Drawings
The drawings were received on July 3rd 2023. These drawings are accepted.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
The certified copy has been filed on August 7th 2023.
Status of the Claims
This Final action is in response to the applicant’s filing on July 10th 2026.
Claims 3, 8 and 14 are canceled.
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 9-13 and 15 are pending and examined below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments with respect to the rejection of claims under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered but are moot. While the Examiner notes that the applicant is arguing the claim limitations recite " … a plurality of logical network segments for each add-on module arranged for communication between the add-on module and the main controller, thereby enabling each add-on module to communicate with the main controller over a separate logical network segment, each respective logical network segment isolating communications of the corresponding add-on module from communications of at least one other add-one module… “. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn; However, upon further consideration a new ground(s) of rejection is made for Claims 1 and 6 over Greer (Patent No. US20200366520A1) in view of Addepalli (Patent No. US20140303807A1) and Javre et al (Patent No US10853134B2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 9-13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Greer (Patent No. US20200366520A1) in view of Addepalli (Patent No. US20140303807A1), Yousuf (Patent No. US11214273B2) and Javre et al (Patent No US10853134B2).
Regarding claim 1 Greer teaches a vehicle communication system for enabling communication between a main controller of a heavy-duty vehicle and one or more add-on module(s) arranged to be connected to the heavy-duty vehicle, the vehicle communication system comprising; (See Greer paragraph 0054; “…trailer 104a is provided, the access point can be the wireless hub 130 in the center of the one trailer, which all devices (e.g., transmitter/receivers, sensors and the like) in the trailer 104a or tractor 102 can wirelessly reach. If the second trailer 104b is included, the access point could still be located within the first trailer 104a at a location central to the vehicle 100 or, alternatively at the dolly hub 130c which is also centrally located. If additional trailers are added (e.g. a third and fourth trailer), the access point can be changed to a new hub at a central location of the vehicle 100 …a full WiFi mesh system could be used to connect many hubs at locations across the vehicle 100. Having wireless hubs 130a-d which control the central communication at each area of vehicle 100 allows many devices to quickly and easily communicate over the VAN 101, even when devices within the VAN 101 may be changed (e.g., sensor repair), or new or additional trailers and dollies may be added to the vehicle 100…”);
the one or more add-on module(s) comprising one or more of a superstructure, a trailer, a vehicle accessory, a vehicle equipment, a sensor or a sensor gateway; (See Greer paragraph 0066;” …controller 140 also includes a power manager module 156 and a Truck to Trailer network link software module 157. The micro controller 140 includes a TPMS module 158 and onboard weight motor vehicle unit module 159 to accomplish TPMS and MVU weight measurements in the VAN 101. The micro controller 140 also includes a RF network management module 160 and a third party software component module 161 to facilitate use of RF network components and third party software. Other modules may be present in the micro controller 140 to accomplish any desired features in the VAN 101. Further, the micro controller 140 features may be expanded by having hardware and software ready to host additional software and support other components (e.g., additional sensors, hubs, subnetworks).”);
wherein the in-vehicle application controller is arranged to be connected to one or more applications that are accessible by a user of the vehicle and each application of the one or more applications is associated with the one or more add-on module(s); (See Greer paragraph 0065; “When the micro controller 140 is operating, hardware 147 creates a runtime environment (RTE) 146 so that the stored programs are running (e.g., instructions are being executed). The hardware 147 includes a processor 148 coupled to memory 149 along with other components not explicitly shown. Programs are stored in the memory 149 and accessed by the processor 148. A boot loader module 150 allows programming to the memory 148. An operating system module 151 allows the user to interface with the hardware 147. An ECU abstraction layer module 152 facilitates uniform access to the micro controller functions performed by peripherals and application program interfaces (APIs). A MCAL micro controller abstraction layer module 153 facilitates direct access to the devices on the PCB 136. A complex device drive module 154 includes various sub-modules 155a-c to implement drivers for the communication devices 141, 142, 143 as needed. The boot-loader module 150 can run the micro controller 140 for programming and writing information to the memory 149.”); wherein the in-vehicle application controller is arranged to allow the user to interface with the one or more add-on module(s) without any need for installation of vendor-specific add-on module systems; (See Greer paragraph 0072-0074; “A hardware abstraction layer module 185 facilitates uniform access to the range extender functions. A supplier software development kit (SDK) module 186 facilitates creation of applications with advanced features specific to the transmitter/receiver 170 and operating system module 184. The PCB 174 includes a communications stack module 187 to support the 802.15.4 thread network protocol communication module 182.
