Detailed Action
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/22/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Pages 7 and 8 of the Remarks argue that the office action does not demonstrate that the reference discloses the limitations of independent claim 1. However, the Remarks do not address any of the paragraphs cited in the NF rejection, and instead only repeat the Examiner’s statement from the rejection without addressing its teachings. The Applicant also cites paragraph 37 as support for the argument that Sodhi does not teach the limitation cited in the rejection. However, this paragraph and its specific teachings were neither cited by the Examiner or relied upon to teach the claim limitations in the NF rejection. Therefore, the arguments are not persuasive.
The Examiner maintains that Sodhi in view of Kakkireni teaches the limitations of claim 1, as detailed in the rejection.
Pages 8 and 9 generally argue that claim 17 is allowable for the same reasons as presented with respect to claim 1.
The Examiner maintains that Sodhi in view of Kakkireni and Branover teaches the limitations of claim 17, as detailed in the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sodhi, et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2023/0059725 in view of Kakkireni et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2022/0413593.
Per Claim 1, Sodhi discloses a device (integrated circuit assembly 100) comprising: a plurality of IC Die’s (IC dies 110A and 110B), wherein a first die of the plurality of dies is configured to: report, to a second die in response to receiving an indication of the device initiating entry of a low power state (Paragraph 20; transition request 125), locally reaching an idle state; and in response to receiving a confirmation of the idle state from the second die, locally complete the entry of the low power state (Paragraphs 34, 39, 41 and 43, Figures 3 and 4; When transitioning from memory state 330 to suspend state 340, PMGRs 230 and 235 may communicate over D2Dinterface 420 until a particular synchronization point 350 is reached, where a switch to communicating over GPIO interface 410 is made, which includes a GPIO synch acknowledgement that represents a confirmation of idle state and therefore local completion of low power state entry.).
Sodhi discloses that the dies are different (Paragraph 19), but does not refer to them as heterogenous or chiplets.
However, Kakkireni discloses a system-in-a package (104; similar to Sodhi’s integrated circuit assembly 100) and further teaches a plurality of chiplets (110a-d) that can be included as part of a heterogeneous processor cluster architecture (Paragraphs 44-46, Fig. 1).
- It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the integrated circuit dies of Sodhi to be implemented in a heterogeneous processor (chiplet) cluster, as taught by Kakkireni, because Sodhi teaches that CPU 222 may include any suitable number of processor cores and the IC dies are shown to have different components (Sodhi, Paragraph 25, Fig. 2).
* * * * * * * *
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sodhi, et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2023/0059725 in view of Kakkireni et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2022/0413593, in further view of Branover et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2019/0147926.
Per Claim 17, Sodhi discloses a method comprising: transitioning a plurality of IC dies to a new power state that corresponds to power gating idle dies of the plurality of dies (Paragraphs 23, 24 and 34, Figures 2 and 3; Certain sections of the dies (always-on sections) remain powered while other portions of the dies are transitioned to a suspend state 340.); confirming, while a client cie of the plurality of dies is kept at least partially powered on, the idle dies have completed operations for reaching an idle state; and in response to confirmations from the idle dies of the idle state, completing the transition to the new power state (Paragraphs 34, 39, 41 and 43, Figures 3 and 4; When transitioning from memory state 330 to suspend state 340, PMGRs 230 and 235 may communicate over D2Dinterface 420 until a particular synchronization point 350 is reached, where a switch to communicating over GPIO interface 410 is made, which includes a GPIO synch acknowledgement that represents a confirmation of idle state and therefore local completion of low power state entry.).
Sodhi discloses that the dies are different (Paragraph 19), but does not refer to them as heterogenous or chiplets.
However, Kakkireni discloses a system-in-a package (104; similar to Sodhi’s integrated circuit assembly 100) and further teaches a plurality of chiplets (110a-d) that can be included as part of a heterogeneous processor cluster architecture (Paragraphs 44-46, Fig. 1).
- It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the integrated circuit dies of Sodhi to be implemented in a heterogeneous processor (chiplet) cluster, as taught by Kakkireni, because Sodhi teaches that CPU 222 may include any suitable number of processor cores and the IC dies are shown to have different components (Sodhi, Paragraph 25, Fig. 2).
Neither Sodhi nor Kakkireni specifically refer to the dies/chiplets as “stutter client chiplets”.
However, Branover, discloses power-gating stutter clients as a method of power management (Paragraph 14).
- It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the integrated circuit dies of Sodhi and the chiplets of Kakkireni to be “stutter clients” as disclosed by Branover because dies/chiplets/clients that operate in a “bursty” or sporadic manner can be effectively power managed during their frequent periods of inactivity.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-16 are allowed.
Claims 2, 8, 9, 18, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 2, 8, 10, 18, and 20 distinguish over the prior art due to no combination of the prior art specifically teaching the nature of “locally reaching the idle state” claimed in said limitations, when considered in combination with the limitations of the interceding/independent claims. Per claim 9, no combination of the prior art teaches the heterogeneous aborting of entrance to the low power state as claimed.
Claims 3-7 and 19 inherit the allowable subject matter of Claims 2 and 18, respectively.
- Any comments considered necessary by applicant must be submitted no later than the payment of the issue fee and, to avoid processing delays, should preferably accompany the issue fee. Such submissions should be clearly labeled “Comments on Statement of Reasons for Allowance.”
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Brian T Misiura/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2175