DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Amendment
This action is in response to applicant’s Preliminary Amendment filed on 06/30/2023. Claims 17, 20-22 and 25-33 have been cancelled. Currently, claims 1-16, 18-19 and 23-24 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 9, 10, 12-16, 23 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeh (US 20220014963 A1) in view of Suthar (US 20200162348 A1), and in further view of Shetty (US 20230362658 A1).
Consider claim 1, Yeh discloses an apparatus (read as the apparatus, such as MEC server or edge compute node, figures 1A and 1B, par [0094] and claim 53) comprising:
interface circuitry to obtain multi-access wireless data from a wireless device associated with a network, the multi-access wireless data associated with an operation of at least one of the wireless device or infrastructure of the network (read as the interface circuitry such as E2 interface and processor circuitry that collect observation data from a multi-access communication environment and from UEs 101 and/or RANs/Ran nodes 130, where the observations include network-related data and signal measurements, par [0040]-[0041], [0421] and [0445], and claims 53 and 86]);
machine readable instructions; and programmable circuitry to utilize the machine readable instructions to (read as machine-readable instructions embodied as a non-transitory machine-readable medium and being read and utilized by processor circuitry such as processor circuitry 2752, par [0421] and [0445], and claims 53 and 86]):
compute, in substantially real time relative to the operation, a measurement based on the multi-access wireless data (read as the uses of observations data from a multi-access communication environment to determine signal measurements, applying them in a loop where real-time agent 501 determines action and the action is deployed as an update to system configurations, and placing that loop in near-real-time RIC 2114 for near-real-time control and optimization via fine-grained data collection and actions over the E2 interface, and the measurement reports include signal-to-noise ratio (SNR), par [0076]-[0077], [0097]-[0099], [0171] and [0295]-[0296]); and
determine, in substantially real time relative to the operation, a change to a configuration of at least one of the wireless device or a network component based on the measurement (read as agent 140 decides a traffic steering/splitting strategy for UEs 101 based on observations data from the multi-access communication environment including signal measurements, the action is implemented by instructing UEs 101 and/or RANs/RAN nodes 130 to perform different operations, and the result is deployed as an update/change to the system configurations in real-time/near-real-time control framework using real-time agent 501 and near-RT RIC 2114, par [0040], [0094], [0097]-[0099] and [0295]-[0296]).
However, Yeh discloses the claimed invention above and network components such as RAN (radio access network), DU (distribution unit) and CU (central unit) (see par [0002]-[0004] and [0127]) but does not specifically disclose the network component as a virtual radio, the virtual radio associated with the network.
Nonetheless, Suthar discloses vRAN (virtual RAN) 110 with radio 125(1) and radio 125(2) communicating with UEs 105, and that vCU 145 and vDU 150 as virtualized RAN nodes, with vDU 150 in one example hosting the radios, figure 1, par [0012]-[0014].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Suthar into the teachings of Yeh to provide Yeh’s near-real-time RIC/E2 control framework with an virtual radio associated with network in form of vRAN, vCU and vDU, in order improve compatibility of Yeh’s deployed system configuration updates with virtualized RAN implementation and to better support radio-side functions in virtualized network architecture.
However, Yeh, as modified by Suthar, discloses the claimed invention above and near real-time control with real-time agent 501 and near-real-time RIC 2114 based the signal measurements as above but does not specifically disclose determine the change to configuration of the virtual radio based on the measurement.
Nonetheless, Shetty discloses RIC 202 monitors utilization based upon KPIs, selects a vDU with excess capacity, and sends a message to a vCU reallocate radio resources associated with that vDU, with further configuration-related actions including switching connection and RRC connection reconfiguration, par [0069]-[0071].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Shetty into the teachings of Yeh, which modified by Suthar, to allow the near-real-time measurement and control framework with virtual radio to determining a change to a configuration state/mode of the virtual radio based on the signal measurement, in order to improve radio-resource utilization and improve dynamic control of virtualized RAN entities such as vDU and vCU.
Consider claim 2, as applied to claim 1 above, Yeh, as modified by Suthar and Shetty, discloses wherein the programmable circuitry is to cause the interface circuitry to output a signal to instruct the at least one of the wireless device or the network to change the configuration of the at least one of the wireless device or the virtual radio (read as carrying out the selected action by instructing the UEs 101 and/or vRANs/vRAN nodes to perform actions/tasks/operations, proceeds through safety checking before an update to system configuration is deployed, and actions over E2 interface in the near-RT RIC control framework, par [0040], [0099] and [0295]).
