DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to applicant’s amendment/arguments filed on 06/15/2026. Claims 17, 20-22 and 25-33 have been cancelled. Claims 1-4, 6-15, 18-19 and 23 have been amended. Currently, claims 1-16, 18, 19 and 23-24 are pending. This action is made FINAL.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments/amendments with respect to amended claims 1, 12 and 23 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Response to Amendments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5, 7, 9-10, 12-13, 16, 18 and 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam et al. (US 20220131664 A) in view of Gudipati et al. (US 20220286914 A1).
Consider claim 1, Nam discloses an apparatus (read as base station 105 such as device 805 or 1105, figures 8 and 11, par [0150] and [0173]) comprising:
interface circuitry to obtain multi-access wireless data from a wireless device associated with a network, the multi-access wireless data associated with an operation of at least one of the wireless device or infrastructure of the network (read as transceiver 1120 receiving wireless information from a UE, including an uplink reference signal used in uplink reference signal-based frequency offset pre-compensation; the UE operates in wireless communication system 100, which includes base stations 105, UEs 115 and core network 130, and the received signal is part of a multiple-access wireless operation between the UE and the base station infrastructure, figures 1, 8 and 11, par [0003], [0047], [0052], [0151]-[0152] and [0176]);
machine readable instructions; and at least one programmable circuit to execute the machine readable instructions to (read as computer-readable code 1135 stored in memory 1130 and executed by processor 1140; the processor 1140 maybe be a CPU, DSP, microcontroller, ASIC, FPGA or programmable logic device, and execution causes device 1105 to perform uplink reference signal-based frequency offset pre-compensation functions, figure 1, par [0178]-[0179] and [0181]):
determine a difference between a first reference signal transmitted to the wireless device and a second reference signal included in the multi-access wireless data (read as downlink reference signal manger 1015 receives the uplink reference signal, including an SRS transmission, from the UE as part of the obtained wireless data; frequency offset manager 1050 then identifies the frequency difference between the uplink reference signal frequency and the downlink reference signal frequency, which corresponds to the difference between the first and second reference signals, figures 2, 3 and 10, par [0103], [0115], [0163]-[0165] and [0171]); and
based on the difference, determine, relative to the operation, a change to a configuration of at least one of the wireless device or a virtual radio associated with the network (read as the frequency offset manager 1050 identifying the UE receive frequency from the identified reference-signal frequency difference; base station then select the downlink data transmission center frequency and transmits at a receive center frequency used by UE, and updating the received center frequency used for UE communications, which corresponds to a changed communication setting for the wireless-device branch, figures 3 and 10, par [0045], [0115], [0118] and [0171]).
However, Nam discloses the claimed invention above with receive frequency control (figure 10, par [0171]) but does not specifically disclose determining the change in substantially real time.
Nonetheless, Gudipati discloses near real-time RIC control in which near real-time RIC 115 controls O-CUs and O-Dus on 10 ms to 1 second cycles, uses collected RAN information to control managed functions, receives UL SRS related input from the DU, and returns output that the DU uses to control RU radio operation, and with O-Cloud 140 hosting virtual network functions (VNFs) for controlled O-DU environment; figures 1-3 and 5, par [0030], [0033]-[0035], [0037], [0048] and [0050].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Gudipati into the teachings of Nam, to configure Nam’s receive frequency control using Gudipati’s near real-time RIC timing, in order to support Nam’s frequency correction during low-latency RAN control while using cloud computer power without excessive latency (see par [0044] and [0047] of Gudipati).
Consider claim 2, as applied to claim 1 above, Nam, as modified by Gudipati, discloses wherein one or more of the at least one programmable circuit is to cause the interface circuitry to output a signal (read as code 1135 executed by processor 1140 to operate communication manager 815 and transmitter 820; transmitter 820 transmits signals generated by device 085, including the first downlink reference signal and the later downlink data transmission to the UE at the UE receive frequency, figures 8 and 11, par [0152], [0155] and [0178]-[0179]) but does not specifically disclose the signal to instruct the at least one of the wireless device or the network to change the configuration of the at least one of the wireless device or the virtual radio.
