DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the amendment filed 3/10/2026 where Claims 1-3, 6-13, 15, 16, 18-24 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Wook teaches to grasp the door handle and rotate it to a desired amount the user wants the door to open and states that the proximity sensor in his device is used to cause the door handle to extend out of the door for grasping by the user. Examiner contends that the recited claim language requires a proximity sensor to detect a user’s presence and activates an imaging mode which is reasonably construed by Wook’s teaching that the sensing unit includes a proximity sensor that is provided adjacent to the external handle and detects an object located within a certain distance, and the processor can protrude the external handle forward when a user’s hand is detected within a certain distance by the proximity sensor (see ¶ 0020). The vein recognition unit is positioned as to be aligned with the external handle in the front-back direction, and when data acquired by the vein recognition unit is recognized as matching previously stored vein data, the processor can control the door lock to be unlocked (see ¶ 0021). Examiner construes Wook teaches that the proximity sensor detects the user’s presence and activates an imaging mode when the door handle is protruded.
Applicant further argues that the user is required to grasp the door handle and rotate it to the desired amount that the door is desired to be opened and Wook states that his door handle uses some type of vein recognition, but fails to teach or suggest any structure that would allow that function to occur and without any disclosure about how a vein can be read when the user’s hand is directly against the sensor can hardly be described as a disclosure relating to vein recognition and is certainly more related to the control system for opening the door a predetermined amount of degrees. Examiner contends that the recited claim language requires a proximity sensor to detect a user’s presence and activates an imaging mode which is reasonably construed by Wook’s teaching that the sensing unit includes a proximity sensor that is provided adjacent to the external handle and detects an object located within a certain distance, and the processor can protrude the external handle forward when a user’s hand is detected within a certain distance by the proximity sensor (see ¶ 0020). The vein recognition unit is positioned as to be aligned with the external handle in the front-back direction, and when data acquired by the vein recognition unit is recognized as matching previously stored vein data, the processor can control the door lock to be unlocked (see ¶ 0021). When the proximity sensor 211 detects that the user is located within a certain distance, the processor 290 may protrude the outer handle of the door lock 20 forward (see ¶ 0089). The processor 290 can perform vein authentication of the user using data obtained from the sensing unit 210 (see ¶ 0090). If the registered vein data matches the vein data acquired through the vein recognition unit 213, the processor 290 can control the door lock 20 to be unlocked (see ¶ 0091). Examiner construes Wook teaches that the proximity sensor detects the user’s presence and activates an imaging mode when the door handle is protruded and without a recitation in the claim for a contactless vein reader, Wook’s teaching reasonably construes a vein reader activated by proximity of the user as recited in the claim. Further, the processor controls the door lock to be unlocked when the data acquired by the vein recognition unit is recognized as matching previously stored vein data and the claim requires operating a latch or unlocking a door lock, opening the door handle is a further step not explicitly disclosed in the claim.
Applicant further argues that Wook fails to disclose a vein recognition sensor or an iris recognition sensor and there is no such thing as a vein recognition sensor. Examiner contends that the Wook reference is a translation and the vein reader described above meets the claim limitations as recited.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, Yang teaches a safe having a fingerprint reader. Examiner contends that the recited claim language requires a proximity sensor to detect a user’s presence and activates an imaging mode which is reasonably construed by Wook’s teaching that modifies Yang’s authentication process to include a modified fingerprint reader activated by proximity sensing where Wook teaches the sensing unit includes a proximity sensor that is provided adjacent to the external handle and detects an object located within a certain distance, and the processor can protrude the external handle forward when a user’s hand is detected within a certain distance by the proximity sensor (see ¶ 0020). The vein recognition unit is positioned as to be aligned with the external handle in the front-back direction, and when data acquired by the vein recognition unit is recognized as matching previously stored vein data, the processor can control the door lock to be unlocked (see ¶ 0021). When the proximity sensor 211 detects that the user is located within a certain distance, the processor 290 may protrude the outer handle of the door lock 20 forward (see ¶ 0089). The processor 290 can perform vein authentication of the user using data obtained from the sensing unit 210 (see ¶ 0090). If the registered vein data matches the vein data acquired through the vein recognition unit 213, the processor 290 can control the door lock 20 to be unlocked (see ¶ 0091). Therefore, the combination of Yang and Wook’s teaching reasonably construes a safe having a vein reader activated by proximity of the user as recited in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2012/0281889 to Yang in view of Korean Patent Publication 2021/0019215 to Wook et al (“Wook”).
