DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
1. The amendment filed 11/19/2025 has been entered. Amended Claims 1-6 and 9-12 have been noted. The amendment has overcome all of the specification objections and claim objections previously set forth - those specification objections and claim objections have been withdrawn accordingly. Claims 1-12 are currently pending.
Claim Objections
2. The claims listed below are objected to because of the following informalities:
In Claim 1, line 7, change “the control part” to -- a control part --
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Licata (US 5,354,110) in view of Hsu (US 6,513,844 B1).
Regarding Claim 1, Licata teaches of a gripper (1) (see Fig. 1), comprising:
a first connecting part (2), which forms a cylindrical structure (see at least Col. 4 lines 17-29 and Figs. 1, 5);
a second connecting part (2’) which forms a cylindrical structure (see at least Col. 4 lines 17-29 and Figs. 1, 5);
a control part (6) that is arranged at a lower side of the first connecting part and is movably connected with the first connecting part (see at least Col. 4 lines 17-51 and Figs. 1, 5-6);
a movable gripper (11) that is arranged at an end of the second connecting part and detachably connected with the second connecting part (see at least Col. 4 lines 52-66 and Figs. 1, 5-6);
a connecting assembly (7) passing through the first connecting part and the second connecting part, wherein one end of the connecting assembly is movably connected with the control part, and the other end of the connecting assembly is detachably connected with one end of the movable gripper (see at least Col. 4 lines 36-66 and Figs. 1, 5-6).
Licata fails to explicitly teach that one end of the first connecting part is provided with an opening structure, that one end of the second connecting part is detachably connected with the one end of the first connecting part provided with the opening structure and that the connecting assembly includes a movable joint structure disposed between the first connecting part and the second connecting part, the movable joint structure having two ring members provided at adjacent ends of the connecting assembly and a screw or a pin passing through the two ring members to form an axis of rotation, such that the first connecting part and the second connecting part are rotatably connected with each other through the movable joint structure.
Hsu discloses a relatable gripping device (Fig. 1) that comprises a first connecting part (1), a second connecting part (2) and a connecting assembly (connecting assembly comprising elements (6) and (7)) that extends through each of the first and second connecting parts between a control part (11) and a movable gripper (42) (see at least Col. 4 lines 42-57, Col. 5 lines 36-61 and Figs. 1, 6, 8). Hsu teaches that one end of the first connecting part (1) is provided with an opening structure (as is shown in Fig. 6) and that one end of the second connecting part is detachably connected with the one end of the first connecting part provided with the opening structure (as is shown in Figs. 1, 6 and 8) (see at least Col. 5 lines 36-61 and Figs. 1, 6-9). Hsu also teaches that the connecting assembly includes a movable joint structure (the movable joint structure comprising the ring member of element (311) as shown in Fig. 6, the ring member at the end of element (6) as shown in Fig. 6 and pin (33) that passes through both ring members to thereby join them) (see at least Col. 5 lines 48-61 and Figs. 6, 8-9) disposed between the first connecting part and the second connecting part (as is shown in Figs. 6, 8-9), the movable joint structure having two ring members (the ring member of element (311) as shown in Fig. 6 and the ring member at the end of element (6) as shown in Fig. 6) provided at adjacent ends of the connecting assembly (as is shown in Figs. 6, 8-9) and a screw or a pin (33) passing through the two ring members to form an axis of rotation (as is shown in Figs. 6, 8-9), such that the first connecting part and the second connecting part are rotatably connected with each other through the movable joint structure (see at least Col. 5 lines 48-61 and Figs. 6, 8-9). Hsu teaches that such arrangement, inter alia, enables the first and second connecting parts to be detached from one another in addition to allowing the connecting assembly to be detached at its mid-section which enables selective securement, assembly and adjustment of the components of the gripping device as desired (see at least Abstract, Col. 7 lines 3-26 and Figs. 1, 6-9).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the apparatus taught by Licata by configuring one end of the existing first connecting part to be provided with an opening structure such that one end of the existing second connecting part would be detachably connected with the one end of the first connecting part as is taught by Hsu, to have configured the existing connecting assembly to be detachable at its mid-section as is also taught by Hsu and to have configured the existing connecting assembly to include a movable joint structure disposed between the first connecting part and the second connecting part, the movable joint structure having two ring members provided at adjacent ends of the connecting assembly and a pin passing through the two ring members to form an axis of rotation, such that the first connecting part and the second connecting part are rotatably connected with each other through the movable joint structure as is also taught by Hsu. Doing so would have (at least) enabled selective securement, assembly and adjustment of the components of the apparatus as desired. Note that such modification would have necessarily resulted in the invention as claimed.