Nonetheless, Gudipati further discloses near real-time RIC 115 and O-Cloud 140 hosting virtual network functions (VNFs); the RIC provides output data to the O-DU 130 through a control interface, and the DU uses that output to control MIMO antenna array gain/phasing in the O-RU 135 for user data transmission and reception; which corresponds to outputting a signal that instructs a network virtualized radio configuration change, figures 1-3 and 5, par [0030], [0035], [0037] and [0050].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Gudipati into the teachings of Nam, which modified by Gudipati, to configure Nam’s base station signal output using Gudipati’s RIC-to-DU control output, in order to support Nam’s frequency correction during low latency radio access network control by returning computed radio control results to network nodes for MAC and radio unit action (see par [0047] and [0050] of Gudipati).
Consider claim 5, as applied to claim 1 above, Nam, as modified by Gudipati, discloses wherein the multi-access wireless data is multi-access physical layer wireless data (read as wireless multiple-access communication system in which UEs communicate with base stations over carriers operated according to physical layer channels; communication manager 815 and uplink reference signal manager 1015 receive an uplink reference signal from the UE, figures 1, 8 and 10, par [0003], [0054], [0152] and [0165]).
Consider claim 7, as applied to claim 1 above, Nam, as modified by Gudipati, discloses wherein the interface circuitry is to transmit the first reference signal to the wireless device (read as transmitter 820 transmitting signals generated by communications manager 815; in that same base station control path, d9ownlink reference signal manager 1010 transmits a first downlink reference signal to the UE using a downlink reference signal frequency, figures 8, 10 and 15, par [0152], [01555], [0164] and [0201]).
Consider claim 9, as applied to claim 1 above, Nam, as modified by Gudipati, discloses wherein one or more of the at least one programmable circuit is to determine the change to the configuration of the at least one of the wireless device or the virtual radio (read as frequency offset manager 1050 identifying the reference signal frequency difference and using that difference to identify the UE receive frequency for the downlink data transmission, figures 10 and par [0171]) but does not specifically disclose execute a machine learning model based on the difference to determine the change to the configuration.
Nonetheless, Gudipati further discloses near real-time RIC 115 using machine learning and machine-trained networks; the RIC receives UL SRS information such as raw SRS received data and an SRS channel responses matrix, then produces a beam-form weight matrix that the DU uses to control MIMO antenna array gain/phasing in the RU, figures 1 and 5, par [0034], [0044] and [0048]-[0050].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Gudipati into the teachings of Nam, which modified by Gudipati, to configure Nam’s receive frequency determination using Gudipati’s machine learning RIC control, in order to compute more complex RAN control results from SRS related inputs while still returning results for low latency radio control (par [0044] and [0047] of Gudipati).
Consider claim 10, as applied to claim 1 above, Nam, as modified by Gudipati, discloses wherein one or more of the at least one programmable circuit is to determine a measurement based on the multi-access wireless data, the measurement including at least one of a location measurement associated with the multi-access wireless data, registration data associated with the multi-access wireless data, a signal-to-noise ratio measurement associated with the multi-access wireless data, a channel impulse response measurement associated with the multi-access wireless data, device identifier data associated with the multi-access wireless data, header data associated with the multi-access wireless data, payload data associated with the multi-access wireless data, a Wi-Fi measurement associated with the multi-access wireless data, a Bluetooth measurement associated with the multi-access wireless data, or a satellite measurement associated with the multi-access wireless data (read as determining the signal-to-noise conditions of the multiple-access communication system, par [0003], [0085] and [0087]).
Consider claim 12, Nam discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions to cause at least one programmable circuit to (read as computer-readable code 1135 stored in memory 1130 and executed by processor 1140; the processor 1140 maybe be a CPU, DSP, ASIC, FPGA or programmable logic device, and execution causes device 1105 to perform uplink reference signal-based frequency offset pre-compensation functions, figure 1, par [0178]-[0179] and [0181]):
determine a difference between a first reference signal transmitted to a wireless device and a second reference signal included in multi-access wireless data obtained from the wireless device (read as downlink reference signal manager 1010 transmitting a first downlink reference signal to the UE, downlink reference signal manger 1015 receives the uplink reference signal, including an SRS transmission, from the UE as part of the obtained wireless data; frequency offset manager 1050 then identifies the frequency difference between the uplink reference signal frequency and the downlink reference signal frequency, which corresponds to the difference between the first and second reference signals, figures 2, 3 and 10, par [0103], [0115], [0163]-[0165] and [0171]); and
based on the difference determine, relative to an operation, of at least one of the wireless device or infrastructure of a network associated with the wireless device, a change to a configuration of at least one of the wireless device or a virtual radio associated with the network
based on the difference, determine, relative to the operation, a change to a configuration of at least one of the wireless device or a virtual radio associated with the network (read as the frequency offset manager 1050 identifying the UE receive frequency from the identified reference-signal frequency difference; base station then select the downlink data transmission center frequency and the UE receives the transmission at the receive center frequency, and updating the received center frequency used for UE communications, which corresponds to a changed communication setting for the wireless-device branch, figures 3 and 10, par [0045], [0115], [0118], [0171] and [0230]).
