DETAILED ACTION
The following is a Non-Final Office Action in response to communications received June 26, 2026. Claim(s) 14 has been canceled. Claims 1, 8 and 15 have been amended. No new claims have been added. Therefore, claims 1-13 and 15-21 are pending and addressed below.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Application No. 18/346,416 Filing date: 07/03/2023.
Applicant Name/Assignee: Capital One Services, LLC
Inventor(s); Pawar, Pawankumar; Kayton, Elisabeth; Singh, Harvinder; Rajaram, Manikandan
Response to Amendment/Arguments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Applicant's arguments filed June 26, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In the remarks applicant argues that under step 2A prong 2 and MPEP 2106.04(d)(I) that the claimed subject matter integrates the alleged abstract idea into a practical application is patent eligible as the claimed subject matter improvement to other technology or technical field indicative that an additional element may have integrated the exception into a practical application. Applicant argues the limitations provide a technical solution to a technical problem associated with workflows that are developed channel-by-channel and hardcoded as described in para 0017-0018 of the specification. Applicant recites the limitations arguing the technical solution whereby a workflow is portable across different communication channels and integrates with one or more API’s that provide capabilities to obtain information from one or more transaction backend systems allowing frontend integration to occur:
…an intake management system may provide customized intake handling for fraudulent and/or disputed transactions, which may be portable across different communication channels and provide capabilities to dynamically select an intake workflow and to dynamically select a next screen within the intake workflow to guide the user toward an appropriate resolution. For example, in some implementations, the intake system described herein may provide a backend for in-flow decision-making, where only user interface releases need to be updated to update an intake workflow for a new use case. Furthermore, the intake system described herein may include one or more application program interfaces (APIs) that provide capabilities to obtain information from one or more transaction backend systems, which allows frontend integration to occur with significant flexibility and agility. For example, at each decision-making point in an intake workflow, the intake system may check one or more rules to verify whether one or more tokens have been validated or need to be validated for a current screen of the intake workflow, may check one or more rules to determine whether one or more downstream API calls need to be made to obtain relevant transaction data from the integrated transaction backend systems, may invoke the appropriate API calls when needed, and may check one or more rules to return information indicating a next screen to be presented to a user and/or information to be presented on the next screen…”
The process improves upon hardcoded/channel specific workflows. Applicant’s argument is not persuasive. The specification describes applying technology to provide workflows for tasks to address disputed transactions or a reported potential incident related to a transaction (para 0003-0004). Improvement to workflows for addressing business incidents is an improvement to the abstract idea, not technology. The rejection is maintained.
In the remarks applicant argues that based on the patent eligibility of the independent claims 1, 8 and 15 as discussed above, dependent claims 2-7, 9-13 and 16-21 are also patent eligible. The examiner respectfully disagrees. See response above, the rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Applicant's arguments are moot in light of the new ground of rejection that was necessitated by Applicant's amendments. Based on an updated search of the art, a new reference was used in the rejection below
Claim Interpretation
With respect to the claim limitation “perform…API calls to one or more integrated transaction backend systems to determine whether the user account is eligible to report the potential incident”, the specification discloses “the intake system may check one or more rules to verify whether one or more tokens have been validated or need to be validated for a current screen of the intake workflow, may check one or more rules to determine whether one or more downstream API calls need to be made to obtain relevant transaction data from the integrated transaction backend systems, may invoke the appropriate API calls when needed, and may check one or more rules to return information indicating a next screen to be presented to a user and/or information to be presented on the next screen.” (¶ 0018); “the intake system may perform one or more API calls to determine whether the user is eligible to report a fraud or dispute claim based on the historical data. For example, in some implementations, the intake system may perform one or more API calls to communicate with a transaction backend system to determine an age of the associated account, a date when an address associated with the account was last updated, a status (e.g., active, inactive, or expired) associated with the account, an issue date associated with the account, and/or a status related to whether there are any existing security reports or fraud cases associated with the account. Accordingly, in some implementations, the intake system may perform the one or more API calls to determine one or more of these and/or other parameters to verify that the user associated with the account is eligible to report a fraud claim or dispute a transaction. For example, in some implementations, the intake system may determine that the user is ineligible to report the potential incident if the account is less than a threshold number of days (e.g., thirty days) old, and/or if the address was changed within a threshold time period (e.g., the last thirty days). In addition, the intake system may obtain information indicating how frequently the user has historically reported fraudulent transactions or disputed transactions, information indicating whether the user has any existing fraud or dispute cases, information indicating whether the allegedly fraudulent or disputed transaction is a recurring transaction, and/or information indicating whether the allegedly fraudulent or disputed transaction is a transaction related to an alert that was sent to the user (e.g., based on suspicious activity indicative of potential fraud). (¶ 0021); “For example, when the user reports the incident, the intake system may perform one or more API calls to determine whether the user has a purchase history with the associated merchant, whether the transaction is a recurring transaction, and/or other suitable information that may relate to purchasing patterns, user activity patterns, and/or other patterns that may indicate whether the potential incident is likely to be a fraud claim or to be a dispute” (¶ 0022); “the intake system may perform one or more API calls (e.g., to check for existing claims and/or other relevant data) to determine whether the user is eligible to report the incident.” (¶ 0027). The specification discloses the perform API calls to be the retrieving of data/rules relevant to determining user eligible. According in light of the specification, the API calls function is interpreted to be a function to “retrieve” data relevant to eligibility.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-13 and 15-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the instant application is directed to non-patentable subject matter. Specifically, the claims are directed toward at least one judicial exception without reciting additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The rationale for this determination is in accordance with the guidelines of USPTO, applies to all statutory categories, and is explained in detail below.
In reference to Claims 1-7 and 21:
STEP 1. Per Step 1 of the two-step analysis, the claims are determined to include a system, as in independent Claim 1 and the dependent claims. Such systems fall under the statutory category of "machine." Therefore, the claims are directed to a statutory eligibility category.
STEP 2A Prong 1. The claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. System claim 1 recites functional process 1) receive report request 2) classify potential incident 3) selecting workflow to resolve potential incident 4) present initial screen with workflow 5) receive user input 6) present selected next screen associated with workflow.
The claim limitations, when considered as a whole the claimed subject matter is directed toward receiving report request related to “potential incidents” in order to select and present a workflow to resolve the “potential incident” with respect to transactions. The Specification is titled “Customized Intake Handling for Fraudulent and/or Disputed Transaction,” and discloses, in the Background section, that credit card transaction are associated with various risk in the form of fraud, disputes and purchase processes. Where in the case of disputes parties have the right to initiate dispute resolution where the disputed transactions are investigated and apply work process toward resolutions. The specification ¶ 0003, states that the current application is to provide a customized “intake” handling by selecting an intake workflow to resolve potential incidents. Accordingly, the specification makes clear that the focus of the invention is to address transaction risk. Such concepts can be found in the abstract category of risk mitigation a fundamental economic practice a sub-category of the abstract category of Methods of Organizing Human Activity.
Additionally, the claimed limitations which under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic system processor to implement the step and the presenting of a selected screen. That is, other than reciting one or more processors used to perform the recited steps and the presentation of a “initial screen” and “next screen”, nothing in the claim precludes the limitations from being reasonably performed using mental processes. The limitations which mimic mental processes include step 1) and 6) “receiving request” and receive inputs (mental concept of observation), steps 2) – 3) (mental concept of analysis and decision). The steps 4) “present initial screen” and 6) “present next screen” limitations do not improve over manual methods of using pen and paper. Presenting workflow screens is merely applying technology to display selected workflow process which is a process which can reasonably under the category of mental concepts, be performed using pen and paper where a human could draw out an initial workflow and a next workflow to observe. With regard the category of mental processes, according to case law mental processes are not entirely limited to processes within a human mind. MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) The courts do not distinguish between mental processes that are performed entirely in the human mind and mental processes that require a human to use a physical aid (e.g., pen and paper or a slide rule) to perform the claim limitation. See, e.g., Benson, 409 U.S. at 67, 65, 175 USPQ at 674-75, 674 (noting that the claimed "conversion of [binary-coded decimal] numerals to pure binary numerals can be done mentally," i.e., "as a person would do it by head and hand."); Synopsys, Inc. v. Mentor Graphics Corp., 839 F.3d 1138, 1139, 120 USPQ2d 1473, 1474 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (holding that claims to a mental process of "translating a functional description of a logic circuit into a hardware component description of the logic circuit" are directed to an abstract idea, because the claims "read on an individual performing the claimed steps mentally or with pencil and paper"). Therefore, the limitations, mimic human thought processes of observation, evaluation and opinion, and communication of result which, where the data interpretation is perceptible only in the human mind. See In re TLl Commc'ns LLC Patent Litig., 823 F.3d 607, 611 (Fed. Cir. 2016); FairWarning IP, LLC v. latric Sys., Inc., 839 F.3d 1089, 1093-94 (Fed. Cir. 2016)
The claim limitations under step 2A prong 1 are directed toward concepts enumerated in Section I of the 2019 revised patent subject matter eligibility guidance published in the federal register (84 FR 50) on January 7, 2019) which include the abstract category of mental processes and methods of organizing human activity.
STEP 2A Prong 2: The identified judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims fail to provide indications of patent eligible subject matter that integrate the alleged abstract idea into a practical application. The additional elements recited in the claim beyond the abstract idea include a system comprising one or more memories, one or more processors coupled to the memories, a user device interface and screen, a first and second communication channel, integrated backend systems, one or more application program interface (API).
The claimed generic system processor is applied to perform the operations of “receive…a request”, “present…an initial screen …”, “receive ….user inputs”, “present …a next screen”, which according to MPEP 2106.05(d) II (see also MPEP 2106.05(g)) are directed toward extra solution activity. The courts have recognized the following computer functions are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity.
Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1745 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (using a telephone for image transmission); OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network); buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network); but see DDR Holdings, LLC v. Hotels.com, L.P., 773 F.3d 1245, 1258, 113 USPQ2d 1097, 1106 (Fed. Cir. 2014)
The claim limitations (“receive…a request”, “present…an initial screen …”, “receive ….user inputs”, “present …a next screen”) are recited at a high level of generality without details of technical implementation and thus are insignificant extra solution activity.
The additional limitations performed by the generic system processor include “classify…incident and …data”, “select …workflow”, “select one or more additional next screens… until final outcome” are is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than applying the exception using generic computer components for the purpose of analyzing financial transaction data to mitigate fraud and perform a deposit transaction.
The wherein clause “wherein the user interface entry point is used to report the potential incident” does not further limit the “classify” operation but instead limits the associated interface entry points for reporting the potential incident” which is mere applying the interface to collect data an insignificant extra solution activity.
The wherein clause “wherein the initial screen associated with the intake workflow includes one or more questions to request one or more user inputs that indicate one or more parameters related to the potential incident” does not further limit the initial screen but instead limits the data acted upon.
The additional element “integrated transaction backend system” is merely applied to receive calls from the API and does not perform any operations of the system.
The wherein clause “wherein the intake workflow is portable across a plurality of communication channels, including the particular communication channel”, does not further limit the user interface or the selecting step but instead merely limits the workflow as portable. The claim limitations are silent with respect to any processed tied to the portability of the intake workflow.
The “first” and “second” communication channel are merely applied to communicate data.
The claim limitations when considered individually fail to provide any indications of patent eligible subject matter, according to MPEP guidance (see MPEP 2106.05 (a)-(c), (e )-(h).
(i) an improvement to the functioning of a computer;
(ii) an improvement to another technology or technical field;
(iii) an application of the abstract idea with, or by use of, a
particular machine;
(iv) a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a
different state or thing; or
(v) other meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the
use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment.
The functions are is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than applying the exception using generic computer components. Taking the claim elements separately, the operation performed by the system at each step of the process is purely in terms of results desired and devoid of implementation of details. This is true with respect to the limitations (1) receiving request, (5) receive user inputs and (5) present (output) initial workflow screen and (6) present (output) next workflow screen, are recited at a high level of generality and thus are insignificant extra solution activity. The classifying limitation (2) is directed toward analyzing transaction data The selecting limitation (3) is being performed by a system processor where the processor performs the selecting at a high level of generality amounting to no more than mere instructions to apply the identified abstract idea using generic computer processors. The claimed processor functions are to generally apply the abstract idea without limiting how the processor functions. The limitations only recite outcomes of “receiving”, “classify”, “selecting” and “presenting” without any details about how the outcomes are accomplished as a technical process.
Technology is not integral to the process as the claimed subject matter is so high level that any generic programming could be applied and the functions could be performed by any known means. Furthermore, the claimed functions do not provide an operation that could be considered as sufficient to provide a technological implementation or application of/or improvement to this concept (i.e. integrated into a practical application).
