DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on 01/02/2026 comply with all application rules and regulations. Therefore, the information referred to therein have been considered.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Remarks
This Office action is considered fully responsive to the amendments filed 12/23/2025.
Claims 1-2, 4-20 are pending in the application. Claims 1, 4-14, 16-19 have been amended and claims 2, 15, 20 were previously presented and claim 3 has been canceled. Regarding claim interpretation, we take a note of your statements.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 12/23/2025 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of (US-11477792-B2).
Regarding the independent claims, see the U.S.C. 103 rejection below.
Regarding all dependent claims, see the U.S.C. 103 rejection below. The Claim Rejections section below details the rejections of the instant claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JI et al. (US-20220123891-A1) in view of Zhou et al. (US-11477792-B2).
Regarding claim 1 (Currently Amended), JI teaches a wireless communication method (Abstract , lines 10-12, [0002] method and apparatus for a high-speed mobile user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system are provided) comprising: receiving, by a wireless communication device from a wireless communication node a first downlink signaling ([0056], lines 8-10 states “and downlink refers to a radio link through which a base station transmits data or control signals to the terminal.” and [0073], lines 1-5 describes the UE/terminal can first obtain downlink time and frequency domain synchronization from a synchronization signal through cell search and obtain a cell ID, and [0074], lines 10-17 states “The terminal obtains scheduling information on the physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) including the system information block (SIB) through the downlink control information transmitted in the control area #0, that is, the physical downlink control channel (PDCCH). The terminal may obtain configuration information related to a random access channel (RACH) required for initial access from the system information block” which confirm that the UE (wireless communication device) receives the first downlink signaling/control signal from the Base station BS (wireless communication node), [0176]-[0178] and [0179], lines 2-6, illustrate the downlink control information (DCI) transmitted by the BS includes a Cyclic Redundancy Check (CRC) that is scrambled with a RNIT),
JI fails to teach wherein the first downlink signaling is configured to indicate at least both a type of a Radio Network Temporary Identifier (RNTI) and a physical cell index (PCI) for each element of a predefined number of elements in one frequency unit, the type of RNTI comprising a Cell-RNTI (C-RNTI), wherein each of the predefined number of elements is configured with a respective C-RNTI and a respective PCI, and wherein the predefined number of elements is larger than 1; and performing, by the wireless communication device using the C-RNTI and the PCI as parameters, transmission or reception of at least one channel or at least one signal, respectively, corresponding to a corresponding element of the predefined number of elements.
However, Zhou teaches wherein the first downlink signaling is configured to indicate at least both a type of a Radio Network Temporary Identifier (RNTI) and a physical cell index (PCI) for each element of a predefined number of elements in one frequency unit (Col. 36, lines 14-25 states ”The second message (e.g., Msg 2 1312) may be scheduled on the DL-SCH and may be indicated by a PDCCH, for example, using a random access radio network temporary identifier (RA RNTI)” and “the second message (e.g., Msg 2 1312) may comprise a time-alignment command that may be used by the wireless device to adjust the transmission timing of the wireless device, a scheduling grant for transmission of the third message (e.g., Msg 3 1313), and/or a Temporary Cell RNTI (TC-RNTI)“, this paragraph implies the Msg2 includes the UE ID information based on a type of RNTI (TC-RNTI). The paragraph also mention that the Msg 2 is sent via PDCCH, which is associated with a specific CORESET and search space (which are considered parameter configurations to define how the channels or signals are organized as stated in Col. 19, lines 61-63 and Col. 91 lines 9-13) where these are associated to the Cell ID since the CORESET and search space and are configured for specific cell as stated in Col 23, lines 59-65 “A cell, comprising a downlink carrier and optionally an uplink carrier, may be assigned with a physical cell ID and a cell index. The physical cell ID or the cell index may indicate/identify a downlink carrier and/or an uplink carrier of the cell, for example, depending on the context in which the physical cell ID is used.” That implies the single signaling message can indicates both a type of a Radio Network Temporary Identifier (RNTI) and a physical cell index (PCI) for each element. Col. 35, lines 9-15 and Figs. 13A and 13B describe the RRC signaling assigned a C-RNTI/ TC-RNTI to the UE through the Msg 2 , which also indicated in Col. 36, lines 16-18 and in Col. 39 lines 31-57, which describe different types of RNTI ( identifier) configured for the wireless device by the BS through DCI, and “The identifier may comprise a 16-bit value of an RNTI.” and “DCIs may be used for different purposes. A purpose may be indicated by the type of an RNTI used to scramble the CRC parity bits”. Col. 26, lines 4-10, “A base station may send/transmit a plurality of SS/PBCH blocks, for example, within a frequency span of a carrier. A first PCI of a first SS/PBCH block of the plurality of SS/PBCH blocks may be different from a second PCI of a second SS/PBCH block of the plurality of SS/PBCH blocks” and in Col 25, lines 17-21, describe that “The SS/PBCH block may be used by the wireless device to determine one or more parameters of the cell. The wireless device may determine a physical cell identifier (PCI) of the cell, for example, based on the sequences of the PSS and the SSS, respectively. ” That implies the PCI is determined based on the associated with cell index as described in Col. 24, lines 1-9 and 25-27, “A cell index may be determined by the UE using the synchronizing signals (PSS/SSS) that transmitted/ indicated via downlink signaling as stated in Col. 23, lines 61-67 “The physical cell ID or the cell index may indicate/identify a downlink carrier and/or an uplink carrier of the cell, for example, depending on the context in which the physical cell ID is used. A physical cell ID may be determined, for example, using a synchronization signal (e.g., PSS and/or SSS) transmitted via a downlink component carrier. A cell index may be determined, for example, using one or more RRC messages.” A physical cell ID may be referred to as a carrier ID, and a cell index may be referred to as a carrier index. A first physical cell ID for a first downlink carrier may refer to the first physical cell ID for a cell comprising the first downlink carrier. Substantially the same/similar concept may apply to, for example, a carrier activation. Activation of a first carrier may refer to activation of a cell comprising