DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on April 01, 2026. Claims 1-24 were previously canceled. Claims 25, 37, and 41 have been amended. Claims 25-44 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Response to Amendments
In response to the Amendments dated April 01, 2026. Examiner withdraws the previous art rejections. However, Examiner maintains the double patent rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 01, 2026 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejections.
Double Patenting
Claims 25, 28, 35-37, 39, 41 and 43 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 8-9 and 17 of parent Application No. 16/547,363 as follows:
Current Application’s claims
Parent Application’s claims
25
1
28
1
35
8
36
1 and 3
37
9
39
9
41
17
43
17
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because current claims additionally include determining a target acceleration profile for a micromobility vehicle based on one or more criteria. Reference in 103 rejection below teaches the limitation and therefore it is obvious to modify the parent application to include the limitation(s) in this application.
For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-l.jsp.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 25-34 and 36-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. No. 20140277888 (hereinafter, "Dastoor"; previously of record) in view of U.S. Pub. No. 20090076699 (hereinafter, "Osaki"; newly of record).
Regarding claim 25, Dastoor discloses a computer-implemented method comprising:
determining a target acceleration profile for a first user riding micromobility vehicle based on one or more criteria (“The vehicle 100 is preferably controlled based on a throttle map, but can alternatively be controlled based on a torque map (correlating speed or throttle position 122 to the torque output), a power map, a speed map, an acceleration map, or any other suitable map”(para 0021)), wherein the target acceleration profile specifies a mapping between target accelerations of the micromobility vehicle and different throttle positions (“The throttle map preferably linearly correlates the throttle values with the output values (e.g., linearly increasing), but the relationship between the throttle and output values can alternatively be curved (e.g., logarithmically increasing, hysteretic, logarithmically decreasing, etc.)”(para 0021) and Fig. 3) and wherein the target acceleration profile for the first user is different from a second target acceleration profile for a second user riding the micromobility vehicle (“A user parameter is preferably used by the system to determine the replacement output value. The user parameter can additionally or alternatively be used by the system to determine the default map, the output value change rate limit, or any other suitable parameter indicative of user 20 riding experience”(para 0038) and Fig. 8);
detecting a current throttle position of the micromobility vehicle (“In one variation of a digital throttle, the throttle position or the amount of throttle deviation away from the default position is translated into a throttle value, which is then digitally communicated to the vehicle 100 (e.g., via a wire or through a wireless transmitter, such as a radio). The throttle position can be determined based on contact of one of a series of electrical contacts, the amount and/or location of a disturbance in a magnetic field, the return force of a spring, or determined in any other suitable manner”(para 0038) and Fig. 3, #120);
determining, using the target acceleration profile for the first user, a target acceleration of the micromobility vehicle corresponding to the current throttle position of the micromobility vehicle (“the vehicle 100 determines the input value S10, determines the output value 124 (system control value) for the input value 123 based on the map S20, and controls vehicle operation to meet the output value S30. Determining the input value preferably includes determining the throttle value, but can alternatively include determining any other suitable input”(para 0040), “Alternatively, the output value can be a vehicle parameter value, such as a vehicle speed, a vehicle acceleration, an angular wheel speed, or angular wheel acceleration. However, the output value can be any other suitable measure of vehicle 100, motor, or energy storage unit output” (para 0021), and Fig. 3); and
measuring an acceleration of the micromobility vehicle corresponding to the current throttle position (“The sensor of the vehicle 100 functions to measure a vehicle parameter. The vehicle parameter is preferably a vehicle position parameter (e.g., lateral or angular vehicle parameters),...,vehicle acceleration” (para 0034)); and
However, Dastoor does not explicitly teach
modifying a torque magnitude of the micromobility vehicle based at least on a combination of (1) a first torque computed based on the target acceleration determined from the target acceleration profile and (2) a second torque computed based on an acceleration delta between the determined target acceleration and the measured acceleration corresponding to the current throttle position.
Osaki, in the same field of endeavor, teaches
modifying a torque magnitude of the micromobility vehicle based at least on a combination (Fig. 4, #5 and “The target required torque calculating part 31 determines the target required torque from the respective calculated values of the feedback calculated value determined by the feedback calculating part 33, and the feed-forward calculated value determined by the feed-forward calculating part 32, and outputs the determined target required torque to the control amount distributing part 34” (para 0073)) of (1) a first torque computed based on the target acceleration determined from the target acceleration profile (“a feed-forward calculating part 32 which performs feed-forward calculations that determine the target required torque in accordance with the target acceleration” (para 0072)) and (2) a second torque computed based on an acceleration delta between the determined target acceleration and the measured acceleration corresponding to the current throttle position (“a feedback calculating part 33 which performs feedback calculations that determine the target required torque on the basis of the deviation between the target acceleration and actual acceleration” (para 0072)).