When the claims are taken as a whole, as an ordered combination, the combination of limitations 1-2 are directed toward a business process of receiving a report request related to a transaction related “potential incident” and performing a API call to retrieve information relevant to determining user associated with an account eligible to report potential incident- insignificant extra solution activity and business process. The combination of limitations 1-2 and 3 directed toward classifying potential information data of limitations 1-2 and selecting workflow to resolve incident which is directed toward a business process to mitigate risk. The wherein clause of the ”classify” step does not further limit the classify function. The wherein clause of the select step does not affect the operation of the processor for selecting the workflow as it related to a technical process, but rather the transaction data acted upon that is applied for the selection decision. Therefore, the combination of limitations 1-3 are directed toward a business process for risk mitigation. The combination of limitations 1-3 and 4-6 is directed toward outputting workflow questions and request for user response for a transaction process and receiving user input response and outputting additional workflow processes- a business process using technology to assist a user in addressing a business process.
The combinations of parts is not directed toward any technical process or technological technique or technological solution to a problem rooted in technology. The claim provides no technical details regarding how the processor operations is performed. Instead, similar to the claims at issue in Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Capital One Financial Corp., 850 F.3d 1332 (Fed. Cir. 2017), “the claim language . . . provides only a result-oriented solution with insufficient detail for how a computer accomplishes it. Our law demands more.” Intellectual Ventures, 850 F.3d at 1342 (citing Elec. Power Grp. LLC v. Alstom, S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1356 (Fed. Cir. 2016)).
Accordingly, the combination of steps not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application as the claim process fails to impose meaningful limits upon the abstract idea. This is because the claimed subject matter fails to provide additional elements or combination or elements to apply or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The functions recited in the claims recite the concept of analyzing data received and outputting the result for dispute resolution, which is a process directed toward a business practice.
The integration of elements do not improve upon technology or improve upon computer functionality or capability in how computers carry out one of their basic functions. The integration of elements do not provide a process that allows computers to perform functions that previously could not be performed. The integration of elements do not provide a process which applies a relationship to apply a new way of using an application. The instant application, therefore, still appears only to implement the abstract idea to the particular technological environments apply what generic computer functionality in the related arts. The steps are still a combination made to apply technology by using historical data and user input data to select and present a workflow for resolving disputes and does not provide any of the determined indications of patent eligibility set forth in the 2019 USPTO 101 guidance. The additional steps only add to those abstract ideas using generic functions, and the claims do not show improved ways of, for example, an particular technical function for performing the abstract idea that imposes meaningful limits upon the abstract idea. Moreover, Examiner was not able to identify any specific technological processes that goes beyond merely confining the abstract idea in a particular technological environment, which, when considered in the ordered combination with the other steps, could have transformed the nature of the abstract idea previously identified. The additional element “one or more processors” does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
STEP 2B; The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because as discussed above with respect to concepts of the abstract idea into a practical application. The additional elements recited in the claim beyond the abstract idea include a system comprising “one or more memories”, “one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories, integrated backend system, user interface, “first” and “second” communication channel, user device, API, the processors to perform the functions of “receive” request, “perform API calls”, “select” workflow, “present” an initial screen, “receive” user inputs and “present” a next screen “selected”. The system processor performing the operations is purely functional and generic. Nearly every system will include “one or more memories” and “one or more processors” capable of performing the basic computer functions of “receive”, “select” and “present” functions required by the claim limitations. A user device with an interface and the system processor to perform API calls. The “API” calls perform are recited at a high level for retrieving data operating in its ordinary capacity and is not sufficient to provide the needed significantly more. Further additional elements include user interface, user device, “one or more integrated transaction backend system”, however the claim limitations nominally mention the integrated transaction backend system and do not provide any operations performed by the backend system. The “first” and “second” communication channel do not provide significantly more than a means to communicate data. As a result, none of the hardware recited by the system claims offers a meaningful limitation beyond generally linking the use of the method to a particular technological environment, that is, implementation via computers. The recited limitations do not recite a particular technical process directed toward the technology itself or system applied, instead directed toward the abstract idea itself being implemented using generic technology.
Taking the claim elements separately, the function performed by the system processor at each step of the process is purely conventional. Using a system processors to “receive”, “select” and “present” ----are some of the most basic functions of a system processor. When the claims are taken as a whole, as an ordered combination, the combination of steps does not add “significantly more” by virtue of considering the steps as a whole, as an ordered combination. All of these system processor functions are generic, routine, conventional computer activities that are performed only for their conventional uses. See Elec. Power Grp. v. Alstom S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1353 (Fed. Cir. 2016). Also see In re Katz Interactive Call Processing Patent Litigation, 639 F.3d 1303, 1316 (Fed. Cir. 2011) ("Absent a possible narrower construction of the terms “generating”, “transmitting”, “intercepting”, identifying”, “determining”, “replacing” and “routing' ... are functions can be achieved by any general purpose computer without special programming"). None of these activities are used in some unconventional manner nor do any produce some unexpected result. Applicants do not contend they invented any of these activities. In short, each step does no more than require a generic computer to perform generic computer functions.
As to the data operated upon, "even if a process of collecting and analyzing information is 'limited to particular content' or a particular 'source,' that limitation does not make the collection and analysis other than abstract." SAP America, Inc. v. Invest Pic LLC, 898 F.3d 1161, 1168 (Fed. Cir. 2018). Considered as an ordered combination, the computer components of Applicant’s claimed functions add nothing that is not already present when the steps are considered separately. The sequence of data reception-analysis modification-transmission is equally generic and conventional. See Ultramercial, Inc. v. Hulu, LLC, 772 F.3d 709, 715 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (sequence of receiving, selecting, offering for exchange, display, allowing access, and receiving payment recited as an abstraction), Inventor Holdings, LLC v. Bed Bath & Beyond, Inc., 876 F.3d 1372, 1378 (Fed. Cir. 2017) (sequence of data retrieval, analysis, modification, generation, display, and transmission), Two-Way Media Ltd. v. Comcast Cable Communications, LLC, 874 F.3d 1329, 1339 (Fed. Cir. 2017) (sequence of processing, routing, controlling, and monitoring). The ordering of the steps is therefore ordinary and conventional. The analysis concludes that the claims do not provide an inventive concept because the additional elements recited in the claims do not provide significantly more than the recited judicial exception.
According to 2106.05 well-understood and routine processes to perform the abstract idea is not sufficient to transform the claim into patent eligibility. As evidence the examiner provides:
The specification discloses:
[0029]…Furthermore, as described herein, the intake system may use user answers or responses that are provided during the intake workflow in combination with the historical data, machine learning outputs, or the like to select a next screen at each decision-making point in the intake workflow. In this way, the intake workflow is not bound to any particular sequence of screens or user interfaces, and is dynamically customized to guide the user toward the appropriate resolution. Furthermore, the various screens associated with the intake workflow may be operable with any suitable communication channel, which allows the user to start the incident report in a first communication channel and switch to another channel if needed….
[0054] The number and arrangement of devices and networks shown in Fig. 3 are provided as an example. In practice, there may be additional devices and/or networks, fewer devices and/or networks, different devices and/or networks, or differently arranged devices and/or networks than those shown in Fig. 3. Furthermore, two or more devices shown in Fig. 3 may be implemented within a single device, or a single device shown in Fig. 3 may be implemented as multiple, distributed devices. Additionally, or alternatively, a set of devices (e.g., one or more devices) of environment 300 may perform one or more functions described as being performed by another set of devices of environment 300.
[0055] Fig. 4 is a diagram of example components of a device 400 associated with customized intake handling for fraudulent and/or disputed transactions. The device 400 may correspond to the user device 310 and/or the intake system 320. In some implementations, the user device 310 and/or the intake system 320 may include one or more devices 400 and/or one or more components of the device 400. As shown in Fig. 4, the device 400 may include a bus 410, a processor 420, a memory 430, an input component 440, an output component 450, and/or a communication component 460.
[0056] The bus 410 may include one or more components that enable wired and/or wireless communication among the components of the device 400. The bus 410 may couple together two or more components of Fig. 4, such as via operative coupling, communicative coupling, electronic coupling, and/or electric coupling. For example, the bus 410 may include an electrical connection (e.g., a wire, a trace, and/or a lead) and/or a wireless bus. The processor 420 may include a central processing unit, a graphics processing unit, a microprocessor, a controller, a microcontroller, a digital signal processor, a field-programmable gate array, an application specific integrated circuit, and/or another type of processing component. The processor 420 may be implemented in hardware, firmware, or a combination of hardware and software. In some implementations, the processor 420 may include one or more processors capable of being programmed to perform one or more operations or processes described elsewhere herein.
[0057] The memory 430 may include volatile and/or nonvolatile memory. For example, the memory 430 may include random access memory (RAM), read only memory (ROM), a hard disk drive, and/or another type of memory (e.g., a flash memory, a magnetic memory, and/or an optical memory). The memory 430 may include internal memory (e.g., RAM, ROM, or a hard disk drive) and/or removable memory (e.g., removable via a universal serial bus connection).
The memory 430 may be a non-transitory computer-readable medium. The memory 430 may store information, one or more instructions, and/or software (e.g., one or more software applications) related to the operation of the device 400. In some implementations, the memory 430 may include one or more memories that are coupled (e.g., communicatively coupled) to one or more processors (e.g., processor 420), such as via the bus 410. Communicative coupling between a processor 420 and a memory 430 may enable the processor 420 to read and/or process information stored in the memory 430 and/or to store information in the memory 430.
[0058] The input component 440 may enable the device 400 to receive input, such as user input and/or sensed input. For example, the input component 440 may include a touch screen, a keyboard, a keypad, a mouse, a button, a microphone, a switch, a sensor, a global positioning system sensor, a global navigation satellite system sensor, an accelerometer, a gyroscope, and/or an actuator. The output component 450 may enable the device 400 to provide output, such as via a display, a speaker, and/or a light-emitting diode. The communication component 460 may enable the device 400 to communicate with other devices via a wired connection and/or a wireless connection. For example, the communication component 460 may include a receiver, a transmitter, a transceiver, a modem, a network interface card, and/or an antenna.
[0059] The device 400 may perform one or more operations or processes described herein. For example, a non-transitory computer-readable medium (e.g., memory 430) may store a set of instructions (e.g., one or more instructions or code) for execution by the processor 420. The processor 420 may execute the set of instructions to perform one or more operations or processes described herein. In some implementations, execution of the set of instructions, by one or more processors 420, causes the one or more processors 420 and/or the device 400 to perform one or more operations or processes described herein. In some implementations, hardwired circuitry
may be used instead of or in combination with the instructions to perform one or more operations or processes described herein. Additionally, or alternatively, the processor 420 may be configured to perform one or more operations or processes described herein. Thus, implementations described herein are not limited to any specific combination of hardware circuitry and software.
[0060] The number and arrangement of components shown in Fig. 4 are provided as an example. The device 400 may include additional components, fewer components, different components, or differently arranged components than those shown in Fig. 4. Additionally, or alternatively, a set of components (e.g., one or more components) of the device 400 may perform one or more functions described as being performed by another set of components of the device 400.
[0071] When "a processor" or "one or more processors" (or another device or component, such as "a controller" or "one or more controllers") is described or claimed (within a single claim or across multiple claims) as performing multiple operations or being configured to perform multiple operations, this language is intended to broadly cover a variety of processor architectures and environments. For example, unless explicitly claimed otherwise (e.g., via the
use of "first processor" and "second processor" or other language that differentiates processors in the claims), this language is intended to cover a single processor performing or being configured to perform all of the operations, a group of processors collectively performing or being configured to perform all of the operations, a first processor performing or being configured to perform a first operation and a second processor performing or being configured to perform a second operation, or any combination of processors performing or being configured to perform the operations. For example, when a claim has the form "one or more processors configured to: perform X; perform Y; and perform Z," that claim should be interpreted to mean "one or more processors configured to perform X; one or more (possibly different) processors configured to perform Y; and one or more (also possibly different) processors configured to perform Z."
