CTNF 18/346,216 CTNF 101899 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after July 01, 2023, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Election/Restrictions 08-25-02 Applicant’s election of claims 1-13 in the reply filed on March 30, 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on July 01, 2023 has been considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 AIA Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Claim 6 recites “the shield is raised above the plurality of first battery cell vents more than the shield is raised of the plurality of terminals.” The claim limitation “raised”, which is defined as “to lift something to a higher position or increase a quantity”. It’s not clear how the shield is “raised/lifted” higher in one location than another. Furthermore, the limitation of the shield being “raised” above the plurality of the first battery cell’s vents is unclear. The shield is interpreted as being raised above the plurality of the terminals however the terminals sit at a lower level than the vents as displayed in FIG 8. It is not clear how the shield is “raised” or “lifted” higher in one location than another. Examiner is interpreting “raised above” as the distance from the shield to the vent to be greater than that of the distance from the shield to the terminals, as it appears in FIG 8 below. The scope of claim 6 is therefore unclear. Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-15-aia AIA Claim s 1, 4-6, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)1 as being anticipated by He et al. (EP-3940859-A1) . Regarding claim 1 , He discloses a battery pack assembly (a battery module, comprising (Para [0001])): a first battery cell stack (a plurality of battery cells (Para [0001])) as annotated in Fig. 1 below; PNG media_image1.png 372 532 media_image1.png Greyscale a second battery cell stack (Fig. 1 schematically shows a battery module 10 comprising a plurality of battery cells 12 arranged side by side adjacent to one another in one or more rows 14 (Para [0036])) as annotated in Fig. 2 below; an enclosure having an interior area, the first and second battery cell stacks housed within the interior area (The battery cells 12 are grouped into groups 28 (Fig 2 shows groups 28 of two) and each group 28 is thermally isolated…The thermal isolation layers 30 and the battery cells 12, together with the vent channel system 22, may be arranged inside a housing 32 of the battery module 10 (Para [0042])); and a shield spanning over the first and second battery cell stacks within the interior area the shield defining a first channel (labelled in blue in the annotated Fig. 1 below) with the first battery cell stack to receive vent byproducts (these vent channels interconnect the vent heads. When the cell venting is activated, the accumulated gases inside a battery cell may burst out. After the venting, the gathered flammable gases may be released at a desired point. (Para [0014])) from at least one battery cell within the first battery cell stack, the shield defining a second channel (labelled in blue in the annotated Fig. 1 below) with the second battery cell stack to receive vent byproducts (the vent gases may be confined within the vent channels of the vent channel system and may be guided to a location outside of the battery module. The vent head receives vent gases and may distribute them to one or more vent channels that are connected to it. The connection between a vent head and a vent channel may be sealed, such that no vent gases may leave the interconnection (Para [0014])) from at least one battery cell within the second battery cell stack (as annotated below in Fig. 1, the shield (yellow dotted line) consists of the entire venting system which includes vent heads 20, and vent channels 24. There are vent channels 24 connecting the vent heads 20 of each row of battery cell stacks 14. There are further vent channels 24 interconnecting vent heads 20 of different rows, which run transversely to vent channels 24 connecting the vent heads 20 of a row 14 (Para [0040])). PNG media_image2.png 369 532 media_image2.png Greyscale Regrading claim 4 , Applicant is advised that the limitation of claim 1, wherein the shield is a stamped shield is a product-by-process limitation. There is no apparent difference between the apparatus as claimed and the prior art as taught by He. See MPEP § 2113 (I). Regarding claim 5 , He discloses the first battery cell stack includes a plurality of first battery cell vents (a battery module comprising a plurality of battery cells 12, each battery cell having a vent 20, 24 (Para [0012])) as annotated in Fig. 1 above, a plurality of terminals on a first side of the plurality of first battery cell vents, and a plurality of terminals on an opposite, second side of the plurality of first battery cell vents (as annotated in Fig. 1 above, the electrodes are labeled as 16, and are situated on both sides of the vents. Furthermore, there are vent channels 24 connecting the vent heads 20 of each row of battery cell stacks 14. There are further vent channels 24 interconnecting vent heads 20 of different rows, which run transversely to vent channels 24 connecting the vent heads 20 of a row 14 (Para [0040])), the shield contacting the first battery cell stack at a first location between the plurality of first battery cell vents and the plurality of terminals on the first side, the between the plurality of first battery cell vents and the plurality of terminals on the second side (as annotated in Fig. 8 below). PNG media_image3.png 406 608 media_image3.png Greyscale Regarding claim 6 , the shield is raised above the plurality of first battery cell vents more than the shield is raised of the plurality of terminals (as annotated above in Fig. 8 the shield (highlighted with a green dotted line) is visibly raised higher than the terminals 16 located on two sides of the shield on the battery cell). Regarding claim 9 , the first channel is open at an axial end of the first battery cell stack, wherein the second channel is open (openings of the vent channel heads towards the vents (Para [0022]), also annotated in Fig. 1 below in green are the openings of the first and second channels) at an axial end of the second battery cell stack (as annotated below in Fig. 1, the battery cells 12 may be prismatic