DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/16/2024 and 10/11/2023 was filed before the mailing date of the first office action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khosravi et al (US 2021/0200880) in view of Durham et al (US 2021/0150040).
Regarding claims 1, 10 and 19, Khosravi et al discloses processor device, a non-transitory machine-readable medium storing at least a single instruction which, when executed by a machine, causes the machine to perform a method, and a method comprising[0215]:
decoding, by an instruction decoder of a processing device, a first instruction including a first prefix[0082] (decode circuitry configured to decode including prefixes);
performing, by cryptography circuitry of the processing device, a cryptographic operation on data, the cryptographic operation to be based at least in part on the first prefix and a pointer to the data [0055-0056, 0161-0162] (an instruction pointer is used).
However, Khosravi et al does not expressly disclose but Durham et al discloses that the operation is relative to enumeration in a pointer [0131] (enumeration may be included in the objects).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at to create the invention as claimed for the following reasons. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Khosravi et al by including enumeration relative to the pointer, for the purpose of securing access and protection to data, based upon the beneficial teachings provided by Durham et al, see for example [0131]. These modifications would result in ease of use and increased security, both of which are obvious benefits to the skilled artisan. Additionally, the cited references are in the field of computer security, as is the current application, and thus, are in analogous arts.
Regarding claims 2, 11, and 20, Khosravi et al and Durham et al disclose all the limitations of independent claims 1, 10, and 19. Khosravi et al further discloses decoding, by the instruction decoder, a second instruction including a second prefix based on the relative enumeration in the pointer [0087] (one or more instruction fields may be used).
Regarding claims 3 and 12, Khosravi et al and Durham et al disclose all the limitations of independent claims 1, 10, and 19. Khosravi et al further discloses wherein the data corresponds to a member of an object [0195, 0200] (an opcode indicates an address which links to the key).
Regarding claims 4 and 13, Khosravi et al and Durham et al disclose all the limitations of independent claims 1, 10, and 19. Khosravi et al further discloses wherein the first prefix is related to the member [0195, 0200-0201] (an opcode indicates an address which links to the key).
Regarding claims 5 and 14, Khosravi et al and Durham et al disclose all the limitations of independent claims 1, 10, and 19. Khosravi et al further discloses wherein the second prefix is related to the object [0195, 0200-0201] (an opcode indicates an address which links to the key).
Regarding claims 6 and 15, Khosravi et al and Durham et al disclose all the limitations of independent claims 1, 10, and 19. Khosravi et al does not expressly disclose but Durham et al further discloses wherein the cryptographic operation is based at least on a tweak derived from the first prefix and the relative enumeration [0024, 0028, 0131] (data input may be tweaked).
The motivation to combine is the same as disclosed in point (8) above.
Regarding claims 7 and 16, Khosravi et al and Durham et al disclose all the limitations of independent claims 1, 10, and 19. Khosravi et al does not expressly disclose but Durham et al further discloses wherein the tweak is derived from a sum of the first prefix and the relative enumeration [0129, 0316, 0028] (an opcode of ADD may be implemented depending on the data being accessed).
The motivation to combine is the same as disclosed in point (8) above.
Regarding claims 8 and 17, Khosravi et al and Durham et al disclose all the limitations of independent claims 1, 10, and 19. Khosravi et al does not expressly disclose but Durham et al further discloses performing, by execution circuitry of the processing device, one or more operations corresponding to the first instruction, including moving the data [0129, 0045, 0123, 0163] (an opcode of MOV may be implemented depending on the data being accessed).
The motivation to combine is the same as disclosed in point (8) above.
Regarding claims 9 and 18, Khosravi et al and Durham et al disclose all the limitations of independent claims 1, 10, and 19. Khosravi et al does not expressly disclose but Durham et al further discloses performing, by execution circuitry of the processing device, one or more operations corresponding to the second instruction, including calculating an effective address of the data based at least in part on the pointer [0028, 0033] (the address can be correctly decrypted based on information pulled from the tweak).
The motivation to combine is the same as disclosed in point (8) above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Eoyle et al (US 12,260,221) discloses instruction storage configured to selectively provide a group of two or more program instructions for execution in parallel; and trigger circuitry responsive to the generation of a trigger state by execution of program instructions and to a trigger condition associated with a given group of program instructions, to control the instruction storage to provide program instructions of the given group of program instructions for execution.
Adelman et al (US 12,517,728): discloses performing prefix sums in response to a single instruction. In some examples, the single instruction includes fields for an opcode, one or fields to reference a first source operand, one or fields to reference a second source operand, one or fields to reference a destination operand, wherein the opcode is to indicate that execution circuitry is, in response to a decoded instance of the single instruction, to at least: perform a prefix sum by for each non-masked data element position of the second source operand adding a data element of that data element position to each data element of preceding data element positions and adding at least one data element of a defined data element position of the first source operand, and store each prefix sum for each data element position of the second source operand into a corresponding data element position of the destination operand.
/KENDALL DOLLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2436