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the time of filing, would have been motivated to modify the disclosure of Dastoor with the teachings of Osaki such that the actual acceleration can track the target acceleration in a favorable manner, and stable automatic operation of the vehicle can be accomplished; see Osaki at least at (para 0090).
Regarding claim 26, Dastoor discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 25. Additionally, Dastoor discloses wherein the one or more criteria comprise sensor data associated with one or more sensors of the micromobility vehicle (“The sensor of the vehicle 100 functions to measure a vehicle parameter…The sensor can be an encoder, an accelerometer, a gyroscope, a weight sensor, a current sensor, a voltage sensor, a resistivity sensor, an altimeter, a GPS or other location unit, or any other suitable sensor” (para 0034)), and wherein determining the target acceleration profile for the first user riding the micromobility vehicle comprises:
collecting the sensor data from the one or more sensors of the micromobility vehicle (“The vehicle parameters are preferably measured as vectors, but can alternatively be measured as scalars. The sensor can be an encoder, an accelerometer, a gyroscope, a weight sensor, a current sensor, a voltage sensor, a resistivity sensor, an altimeter, a GPS or other location unit, or any other suitable sensor…The sensor preferably sends the measurements to the processor, but can alternatively send the measurements to the mobile device 200, the remote server 300, or any other suitable component of the system” (para 0034)); and
selecting the target acceleration profile based on the sensor data collected from the one or more sensors of the micromobility vehicle (“The map value change rate limit(s) 402 are preferably selected based on user parameters, but can alternatively be a default standard limit, selected based on substantially instantaneous vehicle parameters, selected based on historical vehicle operation parameters, be predetermined, or be selected, calculated, or otherwise determined in any other suitable manner”(para 0022)).
Regarding claim 27, Dastoor discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 26. Additionally, Dastoor discloses wherein the sensor data associated with one or more sensors of the micromobility vehicle comprise:
load data from a load sensor of the micromobility vehicle, the load data indicating a load of one or more of the first user riding the micromobility vehicle or a cargo carried by the first user (“The sensor can be …, a weight sensor”(para 0034) and “In one variation of determining the user weight with the vehicle, the load on the vehicle can be determined by weight sensors of the vehicle. In another variation of determining the user weight with the vehicle, the user weight can be determined based on the difference between the measured resistance on the wheels or motor and the known resistance on the wheels or motor of the unloaded vehicle (e.g., predetermined or calibrated at a predetermined frequency)” (para 0067));
inclination data from an inclinometer of the micromobility vehicle, the inclination data indicating an inclination of the micromobility vehicle (“The sensor of the vehicle 100 functions to measure a vehicle parameter…The vehicle parameter is preferably a vehicle position parameter (e.g., lateral or angular vehicle parameters),..., but can alternatively be a vehicle 100 orientation parameter, such as the pitch, yaw, roll, heave, sway, or surge of the vehicle 100, or be any other suitable vehicle parameter” (para 0034)); or
speed data from a speed sensor of the micromobility vehicle, the speed data indicating a speed of the micromobility vehicle (“The sensor can be an encoder, an accelerometer, a gyroscope”(para 0034)).
Regarding claim 28, Dastoor discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 25. Additionally, Dastoor discloses wherein the one or more criteria comprise a user profile (“The remote server 300 can function to store user parameters, such as user characteristics, riding history, and preferences. The remote server 300 can additionally or alternatively function to retrieve information from third party sites, such as social networking systems, and can also process the information to extract user parameters” (para 0037), and wherein determining the target acceleration profile for the first user riding the micromobility vehicle comprises: accessing, from a server, the user profile of the first user riding the micromobility vehicle; and selecting the target acceleration profile based on the user profile (“The user parameter can additionally or alternatively be used by the system to determine the default map, the output value change rate limit, or any other suitable parameter indicative of user 20 riding experience. The user parameter can additionally or alternatively be used to generate control instructions…The user parameter is preferably sent to and received by the vehicle 100…The user parameter can be determined (e.g., retrieved, calculated, selected, etc.) and/or sent at a predetermined frequency, in response to a request received from the vehicle 100 or mobile device 200, in response to detection of a sending event (e.g., in response to detection of a perturbation event) by the mobile device 200, or determined and/or sent at any suitable frequency” (para 0038)).