cells and/or may have two electrodes 16 on an upper side which is interpreted to be an axial end of the battery cell stack. These electrodes may be connected (Para [0036])) . PNG media_image4.png 369 532 media_image4.png Greyscale Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries set forth in Graham v. John Deere Co. , 383 U.S. 1, 148 USPQ 459 (1966), that are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He et al. (EP-3940859-A1) in view of Williams et al. (US 20240313301 A1) . Regarding claim 2, He is silent on a polymer-based shield and therefore fails to teach this structural component of a battery cell module. Williams teaches a battery module with a thermally conductive layer which includes at least one-layer including metal, carbon, conductive polymer, or combinations thereof (Para [0050]). This helps prevent or mitigates thermal events, such as thermal runaway issues, in energy storage systems such as a battery module or pack with one or more battery cells that includes the multilayer thermal barrier materials, as well as systems including those battery modules or packs. It would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the instant invention to modify He’s teachings to include William’s teaching of a polymer shield in order to mitigate thermal events, allowing emitted gasses to be released in an improved way within a battery pack module. Furthermore, the selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the scope of one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.07 . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He et al. (EP-3940859-A1) in view of Boecker et al. (US11316230B1) . Regrading claim 3 , He is silent on the battery shield being less than three millimeters. However, Boecker teaches a heat shield may be between about 1 millimeter and about 3 millimeters thick… the heat shield 520 may be disposed adjacent to cells 304 and (e.g., in contact with cells 304), about 3 millimeters away, about 5 millimeters away, about 7 millimeters away, about 10 millimeters away, or more. In some examples, the distance between heat shield 520 and cells 304 may vary within a battery module and or between different battery modules (Column 13, lines 38-47). Furthermore, the thickness range of less than three millimeters of the battery shield would be sufficient to prevent impingement of surrounding battery structural components. It would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the instant invention to modify He’s teachings to include Boecker’s disclosure on the minimal thickness requirements of a heat shield (heat shield with a thickness of at least 1 millimeter and about 3 millimeters thick (Column 13, lines 39)) in order to optimally remove ejected gas and or active material expelled from coolant from the battery pack and improve thermal runaway for further mitigation. Furthermore, it has been held that obviousness exists where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art. See MPEP 2144.05 (I) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He et al. (EP-3940859-A1) in view of Persson et al. (US 20210288374 A1) . Regarding claim 7 , He fails to teach the shield defines a third channel above the plurality of terminals on the first side, and a fourth channel above the plurality of terminals on the second side, wherein the first and second channels are larger than the third and fourth channels. However, Persson teaches a cover for a battery module that is planar and has a plurality of vent ports…it includes one or more shield structures connected to the planar member, and each of the one or more shield structures form one or more channels with the planar member (Para [0010]). Persson discloses two channels that are above the terminals 18 in FIG. 4 (Para [0036]). The claim requires that there are third and fourth channels above the plurality of terminals. Furthermore, one or more shield structures form one or more channels with the planar member adapted to direct the one or more of gases, heat, pressure, and fire from the one or more battery cells to the predetermined region outside of the container. Each of the one or more shield structures includes a two-level planar structure. The two-level planar structure includes a first planar portion and a second planar portion. The first planar portion is connected to the planar member. The second planar portion is disposed above the one or more of the plurality of vent ports. Each of the one or more shield structures extends along the planar member. (Para [0017]). It would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the instant invention to modify He to include Persson’s teachings in order to have each of the one or more shield structures to be adapted to deflect and channel the one or more of the gases, heat, pressure, and fire emanating from the one or more of the plurality of vent ports to one or more sides of the cover. Furthermore, it is obvious to modify He to add third and fourth venting devices 20, 24 from FIG. 4 above the thermals in view of the teachings of Persson. It has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. See MPEP 2144.04 (IV) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He et al. (EP-3940859-A1) in view of Schuessler et al. (US 20210028424 A1) . Regarding claim 8, He fails to teach a cover or enclosure around the battery cell stacks. Schuessler teaches a simple “battery housing structure which comprises a housing base, a housing cover arranged opposite from the housing base, and multiple side walls, wherein a chamber is enclosed between the side walls, the housing base and the housing cover. A cavity or a chamber may be formed between the housing base, the housing cover and the side walls. Preferably, the chamber is designed to accommodate one or multiple battery cells of a battery” (Para [0011]). It would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the instant invention to modify He to include Schuessler’s battery enclosure/cover over the entire structure of He in which the shield would inherently be sandwiched between the cover and the battery cell stack for better thermal runaway. He teaches “substances emitted from battery cells during a thermal runaway may not only be flammable but also may be harmful to people and the environment. Therefore, a better battery module design may be