Consider claim 3, as applied to claim 1 above, Yeh, as modified by Suthar and Shetty, discloses the claimed invention above and the action is implemented by instructing UEs 101 and/or RANs/RAN nodes to perform different operations states/modes (par [0040], [0094], [0097]-[0099] and [0295]-[0296]) but does not specifically discloses wherein the programmable circuitry is to determine the change to the configuration of the at least one of the wireless device or the virtual radio based on a mode of operation of the virtual radio.
Nonetheless, Shetty discloses RIC 202 monitors utilization based upon KPIs, selects a vDU with excess capacity, and sends a message to a vCU reallocate radio resources associated with that vDU, with further configuration-related actions including switching connection and RRC connection reconfiguration, par [0069]-[0071].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Shetty into the teachings of Yeh, which modified by Suthar and Shetty, to allow the near-real-time measurement and control framework with virtual radio to determining a change to a configuration state/mode of the virtual radio based on the signal measurement, in order to improve radio-resource utilization and improve dynamic control of virtualized RAN entities such as vDU and vCU.
Consider claim 4, as applied to claim 1 above, Yeh, as modified by Suthar and Shetty, discloses wherein the programmable circuitry is to determine the change to the configuration of at least one of the wireless device or the virtual radio to improve performance of an application associated with the wireless device (read as the use of data flow/App/QoS requirements 625 to determine routing over multi-paths to meet heterogeneous QoS targets, and optimizes using a reward/utility function of a network QoS target with QoS parameter inputs including PHY rate, UE throughput, CQI, MCS and PRB utilization, par [0129], [0472] and [0473]).
Consider claim 5, as applied to claim 1 above, Yeh, as modified by Suthar and Shetty, discloses wherein the multi-access wireless data is multi-access physical layer wireless data (read as collect observation data from a multi-access communication environment and from UEs 101 and/or RANs/Ran nodes 130, where the observations include network-related data and signal measurements (par [0040]-[0041]) and [0445]); and the use of physical layer as describe in par [0171] and [0520]).
Consider claim 6, as applied to claim 1 above, Yeh, as modified by Suthar and Shetty, discloses the claimed invention above and the signal receiving signal from a the compute device that is remote with respect to the apparatus (read as collect observation data from a multi-access communication environment and from UEs 101 and/or RANs/Ran nodes 130, par [0040]-[0041]) and the mode of operation (read as the action is implemented by instructing UEs 101 and/or RANs/RAN nodes to perform different operations states/modes (par [0040], [0094], [0097]-[0099] and [0295]-[0296]) but does not specifically disclose wherein the programmable circuitry is to determine the mode of operation for the virtual radio based on the signal.
Nonetheless, Shetty discloses RIC 202 monitors utilization based upon KPIs, selects a vDU with excess capacity, and sends a message to a vCU reallocate radio resources associated with that vDU, with further configuration-related actions including switching connection and RRC connection reconfiguration, par [0069]-[0071].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Shetty into the teachings of Yeh, which modified by Suthar and Shetty, to allow the near-real-time measurement and control framework with virtual radio to determining a change to a configuration state/mode of the virtual radio based on the signal measurement, in order to improve radio-resource utilization and improve dynamic control of virtualized RAN entities such as vDU and vCU.
Consider claim 9, as applied to claim 1 above, Yeh, as modified by Suthar and Shetty, discloses wherein the programmable circuitry is to execute a machine learning model to determine the change to the configuration of the at least one of the wireless device or the virtual radio based on the measurement (read as the one or more UEs are configured agents interacting with the environment to collect observation data, and operating the Reinforcement Learning Model (RLM) for determination of the one or more actions comprises: obtaining action data with the observation data, the action data including one or more other actions taken by the corresponding multi-access UEs; training the RLM based on the observation data and the action data; and deploying the RLM to the corresponding multi-access UEs, wherein the deployed RLM is for derivation of the actions by the corresponding multi-access UEs, par [0453]-[0455]).
