DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12 December 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 4 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the estimate" in Line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of evaluating prior art with respect to patentability, the Examiner has interpreted “the estimate” as referring to the “estimated power consumption values representing power consumption of the upcoming instructions” of Claim 1.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the estimate" in Line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of evaluating prior art with respect to patentability, the Examiner has interpreted “the estimate” as referring to the “estimated power consumption values representing power consumption of the upcoming instructions” of Claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 8, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent Number 7,937,563 to Naffziger et al. (“Naffziger”).
In reference to Claim 1, Naffziger discloses an apparatus comprising: circuitry configured to: generate, prior to issuance, predicted power-consumption information for a plurality of upcoming instructions, the predicted power-consumption information comprising estimated power-consumption values representing power consumption of the upcoming instructions (See Figure 4 Numbers 402, 406, and 408 and Column 6 Line 29 – Column 8 Line 30); and store the estimated power-consumption values (See Figure 3B Number 340, Figure 4 Number 410, and Column 8 Lines 9-30); and change a rate at which the instructions are executed by instruction execution resources (See Figure 4 Number 418 and Column 8 Lines 44-63) in response to a difference between at least two of the estimated power consumption values exceeding a threshold (See Figure 4 Numbers 414 and 416 and Column 8 Lines 31-43).
In reference to Claim 4, Naffziger discloses the limitations as applied to Claim 1 above. Naffziger further discloses that the estimate corresponds to a first stage of a plurality of execution pipelines, and the change in rate of execution corresponds to a second stage later than the first stage (See Column 9 Lines 41-49).
In reference to Claim 8, Naffziger discloses a method comprising: circuitry generating, prior to issuance, predicted power-consumption information for a plurality of upcoming instructions, the predicted power-consumption information comprising estimated power-consumption values representing power consumption of the upcoming instructions (See Figure 4 Numbers 402, 406, and 408 and Column 6 Line 29 – Column 8 Line 30); and storing the estimated power-consumption values (See Figure 3B Number 340, Figure 4 Number 410, and Column 8 Lines 9-30); and changing a rate at which the instructions are executed by instruction execution resources (See Figure 4 Number 418 and Column 8 Lines 44-63) in response to a difference between at least two of the estimated power consumption values exceeding a threshold (See Figure 4 Numbers 414 and 416 and Column 8 Lines 31-43).
In reference to Claim 15, Naffziger discloses a computing system comprising: a plurality of chiplets (See Column 1 Lines 13-18, Column 8 Line 64 – Column 9 Line 11, and Column 9 Lines 39-41 [processor cores]); each comprising a plurality of execution pipelines (See Column 1 Lines 13-18); and a processor configured to assign workloads to the plurality of chiplets (See Column 1 Lines 13-18, Column 8 Line 64 – Column 9 Line 11, and Column 9 Lines 39-41 [multi-core processors necessarily require some sort of processing element to coordinate operations and assign workloads to a particular core]); and wherein circuitry of a given chiplet of the plurality of chiplets is configured to: generate, prior to issuance, predicted power-consumption information for a plurality of upcoming instructions, the predicted power-consumption information comprising estimated power-consumption values representing power consumption of the upcoming instructions (See Figure 4 Numbers 402, 406, and 408 and Column 6 Line 29 – Column 8 Line 30); and store the estimated power-consumption values (See Figure 3B Number 340, Figure 4 Number 410, and Column 8 Lines 9-30); and change a rate at which the instructions are executed by instruction execution resources (See Figure 4 Number 418 and Column 8 Lines 44-63) in response to a difference between at least two of the estimated power consumption values exceeding a threshold (See Figure 4 Numbers 414 and 416 and Column 8 Lines 31-43).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 2-3, 5-7, 9-10, and 12-20 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim(s) 4 and 11 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art fails to disclose, either alone or in combination, all of the claimed limitations in the combinations as claimed. The most relevant prior art reference is Naffziger as applied in the above rejections. Naffziger further discloses that the circuitry is configured to generate control information, based at least in part on the difference, to direct the rate of instruction execution of the instruction execution resources (See Column 8 Lines 44-63). However, Naffziger discloses that the rate of instruction execution is changed only for a corresponding clock cycle (See ). Naffziger further discloses that the control information is a simple output from a comparator having either an asserted or deasserted value (See). However, Naffziger does not explicitly disclose that the control information comprises a start time that indicates when to begin the change in the rate of execution. As the rate change of Naffziger is only for a corresponding clock cycle, the apparatus is already aware of the start, stop, and duration of the rate change. Furthermore, as the control information is a simple asserted/deasserted value, it has no capability on its own of carrying further information. Thus one of ordinary skill in the art would not have been motivated to include start information in the control information of Naffziger, as doing so would involve considerable additional complexity to utilize a more complex control information to provide information that is already known, and thus provides no enhancement to the apparatus.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/THOMAS J. CLEARY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2175