Regarding claim 29, Dastoor discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 28. Additionally, Dastoor discloses wherein the user profile comprises one or more of: a load of the first user riding the micromobility vehicle; a ride preference of the first user for the micromobility vehicle; or a skill or expertise level of the first user in riding the micromobility vehicle (“The user parameter is preferably descriptive of the user 20. The user parameters can include user preferences, riding experience, physical characteristics, whether the mobile device 200 has been substantially statically coupled to the user 20 or vehicle 100 (e.g., within a threshold range of motion), user emotion, user fatigue or energy level, or any other suitable parameter descriptive of the user 20” (para 0039)).
Regarding claim 30, Dastoor discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 25. Additionally, Dastoor discloses wherein the one or more criteria comprise one or more user inputs, and wherein determining the target acceleration profile for the first user riding the micromobility vehicle comprises:
sending a request to the first user riding the micromobility vehicle to provide the one or more user inputs (“The user parameter can be determined (e.g., retrieved, calculated, selected, etc.) and/or sent at a predetermined frequency, in response to a request received from the vehicle 100 or mobile device 200” (para 0038));
receiving the one or more user inputs from the first user riding the micromobility vehicle; and selecting the target acceleration profile based on the one or more user inputs received from the first user riding the micromobility vehicle (“receiving a user input value from a user input; selecting a first current output value based on the user input value from a user input map” (claim 1) and “The map is preferably selected based on user parameters, such as vehicle velocity, user experience, or driving history, but can alternatively be a predetermined default map” (para 0040)).
Regarding claim 31, Dastoor discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 30. Additionally, Dastoor discloses wherein the one or more user inputs comprise: a load of the first user riding the micromobility vehicle; an indication of whether the first user is carrying a cargo or a load of the cargo; a ride preference of the first user for the micromobility vehicle; or a skill or expertise level of the first user in riding the micromobility vehicle (“The user parameter is preferably descriptive of the user 20. The user parameters can include user preferences, riding experience, physical characteristics, whether the mobile device 200 has been substantially statically coupled to the user 20 or vehicle 100 (e.g., within a threshold range of motion), user emotion, user fatigue or energy level, or any other suitable parameter descriptive of the user 20” (para 0039)).
Regarding claim 32, Dastoor discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 25. Additionally, Dastoor discloses wherein the micromobility vehicle is one of an electric bike or a scooter (Examples of the vehicle 100 include an electric skateboard, an electric scooter, an electric wheelchair, and an electric bicycle” (para 0024)).
Regarding claim 33, Dastoor discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 25. Additionally, Dastoor discloses wherein the target acceleration profile is one of a linear target acceleration profile or an aggressive nonlinear target acceleration profile (“The vehicle 100 is preferably controlled based on a throttle map, but can alternatively be controlled based on a torque map (correlating speed or throttle position 122 to the torque output), a power map, a speed map, an acceleration map, or any other suitable map 400…The throttle map preferably linearly correlates the throttle values with the output values (e.g., linearly increasing), but the relationship between the throttle and output values can alternatively be curved (e.g., logarithmically increasing, hysteretic, logarithmically decreasing, etc.)” (para 0021)).
Regarding claim 34, Dastoor discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 25. Additionally, Dastoor discloses further comprising:
analyzing throttle positions of the micromobility vehicle over a period of time (“the maps can be adjusted based on the historical throttle patterns or riding patterns of a given user. The user history can be determined in a similar manner to how user experience was determined” (para 0100)); and determining a third target acceleration profile based on analyzed throttle positions of the micromobility vehicle over the period of time, wherein the third target acceleration profile is relatively more aggressive than the target acceleration profile determined based on the one or more criteria (“The ride history can include throttle values, output values, vehicle position parameters, mobile device position parameters, or any other suitable parameter…In another variation, if analysis of the user history shows that the user stays above a threshold throttle value for a threshold proportion of the riding time, the map can be adjusted such that the maximum output value is increased or the slope of the map curve increased” (para 0100)).