As can be seen, the transmitter/receiver 170 is specifically designed for use in the VAN 101. The transmitter/receiver 170 includes a power manager module 188 and a packet forwarder module 189 for assisting with data conversion. The transmitter/receiver 170 also includes a diagnostic and commissioning module 190 that provides a user interface via the smart device 275 for start-up and troubleshooting purposes. Other modules may be present in the transmitter/receiver 170 to accomplish any desired features in the VAN 101. Further, the transmitter/receiver 170 features may be expanded by having hardware and software ready to host additional software and support other components.
The transmitter/receiver 170 is particularly beneficial when retrofitting technology on to an existing trailer or tractor for future incorporation into a vehicle area network. The transmitter/receiver 170 may connect to various sensors, wired or wirelessly, then pass along the data to a wireless hub. In effect, the transmitter/receiver 170 is the additional hardware to bridge communications with existing hardware to the new networked components.”).
Greer does not explicitly tach but Javre teaches, a plurality of logical network segments for each add-on module arranged for communication between the add-on module and the main controller, thereby enabling each add-on module to communicate with the main controller over a separate logical network segment; (See Javre column 9, line 58-67; “FIG. 6 illustrates an example of multiple domains for a heterogeneous SoC 600. In the example of FIG. 6, domains 602, 604, 606, and 660 are shown. In an aspect, each of the resources shown within domains 602, 604, 606, and 660 (with the exception of the operating systems) is specified as being available within the hardware description file. For purposes of illustration, each of domains 602, 604, and 606 utilizes an operating system. Domain 660 may not use an operating system and support one or more bare-metal and/or standalone application(s).”); each respective logical network segment isolating communications of the corresponding add-on module from communications of at least one other add-one module; (See Javre column 9-10, line 58-17; “FIG. 6 illustrates an example of multiple domains for a heterogeneous SoC 600. In the example of FIG. 6, domains 602, 604, 606, and 660 are shown. In an aspect, each of the resources shown within domains 602, 604, 606, and 660 (with the exception of the operating systems) is specified as being available within the hardware description file. For purposes of illustration, each of domains 602, 604, and 606 utilizes an operating system. Domain 660 may not use an operating system and support one or more bare-metal and/or standalone application(s).
As illustrated, domain 602 includes processor 608, General Equipment Model (GEM) interface 614, Serial Peripheral Interface (SPI) 616, watchdog timer (WDT) 618, Quad Serial Peripheral Interface (QSPI) 620, and programmable logic Intellectual Property (PL IP) 622. Programmable logic IP refer to an IP or a core that is implemented in programmable circuitry. Domain 604 includes processor 610, a timing trigger and control (TTC) interface 630, WDT 632, Universal Asynchronous Receiver-Transmitter (UART) 634, and PL IP 636. Domain 606 includes processor 612, GEM interface 638, Secure Digital Input Output (SDIO) 640, Universal Serial Bus (USB) 642, SPI 644, Inter-Integrated circuit (I2C) interface 646, I2C interface 648, UART 650, QSPI 652, WDT 654, and Peripheral Component Interconnect Express (PCIe) 656. Domain 660 includes a processor 662 (e.g., without an operating system), TTC interface 664, WDT 668, UART 670, and PLIP 672.”).
Both Greer and Javre are in the same field of communication systems. It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to modify Greer vehicle communication system with Javre multiple domains for a heterogeneous SoC includes isolating processor. No new functionality would arise from the combination and the combination would improve usability of Greer by adding multiple domains for a heterogeneous SoC includes isolating processor will allow better exchange of data between modules, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Geer does not explicitly teach but Addepalli teaches each logical network segment comprising a virtual network on an Internet Protocol network; (See Addepalli paragraph 0061 and 0096; “Networks 40 represent external networks, which can be a series of points or nodes of interconnected communication paths for receiving and transmitting packets of information that propagate through communication system 10. Networks 40 offer communicative interfaces between any of the components of FIG. 1 and remote nodes and other electronic devices of transaction systems 50, authorized entities 98… Networks 40 may include any suitable communication link to OBU 30 such as wireless technologies (e.g., IEEE 802.11, 802.16, WiFi, WiMax, etc.), satellite, cellular technologies (e.g., 3G, 4G, etc.), etc., or any combination thereof. Networks 40 may also include configurations capable of transmission control protocol/Internet protocol (TCP/IP) communications, user datagram protocol/IP (UDP/IP), or any other suitable protocol, where appropriate and based on particular needs… OBU 30 may act as a synthesizer, combining large-scale information from the cloud…”).