Regarding Claim 2, Hsu also teaches that a circular ring member (30) is formed along an outer wall of the first connecting part (1) at an opening structure side (see at least Col. 4 lines 25-57 and Figs. 1, 6-9), and that an outer wall of the circular ring member and the outer wall of the first connecting part form a step (303) (as is shown in Fig. 6 - see at least Col. 4 lines 25-57 and Figs. 1, 6-9),
and that when the second connecting part (2) is assembled with the first connecting part (1), the circular ring member of the first connecting part is embedded in an opening at one end of the second connecting part (opening formed by element (20) of the second connecting part) (see at least Col. 4 lines 25-57 and Figs. 1, 6-9 and note that this arrangement would necessarily be a part of the combined apparatus to thereby facilitate the teachings of Hsu in the combined apparatus).
Regarding Claim 3, Hsu also teaches that the connecting assembly, as modified in the combined apparatus, is capable of being rotated and folded relative to the first and second connecting parts through the movable joint structure (via at least the hinged connection of each portion (6, 7) of the connecting component to element (31)) (see at least Col. 5 lines 48-62 and Figs. 1 and 6-9).
Regarding Claim 4, Licata also teaches that one end of the second connecting part (2’) is provided with a connecting part (12), the upper end of the connecting part is provided with a notch (23), and one end of the movable gripper (11) is embedded in the notch of the connecting part and detachably connected with the connecting part (see at least Col. 4 line 52 - Col. 5 line 10 and Figs. 1-6).
Regarding Claim 5, Licata also teaches that one end of the connecting part is detachably connected with the movable gripper (11) via a first screw (13) (see at least Col. 4 line 52 - Col. 5 line 10 and Figs. 1-6).
Regarding Claim 6, Licata also teaches that a first gripper (10) and a second gripper (other element (10)) are arranged on the opposite sides of the movable gripper (11), the first gripper and the second gripper are fixedly arranged with the second connecting part (see at least Col. 4 line 52 - Col. 5 line 10 and Figs. 1-6).
Regarding Claim 7, Licata also teaches that the first gripper (10), the second gripper (other element (10)) and the movable gripper (11) are arranged in an arc structure (as is shown in Fig. 1) (see at least Col. 4 line 52 - Col. 5 line 10 and Figs. 1-6).
Regarding Claim 8, Licata also teaches that the first gripper (10), the second gripper (other element (10)) and the movable gripper (11) are matched to form a clamping opening capable of grasping/releasing objects (see at least Col. 4 line 52 - Col. 5 line 10 and Figs. 1-6).
Regarding Claim 9, Licata also teaches that the movable gripper (11) is provided with a first round hole (20), that one end of the connecting assembly is detachably connected with the movable gripper through the first round hole (20) (see at least Col. 5 lines 17-41 and Figs. 5-6);
and that the first connecting part (2) is provided with a square opening (19), and the other end of the connecting assembly passes through the square opening and extends to the outside (as is shown in Figs. 5-6) (see at least Col. 5 lines 17-41 and Figs. 5-6).
Regarding Claim 10, Licata also teaches that the control part (6) is arranged at an adjacent side of the square opening (19) of the first connecting part (2), and that one end of the control part (6) is detachably connected with the other end of the connecting assembly passing through the square opening (as is shown in Figs. 5-6) (see at least Col. 5 lines 17-41 and Figs. 5-6).