Regarding claim 36, Dastoor discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 25. Additionally, Dastoor discloses further comprising:
comparing the measured acceleration of the micromobility vehicle with the target acceleration corresponding to the current throttle position (“Detecting a condition indicative of future perturbation can additionally or alternatively include determining an instantaneous vehicle acceleration, determining the anticipated vehicle acceleration based on the instantaneous output value (e.g., as determined from the map based on the throttle value), and comparing the instantaneous vehicle acceleration with the anticipated vehicle acceleration” (para 0044));
determining the acceleration delta based on comparison of the measured acceleration of the micromobility vehicle with the target acceleration corresponding to the current throttle position (“ A condition indicative of perturbation can be detected when the difference between the instantaneous vehicle acceleration with the anticipated vehicle acceleration exceeds a predetermined acceleration difference threshold” (para 0044)).
Regarding claim 37, Dastoor discloses a system comprising:
a non-transitory memory; one or more processors configured to execute instructions from the non-transitory memory to perform operations (“The processor can additionally receive and process data received by the receiver from the mobile device 200, wherein vehicle control can additionally be based on data received from the mobile device 200. The processor can additionally or alternatively perform any other suitable vehicle operation functionality. The vehicle 100 can include one or more processors”(para 0021));
determining a target acceleration profile for a first user riding micromobility vehicle based on one or more criteria (“The vehicle 100 is preferably controlled based on a throttle map, but can alternatively be controlled based on a torque map (correlating speed or throttle position 122 to the torque output), a power map, a speed map, an acceleration map, or any other suitable map”(para 0021)), wherein the target acceleration profile specifies a mapping between target accelerations of the micromobility vehicle and different throttle positions (“The throttle map preferably linearly correlates the throttle values with the output values (e.g., linearly increasing), but the relationship between the throttle and output values can alternatively be curved (e.g., logarithmically increasing, hysteretic, logarithmically decreasing, etc.)”(para 0021) and Fig. 3), and wherein the target acceleration profile for the first user is different from a second target acceleration profile for a second user riding the micromobility vehicle (“A user parameter is preferably used by the system to determine the replacement output value. The user parameter can additionally or alternatively be used by the system to determine the default map, the output value change rate limit, or any other suitable parameter indicative of user 20 riding experience”(para 0038) and Fig. 8);
detecting a current throttle position of the micromobility vehicle (“In one variation of a digital throttle, the throttle position or the amount of throttle deviation away from the default position is translated into a throttle value, which is then digitally communicated to the vehicle 100 (e.g., via a wire or through a wireless transmitter, such as a radio). The throttle position can be determined based on contact of one of a series of electrical contacts, the amount and/or location of a disturbance in a magnetic field, the return force of a spring, or determined in any other suitable manner”(para 0038) and Fig. 3, #120);
determining, using the target acceleration profile for the first user, a target acceleration of the micromobility vehicle corresponding to the current throttle position of the micromobility vehicle (“the vehicle 100 determines the input value S10, determines the output value 124 (system control value) for the input value 123 based on the map S20, and controls vehicle operation to meet the output value S30. Determining the input value preferably includes determining the throttle value, but can alternatively include determining any other suitable input”(para 0040), “Alternatively, the output value can be a vehicle parameter value, such as a vehicle speed, a vehicle acceleration, an angular wheel speed, or angular wheel acceleration. However, the output value can be any other suitable measure of vehicle 100, motor, or energy storage unit output” (para 0021), and Fig. 3); and
measuring an acceleration of the micromobility vehicle corresponding to the current throttle position (“The sensor of the vehicle 100 functions to measure a vehicle parameter. The vehicle parameter is preferably a vehicle position parameter (e.g., lateral or angular vehicle parameters),...,vehicle acceleration” (para 0034)); and
However, Dastoor does not explicitly teach
modifying a torque magnitude of the micromobility vehicle based at least on a combination of (1) a first torque computed based on the target acceleration determined from the target acceleration profile and (2) a second torque computed based on an acceleration delta between the determined target acceleration and the measured acceleration corresponding to the current throttle position.
Osaki, in the same field of endeavor, teaches
modifying a torque magnitude of the micromobility vehicle based at least on a combination (Fig. 4, #5 and “The target required torque calculating part 31 determines the target required torque from the respective calculated values of the feedback calculated value determined by the feedback calculating part 33, and the feed-forward calculated value determined by the feed-forward calculating part 32, and outputs the determined target required torque to the control amount distributing part 34” (para 0073)) of (1) a first torque computed based on the target acceleration determined from the target acceleration profile (“a feed-forward calculating part 32 which performs feed-forward calculations that determine the target required torque in accordance with the target acceleration” (para 0072)) and (2) a second torque computed based on an acceleration delta between the determined target acceleration and the measured acceleration corresponding to the current throttle position (“a feedback calculating part 33 which performs feedback calculations that determine the target required torque on the basis of the deviation between the target acceleration and actual acceleration” (para 0072)).