Both Greer and Addepalli are in the same field of vehicle communication systems. It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to modify Greer vehicle communication system with Addepalli logical network segment comprising a virtual network on an Internet Protocol network. No new functionality would arise from the combination and the combination would improve usability of Greer by adding logical network segment comprising a virtual network on an Internet Protocol network this will allow better exchange of data between modules, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Geer does not explicitly teach but Yousuf teaches, and an in-vehicle application controller arranged to directly communicate with the one or more add-on modules via the respective logical network segment the in-vehicle application controller common for all add-on modules; (See Yousuf Column 3-4, line 62-4; “In some example non-limiting implementations, all three processors receive the same inputs or at least have access to the same inputs. For example, all three processors may be connected to a common bus (or an arrangement of multiple redundant buses) and are thereby able to access the same information. On the other hand, due to the independent processing performed by the three different processors, there is no requirement that each processor must use all of the inputs that the other processor(s) are using in order to calculate a result.”; also see Yousuf column 9, line 23-31; “Each of Processors 202, 204 are connected to a respective GPU 208, 210. In the example shown, all three processors 202, 204, 206 are mounted to a common printed circuit board and disposed within the same enclosure or housing, thus providing a “one-box” controller solution. Of course, there typically are many other processors on board vehicle 50 doing all sorts of other things (e.g., brake actuation, electronic ignition, climate control, infotainment system, GPS, radar and lidar processing, etc.). (Examiner notes; per MPEP 2144.04 V B and C; it is “routine skill in the art” that there is no difference if the hubs are separate or are integrated”).
Both Greer and Yousuf are in the same field of vehicle communication systems. It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to modify Greer vehicle communication system with Yousuf controller arranged to directly communicate with the one or more add-on modules. No new functionality would arise from the combination and the combination would improve usability of Greer by adding controller arranged to directly communicate with the one or more add-on modules this will allow the control of all the adds-on with single bus (controller), one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 2 Greer in view of Addepalli, Yousuf and Javre taches the vehicle communication system of claim 1, further Greer teaches wherein the main controller is arranged to communicate with the one or more add-on module(s) via an Application Program Interface (API); (See Greer paragraph 0065; “…An ECU abstraction layer module 152 facilitates uniform access to the micro controller functions performed by peripherals and application program interfaces (APIs). A MCAL micro controller abstraction layer module 153 facilitates direct access to the devices on the PCB 136. A complex device drive module 154 includes various sub-modules 155a-c to implement drivers for the communication devices 141, 142, 143 as needed. The boot-loader module 150 can run the micro controller 140 for programming and writing information to the memory 149.”).
Regarding claim 4 Greer in view of Addepalli, Yousuf and Javre taches the vehicle communication system of claim 1, Greer further teaches, wherein each logical network segment is a wired communication link or a wireless communication link; (See Greer paragraph 0033 and 0035; “…FIG. 1, an exemplary vehicle 100 is shown utilizing a vehicle area network (VAN) 101 in accordance with the subject technology… The VAN 101 establishes communication between numerous components of the vehicle 100. Individual components can be connected wirelessly, wired and combinations thereof… The VAN 101 may include any number of sub-networks, in effect second levels of the VAN 101. For example as shown in FIG. 1, the VAN 101 includes a tractor subnetwork 112 and a trailer subnetwork 114. Each subnetwork 112, 114 includes one or more wireless hubs 130a-d. The first trailer 104a includes the wireless hub 130b, the dolly 106 includes the wireless hub 130c and the second trailer 104b includes wireless hub 130d. As the tractor 102, trailers 104a, 104 and dolly 106 are often reconfigured with other trailers and dollies, quick and easy pairing to establish the subsequent vehicle area network is beneficial.”).