Regarding Claim 11, Licata also teaches that an upper end of the control part (6) is provided with a U-shaped clamping groove (as is shown in Fig. 1), and that the U- shaped clamping groove is provided with a symmetrical round hole (see at least Col. 4 lines 42-51 and Figs. 1 and 5-6), and that the U-shaped clamping groove is clamped on an outer edge of the first connecting part (2) (as is shown in Fig. 1), and that a second screw (9) passes through the first connecting part and the round hole to movably connect the control part (see at least Col. 4 lines 42-51 and Figs. 1 and 5-6).
Regarding Claim 12, Licata also teaches that the lower end of the U-shaped clamping groove is detachably connected with the other end of the connecting assembly via a third screw (8) (as is shown in Fig. 1) (see at least Col. 4 lines 42-51 and Figs. 1 and 5-6).
Response to Arguments
The arguments filed 11/19/2025 have been fully considered but have not been found persuasive for the following reasons:
Applicant has argued that Claim 1 as amended is now distinguished from the previously relied upon prior art and contends that:
“No portion of Hsu suggests or enables a joint between the first and second connecting parts that allows angular rotation.” and that:
“Hsu's detachment described at column 7 lines 3-26 merely allows the user to separate components for cleaning or adjustment. It does not disclose any intermediate movable joint or structural feature permitting rotation between the tubes. The detachable engagement in Hsu is axial, pull-apart, not pivoting. In contrast, present invention's connecting assembly with the movable joint (501) provides a rotational axis that enables folding, compact storage, and one-hand operation without disassembly. The mechanical principle, telescopic sliding versus hinged rotation is therefore entirely different.” and that:
“Further, Hsu discloses a completely different system. Hsu's device employs a telescopic arrangement in which a tube slides coaxially inside a pipe and is locked or released by a cam, latch, and catch mechanism. Motion is transmitted to the gripping claws through a flexible cable running axially inside the pipe, and a ring 30 is merely a stationary mounting collar attached to the pipe for securing an external beam by a bolt. Hsu's structure permits linear extension and retraction only, it has no pivot or hinge between tubular sections and cannot transmit torque or push-pull forces through a bend. The ring in Hsu does not join two tubes together, nor does it form an internal joint, its function is entirely unrelated to present invention's movable joint or step-fit connection.” and that:
“Accordingly, Hsu neither discloses nor suggests a connecting assembly having two ring members joined by a screw or pin forming a rotational axis between tubular connecting parts, nor does it address the problem of compact folding and storage solved by the present invention.”
Claim 1 as amended is still too broad to overcome the prior art of record and the arguments concerning the same are not persuasive. In the instant case, the Hsu reference in the combination of Licata and Hsu also teaches that the connecting assembly includes a movable joint structure (the movable joint structure comprising the ring member of element (311) as shown in Fig. 6, the ring member at the end of element (6) as shown in Fig. 6 and pin (33) that passes through both ring members to thereby join them) (see at least Col. 5 lines 48-61 and Figs. 6, 8-9) disposed between the first connecting part and the second connecting part (as is shown in Figs. 6, 8-9), the movable joint structure having two ring members (the ring member of element (311) as shown in Fig. 6 and the ring member at the end of element (6) as shown in Fig. 6) provided at adjacent ends of the connecting assembly (as is shown in Figs. 6, 8-9) and a screw or a pin (33) passing through the two ring members to form an axis of rotation (as is shown in Figs. 6, 8-9), such that the first connecting part and the second connecting part are rotatably connected with each other through the movable joint structure (see at least Col. 5 lines 48-61 and Figs. 6, 8-9). Thus, as is presented above in this Office Action, the combination of Licata and Hsu would have necessarily comprised all elements of amended Claim 1 to ascertain the advantage of (at least) enabling selective securement, assembly and adjustment of the components of the apparatus as desired. Therefore, Claim 1 as amended is still too broad to overcome the prior art of record and the arguments concerning the same are not persuasive.
It is recommended that Applicant further amend Claim 1 to include additional structural elements and/or features that are not present in any of the cited prior art including that of Licata and Hsu (if any exist).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following prior art is considered relevant to this application in terms of structure and use:
Stover (US 4,176,871)
Stright (US 4,105,238)
Apfel (US 2,279,809)
Apfel et al. (US 2,125,214)
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BENJAMIN W JOHNSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3762 3/2/2026
/STEVEN B MCALLISTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762