the first carrier.”, which implies the PCI is unique for each serving cell (element), where the frequency unit includes serving cell, BWPs per serving cell, or group of serving cell as a structural elements, as states in Col.19, lines 40-50), the type of RNTI comprising a Cell-RNTI (C-RNTI) (Col. 39 lines 49-57, describe different types of RNTI that associated with serving cells, C-RANT (Cell-RANT) and P-RNTI are used to identify the UE and paging in the serving cell. Col 60, lines 58-64, “the MAC entity of the wireless device) has a C-RNTI, TC-RNTI or CS-RNTI, for each PDCCH occasion during which it monitors a PDCCH and for each serving cell”, which implies the type of RNTI comprising a Cell-RNTI (C-RNTI)), wherein each of the predefined number of elements is configured with a respective C-RNTI and a respective PCI (Col. 39 lines 49-57, describe different types of RNTI that associated with serving cells, C-RANT (Cell-RANT) and P-RNTI are used to identify the UE and paging in the serving cell. Col 60, lines 58-64, “the MAC entity of the wireless device) has a C-RNTI, TC-RNTI or CS-RNTI, for each PDCCH occasion during which it monitors a PDCCH and for each serving cell”, these examples confirm that each element (such as serving cell or BWP) can be associated with a certain RNTI. Col 25, lines 18-23 states “The wireless device may determine a physical cell identifier (PCI) of the cell, for example, based on the sequences of the PSS and the SSS, respectively. The wireless device may determine a location of a frame boundary of the cell, for example, based on the location of the SS/PBCH block.” that confirms that serving cell ties to respective PCI, where each serving cell is assigned a unique PCI to distinguish it from other cells in the group cell/network as also stated in Col. 23 lines 59-61 “A cell, comprising a downlink carrier and optionally an uplink carrier, may be assigned with a physical cell ID and a cell index.”) and wherein the predefined number of elements is larger than 1 (the structural elements of the frequency unit as mentioned in as states in Col.19, lines 40-50 can includes: serving cell group stated in Col. 16, lines 55-57, which contains multiple cells, serving cells stated in Col. 22, lines 5-7, which can be divided to multiple PUCCH groups as stated in Col. 23 lines 17-29, and BWPs (Bandwidth parts) stated in Col. 19, lines 39-40, and may be another elements, then the number of element can be more than 1); and performing, by the wireless communication device using the C-RNTI and the PCI as parameters, transmission or reception of at least one channel or at least one signal, respectively, corresponding to a corresponding element of the predefined number of elements (Fig. 13 A and Col. 36, lines 14-19, lines 21-25, exchange (transmit/receive ) messages between the BS and the wireless device using C-RNTI. Another example in Col. 39, lines 42-45, states “DCI having CRC parity bits scrambled with a cell RNTI (C-RNTI) may indicate a dynamically scheduled unicast transmission and/or a triggering of PDCCH-ordered random access. Col. 23 lines 61-65 states “A PCell may comprise a downlink carrier (e.g., the PCell 1011) and an uplink carrier (e.g., the PCell 1021). An SCell may comprise only a downlink carrier. A cell, comprising a downlink carrier and optionally an uplink carrier, may be assigned with a physical cell ID and a cell index. “ and Col. 24 lines 4-6 states “A first physical cell ID for a first downlink carrier may refer to the first physical cell ID for a cell comprising the first downlink carrier” which describe how the PCI used for indicate a downlink/uplink carrier of the cell that corresponding to certain element (serving cell or BWP), where the serving cell is associated with specific channels as illustrated in Figs. 5A-5B and Col. 12 lines 52-59).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified JI to incorporate the teachings of Zhou (in analogous art) by specify that each of the predefined number of elements associated with a respective RNTI and respective PCI to ensure efficient resource allocation and efficient bandwidth utilization, (Zhou, Col. 19, lines 35-39).
Regarding claim 2 (Previously Presented), JI and Zhou teach the method of claim 1.
JI further teaches wherein the first downlink signaling comprises one of RRC, MAC-CE, or DCI ([0079], states “The above-described information may be transmitted by the base station to the terminal through higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC signaling)” and “the configured bandwidth part is activated may be semi-statically transmitted from the base station to the terminal through RRC signaling, or may be dynamically transmitted through medium access control (MAC), control element (CE), or DCI.”).
Regarding claim 4 (Currently Amended), JI and Zhou teach the method of claim 1.
JI Fails to teach wherein the frequency unit comprises one of: a serving cell group, a serving cell, and a bandwidth part (BWP), and wherein at least one of the predefined number of elements is the serving cell of the serving cell group of the frequency unit.
However, Zhou teaches wherein the frequency unit comprises one of: a serving cell group, a serving cell, and a bandwidth part (BWP) (Col. 19, lines 48-51, “The one or more BWPs may be referred to as active BWPs of the serving cell. A serving cell may have one or more first active BWPs in the uplink carrier and one or more second active BWPs in the secondary uplink carrier”, Col. 22 lines 5-7, describe multi (group) serving cell and in carrier aggregation CA, multiple serving cells may include Primary Cell PCell and Secondary Cells SCells, the serving cell acts as PCell to provide connectivity between the wireless device and the SCells as illustrates in Col 22, lines 36-52. Col. 50, lines 36-39 depicts the role of the serving cell. Fig. 22, Col 53 lines 20-30, states “A serving cell may be configured with at most a first quantity/number (e.g., four or any other quantity/number) of BWPs. There may be one active BWP at any point in time, for example, for an activated serving cell, and the BWP switching for a serving cell may be used to activate/deactivate BWP), and wherein at least one of the predefined number of elements is the serving cell of the serving cell group of the frequency unit (Col. 16, lines 55-57, Fig. 10A, describe each CC corresponds to a serving cell, and these serving cells collectively form a serving cell group for CA, Col 22, lines 36-52. Fig. 10B and Col 23, lines 21-33, illustrate how the serving cells are grouped into PUCCH groups for uplink control information including PCell and SCell. Col 10, lines 29-33 also illustrates the dual connectivity DC where the serving cells are organized into serving cell group, which implies that the serving cell is the element of the serving cell groups).
Regarding claim 5 (Currently Amended), JI and Zhou teach the method of claim 1.
JI fails to teach wherein the first downlink signaling indicates, for each element, the type of RNTI , the PCI, and at least one of: power control information, time advance (TA) information, synchronization signal block (SSB) information, rating mating information, or nID, wherein nID is a scrambling identifier (ID) used to generate scrambling sequence of the at least one channel.