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the time of filing, would have been motivated to modify the disclosure of Dastoor with the teachings of Osaki such that the actual acceleration can track the target acceleration in a favorable manner, and stable automatic operation of the vehicle can be accomplished; see Osaki at least at (para 0090).
Regarding claim 38, Dastoor discloses the system of claim 37. Additionally, Dastoor discloses wherein the one or more criteria comprise sensor data associated with one or more sensors of the micromobility vehicle (“The sensor of the vehicle 100 functions to measure a vehicle parameter…The sensor can be an encoder, an accelerometer, a gyroscope, a weight sensor, a current sensor, a voltage sensor, a resistivity sensor, an altimeter, a GPS or other location unit, or any other suitable sensor” (para 0034)), and wherein determining the target acceleration profile for the first user riding the micromobility vehicle comprises:
collecting the sensor data from the one or more sensors of the micromobility vehicle (“The vehicle parameters are preferably measured as vectors, but can alternatively be measured as scalars. The sensor can be an encoder, an accelerometer, a gyroscope, a weight sensor, a current sensor, a voltage sensor, a resistivity sensor, an altimeter, a GPS or other location unit, or any other suitable sensor…The sensor preferably sends the measurements to the processor, but can alternatively send the measurements to the mobile device 200, the remote server 300, or any other suitable component of the system” (para 0034)); and
selecting the target acceleration profile based on the sensor data collected from the one or more sensors of the micromobility vehicle (“The map value change rate limit(s) 402 are preferably selected based on user parameters, but can alternatively be a default standard limit, selected based on substantially instantaneous vehicle parameters, selected based on historical vehicle operation parameters, be predetermined, or be selected, calculated, or otherwise determined in any other suitable manner”(para 0022)).
Regarding claim 39, Dastoor discloses the system of claim 37. Additionally, Dastoor discloses wherein the one or more criteria comprise a user profile (“The remote server 300 can function to store user parameters, such as user characteristics, riding history, and preferences. The remote server 300 can additionally or alternatively function to retrieve information from third party sites, such as social networking systems, and can also process the information to extract user parameters” (para 0037)), and wherein determining the target acceleration profile for the first user riding the micromobility vehicle comprises: accessing, from a server, the user profile of the first user riding the micromobility vehicle; and selecting the target acceleration profile based on the user profile (“The user parameter can additionally or alternatively be used by the system to determine the default map, the output value change rate limit, or any other suitable parameter indicative of user 20 riding experience. The user parameter can additionally or alternatively be used to generate control instructions…The user parameter is preferably sent to and received by the vehicle 100…The user parameter can be determined (e.g., retrieved, calculated, selected, etc.) and/or sent at a predetermined frequency, in response to a request received from the vehicle 100 or mobile device 200, in response to detection of a sending event (e.g., in response to detection of a perturbation event) by the mobile device 200, or determined and/or sent at any suitable frequency” (para 0038)).
Regarding claim 40, Dastoor discloses the system of claim 37. However, Dastoor does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more criteria comprise one or more user inputs, and wherein determining the target acceleration profile for the first user riding the micromobility vehicle comprises:
sending a request to the first user riding the micromobility vehicle to provide the one or more user inputs (“The user parameter can be determined (e.g., retrieved, calculated, selected, etc.) and/or sent at a predetermined frequency, in response to a request received from the vehicle 100 or mobile device 200” (para 0038));
receiving the one or more user inputs from the first user riding the micromobility vehicle; and selecting the target acceleration profile based on the one or more user inputs received from the first user riding the micromobility vehicle (“receiving a user input value from a user input; selecting a first current output value based on the user input value from a user input map” (claim 1) and “The map is preferably selected based on user parameters, such as vehicle velocity, user experience, or driving history, but can alternatively be a predetermined default map” (para 0040)).