required to manage the thermal energy and toxic substances in a safe and environmentally friendly manner” (Para [0009]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He et al. (EP 3940859 A1) in view of Groot et al. (US 20240204342 A1) . Regarding claims 10-12, He fails to teach wherein the enclosure includes a plurality of corrugations that project toward the shield, of instant claim 10, wherein the corrugations within the plurality of corrugations each contacts a portion of the shield providing a terminal clearance channel, of instant claim 11, and wherein a cover of the enclosure includes the plurality of corrugations, of instant claim 12. However, Groot discloses “a battery cell ventilation system comprising a corrugated sheet structure. The corrugated sheet may be positioned above or adjacent to one or more battery cells” (Para [0021]). Groot illustrates, in FIGS. 3-4B “additional corrugated sheet shapes and structures which may facilitate battery cell valve/vent relief, while preventing unwanted byproduct discharge (and other potential matter) affecting neighboring cells during ventilation. The corrugated sheet 306 may be configured with a variety of shapes, structures, alignments and sizes (e.g., a number of waveform variations, crest 308 heights, trough 309 depths, alignment between battery cells 302, the number of cells 302 being enclosed/encompassed with each enclosure/pocket 315 associated with each slit/pressure valve 312, etc.) to provide effective enclosure/encompassment of cells 302 , and sufficient gas/byproduct ventilation” (Para [0043]). Furthermore, in FIG. 3 the “slits/pressure valves 312 which may be located along the troughs 309 of the corrugated sheet 306…gas may be expelled through gas channel 320 formed between the crests 308 and troughs 309 of the corrugated sheet 306” (Para [0043]). Groot also illustrates, in FIG. 5A a “cross-sectional view of an embodiment of a corrugated sheet formed by swaging…plurality of battery cells (cells) 602 may be incorporated, which may be integrated as a battery cell module 603. A thermal resistant material 604 (such as a mica or other thermal resistant material) may be integrated between at cells 602, which may be used to reduce or prevent thermal conductivity directly between the cells 602. The thermal resistant material may be in the form of a sheet or strip structure to partially cover or protect at least one of the battery cells 602. A corrugated sheet 606 may be placed above the cells 602, providing a lid/cover to the cells 602. The corrugated sheet 606 comprises an expanded wave structure, wherein the structure comprises a plurality of crests 608 and a plurality of troughs 609. In embodiments, at least one crest 608 and at least one trough 609 of the corrugated sheet 606 may at least partially enclose/encase a cell 602, effectively forming various enclosures/pockets 615 among cells 602 and the troughs 609 of the corrugated sheet 606. The double corrugated profile may further reduce or eliminate the effect of gas with the neighboring cells (Para [0046]). The crests 608, integrated among the corrugated sheet 606, openings within the structure 618 (i.e. ventilation holes) may create channels 620 to allow for the gas/byproducts escaping from one or more of the cells 602” (Para [0047]). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the instant invention to incorporate the modifications of Groot’s battery enclosure that is in direct contact with a plurality of corrugations in order to provide a better clearance pathway for emitted gases and or pressures through clearance channels. Regarding claim 13 , He fails to teach the battery pack assembly of claim 10, wherein the corrugations within the plurality of corrugations each have a triangular cross-sectional profile. Groot discloses “the corrugated structure comprising a plurality of top elements (crests) and a plurality of lower elements (troughs), wherein at least one crest and at least one trough of the corrugated sheet may, at least partially, enclose/encase a cell, effectively forming various enclosures/pockets among cells and the crests of the corrugated sheet. The corrugated sheet may comprise one or more slits/pressure valves along each crest of the corrugated sheet” (Para [0021]). In the annotated FIG. 2A below, Groot further discloses a wave like structure of the corrugations and under each corrugation (crest) is a defined triangular cross-sectional area as depicted with the red arrow. PNG media_image5.png 384 340 media_image5.png Greyscale It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the instant invention to incorporate the modifications of Groot’s battery enclosure that is in direct contact with a plurality of corrugations shaped with a triangular cross-sectional area to allow better venting of emitted gases and or pressures. Furthermore, the courts have held that changes in shape are a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant [see MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B)]. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to NAHEED IQBAL MANN whose telephone number is (571)272-9170. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 7:30am-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Joshua Allen can be reached at (571) 270-3176. The fax phone number for 9the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /NAHEED IQBAL MANN/ Examiner, Art Unit 1713 /JOSHUA L ALLEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1713 Application/Control Number: 18/346,216 Page 2 Art Unit: 1713 Application/Control Number: 18/346,216 Page 3 Art Unit: 1713 Application/Control Number: 18/346,216 Page 4 Art Unit: 1713 Application/Control Number: 18/346,216 Page 5 Art Unit: 1713 Application/Control Number: 18/346,216 Page 6 Art Unit: 1713 Application/Control Number: 18/346,216 Page 7 Art Unit: 1713 Application/Control Number: 18/346,216 Page 8 Art Unit: 1713 Application/Control Number: 18/346,216 Page 9 Art Unit: 1713 Application/Control Number: 18/346,216 Page 10 Art Unit: 1713 Application/Control Number: 18/346,216 Page 11 Art Unit: 1713 Application/Control Number: 18/346,216 Page 12 Art Unit: 1713 Application/Control Number: 18/346,216 Page 13 Art Unit: 1713 Application/Control Number: 18/346,216 Page 14 Art Unit: 1713 Application/Control Number: 18/346,216 Page 15 Art Unit: 1713