As to the API calls performed, the specification discloses:
[0018]… the intake system may check one or more rules to verify whether one or more tokens have been validated or need to be validated for a current screen of the intake workflow, may check one or more rules to determine whether one or more downstream API calls need to be made to obtain relevant transaction data from the integrated transaction backend systems, may invoke the appropriate API calls when needed, and may check one or more rules to return information indicating a next screen to be presented to a user and/or information to be presented on the next screen…
[0021] As further shown in Fig. IA, and by reference number 110, the intake system may determine an incident type and select an appropriate intake workflow based on historical incident data associated with the user and/or other users and/or based on the entry point associated with the request to report the potential incident ( e.g., the communication channel used to report the potential incident and/or the user interface screen or option used to report the potential incident). For example, in some implementations, prior to selecting an intake workflow to initiate a fraud
or dispute resolution process associated with the reported incident, the intake system may perform one or more API calls to determine whether the user is eligible to report a fraud or dispute claim based on the historical data. For example, in some implementations, the intake system may perform one or more API calls to communicate with a transaction backend system to determine an age of the associated account, a date when an address associated with the account was last updated, a status (e.g., active, inactive, or expired) associated with the account, an issue
date associated with the account, and/or a status related to whether there are any existing security reports or fraud cases associated with the account. Accordingly, in some implementations, the intake system may perform the one or more API calls to determine one or more of these and/or other parameters to verify that the user associated with the account is eligible to report a fraud claim or dispute a transaction. For example, in some implementations, the intake system may determine that the user is ineligible to report the potential incident if the account is less than a threshold number of days (e.g., thirty days) old, and/or if the address was changed within a threshold time period (e.g., the last thirty days). …
[0022]… For example, when the user reports the incident, the intake system may perform one or more API calls to determine whether the user has a purchase history with the associated merchant, whether the transaction is a recurring transaction, and/or other suitable information that may relate to purchasing patterns, user activity patterns, and/or other patterns that may indicate whether the potential incident is likely to be a fraud claim or to be a dispute…
[0027]… As shown by reference number 150, in cases where the user selects the option to report or request help with the transaction, the intake system may perform one or more API calls (e.g., to check for existing claims and/or other relevant data) to determine whether the user is eligible to report the incident. In some implementations, in cases where the user is determined to be eligible to report the incident, the intake system may present a transaction review screen to the user to solicit more information about the transaction. …
The instant application, therefore, still appears to only implement the abstract ideas to the particular technological environments using what is generic components and functions in the related arts. The claim is not patent eligible.
The remaining dependent claims—which impose additional limitations—also fail to claim patent-eligible subject matter because the limitations cannot be considered statutory. In reference to claims 2-7 and 21 these dependent claim have also been reviewed with the same analysis as independent claim 1. Dependent claim 2 is directed toward limiting the data acted upon with respect to the intake workflow used to report a potential incident – non-functional descriptive subject matter applied for a business process. Dependent claim 3 is directed toward displaying a reactive message in response to user input-outputting data -insignificant extra solution activity. Dependent claim 4 is directed toward presenting the initial screen to report an incident - outputting data -insignificant extra solution activity. Dependent claim 5 is directed toward presenting a final screen associated with workflow with informational message based on user inputs-outputting result insignificant extra solution activity. Dependent claim 6 is directed toward selecting workflow using a Machine learning model- directed toward a business practice with trivial mention of machine learning being applied as a tool. Dependent claim 7 is directed toward a user interface entry point associated with user interface channel and initial or second screen associated with second user interface channel- applying technology for data reception and outputting data on a screen-well understood and conventional application of technology for a data entry and output. Dependent claim 21 is directed toward classifying potential incident as a fraud claim and classify potential incident as a dispute claim…- directed toward a transaction process.
The dependent claim(s) have been examined individually and in combination with the preceding claims, however they do not cure the deficiencies of claim 1. Where all claims are directed to the same abstract idea, “addressing each claim of the asserted patents [is] unnecessary.” Content Extraction & Transmission LLC v. Wells Fargo Bank, Nat 7 Ass ’n, 776 F.3d 1343, 1348 (Fed. Cir. 2014). If applicant believes the dependent claims 2-7 and 21 are directed towards patent eligible subject matter, they are invited to point out the specific limitations in the claim that are directed towards patent eligible subject matter.
In reference to Claims 8-13:
STEP 1. Per Step 1 of the two-step analysis, the claims are determined to include a method, as in independent Claim 8 and the dependent claims. Such methods fall under the statutory category of "process." Therefore, the claims are directed to a statutory eligibility category.
STEP 2A Prong 1. The claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Method claim 8 recites steps including 1) receiving report request 2) classifying potential incident 3) selecting workflow to resolve potential incident 4) presenting initial screen with workflow 5) presenting selected next screen associated with workflow 6) presenting a final screen.
The claim limitations, when considered as a whole the claimed subject matter is directed toward receiving report request related to “potential incidents” in order to select and present a workflow to resolve the “potential incident” with respect to transactions. The Specification is titled “Customized Intake Handling for Fraudulent and/or Disputed Transaction,” and discloses, in the Background section, that credit card transaction are associated with various risk in the form of fraud, disputes and purchase processes. Where in the case of disputes parties have the right to initiate dispute resolution where the disputed transactions are investigated and apply work process toward resolutions. The specification ¶ 0003, states that the current application is to provide a customized “intake” handling by selecting an intake workflow to resolve potential incidents. Accordingly, the specification makes clear that the focus of the invention is to address transaction risk. Such concepts can be found in the abstract category of risk mitigation a fundamental economic practice a sub-category of the abstract category of Methods of Organizing Human Activity.
The claimed limitations which under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic system processor to implement the step and the presenting of a selected screen. That is, other than reciting “by the intake system” used to perform the recited steps and the presentation of a “initial screen”, “next screen” and “final screen”, nothing in the claim precludes the limitations from being reasonably performed using mental processes. The limitations which mimic mental processes include step 1) “receiving request” and 2) “classifying potential incident 3) “selecting workflow” (mental concept of analysis and decision). The steps 4) “present initial screen”, 5) presenting next screen and 6) “presenting final screen” limitations do not improve over manual methods of using pen and paper. Presenting workflow screens is merely applying technology to display selected workflow process which is a process which can reasonably under the category of mental concepts, be performed using pen and paper where a human could draw out an initial workflow, next workflow and a final workflow to observe. With regard the category of mental processes, according to case law mental processes are not entirely limited to processes within a human mind. MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) The courts do not distinguish between mental processes that are performed entirely in the human mind and mental processes that require a human to use a physical aid (e.g., pen and paper or a slide rule) to perform the claim limitation. See, e.g., Benson, 409 U.S. at 67, 65, 175 USPQ at 674-75, 674 (noting that the claimed "conversion of [binary-coded decimal] numerals to pure binary numerals can be done mentally," i.e., "as a person would do it by head and hand."); Synopsys, Inc. v. Mentor Graphics Corp., 839 F.3d 1138, 1139, 120 USPQ2d 1473, 1474 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (holding that claims to a mental process of "translating a functional description of a logic circuit into a hardware component description of the logic circuit" are directed to an abstract idea, because the claims "read on an individual performing the claimed steps mentally or with pencil and paper"). Therefore, the limitations, mimic human thought processes of observation, evaluation and opinion, and communication of result which, where the data interpretation is perceptible only in the human mind. See In re TLl Commc'ns LLC Patent Litig., 823 F.3d 607, 611 (Fed. Cir. 2016); FairWarning IP, LLC v. latric Sys., Inc., 839 F.3d 1089, 1093-94 (Fed. Cir. 2016)
The claim limitations under step 2A prong 1 are directed toward concepts enumerated in Section I of the 2019 revised patent subject matter eligibility guidance published in the federal register (84 FR 50) on January 7, 2019) which include the abstract category of mental processes and methods of organizing human activity.
Step 2A prong 2: The identified judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims fail to provide indications of patent eligible subject matter that integrate the alleged abstract idea into a practical application. The additional elements recited in the claim beyond the abstract idea include a system, a user device, user interface entry point, “first” and “second” communication channel, screen, integrated and transaction backend systems.
The claimed generic system interface entry point associate with a communication channel is applied to perform the steps of the method of “receiving…a request”, which according to MPEP 2106.05(d) II (see also MPEP 2106.05(g)) are directed toward extra solution activity.
The claimed system is applied to perform the steps of “presenting…an initial screen …” and “presenting …a next screen”, which according to MPEP 2106.05(d) II (see also MPEP 2106.05(g)) are directed toward extra solution activity.
The courts have recognized the following computer functions are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity.
Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1745 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (using a telephone for image transmission); OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network); buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network); but see DDR Holdings, LLC v. Hotels.com, L.P., 773 F.3d 1245, 1258, 113 USPQ2d 1097, 1106 (Fed. Cir. 2014)
The claim limitations (“receiving…a request”, “presenting…an initial screen …”, “presenting …a next screen”) are recited at a high level of generality without details of technical implementation and thus are insignificant extra solution activity.
The additional limitations performed by the generic system applying one or more API calls to perform the step “to determine account eligible to report incident” and the system applied to perform the steps of “classifying…incident and …data”, “selecting a …workflow”, “select next screen” and “select one or more additional next screens until decision and final outcome reached” which are is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than applying the exception using generic computer components for the purpose of analyzing financial transaction data to mitigate fraud and perform a deposit transaction.
The additional element “integrated transaction backend system” is merely applied to receive data and does not perform any operations of the system.
The wherein clause “wherein the next screen is selected based on mapping the one or more parameters to the next screen based on the historical data and the one or more user inputs” merely limits the selection of the next screen by using data parameters which is merely limiting a selection based on data acted upon rather than technology.
The claim limitations when considered individually fail to provide any indications of patent eligible subject matter, according to MPEP guidance (see MPEP 2106.05 (a)-(c), (e )-(h).
(i) an improvement to the functioning of a computer;
(ii) an improvement to another technology or technical field;
(iii) an application of the abstract idea with, or by use of, a
particular machine;
(iv) a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a
different state or thing; or
(v) other meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the
use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment.
The steps are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than applying the exception using generic computer components. Taking the claim elements separately, the operation performed by the intake system at each step of the process is purely in terms of results desired and devoid of implementation of details. This is true with respect to the limitations (1) receiving request (4) present (output) initial workflow screen (5) present (output) next workflow screen and (6) present (output) final workflow screen, are recited at a high level of generality and thus are insignificant extra solution activity. The classifying potential incident (2) and selecting limitation (3) is being performed by the intake system where the system performs the analyzing, organizing data and selecting workflow at a high level of generality amounting to no more than mere instructions to apply the identified abstract idea using generic intake system. The claimed system functions are to generally apply the abstract idea without limiting how the system performs the steps. The limitations only recite outcomes of “receiving”, “classifying” data, “selecting” and “presenting” without any details about how the outcomes are accomplished as a technical process. Technology is not integral to the process as the claimed subject matter is so high level that any generic programming could be applied and the functions could be performed by any known means. Furthermore, the claimed functions do not provide an operation that could be considered as sufficient to provide a technological implementation or application of/or improvement to this concept (i.e. integrated into a practical application).
When the claims are taken as a whole, as an ordered combination, the combination of limitations 1-2 are directed toward a business process of receiving a report request related to a transaction related “potential incident” and classifying potential information data of limitations 1, directed toward classification of data received. The combination of limitations 1-2 and 3-4 directed toward selecting an intake workflow and presenting/outputting the result of limitations 1-2 which is directed toward a business process to mitigate risk. The wherein clause of the select step does not affect the operation of the processor for selecting the workflow as it related to a technical process, but rather the transaction data acted upon that is applied for the selection decision. Therefore, the combination of limitations 1-4 are directed toward a business process for risk mitigation. The combination of limitations 1-4 and 5-6 are directed toward a business process of presenting a next workflow screen and final workflow screen (i.e. outputting the result). The wherein clause does not affect the operation of the intake system for selecting the workflow as it related to a technical process, but rather the transaction data acted upon that is applied for the selection decision. The combinations of parts is not directed toward any technical process or technological technique or technological solution to a problem rooted in technology. The claim provides no technical details regarding how the processor operations is performed. Instead, similar to the claims at issue in Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Capital One Financial Corp., 850 F.3d 1332 (Fed. Cir. 2017), “the claim language . . . provides only a result-oriented solution with insufficient detail for how a computer accomplishes it. Our law demands more.” Intellectual Ventures, 850 F.3d at 1342 (citing Elec. Power Grp. LLC v. Alstom, S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1356 (Fed. Cir. 2016)).
Accordingly, the combination of steps not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application as the claim process fails to impose meaningful limits upon the abstract idea. This is because the claimed subject matter fails to provide additional elements or combination or elements to apply or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The functions recited in the claims recite the concept of analyzing data received and outputting the result for dispute resolution, which is a process directed toward a business practice.
