DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recite the limitations "the first network-connected device" in lines 15-16. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as previously recited “a first network-connected client device" in line 4 is different from "the first network-connected device". Note, claims 4, 5, and 8 has the same issues as stated above regarding "the first network-connected device".
Claim 1 recite the limitations "the second network-connected device" in lines 10 and 17. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as previously recited “a second network-connected client device" in line 9 is different from "the second network-connected device". Note, claims 3, 6-11, 13-16, and 19 has the same issues as stated above regarding "the second network-connected device".
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the first network-connected client device" in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the second network-connected client device" in lines 9-10 on pg. 8 of the claims. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Dependent claims 2, 12, 18, and 20 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite because of their respective dependence on claims 1, 9, and 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, 9, 11-13, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zoom (Video Meetings) as evidence YouTube video “How to run a Zoom webinar (Quick set up and tutorial)” https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ccSa83-EogE by Podia.
Claims 1 and 9. Podia discloses method, comprising:
receiving, by circuitry of an application system configured to communicate with a plurality of network-connected client devices, a first request from a first network-connected client device to initiate an application session (at 1:09 host webinar using Zoom, at 2:54-3:40 scheduling a webinar);
conveying, by the application system, at least one of application code or launch instructions to a second network-connected client device to initiate local execution of the application session on the second network-connected device, responsive to the first request (at 2:38-2:50 setup an account and download zoom meeting client or application, at 4:09-4:15 sends invitations for others to join the Zoom meeting); and
conveying, by the application system, data to the first network-connected device that enables the first network-connected device to control the application session executing on the second network-connected device (at 2:19-2:28 discusses host controls, at 3:40-3:54 discusses advance options of controlling the webinar).
Claims 3, 11, and 19. Podia discloses further comprising:
responsive to a termination request to terminate execution of the application session, extracting application data; and
saving the application data in a database (at 0:47 and 3:48-3:53 discusses the ability to record meetings).
Claims 4, 12, and 20. Podia discloses further comprising:
receiving a second request, distinct from the first request, from the first network-connected, the second request comprising a request to restore the application session;
identifying a third network-connected device to fulfill the second request; and
restoring, based at least in part on the application data, execution of the application session on the third network-connected device (at 7:27-7:31 discusses “Alternative Hosts”, where the primary user enables another user to host the meeting session).
Claims 5 and 13. Podia discloses further comprising causing, by the application system, the first network-connected device to host an application session for a third network-connected device, responsive to a request from the third network-connected device (at 1:08-1:14 discuss hosting a meeting up to 100 participants).
Claim 17. Podia discloses a computing system comprising:
a processor comprising circuitry configured to:
store tracked metric data (at 1:08-1:14, there is a limit on number of participants and limit on time per session) corresponding to a plurality of network-connected client devices (at 2:48-2:52 discusses mobile devices, where users have corresponding computing devices to join Zoom meetings);
receive, from a first network-connected device, a first request to initiate an application session (at 1:09 host webinar using Zoom, at 2:54-3:40 scheduling a webinar);
access the metric data to identify a given client device of the plurality of network-connected client devices to serve as a host for the application session (at 1:08-1:14, there is a limit on number of participants and limit on time per session, in order for a user’s corresponding computing device to host a Zoom meeting criteria of participants and/or time must be met);
convey application code or launch instructions to given client device that enables it to host the application session (at 2:38-2:50 setup an account and download zoom meeting client or application); and
convey data to the first network-connected device that enables the first network-connected device to control the application session executing on the second network-connected client device (at 2:19 discusses host controls, at 3:40-3:54 discusses advance options of controlling the webinar).
Claim 18. Podia discloses wherein the metric data comprises data corresponding to one or more of latency, availability, network connectivity, a history of successfully hosted sessions, a failure rate, host reliability, geographic or network proximity, device capabilities, user rating or feedback, session duration history, uptime, recent activity (at 1:08-1:14, there is a limit on number of participants and limit on time per session), and control responsiveness.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zoom (Video Meetings) as evidence YouTube video “How to run a Zoom webinar (Quick set up and tutorial)” https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ccSa83-EogE by Podia in view of US Pub. 20030217156 to Datta et al (Datta).
Claim 8. Podia fails to explicitly disclose a peer-to-peer manner.
Datta teaches a peer-to-peer manner (20030217156 ¶57 “a peer-to-peer configuration”). The gaming system of Podia would have motivation to use the teachings of Datta in order to provide faster data transfer through direct connections and greater user control over shared data often provided in peer-to-peer networks.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to the gaming system of Podia with the teachings of Datta in order to provide faster data transfer through direct connections and greater user control over shared data often provided in peer-to-peer networks.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 3-5, 8, 9, 11-13, and 17-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAMON J PIERCE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715