However, Nam discloses the claimed invention above with receive frequency control (figure 10, par [0171]) but does not specifically disclose determining the change in substantially real time.
Nonetheless, Gudipati discloses near real-time RIC control in which near real-time RIC 115 controls O-CUs and O-Dus on 10 ms to 1 second cycles, uses collected RAN information to control managed functions, receives UL SRS related input from the DU, and returns output that the DU uses to control RU radio operation, and with O-Cloud 140 hosting virtual network functions (VNFs) for controlled O-DU environment; figures 1-3 and 5, par [0030], [0033]-[0035], [0037], [0048] and [0050].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Gudipati into the teachings of Nam, to configure Nam’s receive frequency control using Gudipati’s near real-time RIC timing, in order to support Nam’s frequency correction during low-latency RAN control while using cloud computer power without excessive latency (see par [0044] and [0047] of Gudipati).
Consider claim 13, as applied to claim 12 above, Nam, as modified by Gudipati, discloses wherein the instructions cause one or more of the at least one programmable circuit to cause interface circuitry to output a signal (read as code 1135 executed by processor 1140 to operate communication manager 815 and transmitter 820; transmitter 820 transmits signals generated by device 085, including the first downlink reference signal and the later downlink data transmission to the UE at the UE receive frequency, figures 8 and 11, par [0152], [0155] and [0178]-[0179]) but does not specifically disclose the signal to instruct the at least one of the wireless device or the network to change the configuration of the at least one of the wireless device or the virtual radio.
Nonetheless, Gudipati further discloses near real-time RIC 115 and O-Cloud 140 hosting virtual network functions (VNFs); the RIC provides output data to the O-DU 130 through a control interface, and the DU uses that output to control MIMO antenna array gain/phasing in the O-RU 135 for user data transmission and reception; which corresponds to outputting a signal that instructs a network virtualized radio configuration change, figures 1-3 and 5, par [0030], [0035], [0037] and [0050].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Gudipati into the teachings of Nam, which modified by Gudipati, to configure Nam’s base station signal output using Gudipati’s RIC-to-DU control output, in order to support Nam’s frequency correction during low latency radio access network control by returning computed radio control results to network nodes for MAC and radio unit action (see par [0047] and [0050] of Gudipati).
Consider claim 16, as applied to claim 12 above, Nam, as modified by Gudipati, discloses wherein the multi-access wireless data is multi-access physical layer wireless data (read as wireless multiple-access communication system in which UEs communicate with base stations over carriers operated according to physical layer channels; communication manager 815 and uplink reference signal manager 1015 receive an uplink reference signal from the UE, figures 1, 8 and 10, par [0003], [0054], [0152] and [0165]).
Consider claim 18, as applied to claim 12 above, Nam, as modified by Gudipati, discloses wherein instructions cause one or more of the at least one programmable circuit to cause interface circuitry to transmit the first reference signal to the wireless device (read as transmitter 820 transmitting signals generated by communications manager 815; in that same base station control path, d9ownlink reference signal manager 1010 transmits a first downlink reference signal to the UE using a downlink reference signal frequency, figures 8, 10 and 15, par [0152], [01555], [0164] and [0201]).