However, Zhou teaches wherein the first downlink signaling indicates, for each element, the type of RNTI , the PCI, (Col. 39 lines 20-57, describe different types of RNTI ( identifier) configured for the wireless device by the BS through DCI, and “The identifier may comprise a 16-bit value of an RNTI.” and “DCIs may be used for different purposes. A purpose may be indicated by the type of an RNTI used to scramble the CRC parity bits”. Col. 26, lines 4-10, “A base station may send/transmit a plurality of SS/PBCH blocks, for example, within a frequency span of a carrier. A first PCI of a first SS/PBCH block of the plurality of SS/PBCH blocks may be different from a second PCI of a second SS/PBCH block of the plurality of SS/PBCH blocks” and in Col 25, lines 17-21, describe that “The SS/PBCH block may be used by the wireless device to determine one or more parameters of the cell. The wireless device may determine a physical cell identifier (PCI) of the cell, for example, based on the sequences of the PSS and the SSS, respectively), Col 26 lines 4-11 states “A first PCI of a first SS/PBCH block of the plurality of SS/PBCH blocks may be different from a second PCI of a second SS/PBCH block of the plurality of SS/PBCH blocks. The PCIs of SS/PBCH blocks sent/transmitted in different frequency locations may be different or substantially the same“ and Col 39 lines 42-45 states “DCI having CRC parity bits scrambled with a cell RNTI (C-RNTI) may indicate a dynamically scheduled unicast transmission and/or a triggering of PDCCH-ordered random access“. All these parts of paragraphs indicate that each element, such as serving cell, serving cell group and BWP, includes information related a type of RNTI and PCI) and at least one of: synchronization signal block (SSB) information (Fig. 11A and Col. 24, lines 25-33, “The base station may periodically send/transmit a burst of SS/PBCH blocks, which may be referred to as SSBs , Col. 13, lines 14-16, Col. 25, lines 18-21, the PCI is mentioned as being determined using synchronization Signal such as the primary synchronization signal PSS and secondary synchronization signal SSS, Col. 39, lines 36-40), power control information (Col. 39, the downlink control signaling includes a power control command and/or any other suitable signaling), time advance (TA) information, rating mating information, or nID, wherein nID is a scrambling identifier (ID) used to generate scrambling sequence of the at least one channel.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified JI to incorporate the teachings of Zhou (in analogous art) by wherein the element includes an information element that includes the RNTI and at least one of: physical cell index (PCI), synchronization signal block (SSB) information, power control information, to ensure device identification and efficient resource allocation (Zhou, Col. 39, lines 42-45).
Regarding claim 7 (Currently Amended), JI and Zhou teach the method of claim 1.
JI does not explicitly teach wherein each element includes an information element that includes the type of RNTI, the PCI, and at least one of: synchronization signal block (SSB) information, power control information, time advance (TA) information, rating mating information, or nID, wherein nID is scrambling ID used to generate a scrambling sequence of the at least one channel.
However, Zhou teaches wherein each element includes an information element that includes the type of RNTI , the PCI, (Col. 39 lines 20-57, describe different types of RNTI ( identifier) configured for the wireless device by the BS through DCI, and “The identifier may comprise a 16-bit value of an RNTI.” and “DCIs may be used for different purposes. A purpose may be indicated by the type of an RNTI used to scramble the CRC parity bits”. Col. 26, lines 4-10, “A base station may send/transmit a plurality of SS/PBCH blocks, for example, within a frequency span of a carrier. A first PCI of a first SS/PBCH block of the plurality of SS/PBCH blocks may be different from a second PCI of a second SS/PBCH block of the plurality of SS/PBCH blocks” and in Col 25, lines 17-21, describe that “The SS/PBCH block may be used by the wireless device to determine one or more parameters of the cell. The wireless device may determine a physical cell identifier (PCI) of the cell, for example, based on the sequences of the PSS and the SSS, respectively), Col 26 lines 4-11 states “A first PCI of a first SS/PBCH block of the plurality of SS/PBCH blocks may be different from a second PCI of a second SS/PBCH block of the plurality of SS/PBCH blocks. The PCIs of SS/PBCH blocks sent/transmitted in different frequency locations may be different or substantially the same“ and Col 39 lines 42-45 states “DCI having CRC parity bits scrambled with a cell RNTI (C-RNTI) may indicate a dynamically scheduled unicast transmission and/or a triggering of PDCCH-ordered random access“. All these parts of paragraphs indicate that each element, such as serving cell, serving cell group and BWP, includes information related a type of RNTI and PCI), and at least one of: synchronization signal block (SSB) information (Fig. 11A and Col. 24, lines 25-33, “The base station may periodically send/transmit a burst of SS/PBCH blocks, which may be referred to as SSBs, Col. 13, lines 14-16, Col. 25, lines 18-21, the PCI is mentioned as being determined using synchronization Signal such as the primary synchronization signal PSS and secondary synchronization signal SSS, Col. 39, lines 36-40), power control information (Col. 39, the downlink control signaling includes a power control command and/or any other suitable signaling), time advance (TA) information, rating mating information, or nID, wherein nID is scrambling ID used to generate a scrambling sequence the at least one channel.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified JI to incorporate the teachings of Zhou (in analogous art) by wherein the element includes an information element that includes the RNTI and at least one of: physical cell index (PCI), synchronization signal block (SSB) information, power control information, to ensure device identification and efficient resource allocation (Zhou, Col. 39, lines 42-45).
Regarding claim 8 (Currently Amended), JI and Zhou teach the method of claim 1.
JI further teaches further comprising at least one of: determining, by the wireless communication device, the at least one signal for a control resource set (CORESET) associated with the at least one element ( Fig. 5, [0080], lines 5-11, [0102], lines 5-10, “Configurating the control resource set to the terminal refers to providing information such as a control resource set identity, a frequency position of the control resource set, and a symbol length of the control resource set. For example, information provided to configure the control resource set is as follows.” Table 6 describes how the UE determines the CORESET associated with element using the ControlResourceSet parameter, which identifies the CORESET. [0081], lines 8-10 and [0076] states “In the NR system, the base station may configure the initial BWP, which is the bandwidth of the control area #0, that is, the control resource set (CORESET) #0, or common search space (CSS), to the terminal through a master information block (MIB).” And [0104] lines 7-11, these parts describe that the UE can determine the signal for the control CORESET associated with the serving cell based on the configuration);
receiving, by the wireless communication device, the at least one channel associated with at least one element of the predefined number of elements according to the type of RNTI;
transmitting, by the wireless communication device, the at least one channel associated with the at least one element according to the type of the RNTI.
receiving, by the wireless communication device, to the type of signal associated with the at least one element according to the type of RNTI; or
transmitting, by the wireless communication device, the at least one signal associated with the at least one the element according to the type of RNTI.
Regarding claim 9 (Currently Amended), JI and Zhou teach the method of claim 8.
JI further teaches wherein the at least one channel or the at least one signal associated with the at least one element includes at least one of: a channel or a signal which is included in the at least one element ([0068], the channel or a signal be included in the element itself, for example, synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) include signal such as the primary synchronization signal (PSS), secondary synchronization signal (SSS), and physical broadcast channel (PBCH));
a channel or a signal that is scheduled by a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH)
of the at least one element; or
a channel or a signal with a parameter corresponding to the corresponding element.
Regarding claim 10 (Currently Amended), JI and Zhou teach the method of claim 9.
JI Fails to teach further comprising: receiving, by the wireless communication device, a second downlink signaling carrying the parameter of the at least one channel or the at least one signal.
