physical cell index (PCI) associated with the corresponding element in one frequency unit, the type of RNTI comprising a Cell-RNTI (C-RNTI), (Fig. 2, [0174] explicitly states “Example 6 includes the method of example 1 or some other example herein, wherein the configuration information associates the C-RNTI with a physical cell identity (PCI) or one or more transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states and is received by radio resource control (RRC) signaling, media access control (MAC) control element (CE), or downlink control information (DCI),” See also [0051]-[0058] . That confirms C-RNTI and PCI are paired and included in the signaling (RRC, MAC CE or DCI), as also described in [0056] “ the C-RNTI configuration 208 may provide the C-RNTI-to-PCI association by associating a C-RNTI with a TCI state configured for the relevant PCI. For example, the C-RNTI configuration 208 associates: C-RNTI 1 with TCI state 1 (and PCI 1): C-RNTI 2 with TCI state 2 (and PCI 2); and C-RNTI n with TCI state n (and PCI n).” Where the frequency unit can be serving cell group , serving cell, or BWP, see [0107], [0111], [0206]), and wherein the predefined number of elements is larger than 1 ([0089] states “the UE 104 may apply the C-RNTI for a newly identified beam to PDCCH/PUCCH. The number (N) may be 28; however, this is not restrictive. A base station may indicate a C-RNTI for a newly identified beam by RRC signaling.” That means the wherein the predefined number of elements is larger than 1, see also [0068], [0104] and [0110] describe the list/set, which means more than 1 predefined element); and transmission or reception of at least one channel or at least one signal, respectively, is performed by jointly applying the C-RNTI and the PCI included in an information element corresponding to a corresponding element of the predefined number of elements as parameters for transmission or reception of the at least one channel or the at least one signal. ([0051] describes the C-RNTI configuration 204 associates: C-RNTI 1 with PCI 1 (which may correspond to serving cell provided by base station 108); C-RNTI 2 with PCI 2 (which may correspond to the neighbor cell provided by base station 112); and C-RNTI n with PCI n [0075] states “For uplink/downlink signals with a TCI indication, the UE 104 can select the C-RNTI corresponding to the indicated TCI or PCI associated with the indicated TCI.” That confirms the joint use of the C-RNTI and PCI as a parameters, [0058], claim 6. Fig. 14 and [0140]-[0144] describe the operation flow where the UE receive the configuration information and then process UL/DL signals in the neighboring cell based on the C-RNTI, see also [0131], [0134], claim 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified JI to incorporate the teachings of Zhang (in analogous art) by specify that each of the predefined number of elements associated with a respective RNTI and respective PCI. This may increase flexibility of using multiple-input, multiple-output and beamforming enhancements for communicating with the UE and facilitate BWP-based handovers from a serving cell to a neighbor cell. (Zhang, [0034], [0103], [0105]).
Regarding claim 18 (Currently Amended), JI teaches a wireless communication device, comprising: at least one processor (Fig. 19, [0034], diagram illustrating a structure of a signal processing apparatus including an antenna port, an antenna panel, and a baseband processor of a terminal (wireless communication device)) configured to: receive, via receiver from a wireless communication node, a first downlink signaling ([0056], lines 8-10 states “and downlink refers to a radio link through which a base station transmits data or control signals to the terminal.” and [0073], lines 1-5 describes the UE/terminal can first obtain downlink time and frequency domain synchronization from a synchronization signal through cell search and obtain a cell ID, and [0074], lines 10-17 states “The terminal obtains scheduling information on the physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) including the system information block (SIB) through the downlink control information transmitted in the control area #0, that is, the physical downlink control channel (PDCCH). The terminal may obtain configuration information related to a random access channel (RACH) required for initial access from the system information block” which confirm that the UE (wireless communication device) receives the first downlink signaling/control signal from the Base station BS (wireless communication node), [0176]-[0178] and [0179], lines 2-6, illustrate the downlink control information (DCI) transmitted by the BS includes a Cyclic Redundancy Check (CRC) that is scrambled with a RNIT), and
JI fails to teach wherein the first downlink signaling comprises a plurality of information elements, each information element of the plurality of information elements (i) corresponding to an element of a predefined number of elements and (ii) comprises at least both (a) a respective type of a Radio Network Temporary Identifier (RNTI) and (b) a respective physical cell index (PCI) associated with the corresponding element in one frequency unit, the type of RNTI comprising a Cell-RNTI (C-RNTI), and wherein the predefined number of elements is larger than 1; and perform, transmission or reception of at least one channel or at least one signal, respectively, by jointly applying the C-RNTI and the PCI included in an information element corresponding to a corresponding element of the predefined number of elements as parameters for transmission or reception of the at least one channel or the at least one signal.