Regarding claim 5 Greer in view of Addepalli, Yousuf and Javre taches the vehicle communication system of claim 1, Greer further teaches, wherein the communication that the logical network segment is arranged for comprises vehicle data arranged for controlling one or more vehicle functions; (See Greer paragraph 0062-0063 and 0083; “…a micro controller 140 suitable for use as a portion of the wireless hub 130 is shown. Typically, the micro controller 140 is part of the PCB 136 of FIG. 2A. The PCB 136 includes additional separate peripheral modules 141, 142, 143, 144, 145 and such may be incorporated into the micro controller 140…The hubs 130a-d can transmit and/or receive data between other hubs and/or range extenders 170a-d using a WiFi module 141 with a 2.4 GHz frequency band. The WiFi module 141 creates tractor-to-trailer transparent IP-based data communication… At step 602, the method starts with the micro controller of each hub 330a-d being powered up and in normal operation to form the respective subnetworks 312, 314a-c but…At step 604, each subnetwork 312, 314a-c monitors received signal strength indicators (RSSI) and ToF data from all other subnetworks 312, 314a-c…”).
Regarding claim 6 Greer taches a method performed by a control unit for enabling communication between a main controller of a heavy-duty vehicle and one or more add-on module(s) arranged to be connected to the heavy-duty vehicle; (See Greer paragraph 0083, Figure 5b and Figure 6a; “At step 602, the method starts with the micro controller of each hub 330a-d being powered up and in normal operation to form the respective subnetworks 312, 314a-c but, at this time, the trailer order is unknown and the trailers 304a-c can be in any order. At step 604, each subnetwork 312, 314a-c monitors received signal strength indicators (RSSI) and ToF data from all other subnetworks 312, 314a-c…”); the method comprising: initiating setup of a separate logical network segment between each add-on module and the main controller; (See Greer paragraph 0083 and 0088; “…the method starts with the micro controller of each hub 330a-d… FIG. 6c, the method continues to monitor RSSI and ToF data from all other subnetworks 314a-c at step 632. At steps 634 and 636, starting with the identified third trailer 304c, the third trailer subnetwork 314c identifies the subnetwork 314b with the highest RSSI and the shortest ToF by comparing data from all of the identified subnetworks 312, 314a-b. At step 638, subnetwork(s) with the highest RSSI and the shortest ToF are compared…”); thereby enabling each add-on module to communicate with the main controller over a separate logical network segment; (See Greer paragraph 0045 and figure 1; “The tractor hub 130a is also paired to the trailer hub 130b so that the respective subnetworks 112, 114 are in secure communication. To pair the hubs 130a, 130b, the OOB pairing link can use a physical connection with ISO 11992, which is a CAN based vehicle bus standard in the heavy-duty truck industry for communication between the tractor and one or more trailers. The pairing of the hubs 130a, 130b can share a unique data key such as a key generated by AES-128 encryption.”); the one or more add-on module(s) comprising one or more of a superstructure, a trailer, a vehicle accessory, a vehicle equipment, a sensor or a sensor gateway and; (See Greer paragraph 0066;” …controller 140 also includes a power manager module 156 and a Truck to Trailer network link software module 157. The micro controller 140 includes a TPMS module 158 and onboard weight motor vehicle unit module 159 to accomplish TPMS and MVU weight measurements in the VAN 101. The micro controller 140 also includes a RF network management module 160 and a third party software component module 161 to facilitate use of RF network components and third party software. Other modules may be present in the micro controller 140 to accomplish any desired features in the VAN 101. Further, the micro controller 140 features may be expanded by having hardware and software ready to host additional software and support other components (e.g., additional sensors, hubs, subnetworks).”); wherein the in-vehicle application controller is arranged to be connected to one or more applications that are accessible by a user of the vehicle and each application of the one or more applications is associated with the one or more add-on module(s); (See Greer paragraph 0065; “When the micro controller 140 is operating, hardware 147 creates a runtime environment (RTE) 146 so that the stored programs are running (e.g., instructions are being executed). The hardware 147 includes a processor 148 coupled to memory 149 along with other components not explicitly shown. Programs are stored in the memory 149 and accessed by the processor 148. A boot loader module 150 allows programming to the memory 148. An operating system module 151 allows the user to interface with the hardware 147. An ECU abstraction layer module 152 facilitates uniform access to the micro controller functions performed by peripherals and application program interfaces (APIs). A MCAL micro controller abstraction layer module 153 facilitates direct access to the devices on the PCB 136. A complex device drive module 154 includes various sub-modules 155a-c to implement drivers for the communication devices 141, 142, 143 as needed. The boot-loader module 150 can run the micro controller 140 for programming and writing information to the memory 149.”); wherein the in-vehicle application controller is arranged to host applications from multiple vendors, wherein the in-vehicle application controller is arranged to allow the user to interface with the one or more add-on module(s) without any need for installation of vendor-specific add-on module systems; (See Greer paragraph 0072-0074; “A hardware abstraction layer module 185 facilitates uniform access to the range extender functions. A supplier software development kit (SDK) module 186 facilitates creation of applications with advanced features specific to the transmitter/receiver 170 and operating system module 184. The PCB 174 includes a communications stack module 187 to support the 802.15.4 thread network protocol communication module 182.