The integration of elements do not improve upon technology or improve upon computer functionality or capability in how computers carry out one of their basic functions. The integration of elements do not provide a process that allows computers to perform functions that previously could not be performed. The integration of elements do not provide a process which applies a relationship to apply a new way of using an application. The instant application, therefore, still appears only to implement the abstract idea to the particular technological environments apply what generic computer functionality in the related arts. The steps are still a combination made to apply technology by using historical data and user input data to select and present a workflow for resolving disputes and does not provide any of the determined indications of patent eligibility set forth in the 2019 USPTO 101 guidance. The additional steps only add to those abstract ideas using generic functions, and the claims do not show improved ways of, for example, an particular technical function for performing the abstract idea that imposes meaningful limits upon the abstract idea. Moreover, Examiner was not able to identify any specific technological processes that goes beyond merely confining the abstract idea in a particular technological environment, which, when considered in the ordered combination with the other steps, could have transformed the nature of the abstract idea previously identified. The additional element “one or more processors” does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
STEP 2B; The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because as discussed above with respect to concepts of the abstract idea into a practical application. The additional elements recited in the claim beyond the abstract idea include an intake system to perform the functions of “receiving” request”, “classifying potential incident”, “selecting” workflow, and including a “first” and “second” communication channel “presenting” an initial screen, “presenting” a next screen “selected” and to “presenting” a final screen. Further additional elements include user interface, user device, “one or more integrated transaction backend system”, however the claim limitations nominally mention the integrated transaction backend system and do not provide any operations performed by the backend system. The system performing the operations is purely functional and generic. Nearly every system is capable of performing the basic computer functions of “receive”, “classify”, “select” and “present” steeps required by the claim limitations. As a result, the system claimed fails to offer a meaningful limitation beyond generally linking the use of the method to a particular technological environment, that is, implementation via computers.
Taking the claim elements separately, the function performed by the system processor at each step of the process is purely conventional. Using a system to “receive”, “select” and “present” ----are some of the most basic functions of a system processor. When the claims are taken as a whole, as an ordered combination, the combination of steps does not add “significantly more” by virtue of considering the steps as a whole, as an ordered combination. All of these system processor functions are generic, routine, conventional computer activities that are performed only for their conventional uses. See Elec. Power Grp. v. Alstom S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1353 (Fed. Cir. 2016). Also see In re Katz Interactive Call Processing Patent Litigation, 639 F.3d 1303, 1316 (Fed. Cir. 2011) ("Absent a possible narrower construction of the terms “generating”, “transmitting”, “intercepting”, identifying”, “determining”, “replacing” and “routing' ... are functions can be achieved by any general purpose computer without special programming"). None of these activities are used in some unconventional manner nor do any produce some unexpected result. Applicants do not contend they invented any of these activities. In short, each step does no more than require a generic computer to perform generic computer functions.
As to the data operated upon, "even if a process of collecting and analyzing information is 'limited to particular content' or a particular 'source,' that limitation does not make the collection and analysis other than abstract." SAP America, Inc. v. Invest Pic LLC, 898 F.3d 1161, 1168 (Fed. Cir. 2018). Considered as an ordered combination, the computer components of Applicant’s claimed functions add nothing that is not already present when the steps are considered separately. The sequence of data reception-analysis modification-transmission is equally generic and conventional. See Ultramercial, Inc. v. Hulu, LLC, 772 F.3d 709, 715 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (sequence of receiving, selecting, offering for exchange, display, allowing access, and receiving payment recited as an abstraction), Inventor Holdings, LLC v. Bed Bath & Beyond, Inc., 876 F.3d 1372, 1378 (Fed. Cir. 2017) (sequence of data retrieval, analysis, modification, generation, display, and transmission), Two-Way Media Ltd. v. Comcast Cable Communications, LLC, 874 F.3d 1329, 1339 (Fed. Cir. 2017) (sequence of processing, routing, controlling, and monitoring). The ordering of the steps is therefore ordinary and conventional. The analysis concludes that the claims do not provide an inventive concept because the additional elements recited in the claims do not provide significantly more than the recited judicial exception.
According to 2106.05 well-understood and routine processes to perform the abstract idea is not sufficient to transform the claim into patent eligibility. As evidence the examiner provides:
The specification discloses:
[0029]…Furthermore, as described herein, the intake system may use user answers or responses that are provided during the intake workflow in combination with the historical data, machine learning outputs, or the like to select a next screen at each decision-making point in the intake workflow. In this way, the intake workflow is not bound to any particular sequence of screens or user interfaces, and is dynamically customized to guide the user toward the appropriate resolution. Furthermore, the various screens associated with the intake workflow may be operable with any suitable communication channel, which allows the user to start the incident report in a first communication channel and switch to another channel if needed….
[0054] The number and arrangement of devices and networks shown in Fig. 3 are provided as an example. In practice, there may be additional devices and/or networks, fewer devices and/or networks, different devices and/or networks, or differently arranged devices and/or networks than those shown in Fig. 3. Furthermore, two or more devices shown in Fig. 3 may be implemented within a single device, or a single device shown in Fig. 3 may be implemented as multiple, distributed devices. Additionally, or alternatively, a set of devices (e.g., one or more devices) of environment 300 may perform one or more functions described as being performed by another set of devices of environment 300.
[0055] Fig. 4 is a diagram of example components of a device 400 associated with customized intake handling for fraudulent and/or disputed transactions. The device 400 may correspond to the user device 310 and/or the intake system 320. In some implementations, the user device 310 and/or the intake system 320 may include one or more devices 400 and/or one or more components of the device 400. As shown in Fig. 4, the device 400 may include a bus 410, a processor 420, a memory 430, an input component 440, an output component 450, and/or a communication component 460.
[0056] The bus 410 may include one or more components that enable wired and/or wireless communication among the components of the device 400. The bus 410 may couple together two or more components of Fig. 4, such as via operative coupling, communicative coupling, electronic coupling, and/or electric coupling. For example, the bus 410 may include an electrical connection (e.g., a wire, a trace, and/or a lead) and/or a wireless bus. The processor 420 may include a central processing unit, a graphics processing unit, a microprocessor, a controller, a microcontroller, a digital signal processor, a field-programmable gate array, an application specific integrated circuit, and/or another type of processing component. The processor 420 may be implemented in hardware, firmware, or a combination of hardware and software. In some implementations, the processor 420 may include one or more processors capable of being programmed to perform one or more operations or processes described elsewhere herein.
[0057] The memory 430 may include volatile and/or nonvolatile memory. For example, the memory 430 may include random access memory (RAM), read only memory (ROM), a hard disk drive, and/or another type of memory (e.g., a flash memory, a magnetic memory, and/or an optical memory). The memory 430 may include internal memory (e.g., RAM, ROM, or a hard disk drive) and/or removable memory (e.g., removable via a universal serial bus connection).
The memory 430 may be a non-transitory computer-readable medium. The memory 430 may store information, one or more instructions, and/or software (e.g., one or more software applications) related to the operation of the device 400. In some implementations, the memory 430 may include one or more memories that are coupled (e.g., communicatively coupled) to one or more processors (e.g., processor 420), such as via the bus 410. Communicative coupling between a processor 420 and a memory 430 may enable the processor 420 to read and/or process information stored in the memory 430 and/or to store information in the memory 430.
[0058] The input component 440 may enable the device 400 to receive input, such as user input and/or sensed input. For example, the input component 440 may include a touch screen, a keyboard, a keypad, a mouse, a button, a microphone, a switch, a sensor, a global positioning system sensor, a global navigation satellite system sensor, an accelerometer, a gyroscope, and/or an actuator. The output component 450 may enable the device 400 to provide output, such as via a display, a speaker, and/or a light-emitting diode. The communication component 460 may enable the device 400 to communicate with other devices via a wired connection and/or a wireless connection. For example, the communication component 460 may include a receiver, a transmitter, a transceiver, a modem, a network interface card, and/or an antenna.
[0059] The device 400 may perform one or more operations or processes described herein. For example, a non-transitory computer-readable medium (e.g., memory 430) may store a set of instructions (e.g., one or more instructions or code) for execution by the processor 420. The processor 420 may execute the set of instructions to perform one or more operations or processes described herein. In some implementations, execution of the set of instructions, by one or more processors 420, causes the one or more processors 420 and/or the device 400 to perform one or more operations or processes described herein. In some implementations, hardwired circuitry
may be used instead of or in combination with the instructions to perform one or more operations or processes described herein. Additionally, or alternatively, the processor 420 may be configured to perform one or more operations or processes described herein. Thus, implementations described herein are not limited to any specific combination of hardware circuitry and software.
[0060] The number and arrangement of components shown in Fig. 4 are provided as an example. The device 400 may include additional components, fewer components, different components, or differently arranged components than those shown in Fig. 4. Additionally, or alternatively, a set of components (e.g., one or more components) of the device 400 may perform one or more functions described as being performed by another set of components of the device 400.
[0071] When "a processor" or "one or more processors" (or another device or component, such as "a controller" or "one or more controllers") is described or claimed (within a single claim or across multiple claims) as performing multiple operations or being configured to perform multiple operations, this language is intended to broadly cover a variety of processor architectures and environments. For example, unless explicitly claimed otherwise (e.g., via the
use of "first processor" and "second processor" or other language that differentiates processors in the claims), this language is intended to cover a single processor performing or being configured to perform all of the operations, a group of processors collectively performing or being configured to perform all of the operations, a first processor performing or being configured to perform a first operation and a second processor performing or being configured to perform a second operation, or any combination of processors performing or being configured to perform the operations. For example, when a claim has the form "one or more processors configured to: perform X; perform Y; and perform Z," that claim should be interpreted to mean "one or more processors configured to perform X; one or more (possibly different) processors configured to perform Y; and one or more (also possibly different) processors configured to perform Z."
As to the API calls performed, the specification discloses:
[0018]… the intake system may check one or more rules to verify whether one or more tokens have been validated or need to be validated for a current screen of the intake workflow, may check one or more rules to determine whether one or more downstream API calls need to be made to obtain relevant transaction data from the integrated transaction backend systems, may invoke the appropriate API calls when needed, and may check one or more rules to return information indicating a next screen to be presented to a user and/or information to be presented on the next screen…
[0021] As further shown in Fig. IA, and by reference number 110, the intake system may determine an incident type and select an appropriate intake workflow based on historical incident data associated with the user and/or other users and/or based on the entry point associated with the request to report the potential incident ( e.g., the communication channel used to report the potential incident and/or the user interface screen or option used to report the potential incident). For example, in some implementations, prior to selecting an intake workflow to initiate a fraud
or dispute resolution process associated with the reported incident, the intake system may perform one or more API calls to determine whether the user is eligible to report a fraud or dispute claim based on the historical data. For example, in some implementations, the intake system may perform one or more API calls to communicate with a transaction backend system to determine an age of the associated account, a date when an address associated with the account was last updated, a status (e.g., active, inactive, or expired) associated with the account, an issue
date associated with the account, and/or a status related to whether there are any existing security reports or fraud cases associated with the account. Accordingly, in some implementations, the intake system may perform the one or more API calls to determine one or more of these and/or other parameters to verify that the user associated with the account is eligible to report a fraud claim or dispute a transaction. For example, in some implementations, the intake system may determine that the user is ineligible to report the potential incident if the account is less than a threshold number of days (e.g., thirty days) old, and/or if the address was changed within a threshold time period (e.g., the last thirty days). …
[0022]… For example, when the user reports the incident, the intake system may perform one or more API calls to determine whether the user has a purchase history with the associated merchant, whether the transaction is a recurring transaction, and/or other suitable information that may relate to purchasing patterns, user activity patterns, and/or other patterns that may indicate whether the potential incident is likely to be a fraud claim or to be a dispute…
[0027]… As shown by reference number 150, in cases where the user selects the option to report or request help with the transaction, the intake system may perform one or more API calls (e.g., to check for existing claims and/or other relevant data) to determine whether the user is eligible to report the incident. In some implementations, in cases where the user is determined to be eligible to report the incident, the intake system may present a transaction review screen to the user to solicit more information about the transaction. …
The instant application, therefore, still appears to only implement the abstract ideas to the particular technological environments using what is generic components and functions in the related arts. The claim is not patent eligible.
The remaining dependent claims—which impose additional limitations—also fail to claim patent-eligible subject matter because the limitations cannot be considered statutory. In reference to claims 9-13 these dependent claim have also been reviewed with the same analysis as independent claim 8. Dependent claim 9 is directed toward limiting the data acted upon with respect to the intake workflow used to report a potential incident – non-functional descriptive subject matter applied for a business process. Dependent claim 10 is directed toward based on account eligibility displaying a reactive message in response to user input-outputting data -insignificant extra solution activity. Dependent claim 11 is directed toward presenting the initial screen to report an incident - outputting data -insignificant extra solution activity. Dependent claim 12 is directed toward presenting steps to resolve the potential incident or instruction message with directions to resolve the incident-outputting result insignificant extra solution activity and risk mitigation. Dependent claim 13 is directed toward selecting workflow using a Machine learning model- directed toward a business practice with trivial mention of machine learning being applied as a tool.