However, Zhang teaches wherein the first downlink signaling comprises a plurality of information elements, each information element of the plurality of information elements (i) corresponding to an element of a predefined number of elements ([0031] states that the “information element” refers to a structural element containing one or more fields. The term “field” refers to individual contents of an information element, or a data element that contains content. An information element may include one or more additional information elements. Fig. 3, [0045]-[0047], [0059], [0061]-[0062] and [0132] provide that the downlink signaling includes both MAC CE and DCI to indicate the information elements, such as C-RNTI and PCI. [0045], [0104], [0168], [0203], [0212], claim 11 show several examples where the signaling messages may include a set of information elements, each corresponding to a specific entity from the predefined set, such as list of PCI and set of BWP), and (ii) comprises at least both (a) a respective type of a Radio Network Temporary Identifier (RNTI) and (b) a respective physical cell index (PCI) associated with the corresponding element in one frequency unit, the type of RNTI comprising a Cell-RNTI (C-RNTI), (Fig. 2, [0174] explicitly states “Example 6 includes the method of example 1 or some other example herein, wherein the configuration information associates the C-RNTI with a physical cell identity (PCI) or one or more transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states and is received by radio resource control (RRC) signaling, media access control (MAC) control element (CE), or downlink control information (DCI),” See also [0051]-[0058] . That confirms C-RNTI and PCI are paired and included in the signaling (RRC, MAC CE or DCI), as also described in [0056] “ the C-RNTI configuration 208 may provide the C-RNTI-to-PCI association by associating a C-RNTI with a TCI state configured for the relevant PCI. For example, the C-RNTI configuration 208 associates: C-RNTI 1 with TCI state 1 (and PCI 1): C-RNTI 2 with TCI state 2 (and PCI 2); and C-RNTI n with TCI state n (and PCI n).” Where the frequency unit can be serving cell group , serving cell, or BWP, see [0107], [0111], [0206]), and wherein the predefined number of elements is larger than 1 ([0089] states “the UE 104 may apply the C-RNTI for a newly identified beam to PDCCH/PUCCH. The number (N) may be 28; however, this is not restrictive. A base station may indicate a C-RNTI for a newly identified beam by RRC signaling.” That means the wherein the predefined number of elements is larger than 1, see also [0068], [0104] and [0110] describe the list/set, which means more than 1 predefined element); and perform, transmission or reception of at least one channel or at least one signal, respectively, by jointly applying the C-RNTI and the PCI included in an information element corresponding to a corresponding element of the predefined number of elements as parameters for transmission or reception of the at least one channel or the at least one signal ([0051] describes the C-RNTI configuration 204 associates: C-RNTI 1 with PCI 1 (which may correspond to serving cell provided by base station 108); C-RNTI 2 with PCI 2 (which may correspond to the neighbor cell provided by base station 112); and C-RNTI n with PCI n [0075] states “For uplink/downlink signals with a TCI indication, the UE 104 can select the C-RNTI corresponding to the indicated TCI or PCI associated with the indicated TCI.” That confirms the joint use of the C-RNTI and PCI as a parameters, [0058], claim 6. Fig. 14 and [0140]-[0144] describe the operation flow where the UE receive the configuration information and then process UL/DL signals in the neighboring cell based on the C-RNTI, see also [0131], [0134], claim 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified JI to incorporate the teachings of Zhang (in analogous art) by specify that each of the predefined number of elements associated with a respective RNTI and respective PCI. This may increase flexibility of using multiple-input, multiple-output and beamforming enhancements for communicating with the UE and facilitate BWP-based handovers from a serving cell to a neighbor cell. (Zhang, [0034], [0103], [0105]).