As can be seen, the transmitter/receiver 170 is specifically designed for use in the VAN 101. The transmitter/receiver 170 includes a power manager module 188 and a packet forwarder module 189 for assisting with data conversion. The transmitter/receiver 170 also includes a diagnostic and commissioning module 190 that provides a user interface via the smart device 275 for start-up and troubleshooting purposes. Other modules may be present in the transmitter/receiver 170 to accomplish any desired features in the VAN 101. Further, the transmitter/receiver 170 features may be expanded by having hardware and software ready to host additional software and support other components.
The transmitter/receiver 170 is particularly beneficial when retrofitting technology on to an existing trailer or tractor for future incorporation into a vehicle area network. The transmitter/receiver 170 may connect to various sensors, wired or wirelessly, then pass along the data to a wireless hub. In effect, the transmitter/receiver 170 is the additional hardware to bridge communications with existing hardware to the new networked components.”).
Greer does not explicitly tach, but Javre teaches, each respective logical network segment isolating communications of the corresponding add-on module from communications of at least one other add-one module; (See Javre column 9-10, line 58-17; “FIG. 6 illustrates an example of multiple domains for a heterogeneous SoC 600. In the example of FIG. 6, domains 602, 604, 606, and 660 are shown. In an aspect, each of the resources shown within domains 602, 604, 606, and 660 (with the exception of the operating systems) is specified as being available within the hardware description file. For purposes of illustration, each of domains 602, 604, and 606 utilizes an operating system. Domain 660 may not use an operating system and support one or more bare-metal and/or standalone application(s).
As illustrated, domain 602 includes processor 608, General Equipment Model (GEM) interface 614, Serial Peripheral Interface (SPI) 616, watchdog timer (WDT) 618, Quad Serial Peripheral Interface (QSPI) 620, and programmable logic Intellectual Property (PL IP) 622. Programmable logic IP refer to an IP or a core that is implemented in programmable circuitry. Domain 604 includes processor 610, a timing trigger and control (TTC) interface 630, WDT 632, Universal Asynchronous Receiver-Transmitter (UART) 634, and PL IP 636. Domain 606 includes processor 612, GEM interface 638, Secure Digital Input Output (SDIO) 640, Universal Serial Bus (USB) 642, SPI 644, Inter-Integrated circuit (I2C) interface 646, I2C interface 648, UART 650, QSPI 652, WDT 654, and Peripheral Component Interconnect Express (PCIe) 656. Domain 660 includes a processor 662 (e.g., without an operating system), TTC interface 664, WDT 668, UART 670, and PLIP 672.”).
