DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nuzzi et al. (US 2006/0222469).
Claim 9:
Nuzzi discloses a tip (abstract) for use with a tool bit having an axis of rotation, the tip comprising:
a bottom face configured to be joined to the tool bit, a front face, a back face opposite the front face (figs. 2-9, [0018] – see also annotated reproduction of figs. 6 and 7, below),
a first side face (104) extending between the front face and the back face (figs. 6 and 9, [0027]),
a second side face (94) opposite the first side face (104) and extending between the front face and the back face (figs. 6 and 9, [0027]), and
a plurality of top faces (92, 98) opposite the bottom face and extending between the front face and the back face, the plurality of top faces (92, 98) including a first top face (98) extending from the first side face (104) toward the axis of rotation and a second top face (92) extending from the second side face (94) toward the axis of rotation, the first top face (98) is perpendicular to the axis of rotation, the second top face (92) is obliquely angled relative to the axis of rotation (figs. 6-9, [0027] – see also annotated reproduction of figs. 4, 6 and 7, below).
Nuzzi discloses a “spot face 98” (see figs. 6-9 [0027]) formed as the bottom surface of the spot face feature. As shown in figure 6 (side view) and figure 9 (perspective view), spot face (98) is a planar surface extending radially inward from the outer wall (104) toward the rotational axis of the tool. In a drilling/spot-facing operation about the tool holder’s rotational axis, the spot face bottom surface is necessarily formed normal (i.e., perpendicular) to the axis of rotation. Paragraph [0027] further distinguishes spot face (98) from the “outside edge 104,” which “may be configured to have a slight angle between 0 and 5° to shave material and reduce burr. The disclosure of a slight 0-5° angular deviation is expressly associated with the diameter-forming wiper edge (104), not with spot face 98. Accordingly, spot face 98 remains the bottom surface of the spot face feature and is necessarily perpendicular to the axis of rotation during the drilling operation. Thus, Nuzzi discloses the claim limitation the first top face is perpendicular to the axis of rotation.
Claim 10:
Nuzzi discloses the tip of claim 9, wherein the tip is formed from a carbide material ([0021]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nuzzi et al. (US 2006/0222469 A1) in view of Novak et al. (US 2022/0371105 A1).
Claim 1:
Nuzzi discloses a tool bit (abstract) comprising:
a body formed from a first material and defining an axis of rotation (figs. 2-9, [0018]); and a tip (60, 80) coupled to the body and formed from a second material (figs. 2-9, [0021]), the tip including:
a bottom face joined to the body, a front face, a back face opposite the front face (figs. 2-9, [0018] – see also annotated reproduction of figs. 6 and 7, above),
a first side face (104) extending between the front face and the back face (figs. 6 and 9, [0027]),
a second side face (94) opposite the first side face (104) and extending between the front face and the back face (figs. 6 and 9, [0027]), and
a plurality of top faces (92, 98) opposite the bottom face and extending between the front face and the back face, the plurality of top faces (92, 98) including a first top face (98) extending from the first side face (104) toward the axis of rotation and a second top face (92) extending from the second side face (94) toward the axis of rotation, the first top face (98) is perpendicular to the axis of rotation, the second top face (92) is obliquely angled relative to the axis of rotation (figs. 6-9, [0027] – see also annotated reproduction of figs. 4, 6 and 7, above).
Nuzzi does not disclose the body is formed from a first material that is different from the second material of the tip, nor does Nuzzi specify a dissimilar material pairing for body vs. tip.
Novak discloses a tool bit (abstract), comprising
a body (12) formed from a first material (tool steel) and defining an axis of rotation (figs. 1A-1B, [0042]); and a tip (26) coupled to the body (12) and formed from a second material (carbide) different than the first material (figs. 1-2, [0042] and [0043]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to select Novak’s known steel-body/carbide-tip material pairing for Nuzzi’s body/bit to obtain predictable durability at the tip while maintaining toughness in the body (Novak, [0042]). See MPEP § 2143 A which describes the prima facie obviousness of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claim 2:
Nuzzi in view of Novak renders obvious the tool bit of claim 1, wherein the first material is a tool steel, and wherein the second material is a carbide (Novak, [0042]).
Claim 3:
Nuzzi in view of Novak renders obvious the tool bit of claim 1, wherein the bottom face extends between the front face and the back face, and wherein the bottom face includes a chamfered edge (93) (figs. 8-9, [0027]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-20 are allowed.
Claims 4-8 and 11-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 4:
The prior art of record fails to disclose or fairly suggest the tool bit of claim 1, wherein the tip includes an extended portion protruding relative to the plurality of top faces and extending parallel to the axis of rotation.
Claim 11:
The prior art of record fails to disclose or fairly suggest the tip of claim 9, further comprising an extended portion protruding relative to the plurality of top faces.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Turner et al. (US 6,102,634) discloses a masonry drill comprising a shaft and a tip.
/Lee A Holly/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726