DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12, 13, 19 and 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 12 and 19 require, “the video segment is recognized by the vision transformer, and extracting the features comprises doing so by EfficientNetV2 featurizer” it is not clear from the claims what might be may or may not be included within the metes and bounds of the term “EfficientNetV2 featurizer”. Examiner suggests amending the claims to provide clarifying details to define the metes and bounds of this process.
Claim 8 recites, “collect statistics on a plurality of instances of the detected presence of the surgical instrument”. The claim lacks clear antecedent basis. It appears the term “respective” should be added to refer to the “the respective surgical instrument” of claim 1.
Claim 9 recites, “system of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to filter the one or more video segments of detected surgical instrument based on filtering rules set by a human actor.” It appears the underlined term should recite “the detected presence of the respective surgical instrument” or the like in order to clear up the deficient antecedent basis here.
Claim Objections
Claim 17 objected to because of the following informalities: The claim recites, “a respective surgical video in which a respective surgeon is operation” It appears the underlined term should be “operating”.
Claim 18 objected to because of the following informalities: It appears the claims should be amended as follows, “instructions that configure a computing device to recognize instruments” It appears the underlined term should be added here.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9, 11 and 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolf (US pat. No. 10,729,502).
Regarding claim 1, Wolf discloses a system comprising: (Wolf teaches a system for generating surgical summary footage via neural networks grouping frames based on video content. Users then navigate the surgical summary footage with a user interface, See Abstract.)
one or more processors and a memory storing instructions executed by the one or more processors, configured to: (Col. 8, ll. 25-55)
extract a plurality of features including one or more surgical instrument types and a presence of a plurality of surgical instruments, from a surgical video, on a frame by frame basis; and (Col. 55, ¶ 2 and col. 56, ¶ 3 teach surgical instrument detection of a variety of types on a frame by frame basis. Also see Col. 150, last paragraph, col. 77, ¶ 3 and col. 22, ¶ 2.)
for a respective surgical instrument in the plurality of surgical instruments, analyze the surgical video based on the extracted features to recognize one or more video segments, each recognized video segment including a detected presence of the respective surgical instrument, (Col. 55, ¶ 2 and col. 56, ¶ 3 teach detecting video segments and grouping frames based on surgical instrument presence detection. As above, also see Col. 150, last paragraph, col. 77, ¶ 3 and col. 22, ¶ 2.)
wherein the one or more video segments are recognized by a multi-stage temporal convolution network (MS-TCN) or a natural language processing (NLP) module. (Col. 132 ¶ 3 teaches using natural language processing in video segment processing. Also see Col. 36 last paragraph and Col. 37 last paragraph which disclose using a variety of neural network types to perform natural language processing by generating phase tags to assign language labels to surgical phases.)
Wolf does not expressly disclose that all of its above-cited teachings generating surgical summary footage via neural networks and grouping frames based on the video content are expressly disclosed as occurring in the same embodiment. That is, despite the reference being clear that these functions are disclosed, there is no express disclosure that the details are all found in the same embodiment. Instead, the reference presents some of the individual detailed disclosures as ‘according to some embodiments.’ It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the various teachings to provide a single system capable of the variety of tasks which are disclosed. In view of these teachings, this cannot be considered a non-obvious improvement over the prior art. Using known engineering design, no “fundamental” operating principle of the teachings are changed; they continue to perform the same functions as originally taught prior to being combined.
Regarding claim 2, the above combination discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the NLP module uses the one or more processors to perform spatial-temporal feature learning. (See Col. 36 last paragraph and Col. 37 last paragraph which disclose using a variety of neural network types, performing spatial-temporal video feature learning, to accomplish natural language processing by generating phase tags to assign language labels to surgical phases.)
Regarding claim 3, the above combination discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the NLP module is based on a transformer model. (See Col. 36 last paragraph and Col. 37 last paragraph which disclose using a variety of neural network types including with transformer functions to perform natural language processing by generating phase tags to assign language labels to surgical phases. Also see Col. 12, last paragraph.)
Regarding claim 4, the above combination discloses the system of claim 3, wherein the transformer model includes an encoder network and a decoder network. (Col. 36 last paragraph teaches using an autoencoder neural network architecture which includes an encoder and decoder.)
Regarding claim 5, the above combination discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to present a surgical instrument navigation bar illustrating a timeline of usage for the respective surgical instrument detected in the surgical video. (Col. 19, ¶ 2 and col. 22, ¶ 2 teaches a surgical timeline navigation bar for surgical events including surgical instrument usage. Also see Fig 4.)
Regarding claim 6, the above combination discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to facilitate a search interface where responsive to input keywords, video segments matching the input keywords are presented. (Col. 42, ¶ 2 and Fig. 7 teach a search interface responsive to input keywords to pull up video segments such as surgical phases.)
Regarding claim 7, the above combination discloses the system of claim 6, wherein the input keywords include surgical procedure type, surgical steps, surgical events, and/or surgical instrument types and presence. (Col. 42, ¶ 2 and Fig. 7 teach a search interface responsive to input keywords such as surgical steps to pull up video segments.)
Regarding claim 8, the above combination discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: collect statistics on a plurality of instances of the detected presence of the surgical instrument where each instance is from a respective surgical video in which a respective surgeon is operating and present the collected statistics to users. (Col. 49, ¶ 3 and col. 114 ¶ 3.)