The dependent claim(s) have been examined individually and in combination with the preceding claims, however they do not cure the deficiencies of claim 8. Where all claims are directed to the same abstract idea, “addressing each claim of the asserted patents [is] unnecessary.” Content Extraction & Transmission LLC v. Wells Fargo Bank, Nat 7 Ass ’n, 776 F.3d 1343, 1348 (Fed. Cir. 2014). If applicant believes the dependent claims 9-13 are directed towards patent eligible subject matter, they are invited to point out the specific limitations in the claim that are directed towards patent eligible subject matter.
In reference to Claims 15-20:
STEP 1. Per Step 1 of the two-step analysis, the claims are determined to include a non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions, as in independent Claim 15 and the dependent claims. Such mediums fall under the statutory category of "manufacture." Therefore, the claims are directed to a statutory eligibility category.
STEP 2A Prong 1. The claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Medium claim 15 recites functional process 1) receive report request 2) classifying potential incident 3) selecting workflow to resolve potential incident 4) present initial screen with workflow 5) present selected next screen associated with workflow using a machine learning model. The claimed limitations which under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic processor to implement the step and the presenting of a selected screen and selected workflow using machine learning model. That is, other than reciting “one or more instructions …executed by one or more processors” and “using machine learning model” used to perform the recited steps and the presentation of a “initial screen” and “next screen”, nothing in the claim precludes the limitations from being reasonably performed using mental processes. The limitations which mimic mental processes include step 1) “receiving request” and 2) “classifying potential incident 3) “selecting workflow” (mental concept of analysis and decision).. The steps 4) “present initial screen” and 5) “present next screen” limitations do not improve over manual methods of using pen and paper.
Furthermore, when considered as a whole the claimed subject matter is directed toward receiving report request related to “potential incidents” in order to select and present a workflow to resolve the “potential incident” with respect to transactions. The Specification is titled “Customized Intake Handling for Fraudulent and/or Disputed Transaction,” and discloses, in the Background section, that credit card transaction are associated with various risk in the form of fraud, disputes and purchase processes. Where in the case of disputes parties have the right to initiate dispute resolution where the disputed transactions are investigated and apply work process toward resolutions. The specification ¶ 0003, states that the current application is to provide a customized “intake” handling by selecting an intake workflow to resolve potential incidents. Accordingly, the specification makes clear that the focus of the invention is to address transaction risk. Such concepts can be found in the abstract category of risk mitigation a fundamental economic practice a sub-category of the abstract category of Methods of Organizing Human Activity.
Presenting workflow screens is merely applying technology to display selected workflow process which is a process which can reasonably under the category of mental concepts, be performed using pen and paper where a human could draw out an initial workflow and a next workflow to observe. With regard the category of mental processes, according to case law mental processes are not entirely limited to processes within a human mind. MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) The courts do not distinguish between mental processes that are performed entirely in the human mind and mental processes that require a human to use a physical aid (e.g., pen and paper or a slide rule) to perform the claim limitation. See, e.g., Benson, 409 U.S. at 67, 65, 175 USPQ at 674-75, 674 (noting that the claimed "conversion of [binary-coded decimal] numerals to pure binary numerals can be done mentally," i.e., "as a person would do it by head and hand."); Synopsys, Inc. v. Mentor Graphics Corp., 839 F.3d 1138, 1139, 120 USPQ2d 1473, 1474 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (holding that claims to a mental process of "translating a functional description of a logic circuit into a hardware component description of the logic circuit" are directed to an abstract idea, because the claims "read on an individual performing the claimed steps mentally or with pencil and paper"). Therefore, the limitations, mimic human thought processes of observation, evaluation and opinion, and communication of result which, where the data interpretation is perceptible only in the human mind. See In re TLl Commc'ns LLC Patent Litig., 823 F.3d 607, 611 (Fed. Cir. 2016); FairWarning IP, LLC v. latric Sys., Inc., 839 F.3d 1089, 1093-94 (Fed. Cir. 2016)
The claim limitations under step 2A prong 1 are directed toward concepts enumerated in Section I of the 2019 revised patent subject matter eligibility guidance published in the federal register (84 FR 50) on January 7, 2019) which include the abstract category of mental processes and methods of organizing human activity.
STEP 2A Prong 2: The identified judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims fail to provide indications of patent eligible subject matter that integrate the alleged abstract idea into a practical application. The additional elements recited in the claim beyond the abstract idea include a non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions, one or more processors of an intake system, an intake system, user device , user interface, integrated backend systems, “first” and “second” communication channel.
The identified judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims recite a process by a “one or more processors” to (1) receive report request-mere data transmission-insignificant extra solution activity 2) classifying potential incident – a business process for risk mitigation 3) selecting workflow to resolve potential incident- directed toward a business process to select a workflow to resolve an incident to mitigate risk 4) present initial screen with workflow-outputting result-insignificant extra solution activity 5) present selected next screen associated with workflow insignificant extra solution activity.
The functions are is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than applying the exception using generic computer components. Taking the claim elements separately, the operation performed by the system at each step of the process is purely in terms of results desired and devoid of implementation of details. This is true with respect to the limitations (1) receiving request (2) classify incident 3) present (output) initial workflow screen and (4) present (output) next workflow screen, are recited at a high level of generality and thus are insignificant extra solution activity. The classifying potential incident (2) selecting limitation (3) is being performed by a system processor where the processor performs the classifying at a high level of generality amounting to no more than mere instructions to apply the identified abstract idea using generic computer processors. The claimed processor functions are to generally apply the abstract idea without limiting how the processor functions. The limitations only recite outcomes of “receiving”, “classifying”, “selecting” and “presenting” without any details about how the outcomes are accomplished as a technical process. The “first” and “second” communication channel is merely applied to communicate data. Technology is not integral to the process as the claimed subject matter is so high level that any generic programming could be applied and the functions could be performed by any known means. Furthermore, the claimed functions do not provide an operation that could be considered as sufficient to provide a technological implementation or application of/or improvement to this concept (i.e. integrated into a practical application).
When the claims are taken as a whole, as an ordered combination, the combination of limitations 1-2 are directed toward a business process of receiving a report request related to a transaction related “potential incident” and “classify” incident and business process. The combination of limitations 1-2 and 3-4 directed toward selecting workflow to resolve incident of classified incident of limitations 1-2, which is directed toward a business process to mitigate risk. The wherein clause of the ”classify” step does not further limit the classify function. The wherein clause of the select step does not affect the operation of the processor for selecting the workflow as it related to a technical process, but rather the transaction data acted upon that is applied for the selection decision. Therefore, the combination of limitations 1-3 are directed toward a business process for risk mitigation. The combination of limitations 4 are directed toward a business process of selecting a next workflow screen and then outputting the result. The wherein clause does not affect the operation of the processor for selecting the workflow as it related to a technical process, but rather the transaction data acted upon that is applied for the selection decision. The data that is applied to selection process is the data of step 5 is historical data and user parameter inputs of steps 1-3. The combinations of parts is not directed toward any technical process or technological technique or technological solution to a problem rooted in technology. The claim provides no technical details regarding how the processor operations is performed. Instead, similar to the claims at issue in Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Capital One Financial Corp., 850 F.3d 1332 (Fed. Cir. 2017), “the claim language . . . provides only a result-oriented solution with insufficient detail for how a computer accomplishes it. Our law demands more.” Intellectual Ventures, 850 F.3d at 1342 (citing Elec. Power Grp. LLC v. Alstom, S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1356 (Fed. Cir. 2016)).
Accordingly, the combination of steps not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application as the claim process fails to impose meaningful limits upon the abstract idea. . This is because the claimed subject matter fails to provide additional elements or combination or elements to apply or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The functions recited in the claims recite the concept of analyzing data received and outputting the result for dispute resolution, which is a process directed toward a business practice.
The integration of elements do not improve upon technology or improve upon computer functionality or capability in how computers carry out one of their basic functions. The integration of elements do not provide a process that allows computers to perform functions that previously could not be performed. The integration of elements do not provide a process which applies a relationship to apply a new way of using an application. The instant application, therefore, still appears only to implement the abstract idea to the particular technological environments apply what generic computer functionality in the related arts. The steps are still a combination made to apply technology by using historical data and user input data to select and present a workflow for resolving disputes and does not provide any of the determined indications of patent eligibility set forth in the 2019 USPTO 101 guidance. The additional steps only add to those abstract ideas using generic functions, and the claims do not show improved ways of, for example, an particular technical function for performing the abstract idea that imposes meaningful limits upon the abstract idea. Moreover, Examiner was not able to identify any specific technological processes that goes beyond merely confining the abstract idea in a particular technological environment, which, when considered in the ordered combination with the other steps, could have transformed the nature of the abstract idea previously identified. The additional element “one or more processors” does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
STEP 2B; The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because as discussed above with respect to concepts of the abstract idea into a practical application. The additional elements recited in the claim beyond the abstract idea include a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a set of instructions comprising instruction executed by “one or more processors”, the processors to perform the functions of “receive” request, “select” workflow, “present” an initial screen, and “present” a next screen “selected”. The one or more processors performing the operations is purely functional and generic. Nearly every “one or more processors” executing instructions is capable of performing the basic computer functions of “receive”, “classify” “select” and “present” functions required by the claim limitations. The “first” and “second” communication channel does not provide significantly more than a generic means to communicate data. As a result, none of the hardware/instructions recited by the medium claims offers a meaningful limitation beyond generally linking the use of the instructions to a particular technological environment, that is, implementation via one or more processors.
Taking the claim elements separately, the function performed by the one or more processor at each step of the process is purely conventional. Using “one or more processors” to “receive”, “ “classify”, “select” and “present” ----are some of the most basic functions of processors. When the claims are taken as a whole, as an ordered combination, the combination of steps does not add “significantly more” by virtue of considering the steps as a whole, as an ordered combination. All of these processor functions are generic, routine, conventional computer activities that are performed only for their conventional uses. See Elec. Power Grp. v. Alstom S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1353 (Fed. Cir. 2016). Also see In re Katz Interactive Call Processing Patent Litigation, 639 F.3d 1303, 1316 (Fed. Cir. 2011) ("Absent a possible narrower construction of the terms “generating”, “transmitting”, “intercepting”, identifying”, “determining”, “replacing” and “routing' ... are functions can be achieved by any general purpose computer without special programming"). None of these activities are used in some unconventional manner nor do any produce some unexpected result. Applicants do not contend they invented any of these activities. In short, each step does no more than require a generic computer to perform generic computer functions.
As to the data operated upon, "even if a process of collecting and analyzing information is 'limited to particular content' or a particular 'source,' that limitation does not make the collection and analysis other than abstract." SAP America, Inc. v. Invest Pic LLC, 898 F.3d 1161, 1168 (Fed. Cir. 2018). Considered as an ordered combination, the computer components of Applicant’s claimed functions add nothing that is not already present when the steps are considered separately. The sequence of data reception-analysis modification-transmission is equally generic and conventional. See Ultramercial, Inc. v. Hulu, LLC, 772 F.3d 709, 715 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (sequence of receiving, selecting, offering for exchange, display, allowing access, and receiving payment recited as an abstraction), Inventor Holdings, LLC v. Bed Bath & Beyond, Inc., 876 F.3d 1372, 1378 (Fed. Cir. 2017) (sequence of data retrieval, analysis, modification, generation, display, and transmission), Two-Way Media Ltd. v. Comcast Cable Communications, LLC, 874 F.3d 1329, 1339 (Fed. Cir. 2017) (sequence of processing, routing, controlling, and monitoring). The ordering of the steps is therefore ordinary and conventional. The analysis concludes that the claims do not provide an inventive concept because the additional elements recited in the claims do not provide significantly more than the recited judicial exception.
According to 2106.05 well-understood and routine processes to perform the abstract idea is not sufficient to transform the claim into patent eligibility. As evidence the examiner provides:
A Beauregard claim named after In re Beauregard, 53 F.3d 1583 (Fed.Cir.1995) is a claim to a computer readable medium (e.g., a disk, hard drive, or other data storage device) containing program instructions for a computer to perform a particular process.
In connection with the Beauregard claim, the Federal Circuit held that even though the claim is directed to a manufacture, the claim is not "truly drawn to a specific" computer readable medium, but rather is directed toward the method of detecting credit card fraud over the Internet. Simply reciting the use of a computer to execute an algorithm that can be performed entirely in the human mind will not change the analysis. The Beauregard claim was then treated as a method claim. This current claim limitations is determined not to meet the Alice/May 2A and 2B test. Although the claim applies data, to present workflow, according to Beauregard, "[t]he mere manipulation or reorganization of data, however, does not satisfy the transformation prong." Furthermore, the "incidental use" of a computer did not allow the claim to meet the Alice 2A or 2B requirements. The court noted that even though the method may require the use of a computer, methods that can be performed mentally, or which are the equivalent of human mental work, are unpatentable abstract ideas "even when performed by a computer" has not met its burden to demonstrate that claim 2 is "truly drawn to a specific" computer readable medium, rather than to the underlying method of credit card fraud detection.