As to Claim 1, Yang teaches a bio-metric safe assembly comprising: a housing base comprised of first and second side walls, respectively, a front wall, a rear wall, and a bottom wall, the walls secured together leaving a top portion open and forming a cavity inside of the housing base (biometric fingerprint control safe comprises a cabinet 10, see ¶ 0022; The cabinet 10 comprises a box body 11 having a safe compartment 101 with a top opening, and a top accessing panel 12 [top portion] hinged with the box body 11 to fold between an opened position and a closed position. The box body 11 [housing base] comprises a bottom panel 111 [bottom wall], a front panel 112 [front wall], a rear panel 113 [rear wall], and two side panels 114 [first and second side walls] to define the safe compartment 101 [cavity] within the bottom panel 111, the front panel 112, the rear panel 113, and the side panels 114, see ¶ 0023); a cover member for covering the top open portion, the cover moveable between a closed position which prevents access to the cavity and an open position which allows access to the cavity (The cabinet 10 comprises a box body 11 having a safe compartment 101 with a top opening, and a top accessing panel 12 [cover member for covering the top open portion] hinged with the box body 11 to fold between an opened position and a closed position, see ¶ 0023),
a latch mechanism constructed and arranged to engage at least one catch member to lock the cover member in the closed position and release the catch member upon receiving an electrical signal from a receiver positioned within the safe (The fingerprint scanning mechanism 30 [receiver positioned within the safe] is operatively linked to the lock mechanism 20 for scanning a fingerprint of a user and arranged in such a manner that when the fingerprint is detected in an authorized manner, the lock mechanism 20 is unlocked to enable the top accessing panel 12 [cover member] being folded from the closed position to the opened position, see ¶ 0025; The lock mechanism 20 comprises a power source 21 supported at the bottom surface of the top protecting housing 122, i.e. the bottom surface of the top accessing panel 12, a power generator 22 received within the protection cavity 123 and electrically linked to the power source 21, at least a locking latch 23 driven by the power generator 22 to lock up the top accessing panel 12 at the front panel 112 of the box body 11, see ¶ 0030; The power source 21 is activated in responsive to the fingerprint scanning mechanism 30 [receiving an electrical signal from a receiver positioned within the safe], see ¶ 0031),
Yang does not expressly disclose the receiver in electrical communication with a controller, the controller constructed and arranged to utilize biometric blood vessel information to identify a user, the controller including a radiation source module, the radiation source module including a light source with an intensity sufficient to pass through the palm or the finger of a user placed in proximity to the controller so that a blood vessel image can be digitally recorded by a digital camera, the controller comparing the blood vessel image to blood vessel images stored in a controller memory, wherein the controller includes a switch activated by the presence of a portion of the user's anatomy in a desired position without touching the switch, the switch initiating an imaging mode for imaging the user's blood vessels and comparison of the images to images stored in the controller memory, wherein the controller sends an electric signal to the receiver to operate the latch mechanism when the user is positively identified with a matching blood vessel image.