Consider claim 10, as applied to claim 1 above, Yeh, as modified by Suthar and Shetty, discloses wherein the measurement includes at least one of a location measurement associated with the multi-access wireless data, registration data associated with the multi-access wireless data, a reference signal measurement associated with the multi-access wireless data, a signal-to-noise ratio measurement associated with the multi-access wireless data, a channel impulse response measurement associated with the multi-access wireless data, device identifier data associated with the multi-access wireless data, header data associated with the multi-access wireless data, payload data associated with the multi-access wireless data, a Wi-Fi measurement associated with the multi-access wireless data, a Bluetooth measurement associated with the multi-access wireless data, or a satellite measurement associated with the multi-access wireless data (read as the uses observations data from a multi-access communication environment including signal measurements, which the measurement reports include signal-to-noise ratio (SNR), par [0041], [0142] and [0171]).
Consider claim 12, Yeh discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions to cause programmable circuitry (read as machine-readable instructions embodied as a non-transitory machine-readable medium and being read and utilized by processor circuitry such as processor circuitry 2752, par [0421] and [0445], and claims 53 and 86]) to:
compute, in substantially real-time relative to an operation of at least one of a wireless device or infrastructure of a network associated with the wireless device, a measurement based on multi-access wireless data obtained from the wireless device (read as the uses of observations data from a multi-access communication environment to determine signal measurements, applying them in a loop where real-time agent 501 determines action and the action is deployed as an update to system configurations, and placing that loop in near-real-time RIC 2114 for near-real-time control and optimization via fine-grained data collection and actions over the E2 interface, and the measurement reports include signal-to-noise ratio (SNR), par [0076]-[0077], [0097]-[0099], [0171] and [0295]-[0296]); and
determine, in substantially real time relative to the operation, a change to a configuration of at least one of the wireless device or a virtual radio based on the measurement, the virtual radio associated with the network (read as agent 140 decides a traffic steering/splitting strategy for UEs 101 based on observations data from the multi-access communication environment including signal measurements, the action is implemented by instructing UEs 101 and/or RANs/RAN nodes 130 to perform different operations, and the result is deployed as an update/change to the system configurations in real-time/near-real-time control framework using real-time agent 501 and near-RT RIC 2114, par [0040], [0094], [0097]-[0099] and [0295]-[0296]).
However, Yeh discloses the claimed invention above and network components such as RAN (radio access network), DU (distribution unit) and CU (central unit) (see par [0002]-[0004] and [0127]) but does not specifically disclose the network component as a virtual radio, the virtual radio associated with the network.
Nonetheless, Suthar discloses vRAN (virtual RAN) 110 with radio 125(1) and radio 125(2) communicating with UEs 105, and that vCU 145 and vDU 150 as virtualized RAN nodes, with vDU 150 in one example hosting the radios, figure 1, par [0012]-[0014].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Suthar into the teachings of Yeh to provide Yeh’s near-real-time RIC/Ee control framework with an virtual radio associated with network in form of vRAN, vCU and vDU, in order improve compatibility of Yeh’s deployed system configuration updates with virtualized RAN implementation and to better support radio-side functions in virtualized network architecture.
However, Yeh, as modified by Suthar, discloses the claimed invention above and near real-time control with real-time agent 501 and near-real-time RIC 2114 based the signal measurements as above but does not specifically disclose determine the change to configuration of the virtual radio based on the measurement.
Nonetheless, Shetty discloses RIC 202 monitors utilization based upon KPIs, selects a vDU with excess capacity, and sends a message to a vCU reallocate radio resources associated with that vDU, with further configuration-related actions including switching connection and RRC connection reconfiguration, par [0069]-[0071].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Shetty into the teachings of Yeh, which modified by Suthar, to allow the near-real-time measurement and control framework with virtual radio to determining a change to a configuration state/mode of the virtual radio based on the signal measurement, in order to improve radio-resource utilization and improve dynamic control of virtualized RAN entities such as vDU and vCU.
Consider claim 13, as applied to claim 12 above, Yeh, as modified by Suthar and Shetty, discloses wherein the instructions cause the programmable circuitry to cause interface circuitry to output a signal to instruct the at least one of the wireless device or the network to change the configuration of the at least one of the wireless device or the virtual radio (read as carrying out the selected action by instructing the UEs 101 and/or vRANs/vRAN nodes to perform actions/tasks/operations, proceeds through safety checking before an update to system configuration is deployed, and actions over E2 interface in the near-RT RIC control framework, par [0040], [0099] and [0295]).