Regarding claim 19 (Currently Amended), JI teaches a wireless communication node, comprising: at least one processor ([0011], [0358] and [02420], lines 12-14, The base station includes a transceiver and a controller which can include a processor) configured to: transmit, via a transmitter to a wireless communication device, a first downlink signaling ([0073], lines 1-5 and [0074], lines 1-5, the UE (wireless communication device) receives the first downlink signaling from the Base station BS (wireless communication node), ([0074], lines 14-17, [0178], lines 3-7, [0179], lines 2-6, the downlink control information (DCI) transmitted by the BS includes a Cyclic Redundancy Check (CRC) that is scrambled with a RNIT. [0074], lines 10-17 states “The terminal obtains scheduling information on the physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) including the system information block (SIB) through the downlink control information transmitted in the control area #0, that is, the physical downlink control channel (PDCCH). The terminal may obtain configuration information related to a random access channel (RACH) required for initial access from the system information block” which confirm that the UE (wireless communication device) receives the first downlink signaling/control signal from the Base station BS (wireless communication node), [0176]-[0178] and [0179], lines 2-6, illustrate the downlink control information (DCI) transmitted by the BS includes a Cyclic Redundancy Check (CRC) that is scrambled with a RNIT),
JI fails to teach wherein the first downlink signaling comprises a plurality of information elements, each information element of the plurality of information elements (i) corresponding to an element of a predefined number of elements and (ii) comprises at least both (a) a respective type of a Radio Network Temporary Identifier (RNTI) and (b) a respective physical cell index (PCI) associated with the corresponding element in one frequency unit, the type of RNTI comprising a Cell-RNTI (C-RNTI), wherein the predefined number of elements is larger than 1; and wherein transmission or reception of at least one channel or at least one signal, respectively, is performed, by jointly applying the C-RNTI and the PCI included in an information element corresponding to a corresponding element of the predefined number of elements as parameters for transmission or reception of the at least one channel or the at least one signal.
However, Zhang teaches wherein the first downlink signaling comprises a plurality of information elements, each information element of the plurality of information elements (i) corresponding to an element of a predefined number of elements ([0031] states that the “information element” refers to a structural element containing one or more fields. The term “field” refers to individual contents of an information element, or a data element that contains content. An information element may include one or more additional information elements. Fig. 3, [0045]-[0047], [0059], [0061]-[0062] and [0132] provide that the downlink signaling includes both MAC CE and DCI to indicate the information elements, such as C-RNTI and PCI. [0045], [0104], [0168], [0203], [0212], claim 11 show several examples where the signaling messages may include a set of information elements, each corresponding to a specific entity from the predefined set, such as list of PCI and set of BWP), and (ii) comprises at least both (a) a respective type of a Radio Network Temporary Identifier (RNTI) and (b) a respective physical cell index (PCI) associated with the corresponding element in one frequency unit, the type of RNTI comprising a Cell-RNTI (C-RNTI), (Fig. 2, [0174] explicitly states “Example 6 includes the method of example 1 or some other example herein, wherein the configuration information associates the C-RNTI with a physical cell identity (PCI) or one or more transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states and is received by radio resource control (RRC) signaling, media access control (MAC) control element (CE), or downlink control information (DCI),” See also [0051]-[0058] . That confirms C-RNTI and PCI are paired and included in the signaling (RRC, MAC CE or DCI), as also described in [0056] “ the C-RNTI configuration 208 may provide the C-RNTI-to-PCI association by associating a C-RNTI with a TCI state configured for the relevant PCI. For example, the C-RNTI configuration 208 associates: C-RNTI 1 with TCI state 1 (and PCI 1): C-RNTI 2 with TCI state 2 (and PCI 2); and C-RNTI n with TCI state n (and PCI n).” Where the frequency unit can be serving cell group , serving cell, or BWP, see [0107], [0111], [0206]), wherein the predefined number of elements is larger than 1 ([0089] states “the UE 104 may apply the C-RNTI for a newly identified beam to PDCCH/PUCCH. The number (N) may be 28; however, this is not restrictive. A base station may indicate a C-RNTI for a newly identified beam by RRC signaling.” That means the wherein the