Regarding claim 9, the above combination discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to filter the one or more video segments of detected surgical instrument based on filtering rules set by a human actor. (Col. 42, ¶ 2 and Fig. 7 teach a search interface responsive to input keywords such as surgical instruments and steps as well as other filtering to pull up video segments.)
Claims 11 and 14-17 is the method claim corresponding to the system of claims 1, 3, 5-8. The system necessarily requires method steps. Remaining limitations are rejected similarly. See detailed analysis above.
Claim 18 is the ‘article of manufacturer comprising memory’ claim corresponding to claims 1 and 3. See Wolf Col. 8, ll. 25-55 regarding the teaching for memory. Remaining limitations are rejected similarly. See detailed analysis above.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolf (US pat. No. 10,729,502) in view of Zhang (“SWNet: Surgical Workflow Recognition with Deep Convolutional Network”)
Regarding claim 10, the above combination discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to filter the one or more video segments of detected surgical instrument (See rejection of claim 1.
In the field of surgical video workflow recognition Zhang teaches using a prior knowledge noise filtering (PKNF) algorithm. (Zhang pg 2, last paragraph, “We concatenate the extracted features to get the full video features and utilize MS-TCN to achieve initial surgical phase segmentation for the full surgical video. We apply the Prior Knowledge Noise Filtering algorithm to the initial surgical phase segmentation results to get the final prediction results.” Prior Knowledge Noise Filtering algorithm improves offline recognition results to filter out incorrect predictions.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Wolf’s surgical video workflow recognition with Zhang’s surgical video workflow recognition. Wolf teaches a system for generating surgical summary footage via neural networks grouping frames based on video content. Users then navigate the surgical summary footage with a user interface for filtering the video content based on surgical instrumentation. Zhang’s Prior Knowledge Noise Filtering algorithm improves offline recognition results to filter out incorrect predictions. The combination constitutes the repeatable and predictable result of simply applying Zhang’s surgical video filtering step to be used in the way in which it was intended. This cannot be considered a non-obvious improvement in view of the relevant prior art here. Using known engineering design, no “fundamental” operating principle of the teachings are changed; they continue to perform the same functions as originally taught prior to being combined.
Claim(s) 12 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolf (US pat. No. 10,729,502) in view of Tan (“EfficientNetV2: Smaller Models and Faster Training”)
Regarding claim 12, the above combination discloses the method of claim 11 wherein the video segment is recognized by the vision transformer (See rejection of claim 1)
In the field of image analysis Tan teaches that extracting the features comprises doing so by EfficientNetV2 featurizer. (“EfficientNetV2, a new family of convolutional networks that have faster training speed and better parameter efficiency than previous models”, see Abstract and architecture at pg. 3, section 3.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Wolf’s convolutional neural network-based image analysis with Tan’s convolutional neural network-based image analysis. Wolf Col. 36 last paragraph and Col. 37 last paragraph disclose using a variety of neural network types to perform image processing, extract features and assign language labels. Tan teaches the EfficientNetV2 architecture as an improved convolutional neural network type. The combination constitutes the repeatable and predictable result of simply applying using Tan’s technique in the way in which it was intended. This cannot be considered a non-obvious improvement in view of the relevant prior art here. Using known engineering design, no “fundamental” operating principle of the teachings are changed; they continue to perform the same functions as originally taught prior to being combined.
Claim 19 is the ‘article of manufacturer comprising memory’ claim corresponding to claims 1 and 12. See Wolf Col. 8, ll. 25-55 regarding the teaching for memory. Remaining limitations are rejected similarly. See detailed analysis above.
Claim(s) 13 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolf (US pat. No. 10,729,502) in view of Tan (“EfficientNetV2: Smaller Models and Faster Training”) and Yi (“ASFormer: Transformer for Action Segmentation”).
Regarding claim 13, the above combination discloses the method of claim 12 (See rejection of claim 1)
In the field of image analysis Yi teaches that the vision transformer is ASFormer. (Abstract, “we design an efficient Transformer-based model for action segmentation task, named ASFormer”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Wolf’s neural network-based image analysis with Yi’s neural network-based image analysis. Wolf Col. 36 last paragraph and Col. 37 last paragraph disclose using a variety of neural network types to perform image processing, extract features and assign language labels. Yi teaches the ASFormer architecture as an improved transformer neural network type for video processing. The combination constitutes the repeatable and predictable result of simply applying using Yi’s technique in the way in which it was intended. This cannot be considered a non-obvious improvement in view of the relevant prior art here. Using known engineering design, no “fundamental” operating principle of the teachings are changed; they continue to perform the same functions as originally taught prior to being combined.
Claim 20 is the ‘article of manufacturer comprising memory’ claim corresponding to claims 1 and 13. See Wolf Col. 8, ll. 25-55 regarding the teaching for memory. Remaining limitations are rejected similarly. See detailed analysis above.
Additional Prior Art
In addition to the above citations Examiner would like to make note of the following prior art:
Zhang et al. (WO 2022/219555 A1)
Zhang, Bokai, et al. "Towards accurate surgical workflow recognition with convolutional networks and transformers." Computer Methods in Biomechanics and Biomedical Engineering: Imaging & Visualization 10.4 (Published online: 24 Nov 2021): 349-356.
Conclusion
/RAPHAEL SCHWARTZ/ Examiner, Art Unit 2671