DETAILED ACTION
This is in reply to papers filed on 2023-07-01. Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 9, 17 is/are independent.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5, 13, 19 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Information Disclosure Statement PTO-1449
The Information Disclosure Statement(s) submitted by applicant on 2024-11-27, 2023-10-11 has/have been considered. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR § 1.97. Form PTO-1449 signed and attached hereto.
Summary of Claim Rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 102
The following table summarizes the rejections set forth in detail below of the claims over the prior art.
Claim No.
Durham '188
1
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
2
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
3
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
4
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
6
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
7
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
8
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
9
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
10
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
11
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
12
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
14
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
15
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
16
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
17
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
18
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
20
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-12, 14-18, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102 as being anticipated by U.S. Publication 20220012188 to Durham et al. (hereinafter "Durham '188"). Durham '188 is prior art to the claims under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1).
Per claim 1 (independent):
Durham '188 discloses a processor device (processor(s), memory, computer readable media, storage, executable instructions [Durham '188 ¶ 0204-0208, 0230-0234])
Durham '188 discloses an instruction decoder to decode a single instruction (decoder [Durham '188 ¶ 0206]; memory instruction also performs integrity check [Durham '188 ¶ 0070, 0075])
Durham '188 discloses to set an integrity check value (ICV) corresponding to a destination location in a memory (computes and stores ICV based on pointer and/or contents for memory location [Durham '188 ¶ 0038, 0050, 0055])
Durham '188 discloses execution circuitry coupled to the instruction decoder, the execution circuitry to perform one or more operations corresponding to the single instruction (executes instruction [Durham '188 ¶ 0069-0070, 0130, 0140, 0142])
Durham '188 discloses storing data indicated by the single instruction into the destination location, and storing the ICV in the memory (stores data and ICV to memory [Durham '188 ¶ 0193, 075, 0145, 0022, 0069-0070])
Per claim 2 (dependent on claim 1):
Durham '188 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 1 above, incorporated herein by reference
Durham '188 discloses performing an integrity check before storing the ICV (memory instruction also performs integrity check [Durham '188 ¶ 0070, 0075])
Per claim 3 (dependent on claim 1):
Durham '188 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 1 above, incorporated herein by reference
Durham '188 discloses the ICV is invalid ("If the integrity check determines the data has been modified/corrupted, then the memory operation may be blocked or aborted, and/or any suitable fault may be raised." [Durham '188 ¶ 0217])
Per claim 4 (dependent on claim 1):
Durham '188 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 1 above, incorporated herein by reference
Durham '188 discloses generating the ICV based at least in part on the indicated data (computes and stores ICV based on pointer and/or contents for memory location [Durham '188 ¶ 0038, 0050, 0055])
Per claim 6 (dependent on claim 4):
Durham '188 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 4 above, incorporated herein by reference
Durham '188 discloses determining whether a memory region including the destination location is initialized (initializes memory location upon allocation using particular initialization values [Durham '188 ¶ 0127, 0130, 0140, 0142, 0222])
Per claim 7 (dependent on claim 6):
Durham '188 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 6 above, incorporated herein by reference
Durham '188 discloses setting a flag bit to indicate that the memory region including the destination location is not initialized (initializes memory location upon allocation using particular initialization values [Durham '188 ¶ 0127, 0130, 0140, 0142, 0222])
Per claim 8 (dependent on claim 1):
Durham '188 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 1 above, incorporated herein by reference
Durham '188 discloses copying the indicated data from a source location in the memory, and performing an integrity check on the indicated data (stores data and ICV to memory [Durham '188 ¶ 0193, 075, 0145, 0022, 0069-0070]; memory instruction also performs integrity check [Durham '188 ¶ 0070, 0075])
Per claim 9 (independent):
The remaining limitations of the claim(s) correspond(s) to features of claim(s) 1 and the claim(s) is/are rejected for the reasons detailed with respect to those claims.
Per claim 10 (dependent on claim 9):
Durham '188 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 9 above, incorporated herein by reference
The remaining limitations of the claim(s) correspond(s) to features of claim(s) 2 and the claim(s) is/are rejected for the reasons detailed with respect to those claims.
Per claim 11 (dependent on claim 9):
Durham '188 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 9 above, incorporated herein by reference
The remaining limitations of the claim(s) correspond(s) to features of claim(s) 3 and the claim(s) is/are rejected for the reasons detailed with respect to those claims.
Per claim 12 (dependent on claim 9):
Durham '188 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 9 above, incorporated herein by reference
The remaining limitations of the claim(s) correspond(s) to features of claim(s) 4 and the claim(s) is/are rejected for the reasons detailed with respect to those claims.
Per claim 14 (dependent on claim 12):
Durham '188 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 12 above, incorporated herein by reference
The remaining limitations of the claim(s) correspond(s) to features of claim(s) 6 and the claim(s) is/are rejected for the reasons detailed with respect to those claims.
Per claim 15 (dependent on claim 14):
Durham '188 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 14 above, incorporated herein by reference
The remaining limitations of the claim(s) correspond(s) to features of claim(s) 7 and the claim(s) is/are rejected for the reasons detailed with respect to those claims.
Per claim 16 (dependent on claim 9):
Durham '188 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 9 above, incorporated herein by reference
The remaining limitations of the claim(s) correspond(s) to features of claim(s) 8 and the claim(s) is/are rejected for the reasons detailed with respect to those claims.
Per claim 17 (independent):
Durham '188 discloses a non-transitory machine-readable medium storing at least a single instruction which, when executed by a machine, causes the machine to perform a method (processor(s), memory, computer readable media, storage, executable instructions [Durham '188 ¶ 0204-0208, 0230-0234])
The remaining limitations of the claim(s) correspond(s) to features of claim(s) 1 and the claim(s) is/are rejected for the reasons detailed with respect to those claims.
Per claim 18 (dependent on claim 17):
Durham '188 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 17 above, incorporated herein by reference
The remaining limitations of the claim(s) correspond(s) to features of claim(s) 4 and the claim(s) is/are rejected for the reasons detailed with respect to those claims.
Per claim 20 (dependent on claim 18):
Durham '188 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 18 above, incorporated herein by reference
The remaining limitations of the claim(s) correspond(s) to features of claim(s) 6 and 7 and the claim(s) is/are rejected for the reasons detailed with respect to those claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/THEODORE C PARSONS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2494