predefined number of elements is larger than 1, see also [0068], [0104] and [0110] describe the list/set, which means more than 1 predefined element); and wherein transmission or reception of at least one channel or at least one signal, respectively, is performed, by jointly applying the C-RNTI and the PCI included in an information element corresponding to a corresponding element of the predefined number of elements as parameters for transmission or reception of the at least one channel or the at least one signal ([0051] describes the C-RNTI configuration 204 associates: C-RNTI 1 with PCI 1 (which may correspond to serving cell provided by base station 108); C-RNTI 2 with PCI 2 (which may correspond to the neighbor cell provided by base station 112); and C-RNTI n with PCI n [0075] states “For uplink/downlink signals with a TCI indication, the UE 104 can select the C-RNTI corresponding to the indicated TCI or PCI associated with the indicated TCI.” That confirms the joint use of the C-RNTI and PCI as a parameters, [0058], claim 6. Fig. 14 and [0140]-[0144] describe the operation flow where the UE receive the configuration information and then process UL/DL signals in the neighboring cell based on the C-RNTI, see also [0131], [0134], claim 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified JI to incorporate the teachings of Zhang (in analogous art) by specify that each of the predefined number of elements associated with a respective RNTI and respective PCI. This may increase flexibility of using multiple-input, multiple-output and beamforming enhancements for communicating with the UE and facilitate BWP-based handovers from a serving cell to a neighbor cell. (Zhang, [0034], [0103], [0105]).
Regarding claim 20 (Currently Amended), JI and Zhang teach the wireless communication node of claim 19.
JI further teaches wherein the first downlink signaling comprises one of ([0079], states “Information on whether the configured bandwidth part is activated may be semi-statically transmitted from the base station to the terminal through RRC signaling, or may be dynamically transmitted through medium access control (MAC), control element (CE), or DCI.” See also [0177]-[01778], [0220], [0281]and [0378] which confirm the downlink signaling comprises MAC-CE, or DCI).
Claims 4 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JI et al. (US-20220123891-A1) in view of Zhang et al. (US-20230337075-A1), and further in view of Zhou et al. (US-11477792-B2).
Regarding claim 4 (Currently Amended), JI and Zhang teach the wireless communication method of claim 1.
JI fails to teach wherein the frequency unit comprises one of: a serving cell group, a serving cell, and a bandwidth part (BWP), and wherein at least one of the predefined number of elements is the serving cell of the serving cell group of the one frequency unit.
However, Zhou teaches wherein the frequency unit comprises one of: a serving cell group, a serving cell, and a bandwidth part (BWP) (Col. 19, lines 48-51, “The one or more BWPs may be referred to as active BWPs of the serving cell. A serving cell may have one or more first active BWPs in the uplink carrier and one or more second active BWPs in the secondary uplink carrier”, Col. 22 lines 5-7, describe multi (group) serving cell and in carrier aggregation CA, multiple serving cells may include Primary Cell PCell and Secondary Cells SCells, the serving cell acts as PCell to provide connectivity between the wireless device and the SCells as illustrates in Col 22, lines 36-52. Col. 50, lines 36-39 depicts the role of the serving cell. Fig. 22, Col 53 lines 20-30, states “A serving cell may be configured with at most a first quantity/number (e.g., four or any other quantity/number) of BWPs. There may be one active BWP at any point in time, for example, for an activated serving cell, and the BWP switching for a serving cell may be used to activate/deactivate BWP), and wherein at least one of the predefined number of elements is the serving cell of the serving cell group of the one frequency unit (Col. 16, lines 55-57, Fig. 10A, describe each CC corresponds to a serving cell, and these serving cells collectively form a serving cell group for CA, Col 22, lines 36-52. Fig. 10B and Col 23, lines 21-33, illustrate how the serving cells are grouped into PUCCH groups for uplink control information including PCell and SCell. Col 10, lines 29-33 also illustrates the dual connectivity DC where the serving cells are organized into serving cell group, which implies that the serving cell is the element of the serving cell groups).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified JI in view of Zhang to incorporate the teachings of Zhou (in analogous art) by wherein the element includes an information element that includes the RNTI and at least one of: physical cell index (PCI), synchronization signal block (SSB) information, power control information, to ensure device identification and efficient resource allocation (Zhou, Col. 39, lines 42-45).