Zhou teach further comprising: receiving, by the wireless communication device, a second downlink signaling carrying the parameter of the at least one channel or the at least one signal (Fig. 13A and Col. 35 lines 9-55, indicates that the wireless device can receive another signaling carrying parameters of the channel/signal to determine the RNTI of the channel or signal. Col. 38, lines 41-44, also confirm that); or
determining, by the wireless communication device, the type of RNTI of the at least one channel or the at least one signal according to an RNTI of the at least one element corresponding to the parameter (Col. 39, lines 42-45, indicates that the wireless device can determine the RNTI of the channel/signal based on the CRC parity bits which included in the DCI, Col. 35, lines 42-51 and Col. 41, lines 40-43 also confirm that).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified JI to incorporate the teachings of Zhou (in analogous art) by wherein the element includes an information element that includes the RNTI and at least one of: physical cell index (PCI), synchronization signal block (SSB) information, power control information, to ensure device identification and efficient resource allocation (Zhou, Col. 39, lines 42-45).
Regarding claim 11 (Currently Amended), JI and Zhou teach the method of claim 1.
JI further teaches further comprising: determining, by the wireless communication device, a resource group for which the parameter is applied according to the corresponding element corresponding to the parameter ([0074], lines 10-14, [0166] and Table 28, the UE determines the resource group, collection of resources that are grouped together for specific purposes in a wireless network according to specific parameters such as frequency or time domine resource allocation); wherein the resource group includes a channel resource group or a reference signal resource group ([0270], lines 6-13, [0234], lines 1-3 and [0244], the resource group can include a channel resource group or a reference signal resource group such as SRS resource group).
or receiving, by the wireless communication device, a third downlink signaling with a parameter.
Regarding claim 12 (Currently Amended), JI and Zhou teach the method of claim 11.
JI further teaches further comprising: receiving, by the wireless communication device, a fourth downlink signaling carrying a relationship between the resource group and the corresponding element (Fig. 23, Table 32, page 56, lines 1-7 and Page 57, line 4, the table describes direct relationship between resource group and element, a scenario where the UE receives signaling that maps resource groups to specific element: the UE receives signaling that associates a CSI resource group (NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSe) with specific element (CSI-RS resource or SSBs) for channel measurement and reporting, [0193] and [0281], lines 11-14).
Regarding claim 13 (Currently Amended), JI and Zhou teach the method of claim 1.
JI teaches further comprising: determining, by the wireless communication device, at least one element of the predefined number of elements of a channel or a signal according to a parameter of the at least one channel or the at least one signal ([0147], Table 32, page 56, second part, lines 22-29, the UE uses parameters like TCI states to identify and configure elements of a channel or signal, such as control resources bandwidth part and serving cells, which are considered as structural elements within the predefined elements).
Regarding claim 14 (Currently Amended), JI and Zhou teach the method of claim 9.
JI teaches further comprising: receiving, by the wireless communication device, a fifth downlink signaling indicating a relationship between the parameter and the corresponding element ([0076], lines 12-17, [0079], lines 9-13, [0380], lines 14-17, the UE receives downlink signaling that maps or associates a parameter to a specific element. For example, mapping parameters to control resources, DCI or RRC signaling can indicate the relationship between a parameter (e.g., TCI state or QCL type) and control resources within a CORESET or mapping parameter to bandwidth parts BWPs, [0211], line 8-12).
Regarding claim 15 (Previously Presented), JI and Zhou teach the method of claim 9.
JI teaches wherein the parameter includes one of: a Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state, a spatial relation indicator, a TCI state pool, or a spatial relation indicator pool ([0147], [0149], lines 12-20, [0156], the parameter can include one of the following : Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state, Table 12A explains how TCI states are configured and used).
Regarding claim 16 (Currently Amended), JI and Zhou teach the method of claim 1.
JI teaches wherein the type of RNTI further comprises at least one of: a Modulation and Coding Scheme-C-RNTI (MCS-C-RNTI) (Table 9, [0181]-[0182] illustrate including of MCS-C-RNTI as a type of RNTI) , a Configured Scheduling (CS)-RNTI (CS-RNTI) (Table 9, [0112],[0118] illustrate including of CS-RNTI as a type of RNTI), a Semi-Persistent (SP)-Channel State Information (CSI)-RNTI (SP-CSIRNTI), or a RNTI used to identify the wireless communication device.
Regarding claim 17 (Currently Amended), JI teaches a wireless communication method (Abstract, lines 10-12, [0002] method and apparatus for a high-speed mobile user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system are provided), comprising: transmitting, by a wireless communication node to a wireless communication device, a first downlink signaling ([0008]-[0009], [0073], lines 1-5 and [0074], lines 1-5, the UE (wireless communication device) receives the first downlink signaling from the Base station BS (wireless communication node), [0056], lines 8-10 states “and downlink refers to a radio link through which a base station transmits data or control signals to the terminal.” and [0073], lines 1-5 describes the UE/terminal can first obtain downlink time and frequency domain synchronization from a synchronization signal through cell search and obtain a cell ID, and [0074], lines 10-17 states “The terminal obtains scheduling information on the physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) including the system information block (SIB) through the downlink control information transmitted in the control area #0, that is, the physical downlink control channel (PDCCH). The terminal may obtain configuration information related to a random access channel (RACH) required for initial access from the system information block” which confirm that the UE (wireless communication device) receives the first downlink signaling/control signal from the Base station BS (wireless communication node), [0178], lines 3-7, [0179], lines 2-6, the downlink control information (DCI) transmitted by the BS includes a Cyclic Redundancy Check (CRC) that is scrambled with a RNIT, [0074], lines 14-17, [0178], lines 3-7, [0179], lines 2-6, the downlink control information (DCI) transmitted by the BS includes a Cyclic Redundancy Check (CRC) that is scrambled with a RNIT),
JI fails to teach wherein the first downlink signaling is configured to indicate at least both a type of Radio Network Temporary Identifier (RNTI) and a physical cell index (PCI) for each element of a predefined number of elements in one frequency unit, the type of RNTI comprising a Cell-RNTI (C-RNTI), wherein each of the predefined number of elements is configured with a respective C-RNTI and a respective PCI, and wherein the predefined number of elements is larger than 1; and wherein transmission or reception of at least one channel or at least one signal, respectively, corresponding to a corresponding element of the predefined number of elements, is performed using the C-RNTI and the PCI as parameters.