Wook teaches the receiver in electrical communication with a controller (communication unit may include one or more modules (communication circuits) that connect the smart door 200 to a home network, see ¶ 0054; the communication unit may include a wireless Internet module, see ¶ 0058; a wireless Internet module refers to a module for wireless Internet access, and can be built into or external to a smart door 200. The wireless Internet module is configured to transmit and receive wireless signals, see ¶ 0059; the short-range communication modules can support wireless communication…between a smart door 200 and a terminal…between a smart door 200 and an external server, see ¶ 0064), the controller constructed and arranged to utilize biometric blood vessel information to identify a user (sensing unit 220 may include at least one of a vein recognition sensor that obtains the user’s vein data, see ¶ 0072; sensing unit 210 may include a proximity sensor 211, see ¶ 0075; the above proximity sensor 211 refers to a sensor that detects the presence or absence of an object approaching a predetermined detection surface or an object existing nearby without mechanical contact by using the force of an electromagnetic field or infrared rays, see ¶ 0076; the sensing unit 210 may include a camera for photographing the user’s veins. The above camera may be an infrared camera, see ¶ 0080; processor 290 can perform vein authentication of the user using data obtained from the sensing unit 210, see ¶ 0090).
the controller including a radiation source module, the radiation source module including a light source with an intensity sufficient to pass through the palm or the finger of a user placed in proximity to the controller so that a blood vessel image can be digitally recorded by a digital camera, the controller comparing the blood vessel image to blood vessel images stored in a controller memory (the above processor 290 can process data (or information) detected through the proximity sensor 211, see ¶ 0078; the sensing unit 210 may include a camera for photographing the user’s veins. The above camera may be an infrared camera, see ¶ 0080; the camera may be a near-infrared camera that photographs blood vessels in the palm or fingers, see ¶ 0081; the above camera may be a time of flight (TOF) camera that uses a near-infrared light source. The above-mentioned TOF camera applies TOF (time of flight) to extract multiple body part vein patterns at different depths in the skin epidermis [the controller including a radiation source module, the radiation source module including a light source with an intensity sufficient to pass through the palm or the finger of a user placed on the controller], see ¶ 0082; the processor 290 [controller] can perform vein authentication of the user using data obtained from the sensing unit 210, see ¶ 0090; if the registered vein data matches the vein data acquired through the vein recognition unit 213, see ¶ 0092);
wherein the controller includes a switch activated by the presence of a portion of the user's anatomy in a desired position without touching the switch (sensing unit 210 may include a proximity sensor 211, see ¶ 0075; the above proximity sensor 211 refers to a sensor that detects the presence or absence of an object approaching a predetermined detection surface or an object existing nearby without mechanical contact by using the force of an electromagnetic field or infrared rays, see ¶ 0076), the switch initiating an imaging mode for imaging the user's blood vessels and comparison of the images to images stored in the controller memory (when proximity sensor 211 [switch] detects that the user is located within a certain distance…the processor 290 can perform vein authentication of the user using data obtained from the sensing unit 210 [initiating an image mode for imaging the user’s blood vessels], see ¶ 0089-0090; the processor 290 can perform vein authentication of the user using data obtained from the sensing unit 210, see ¶ 0090; if the registered vein data [images stored in controller memory] matches the vein data acquired through the vein recognition unit 213, see ¶ 0092),
wherein the controller sends an electric signal to the receiver to operate the latch mechanism when the user is positively identified with a matching blood vessel image (when proximity sensor 211 [switch] detects that the user is located within a certain distance…the processor 290 can perform vein authentication of the user using data obtained from the sensing unit 210 [initiating an image mode for imaging the user’s blood vessels], see ¶ 0089-0090; if the above vein authentication is determined to be successful, the processor (290) can control the door lock (250) to be unlocked, see ¶ 0260).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Yang with Wook to teach the receiver in electrical communication with a controller, the controller constructed and arranged to utilize biometric blood vessel information to identify a user, the controller including a radiation source module, the radiation source module including a light source with an intensity sufficient to pass through the palm or the finger of a user placed in proximity to the controller so that a blood vessel image can be digitally recorded by a digital camera, the controller comparing the blood vessel image to blood vessel images stored in a controller memory, wherein the controller includes a switch activated by the presence of a portion of the user's anatomy in a desired position without touching the switch, the switch initiating an imaging mode for imaging the user's blood vessels and comparison of the images to images stored in the controller memory, wherein the controller sends an electric signal to the receiver to operate the latch mechanism when the user is positively identified with a matching blood vessel image. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order for when data acquired by the vein recognition unit is recognized as matching previously stored vein data, the processor can control the door lock to be unlocked (see ¶ 0021).
