DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office action addresses claims 1-20 and newly added claims 21-25. Claims 1, 3,5,9, 15, and 19 have been amended and are rejected. Claims 13 and dependent claims are rejected. Claims 21-25 are newly rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 3, 5, 9, 10-11 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Enning et al. (US 20120328916 A1; hereinafter “Enning”) in view of Joen et al. (US2021098760A1; hereinafter “Joen”).
Regarding claim 1, Enning discloses a traction battery pack (battery for a vehicle (Enning, abstract)) comprising: an enclosure assembly; a plurality of battery modules housed within the enclosure assembly (a battery for a motor vehicle, comprising: a battery housing that receives at least one cell group that consists of a plurality of electrochemical cells (Enning, abstract)); a primary cooling system configured for directing a first cooling fluid through a first interior volume of each of the plurality of battery modules (a primary cooling path within the plate-shaped cover part that includes a coolant conduit for cooling the cells of the at least one cell group (Enning, [0007])); and a secondary cooling system configured for directing a second cooling fluid through a second interior volume of the enclosure assembly (an air gap between the cells of the cell group and the cover plate (Enning, [0011]) with an optional fan to support convection (Enning [0021])). The second cooling path disclosed by Enning lies within the first interior volume and thus, Enning fails to disclose that the second interior volume is external to, and fluidly isolated from, the first interior volume of each of the plurality of battery modules.
Joen discloses a battery module that possesses an improved assembly structure and includes a first and second heat exchanger (see elements 52 and 60 in Figure 1) each directing their respective cooling fluid through an interior volume. As can be seen in figure 1, the second heat exchanger is arranged on the outer sides of battery module 1 and is fluidly disconnected from the first heat exchanger 52.
Enning and Joen are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely traction battery packs.
In seeking a battery pack that includes battery modules with an improved assembly structure that can be manufactured by a simplified assembly process before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to apply the battery modules disclosed by Joen to the carrier structure disclosed by Enning as doing so would amount to nothing more than to use a component for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish an entirely predictable result.
Figure 1: Joen figure 2
Regarding claim 2, Enning discloses the traction battery pack as recited in claim 1 and further discloses that each of the plurality of battery modules includes a battery subassembly and an outer cover. (Individual cells are combined into groups and are held by respective common carriers. Those carriers are formed by a base plate and a cover plate (Enning [0020]).
Regarding claim 3, Enning discloses the traction battery pack as recited in claim 2 and teaches that the battery subassembly includes a plurality of battery cells held between a first frame and a second frame. Enning discloses that the individual cells are held by respective common carriers which are formed by a base frame and a cover plate (Enning [0020]). Enning fails to disclose that adjacent battery cells of the plurality of battery cells are at least partially separated by a sealing bar of the first frame and the second frame.
Joen discloses that the heat exchangers 50 may divide the battery groups into sections, function as barriers of the sections and may be configured to effectively absorb heat radiated to one side surface of the battery group (Joen: Col.6 lines 36-41) and thus thermically sealing the battery group. Joen further discloses that the heat exchanger 52 may include placing parts (Joen: Col. 7, line 55) and discloses sealing parts 32bb (Joel: Col.7, line 51) as shown in Figure 2 positioned at the front side of the battery cells connecting to the busbar 80.
Enning and Joen are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely cooling systems for battery modules.
In seeking a cooling structure that effectively absorbs heat, before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use a heat exchanger to separate adjacent battery groups as disclosed by Joen as doing so would amount to nothing more than to use a known material for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish an entirely predictable result.
Figure 2: Joen figure 4 Figure 3: Joen figure 6
Regarding claim 5, Enning discloses the traction battery pack as recited in claim 3, and teaches a subassembly of a plurality of battery cells held together by a base frame and cover plate [0020] but does not explicitly mention that the outer cover includes four sides and two open ends and that a first frame is positioned at one of the two open ends of the outer cover, and the second frame is positioned at another of the two open ends.
Joen however, in the same field of endeavor, thermal management systems for electric vehicle batteries, teaches such a setup including four sides and two open ends as shown in figure 1. Joen further discloses a front and a rear frame (elements 16 and 18 in figure 1).
In seeking a structure with increased stability, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the structure disclosed by Joen to the traction battery disclosed by Enning. The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Ryco, Inc. v. Ag-Bag Corp., 857 F.2d 1418, 8 USPQ2d 1323 (Fed. Cir. 1988). See MPEP § 2144.07.