However, Zhou teaches wherein the first downlink signaling is configured to indicate at least both a type of a Radio Network Temporary Identifier (RNTI) and a physical cell index (PCI) for each element of a predefined number of elements in one frequency unit (Col. 36, lines 14-25 states ”The second message (e.g., Msg 2 1312) may be scheduled on the DL-SCH and may be indicated by a PDCCH, for example, using a random access radio network temporary identifier (RA RNTI)” and “the second message (e.g., Msg 2 1312) may comprise a time-alignment command that may be used by the wireless device to adjust the transmission timing of the wireless device, a scheduling grant for transmission of the third message (e.g., Msg 3 1313), and/or a Temporary Cell RNTI (TC-RNTI)“, this paragraph implies the Msg2 includes the UE ID information based on a type of RNTI (TC-RNTI). The paragraph also mention that the Msg 2 is sent via PDCCH, which is associated with a specific CORESET and search space (which are considered parameter configurations to define how the channels or signals are organized as stated in Col. 19, lines 61-63 and Col. 91 lines 9-13) where these are associated to the Cell ID since the CORESET and search space and are configured for specific cell as stated in Col 23, lines 59-65 “A cell, comprising a downlink carrier and optionally an uplink carrier, may be assigned with a physical cell ID and a cell index. The physical cell ID or the cell index may indicate/identify a downlink carrier and/or an uplink carrier of the cell, for example, depending on the context in which the physical cell ID is used.” That implies the single signaling message can indicates both a type of a Radio Network Temporary Identifier (RNTI) and a physical cell index (PCI) for each element. Col. 35, lines 9-15 and Figs. 13A and 13B describe the RRC signaling assigned a C-RNTI/ TC-RNTI to the UE through the Msg 2 , which also indicated in Col. 36, lines 16-18 and in Col. 39 lines 31-57, which describe different types of RNTI ( identifier) configured for the wireless device by the BS through DCI, and “The identifier may comprise a 16-bit value of an RNTI.” and “DCIs may be used for different purposes. A purpose may be indicated by the type of an RNTI used to scramble the CRC parity bits”. Col. 26, lines 4-10, “A base station may send/transmit a plurality of SS/PBCH blocks, for example, within a frequency span of a carrier. A first PCI of a first SS/PBCH block of the plurality of SS/PBCH blocks may be different from a second PCI of a second SS/PBCH block of the plurality of SS/PBCH blocks” and in Col 25, lines 17-21, describe that “The SS/PBCH block may be used by the wireless device to determine one or more parameters of the cell. The wireless device may determine a physical cell identifier (PCI) of the cell, for example, based on the sequences of the PSS and the SSS, respectively. ” That implies the PCI is determined based on the associated with cell index as described in Col. 24, lines 1-9 and 25-27, “A cell index may be determined by the UE using the synchronizing signals (PSS/SSS) that transmitted/ indicated via downlink signaling as stated in Col. 23, lines 61-67 “The physical cell ID or the cell index may indicate/identify a downlink carrier and/or an uplink carrier of the cell, for example, depending on the context in which the physical cell ID is used. A physical cell ID may be determined, for example, using a synchronization signal (e.g., PSS and/or SSS) transmitted via a downlink component carrier. A cell index may be determined, for example, using one or more RRC messages.” A physical cell ID may be referred to as a carrier ID, and a cell index may be referred to as a carrier index. A first physical cell ID for a first downlink carrier may refer to the first physical cell ID for a cell comprising the first downlink carrier. Substantially the same/similar concept may apply to, for example, a carrier activation. Activation of a first carrier may refer to activation of a cell comprising the first carrier.”, which implies the PCI is unique for each serving cell (element), where the frequency unit includes serving cell, BWPs per serving cell, or group of serving cell as a structural elements, as states in Col.19, lines 40-50), the type of RNTI comprising a Cell-RNTI (C-RNTI) (Col. 39 lines 49-57, describe different types of RNTI that associated with serving cells, C-RANT (Cell-RANT) and P-RNTI are used to identify the UE and paging in the serving cell. Col 60, lines 58-64, “the MAC entity of the wireless device) has a C-RNTI, TC-RNTI or CS-RNTI, for each PDCCH occasion during which it monitors a PDCCH and for each serving cell”, which implies the type of RNTI comprising a Cell-RNTI (C-RNTI)), wherein each of the predefined number of elements is configured with a respective C-RNTI and a respective PCI (Col. 39 lines 49-57, describe different types of RNTI that associated with serving cells, C-RANT (Cell-RANT) and P-RNTI are used to identify the UE and paging in the serving cell. Col 60, lines 58-64, “the MAC entity of the wireless device) has a C-RNTI, TC-RNTI or CS-RNTI, for each PDCCH occasion during which it monitors a PDCCH and for each serving cell”, these examples confirm that each element (such as serving cell or BWP) can be associated with a certain RNTI. Col 25, lines 18-23 states “The wireless device may determine a physical cell identifier (PCI) of the cell, for example, based on the sequences of the PSS and the SSS, respectively. The wireless device may determine a location of a frame boundary of the cell, for example, based on the location of the SS/PBCH block.” that confirms that serving cell ties to respective PCI, where each serving cell is assigned a unique PCI to distinguish it from other cells in the group cell/network as also stated in Col. 23 lines 59-61 “A cell, comprising a downlink carrier and optionally an uplink carrier, may be assigned with a physical cell ID and a cell index.”) and wherein the predefined number of elements is larger than 1 (the structural elements of the frequency unit as mentioned in as states in Col.19, lines 40-50 can includes: serving cell group stated in Col. 16, lines 55-57, which contains multiple cells, serving cells stated in Col. 22, lines 5-7, which can be divided to multiple PUCCH groups as stated in Col. 23 lines 17-29, and BWPs (Bandwidth parts) stated in Col. 19, lines 39-40, and may be another elements, then the number of element can be more than 1); and wherein transmission or reception of at least one channel or at least one signal, respectively, corresponding to a corresponding element of the predefined number of elements, is performed using the C-RNTI and the PCI as parameters (Fig. 13 A and Col. 36, lines 14-19, lines 21-25, exchange (transmit/receive ) messages between the BS and the wireless device using C-RNTI. Another example in Col. 39, lines 42-45, states “DCI having CRC parity bits scrambled with a cell RNTI (C-RNTI) may indicate a dynamically scheduled unicast transmission and/or a triggering of PDCCH-ordered random access. Col. 23 lines 61-65 states “A PCell may comprise a downlink carrier (e.g., the PCell 1011) and an uplink carrier (e.g., the PCell 1021). An SCell may comprise only a downlink carrier. A cell, comprising a downlink carrier and optionally an uplink carrier, may be assigned with a physical cell ID and a cell index. “ and Col. 24 lines 4-6 states “A first physical cell ID for a first downlink carrier may refer to the first physical cell ID for a cell comprising the first downlink carrier” which describe how the PCI used for indicate a downlink/uplink carrier of the cell that corresponding to certain element (serving cell or BWP), where the serving cell is associated with specific channels as illustrated in Figs. 5A-5B and Col. 12 lines 52-59).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified JI to incorporate the teachings of Zhou (in analogous art) by specify that each of the predefined number of elements associated with a respective RNTI to ensure efficient resource allocation and efficient bandwidth utilization, (Zhou, Col. 19, lines 35-39).