Both Greer and Javre are in the same field of communication systems. It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to modify Greer vehicle communication system with Javre multiple domains for a heterogeneous SoC includes isolating processor. No new functionality would arise from the combination and the combination would improve usability of Greer by adding multiple domains for a heterogeneous SoC includes isolating processor will allow better exchange of data between modules, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Geer does not explicitly teach but Yousuf teaches, communicating, by an in-vehicle application controller, directly to the one or more add-on modules via the respective logical network segment the, in-vehicle application controller common for all add-on modules; (See Yousuf Column 3-4, line 62-4; “In some example non-limiting implementations, all three processors receive the same inputs or at least have access to the same inputs. For example, all three processors may be connected to a common bus (or an arrangement of multiple redundant buses) and are thereby able to access the same information. On the other hand, due to the independent processing performed by the three different processors, there is no requirement that each processor must use all of the inputs that the other processor(s) are using in order to calculate a result.”; also see Yousuf column 9, line 23-31; “Each of Processors 202, 204 are connected to a respective GPU 208, 210. In the example shown, all three processors 202, 204, 206 are mounted to a common printed circuit board and disposed within the same enclosure or housing, thus providing a “one-box” controller solution. Of course, there typically are many other processors on board vehicle 50 doing all sorts of other things (e.g., brake actuation, electronic ignition, climate control, infotainment system, GPS, radar and lidar processing, etc.). (Examiner notes; per MPEP 2144.04 V B and C; it is “routine skill in the art” that that there is no difference if the hubs are separate or are integrated”).
Both Greer and Yousuf are in the same field of vehicle communication systems. It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to modify Greer vehicle communication system with Yousuf controller arranged to directly communicate with the one or more add-on modules. No new functionality would arise from the combination and the combination would improve usability of Greer by adding controller arranged to directly communicate with the one or more add-on modules this will allow the control of all the adds-on with single bus (controller), one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Geer does not explicitly teach but Addepalli teaches each logical network segment comprising a virtual network on an Internet Protocol network; (See Addepalli paragraph 0061; “Networks 40 represent external networks, which can be a series of points or nodes of interconnected communication paths for receiving and transmitting packets of information that propagate through communication system 10. Networks 40 offer communicative interfaces between any of the components of FIG. 1 and remote nodes and other electronic devices of transaction systems 50, authorized entities 98… Networks 40 may include any suitable communication link to OBU 30 such as wireless technologies (e.g., IEEE 802.11, 802.16, WiFi, WiMax, etc.), satellite, cellular technologies (e.g., 3G, 4G, etc.), etc., or any combination thereof. Networks 40 may also include configurations capable of transmission control protocol/Internet protocol (TCP/IP) communications, user datagram protocol/IP (UDP/IP), or any other suitable protocol, where appropriate and based on particular needs.”).
Both Greer and Addepalli are in the same field of vehicle communication systems. It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to modify Greer vehicle communication system with Addepalli logical network segment comprising a virtual network on an Internet Protocol network. No new functionality would arise from the combination and the combination would improve usability of Greer by adding logical network segment comprising a virtual network on an Internet Protocol network this will allow better exchange of data between modules, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 7 Greer in view of Addepalli, Yousuf and Javre taches the method of claim 6, further Greer teaches, wherein the communication between each add-on module and the main controller goes via an Application Program Interface (API); (See Greer paragraph 0065; “…An ECU abstraction layer module 152 facilitates uniform access to the micro controller functions performed by peripherals and application program interfaces (APIs). A MCAL micro controller abstraction layer module 153 facilitates direct access to the devices on the PCB 136. A complex device drive module 154 includes various sub-modules 155a-c to implement drivers for the communication devices 141, 142, 143 as needed. The boot-loader module 150 can run the micro controller 140 for programming and writing information to the memory 149.”).
Regarding claim 9 Greer in view of Addepalli, Yousuf and Javre teaches the method of claim 6, Greer further teaches, wherein each logical network segment is a wired communication link or a wireless communication link; (See Greer paragraph 0033 and 0035; “…FIG. 1, an exemplary vehicle 100 is shown utilizing a vehicle area network (VAN) 101 in accordance with the subject technology… The VAN 101 establishes communication between numerous components of the vehicle 100. Individual components can be connected wirelessly, wired and combinations thereof… The VAN 101 may include any number of sub-networks, in effect second levels of the VAN 101. For example as shown in FIG. 1, the VAN 101 includes a tractor subnetwork 112 and a trailer subnetwork 114. Each subnetwork 112, 114 includes one or more wireless hubs 130a-d. The first trailer 104a includes the wireless hub 130b, the dolly 106 includes the wireless hub 130c and the second trailer 104b includes wireless hub 130d. As the tractor 102, trailers 104a, 104 and dolly 106 are often reconfigured with other trailers and dollies, quick and easy pairing to establish the subsequent vehicle area network is beneficial.”).
