DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s response to the last Office Action, filed on 4/13/2026 has been entered and made of record.
Applicant’s amendments necessitated the new ground of rejection set forth herein; therefore, this action is made Final.
Claim objections due to minor informalities are withdrawn in view of amendments.
Rejections under 35 USC 112 are modified in view of amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 4/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Detailed rejections have been updated to reflect claim amendments. Zhang (“SWNet: Surgical Workflow Recognition with Deep Convolutional Network”) has been added to the rejection of the independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-4 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claims 2, 3, and 12 contain the language “not the MS-TCN” such as in claim 3, “the one or more video segments are recognized by the NLP module, not the MS-TCN,”. Examiner notes that this is a negative limitation for which there is no explicit support for in the original disclosure.
Claim 2 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 2 recites, “the action segmentation network comprises the NLP module which recognizes the one or more video segments, not the MS-TCN”. It is not clear what the phrase “not the MS-TCN” is intended to refer to here.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9, 11 and 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolf (US pat. No. 10,729,502) in view of Zhang (“SWNet: Surgical Workflow Recognition with Deep Convolutional Network”).
Regarding claim 1, Wolf discloses a system comprising: (Wolf teaches a system for generating surgical summary footage via neural networks grouping frames based on video content. Users then navigate the surgical summary footage with a user interface, See Abstract.)
one or more processors and a memory storing instructions executed by the one or more processors, configured as the following elements to process a surgical video: (Col. 8, ll. 25-55)
i) a feature extraction network that has been previously trained, with video frames selected from a surgical video dataset, to output frame features, (see Col. 36 ¶ 2-3 and and Col. 37 last paragraph disclose using a variety of pre-trained neural network types to extract video frame features and perform natural language processing in order to generate phase tags to assign language labels to surgical phases.)
ii) an action segmentation network that has been previously trained with video features that were produced from the frame features that were output by the feature extraction network, (As above, Col. 36 ¶ 2-3 and and Col. 37 last paragraph disclose using a variety of pre-trained neural network types to extract video frame features and perform natural language processing in order to generate phase tags to assign language labels to surgical phases of the video.)
wherein the action segmentation network is to, wherein the feature extraction network is to extract from the surgical video on a frame by frame basis a plurality of features including one or more surgical instrument types and a presence of a plurality of surgical instruments, from a surgical video, on a frame by frame basis; and (Col. 55, ¶ 2 and col. 56, ¶ 3 teach surgical instrument detection of a variety of types on a frame by frame basis. Also see Col. 150, last paragraph, col. 77, ¶ 3 and col. 22, ¶ 2.)
for a respective surgical instrument in the plurality of surgical instruments, analyze the constituent video frames of the surgical video based on the plurality of features extracted by the feature extraction network to recognize one or more video segments, each recognized video segment including a detected presence of the respective surgical instrument, (Col. 55, ¶ 2 and col. 56, ¶ 3 teach detecting video segments and grouping frames based on surgical instrument presence detection. As above, also see Col. 150, last paragraph, col. 77, ¶ 3 and col. 22, ¶ 2.)
wherein the one or more video segments are recognized by a multi-stage temporal convolution network (MS-TCN) or a natural language processing (NLP) module in the action segmentation network. (Col. 132 ¶ 3 teaches using natural language processing in video segment processing. Also see Col. 36 last paragraph and Col. 37 last paragraph which disclose using a variety of neural network types to perform natural language processing by generating phase tags to assign language labels to surgical phases.)