Regarding claim 18 (Currently Amended), JI teaches a wireless communication device, comprising: at least one processor (Fig. 19, [0034], diagram illustrating a structure of a signal processing apparatus including an antenna port, an antenna panel, and a baseband processor of a terminal (wireless communication device)) configured to: receive, via receiver from a wireless communication node, a first downlink signaling ([0056], lines 8-10 states “and downlink refers to a radio link through which a base station transmits data or control signals to the terminal.” and [0073], lines 1-5 describes the UE/terminal can first obtain downlink time and frequency domain synchronization from a synchronization signal through cell search and obtain a cell ID, and [0074], lines 10-17 states “The terminal obtains scheduling information on the physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) including the system information block (SIB) through the downlink control information transmitted in the control area #0, that is, the physical downlink control channel (PDCCH). The terminal may obtain configuration information related to a random access channel (RACH) required for initial access from the system information block” which confirm that the UE (wireless communication device) receives the first downlink signaling/control signal from the Base station BS (wireless communication node), [0176]-[0178] and [0179], lines 2-6, illustrate the downlink control information (DCI) transmitted by the BS includes a Cyclic Redundancy Check (CRC) that is scrambled with a RNIT), and
JI fails to teach wherein the first downlink signaling is configured to indicate at least both a type of Radio Network Temporary Identifier (RNTI) and a physical cell index (PCI) for each element of a predefined number of elements in one frequency unit, the type of RNTI comprising a Cell-RNTI (C-RNTI), wherein each of the predefined number of elements is configured with a respective C-RNTI and a respective PCI, and wherein the predefined number of elements is larger than 1; perform, using the C-RNTI and the PCI as parameters, transmission or reception of at least one channel or at least one signal, respectively, corresponding to a corresponding element of the predefined number of elements.
However, Zhou teaches wherein the first downlink signaling is configured to indicate at least both a type of a Radio Network Temporary Identifier (RNTI) and a physical cell index (PCI) for each element of a predefined number of elements in one frequency unit (Col. 36, lines 14-25 states ”The second message (e.g., Msg 2 1312) may be scheduled on the DL-SCH and may be indicated by a PDCCH, for example, using a random access radio network temporary identifier (RA RNTI)” and “the second message (e.g., Msg 2 1312) may comprise a time-alignment command that may be used by the wireless device to adjust the transmission timing of the wireless device, a scheduling grant for transmission of the third message (e.g., Msg 3 1313), and/or a Temporary Cell RNTI (TC-RNTI)“, this paragraph implies the Msg2 includes the UE ID information based on a type of RNTI (TC-RNTI). The paragraph also mention that the Msg 2 is sent via PDCCH, which is associated with a specific CORESET and search space (which are considered parameter configurations to define how the channels or signals are organized as stated in Col. 19, lines 61-63 and Col. 91 lines 9-13) where these are associated to the Cell ID since the CORESET and search space and are configured for specific cell as stated in Col 23, lines 59-65 “A cell, comprising a downlink carrier and optionally an uplink carrier, may be assigned with a physical cell ID and a cell index. The physical cell ID or the cell index may indicate/identify a downlink carrier and/or an uplink carrier of the cell, for example, depending on the context in which the physical cell ID is used.” That implies the single signaling message can indicates both a type of a Radio Network Temporary Identifier (RNTI) and a physical cell index (PCI) for each element. Col. 35, lines 9-15 and Figs. 13A and 13B describe the RRC signaling assigned a C-RNTI/ TC-RNTI to the UE through the Msg 2 , which also indicated in Col. 36, lines 16-18 and in Col. 39 lines 31-57, which describe different types of RNTI ( identifier) configured for the wireless device by the BS through DCI, and “The identifier may comprise a 16-bit value of an RNTI.” and “DCIs may be used for different purposes. A purpose may be indicated by the type of an RNTI used to scramble the CRC parity bits”. Col. 26, lines 4-10, “A base station may send/transmit a plurality of SS/PBCH blocks, for example, within a frequency span of a carrier. A first PCI of a first SS/PBCH block of the plurality of SS/PBCH blocks may be different from a second PCI of a second SS/PBCH block of the plurality of SS/PBCH blocks” and in Col 25, lines 17-21, describe that “The SS/PBCH block may be used by the wireless device to determine one or more parameters of the cell. The wireless device may determine a physical cell identifier (PCI) of the cell, for example, based on the sequences of the PSS and the SSS, respectively. ” That implies the PCI is determined based on the associated with cell index as described in Col. 24, lines 1-9 and 25-27, “A cell index may be determined by the UE using the synchronizing signals (PSS/SSS) that transmitted/ indicated via downlink signaling as stated in Col. 23, lines 61-67 “The physical cell ID or the cell index may indicate/identify a downlink carrier and/or an uplink carrier of the cell, for example, depending on the context in which the physical cell ID is used. A physical cell ID may be determined, for example, using a synchronization signal (e.g., PSS and/or SSS) transmitted via a downlink component carrier. A cell index may be determined, for example, using one or more RRC messages.” A physical cell ID may be referred to as a carrier ID, and a cell index may be referred to as a carrier index. A first physical cell ID for a first downlink carrier may refer to the first physical cell ID for a cell comprising the first downlink carrier. Substantially the same/similar concept may apply to, for example, a carrier activation. Activation of a first carrier may refer to activation of a cell comprising the first carrier.”, which implies the PCI is unique for each serving cell (element), where the frequency unit includes serving cell, BWPs per serving cell, or group of serving cell as a structural elements, as states in Col.19, lines 40-50), the type of RNTI comprising a Cell-RNTI (C-RNTI) (Col. 39 lines 49-57, describe different types of RNTI that associated with serving cells, C-RANT (Cell-RANT) and P-RNTI are used to identify the UE and paging in the serving cell. Col 60, lines 58-64, “the MAC entity of the wireless device) has a C-RNTI, TC-RNTI or CS-RNTI, for each PDCCH occasion during which it monitors a PDCCH and for each serving cell”, which implies the type of RNTI comprising a Cell-RNTI (C-RNTI)), wherein each of the predefined number of elements is configured with a respective C-RNTI and a respective PCI (Col. 39 lines 49-57, describe different types of RNTI that associated with serving cells, C-RANT (Cell-RANT) and P-RNTI are used to identify the UE and paging in the serving cell. Col 60, lines 58-64, “the MAC entity of the wireless device) has a C-RNTI, TC-RNTI or CS-RNTI, for each PDCCH occasion during which it monitors a PDCCH and for each serving cell”, these examples confirm that each element (such as serving cell or BWP) can be associated with a certain RNTI. Col 25, lines 18-23 states “The wireless