Consider claim 23, Nam discloses a method (read as method 1500 and method 1600, which implemented by base station 105 such as device 805 or 1105, to perform uplink reference signal-based frequency offset pre-compensation, figures 11, 15 and 16, par [0150], [0173], [0200] and [0204]) comprising:
obtaining multi-access wireless data from a wireless device associated with a network, the multi-access wireless data associated with an operation of at least one of the wireless device or infrastructure of the network (read as base station 105 receiving an uplink reference signal from a UE in wireless communication system 100; the UE is a wireless device in a wireless multiple-access communication system, and the received uplink reference signal is part of the frequency offset operation involving transmission between the UE and base stations, figures 1, 15 and 16, par [0003], [0047], [0052], [0202] and [0207]);
determining, with at least one programmable circuit, a difference between a first reference signal transmitted to the wireless device and a second reference signal included in the multi-access wireless data (read as processor 1140 executing stored instructions; the base station transmits a first downlink reference signal to the UE and receives an uplink reference signal from the UE as part of the obtained multiple-access wireless communication data; in the same control path, frequency offset manager 1050 identifies the difference between the uplink reference signal frequency and the downlink reference signal frequency, figures 10, 11, 15 and 16, par [0163]-[0165], [0171], [0178]-[0179] and [0201]-[0207]) and
based on the difference, determining, relative to the operation by executing an instruction with one or more of the at least one programmable circuit, a change to a configuration of at least one of the wireless device or a virtual radio associated with the network (read as base station executing instructions with processor 1140 and computer-readable code 1135; the frequency offset manager 1050 identifying the UE receive frequency from the identified reference-signal frequency difference; base station then select the downlink data transmission center frequency and transmits at a receive center frequency used by UE, and updating the received center frequency used for UE communications, which a changed communication setting for the wireless-device branch, figures 3 and 10, par [0045], [0115], [0118] and [0171]).
However, Nam discloses the claimed invention above with receive frequency control (figure 10, par [0171]) but does not specifically disclose determining the change in substantially real time.
Nonetheless, Gudipati discloses near real-time RIC control in which near real-time RIC 115 controls O-CUs and O-Dus on 10 ms to 1 second cycles, uses collected RAN information to control managed functions, receives UL SRS related input from the DU, and returns output that the DU uses to control RU radio operation, and with O-Cloud 140 hosting virtual network functions (VNFs) for controlled O-DU environment; figures 1-3 and 5, par [0030], [0033]-[0035], [0037], [0048] and [0050].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Gudipati into the teachings of Nam, to configure Nam’s receive frequency control using Gudipati’s near real-time RIC timing, in order to support Nam’s frequency correction during low-latency RAN control while using cloud computer power without excessive latency (see par [0044] and [0047] of Gudipati).
Consider claim 24, as applied to claim 23 above, Nam, as modified by Gudipati, discloses further including outputting a signal (read as code 1135 executed by processor 1140 to operate communication manager 815 and transmitter 820; transmitter 820 transmits signals generated by device 085, including the first downlink reference signal and the later downlink data transmission to the UE at the UE receive frequency, figures 8 and 11, par [0152], [0155] and [0178]-[0179]) but does not specifically disclose the signal to instruct the at least one of the wireless device or the network to change the configuration of the at least one of the wireless device or the virtual radio.
Nonetheless, Gudipati further discloses near real-time RIC 115 and O-Cloud 140 hosting virtual network functions (VNFs); the RIC provides output data to the O-DU 130 through a control interface, and the DU uses that output to control MIMO antenna array gain/phasing in the O-RU 135 for user data transmission and reception; which corresponds to outputting a signal that instructs a network virtualized radio configuration change, figures 1-3 and 5, par [0030], [0035], [0037] and [0050].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Gudipati into the teachings of Nam, which modified by Gudipati, to configure Nam’s base station signal output using Gudipati’s RIC-to-DU control output, in order to support Nam’s frequency correction during low latency radio access network control by returning computed radio control results to network nodes for MAC and radio unit action (see par [0047] and [0050] of Gudipati).
Claims 3 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam et al. (US 20220131664 A) in view of Gudipati et al. (US 20220286914 A1), and in further view of Ayala Romero et al. (US 20200296741 A1).
Consider claim 3, as applied to claim 1 above, Nam, as modified by Gudipati, discloses wherein one or more of the at least one programmable circuit is to determine the change to the configuration of the at least one of the wireless device (read as frequency offset manager 1050 determining the UE receive frequency from the reference signal frequency differences, figures 10, par [0171] of Nam) and O-Cloud 140 hosting virtual network functions (VNFs) (par [0035] of Gudipati) but does not specifically disclose determine the change to the configuration of the virtual radio based on a mode of operation of the virtual radio.
Nonetheless, Ayala Romero discloses a virtual RAN (vRAN) in which virtual radio access points (RAPs) run on edge cloud computing resources; controller module 450 dynamically adjusts compute and radio scheduling policies across the virtual RAPs and applies different methods depending on whether operation is non-QoS driver or QoS driven, figures 1, 4, 7 and 8, par [0046], [0053], [0068] and [0080]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Ayala Romero into the teachings of Nam, which modified by Gudipati, to configure Nam’s receiver frequency control using Ayala Romero’s vRAN policy operation, in order to coordinate radio and compute polices for virtual radio access points according to QoS or non-QoS operating goals (see par [0053] and [0058] of Ayala Romero).