Regarding claim 10 Greer in view of Addepalli, Yousuf and Javre taches the method of claim 6, Greer further teaches, wherein the communication between each add-on module and the main controller via the respective logical network segment comprises vehicle data arranged for controlling one or more vehicle functions; (See Greer paragraph 0062-0063 and 0083; “…a micro controller 140 suitable for use as a portion of the wireless hub 130 is shown. Typically, the micro controller 140 is part of the PCB 136 of FIG. 2A. The PCB 136 includes additional separate peripheral modules 141, 142, 143, 144, 145 and such may be incorporated into the micro controller 140. The micro controller 140 and modules 141, 142, 143, 144, 145 may include one or more standardly available components or be fabricated as one or more ASICs.
The hubs 130a-d can transmit and/or receive data between other hubs and/or range extenders 170a-d using a WiFi module 141 with a 2.4 GHz frequency band. The WiFi module 141 creates tractor-to-trailer transparent IP-based data communication… At step 602, the method starts with the micro controller of each hub 330a-d being powered up and in normal operation to form the respective subnetworks 312, 314a-c but, at this time, the trailer order is unknown and the trailers 304a-c can be in any order. At step 604, each subnetwork 312, 314a-c monitors received signal strength indicators (RSSI) and ToF data from all other subnetworks 312, 314a-c…”).
Regarding claim 11 Greer in view of Addepalli, Yousuf and Javre taches the method of claim 6, Greer further teaches a control unit for enabling communication between a main controller of a heavy-duty vehicle and one or more add-on module(s) arranged to be connected to the heavy-duty vehicle, the control unit being arranged to perform; (See Greer paragraph 0039 and 0054; “Each wireless hub 130a-d acts as central communication or access point for devices within the respective local area or subnetwork 112, 114 of the vehicle 100… To that end, the tractor wireless hub 130a creates the tractor subnetwork 112 for all devices in and around the tractor 102 of the vehicle 100.…trailer 104a is provided, the access point can be the wireless hub 130 in the center of the one trailer, which all devices (e.g., transmitter/receivers, sensors and the like) in the trailer 104a or tractor 102 can wirelessly reach. If the second trailer 104b is included, the access point could still be located within the first trailer 104a at a location central to the vehicle 100 or, alternatively at the dolly hub 130c which is also centrally located. If additional trailers are added (e.g. a third and fourth trailer), the access point can be changed to a new hub at a central location of the vehicle 100 …a full WiFi mesh system could be used to connect many hubs at locations across the vehicle 100. Having wireless hubs 130a-d which control the central communication at each area of vehicle 100 allows many devices to quickly and easily communicate over the VAN 101, even when devices within the VAN 101 may be changed (e.g., sensor repair), or new or additional trailers and dollies may be added to the vehicle 100…”).
Regarding claim 12, Greer teaches a heavy-duty vehicle comprising: a main controller; a vehicle communication system for enabling communication between the main controller and one or more add-on module(s) arranged to be connected to the heavy-duty vehicle; (See Greer paragraph 0054; “…trailer 104a is provided, the access point can be the wireless hub 130 in the center of the one trailer, which all devices (e.g., transmitter/receivers, sensors and the like) in the trailer 104a or tractor 102 can wirelessly reach. If the second trailer 104b is included, the access point could still be located within the first trailer 104a at a location central to the vehicle 100 or, alternatively at the dolly hub 130c which is also centrally located. If additional trailers are added (e.g. a third and fourth trailer), the access point can be changed to a new hub at a central location of the vehicle 100 …a full WiFi mesh system could be used to connect many hubs at locations across the vehicle 100. Having wireless hubs 130a-d which control the central communication at each area of vehicle 100 allows many devices to quickly and easily communicate over the VAN 101, even when devices within the VAN 101 may be changed (e.g., sensor repair), or new or additional trailers and dollies may be added to the vehicle 100…”);
Geer does not explicitly teach but Javre teaches, the vehicle communication system comprising: a logical network segment arranged for communication between each add-on module and the main controller, thereby enabling each add-on module to communicate with the main controller over a separate logical network segment; and the control unit of claim 11 that Greer in view of Addepalli, Yousuf and Javre teached; (See Javre column 9, line 58-67; “FIG. 6 illustrates an example of multiple domains for a heterogeneous SoC 600. In the example of FIG. 6, domains 602, 604, 606, and 660 are shown. In an aspect, each of the resources shown within domains 602, 604, 606, and 660 (with the exception of the operating systems) is specified as being available within the hardware description file. For purposes of illustration, each of domains 602, 604, and 606 utilizes an operating system. Domain 660 may not use an operating system and support one or more bare-metal and/or standalone application(s).”); each respective logical network segment isolating communications of the corresponding add-on module from communications of at least one other add-one module; (See Javre column 9-10, line 58-17; “FIG. 6 illustrates an example of multiple domains for a heterogeneous SoC 600. In the example of FIG. 6, domains 602, 604, 606, and 660 are shown. In an aspect, each of the resources shown within domains 602, 604, 606, and 660 (with the exception of the operating systems) is specified as being available within the hardware description file. For purposes of illustration, each of domains 602, 604, and 606 utilizes an operating system. Domain 660 may not use an operating system and support one or more bare-metal and/or standalone application(s).