device may determine a physical cell identifier (PCI) of the cell, for example, based on the sequences of the PSS and the SSS, respectively. The wireless device may determine a location of a frame boundary of the cell, for example, based on the location of the SS/PBCH block.” that confirms that serving cell ties to respective PCI, where each serving cell is assigned a unique PCI to distinguish it from other cells in the group cell/network as also stated in Col. 23 lines 59-61 “A cell, comprising a downlink carrier and optionally an uplink carrier, may be assigned with a physical cell ID and a cell index.”) and wherein the predefined number of elements is larger than 1 (the structural elements of the frequency unit as mentioned in as states in Col.19, lines 40-50 can includes: serving cell group stated in Col. 16, lines 55-57, which contains multiple cells, serving cells stated in Col. 22, lines 5-7, which can be divided to multiple PUCCH groups as stated in Col. 23 lines 17-29, and BWPs (Bandwidth parts) stated in Col. 19, lines 39-40, and may be another elements, then the number of element can be more than 1); and performing, by the wireless communication device using the C-RNTI and the PCI as parameters, transmission or reception of at least one channel or at least one signal, respectively, corresponding to a corresponding element of the predefined number of elements (Fig. 13 A and Col. 36, lines 14-19, lines 21-25, exchange (transmit/receive ) messages between the BS and the wireless device using C-RNTI. Another example in Col. 39, lines 42-45, states “DCI having CRC parity bits scrambled with a cell RNTI (C-RNTI) may indicate a dynamically scheduled unicast transmission and/or a triggering of PDCCH-ordered random access. Col. 23 lines 61-65 states “A PCell may comprise a downlink carrier (e.g., the PCell 1011) and an uplink carrier (e.g., the PCell 1021). An SCell may comprise only a downlink carrier. A cell, comprising a downlink carrier and optionally an uplink carrier, may be assigned with a physical cell ID and a cell index. “ and Col. 24 lines 4-6 states “A first physical cell ID for a first downlink carrier may refer to the first physical cell ID for a cell comprising the first downlink carrier” which describe how the PCI used for indicate a downlink/uplink carrier of the cell that corresponding to certain element (serving cell or BWP), where the serving cell is associated with specific channels as illustrated in Figs. 5A-5B and Col. 12 lines 52-59).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified JI to incorporate the teachings of Zhou (in analogous art) by specify that each of the predefined number of elements associated with a respective RNTI to ensure efficient resource allocation and efficient bandwidth utilization, (Zhou, Col. 19, lines 35-39).
Regarding claim 19 (Currently Amended), JI teaches a wireless communication node, comprising: at least one processor ([0011], [0358] and [02420], lines 12-14, The base station includes a transceiver and a controller which can include a processor) configured to: transmit, via a transmitter to a wireless communication device, a first downlink signaling ([0073], lines 1-5 and [0074], lines 1-5, the UE (wireless communication device) receives the first downlink signaling from the Base station BS (wireless communication node), ([0074], lines 14-17, [0178], lines 3-7, [0179], lines 2-6, the downlink control information (DCI) transmitted by the BS includes a Cyclic Redundancy Check (CRC) that is scrambled with a RNIT. [0074], lines 10-17 states “The terminal obtains scheduling information on the physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) including the system information block (SIB) through the downlink control information transmitted in the control area #0, that is, the physical downlink control channel (PDCCH). The terminal may obtain configuration information related to a random access channel (RACH) required for initial access from the system information block” which confirm that the UE (wireless communication device) receives the first downlink signaling/control signal from the Base station BS (wireless communication node), [0176]-[0178] and [0179], lines 2-6, illustrate the downlink control information (DCI) transmitted by the BS includes a Cyclic Redundancy Check (CRC) that is scrambled with a RNIT),
JI fails to teach wherein the first downlink signaling is configured to indicate at least both a type of Radio Network Temporary Identifier (RNTI) and a physical cell index (PCI) for each element of a predefined number of elements in one frequency unit, the type of RNTI comprising a Cell-RNTI (C-RNTI), wherein each of the predefined number of elements is configured with a respective C-RNTI and a respective PCI, and wherein the predefined number of elements is larger than 1; and wherein transmission or reception of at least one channel or at least one signal, respectively, corresponding to a corresponding element of the predefined number of elements, is performed using the C-RNTI and the PCI as parameters.
However, Zhou teaches wherein the first downlink signaling is configured to indicate at least both a type of a Radio Network Temporary Identifier (RNTI) and a physical cell index (PCI) for each element of a predefined number of elements in one frequency unit (Col. 36, lines 14-25 states ”The second message (e.g., Msg 2 1312) may be scheduled on the DL-SCH and may be indicated by a PDCCH, for example, using a random access radio network temporary identifier (RA RNTI)” and “the second message (e.g., Msg 2 1312) may comprise a time-alignment command that may be used by the wireless device to adjust the transmission timing of the wireless device, a scheduling grant for transmission of the third message (e.g., Msg 3 1313), and/or a Temporary Cell RNTI (TC-RNTI)“, this paragraph implies the Msg2 includes the UE ID information based on a type of RNTI (TC-RNTI). The paragraph also mention that the Msg 2 is sent via PDCCH, which is associated with a specific CORESET and search space (which are considered parameter configurations to define how the channels or signals are organized as stated in Col. 19, lines 61-63 and Col. 91 lines 9-13) where these are associated to the Cell ID since the CORESET and search space and are configured for specific cell as stated in Col 23, lines 59-65 “A cell, comprising a downlink carrier and optionally an uplink carrier, may be assigned with a physical cell ID and a cell index. The physical cell ID or the cell index may indicate/identify a downlink carrier and/or an uplink carrier of the cell, for example, depending on the context in which the physical cell ID is used.” That implies the single signaling message can indicates both a type of a Radio Network Temporary Identifier (RNTI) and a physical cell index (PCI) for each element. Col. 35, lines 9-15 and Figs. 13A and 13B describe the RRC signaling assigned a C-RNTI/ TC-RNTI to the UE through the Msg 2 , which also indicated in Col. 36, lines 16-18 and in Col. 39 lines 31-57, which describe different types of RNTI ( identifier) configured for the wireless device by the BS through DCI, and “The identifier may comprise a 16-bit value of an RNTI.” and “DCIs may be used for different purposes. A purpose may be indicated by the type of an RNTI used to scramble the CRC parity bits”. Col. 26, lines 4-10, “A base station may send/transmit a plurality of SS/PBCH blocks, for example, within a frequency span of a carrier. A first PCI of a first SS/PBCH block of the plurality of SS/PBCH blocks may be different from a second PCI of a second SS/PBCH block of the