In the field of surgical video workflow recognition Zhang teaches using video features that were produced by concatenating frame features (Zhang pg 2, last paragraph, “We concatenate the extracted features to get the full video features and utilize MS-TCN to achieve initial surgical phase segmentation for the full surgical video.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Wolf’s surgical video workflow recognition with Zhang’s surgical video workflow recognition. Wolf teaches a system for generating surgical summary footage via neural networks grouping frames based on video content. Users then navigate the surgical summary footage with a user interface for filtering the video content based on surgical instrumentation. Zhang’s algorithm teaches frame feature concatenation and video feature filtering to improve offline recognition results to filter out incorrect predictions. The combination constitutes the repeatable and predictable result of simply applying Zhang’s surgical video filtering step to be used in the way in which it was intended. This cannot be considered a non-obvious improvement in view of the relevant prior art here. Using known engineering design, no “fundamental” operating principle of the teachings are changed; they continue to perform the same functions as originally taught prior to being combined.
Regarding claim 2, the above combination discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the action segmentation network comprises the NLP module which recognizes the one or more video segments, not the MS-TCN, by the one or more processors performing spatial-temporal feature learning. (See Col. 36 last paragraph and Col. 37 last paragraph which disclose using a variety of neural network types, performing spatial-temporal video feature learning, to accomplish natural language processing by generating phase tags to assign language labels to surgical phases.)
Regarding claim 3, the above combination discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the NLP module, not the MS-TCN, which is based on a transformer model. (See Col. 36 last paragraph and Col. 37 last paragraph which disclose using a variety of neural network types including with transformer functions to perform natural language processing by generating phase tags to assign language labels to surgical phases. Also see Col. 12, last paragraph.)
Regarding claim 4, the above combination discloses the system of claim 3, wherein the transformer model includes an encoder network and a decoder network. (Col. 36 last paragraph teaches using an autoencoder neural network architecture which includes an encoder and decoder.)
Regarding claim 5, the above combination discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to present a surgical instrument navigation bar illustrating a timeline of usage for the respective surgical instrument detected in the surgical video. (Col. 19, ¶ 2 and col. 22, ¶ 2 teaches a surgical timeline navigation bar for surgical events including surgical instrument usage. Also see Fig 4.)
Regarding claim 6, the above combination discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to facilitate a search interface where responsive to input keywords, video segments matching the input keywords are presented. (Col. 42, ¶ 2 and Fig. 7 teach a search interface responsive to input keywords to pull up video segments such as surgical phases.)
Regarding claim 7, the above combination discloses the system of claim 6, wherein the input keywords include surgical procedure type, surgical steps, surgical events, and/or surgical instrument types and presence. (Col. 42, ¶ 2 and Fig. 7 teach a search interface responsive to input keywords such as surgical steps to pull up video segments.)
Regarding claim 8, the above combination discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: collect statistics on a plurality of instances of the detected presence of the respective surgical instrument where each instance is from a respective surgical video in which a respective surgeon is operating and present the collected statistics to users. (Col. 49, ¶ 3 and col. 114 ¶ 3.)
Regarding claim 9, the above combination discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to filter the one or more video segments of the detected presence of the respective surgical instrument based on filtering rules set by a human actor. (Col. 42, ¶ 2 and Fig. 7 teach a search interface responsive to input keywords such as surgical instruments and steps as well as other filtering to pull up video segments.)
Claims 11, 14-17 and 19 is the method claim corresponding to the system of claims 1, 3, 5-8. The system necessarily requires method steps. Remaining limitations are rejected similarly. See detailed analysis above.
Claim 18 is the ‘article of manufacturer comprising memory’ claim corresponding to claims 1 and 3. See Wolf Col. 8, ll. 25-55 regarding the teaching for memory. Remaining limitations are rejected similarly. See detailed analysis above.
Regarding claim 10, the above combination discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to filter the one or more video segments of detected surgical instrument (See rejection of claim 1.