Regarding claim 10 (Currently Amended), JI and Zhang teach the wireless communication method of claim 9, further comprising:
JI fails to teach receiving, by the wireless communication device, a second downlink signaling carrying the parameter of the at least one channel or the at least one signal.
Zhou teaches receiving, by the wireless communication device, a second downlink signaling carrying the parameter of the at least one channel or the at least one signal (Fig. 13A and Col. 35 lines 9-55, indicates that the wireless device can receive another signaling carrying parameters of the channel/signal to determine the RNTI of the channel or signal. Col. 38, lines 41-44, also confirm that); or
determining, by the wireless communication device, the type of RNTI of the at least one channel or the at least one signal according to an RNTI of the at least one element corresponding to the parameter (Col. 39, lines 42-45, indicates that the wireless device can determine the RNTI of the channel/signal based on the CRC parity bits which included in the DCI, Col. 35, lines 42-51 and Col. 41, lines 40-43 also confirm that).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified JI in view of Zhang to incorporate the teachings of Zhou (in analogous art) by wherein the element includes an information element that includes the RNTI and at least one of: physical cell index (PCI), synchronization signal block (SSB) information, power control information, to ensure device identification and efficient resource allocation (Zhou, Col. 39, lines 42-45).
Claims 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JI et al. (US-20220123891-A1) in view of Zhang et al. (US-20230337075-A1), and further in view of Suzuki et al. (US-20200367249-A1).
Regarding claim 5 (Currently Amended), JI and Zhang teach the wireless communication method of claim 1.
JI further teaches wherein the first downlink signaling indicates, for each element, the type of RNTI (Table 9 and [0112]-[0132] provide different type of RNTI can be indicated by the downlink signaling), synchronization signal block (SSB) information ([0068]-[0074] explicitly states In the 5G wireless communication system, a synchronization signal block (can be mixed with SSB, SS block, SS/PBCH block, etc.) may be transmitted for initial access, and the synchronization signal block may be composed of a primary synchronization signal (PSS), a secondary synchronization signal (SSS), and a physical broadcast channel (PBCH).), rating mating information (Tables 18-19 illustrates that the rate [0280] states “Rate matching indicator - 0, 1, or 2 bits”, see also [0272]-[0287] that describe in detail the operation of the rate match pattern and resources),
JI fails to teach wherein the first downlink signaling indicates, for each element, the PCI.
However, Zhang teaches wherein the first downlink signaling indicates, for each element, the PCI. ([0055] states “the base station 108 may provide an indication of a TCI state that is configured or otherwise associated with a neighbor cell's PCI. Thus, when the UE 104 receives the TCI state indication and detects a neighbor cell PCI, it may also know the C-RNTI of the neighbor cell based on the C-RNTI configuration 204.” That implies indicating of the PCI in the downlink signaling),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified JI to incorporate the teachings of Zhang (in analogous art) by specify that each of the predefined number of elements associated with a respective RNTI and respective PCI. This may increase flexibility of using multiple-input, multiple-output and beamforming enhancements for communicating with the UE and facilitate BWP-based handovers from a serving cell to a neighbor cell. (Zhang, [0034], [0103], [0105]).
and
JI and Zhang fail to teach nID, wherein nID is a scrambling identifier (ID) used to generate scrambling sequence of the at least one channel.
However, Suzuki teaches nID, wherein nID is a scrambling identifier (ID) used to generate scrambling sequence of the at least one channel ([0003] explicitly states “A PDCCH is used in the downlink of NR (NPLs 1, 2, 3, 4, 5). NPLs 6 and 7 describe initialization of a scrambling sequence generation unit for PDCCH scrambling by using n.sub.RNTI and n.sub.ID.”, see also [0012]-[0015], that confirms nID is a scrambling identifier (ID) used to generate scrambling sequence of the at least one channel).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified JI in view of Zhang to incorporate the teachings of Suzuki (in analogous art) by wherein the element includes an information of scrambling identifier (ID) used to generate scrambling sequence of the at least one channel for efficiently performing transmission and/or reception of the downlink. (Suzuki , [0011]).