plurality of SS/PBCH blocks” and in Col 25, lines 17-21, describe that “The SS/PBCH block may be used by the wireless device to determine one or more parameters of the cell. The wireless device may determine a physical cell identifier (PCI) of the cell, for example, based on the sequences of the PSS and the SSS, respectively. ” That implies the PCI is determined based on the associated with cell index as described in Col. 24, lines 1-9 and 25-27, “A cell index may be determined by the UE using the synchronizing signals (PSS/SSS) that transmitted/ indicated via downlink signaling as stated in Col. 23, lines 61-67 “The physical cell ID or the cell index may indicate/identify a downlink carrier and/or an uplink carrier of the cell, for example, depending on the context in which the physical cell ID is used. A physical cell ID may be determined, for example, using a synchronization signal (e.g., PSS and/or SSS) transmitted via a downlink component carrier. A cell index may be determined, for example, using one or more RRC messages.” A physical cell ID may be referred to as a carrier ID, and a cell index may be referred to as a carrier index. A first physical cell ID for a first downlink carrier may refer to the first physical cell ID for a cell comprising the first downlink carrier. Substantially the same/similar concept may apply to, for example, a carrier activation. Activation of a first carrier may refer to activation of a cell comprising the first carrier.”, which implies the PCI is unique for each serving cell (element), where the frequency unit includes serving cell, BWPs per serving cell, or group of serving cell as a structural elements, as states in Col.19, lines 40-50), the type of RNTI comprising a Cell-RNTI (C-RNTI) (Col. 39 lines 49-57, describe different types of RNTI that associated with serving cells, C-RANT (Cell-RANT) and P-RNTI are used to identify the UE and paging in the serving cell. Col 60, lines 58-64, “the MAC entity of the wireless device) has a C-RNTI, TC-RNTI or CS-RNTI, for each PDCCH occasion during which it monitors a PDCCH and for each serving cell”, which implies the type of RNTI comprising a Cell-RNTI (C-RNTI)), wherein each of the predefined number of elements is configured with a respective C-RNTI and a respective PCI (Col. 39 lines 49-57, describe different types of RNTI that associated with serving cells, C-RANT (Cell-RANT) and P-RNTI are used to identify the UE and paging in the serving cell. Col 60, lines 58-64, “the MAC entity of the wireless device) has a C-RNTI, TC-RNTI or CS-RNTI, for each PDCCH occasion during which it monitors a PDCCH and for each serving cell”, these examples confirm that each element (such as serving cell or BWP) can be associated with a certain RNTI. Col 25, lines 18-23 states “The wireless device may determine a physical cell identifier (PCI) of the cell, for example, based on the sequences of the PSS and the SSS, respectively. The wireless device may determine a location of a frame boundary of the cell, for example, based on the location of the SS/PBCH block.” that confirms that serving cell ties to respective PCI, where each serving cell is assigned a unique PCI to distinguish it from other cells in the group cell/network as also stated in Col. 23 lines 59-61 “A cell, comprising a downlink carrier and optionally an uplink carrier, may be assigned with a physical cell ID and a cell index.”) and wherein the predefined number of elements is larger than 1 (the structural elements of the frequency unit as mentioned in as states in Col.19, lines 40-50 can includes: serving cell group stated in Col. 16, lines 55-57, which contains multiple cells, serving cells stated in Col. 22, lines 5-7, which can be divided to multiple PUCCH groups as stated in Col. 23 lines 17-29, and BWPs (Bandwidth parts) stated in Col. 19, lines 39-40, and may be another elements, then the number of element can be more than 1); and wherein transmission or reception of at least one channel or at least one signal, respectively, corresponding to a corresponding element of the predefined number of elements, is performed using the C-RNTI and the PCI as parameters (Fig. 13 A and Col. 36, lines 14-19, lines 21-25, exchange (transmit/receive ) messages between the BS and the wireless device using C-RNTI. Another example in Col. 39, lines 42-45, states “DCI having CRC parity bits scrambled with a cell RNTI (C-RNTI) may indicate a dynamically scheduled unicast transmission and/or a triggering of PDCCH-ordered random access. Col. 23 lines 61-65 states “A PCell may comprise a downlink carrier (e.g., the PCell 1011) and an uplink carrier (e.g., the PCell 1021). An SCell may comprise only a downlink carrier. A cell, comprising a downlink carrier and optionally an uplink carrier, may be assigned with a physical cell ID and a cell index. “ and Col. 24 lines 4-6 states “A first physical cell ID for a first downlink carrier may refer to the first physical cell ID for a cell comprising the first downlink carrier” which describe how the PCI used for indicate a downlink/uplink carrier of the cell that corresponding to certain element (serving cell or BWP), where the serving cell is associated with specific channels as illustrated in Figs. 5A-5B and Col. 12 lines 52-59).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified JI to incorporate the teachings of Zhou (in analogous art) by specify that each of the predefined number of elements associated with a respective RNTI to ensure efficient resource allocation and efficient bandwidth utilization, (Zhou, Col. 19, lines 35-39).
Regarding claim 20 (Previously Presented), JI teaches the wireless communication node of claim 19.
JI further teaches wherein the first downlink signaling comprises one of RRC, MAC-CE, or DCI ([0079], states “The above-described information may be transmitted by the base station to the terminal through higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC signaling)” and “the configured bandwidth part is activated may be semi-statically transmitted from the base station to the terminal through RRC signaling, or may be dynamically transmitted through medium access control (MAC), control element (CE), or DCI.”).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by JI et al. (US-20220123891-A1) in view of Zhou et al. (US-11477792-B2) further in view of Kovacs et al. (US-20180176964-A1).
Regarding claim 6 (Currently Amended), JI and Zhou teach the method of claim 1.
JI and Zhou do not explicitly teach , wherein a number of bits of the type of RNTI is extended beyond 16 bits.
However, Kovacs teaches wherein a number of bits of the RNTI is extended beyond 16 bits ([0005], lines 3-5, stated in 5G New Radio (NR) technology, the Radio Network Temporary Identification (RNTI) could be extended beyond 16 bits).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified JI in view of Zhou to incorporate the teachings of Kovacs (in analogous art) by specify that a number of bits of the RNTI is extended beyond 16 bits to accommodate the requirements of the 5th generation (5G) New Radio (NR) technology (Kovacs, [0003] and [0005]).
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure.
You et al. (US-9756656-B2), Lee et al. (US-20220295530-A1), Yi et al. (US-20210050968-A1), Zhang et al. (WO-2020057665-A1) and Reial et al. (WO-2020064941-A1) teach methods related to reference signaling design configuration in wireless communication systems.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SANAA AL SAMAHI/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/OMAR J GHOWRWAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463