DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Satou et al. (US 20150330703), hereinafter referred to as Satou, in view of Patterson (US Pat No. 3,664,150), hereinafter referred to as Patterson,.
Re claim 16, Satou teaches a
a cooling circuit (10) comprising
a hot gas flow path (24) comprising
an inlet (inlet after 31) located on the cooling circuit between a discharge port of a compressor (11) and a heat rejection heat exchanger valve (see Fig below; where it shows that regardless of the check valve, the inlet is located between the discharge port of 11 and the heat exchanger valve 32; see circle in between the line shown below);
a first outlet (outlet of 24) and a second outlet (outlet of 23);
a proportional valve (43);
a first evaporator valve (44)
a first drain pan inlet (inlet to 37) (see Fig 1)
Satou does not explicitly teach a second evaporator valve and a second drain pan inlet.
However, Patterson teaches a multi-compartment system comprising a cooling circuit (Fig 1) comprising a hot gas flow path comprising a second evaporator valve (24) and a second drain pan inlet (inlet to 20).
Therefore, at the time the invention was filed it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Satou and integrated a second evaporator valve and a second drain pan inlet, as taught by Patterson, in order to have the capability of cooling/heating multiple compartments.
Claim(s) 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Satou, in view of Patterson, in view of Ishimura et al. (US 20250155154), hereinafter referred to as Ishimura.
Re claim 17 and 20, Satou, as modified, teaches the multi-compartment transport refrigeration system of claim 16. Satou, as modified, does not teach the limitation of further comprising a controller configured to regulate hot gas flow to provide heat to a first compartment while cooling to a second compartment.
However, Ishimura teaches a system comprising a cooling circuit (10) comprising a controller configured to regulate hot gas flow to provide heat to a first compartment (compartment where 14b is placed) and cooling to a second compartment (compartment where 14a is placed) (e.g. see Fig 9).
Therefore, at the time the invention was filed it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in
the art to have modified Satou and integrated a controller configured to regulate hot gas flow to provide heat to a first compartment while cooling to a second compartment, as taught by Ishimura, in order to have the
capability of cooling/heating multiple compartments.
Re claim 18, Satou, as modified, teaches the multi-compartment transport refrigeration system of claim 16. Satou, as modified, does not teach the limitation of further comprising a controller configured to regulate hot gas flow to provide heat to a first compartment while defrosting a second evaporator associated with a second compartment.
However, Ishimura teaches a system comprising a cooling circuit (10) comprising a controller is configured to regulate hot gas flow to provide heat to a first compartment (compartment where 14a is placed) and defrosting to the second evaporator associated with a second compartment (compartment where 14b is placed) (e.g. see Fig 5).
Therefore, at the time the invention was filed it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in
the art to have modified Satou and integrated a controller configured to regulate hot gas flow to provide heat to a first compartment while defrosting a second evaporator associated with a second compartment, as taught by Ishimura, in order to have the
capability of cooling/heating multiple compartments.
Re claim 19, Satou, as modified, teaches the multi-compartment transport refrigeration system of claim 16. Satou, as modified, does not teach the limitation of further comprising a controller configured to regulate hot gas flow to provide defrosting to a first evaporator associated with a first compartment while defrosting a second evaporator associated with a second compartment.
However, Ishimura teaches a system comprising a cooling circuit (10) comprising a controller is configured to regulate hot gas flow to provide defrosting to a first evaporator associated with a first compartment (compartment where 14a is placed) and defrosting to a second evaporator associated with a second compartment (compartment where 14b is placed) (e.g. see Fig 5).
Therefore, at the time the invention was filed it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in
the art to have modified Satou and integrated controller configured to regulate hot gas flow to provide defrosting to a first evaporator associated with a first compartment while defrosting a second evaporator associated with a second compartment, as taught by Ishimura, in order to have the capability of cooling/heating multiple compartments.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-10 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with regards to claim 16 filed 01/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argues, page 2, that “However, Satou fails to teach or suggest an arrangement where the inlet of the second defrosting pipe 24 (the alleged "hot gas flow path") is located between a discharge port of the compressor 11 (the alleged "compressor") and a discharge pressure regulating valve 32 (the alleged "heat rejection heat exchanger valve"), in a manner recited in amended independent claim 1. Rather, Satou describes that the inlet of second defrosting pipe 24 is located between the check valve 31 and the discharge pressure regulating valve 32”. This argument has not been found persuasive. Satou does teach the limitation of an inlet (inlet after 31) located on the cooling circuit between a discharge port of a compressor (11) and a heat rejection heat exchanger valve (see Fig below; where it shows that regardless of the check valve, the inlet is located between the discharge port of 11 and the heat exchanger valve 32; see circle in between the line shown below).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. (see PTO-892).
/NELSON J NIEVES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763 5/29/2026