DETAILED ACTION
Art Unit- Location
The Art Unit location of your application in the USPTO has changed. To aid in correlating any papers for this application, all further correspondence regarding this application should be directed to Art Unit 2642.
Response to Amendment
This Action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed on 09/28/2025. Claims 1-20 are still pending in the present application. This Action is made FINAL.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 6-11, 14, 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being un-patentable over Khoryaev WIPO Application No. :( WO 2020/206021 A1) hereinafter referred as Khoryaev, in view of Yoshioka et al US Patent Application No.:( US 2022/0417867 A1) hereinafter referred as Yoshioka.
For claim 1, Khoryaev teaches a method for increasing an accuracy of position estimation comprising:
receiving, at a user equipment, configuration data of a downlink positioning reference signal resource set (paragraph [0057], lines 1-4), wherein the configuration data indicates an association between a first downlink positioning reference signal resource and a second downlink positioning reference signal resource(paragraph [0057], lines 4-8);
obtaining a first reference signal received power measurement of the first downlink positioning reference signal resource and a second reference signal received power measurement of the second downlink positioning reference signal resource (paragraph [0164], lines 1-14). However, Khoryaev disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the user equipment transmits the first reference signal received power measurement, the user equipment shall also transmit the second reference signal received power measurement to a transmission/reception point based on the association between the first downlink positioning reference signal resource and the second downlink positioning reference signal resource as recited in claim 1.
Yoshioka from the same or analogous art teaches the user equipment transmits the first reference signal received power measurement, the user equipment shall also transmit the second reference signal received power measurement to a transmission/reception point based on the association between the first downlink positioning reference signal resource and the second downlink positioning reference signal resource (Paragraph [0257], lines 1-11). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the user equipment transmits the first reference signal received power measurement, the user equipment shall also transmit the second reference signal received power measurement to a transmission/reception point based on the association between the first downlink positioning reference signal resource and the second downlink positioning reference signal resource as taught by Yoshioka into the measurement and procedures for NR position device of Khoryaev.
The user equipment transmits the first reference signal received power measurement, the user equipment shall also transmit the second reference signal received power measurement to a transmission/reception point based on the association between the first downlink positioning reference signal resource and the second downlink positioning reference signal resource can be modify/implemented by combining the user equipment transmits the first reference signal received power measurement, the user equipment shall also transmit the second reference signal received power measurement to a transmission/reception point based on the association between the first downlink positioning reference signal resource and the second downlink positioning reference signal resource with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Yoshioka into the measurement and procedures for NR position device of Khoryaev. As disclosed in Yoshioka, the motivation for the combination would be to use the user equipment transmits the first reference signal received power measurement, the user equipment shall also transmit the second reference signal received power measurement to a transmission/reception point based on the association between the first downlink positioning reference signal resource and the second downlink positioning reference signal resource helping the user device to select the better connection according to the power, becoming more efficient and reliable for a better communication.
For claim 3, Khoryaev teaches the method, further comprising:
obtaining an antenna arrangement of the transmission/reception point, wherein the antenna arrangement indicates spatial adjacencies of transmit beams (paragraph [0104], lines 1-8) ;
determining a set of downlink positioning reference signal resource associations based on the spatial adjacencies of transmit beams (paragraph [0063], lines 10-12) and (paragraph [0071], lines 1-4); and
updating the configuration data based on the set of downlink positioning reference signal resource associations (paragraph [0063], lines 8-13) and (paragraph [0164], lines 1-8).
For claim 6, Khoryaev teaches the method, wherein obtaining the first reference signal received power measurement comprises obtaining the first reference signal received power measurement (paragraph [0171], lines 8-14) and a third reference signal received power measurement with a same spatial domain filter (paragraph [0164], lines 6-14).
For claim 7, Khoryaev teaches the method, wherein the first reference signal received power measurement (paragraph [0181], lines 1-5) and (paragraph [0189], lines 1-5) and the second reference signal received power measurement are associated with a same timestamp (paragraph [0093], lines 7-13).
For claim 8, Khoryaev teaches a system comprising a computer system that comprises one or more processors programmed with computer program instructions that, when executed, cause the computer system to perform operations comprising:
receiving, at a user equipment, configuration data of a downlink positioning reference signal resource set (paragraph [0057], lines 1-4), wherein the configuration data indicates an association between a first downlink positioning reference signal resource and a second downlink positioning reference signal resource (paragraph [0057], lines 4-8);
obtaining a first signal measurement of the first downlink positioning reference signal resource and a second signal measurement of the second downlink positioning reference signal resource(paragraph [0164], lines 1-14). However, Khoryaev disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the user equipment transmits the first signal measurement, the user equipment is configured to: transmit the second signal measurement to a transmission/reception point based on the association between the first downlink positioning reference signal resource and the second downlink positioning reference signal resource as recited in claim 8.