Consider claim 14, as applied to claim 12 above, Nam, as modified by Gudipati, discloses wherein the instructions cause one or more of the at least one programmable circuit to determine the change to the configuration of the at least one of the wireless device (read as frequency offset manager 1050 determining the UE receive frequency from the reference signal frequency differences, figures 10, par [0171] of Nam) and O-Cloud 140 hosting virtual network functions (VNFs) (par [0035] of Gudipati) but does not specifically disclose determine the change to the configuration of the virtual radio based on a mode of operation of the virtual radio.
Nonetheless, Ayala Romero discloses a virtual RAN (vRAN) in which virtual radio access points (RAPs) run on edge cloud computing resources; controller module 450 dynamically adjusts compute and radio scheduling policies across the virtual RAPs and applies different methods depending on whether operation is non-QoS driver or QoS driven, figures 1, 4, 7 and 8, par [0046], [0053], [0068] and [0080]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Ayala Romero into the teachings of Nam, which modified by Gudipati, to configure Nam’s receiver frequency control using Ayala Romero’s vRAN policy operation, in order to coordinate radio and compute polices for virtual radio access points according to QoS or non-QoS operating goals (see par [0053] and [0058] of Ayala Romero).
Claims 4, 6 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam et al. (US 20220131664 A) in view of Gudipati et al. (US 20220286914 A1), and in further view of Yang et al. (US 20210258969 A1).
Consider claim 4, as applied to claim 1 above, Nam, as modified by Gudipati, discloses wherein one or more of the at least one programmable circuit is to determine the change to the configuration of at least one of the wireless device or the virtual radio (read as the frequency offset manager 1050 identifying the UE receive frequency from the identified reference-signal frequency difference, figure 10, par [0171]) but does not specifically disclose to improve performance of an application associated with the wireless device.
Nonetheless, Yang discloses RIC service that manages RAN resources for an end device application service; the service selects or adjusts network slice, latency and reliability treatment for that application service and improves network capacity, user throughput, connectivity and related performance metrics, figures 1 and 2A, par [0015]-[0016], [0027], [0032] and [0035].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Yang into the teachings of Nam, which modified by Gudipati, to configure Nam’s receiver frequency control using Yang’s application service RIC control, in order to manage radio resources according to end-device application latency and reliability needs while improving user throughput and connectivity (see par [0015]-[0016] of Yang).
Consider claim 6, as applied to claim 1 above, Nam, as modified by Gudipati, discloses the claimed invention above with O-Cloud 140 hosting virtual network functions for controlled O-DU environment (par 0035] of Gudipati) but does not specifically disclose wherein one or more of the at least one programmable circuit is to determine a mode of operation for the virtual radio based on a signal from a compute device that is remote with respect to the apparatus.
Nonetheless, Yang discloses service management and orchestration device 218 communicating policy, optimization, control, data collection and configuration information through A1, E2 and O1 interfaces to the RICs and access devices, these signals support non-real-time, near-real-time and real-time RIC operating control for virtualized network functions, figures 2A and 2B, par [0034]-[0039] and [0046]-[0047].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Yang into the teachings of Nam, which modified by Gudipati, to configure Nam’s base station control using Yang’s orchestration control signaling, in order to coordinate RIC operating control and access device configuration from controller across virtualized network functions.
Consider claim 15, as applied to claim 12 above, Nam, as modified by Gudipati, discloses wherein the instructions cause one or more of the at least one programmable circuit circuitry to determine the change to the configuration of at least one of the wireless device or the virtual radio (read as the frequency offset manager 1050 identifying the UE receive frequency from the identified reference-signal frequency difference, figure 10, par [0171]) but does not specifically disclose to improve performance of an application associated with the wireless device.
Nonetheless, Yang discloses RIC service that manages RAN resources for an end device application service; the service selects or adjusts network slice, latency and reliability treatment for that application service and improves network capacity, user throughput, connectivity and related performance metrics, figures 1 and 2A, par [0015]-[0016], [0027], [0032] and [0035].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Yang into the teachings of Nam, which modified by Gudipati, to configure Nam’s receiver frequency control using Yang’s application service RIC control, in order to manage radio resources according to end-device application latency and reliability needs while improving user throughput and connectivity (see par [0015]-[0016] of Yang).