As to Claim 19, Yang and Wook depending on Claim 1, Wook teaches wherein the controller communicates with the latch mechanism via Bluetooth (communication unit may include one or more modules (communication circuits) that connect the smart door 200 to a home network, see ¶ 0054; the communication unit may include a wireless Internet module, see ¶ 0058; a wireless Internet module refers to a module for wireless Internet access, and can be built into or external to a smart door 200. The wireless Internet module is configured to transmit and receive wireless signals, see ¶ 0059; the short-range communication module is for short-range communication…using at least one of Bluetooth, see ¶ 0063; the short-range communication modules can support wireless communication…between a smart door 200 and a terminal…between a smart door 200 and an external server, see ¶ 0064).
Claim(s) 2-3, 6-8, 11, 15, 16, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2012/0281889 to Yang in view of Korean Patent Publication 2021/0019215 to Wook et al (“Wook”) in further view of Chinese Patent Publication 106960194 to Xu et al (“Xu”) (relied upon English Translation).
As to Claim 2, Yang and Wook depending on Claim 1, Yang and Wook do not expressly disclose wherein the controller includes a palm positioner and palm blood vessels are utilized to identify the user. Xu teaches
wherein the controller includes a palm positioner and palm blood vessels are utilized to identify the user (the imaging module and the finger positioning device is opened…a vein identifying system in the shell 1, the vein identification system comprises a processor, a memory, an image identification module, a network connection module and so on. are processed by vein identification system from the CMOS camera 41 acquires the position image and vein image, see ¶ 0048).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Yang and Wook with Xu to teach wherein the controller includes a palm positioner and palm blood vessels are utilized to identify the user. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to obtain good image quality and good imaging contrast (see ¶ 0007).
As to Claim 3, Yang and Wook depending on Claim 1, Yang, Hyde and Nie do not expressly disclose wherein the controller includes a finger positioner and finger blood vessels are utilized to identify the user. Xu teaches
wherein the controller includes a finger positioner and finger blood vessels are utilized to identify the user (realizing the display of the finger vein image, and then recognition is performed based on the vein image, see ¶ 0018; the identification enhancement module includes one or more of a finger positioning device, see ¶ 0019).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Yang and Wook with Xu to teach wherein the controller includes a finger positioner and finger blood vessels are utilized to identify the user. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to obtain good image quality and good imaging contrast (see ¶ 0007).
As to Claim 6, Yang and Wook depending on Claim 1, Yang and Wook do not expressly disclose wherein the switch is a proximity switch. Xu teaches wherein the switch is a proximity switch (the micro-touch switch [proximity switch] is further provided with a vibrating feedback device, see ¶ 0017).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Yang and Wook with Xu to teach wherein the switch is a proximity switch. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to obtain good image quality and good imaging contrast (see ¶ 0007).
As to Claim 7, Yang, Wook and Xu depending on Claim 4, Xu teaches
wherein the controller memory is constructed and arranged to store a plurality of images of user blood vessels used by the controller for comparison to a user’s blood vessels (vein recognition system then processes the image to extract features, and then matches them one by one from the sample library based on the preset threshold, see ¶ 0040).
As to Claim 8, Yang, Wook and Xu depending on Claim 3, Xu teaches
wherein the controller includes a housing, the housing including a finger positioner, the finger positioner constructed to control the rotational deviation angle of the user’s finger when inserted (a CMOS camera 41 acquiring the position image obtaining finger 100 position information, position information in this embodiment comprises pitching position information according to the finger 100, and the finger edge information of the deviation angle, see ¶ 0043).