Regarding claim 9, Enning discloses the traction battery pack as recited in claim 1, and indirectly discloses that the primary cooling system includes an inlet pipe, a delivering line fluidly connected to the inlet pipe and to an inlet tube of a battery module of the plurality of battery modules, an outlet pipe, and a receiving line fluidly connected to an outlet tube of the battery module of the plurality of battery modules and to the outlet pipe. Enning discloses that the coolant conduits which extend serpentine-like through the cover parts [0015] [0016] are connected to a common coolant connection to allow for only one coolant supply conduit and one coolant discharge conduit for the battery [0016]). Joen discloses an inlet tube of a battery module in figure 1 (see figure 1, element 71).
Enning and Joen are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely cooling systems for traction batteries.
In seeking a coolant system that is easy to mount before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to apply the external cooling system structure disclosed by Enning to the in and outlets of the heat exchangers discloses by Joen as doing so would amount to nothing more than to use a known method for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish an entirely predictable result.
Regarding claim 10, modified Enning discloses the traction pack as recited in claim 9, and further discloses that the first interior volume is located between the inlet tube and the outlet tube (see interior heat exchanger volume between inlet and outlets (71 and 72 in figure 1).
Regarding claim 11, modified Enning discloses the traction pack as recited in claim 1, and discloses the secondary cooling system includes an inlet tube mounted to a first end wall of the enclosure assembly (see elements 71, figure 4 below), and an outlet tube mounted to a second end wall of the enclosure assembly ((see elements 72, Enning figure 15)), and further wherein the second interior volume is located between the inlet tube and the outlet tube (see second interior volume between in/outlets 71 and 72 figure 1).
Figure 2: Joen figure 15
Regarding claim 21, modified Enning discloses the traction battery pack as recited in claim 1, and discloses that the plurality of battery modules are arranged in a plurality of rows within the enclosure assembly (see figure 1), and wherein the second interior volume includes a channel extending between two adjacent rows of the plurality of rows (see figure 1, heat exchanger 52 includes a second interior volume that is a flow channel extending between two adjacent rows of the plurality of rows).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Enning et al. (US 20120328916 A1; hereinafter “Enning”) in view of Joen et al. (US2021098760A1; hereinafter “Joen”) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Hofer et al. (US11038225B2; “Hofer” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 8, Enning discloses a traction battery pack as recited in claim 1 and discloses that the first cooling fluid cools at least one battery cell of each of the plurality of battery modules (a cover part of the cell carrier includes a coolant conduit for cooling the cells of the cell group, abstract). Enning further discloses that the secondary cooling paths consist of an optional supporting airflow and air gaps ([0010]) but fails to disclose that the second coolant is being used to cool a busbar or a terminal of each of the plurality of battery modules.
Hofer discloses a battery module including a container that has a fluid space which includes an inflow and an outflow for a liquid of a liquid circuit. The battery cells of the disclosed module are electrically connected and partially protrude into the fluid space. (Hofer: abstract). Hofer further discloses a contacting device also disposed in the fluid space of the container and serving as current collector [0010]. This meets the limitation of a “busbar” by being installed in the fluid space the busbar is necessarily cooled by the fluid stream. Enning and Hofer are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely cooling systems for traction batteries.
In seeking an effective and separate cooling method for the busbars before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to implement fluid spaces as disclosed by Hofer to the battery modules disclosed by modified Enning and apply the respective fluid streams as doing so would amount to nothing more than to use a known method for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish an entirely predictable result.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Enning et al. (US 20120328916 A1; hereinafter “Enning”) in view of Joen et al. (US2021098760A1; hereinafter “Joen”) as applied to claim 3 and further in view of Hofer et al. (US11038225B2; hereinafter “Hofer”).
Regarding claim 7, modified Enning discloses the traction battery pack as recited in claim 3, wherein the first cooling fluid cools the plurality of battery cells. Enning teaches a primary coolant line within the top covers of each battery group unit cooling the battery cells. At least one of each of the cells of each battery module is being cooled by the primary coolant. Enning discloses a second cooling fluid. The secondary cooling paths consist of an optional supporting airflow and air gaps ([0021]) but fails to disclose that the second cooling fluid cools a busbar or a terminal located externally to the first interior volume.
Hofer discloses a battery module including a container that has a fluid space which includes an inflow and an outflow for a liquid of a liquid circuit. The battery cells of the disclosed module are electrically connected and partially protrude into the fluid space. (Hofer: Abstract). Hofer further discloses a contacting device also disposed in the fluid space of the container and serving as current collector [0010]. This meets the limitation of a “busbar”. The busbars are installed in the fluid space and therefore the busbars are necessarily cooled by the fluid stream
Enning and Hofer are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely cooling systems for traction batteries.
In seeking an effective and separate cooling method for the busbars before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to implement fluid spaces as disclosed by Hofer to the battery modules disclosed by modified Enning and apply the respective fluid streams as doing so would amount to nothing more than to use a known method for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish an entirely predictable result.
Claims 13-15 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brahami et al. (US20160190663A1; hereinafter “Brahami”) in view Joen et al. (US2021098760A1; hereinafter “Joen”).