Claims 8 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam et al. (US 20220131664 A) in view of Gudipati et al. (US 20220286914 A1), and in further view of Xia et al. (US 20180191418 A1).
Consider claim 8, as applied to claim 1 above, Nam, as modified by Gudipati, discloses the claimed invention above with reference signal difference and beam control (par [0102]-[0103] and [0171] of Nam and ) and wherein one or more of the at least one programmable circuit is to process the difference between the first reference signal and the second reference signal to determine the change (read as the frequency offset manager 1050 identifying the UE receive frequency from the identified reference-signal frequency difference, figure 10, par [0171]) but does not specifically disclose the change including at least one of: a timing change of a data transmission associated with the wireless device; a phase change of an antenna associated with the wireless device; a power settings change of the antenna; formation of a first beam between the wireless device and the interface circuitry; or alteration of a second beam formed between the wireless device and the interface circuitry.
Nonetheless, Xia discloses beam calibration in which a calibrating device compares quality parameters of a TX reference signal and a RX reference signal; when the difference exceeds a threshold, beamform calibrator 404 adjusts beamforming weights for secondary RX and TX beamforming componement, which changes antenna phase, figures 2, 4 and 5, par [0022]-[0025] and [0035]-[0037].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Xia into the teachings of Nam, which modified by Gudipati, to configure Nam’s reference signal difference processing using Xia’s beam calibration technique, in order to correct transmit and receive beam differences through phase and beamforming weight adjustment when reference signal quality differs (see par [0023] and [0035]-[0036] of Xia).
Consider claim 19, as applied to claim 12 above, Nam, as modified by Gudipati, discloses the claimed invention above with reference signal difference and beam control (par [0102]-[0103] and [0171] of Nam and ) and wherein the instructions are to cause one or more of the at least one programmable circuit to process the difference between the first reference signal and the second reference signal to determine the change (read as the frequency offset manager 1050 identifying the UE receive frequency from the identified reference-signal frequency difference, figure 10, par [0171]) but does not specifically disclose the change including at least one of: a timing change of a data transmission associated with the wireless device; a phase change of an antenna associated with the wireless device; a power settings change of the antenna; formation of a first beam between the wireless device and the interface circuitry; or alteration of a second beam formed between the wireless device and the interface circuitry.
Nonetheless, Xia discloses beam calibration in which a calibrating device compares quality parameters of a TX reference signal and a RX reference signal; when the difference exceeds a threshold, beamform calibrator 404 adjusts beamforming weights for secondary RX and TX beamforming componement, which changes antenna phase, figures 2, 4 and 5, par [0022]-[0025] and [0035]-[0037].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Xia into the teachings of Nam, which modified by Gudipati, to configure Nam’s reference signal difference processing using Xia’s beam calibration technique, in order to correct transmit and receive beam differences through phase and beamforming weight adjustment when reference signal quality differs (see par [0023] and [0035]-[0036] of Xia).
Claim 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam et al. (US 20220131664 A) in view of Gudipati et al. (US 20220286914 A1), and in further view of Raghavan et al. (US 20190149249 A1).
Consider claim 11, as applied to claim 1 above, Nam, as modified by Gudipati, discloses the claimed invention above with radio configuration control and wherein the change to the configuration of the at least one of the wireless device or the virtual radio (read as frequency offset manager 1050 identifying the reference signal frequency difference and using that difference to identify the UE receive frequency for the downlink data transmission, figures 10 and par [0171]) but does not specifically disclose the change includes at least one of an increase to a first antenna power of the wireless device, an increase to a second antenna power of the interface circuitry, activation of a first number of compute cores of the at least one programmable circuit to increase throughput of the network, or deactivation of a second number of compute cores of the at least one programmable circuit to reduce power consumption.
Nonetheless, Raghavan discloses antenna failure mitigation in which a base station uses pilot signal strength measurement to detect failure, then increases UL transmission power at the base station or indicates to the UE to increase UL transmission power, figures 5 and 10, par [0010]-[0011], [0078] and [0089]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Raghavan into the teachings of Nam, which modified by Gudipati, to configure radio configuration control using Raghavan’s power mitigation procedure, in order to preserve ongoing wireless communication after pilot signal strength measurements indicate antenna related signal loss (see par [0007]-[0010] of Raghavan).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Junpeng Chen/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645