Yoshioka from the same or analogous art teaches the user equipment transmits the first signal measurement, the user equipment is configured to: transmit the second signal measurement to a transmission/reception point based on the association between the first downlink positioning reference signal resource and the second downlink positioning reference signal resource (Paragraph [0257], lines 1-11). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the user equipment transmits the first signal measurement, the user equipment is configured to: transmit the second signal measurement to a transmission/reception point based on the association between the first downlink positioning reference signal resource and the second downlink positioning reference signal resource as taught by Yoshioka into the measurement and procedures for NR position device of Khoryaev.
The user equipment transmits the first signal measurement, the user equipment is configured to: transmit the second signal measurement to a transmission/reception point based on the association between the first downlink positioning reference signal resource and the second downlink positioning reference signal resource and be modify/implemented by combining the user equipment transmits the first signal measurement, the user equipment is configured to: transmit the second signal measurement to a transmission/reception point based on the association between the first downlink positioning reference signal resource and the second downlink positioning reference signal resource with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Yoshioka into the measurement and procedures for NR position device of Khoryaev. As disclosed in Yoshioka, the motivation for the combination would be to use the user equipment transmits the first reference signal received power measurement, the user equipment shall also transmit the second reference signal received power measurement to a transmission/reception point based on the association between the first downlink positioning reference signal resource and the second downlink positioning reference signal resource helping the user device to select the better connection according to the power, becoming more efficient and reliable for a better communication.
For claim 9, Khoryaev teaches the system, the operations further comprising sending a time of arrival measurement of the first downlink positioning reference signal resource to the transmission/reception point (paragraph [0018], lines 8-20).
For claim 10, Khoryaev teaches the system, the operations further comprising sending a differential time of arrival of the second downlink positioning reference signal resource to the transmission/reception point, wherein the differential time of arrival is equal to a difference between the time of arrival of the first downlink positioning reference signal resource and a time of arrival of the second downlink positioning reference signal resource (paragraph [0042], lines 1-4) and (paragraph [0044], lines 1-9).
For claim 11, Khoryaev teaches the system, the operations further comprising: obtaining an antenna arrangement of the transmission/reception point, wherein the antenna arrangement indicates a spatial-adjacencies of transmit beams (paragraph [0104], lines 1-8);
determining a set of downlink positioning reference signal resource associations based on the spatial adjacencies of transmit beams (paragraph [0063], lines 10-12) and (paragraph [0071], lines 1-4); and
updating the configuration data based on the set of downlink positioning reference signal resource associations (paragraph [0063], lines 8-13) and (paragraph [0164], lines 1-8).
For claim 14, Khoryaev teaches the system, the operations further comprising sending a Reference Signal Time Difference of the first downlink positioning reference signal resource to the transmission/reception point (paragraph [0033], lines 3-10).
For claim 16, Khoryaev teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing program code that, when executed by a computer system, causes the computer system to perform operations comprising:
receiving, at a user equipment, configuration data of a downlink positioning reference signal resource set (paragraph [0057], lines 1-4), wherein the configuration data indicates an association between a first downlink positioning reference signal resource and a second downlink positioning reference signal resource (paragraph [0057], lines 4-8);
obtaining a first signal measurement of the first downlink positioning reference signal resource and a second signal measurement of the second downlink positioning reference signal resource (paragraph [0164], lines 1-14);
determining a first value based on the first signal measurement (paragraph [0187] and [0189], lines 1-4); determining a second value based on the second signal measurement (paragraph [0171], lines 1-14) and (paragraph [0216], lines 1-13) . However, Khoryaev disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the user equipment transmits the first signal measurement, the user equipment is configured to: transmit the second signal measurement to a transmission/reception point based on the association between the first downlink positioning reference signal resource and the second downlink positioning reference signal resource as recited in claim 16.
Yoshioka from the same or analogous art teaches the user equipment transmits the first signal measurement, the user equipment is configured to: transmit the second signal measurement to a transmission/reception point based on the association between the first downlink positioning reference signal resource and the second downlink positioning reference signal resource (Paragraph [0257], lines 1-11). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the user equipment transmits the first signal measurement, the user equipment is configured to: transmit the second signal measurement to a transmission/reception point based on the association between the first downlink positioning reference signal resource and the second downlink positioning reference signal resource as taught by Yoshioka into the measurement and procedures for NR position device of Khoryaev.
The user equipment transmits the first signal measurement, the user equipment is configured to: transmit the second signal measurement to a transmission/reception point based on the association between the first downlink positioning reference signal resource and the second downlink positioning reference signal resource can be modify/implemented by combining the user equipment transmits the first signal measurement, the user equipment is configured to: transmit the second signal measurement to a transmission/reception point based on the association between the first downlink positioning reference signal resource and the second downlink positioning reference signal resource with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Yoshioka into the measurement and procedures for NR position device of Khoryaev. As disclosed in Yoshioka, the motivation for the combination would be to use the user equipment transmits the first reference signal received power measurement, the user equipment shall also transmit the second reference signal received power measurement to a transmission/reception point based on the association between the first downlink positioning reference signal resource and the second downlink positioning reference signal resource helping the user device to select the better connection according to the power, becoming more efficient and reliable for a better communication.