In Beauregard, after Abele, the court held that, as a general matter, programming a general purpose computer to perform an algorithm "creates a new machine, because a general purpose computer in effect becomes a special purpose computer once it is programmed to perform particular functions pursuant to instructions from program software." In re Alappat, 33 F.3d 1526, 1545 (Fed.Cir. 1994). But we have never suggested that simply reciting the use of a computer to execute an algorithm that can be performed entirely in the human mind falls within the Alappat rule. Thus, despite its Beauregard claim format, under Abele, we treat claim 2 as a process claim for patent-eligibility purposes.
The specification discloses:
[0005] Some implementations described herein relate to a non-transitory computer-readable medium that stores a set of instructions. The set of instructions, when executed by one or more processors of an intake system, may cause the intake system to receive, from a user device, a request to report a potential incident related to a transaction associated with a user account. The set of instructions, when executed by one or more processors of the intake system, may cause the intake system to select an intake workflow to resolve the potential incident based on historical
data associated with the user account and information associated with a user interface entry point used to report the potential incident. The set of instructions, when executed by one or more processors of the intake system, may cause the intake system to present, to the user device, an initial screen associated with the intake workflow, wherein the initial screen associated with the intake workflow includes one or more questions to request one or more user inputs that indicate one or more parameters related to the potential incident. The set of instructions, when executed
by one or more processors of the intake system, may cause the intake system to present, to the user device, a next screen associated with the intake workflow, wherein the next screen is selected based on the historical data associated with the user account and the one or more user inputs that indicate the one or more parameters related to the potential incident, and wherein one or more of the intake workflow or the next screen associated with the intake workflow are selected using a machine learning model.
[0057] The memory 430 may include volatile and/or nonvolatile memory. For example, the memory 430 may include random access memory (RAM), read only memory (ROM), a hard disk drive, and/or another type of memory (e.g., a flash memory, a magnetic memory, and/or an optical memory). The memory 430 may include internal memory (e.g., RAM, ROM, or a hard disk drive) and/or removable memory (e.g., removable via a universal serial bus connection).
The memory 430 may be a non-transitory computer-readable medium. The memory 430 may store information, one or more instructions, and/or software (e.g., one or more software applications) related to the operation of the device 400. In some implementations, the memory 430 may include one or more memories that are coupled (e.g., communicatively coupled) to one or more processors (e.g., processor 420), such as via the bus 410. Communicative coupling between a processor 420 and a memory 430 may enable the processor 420 to read and/or process information stored in the memory 430 and/or to store information in the memory 430.
[0059] The device 400 may perform one or more operations or processes described herein. For example, a non-transitory computer-readable medium (e.g., memory 430) may store a set of instructions (e.g., one or more instructions or code) for execution by the processor 420. The processor 420 may execute the set of instructions to perform one or more operations or processes described herein. In some implementations, execution of the set of instructions, by one or more processors 420, causes the one or more processors 420 and/or the device 400 to perform one or more operations or processes described herein. In some implementations, hardwired circuitry
may be used instead of or in combination with the instructions to perform one or more operations or processes described herein. Additionally, or alternatively, the processor 420 may be configured to perform one or more operations or processes described herein. Thus, implementations described herein are not limited to any specific combination of hardware circuitry and software.
[0060] The number and arrangement of components shown in Fig. 4 are provided as an example. The device 400 may include additional components, fewer components, different components, or differently arranged components than those shown in Fig. 4. Additionally, or alternatively, a set of components (e.g., one or more components) of the device 400 may perform one or more functions described as being performed by another set of components of the device 400.
[0071] When "a processor" or "one or more processors" (or another device or component, such as "a controller" or "one or more controllers") is described or claimed (within a single claim or across multiple claims) as performing multiple operations or being configured to perform multiple operations, this language is intended to broadly cover a variety of processor architectures and environments. For example, unless explicitly claimed otherwise (e.g., via the
use of "first processor" and "second processor" or other language that differentiates processors in the claims), this language is intended to cover a single processor performing or being configured to perform all of the operations, a group of processors collectively performing or being configured to perform all of the operations, a first processor performing or being configured to perform a first operation and a second processor performing or being configured to perform a second operation, or any combination of processors performing or being configured to perform the operations. For example, when a claim has the form "one or more processors configured to: perform X; perform Y; and perform Z," that claim should be interpreted to mean "one or more processors configured to perform X; one or more (possibly different) processors configured to perform Y; and one or more (also possibly different) processors configured to perform Z."
With respect to the language “using a machine learning model”, the claim limitations lack technical description. The specification provides a laundry list of possible algorithms that could be applied without any technical details and discloses at a high level as it relates to use, that the ML model can be “used” for observation and decision and “trained” to select workflows that can be presented.(para 0005, 0021, 0022, 0024, 0029 )
[0031] Fig. 2 is a diagram illustrating an example 200 of training and using a machine learning model in connection with customized intake handling for fraudulent and/or disputed transactions, in accordance with some embodiments of the present disclosure. The machine learning model training and usage described herein may be performed using a machine learning system. The machine learning system may include or may be included in a computing device, a server, a cloud computing environment, or the like, such as the intake system described in more detail elsewhere herein.
[0032] As shown by reference number 205, a machine learning model may be trained using a set of observations. The set of observations may be obtained from training data (e.g., historical data), such as data gathered during one or more processes described herein. In some implementations, the machine learning system may receive the set of observations (e.g., as input) from the intake system, a transaction backend system, a transaction data repository, and/or another suitable data source, as described elsewhere herein.
[0033] As shown by reference number 210, the set of observations may include a feature set. The feature set may include a set of variables, and a variable may be referred to as a feature. A specific observation may include a set of variable values ( or feature values) corresponding to the set of variables. In some implementations, the machine learning system may determine variables for a set of observations and/or variable values for a specific observation based on input received from the intake system, a transaction backend system, a transaction data repository, and/or
another suitable data source. For example, the machine learning system may identify a feature set (e.g., one or more features and/or feature values) by extracting the feature set from structured data, by performing natural language processing to extract the feature set from unstructured data, and/or by receiving input from an operator.
[0037] The target variable may represent a value that a machine learning model is being trained to predict, and the feature set may represent the variables that are input to a trained machine learning model to predict a value for the target variable. The set of observations may include target variable values so that the machine learning model can be trained to recognize patterns in the feature set that lead to a target variable value. A machine learning model that is
trained to predict a target variable value may be referred to as a supervised learning model.
[0038] In some implementations, the machine learning model may be trained on a set of observations that do not include a target variable. This may be referred to as an unsupervised learning model. In this case, the machine learning model may learn patterns from the set of observations without labeling or supervision, and may provide output that indicates such patterns, such as by using clustering and/or association to identify related groups of items within the set of observations.
[0039] As shown by reference number 220, the machine learning system may train a machine learning model using the set of observations and using one or more machine learning algorithms, such as a regression algorithm, a decision tree algorithm, a neural network algorithm, a k-nearest neighbor algorithm, a support vector machine algorithm, or the like. After training, the machine learning system may store the machine learning model as a trained machine learning model 225 to be used to analyze new observations.
The instant application, therefore, still appears to only implement the abstract ideas to the particular technological environments using what is generic components and functions in the related arts. The claim is not patent eligible.
The remaining dependent claims—which impose additional limitations—also fail to claim patent-eligible subject matter because the limitations cannot be considered statutory. In reference to claims 16-20 these dependent claim have also been reviewed with the same analysis as independent claim 15. Dependent claim 16 is directed toward limiting the data acted upon with respect to the intake workflow used to report a potential incident – non-functional descriptive subject matter applied for a business process. Dependent claim 17 is directed toward displaying a reactive message in response to user input-outputting data -insignificant extra solution activity. Dependent claim 4 is directed toward presenting the initial screen based on eligibility determination to report an incident - outputting data -insignificant extra solution activity. Dependent claim 18 is directed toward presenting an initial screen based on account eligible-outputting result insignificant extra solution activity. Dependent claim 19 is directed toward present final screen based on analysis of user input-outputting results insignificant extra solution activity. Dependent claim 20 is directed toward a user interface entry point associated with user interface channel and initial or second screen associated with second user interface channel- applying technology for data reception and outputting data on a screen-well understood and conventional application of technology for a data entry and output.
The dependent claim(s) have been examined individually and in combination with the preceding claims, however they do not cure the deficiencies of claim 15. Where all claims are directed to the same abstract idea, “addressing each claim of the asserted patents [is] unnecessary.” Content Extraction & Transmission LLC v. Wells Fargo Bank, Nat 7 Ass ’n, 776 F.3d 1343, 1348 (Fed. Cir. 2014). If applicant believes the dependent claims 16-20 are directed towards patent eligible subject matter, they are invited to point out the specific limitations in the claim that are directed towards patent eligible subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CA 3230604 A1 by Matsuoka et al. (Matsuoka) in view of US Pub No. 2023/0033027 A1 by Rushing et al. (Rushing) and further in view of US Pub No. 2024/0171582 A1 by Edwards et al. (Edwards)
In reference to Claim 1:
Matsuoka teaches:
(Currently Amended) A system for customized intake handling ((Matsuoka) in at least FIG. 1; FIG. 3, FIG. 18; para 0013, para 0263), the system comprising:
one or more memories ((Matsuoka) in at least para 0013, para 0263-0264); and
one or more processors, communicatively coupled to the one or more memories ((Matsuoka) in at least para 0013, para 0263), configured to:
receive, from a user device, and via a user interface entry point corresponding to a first communication channel, a request to report a potential incident related to a transaction associated with a user account ((Matsuoka) in at least para 0046, para 0055-0057, para 0060-0061, para 0066, para 0099, para 0122, para 0160, para 0172-0173);
classify the potential incident based on information associated with the user interface entry point and historical data associated with the user account, ((Matsuoka) in at least para 0048-0050, para 0072-0073, para 0102-0103, para 0207-0208, para 0211, para 0260-0261);
select, based on classifying the potential incident, an intake workflow to resolve the potential incident based on the historical data and information associated with the user interface entry point ((Matsuoka) in at least para 0003, para 0048, para 0063-0064, para 0065, para 0074-0075, para 0097, para 0122-0123, para 0162) wherein the intake workflow is portable across a plurality of communication channels, ((Matsuoka) in at least FIG. 3 wherein the prior art illustrates task facilitation system which provides workflow across task recommendation system and task coordination system FIG. 4 wherein the prior art teaches task system comprises task creation system coupled to and communication with database and provides workflow across task ranking sub-system, task selection sub-system; FIG. 8A-B; para 0108 wherein the prior art teaches modeling sub-system provides data to pairing sub-system implemented via application/system on computer system of assignment system; para 0109-0110 wherein the prior art teaches representative pairing sub-system implements AI that utilizes attributes as input and data from the data storage may be used by pairing sub-system as input; para 0121-0122, para 0124-0125, para 0130, para 0136, para 0159-0160, para 0164-0166);
present, to the user device, via the first communication channel, initial screen associated with the intake workflow, wherein the initial screen associated with the intake workflow includes one or more questions to request one or more user inputs that indicate one or more parameters related to the potential incident ((Matsuoka) in at least FIG. 14; para 0119, para 0132-0136, para 0162-0166, para 0188);
receive, from the user device and via the first communication channel, the one or more user inputs that indicate the one or more parameters related to the potential incident …((Matsuoka) in at least FIG. 17; para 0065-0066, para 0117, para 0119, para 0134, para 0189 , para 0216, para 0218, para 0239, para 0260)
present, to the user device, via the …communication channel and in response to the selection a next screen associated with the intake workflow, wherein the next screen is selected based on mapping the one or more parameters to the next screen (display) based on the historical data and the one or more user inputs. ((Matsuoka) in at least FIG. 13A-C; FIG. 14-16; para 0003-0004, para 0006, para 0048, para 0050 wherein the prior art teaches identify correlations between different factors and polarities of interaction applying weights on factors; para 0054, para 0056, para 0058, para 0061-0062, para 0064-0075, para 0084, para 0086-0087, para 0109 wherein the prior art teaches identifying correlations, attributes, clusters to identify representatives from groups for assignment to members, para 0119, para 0122-0124 wherein the prior art teaches member select entry of a task or task template, para 0129 wherein the prior art teaches task system recommend possible task to representative which may select task that can be shared; para 0135, para 0138, para 0163-0166, para 0169, para 0230-0231, para 0234-0235, para 0239-0241, para 0243-0250, para 0294 “set of data … analyzed … to identify correlations between different elements of the set of data …using sample or live data to identify potential correlations”),and…
Matsuoka does not explicitly teach:
…and a selection of an option to switch the intake workflow to a second communication channel
present, to the user device, via the second communication channel and in response to the selection a next screen associated with the intake workflow…
wherein the next screen is selected based on checking one or more rules to verify whether one or more tokens have been validated or to determine whether one or more downstream application program interface (API) calls need to be made to obtain transaction data from integrated transaction backend systems
Rushing teaches:
…and a selection of an option to switch the intake workflow to a second communication channel ((Rushing) in at least FIG. 7; para 0153, para 0155, para 0193-0194, para 0208-0209)
present, to the user device, via the second communication channel and in response to the selection a next screen associated with the intake workflow…((Rushing) in at least para 0194, para 0201-0202)
Both Matsuoka and Rushing are directed toward workflow selection for performing task. Rushing teaches the motivation that based on determination that a second channel associated with a workflow exist generating a second channel for communication identifying users associated with the workflow and based on the identification of the users associated users with newly generated second communication channels. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the workflow communication channel details of Matsuoka to include the generation of second communication channels as taught by Rushing since Rushing teaches the motivation that based on determination that a second channel associated with a workflow exist generating a second channel for communication identifying users associated with the workflow and based on the identification of the users associated users with newly generated second communication channels
Edwards teaches:
wherein the next screen is selected based on checking one or more rules to verify whether one or more tokens have been validated or to determine whether one or more downstream application program interface (API) calls need to be made to obtain transaction data from integrated transaction backend systems ((Edwards) in at least FIG. 3; para 0038-0039, para 0041-0042, para 0044-0045)
Both Matsuoka and Edwards are directed toward workflow processes for performing task related to financial activity. Edward teaches the motivation of a workflow process applied for validating tokens for migration from one user to another in order to determine whether the token parameters/rules are satisfied. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the details of the workflow process for the transaction process of Edwards to include checking rules to verify tokens of Edwards since Edward teaches the motivation of a workflow process applied for validating tokens for migration from one user to another in order to determine whether the token parameters/rules are satisfied.