Regarding claim 7 (Currently Amended), JI and Zhang teach the wireless communication method of claim 1.
JI further teaches wherein each element includes a corresponding information element that includes the type of RNTI, (Table 9 and [0112]-[0132] provide different type of RNTI can be indicated by the downlink signaling), synchronization signal block (SSB) information ([0068]-[0074] explicitly states In the 5G wireless communication system, a synchronization signal block (can be mixed with SSB, SS block, SS/PBCH block, etc.) may be transmitted for initial access, and the synchronization signal block may be composed of a primary synchronization signal (PSS), a secondary synchronization signal (SSS), and a physical broadcast channel (PBCH).), rating mating information (Tables 18-19 illustrates that the rate [0280] states “Rate matching indicator - 0, 1, or 2 bits”, see also [0272]-[0287] describe in detail the operation of the rate match pattern and resources),
JI fails to teach wherein the first downlink signaling indicates, for each element, the PCI.
However, Zhang teaches wherein the first downlink signaling indicates, for each element, the PCI. ([0055] states “the base station 108 may provide an indication of a TCI state that is configured or otherwise associated with a neighbor cell's PCI. Thus, when the UE 104 receives the TCI state indication and detects a neighbor cell PCI, it may also know the C-RNTI of the neighbor cell based on the C-RNTI configuration 204.” That implies indicating of the PCI in the downlink signaling),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified JI to incorporate the teachings of Zhang (in analogous art) by specify that each of the predefined number of elements associated with a respective RNTI and respective PCI. This may increase flexibility of using multiple-input, multiple-output and beamforming enhancements for communicating with the UE and facilitate BWP-based handovers from a serving cell to a neighbor cell. (Zhang, [0034], [0103], [0105]).
and
JI and Zhang fail to teach nID, wherein nID is a scrambling identifier (ID) used to generate scrambling sequence of the at least one channel.
However, Suzuki teaches nID, wherein nID is a scrambling identifier (ID) used to generate scrambling sequence of the at least one channel ([0003] explicitly states “A PDCCH is used in the downlink of NR (NPLs 1, 2, 3, 4, 5). NPLs 6 and 7 describe initialization of a scrambling sequence generation unit for PDCCH scrambling by using n.sub.RNTI and n.sub.ID.”, see also [0012]-[0015], that confirms nID is a scrambling identifier (ID) used to generate scrambling sequence of the at least one channel).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified JI in view of Zhang to incorporate the teachings of Suzuki (in analogous art) by wherein the element includes an information of scrambling identifier (ID) used to generate scrambling sequence of the at least one channel for efficiently performing transmission and/or reception of the downlink. (Suzuki , [0011]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by JI et al. (US-20220123891-A1) in view of Zhang et al. (US-11477792-B2), and further in view of Kovacs et al. (US-20180176964-A1).
Regarding claim 6 (Currently Amended), JI and Zhang teach the wireless communication method of claim 1.
JI and Zhang do not explicitly teach, wherein a number of bits of the type of RNTI is extended beyond 16 bits.
However, Kovacs teaches wherein a number of bits of the RNTI is extended beyond 16 bits ([0005], lines 3-5, stated in 5G New Radio (NR) technology, the Radio Network Temporary Identification (RNTI) could be extended beyond 16 bits).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified JI in view of Zhang to incorporate the teachings of Kovacs (in analogous art) by specify that a number of bits of the RNTI is extended beyond 16 bits to accommodate the requirements of the 5th generation (5G) New Radio (NR) technology (Kovacs, [0003] and [0005]).
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
You et al. (US-9756656-B2), Lee et al. (US-20220295530-A1), Yi et al. (US-20210050968-A1), Zhang et al. (WO-2020057665-A1) and Reial et al. (WO-2020064941-A1) teach methods related to reference signaling design configuration in wireless communication systems.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SANAA AL SAMAHI/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/ASAD M NAWAZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2463