For claim 17, Khoryaev teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the operations further comprise:
determining a user equipment Rx-Tx time difference of the first downlink positioning reference signal resource (paragraph [0063], lines 8-13) and (paragraph [0164], lines 1-8); and transmitting the user equipment Rx-Tx time difference (paragraph [0033], lines 3-10), (paragraph [0039], lines 1-8) and (paragraph [0040], lines 7-9).
For claim 18, Khoryaev teaches the storage medium, wherein: determining the first value comprises determining a category value based on the first signal measurement (paragraph [0024], lines 3-10); and determining the second value comprises determining a category value based on the second signal measurement (paragraph [0033], lines 3-10) and (paragraph [0058], lines 1-7).
For claim 19, Khoryaev teaches the storage medium, wherein the first signal measurement is a reference signal received power measurement (paragraph [0070], lines 1-8).
For claim 20, Khoryaev teaches the storage medium, wherein the operations further comprise: determining an additional signal value associated with the first downlink positioning reference signal resource, wherein the additional signal value comprises at least one of a received signal strength indicator, a reference signal received quality, or a signal-to-noise and interference ratio; and sending the additional signal value to the transmission/reception point (paragraph [0120], lines 1-11) and (paragraph [0164], lines 1-8).
Claim 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being un-patentable over Khoryaev WIPO Application No. :( WO 2020/206021 A1) hereinafter referred as Khoryaev, in view of Yoshioka et al US Patent Application No.:( US 2022/0417867 A1) hereinafter referred as Yoshioka, in further view of Shreevastav et al US Patent Application No.:( US 2022/0311488 A1) hereinafter referred as Shreevastav.
For claim 2, Khoryaev disclose the association between the first downlink positioning reference signal resource and the second downlink positioning reference signal resource indicates that the first beam is adjacent to the second beam on the transmission/reception point (paragraph [0063], lines 8-13). However, Khoryaev disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the first downlink positioning reference signal resource is communicated to the user equipment via a first beam of the transmission/reception point;
the second downlink positioning reference signal resource is communicated to the user equipment via a second beam of the transmission/reception point as recited in claim 2.
Shreevastav from the same or analogous art teaches the first downlink positioning reference signal resource is communicated to the user equipment via a first beam of the transmission/reception point (paragraph [0028], lines 1-8);
the second downlink positioning reference signal resource is communicated to the user equipment via a second beam of the transmission/reception point (paragraph [0029], lines 1-8). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the first downlink positioning reference signal resource is communicated to the user equipment via a first beam of the transmission/reception point;
the second downlink positioning reference signal resource is communicated to the user equipment via a second beam of the transmission/reception point as taught by Shreevastav into the measurement and procedures for NR positioning of Khoryaev.
The first downlink positioning reference signal resource is communicated to the user equipment via a first beam of the transmission/reception point;
the second downlink positioning reference signal resource is communicated to the user equipment via a second beam of the transmission/reception point can be modify/implemented by combining the first downlink positioning reference signal resource is communicated to the user equipment via a first beam of the transmission/reception point;
the second downlink positioning reference signal resource is communicated to the user equipment via a second beam of the transmission/reception point with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Shreevastav into the measurement and procedures for NR positioning of Khoryaev. As disclosed in Shreevastav, the motivation for the combination would be to use the separation of the multiple downlink transmission which Increase capacity and spectral efficiency becoming more efficient and reliable for a better communication.
Claim 13 Is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being un-patentable over Khoryaev WIPO Application No. :( WO 2020/206021 A1) hereinafter referred as Khoryaev, in view of Jonsson et al US Patent Application No.:( US 2010/0087219 A1) hereinafter referred as Jonsson.
For claim 13, Khoryaev disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the value comprises setting the value as equal to a difference between the first signal measurement and the second signal measurement as recited in claim 13.
Jonsson from the same or analogous art teaches the value comprises setting the value as equal to a difference between the first signal measurement and the second signal measurement (fig 4 and 5) (paragraph [0017], lines 1-6). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the value comprises setting the value as equal to a difference between the first signal measurement and the second signal measurement as taught by Jonsson into the measurement and procedures for NR positioning of Khoryaev.
The value comprises setting the value as equal to a difference between the first signal measurement and the second signal measurement can be modify/implemented by combining the value comprises setting the value as equal to a difference between the first signal measurement and the second signal measurement with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Jonsson into the measurement and procedures for NR positioning of Khoryaev. As disclosed in Jonsson, the motivation for the combination would be to use the value as equal to a difference between the first signal which improves Control and Optimization allowing control loops becoming more efficient for a better communication
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5, 12 and 15 are objected as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH AREVALO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642