Regarding claim 41, Dastoor discloses a computer-readable medium comprising:
computer-readable instructions that, when executed by at least one processor of a computing device, cause the computing device to:
determine a target acceleration profile for a first user riding micromobility vehicle based on one or more criteria (“The vehicle 100 is preferably controlled based on a throttle map, but can alternatively be controlled based on a torque map (correlating speed or throttle position 122 to the torque output), a power map, a speed map, an acceleration map, or any other suitable map”(para 0021)), wherein the target acceleration profile specifies a mapping between target accelerations of the micromobility vehicle and different throttle positions (“The throttle map preferably linearly correlates the throttle values with the output values (e.g., linearly increasing), but the relationship between the throttle and output values can alternatively be curved (e.g., logarithmically increasing, hysteretic, logarithmically decreasing, etc.)”(para 0021) and Fig. 3), and wherein the target acceleration profile for the first user is different from a second target acceleration profile for a second user riding the micromobility vehicle (“A user parameter is preferably used by the system to determine the replacement output value. The user parameter can additionally or alternatively be used by the system to determine the default map, the output value change rate limit, or any other suitable parameter indicative of user 20 riding experience”(para 0038) and Fig. 8);
detect a current throttle position of the micromobility vehicle (“In one variation of a digital throttle, the throttle position or the amount of throttle deviation away from the default position is translated into a throttle value, which is then digitally communicated to the vehicle 100 (e.g., via a wire or through a wireless transmitter, such as a radio). The throttle position can be determined based on contact of one of a series of electrical contacts, the amount and/or location of a disturbance in a magnetic field, the return force of a spring, or determined in any other suitable manner”(para 0038) and Fig. 3, #120);
determine, using the target acceleration profile for the first user, a target acceleration of the micromobility vehicle corresponding to the current throttle position of the micromobility vehicle (“the vehicle 100 determines the input value S10, determines the output value 124 (system control value) for the input value 123 based on the map S20, and controls vehicle operation to meet the output value S30. Determining the input value preferably includes determining the throttle value, but can alternatively include determining any other suitable input”(para 0040), “Alternatively, the output value can be a vehicle parameter value, such as a vehicle speed, a vehicle acceleration, an angular wheel speed, or angular wheel acceleration. However, the output value can be any other suitable measure of vehicle 100, motor, or energy storage unit output” (para 0021), and Fig. 3); and
measure an acceleration of the micromobility vehicle corresponding to the current throttle position (“The sensor of the vehicle 100 functions to measure a vehicle parameter. The vehicle parameter is preferably a vehicle position parameter (e.g., lateral or angular vehicle parameters),...,vehicle acceleration” (para 0034)); and
However, Dastoor does not explicitly teach
modify a torque magnitude of the micromobility vehicle based at least on a combination of (1) a first torque computed based on the target acceleration determined from the target acceleration profile and (2) a second torque computed based on an acceleration delta between the determined target acceleration and the measured acceleration corresponding to the current throttle position.
Osaki, in the same field of endeavor, teaches
modify a torque magnitude of the micromobility vehicle based at least on a combination (Fig. 4, #5 and “The target required torque calculating part 31 determines the target required torque from the respective calculated values of the feedback calculated value determined by the feedback calculating part 33, and the feed-forward calculated value determined by the feed-forward calculating part 32, and outputs the determined target required torque to the control amount distributing part 34” (para 0073)) of (1) a first torque computed based on the target acceleration determined from the target acceleration profile (“a feed-forward calculating part 32 which performs feed-forward calculations that determine the target required torque in accordance with the target acceleration” (para 0072)) and (2) a second torque computed based on an acceleration delta between the determined target acceleration and the measured acceleration corresponding to the current throttle position (“a feedback calculating part 33 which performs feedback calculations that determine the target required torque on the basis of the deviation between the target acceleration and actual acceleration” (para 0072)).
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the time of filing, would have been motivated to modify the disclosure of Dastoor with the teachings of Osaki such that the actual acceleration can track the target acceleration in a favorable manner, and stable automatic operation of the vehicle can be accomplished; see Osaki at least at (para 0090).