In the field of surgical video workflow recognition Zhang teaches using a prior knowledge noise filtering (PKNF) algorithm. (Zhang pg 2, last paragraph, “We concatenate the extracted features to get the full video features and utilize MS-TCN to achieve initial surgical phase segmentation for the full surgical video. We apply the Prior Knowledge Noise Filtering algorithm to the initial surgical phase segmentation results to get the final prediction results.” Prior Knowledge Noise Filtering algorithm improves offline recognition results to filter out incorrect predictions.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Wolf’s surgical video workflow recognition with Zhang’s surgical video workflow recognition. Wolf teaches a system for generating surgical summary footage via neural networks grouping frames based on video content. Users then navigate the surgical summary footage with a user interface for filtering the video content based on surgical instrumentation. Zhang’s Prior Knowledge Noise Filtering algorithm improves offline recognition results to filter out incorrect predictions. The combination constitutes the repeatable and predictable result of simply applying Zhang’s surgical video filtering step to be used in the way in which it was intended. This cannot be considered a non-obvious improvement in view of the relevant prior art here. Using known engineering design, no “fundamental” operating principle of the teachings are changed; they continue to perform the same functions as originally taught prior to being combined.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolf (US pat. No. 10,729,502) in view of Zhang (“SWNet: Surgical Workflow Recognition with Deep Convolutional Network”) and Tan (“EfficientNetV2: Smaller Models and Faster Training”)
Regarding claim 12, the above combination discloses the method of claim 11 wherein the video segment is recognized by the vision transformer, not the MS-TCN (See rejection of claim 1)
In the field of image analysis Tan teaches that extracting the plurality of features comprises doing so by EfficientNetV2 featurizer. (“EfficientNetV2, a new family of convolutional networks that have faster training speed and better parameter efficiency than previous models”, see Abstract and architecture at pg. 3, section 3.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Wolf’s convolutional neural network-based image analysis with Tan’s convolutional neural network-based image analysis. Wolf Col. 36 last paragraph and Col. 37 last paragraph disclose using a variety of neural network types to perform image processing, extract features and assign language labels. Tan teaches the EfficientNetV2 architecture as an improved convolutional neural network type. The combination constitutes the repeatable and predictable result of simply applying using Tan’s technique in the way in which it was intended. This cannot be considered a non-obvious improvement in view of the relevant prior art here. Using known engineering design, no “fundamental” operating principle of the teachings are changed; they continue to perform the same functions as originally taught prior to being combined.
Claim(s) 13 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolf (US pat. No. 10,729,502) in view of Zhang (“SWNet: Surgical Workflow Recognition with Deep Convolutional Network”), Tan (“EfficientNetV2: Smaller Models and Faster Training”) and Yi (“ASFormer: Transformer for Action Segmentation”).
Regarding claim 13, the above combination discloses the method of claim 12 (See rejection of claim 1)
In the field of image analysis Yi teaches that the vision transformer is ASFormer. (Abstract, “we design an efficient Transformer-based model for action segmentation task, named ASFormer”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Wolf’s neural network-based image analysis with Yi’s neural network-based image analysis. Wolf Col. 36 last paragraph and Col. 37 last paragraph disclose using a variety of neural network types to perform image processing, extract features and assign language labels. Yi teaches the ASFormer architecture as an improved transformer neural network type for video processing. The combination constitutes the repeatable and predictable result of simply applying using Yi’s technique in the way in which it was intended. This cannot be considered a non-obvious improvement in view of the relevant prior art here. Using known engineering design, no “fundamental” operating principle of the teachings are changed; they continue to perform the same functions as originally taught prior to being combined.
Regarding claim 20, the above combination discloses the article of manufacture of claim 19 wherein the vision transformer is ASFormer, and the instructions configured the computing device to extract the feature by EfficientNetV2 featurizer. (See rejections of claims 1, 12 and 13.)
Additional Prior Art
In addition to the above citations Examiner would like to make note of the following prior art:
Zhang et al. (WO 2022/219555 A1)
Zhang, Bokai, et al. "Towards accurate surgical workflow recognition with convolutional networks and transformers." Computer Methods in Biomechanics and Biomedical Engineering: Imaging & Visualization 10.4 (Published online: 24 Nov 2021): 349-356.
Conclusion
Based on these facts, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/RAPHAEL SCHWARTZ/ Examiner, Art Unit 2671