Consider claim 14, as applied to claim 12 above, Yeh, as modified by Suthar and Shetty, discloses the claimed invention above and the action is implemented by instructing UEs 101 and/or RANs/RAN nodes to perform different operations states/modes (par [0040], [0094], [0097]-[0099] and [0295]-[0296]) but does not specifically discloses wherein the programmable circuitry is to determine the change to the configuration of the at least one of the wireless device or the virtual radio based on a mode of operation of the virtual radio.
Nonetheless, Shetty discloses RIC 202 monitors utilization based upon KPIs, selects a vDU with excess capacity, and sends a message to a vCU reallocate radio resources associated with that vDU, with further configuration-related actions including switching connection and RRC connection reconfiguration, par [0069]-[0071].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Shetty into the teachings of Yeh, which modified by Suthar and Shetty, to allow the near-real-time measurement and control framework with virtual radio to determining a change to a configuration state/mode of the virtual radio based on the signal measurement, in order to improve radio-resource utilization and improve dynamic control of virtualized RAN entities such as vDU and vCU.
Consider claim 15, as applied to claim 12 above, Yeh, as modified by Suthar and Shetty, discloses wherein the programmable circuitry is to determine the change to the configuration of at least one of the wireless device or the virtual radio to improve performance of an application associated with the wireless device (read as the use of data flow/App/QoS requirements 625 to determine routing over multi-paths to meet heterogeneous QoS targets, and optimizes using a reward/utility function of a network QoS target with QoS parameter inputs including PHY rate, UE throughput, CQI, MCS and PRB utilization, par [0129], [0472] and [0473]).
Consider claim 16, as applied to claim 12 above, Yeh, as modified by Suthar and Shetty, discloses wherein the multi-access wireless data is multi-access physical layer wireless data (read as collect observation data from a multi-access communication environment and from UEs 101 and/or RANs/Ran nodes 130, where the observations include network-related data and signal measurements (par [0040]-[0041]) and [0445]); and the use of physical layer as describe in par [0171] and [0520]).
Consider claim 23, Yeh discloses a method comprising: obtaining multi-access wireless data from a wireless device associated with a network, the multi-access wireless data associated with an operation of at least one of the wireless device or infrastructure of the network (read as the interface circuitry such as E2 interface and processor circuitry that collect observation data from a multi-access communication environment and from UEs 101 and/or RANs/Ran nodes 130, where the observations include network-related data and signal measurements, par [0040]-[0041], [0421] and [0445], and claims 53 and 86]);
computing, in substantially real time relative to the operation by executing an instruction with programmable circuitry, a measurement based on the multi-access wireless data (read as the uses of observations data from a multi-access communication environment to determine signal measurements, applying them in a loop where real-time agent 501 determines action and the action is deployed as an update to system configurations, and placing that loop in near-real-time RIC 2114 for near-real-time control and optimization via fine-grained data collection and actions over the E2 interface, and the measurement reports include signal-to-noise ratio (SNR), par [0076]-[0077], [0097]-[0099], [0171] and [0295]-[0296]); and
determining, in substantially real time relative to the operation by executing an instruction with the programmable circuitry, a change to a configuration of at least one of the wireless device or a virtual radio based on the measurement, the virtual radio associated with the network (read as agent 140 decides a traffic steering/splitting strategy for UEs 101 based on observations data from the multi-access communication environment including signal measurements, the action is implemented by instructing UEs 101 and/or RANs/RAN nodes 130 to perform different operations, and the result is deployed as an update/change to the system configurations in real-time/near-real-time control framework using real-time agent 501 and near-RT RIC 2114, par [0040], [0094], [0097]-[0099] and [0295]-[0296]).
However, Yeh discloses the claimed invention above and network components such as RAN (radio access network), DU (distribution unit) and CU (central unit) (see par [0002]-[0004] and [0127]) but does not specifically disclose the network component as a virtual radio, the virtual radio associated with the network.
Nonetheless, Suthar discloses vRAN (virtual RAN) 110 with radio 125(1) and radio 125(2) communicating with UEs 105, and that vCU 145 and vDU 150 as virtualized RAN nodes, with vDU 150 in one example hosting the radios, figure 1, par [0012]-[0014].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Suthar into the teachings of Yeh to provide Yeh’s near-real-time RIC/Ee control framework with an virtual radio associated with network in form of vRAN, vCU and vDU, in order improve compatibility of Yeh’s deployed system configuration updates with virtualized RAN implementation and to better support radio-side functions in virtualized network architecture.