As to Claim 11, Yang, Wook and Xu depending on Claim 2, Xu teaches wherein the controller includes a housing, the housing including a palm positioner, the palm positioner constructed to control the pitch angle and rotational angle of the user’s palm when the user’s palm is placed upon the palm positioner (the position information in this embodiment includes the position information obtained according to the pitch angle of the finger 100, and the finger edge information obtained according to the offset angle, see ¶ 0043).
As to Claim 15, Yang and Wook depending on Claim 1, Yang and Wook do not expressly disclose wherein the light source is a light emitting diode, the light emitting diode emitting light having a wavelength between 750 nanometers and 950 nanometers. Xu teaches wherein the light source is a light emitting diode, the light emitting diode emitting light having a wavelength between 750 nanometers and 950 nanometers (LED lamp of the LED array 31 on the light source can be the wavelength of 750 mm -940mm between the near infrared space, using the infrared filter narrow bandpass, see ¶ 0051).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Yang and Wook with Xu to teach wherein the light source is a light emitting diode, the light emitting diode emitting light having a wavelength between 750 nanometers and 950 nanometers. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to obtain good image quality and good imaging contrast (see ¶ 0007).
As to Claim 16, Yang and Wook depending on Claim 1, Yang and Wook do not expressly disclose wherein the light source produces light in the visible spectrum, and is operable to have light therefrom pass through an optical filter configured for near infrared light transmission. Xu teaches
wherein the light source produces light in the visible spectrum, and is operable to have light therefrom pass through an optical filter configured for near infrared light transmission (the positioning light source 51 irradiates near infrared to 2 direction of the finger grooves. The imaging module comprises a CMOS camera 41 and an infrared filter 42. The infrared filter 42 on the CMOS camera 41 and the finger groove 2 between, see ¶ 0037; LED lamp of the LED array 31 on the light source can be the wavelength of 750 mm -940mm between the near infrared space, see ¶ 0051).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Yang and Wook with Xu to teach wherein the light source produces light in the visible spectrum, and is operable to have light therefrom pass through an optical filter configured for near infrared light transmission. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to obtain good image quality and good imaging contrast (see ¶ 0007).
As to Claim 18, Yang and Wook depending on Claim 1, Yang and Wook do not expressly disclose wherein the controller adjusts for the position, pitch and rotational angles of the user’s finger or palm if needed to determine if there is a match to a stored image. Xu teaches wherein the controller adjusts for the position, pitch and rotational angles of the user’s finger or palm if needed to determine if there is a match to a stored image (finger positioning device by the structure light irradiation pitch angle and the deviation angle of the fingertip and finger measured finger, to obtain good finger position information, see Abstract).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Yang and Wook with Xu to teach wherein the controller adjusts for the position, pitch and rotational angles of the user’s finger or palm if needed to determine if there is a match to a stored image. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to obtain good image quality and good imaging contrast (see ¶ 0007).
Claim(s) 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2012/0281889 to Yang in view of Korean Patent Publication 2021/0019215 to Wook et al (“Wook”) in further view of Chinese Patent Publication 106960194 to Xu et al (“Xu”) (relied upon English Translation) and in further view of U.S. Patent 11,080,978 to Goldstein.
As to Claim 12, Yang, Wook and Xu depending on Claim 11, Yang, Wook and Xu do not expressly disclose wherein the controller is constructed to include a data port, the data port suitably constructed to cooperate with a dongle for remote operational control of the latch mechanism. Goldstein teaches wherein the controller is constructed to include a data port, the data port suitably constructed to cooperate with a dongle for remote operational control of the latch mechanism (the above communication unit may include one or more modules (communication circuits) that enable communication between the smart door (200) and a wireless communication system, between the smart door (200) and a terminal, between the smart door (200) and a home server, and between the smart door (200) and an external server through a wired or wireless connection, see ¶ 0053; Meanwhile, when the smart door (200) is connected to an external device by wire, the communication unit may include an interface unit that acts as a passageway with the external device, see ¶ 0067; the interface portion [dongle] may include at least one of a data port, see ¶ 0068; door lock (250) is a mechanical device mounted on a smart door (200) and is a device that can lock or unlock the smart door (200) with an operating mechanism driven by electrical energy…door lock (250) may include an actuator, which is a mechanical driving source, see ¶ 0110).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Yang, Wook and Xu with Goldstein to teach wherein the controller is constructed to include a data port, the data port suitably constructed to cooperate with a dongle for remote operational control of the latch mechanism. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order for the communication unit may include an interface unit that acts as a passageway with the external device (see ¶ 0067).