Regarding claim 13, Brahami discloses a traction battery pack (battery assembly for electrically driven motor vehicles, [0002]), comprising: a battery module (see Brahami figure 6) including a battery cell (see Brahami figure 6), a terminal (Brahami [0051]), and a busbar (Brahami [0051]), and a thermal management system (Brahami [0031]). Brahami discloses a hallow busbar that provides a passage for a coolant to flow and to transfer heat produced by a battery (Brahami [0046]) which necessarily cools the busbar and fulfills the limitation of a secondary cooling path for thermally managing the terminal and the busbar but fails to establish a primary cooling path for thermally managing the battery cell. Joen discloses a battery module including a heat exchanger that thermally manages the battery cells.
Brahami and Joen are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely battery cooling systems for traction batteries.
In seeking a cooling system which cools both the battery cells and busbars before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to combine the module structure that includes heat exchangers as disclosed by Joen with the busbar cooling system disclosed by Brahami as doing so would amount to nothing more than to use a known component or material for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish an entirely predictable result.
Regarding claim 14, modified Brahami teaches a primary cooling path extending through an interior volume of the battery module (see heat exchangers Joen figure 2).
Regarding claim 15, modified Brahami discloses the traction battery pack as recited in claim 13, and discloses that the primary cooling path extends between the battery cell and a second battery cell (via cooling plates 34, figure 1) and further between the battery cell and an outer cover of the battery module (via heat exchangers 60), wherein a sealing bar of a frame of the battery module at least partially separates the battery cell from the second battery cell. Joen discloses that the heat exchangers 50 may divide the battery groups into sections, function as barriers of the sections and may be configured to effectively absorb heat radiated to one side surface of the battery group (Joen: Col.6 lines 36-41) and thus thermically seals the battery groups. Joen further discloses that the heat exchanger 52 may include placing parts (Joen: Col. 7, line 55) and discloses sealing parts 32bb (Joel: Col.7, line 51) as shown in Figure 2 positioned at the front side of the battery cells where the batteries are connected to the busbar 80.
Regarding claim 17, modified Brahami discloses the traction battery pack as recited in claim 13, and teaches that the secondary cooling path extends through an interior volume of an enclosure assembly that houses the battery module by disclosing the secondary cooling paths through the hallow busbars (Brahami [0046]).
Regarding claim 18, modified Brahami discloses the battery pack as recited in claim 13, and further discloses that the primary cooling path is configured to circulate a first cooling fluid through portions of an inlet pipe, a delivering line fluidly connected to the inlet pipe, an inlet tube of the battery module that is fluidly connected to the delivering line, an interior volume of the battery module, an outlet tube of the battery module, a receiving line fluidly connected to the outlet tube, and an outlet pipe fluidly connected to the receiving line. Joen discloses inlet/outlet tube of a battery module in figure 1 (see figure 1, element 71) and discloses the flow path connecting the inlet and outlet in figure 3 through the interior volume but is silent regarding the external circulation of the cooling fluid through portions of an inlet pipe, a delivering line fluidly connected to the inlet pipe. These are standard components for circulating a fluid and would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 19, modified Brahami discloses the traction battery pack as recited in claim 13, and teaches that the secondary cooling path is configured to circulate a second cooling fluid through a channel (Brahami [0046]) located between the battery module and a second battery module (see busbars positioned between battery modules figure 1), wherein the second cooling fluid includes a dielectric fluid or an airflow (air, Brahami [0056]).
Claims 22 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brahami et al. (US20160190663A1; hereinafter “Brahami”) in view of Dunn et al. (US2020067157A1; hereinafter “Dunn”).
Regarding claim 22, Brahami discloses a traction battery pack (battery assembly (pack) [0002] for electrically driven motor vehicles [0002]), comprising: an enclosure assembly (an electrically inert case [0015]); a plurality of battery modules housed within the enclosure assembly (a stack of electrochemical cells encased in an electrically inert case [0015], each of the plurality of battery modules including a terminal and at least one busbar (at least the first battery and the second battery in the battery assembly are configures to be electrically connected through their tabs with one or more hallow busbars [0015], the hollow busbar is coupled to the positive terminal if the batters [0051]) that are at least partially external to a frame and an outer cover of each respective battery module. Brahami discloses that current collectors are bundled together and extend to the outside of the battery structure to form battery terminals and deliver electrical current to the busbar [0038] and further discloses that the thermal management system is integrated to the battery busbars where heat removal or addition can be efficiently applied [0040] and thus discloses a secondary cooling system configured for directing a second cooling fluid through a second interior volume of the enclosure assembly to cool the terminal and the at least one busbar of each of the plurality of battery modules. Brahami discloses that heat is not generated homogeneously in batteries [0013] discloses the combination of different cooling systems [0008] but does not disclose a second cooling system that fulfills the requirements of the claim.