Regarding claim 42, Dastoor discloses the computer-readable medium of claim 41. Additionally, Dastoor discloses wherein the one or more criteria comprise sensor data associated with one or more sensors of the micromobility vehicle (“The sensor of the vehicle 100 functions to measure a vehicle parameter…The sensor can be an encoder, an accelerometer, a gyroscope, a weight sensor, a current sensor, a voltage sensor, a resistivity sensor, an altimeter, a GPS or other location unit, or any other suitable sensor” (para 0034)), and wherein determining the target acceleration profile for the first user riding the micromobility vehicle comprises:
collecting the sensor data from the one or more sensors of the micromobility vehicle (“The vehicle parameters are preferably measured as vectors, but can alternatively be measured as scalars. The sensor can be an encoder, an accelerometer, a gyroscope, a weight sensor, a current sensor, a voltage sensor, a resistivity sensor, an altimeter, a GPS or other location unit, or any other suitable sensor…The sensor preferably sends the measurements to the processor, but can alternatively send the measurements to the mobile device 200, the remote server 300, or any other suitable component of the system” (para 0034)); and
selecting the target acceleration profile based on the sensor data collected from the one or more sensors of the micromobility vehicle (“The map value change rate limit(s) 402 are preferably selected based on user parameters, but can alternatively be a default standard limit, selected based on substantially instantaneous vehicle parameters, selected based on historical vehicle operation parameters, be predetermined, or be selected, calculated, or otherwise determined in any other suitable manner”(para 0022)).
Regarding claim 43, Dastoor discloses the computer-readable medium of claim 41. Additionally, Dastoor discloses wherein the one or more criteria comprise a user profile (“The remote server 300 can function to store user parameters, such as user characteristics, riding history, and preferences. The remote server 300 can additionally or alternatively function to retrieve information from third party sites, such as social networking systems, and can also process the information to extract user parameters” (para 0037)), and wherein determining the target acceleration profile for the first user riding the micromobility vehicle comprises: accessing, from a server, the user profile of the first user riding the micromobility vehicle; and selecting the target acceleration profile based on the user profile (“The user parameter can additionally or alternatively be used by the system to determine the default map, the output value change rate limit, or any other suitable parameter indicative of user 20 riding experience. The user parameter can additionally or alternatively be used to generate control instructions…The user parameter is preferably sent to and received by the vehicle 100…The user parameter can be determined (e.g., retrieved, calculated, selected, etc.) and/or sent at a predetermined frequency, in response to a request received from the vehicle 100 or mobile device 200, in response to detection of a sending event (e.g., in response to detection of a perturbation event) by the mobile device 200, or determined and/or sent at any suitable frequency” (para 0038)).
Regarding claim 44, Dastoor discloses the computer-readable medium of claim 41. Additionally, Dastoor discloses wherein the one or more criteria comprise one or more user inputs, and wherein determining the target acceleration profile for the first user riding the micromobility vehicle comprises:
sending a request to the first user riding the micromobility vehicle to provide the one or more user inputs (“The user parameter can be determined (e.g., retrieved, calculated, selected, etc.) and/or sent at a predetermined frequency, in response to a request received from the vehicle 100 or mobile device 200” (para 0038));
receiving the one or more user inputs from the first user riding the micromobility vehicle; and selecting the target acceleration profile based on the one or more user inputs received from the first user riding the micromobility vehicle (“receiving a user input value from a user input; selecting a first current output value based on the user input value from a user input map” (claim 1) and “The map is preferably selected based on user parameters, such as vehicle velocity, user experience, or driving history, but can alternatively be a predetermined default map” (para 0040)).
Claims 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. No. 20140277888 (hereinafter, "Dastoor"; previously of record), in view of U.S. Pub. No. 20090076699 (hereinafter, "Osaki"; newly of record) as applied to claim 25 above, and in further view of U.S. Pub. No. US 2016/0356379 (hereinafter, "Roland"; previously of record).
Regarding claim 35, Dastoor discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 25. However, Dastoor does not explicitly teach further comprising: displaying the target acceleration profile on a display component of the micromobility vehicle, wherein the target acceleration profile indicates the determined target acceleration corresponding to the current throttle position.
Roland, in the same field of endeavor, teaches further comprising:
displaying the target acceleration profile on a display component of the micromobility vehicle, wherein the target acceleration profile indicates the determined target acceleration corresponding to the current throttle position (“A display cluster 64 (FIG. 3) is provided in front of the handlebars 36 to display information, such as the vehicle speed, engine speed, vehicle mode, temperature and the like, to the driver of the snowmobile 10. The display cluster 64 possibly includes one or more gauges, display screens, indicator lights and sound output devices such as speakers, alarms and the like” (para 0093) and Fig. 3, #64).
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the time of filing, would have been motivated to modify the disclosure of Dastoor with the teachings of Roland in order to to display information, such as the vehicle speed, engine speed, vehicle mode, temperature and the like; see Roland at least at [para 0093].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADAM M ALHARBI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3663