As to Claim 13, Yang, Wook, Xu and Goldstein depending on Claim 12, Goldstein teaches wherein the data port is constructed to cooperate with a first end of a cord, a second end of the cord connected to the latch mechanism for direct electrical operation of the latch mechanism from the controller (communication circuits) that enable communication between the smart door (200) and a wireless communication system, between the smart door (200) and a terminal, between the smart door (200) and a home server, and between the smart door (200) and an external server through a wired or wireless connection, see ¶ 0053; Meanwhile, when the smart door (200) is connected to an external device by wire, the communication unit may include an interface unit that acts as a passageway with the external device, see ¶ 0067; the interface portion may include at least one of a data port, see ¶ 0068; door lock (250) is a mechanical device mounted on a smart door (200) and is a device that can lock or unlock the smart door (200) with an operating mechanism driven by electrical energy…door lock (250) may include an actuator, which is a mechanical driving source, see ¶ 0110).
Claim(s) 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2012/0281889 to Yang in view of Korean Patent Publication 2021/0019215 to Wook et al (“Wook”) in further view of U.S. Patent Publication 2023/0072967 to Lv et al (“Lv”).
As to Claim 20, Yang and Wook depending on Claim 1, Yang and Wook do not expressly disclose wherein the controller communicates with the latch mechanism via Zigbee chip. Lv teaches wherein the controller communicates with the latch mechanism via Zigbee chip (if the first electronic device is a user terminal and the second electronic device is a door lock (e.g., the smart door lock 100) that is communicatively connected to the user terminal, the connection method between the two can be NFC, Bluetooth network connection, etc., or LAN, GPRS, ZigBee network, etc., see ¶ 0187).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Yang and Wook with Lv to teach wherein the controller communicates with the latch mechanism via Zigbee chip. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order for the door lock to be communicatively connected to the user terminal (¶ 0187).
Claim(s) 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2012/0281889 to Yang in view of Korean Patent Publication 2021/0019215 to Wook et al (“Wook”) in further view of U.S. Patent 11,112,212 to Hyde.
As to Claim 23, Yang and Wook depending on Claim 1, Yang and Wook do not expressly disclose wherein the cover member is a door. Hyde teaches
wherein the cover member is a door (The cabinet 10 comprises a box body 11 having a safe compartment 101 with a top opening, and a top accessing panel 12 [cover member for covering the top open portion] hinged with the box body 11 to fold between an opened position and a closed position, see ¶ 0023).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Yang and Wook with Hyde to teach wherein the cover member is a door. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to cause the translation of the latch member in response to receipt of the proper credentials (see Col. 2, lines 12-14).
As to Claim 24, Yang and Wook depending on Claim 1, Yang and Wook do not expressly disclose wherein the cover member is a slide. Hyde teaches
wherein the cover member is a slide (when the top accessing panel 12 is pivotally lifted up, the piston cylinder 411 and the piston arm 412 are slid away from each other to lengthen the distance between the upper and lower ends, see ¶ 0048).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Yang and Wook with Hyde to teach wherein the cover member is a slide. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to cause the translation of the latch member in response to receipt of the proper credentials (see Col. 2, lines 12-14).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 10, 21, 22 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2020/0291676
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EBONI N GILES/Examiner, Art Unit 2622
/PATRICK N EDOUARD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2622