Dunn however describes a hybrid cooling method for a battery and discloses a primary cooling system configured for directing a first cooling fluid through a first interior volume of each of the plurality of battery modules by disclosing a thermal suppression construct including a supply of cooling fluid dispensed in intimate contact with the cells disposed within an enveloping sealed enclosure (Dunn: abstract). Dunn further discloses that the electrochemical cells are connected electrically by bus bars to form a battery of cells.
Brahami and Dunn are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely cooling systems for traction battery packs.
In seeking a cooling system responsive to the inhomogeneous heat generation disclosed by Brahami before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to combine the cooling system disclosed by Brahami and Dunn and to substitute the busbars disclosed by Dunn with the busbars disclosed Brahami as doing so would amount to nothing more than to use a known component for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish an entirely predictable result.
Regarding claim 24, modified Brahami teaches the traction battery pack as recited in claim 22, discloses that the first cooling fluid is a coolant (Dunn: thermally conductive fluid [0018]), and the second cooling fluid is a dielectric fluid (Brahami discloses a coolant that flows (abstract) and explicitly mentions air (which is dielectric)).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brahami et al. (US20160190663A1; hereinafter “Brahami”) in view of Dunn et al. (US2020067157A1; hereinafter “Dunn”) as applied to claim 22 and further in view of Skinkle et al. (US8920996B2; hereinafter “Skinkle”).
Regarding claim 23, modified Brahami discloses the traction battery pack as recited in claim 22, and discloses a thermal management system [0058] and teaches an airflow and fan (Brahami figure 6) but does not disclose the specifics including: a temperature sensor disposed in or near an outlet of the secondary cooling system and configured to sense a temperature of the second cooling fluid; and a control module operably connected to the temperature sensor and configured to, in response to the sensed temperature exceeding a predefined threshold, command the secondary cooling system to circulate the second cooling fluid through the second interior volume to cool the terminal and the at least one busbar of each of the plurality of battery modules. Skinkle discloses adjusting the flow rate of the thermal management to maintain a temperature within an acceptable temperature range (Skinkle: abstract).
Brahami and Skinkle are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely thermal management systems.
Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to adjust the airflow as disclosed by Skinkle to the system disclosed by Brahami as doing so would amount to nothing more than to use a known method for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish an entirely predictable result.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brahami et al. (US20160190663A1; hereinafter “Brahami”) in view of Dunn et al. (US2020067157A1; hereinafter “Dunn”) as applied to claim 22 and further in view of Hofer (US-11038225-B2; hereinafter “Hofer”).
Regarding claim 25, modified Brahami discloses the traction battery pack as recited in claim 22, and discloses that at least one busbar of each of the plurality of battery modules includes: a first busbar configured to electrically connect terminals of adjacent battery cells within the battery module (the hallow busbars electrically couple the batteries in series[0053]) and discloses that discloses that in one embodiment the battery system includes several battery packs containing several batteries but is silent on the on the connection method, and fails to disclose a second busbar configured to electrically connect the battery module to an adjacent battery module of the plurality of battery modules. Hofer discloses that the battery poles within a row of batteries are electrically connected via a connecting device. This similarly results in a serial connection of the individual batteries and further discloses that the individual rows can be electrically conductively connected in series.
Brahami and Hofer are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely thermal management systems for traction battery packs.
Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to connect the respective battery module disclosed by Brahami according to Hofer as doing so would amount to nothing more than to use a known method for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish an entirely predictable result.
Conclusion
Response to arguments
Claim Interpretation
The examiner acknowledges a different understanding regarding the claim interpretation.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1,10, 11, 14 and 17 have been considered but are moot because a new ground of rejection is submitted with this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 has been amended and the rejection is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The argument is moot. Claim 1 has been amended and is newly rejected in this Office action. The dependent claims are also newly rejected.
Applicant’s arguments, see applicants remarks page 7, filed 07/01/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 13 and dependent claims under 35 U.S.C 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Brahami et al. (US20160190663A1; hereinafter “Brahami”) and Joen et al. (US2021098760A1; hereinafter “Joen”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 15 have been considered but are moot because claim 13 is newly rejected.
Applicant's arguments filed regarding the combination of Brahami and Enning (Audi) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Bahrami discloses that the cooling fluid may be pumped or alternatively as shown in figure 6 a fan is mounted at the top of the battery assembly and forces an air flow through manifolds 26 and 27 and then into the hollow busbars. Including this setup does not appear to be opposed to Audi’s airflow-based and fan assisted setup and does not appear to contradict a lightweight design.
/S.L.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/JAMES M ERWIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725 09/04/2026