DETAILED ACTION
Claim analysis - 35 USC § 112
Claim elements in this application that use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed to invoke § 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Similarly, claim elements that do not use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed not to invoke § 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claim(s) 1-8 has/have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: for example, claim 1 recites “an acceleration sensor configured to …; and a controller configured to …” i.e., Fig. 1 and Para 14 clearly disclose that the power control apparatus 100 may be in the form of a chip which can be suitably mounted to the mother board of the mobile device 200. Examples of the acceleration sensor 10, can include, but not limited to, different kinds of acceleration sensors such as piezoelectric, piezo-resist, capacitive or MEMS type acceleration sensors, etc. The acceleration sensor 10 may be an integral part the mobile device 100 itself.
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rivolta et al. Pub. No. US 20210255686 A1 (Reference in IDS).
Regarding Claim 1, Rivolta teaches a power control apparatus for a mobile device (fig. 1 having calculating unit 27 as shown in Fig. 2), comprising:
an acceleration sensor (Fig. 2 Unit 32, activity recognition module) configured to measure vibration (Para 21, The sensor 20 may be configured to sense vibration or acceleration of the device 10 in each detection axis x.sub.1, y.sub.1, z.sub.1 i.e., measure vibration) generated due to movement of the mobile device and to (Para 39, an activity recognition module or circuit 32, configured to detect if the user carrying or transporting the computing device 10 i.e., measure the movement of the mobile device is in a rest or steady state, or instead is walking or jogging, biking, or is in/on a motorized vehicle, or is otherwise moving) output a vibration measurement signal (Para 21 and 22, the sensor 22 may generate sensor data that is indicative of vibration or acceleration of the device 10 in the lateral axis (x.sub.2), longitudinal axis (y.sub.2), and vertical or normal axis (z.sub.2), respectively. The sensor data may be generated by sampling an analog signal sensed by the sensor 22 i.e., output a vibration measurement signal); and
a controller configured (Para 39 and Fig. 2 Unit 38, gesture recognition)
(i) to detect an insertion condition of the mobile device inside a storage compartment based on the vibration measurement signal (Para 39, a gesture-recognition module or circuit 38, configured to detect if the computing device 10 is placed in or removed from a carrying bag/backpack), and
(ii) to vary a power state of the mobile device based on the detected insertion condition (Para 65, Device 10 is in the bag, stationary on a supporting element) of the mobile device inside the storage compartment (Para 65 and 66, When in state S1, the computing device 10 is in the low power state i.e., vary power state to low based on detection that the mobile device is in the bag. Accordingly, the low power state should be maintained as long as a triggering event indicates that a transition to state S0 (through state Sx) is desired i.e., varying the power state. Such event corresponds, as explained before, to a gesture of the user taking the device 10 out from the bag. Therefore, when in state S1, and in the absence of such triggering event, the device 10 remains in state S1 (exemplified in FIG. 3 with loop T5) until Scenario (iv) described above is identified by the gesture recognition module 38.
Regarding Claim 2, Rivolta teaches wherein the mobile device is one of a laptop computer, a palmtop computer, a mobile phone, a personal electronic device, and a personal digital assistant (Fig. 1 and Para 19).
Regarding Claim 3, Rivolta teaches wherein the controller uses a machine learning model built using vibration measurement signals generated due to different movements and different positions of the mobile device while inserting the mobile device inside the storage compartment (Para 87).
Regarding Claim 4, Rivolta teaches wherein the controller is configured to detect the insertion condition of the mobile device inside the storage compartment using the machine learning model (Para 87).
Regarding Claim 5, Rivolta teaches wherein the controller is configured to detect the insertion condition of the mobile device inside the storage compartment by analyzing and propagating the vibration measurement signals through the machine learning model (Para 132).
Regarding Claim 6, Rivolta teaches wherein the controller analyzes the vibration measurement signal for a specific period to confirm the insertion condition of the mobile device inside the storage compartment (Para 68).
Regarding Claim 7, Rivolta teaches wherein the storage compartment is one of a bag, a brief case, a suit case, a pocket, a cabinet, and a pouch (Para 67).
Regarding Claim 8, Rivolta teaches wherein the controller is configured to vary the power state of the mobile device to a very low power state based on the detected insertion condition of the mobile device inside the storage compartment (Para 66).
Regarding Claim 9, it has been rejected for the same reasons as claim 1.
Regarding Claim 10, it has been rejected for the same reasons as claim 4.
Regarding Claim 11, it has been rejected for the same reasons as claim 5.
Regarding Claim 12, it has been rejected for the same reasons as claim 6.
Regarding Claim 13, it has been rejected for the same reasons as claim 8.
Regarding Claim 14, it has been rejected for the same reasons as claim 1 and further teaches a method of training a machine learning model for controlling a power state of a mobile device (Para 87).
Regarding Claim 15, Rivolta teaches wherein the vibration measurement signals include at least (i) vibration measurement signals generated during insertion of the mobile device in the storage compartment kept horizontally on a table, (ii) vibration measurement signals generated during insertion of the mobile device in the storage compartment kept vertically on the table, and (iii) vibration measurement signals generated during insertion of the mobile device in the storage compartment kept at different inclinations degrees on the table (Para 119).
Regarding Claim 16, Rivolta teaches wherein a computer program comprises instructions which, when the computer program is executed by a computer, cause the computer to carry out the method (Para 268).
Regarding Claim 17, Rivolta teaches wherein a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprises instructions which, when executed by a computer, cause the computer to carry out the method (Para 27).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bulsara et al. Pub. No. US 20220174607 A1 - Autonomous Sensor
Naiki et al. Pub. No. US 20230375436 A1 - METHOD OF EVALUATING NATURAL FREQUENCY OF PIEZOELECTRIC VIBRATOR, METHOD OF DRIVING TRANSDUCER, SIGNAL TRANSMITTING/RECEIVING DEVICE, AND DRIVE SYSTEM
Hefner et al. Pub. No. US 20200379538 A1 - SETTING POLLING INTERVAL OF OPEN/CLOSED POSITION SENSOR FOR A MOVABLE PORTION OF AN ELECTRONIC DEVICE BASED ON ACTIVITY STATE OF THE ELECTRONIC DEVICE
Strutt et al. Pub. No. US 20200158556 A1 - POWER MANAGEMENT
Hayes et al. Pub. No. US 20170315821 A1 - ACTIVATING AN ELECTRONIC DEVICE
Ito Pub. No. US 20170060178 A1 - ELECTRONIC DEVICE, CONTROL METHOD FOR SAME AND COMPUTER- READABLE STORAGE MEDIUM
Kim Pub. No. US 20150233714 A1 - MOTION SENSING METHOD AND USER EQUIPMENT THEREOF
Stogaitis et al. Patent No. US 9037199 B1 - Detecting transitions between physical activity
Locker et al. Pub. No. US 20110267026 A1 - Method and Apparatus for Modifying a Transition to an Altered Power State of an Electronic Device Based on Accelerometer Output
Kulip Pub. No. US 20110239026 A1 - POWER EFFICIENT WAY OF OPERATING MOTION SENSORS
Czompo et al. Pub. No. US 20100304754 A1 - METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR MOVEMENT DETECTION BY EVALUATING ELEMENTARY MOVEMENT PATTERNS
NIZAR N. SIVJI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2647
/NIZAR N SIVJI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647