In reference to Claim 3:
The combination of Matsuoka, Rushing and Edwards discloses the limitations of independent claim 1. Matsuoka further discloses the limitations of dependent claim 3
(Original) The system of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above),
wherein the next screen associated with the intake workflow includes a reactive message that is responsive to the one or more user inputs and provides guidance related to reporting the potential incident.((Matsuoka) in at least FIG. 8B, FIG. 9; para 0186, para 0188-0190, para 0232, para 0245)
In reference to Claim 5:
The combination of Matsuoka, Rushing and Edwards discloses the limitations of independent claim 1. Matsuoka further discloses the limitations of dependent claim 5
(Original) The system of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors (see rejection of claim 1 above) are further configured to:
present, to the user device, a final screen associated with the intake workflow based on a determination that the one or more user inputs have resolved all required parameters associated with reporting the potential incident, wherein the final screen includes an informational message that indicates one or more next steps in resolving the potential incident or an instructional message that indicates one or more directions for resolving the potential incident ((Matsuoka) in at least para 0076, para 0131-0132, para 0250, para 0252-0254).
In reference to Claim 6:
The combination of Matsuoka, Rushing and Edwards discloses the limitations of independent claim 1. Matsuoka further discloses the limitations of dependent claim 6
(Original) The system of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above),
wherein one or more of the intake workflow or the next screen associated with the intake workflow are selected using a machine learning model ((Matsuoka) in at least para 0209, para 0211-0212, para 0253).
In reference to Claim 7:
The combination of Matsuoka, Rushing and Edwards discloses the limitations of independent claim 1. Matsuoka further discloses the limitations of dependent claim 7
(Original) The system of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above),
wherein the user interface entry point is associated with a first user interface channel, and wherein one or more of the initial screen or the next screen of the intake workflow is associated with a second user interface channel ((Matsuoka) in at least para 0171, para 0186, para 0193-0194, para 0216).
Claim(s) 2 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CA 3230604 A1 by Matsuoka et al. (Matsuoka), in view of US Pub No. 2023/0033027 A1 by Rushing et al. (Rushing) in view of US Pub No. 2024/0171582 A1 by Edwards et al. (Edwards) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US Pub No. 2013/0262473 A1 by Scanlon et al. (Scanlon).
In reference to Claim 2:
The combination of Matsuoka, Rushing and Edwards discloses the limitations of independent claim 1. Matsuoka further discloses the limitations of dependent claim 2.
(Previously Presented) The system of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above),
wherein the intake workflow is associated with a fraud claim [issue] type or a dispute claim[issue] type based on the historical data and the information associated with the user interface entry point. ((Matsuoka) in at least para 0003, para 0048, para 0050, para 0055, para 0063, para 0065, para 0075, para 0097, para 0122-0123, para 0162)
Matsuoka does not explicitly teach:
workflow is associated with a fraud claim type or a dispute claim type
Scanlon teaches:
workflow is associated with a fraud claim type or a dispute claim type ((Scanlon) in at least FIG. 6; para 0038, para 0051, para 0094, para 0099)
Matsuoka and Scanlon are directed toward task determination processes. Scanlon teaches the motivation of triggering in the task process an investigation for fraud task process in response to predefined inputs during the task and file review process. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the task modification process of Matsuoka to include fraud investigation task workflow process as taught by Scanlon since Scanlon teaches the motivation of triggering in the task process an investigation for fraud task process in response to predefined inputs during the task and file review process.
In reference to Claim 21:
The combination of Matsuoka, Rushing and Edwards discloses the limitations of independent claim 1. Matsuoka further discloses the limitations of dependent claim 21
(Previously Presented) The system of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the one or more processors, to classify the potential incident, are configured to:
Matsuoka does not explicitly teach:
classify the potential incident as a fraud claim when the user interface entry point corresponds to a first communication channel, and
classify the potential incident as a dispute claim when the user interface entry point corresponds to a first communication channel.
Scanlon teaches:
classify the potential incident as a fraud claim when the user interface entry point corresponds to a first communication channel, and classify the potential incident as a dispute claim when the user interface entry point corresponds to a first communication channel.((Scanlon) in at least para 0038, para 0051, para 0054, para 0056, para 0066, para 0076, para 0098-0099, para 0102, para 0111, para 0124)
Both Matsuoka and Scanlon are directed toward task determination processes. Scanlon teaches the motivation of categorizing activities such as fraud task process in order to determine what task to assign or phrases to present in questions presented related to task, during the task and file review process. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the task modification process of Matsuoka to include categorizing activity for task assignment as taught by Scanlon since Scanlon teaches the motivation of categorizing activities such as fraud task process in order to determine what task to assign or phrases to present in questions presented related to task, during the task and file review process.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CA 3230604 A1 by Matsuoka et al. (Matsuoka), in view of US Pub No. 2023/0033027 A1 by Rushing et al. (Rushing) in view of US Pub No. 2024/0171582 A1 by Edwards et al. (Edwards) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US Pub No. 2023/0353575 A1 by Chandra et al. (Chandra)
In reference to Claim 4:
The combination of Matsuoka, Welch and Stevens discloses the limitations of independent claim 1. Matsuoka further discloses the limitations of dependent claim 4.
(Previously Presented) The system of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above),
Matsuoka does not explicitly teach:
eligibility to report the potential incident is based on one or more of an incident reporting history associated with the user account, existing incident reports associated with the user account, a recurring or non-recurring status associated with the transaction, or an alert status associated with the transaction.
Chandra teaches:
eligibility to report the potential incident is based on one or more of an incident reporting history associated with the user account, existing incident reports associated with the user account, a recurring or non-recurring status associated with the transaction, or an alert status associated with the transaction((Chandra) in at least para 0013, para 0041, para 0047, para 0065, para 0070, para 0081, para 0087-0089).
Both Matsuoka and Chandra are directed toward effectuating workflow request processes. Chandra teaches the motivation of identifying the entity and action sequence in order to authorized the workflow request so that the task requestor can be verified with an additional motivation that task sequence generally receives sensitive information. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the task modification process of Matsuoka to include an authorization process as taught by Chandra since Chandra teaches the motivation of identifying the entity and action sequence in order to authorized the workflow request so that the task requestor can be verified with an additional motivation that task sequence generally receives sensitive information.
Claim(s) 8, 10, 12-13 and Claim(s) 15 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CA 3230604 A1 by Matsuoka et al. (Matsuoka) and further in view of US Pub No. 2023/0033027 A1 by Rushing et al. (Rushing)
In reference to Claim 8:
The combination of Matsuoka, Welch and Stevens discloses the limitations of independent claim 8.
(Currently Amended) A method for customized intake handling ((Matsuoka) in at least para 0003-0004), comprising:
receiving, by an intake system, from a user device, and via a user interface entry point associated with a first communication channel, a request to report a potential incident related to a transaction associated with a user account ((Matsuoka) in at least para 0046, para 0055-0057, para 0060-0061, para 0066, para 0099, para 0122, para 0160, para 0172-0173);
classifying, by the intake system, the potential incident based on information associated with the user interface entry point and historical data associated with the user account, ((Matsuoka) in at least para 0048-0050, para 0072-0073, para 0102-0103, para 0207-0208, para 0211, para 0260-0261);
selecting, by the intake system and based on classifying the potential incident, an intake workflow to resolve the potential incident based on the historical data associated with the user account and information and information associated with the interface entry ((Matsuoka) in at least para 0003, para 0048, para 0063-0064, para 0065, para 0074-0075, para 0097, para 0122-0123, para 0162), wherein the intake workflow is portable across a plurality of communication channels ((Matsuoka) in at least FIG. 3 wherein the prior art illustrates task facilitation system which provides workflow across task recommendation system and task coordination system FIG. 4 wherein the prior art teaches task system comprises task creation system coupled to and communication with database and provides workflow across task ranking sub-system, task selection sub-system; FIG. 8A-B; para 0108 wherein the prior art teaches modeling sub-system provides data to pairing sub-system implemented via application/system on computer system of assignment system; para 0109-0110 wherein the prior art teaches representative pairing sub-system implements AI that utilizes attributes as input and data from the data storage may be used by pairing sub-system as input; para 0121-0122, para 0124-0125, para 0130, para 0136, para 0159-0160, para 0164-0166);
presenting, by the intake system to the user device, via a … communication channel, …, a next screen associated with intake workflow ((Matsuoka) in at least FIG. 13A-C; FIG. 14-16; para 0003-0004, para 0006, para 0048, para 0050 wherein the prior art teaches identify correlations between different factors and polarities of interaction applying weights on factors; para 0054, para 0056, para 0058, para 0061-0062, para 0064-0075, para 0084, para 0086-0087, para 0109 wherein the prior art teaches identifying correlations, attributes, clusters to identify representatives from groups for assignment to members; para 0230-0231, para 0234-0235, para 0239-0241, para 0243-0250);
wherein the next screen is selected based on mapping the one or more parameters to the next screen based on the historical data and the one or more user inputs that indicate one or more parameters related to the potential incidents; ((Matsuoka) in at least FIG. 13A-C; FIG. 14-16; para 0050 wherein the prior art teaches identify correlations between different factors and polarities of interaction applying weights on factors; para 0054, para 0056, para 0058, para 0061-0062, para 0064-0075, para 0084, para 0086-0087, para 0109 wherein the prior art teaches identifying correlations, attributes, clusters to identify representatives from groups for assignment to members; para 0230-0231, para 0234-0235, para 0239-0241, para 0294 “set of data … analyzed … to identify correlations between different elements of the set of data …using sample or live data to identify potential correlations”); and
presenting, by the intake system to the user device, and via the …communication channel, a final screen associated with the intake workflow based on a determination that the one or more user inputs have resolved all required parameters associated with reporting the potential incident ((Matsuoka) in at least para 0076, para 0132, para 0187-0188, para 0191, para 0202 , para 0207-0208, para 0260),
Matsuoka does not explicitly teach:
presenting, by the intake system to the user device, via a second communication channel, and based on the user device selecting an option to switch the intake workflow to the second communication channel
presenting, by the intake system to the user device, and via the second communication channel, a final screen
Rushing teaches:
presenting, by the intake system to the user device, via a second communication channel, and based on the user device selecting an option to switch the intake workflow to the second communication channel ((Rushing) in at least FIG. 7; para 0153, para 0155, para 0193-0194, para 0208-0209)
presenting, by the intake system to the user device, and via the second communication channel, a final screen …((Rushing) in at least para 0092, para 0159-0160, para 0162-0163, para 0194, para 0201-0202)
Both Matsuoka and Rushing are directed toward workflow selection for performing task. Rushing teaches the motivation that based on determination that a second channel associated with a workflow exist generating a second channel for communication identifying users associated with the workflow and based on the identification of the users associated users with newly generated second communication channels. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the workflow communication channel details of Matsuoka to include the generation of second communication channels as taught by Rushing since Rushing teaches the motivation that based on determination that a second channel associated with a workflow exist generating a second channel for communication identifying users associated with the workflow and based on the identification of the users associated users with newly generated second communication channels
In reference to Claim 10:
The combination of Matsuoka and Rushing discloses the limitations of independent claim 8. Matsuoka further discloses the limitations of dependent claim 10
(Original) The method of claim 8 (see rejection of claim 8 above),
wherein the next screen associated with the intake workflow includes a reactive message that is responsive to the one or more user inputs and provides guidance related to reporting the potential incident. .((Matsuoka) in at least FIG. 8B; para 0186, para 0188-0190, para 0232, para 0245)
In reference to Claim 12:
The combination of Matsuoka and Rushing discloses the limitations of independent claim 1. Matsuoka further discloses the limitations of dependent claim 12
(Original) The method of claim 8 (see rejection of claim 8 above),
wherein the final screen includes an informational message that indicates one or more next steps in resolving the potential incident or an instructional message that indicates one or more directions for resolving the potential incident ((Matsuoka) in at least para 0076, para 0131-0132, para 0250, para 0252-0254).