As illustrated, domain 602 includes processor 608, General Equipment Model (GEM) interface 614, Serial Peripheral Interface (SPI) 616, watchdog timer (WDT) 618, Quad Serial Peripheral Interface (QSPI) 620, and programmable logic Intellectual Property (PL IP) 622. Programmable logic IP refer to an IP or a core that is implemented in programmable circuitry. Domain 604 includes processor 610, a timing trigger and control (TTC) interface 630, WDT 632, Universal Asynchronous Receiver-Transmitter (UART) 634, and PL IP 636. Domain 606 includes processor 612, GEM interface 638, Secure Digital Input Output (SDIO) 640, Universal Serial Bus (USB) 642, SPI 644, Inter-Integrated circuit (I2C) interface 646, I2C interface 648, UART 650, QSPI 652, WDT 654, and Peripheral Component Interconnect Express (PCIe) 656. Domain 660 includes a processor 662 (e.g., without an operating system), TTC interface 664, WDT 668, UART 670, and PLIP 672.”).
Both Greer and Javre are in the same field of communication systems. It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to modify Greer vehicle communication system with Javre multiple domains for a heterogeneous SoC includes isolating processor. No new functionality would arise from the combination and the combination would improve usability of Greer by adding multiple domains for a heterogeneous SoC includes isolating processor will allow better exchange of data between modules, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 13 Greer in view of Addepalli, Yousuf and Javre taches the heavy-duty vehicle of claim 12, Greer further teaches, wherein the one or more add-on module(s) are connected to the heavy-duty vehicle; (See Greer paragraph 0045; “The tractor hub 130a is also paired to the trailer hub 130b so that the respective subnetworks 112, 114 are in secure communication. To pair the hubs 130a, 130b, the OOB pairing link can use a physical connection with ISO 11992, which is a CAN based vehicle bus standard in the heavy-duty truck industry for communication between the tractor and one or more trailers. The pairing of the hubs 130a, 130b can share a unique data key such as a key generated by AES-128 encryption.”).
Regarding claim 15 Greer further teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising computer program comprising program code, which when executed by a computer, performs the steps of claim 6 that Greer in view of Addepalli, Yousuf and Javre; (See Greer paragraph 0058 and 0082; “A CPU generally is logic circuitry that responds to and processes instructions that drive a controller and can include, without limitation, a central processing unit, an arithmetic logic unit, an application specific integrated circuit, a task engine, and/or any combinations, arrangements, or multiples thereof. Software or code generally refers to computer instructions which, when executed on one or more digital data processing devices, cause interactions with operating parameters, sequence data/parameters, database entries, network connection parameters/data, variables, constants, software libraries, and/or any other elements needed for the proper execution of the instructions, within an execution environment in memory of the digital data processing device(s)… The flowchart herein illustrates the structure or the logic of the present technology, possibly as embodied in computer program software for execution on by the hardware described herein. Those skilled in the art will appreciate that the flowchart illustrates the structures of the computer program code elements, including logic circuits on printed circuit boards having integrated circuits that function according to the present technology. As such, the present technology may be practiced by a machine component that renders the program code elements in a form that instructs a digital processing apparatus (e.g., micro controller or computer) to perform a sequence of function step(s) corresponding to those shown in the flowchart.”).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/SCOTT A BROWNE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666