However, Yeh, as modified by Suthar, discloses the claimed invention above and near real-time control with real-time agent 501 and near-real-time RIC 2114 based the signal measurements as above but does not specifically disclose determine the change to configuration of the virtual radio based on the measurement.
Nonetheless, Shetty discloses RIC 202 monitors utilization based upon KPIs, selects a vDU with excess capacity, and sends a message to a vCU reallocate radio resources associated with that vDU, with further configuration-related actions including switching connection and RRC connection reconfiguration, par [0069]-[0071].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Shetty into the teachings of Yeh, which modified by Suthar, to allow the near-real-time measurement and control framework with virtual radio to determining a change to a configuration state/mode of the virtual radio based on the signal measurement, in order to improve radio-resource utilization and improve dynamic control of virtualized RAN entities such as vDU and vCU.
Consider claim 24, as applied to claim 23 above, Yeh, as modified by Suthar and Shetty, discloses further including outputting a signal to instruct the at least one of the wireless device or the network to change the configuration of the at least one of the wireless device or the virtual radio (read as carrying out the selected action by instructing the UEs 101 and/or vRANs/vRAN nodes to perform actions/tasks/operations, proceeds through safety checking before an update to system configuration is deployed, and actions over E2 interface in the near-RT RIC control framework, par [0040], [0099] and [0295]).
Claims 7 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeh (US 20220014963 A1) in view of Suthar (US 20200162348 A1), and in further view of Shetty (US 20230362658 A1), and in further view of Hu (US 20140211656 A1).
Consider claim 7, as applied to claim 1 above, Yeh, as modified by Suthar and Shetty, discloses the claimed invention above and the measurement report of the observation data in the multi-access communication as reference signal (see par [0171]) but does not specifically disclose wherein: the interface circuitry is to transmit a first reference signal to the wireless device; and the programmable circuitry is to process the multi-access wireless data to determine a difference between the first reference signal and a second reference signal included in the multi-access wireless data.
Nonetheless, Hu discloses a communication device receiving a first reference signal and a second reference signal, and determining a difference between the first reference signal and the second reference signal as the third reference signal power value for the communication device, par [0013] and [0015].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the reference signals difference teachings of Hu into the configuration determination of Yeh, which modified by Suthar and Shetty, in order to improve the radio measurement precision and enhance the measurement inputs used.
Consider claim 18, as applied to claim 12 above, Yeh, as modified by Suthar and Shetty, discloses the claimed invention above and the measurement report of the observation data in the multi-access communication as reference signal (see par [0171]) but does not specifically disclose wherein: the interface circuitry is to transmit a first reference signal to the wireless device; and the programmable circuitry is to process the multi-access wireless data to determine a difference between the first reference signal and a second reference signal included in the multi-access wireless data.
Nonetheless, Hu discloses a communication device receiving a first reference signal and a second reference signal, and determining a difference between the first reference signal and the second reference signal as the third reference signal power value for the communication device, par [0013] and [0015].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the reference signals difference teachings of Hu into the configuration determination of Yeh, which modified by Suthar and Shetty, in order to improve the radio measurement precision and enhance the measurement inputs used.
Claim 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeh (US 20220014963 A1) in view of Suthar (US 20200162348 A1), and in further view of Shetty (US 20230362658 A1), and in further view of Anderson (US 20200107271 A1).
Consider claim 11, as applied to claim 1 above, Yeh, as modified by Suthar and Shetty, discloses the claimed invention above but does not specifically disclose wherein the change to the configuration of the at least one of the wireless device or the virtual radio includes at least one of an increase to a first antenna power of the wireless device, an increase to a second antenna power of the interface circuitry, activation of a first number of compute cores of the programmable circuitry to increase throughput of the network, or deactivation of a second number of compute cores of the programmable circuitry to reduce power consumption.
Nonetheless, Anderson discloses that the network generates and transmits a TPC command and that he UE uses the TPC commends to set the transmit power for future uplink transmissions, the TPC command indicates a change of transmission power up or down, par [0045]-[0046] and [0057].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the transmission power control teachings of Hu into the configuration setting of Yeh, which modified by Suthar and Shetty, in order to improve and expand the set of concrete wireless device configuration actions available in response to measured radio conditions.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Junpeng Chen/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645