In reference to Claim 13:
The combination of Matsuoka and Rushing discloses the limitations of independent claim 8. Matsuoka further discloses the limitations of dependent claim 13
(Original) The method of claim 8 (see rejection of claim 8 above),
wherein one or more of the intake workflow or the next screen associated with the intake workflow are selected using a machine learning model. ((Matsuoka) in at least para 0209, para 0211-0212, para 0253).
In reference to Claim 15:
The combination of Matsuoka, Welch and Stevens discloses the limitations of independent claim 15.
(Currently Amended) A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a set of instructions ((Matsuoka) in at least para 0013, para 0267, para 0288), the set of instructions comprising:
one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of an intake system ((Matsuoka) in at least para 0288-0292, para 0313), cause the intake system to:
receive, from a user device, and via a user interface entry point associated with a first communication channel, a request to report a potential incident related to a transaction associated with a user account ((Matsuoka) in at least para 0046, para 0055-0057, para 0060-0061, para 0066, para 0099, para 0122, para 0160, para 0172-0173);
classify the potential incident based on information associated with the user interface entry point and historical data associated with the user account ((Matsuoka) in at least para 0048-0050, para 0072-0073, para 0102-0103, para 0207-0208, para 0211, para 0260-0261);
select, based on classifying the potential incident, an intake workflow to resolve the potential incident based on the historical data and information associated with the user interface entry point ((Matsuoka) in at least para 0003, para 0048, para 0063-0064, para 0065, para 0074-0075, para 0097, para 0122-0123, para 0162) wherein the intake workflow is portable across a plurality of communication channels, ((Matsuoka) in at least FIG. 3 wherein the prior art illustrates task facilitation system which provides workflow across task recommendation system and task coordination system FIG. 4 wherein the prior art teaches task system comprises task creation system coupled to and communication with database and provides workflow across task ranking sub-system, task selection sub-system; FIG. 8A-B; para 0108 wherein the prior art teaches modeling sub-system provides data to pairing sub-system implemented via application/system on computer system of assignment system; para 0109-0110 wherein the prior art teaches representative pairing sub-system implements AI that utilizes attributes as input and data from the data storage may be used by pairing sub-system as input; para 0121-0122, para 0124-0125, para 0130, para 0136, para 0159-0160, para 0164-0166);
present, to the user device, via the first communication channel, an initial screen associated with the intake workflow, wherein the initial screen associated with the intake workflow includes one or more questions to request one or more user inputs that indicate one or more parameters related to the potential incident ((Matsuoka) in at least FIG. 14; para 0132-0136, para 0162-0166, para 0188); and
present, to the user device, via a … communication channel …, a next screen associated with the intake workflow, wherein the next screen is selected based on mapping the one or more parameters to the next screen based on the historical data and the one or more user inputs that indicate the one or more parameters related to the potential incident ((Matsuoka) in at least FIG. 13A-C; FIG. 14-16; para 0003-0004, para 0006, para 0048, para 0050 wherein the prior art teaches identify correlations between different factors and polarities of interaction applying weights on factors; para 0054, para 0056, para 0058, para 0061-0062, para 0064-0075, para 0084, para 0086-0087, para 0109 wherein the prior art teaches identifying correlations, attributes, clusters to identify representatives from groups for assignment to members, para 0230-0231, para 0234-0235, para 0239-0241, para 0243-0250, para 0294 “set of data … analyzed … to identify correlations between different elements of the set of data …using sample or live data to identify potential correlations)
Matsuoka does not explicitly teach:
present, to the user device, via a second communication channel and based on the user device selecting an option to switch the intake workflow to the second communication channel
Rushing teaches:
present, to the user device, via a second communication channel and based on the user device selecting an option to switch the intake workflow to the second communication channel ((Rushing) in at least FIG. 7; para 0153, para 0155, para 0193-0194, para 0208-0209)
Both Matsuoka and Rushing are directed toward workflow selection for performing task. Rushing teaches the motivation that based on determination that a second channel associated with a workflow exist generating a second channel for communication identifying users associated with the workflow and based on the identification of the users associated users with newly generated second communication channels. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the workflow communication channel details of Matsuoka to include the generation of second communication channels as taught by Rushing since Rushing teaches the motivation that based on determination that a second channel associated with a workflow exist generating a second channel for communication identifying users associated with the workflow and based on the identification of the users associated users with newly generated second communication channels
In reference to Claim 17:
The combination of Matsuoka and Rushing discloses the limitations of independent claim 15. Matsuoka further discloses the limitations of dependent claim 17
(Original) The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15 (see rejection of claim 15 above),
wherein the next screen associated with the intake workflow includes a reactive message that is responsive to the one or more user inputs and provides guidance related to reporting the potential incident. .((Matsuoka) in at least FIG. 8B; para 0186, para 0188-0190, para 0232, para 0245)
In reference to Claim 19:
The combination of Matsuoka and Rushing discloses the limitations of independent claim 15. Matsuoka further discloses the limitations of dependent claim 19
(Original) The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15 (see rejection of claim 15 above), wherein the one or more instructions further cause the intake system to:
present, to the user device, a final screen associated with the intake workflow based on a determination that the one or more user inputs have resolved all required parameters associated with reporting the potential incident, wherein the final screen includes an informational message that indicates one or more next steps in resolving the potential incident or an instructional message that indicates one or more directions for resolving the potential incident. ((Matsuoka) in at least para 0066, para 0068-0069, para 0073, para 0171, para 0176-0178, para 0181, para 0210)
In reference to Claim 20:
The combination of Matsuoka and Rushing discloses the limitations of independent claim 15. Matsuoka further discloses the limitations of dependent claim 20
(Original) The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15 (see rejection of claim 15 above),
wherein the user interface entry point is associated with a first user interface channel, and wherein one or more of the initial screen or the next screen of the intake workflow is associated with a second user interface channel. ((Matsuoka) in at least para 0171, para 0186, para 0193-0194, para 0216).
Claim(s) 9 of claim 8 above, Claim 16 of claim 15 above, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CA 3230604 A1 by Matsuoka et al. (Matsuoka), in view of US Pub No. 2023/0033027 A1 by Rushing et al. (Rushing) , and further in view of US Pub No. 2013/0262473 A1 by Scanlon et al. (Scanlon).
In reference to Claim 9:
The combination of Matsuoka and Rushing discloses the limitations of independent claim 8. Matsuoka further discloses the limitations of dependent claim 9.
(Previously Presented) The method of claim 8 (see rejection of claim 8 above),
wherein the intake workflow is associated with a fraud [issue] claim type or a dispute [issue] claim type based on the historical data and the information associated with the user interface entry point. ((Matsuoka) in at least para 0003, para 0048, para 0050, para 0055, para 0063, para 0065, para 0075, para 0097, para 0122-0123, para 0162)
Matsuoka does not explicitly teach:
workflow is associated with a fraud claim type or a dispute claim type
Scanlon teaches:
workflow is associated with a fraud claim type or a dispute claim type ((Scanlon) in at least FIG. 6; para 0038, para 0051, para 0094, para 0099)
Matsuoka and Scanlon are directed toward task determination processes. Scanlon teaches the motivation of triggering in the task process an investigation for fraud task process in response to predefined inputs during the task and file review process. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the task modification process of Matsuoka to include fraud investigation task workflow process as taught by Scanlon since Scanlon teaches the motivation of triggering in the task process an investigation for fraud task process in response to predefined inputs during the task and file review process.
In reference to Claim 16:
The combination of Matsuoka and Rushing discloses the limitations of independent claim 15. Matsuoka further discloses the limitations of dependent claim 16.
(Previously Presented) The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15 (see rejection of claim 15 above),
wherein the intake workflow is associated with a fraud claim [issue] type or a dispute claim [issue] type based on the historical data and the information associated with the user interface entry point. ((Matsuoka) in at least para 0003, para 0048, para 0050, para 0055, para 0063, para 0065, para 0075, para 0097, para 0122-0123, para 0162)
Matsuoka does not explicitly teach:
workflow is associated with a fraud claim [issue] type or a dispute claim[issue] type
Scanlon teaches:
workflow is associated with a fraud claim type or a dispute claim type ((Scanlon) in at least FIG. 6; para 0038, para 0051, para 0094, para 0099)
Matsuoka and Scanlon are directed toward task determination processes. Scanlon teaches the motivation of triggering in the task process an investigation for fraud task process in response to predefined inputs during the task and file review process. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the task modification process of Matsuoka to include fraud investigation task workflow process as taught by Scanlon since Scanlon teaches the motivation of triggering in the task process an investigation for fraud task process in response to predefined inputs during the task and file review process.
Claim(s) 11 of claim 8 above, Claim(s) 18 of claim 15 above, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CA 3230604 A1 by Matsuoka et al. (Matsuoka) and further in view of US Pub No. 2023/0353575 A1 by Chandra et al. (Chandra)
In reference to Claim 11:
The combination of Matsuoka and Rushing discloses the limitations of independent claim 8. Matsuoka further discloses the limitations of dependent claim 11.
(Previously Presented) The method of claim 8 (see rejection of claim 8 above), further comprising:
Matsuoka does not explicitly teach:
wherein eligibility to report the potential incident is based on one or more of an incident reporting history associated with the user account, existing incident reports associated with the user account, a recurring or non-recurring status associated with the transaction, or an alert status associated with the transaction.
Chandra teaches:
wherein eligibility to report the potential incident is based on one or more of an incident reporting history associated with the user account, existing incident reports associated with the user account, a recurring or non-recurring status associated with the transaction, or an alert status associated with the transaction ((Chandra) in at least para 0013, para 0041, para 0047, para 0065, para 0070, para 0081, para 0087-0089).
Both Matsuoka and Chandra are directed toward effectuating workflow request processes. Chandra teaches the motivation of identifying the entity and action sequence in order to authorized the workflow request so that the task requestor can be verified with an additional motivation that task sequence generally receives sensitive information. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the task modification process of Matsuoka to include an authorization process as taught by Chandra since Chandra teaches the motivation of identifying the entity and action sequence in order to authorized the workflow request so that the task requestor can be verified with an additional motivation that task sequence generally receives sensitive information.
In reference to Claim 18:
The combination of Matsuoka and Rushing discloses the limitations of independent claim 15. Matsuoka further discloses the limitations of dependent claim 18.
(Previously Presented) The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15 (see rejection of claim 15 above),
Matsuoka does not explicitly teach:
wherein eligibility to report the potential incident is based on one or more of an incident reporting history associated with the user account, existing incident reports associated with the user account, a recurring or non-recurring status associated with the transaction, or an alert status associated with the transaction.
Chandra teaches:
wherein eligibility to report the potential incident is based on one or more of an incident reporting history associated with the user account, existing incident reports associated with the user account, a recurring or non-recurring status associated with the transaction, or an alert status associated with the transaction((Chandra) in at least para 0013, para 0041, para 0047, para 0065, para 0070, para 0081, para 0087-0089).
Both Matsuoka and Chandra are directed toward effectuating workflow request processes. Chandra teaches the motivation of identifying the entity and action sequence in order to authorized the workflow request so that the task requestor can be verified with an additional motivation that task sequence generally receives sensitive information. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the task modification process of Matsuoka to include an authorization process as taught by Chandra since Chandra teaches the motivation of identifying the entity and action sequence in order to authorized the workflow request so that the task requestor can be verified with an additional motivation that task sequence generally receives sensitive information.
Conclusion
/MARY M GREGG/Examiner, Art Unit 3695